Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4 stars

Soar Mill Cove, Salcombe, TQ73DS, United Kingdom

#4 of 11 hotels in Salcombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, fantastic views & no internet connections so peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    More sign posts to the hotel from the main road, my great sat nav sent us down a very narrow lane!!!! Totally the wrong way.

    Breakfast lovely, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location. Reasonable service and value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that we were unable to enjoy the lounge and its beautiful views as it is not dog friendly. We were often forgotten during our evening meal and breakfast. The service from waiting staff was mixed and sometimes confused. Eating in the cafe during breakfast was noisy and felt like we were in their kitchen. I didn’t like finding old boiled potatoes under our desk in our room.

    It was useful to have direct access to the garden from our room as we took our dog with us. Staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. The hotel is advertised as dog friendly. I would suggest that it is more dog tolerant. The location is excellent but has absolutely no mobile connection. Great for walking. Food was good but expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaints ignored Spa is NOT a fair description Check out was outrageous. Charged another £80 for room with no prior agreement from me.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful views, not the best value for level of quality/ comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an extra toast when ordering breakfast (3 between two of us) and once the toasts came as only two, we asked for another one, we were told we can have it if we still want it later. Strange. I asked for it twice, so I obviously did want it. For rates at £390 a night I expected this simple wish to be graunted. I've stayed in all the Eden collection hotels around the country which charge a similar price, I thought the hotel service and comfort would be at a similar level, there was a world of difference. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The food was average.

    The view from the room was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy corridor outside my room. Private patio totally overlooked by others. Telephone request for dining table at side of restaurant ignored. Wifi only really worked in guest's lounge, didn't work in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel provides amazing views of the sea and surrounding countryside, with walks straight from the hotel down to the beach or along the coastal path. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    The location on the magnificent S Devon coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location on the magnificent S Devon coast. The Get-away-from- it-all-ability. Beautiful lounge and dining room. Excellent dinner.Didn't have opportunity to try the treatments but am sure they would have made my stay even more relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous- food,location,rooms and lovely staff
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner stayed in the ‘upabove’ room, fabulous to say the least. We feel as if we definitely hit the jack pot there! And during our stay we were referred to as the upabove couple which made us feel like royalty. The location is dreamy I had no idea when I made the booking just how amazing it would be ! Gorgeous view. The food was also out of this world I had the smoked haddock fishcake to start so tasty ! And my partner had a cheese soufflé to start and the crab Claw linguine , and we were caught by surprise with a gentleman playing the piano during the dinner service, such a beautiful touch we loved it !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Idyllic place to kick-back or be active.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor internet connection (but that's not the hotel's fault). Inappropriate and completely unnecessary music at mealtimes but the staff turned it off when asked and kept it off for the duration of our stay: A* for that! The entrance did not live up to the other rooms in attractiveness, plus short, steepish flight of stairs. Would have loved an outdoor pool as the weather was just right for that.

    EXCELLENT food! Spacious, calm and restful lounge and restaurant with attractive decor. Large bedroom with generous wet-room. Fabulous off-the-beaten-track (apart from the SW Coastal Path!) location with unimprovable views down the combe to the sea. Very friendly and helpful staff and a great atmosphere perfect for children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A thoroughly relaxing break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent hotel in a beautiful location. We have visited several times as a couple now we have a baby and a dog and we will continue to visit. Staff are always very helpful and friendly. Lovely menu. The pool and pool area are always clean. Definitely our favourite hotel in the UK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Location was great!! We got the family Suite that had a lovely garden attached with a seating area. The staff was exceptional! We got very delayed getting in and while there was no one there to greet us, they made it so easy for us to find our room and had our pre-ordered delicious dinner sandwiches waiting in our room. No complaints about this place. Exceeded all expectations!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Polite staff, but lacked warmth.Rooms comfy, and clean, but a little dated considering the price. No privacy in outside space of rooms.

    Stunning location. Peaceful. Lovely walks. Fabulous swim in the sea. Food great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    We had late deal which was £100 cheaper so glad we didn't pay the full amount. Will not return
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get wifi and tv kept loosing signal during the football. We had newspapers etc. that were still in the waste paper bin in the bedroom from the ninth of July. There was only one shower gel in the bathroom overall the cleanliness was not brilliant.

    The food was very good and staff most accommodating. The area was lovely and the swimming pool was great. £2 donation on the bill was a very good idea so they could keep the beach clean and free from plastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    A good hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really understand the dinner ordering service, so we missed something there. Despite requesting that we order over pre-dinner drinks and being told we could, we had a knock on our door at 5pm and again at 6, so we felt a little bit pressurised. Would also question the need for a somewhat noisy fridge in the room. You offer fresh milk from reception which is great, so why not just provide stay-cool flasks to ensure milk stays fresh overnight. It will also improve your carbon footprint !

    On the whole, food was excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I did, however, order a cappuccino for breakfast which I did not enjoy, so stick to the filter coffee which is good. Location is great especially if you enjoy walking as we do. We would also rate the spa/pool as pretty good. We were lucky enough to have the pool to ourselves twice even though hotel was busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Despite the few observations the hotel and its location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an adjoining room separated by a door in the room. This was not evident in the room details.A concern on noise was not evident but noise could well have been an issue. The fridge was what I would have assessed as a work top fridge and having to sit on the floor to access at gain access was not what I would have expected nore reflective of the overall standard of accomodation.It would have been better for it to have stood on a small table which could also enabled the kettle to stand rather than having it on the dressing table.

    The friendliness of all the staff.The quality of the meals.The superb location.The overall cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Room was very spacious (was a 2 bedroom suite).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside if you could call it that is the very very narrow lanes leading to and from the hotel.

    Room was very spacious (was a 2 bedroom suite). Staff very friendly as were the owners. View was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Tranquil and beautiful, beach, walking, foody, spa break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children’s games room is a bit tired so we didn’t use the billiards as the cloth is very worn and table tennis balls are the cheap type that don’t play properly so bring your own if your kids play table tennis properly. Service in the restaurant could be quicker - but otherwise food and views were excellent. We played the lawn tennis too it was fun but but the court isn’t as well kept as would need to be for a proper game - still we had a laugh!

    Beautiful views and fabulous breakfasts. Food is very well presented with a good choice from boiled eggs to my delicious kipper followed by nice homemade jam and marmalade. The walk to the beach was beautiful and our Cockapoo, Charlie loved the beach and was made to feel very welcome at the hotel - liked the separate dog wash room! ... The Devon Cream Scones and tea taken at lovely stone tables with a view to the sea was also deliecious. My spa treatment (salt and mud) was excellent whilst my son loved the swimming pool and running machine in the gym. Our room at the back was quiet and beds very comfortable. I was dubious about not paying the extra for the sea view but actually the back rooms are better with dogs as the rose garden area is pretty and enclosed. You get plenty of sea views from the amazing location and coastal walk - beware though the coastal walk to Salcombe whilst stunning is a long way ... you are rewarded with beautiful views of Salcombe Bay at the end of it though. Can recommend The Victoria Pub and The Crab Shed. Also the ferry from South Sands is a fun experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    All else brilliant,other meals were very good ,staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one meal where steak was poor and overcooked, settee in bedroom getting tired,several splits in cover,possibly slightly overpriced

    All else brilliant,other meals were very good ,staff very helpful,lovely area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Location is great fir walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room which has a rate of approximately £200 at this time of year was in need of a refurb . Stained carpet . Peeling wallpaper and black mound between grout in bathroom . Also fairly poor quality bedding . The terrace furniture was clearly not getting a regular wipe down it would have needed cleaning to use it and the terrace in our room being at the end of row had some sort of motor or machinery which was covered running next to it . Mould doesn’t appear over night as I pointed out to reception on leaving and I feel sad that they were prepared to let this room to me and no doubt continue to profit from such poor management. I’ve stayed at Premiere Inns that are more luxurious and comfortable than this. Oh watch out for the scratched glaze on most of the cereal bowls , unpleasant and careless.

    Location is great fir walking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing and scenic
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just dont warm to dogs on the beach and sadly yes a lady did allow her dog to poop in the sea where kids were playing and just laughed about it

    Few bats scattered around

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Somewhat disappointing, didn't meet expectations, would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was poor and very slow. Waited for 1hr and 15mins for main course. Were moved from our table with explanation ' this is not your table'. Ordered a Bloody Mary drink, poorly mixed. Dinner was average quality. The Audrey Hepburn pavlova desert was bought in not freshly made. Bed uncomfortable, especially pillows. Wifi didn't work most of the time.

    Very pretty location, amazing views. Lovely pool. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Location was nice and evening meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what it was. Outdated bathroom with shower over bath for a room priced at £279 per night. Spa services not available due to beautician issues.

    Location was nice and evening meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely break in a lovely peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room very spacious and overall the Hotel was small and had good overall facilities. Beautiful communal areas and helpful staff. Particularly enjoyed the pool and sauna and of course the lovely sunsets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    100% will visit again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A strange smell in the corridor, but that's probably because you brought your pets with you to the hotel.

    Everything Staff nice and polite, nice place and area around, very good full english breakfast, nice very clean room and bathroom, very comf. beds perfect place to cut off and relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice, relax stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have to watchout when driving back at night.

    Nice, relax feel. Staffs are extremely friendly and helpful. Fun drive getting to the hotel, a bit like driving through a maze (well directed). Nice walking trails around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had sloping ceilings so mirror very low in bathroom so could not stand up to shave.

    Very helpful and polite staff. Excellent breakfast. Lovely views excellent location. Comfortable and spacious room. Lounge and dining room very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and a good hotel ... but invite your Gran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels like at 60 I was 20 years to young to stay here... and it’s pricey.

    Nice family run hotel. Great location and good facilities. Perfect as a base for walking the coastal paths.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Location location location- we love this little place and hopofely we could come back there one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude condescending receptionist! We both were too scared to ask her for anything!! She could've been a headmistress of boarding school to scare the children- but we are two adults staying in this lovely family run hotel where the front of the house should be more welcoming! In the end, we didn't even ask for anything! It was too much effort for her anyway. Seriously- she needs more training or simply this isn't a role for her!! Also the restaurant- we don't mind to pay a high price for the dishes- this was more like a pub-quality of food with price tags of a fancy brasserie in London! Very expensive with 'robotic' staff on the floor.

    Location, location location!!! An incredible place to stay given the location- lovely architecturally designed hotel that fits in the landscape of the local area. However, the receptionist!! and other staff from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing, friendly and comforting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really happy with our stay, the only possible thing I would change is the decor of the rooms. Perