Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smiths Court Hotel 3 stars

Eastern Esplanade, Margate, CT9 2HL, United Kingdom

#12 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Margate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 691 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel without any prior knowledge and was delighted with my choice. It is perfect for a night or two - small single and just perfect for a quick stay. Staff were excellent and welcoming. There was a wedding taking place and I received an email before travelling to advise and giving the time the celebrations would end and hoping I would not be disturbed! Excellent service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the executive room with sea view and we liked it very much. Everything works in the hotel and the lights in the room are excellent. Great breakfast, well cooked. Nice location , 5 minutes walk to the beach, 20 minutes walk to town centre, 30 minutes or so walk to Botany Bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly helpful staff, it was nice that they went out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very hot and no fans were provided

    Very friendly helpful staff, it was nice that they went out of their way to have a little chat with us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    It was opposite the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were disgusting the bed mattress was as old as the hotel. After complaining for 2 days we finally got a ( executive suite ) which would of been a standard room in any decent Hotel. It’s the worst hotel property I have ever stopped in and will not be stopping there ever again. We had a basement apartment on the first night that smelled of raw sewage. Along with the mattress from hell. I am former military and stayed in some holes. But having to pay for it is totally disgusting. The 2nd room we were given had not even been cleaned. Dirty sheets and towels all this on a hot summer weekend that I should of been enjoying with my wife. Hauling our gear from the basement apartment to a sub standard attic apartment that was just as bad as the basement apartment. Finally ended up with a room that we should of had from the beginning.

    It was opposite the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin so can hear everything next door said late into the night then early hours of the morning.

    Staff friendly and helpful.Bathroom facilities very good pkus a great idea having an iron and ironing board in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The omelette at breakfast was so good and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My safe in room was not open, and despite requests, wasn’t opened, so couldn’t use it. Also housekeeping short on staff and so room wasn’t done until after 5pm, when I wanted a shower etc. Reception staff did give me a complimentary tea and cake to compensate though. One or two other really minor issues, but can’t really moan, for the price, excellent value for money.

    The omelette at breakfast was so good and fresh. Friendly staff, great value and location. Parking easy, but was a week day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok but wouldnt be looking for a repeat. I can stay at Sands for the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing bad, and to have had breakfast thrown in would have been good, as we paid £140 for the night.

    the bed the room was big the view was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Budget hotel, polite staff but poor conditions. I would not stay more than one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs a proper refurbishment - walls were covered in stains and generally smelly, shower head was falling apart, loads of noisy pigeons outside the window (and judging by the guano on the remote control also get into the room).

    Location was the biggest advantage of this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    In genreal a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with a paint up especially outside, When a hotel offers facility's such as bar snacks and pool they should make sure these facility's Are either fit for purpose or available.

    Sea facing room was very pleasent, no.17, this of course is a deluxe room. Good variety of breakfast and served quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    All you need for a short stay and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cups at breakfast and in the room were small and thick, so drinks were cold as soon as they were poured.

    A single room with a new, clean shower room and a sea view. Clean, comfortable, well set up with good lights. Kettle in the room, friendly staff, a good breakfast with no shortcuts on the ingredients.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, big room, view was of the run down passage where it looked like smokers corner. Didnt come to look out the window but Would ask for sea view next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall very happy we were only there for 2 nights so it had everything we needed for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasnt the best, flow was very slow and it was either very hot or freezing, mixer tap didnt really work

    Decor inthe hotel is a little dated but room was clean and good value for the money, bed was very comfortable, staff were lovely, very helpful and accommodating, we had a family room on top floor, which had a sea view which was a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice bed and pillows, big shower cabin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in Margate at 11 am and we went straight to the hotel to see if they let us to check in earlyer. The guy from reception told us that is not possible and we have to wait until 3pm.At 3 pm!he said that we need to wait one more hour, because our room wasn't ready. Next day we had to check out at 11 am, and at 10.59 the receptionist called to remind us that we have to live. What can I say...... Aaa.. We didn't had a fridge in our room

    Nice bed and pillows, big shower cabin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    very comfortable and pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    constant changing of rooms prior to arriving to the hotel.

    My room was changed 3 times, though as a gesture I was upgraded to a better room and given complementary breakfast. On arrival I went in to the room there were only2 single beds and a camp bed suitable for a childe. I was clear in my booking that we were 3 adults The check in team were very good and replaced the bed with another single bed... It was a very nice stay... we loved the room were in Room 3C

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money with excellent catering but the property is in need of a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs a complete refurb to update the facilities and freshen up the paintwork. First impressions outside the property aren't great.

    The food in the Orangery was consistently delicious, at breakfast and dinner. And the staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly comfortable hotel on seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance is awful. Steep slippery steps and an orrible door , dark recrption could do with brightening but hotel is obviously undergoing gradual refurbishment. Our room was large very freshly decorated, lovely. Our friends was outdated but all spotlessly clean.

    Friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Basic but good value hotel out of the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot and quite noisy, with very thin walls, so keep waking in the night. Not in the main area of Margate, about 20 min walk to the centre.

    Fantastic view from our third floor room, overlooking the sea. Great value for money. A few minutes' walk from the main Loop bus service, connecting Margate to Broadstairs and Ramsgate. Room basic but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Incredible value with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little out of town but later found The Fort around the corner for a seriously tasty brunch and an Aldi for forgotten bits and bobs. Quiet at night but nowhere to go either.

    The hotel at first appeared tired from the outside. The lobby is welcoming and staff couldn't do more for us. Our room (5c) was large with a side kitchenette, dressing table and two chairs & table. Well appointed with hairdryer, kettle, fridge and microwave. The view was straight over a park onto the sea. Again tired decor but spotless, slept like logs and would highly recommend. Beautiful walk along front to the Turner, Old Town and Harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note for the price.

    A little faded,but perfectly fine for a short stay.Bed was very comfortable with a good bathroom.The breakfast which was cooked to order was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    The weather made up for the lack of amenities in Margate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a little run down, which I had read on other websites, but it was clean. Bed was a bit odd, seemed to tilt backwards..... Breakfast was a bit chaotic - basics such as butter, sauces etc were not readily available. On the whole nothing major as was expecting things to be a little run down, little out of town, but walkable.

    Staff friendly. View from the room was very nice, room was very big, added bonus of a kitchen and a fridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    pleasant stay. staff pleasant. breakfast good. would stay again no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the upstairs and places room area reqs updating its shabby. more money req here. on upgrading.the room old fashiond re curtains wall fabric old. double glazing lets in the outside air. cant hold a feather here.

    bed comfy and clean. no probs. only one heater worked.no problem. telephone none operational.toilet clean and usable.one light none operationable. fixture for shaver didn't operate.otherwise good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, lovely hotel, great base to explore the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I nearly cancelled my trip to Smiths Court as the friend I was travelling with was unwell. However, I am delighted we didn't as the staff at the Hotel were amazing and gave us a free upgrade to the executive suite which aided her recovery. The room was lovely with a spa bath and large walk in shower, with a large comfy bed and balcony. My friend was soon feeling much better and we were able to enjoy our stay in Margate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    Disaster would never go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen smelt unclean , carpets were dirty , room smelt We asked for a double bed they pushed to single bed together! Absolutely a disaster of a stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Classic British seaside hotel. Needs a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift!

    We liked our room as it was the exec double and looked recently refurbished but our friends were in standard doubles which weren’t very nice so mixed reviews from our group. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good but needs to be hotter

    The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, great location , hotel a little bit tired but our stay was very good and comfortable. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Comfortable. Very polite and helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area badly needs refurbishment and the lift needs replacing.

    Our room was large and spacious. It had recently been refurbished. Lovely sea view. The mattress was very comfortable. The shower is a good size but the water pressure was very disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    I particularly enjoyed the overall atmosphere and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above comments.

    I particularly enjoyed the overall atmosphere and the professionalism of the staff particularly in an uncomfortable situation with an obnoxious couple who arrived with a small dog after having been informed, by e-mail that the pet friendly rooms were not ready due to the ongoing refurbishment program. The male individual thought he'd be "the big man" in front of his wife by berating the receptionist and eventually made her cry! This is appalling and unacceptable behaviour from a member of the public against a professional who had done her level best to advise "these people" of the circumstances. I spoke to the receptionist, Billy Joe,to ensure she was OK. If her colleague, Dan, hadn't been on hand to deal with this episode I would have jumped in and told this couple where to get off. It was their own fault that they lost their booking due to not checking their e-mail and their over riding arrogance! I don't actually care if they see this statement because I vehemently detest people who think they can just bully their way through life instead of accepting their actions are due to their own stupidity! Rant over!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Great short break with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs smelt a bit of cigarette smoke, not too bad but slightly noticeable. (Our room was fine).

    Staff we’re very friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi a bit hit and miss but that's all.

    Lovely family run hotel, super friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room with a sea view without getting out of bed. Breakfast cooked to order and is very tasty. I have stayed here before and will return again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    had a great time wish i could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant think of anything

    the Bed was a Luxury and enjoyed my tea / coffee when I was in the room. and the staff was ever so friendly. and the breakfast was a good little feast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Good room. Poor breakfast experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and the guy on reception asked for payment, even though I had already paid. The towels did not seem that clean. The biggest failing was at breakfast the next morning: They seemed under staffed. We went into the breakfast room to find very few tables laid out for use. We chose a table near the window. The table cloth was stained. We ordered tea and coffee. The tea and coffee pots arrived, but we had no cups and were not given any. We had to get some from a table being used by other guests. We had no cutlery initially and had to wait to eat our cereal, fruit and toast. The member of staff taking orders seemed to be struggling to cope with the amount of guests present. When another small group arrived for breakfast they were asked to wait for 5 to 10 minutes, as a table needed to be laid for them . There seemed to be a general lack of preparation and staff, to cope with the volume of guests. I ordered mushrooms etc. These were supposed to be fresh, but when they arrived it was apparent that they were not. Verified by the member of staff.

    The car park was convenient. The room was fine. Clean and with a sea view. The bath room was fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Room was nice, but basic things like marks on wall next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice, but basic things like marks on wall next to bathroom missed (would take housekeeping 5 minutes to clear with a “magic sponge”. FOH desperately needs an overhaul, but I understand this is in the pipeline

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall we had a good time, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - one of the rooms have ceramic tiles on the floor, with no rug and the floor was a bit too cold for this winter season - cold in the bathroom - the restaurant was closed - room door was screeching, and going to bathroom you would awake everyone... - superficial cleaning

    - the family room was actually consisting in 2 rooms, one with double bed and one with 2 single beds, we loved it! - lovely lounge in the reception area - tea/coffee facilities in room - lovely location and parking facilities in front of the hotel and at the rear

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great one-night stay, shame about the (cold, rainy wintery) weather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather on the following day - heavy rain! The pigeon outside on the roof coo-ing at around 8 in the morning.

    The lady on reception was both very nice to talk to on the phone the day before my stay and also in person when I met her on arrival day. My best friend (who recommended me the hotel) met me at the hotel and the reception lady remembered his missus' family staying there - so they definitely pay attention to guests. She offered me a free upgrade from the single room I'd booked to something more extravagant but I was happy with my single room choice and was pleasantly surprised that it had a sea view. (the sea is literally 200 metres away, straight ahead) The room wasn't flash or glitzy, but I liked the building's style and the room's aesthetic - very homely and not sterile like regular hotel chains. I'll book a snazzier room next time though, to see what they're like. The bed, pillows and duvet were comfy and traffic outside wasn't particularly noisy; not enough for a light sleeper like me to consider loud anyway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    4 sessions of Easy parking, Peaceful nights stay, left - I did not want breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed, decor, maintenance, seemingly downmarket area.

    Definitely good value for the cost. The reception staff were very nice and helpful, I did not interact with any others - simply wanting an en-suite bedroom for the nights in a place that was near where I would be spending the daytime. For that, the cost was very good, and the location seemed from the area map to be good, very near the beach, a short walk from the town. But it appears that the area is becoming run-down and the fabric of the hotel needs a fair bit of attention. In summary - for the money great, but consider the property to be a bed-for-the-night, with restaurant for functions, rather than a posh hotel -

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and good value for money with the breakfast excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pet Friendly Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable but very tired looking and probably in need of an upgrade. The shower pump was particularly very noisy. Having said that everything you would expect was provided.

    The dining and function rooms were really well kept and beautifully presented. The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked and quality produce used. Excellent value for money. When contacting the hotel prior to arrival I was informed that parties were being held with discos. I was given a room away from the noise of the disco and I can honestly say I never heard a sound. Really good customer service even before I arrived!! Staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Bargain break by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some features (such as electrical trunking) practical rather than stylish, but didn't detract from our comfort

    Fantastic staff and excellent spacious room with a surprise kitchen, complete with cooker and breakfast bar. Very quiet and peaceful. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff, excellent suite, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff fantastic especially Billie. Food great - chef ordered in food and cooked it for us - thank you so much. Upgraded to executive suite - would recommend this accommodation. Had a fantastic stay and look forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    does need a bit of a clean - cleanliness costs nothing - the lift is filthy - the floor & the hardware !!!!

    I like the food. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.6
    You get what you pay for ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very lumpy...matress topper felt full of lumps in both beds. Very strange set up in Room 5c..it had a small kitchenette..very noisy heating and toilet fan.....really could do with an update....breakfast ok but bacon over cooked and dry..glad we were only there one night.. the picture of photo is BEFORE it was slept in !

    Nice Welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had very noisy room next to our room had to ask night staff to ask residents to turn music off at 5.30 in the morning

    Staff very nice rooms nice but a bit old fashioned

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    very nice basic hotel in a good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was fine but Margate itself was terrible. It has really gone downhill in recent years. A group of drunk young girls started verbally abusing myself and my 12 year old son when we were waiting for a taxi. A real shame.

    very nice basic hotel in a good position. We had a sea view which was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff,lovely big room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't work the heaters for room until realised was switched off at main fuse box,after that was toastie.

    Friendly staff,lovely big room.Property was having work done but did not interrupt our stay at all.Friends had breakfast said was really good.Will stay again and have breakfast time permitting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Big shock and upset
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was a fire hazard the photos we took will show it . It was dirty and needs a good clean travelled all the way from Inverness to a dump!

    The Orangery and reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    We were there after a family wedding and this hotel was close and offered comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room numbers were many and possibly now rather random which meant that I had some issues locating my room but once found I was more than happy.

    My bathroom was amazing and all the staff bar one were an absolute credit to them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff, good breakfast and position, slightly tired decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great spot but feels a little tired. I came down in the morning to a great welcome and excellent breakfast and service and that makes all the difference. And they looked after my bike for the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a quirky older hotel, with a lot of charm. The breakfast is beautifully flavoured and well cooked. The staff are very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Nice view but overall would not recommend as too far from town centre and too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper rates with breakfast included. Overpriced for a 2 star really hotel.

    Very noisy due to thin walls. Kept me awake all night with a wedding reception in the hotel making noise until 5am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom was really big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit further from the main town than I realised so had to walk a bit too much.

    Bathroom was really big. Handy if travelling with a 5 year old. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, no faults, friendly staff, perfect for my one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Cliftonville area needs a good sprucing up, lots of rubbish and dog poo in bags around the surrounding streets, plus immigrants hanging around, brings the area down.

    Good hotel, no faults, friendly staff, perfect for my one night stay, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.2
    Terrible and uncomfortable as it wasn not clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room and the place needed at least £400,000 spent on it as it’s so run down. Room was stuffy, milk stainess on coffee table and pubes in the shower!

    When I left

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointing and would definitely not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. The pillows looked as thought they hadn't been changed in decades. The room could do with a through clean As we were located on the lower ground floor, next to staff rooms when their shifts ended there was no consideration given to our occupation of the room on that floor. We were also woken at 7am by builders in the room above. When these points were mentioned to the staff member at check out he couldn't be bothered and implied that Pet owners should accept the level of discomfort being offered.

    Size of the Pet Friendly room and the separate outside access

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margate is trying to regenerate its self but quiet a lot of it was still run down & shabby more run down in parts & shame about the dog owners in Margate as lot of dog mess around.

    Turner Gallery little quirky shops bric-à-brac places were interesting restaurants & food were very good. people were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    good location for Margate. Twenty minute walk to facilities, which is a good walk for a small dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing springs to mind

    great porridge and breakfast and very good dinner. Lovely staff, very friendly. so handy for access to Margate, especially the JW Turner gallery and the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    Tired old hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty tired and sparse. A bit sad in apperance and lacking any character. We booked because we were allowed pets at this hotel but actually they only have 2 rooms that allow pets and they were basement level, not the sea view we were excited about and not in the comfy looking room!

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    it was ok
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staying on sea front was nice , easy access to concert hall ,

    unfortunate Mrs Patricia & miss Amanda Aubignac had to use another room , because the hot water in shower was to hot , also the room had not been checked proper , becaus there was beer can left in wardrobe , in witch the beer can was placed in bin .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    It was OK but I won’t be staying there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet roll was finished and there was a used shower gel wrapper in the shower. When I went into breakfast I didn’t get shown to a table or offered cereal etc. I was asked “What do you want?” There was no menu. I had to ask for toast. I was offered jam or marmalade, I asked for jam and was given marmalade.

    A taxi was booked for me in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness wasn't up to my standard, carpets has quite a few dirty marks and the lamp shade on the table hasn't seen cloth for a while.

    View from our room was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.3
    Dont like this at all !! To expensive ,no worth money !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont like this hotel .Sorry smells in the rooms really dirty ,i have no idea what we pay money for :( feel sorry ,never go again ! I like to go complay in reseption but there in hottel Wedings ... omg !

    Dont like this hotel .Sorry smells in the rooms really dirty ,i have no idea what we pay money for :( feel sorry ,never go again !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Hit and miss, Shame really as nice staff just a few things let this nice hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived in time to have evening meal but was told as a coach party had just arrived there was not much left and they recommended restaurants in the town. The bottom sheet had a hole in it and thought it would be changed the following morning but it did not. Breakfast was very nice the first morning the second one we had to wait 20 minutes as the buffet was not ready.

    Location, room size and the staff were friendly and helpful to a point.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    We were up sold a four poster bedded room, newly decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception/ lounge area needs a facelift. Further from Margate than I thought.

    We were up sold a four poster bedded room, newly decorated very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great views, nice room, short walk to town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything inside room great, recently decorated. Everything outside room e.g. corridors, hallways, reception, lifts, bar etc could do with a bit of attention.

    Great view of the sea, room large and recently decorated. Great bathroom, comfortable bed, armchairs, big screen TV...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    Only if you HAVE to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. The wall by the bed was smudged and the mattress was so springy I thought it must be very old. But when I looked, it appeared fairly new, just of very poor quality. The sink and toilet in the bathroom were reasonably new but the floor had not seen a mop for a long time and was very grubby. Everything was sticky. I had requested a quiet room but found myself by a very loud door to the stairwell and almost above the entertainment room with loud singing. As the room was extremely hot, I had to leave the window opened and might as well have been down in the hall singing along to 60-80s music! The kettle is attached to the wall and fell twice, once whilst boiling and splashing water everywhere. Not safe!

    The staff did their best and were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    It was fine and I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The set breakfast was disappointing although the kitchen had only just opened when I came down to breakfast so perhaps I'm being a little harsh

    The price of the room was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    I had a sea view
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty tired. Not 3 star anymore. Staff were a bit off hand. Its a bit out of town and you have to walk a bit to find somewhere to eat

    I had a sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hotel, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Declined breakfast at the Hotel as £10 a bit steep as the other hotels I stayed at in the south coast charged between £5-£7

    Really pleasant staff, made to feel welcome, nice room with good size bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly terrified that I'd be trapped in the rickety lift...

    Nice staff, comfy bed and great bathroom. Nice view of some giant plastic swans from the room. Glad the chair wasn't haunted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff, good sea view and comfortable room. All in all, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it being an older style building meant our room had gorgeous high ceilings and bay Windows, we did feel some of the other areas (stair well / lift / rabbit-warren corridors) were a bit dated & looking very tired.

    Right on the seafront with a lovely sea view. Only a 10 minute walk to town / pubs / eateries / Winter Gardens venue. Easy on street parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean, friendly and served a purpose
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great hotel for the money. The rooms were a bit of a maze to find. the hotel were great at ordering a taxi for me and arranging an early breakfast but unfortunately the taxi was late (not the hotel's fault) so give yourself plenty of time if ordering a taxi.

    The staff were really polite, welcoming & helpful - the room was basic and a bit dated but clean and value for money. The breakfast room was light, clean and very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Quite and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too weak and landing light not working, also needs a blind up at bathroom window .

    Room was lovely although a bit cramped with extra bed in there😬Could have been arranged a little better .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant staff, lovely room, very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First day at breakfast being given a full english without being asked what I would like. Lovely breakfast choice the second day.

    Lovely room, but finding stuff from previous guests suggested it hadn't been properly cleaned. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Would never return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything there was totally outdated. The lift seemed on its last legs. The shower was pathetic and the adjuster was broken. Bedroom furniture was unmatching and looked to have been bought years ago at a house clearance auction. No tea and coffee making facilities (for £108 a night, I would expect they would be provided). Complimentary shampoo was in cheap little sachets. Horrendous imitation "art" works in reception. Overall, extremely disappointing, misrepresented by all online reviews, a complete waste of money.

    It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Far enough out of town to be fairly quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much choice at the bar.

    Nice view from room across to the sea - 20 minute walk into Margate itself but nice walk along the front. Plenty of car parking so no problems there. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel for its location and value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were informed at booking that there was to be a wedding on the night we were staying, with a disco. It didn't disturb us at all. The pet friendly room I was given was well located with a door which led right out to the front on the hotel for access to dog walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Not good and very tiring!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we weren't kept up by the loud noise from wedding, would have been ok. Was hot but couldn't open the window because of the noise so all four of us slept in the kids room that was cooler. 2 adults and 2 kids in two single beds and noise still unbearable!! Hardly slept and ruined our Saturday too because we are all tired. Family rooms shouldn't be above the wedding reception room. Still waiting for manager to call me back. More than 24 hours now. Sums the hotel up really

    Nothing. Stay spoilt by noise! Still awaiting a call from the manager

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Smiths Court Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: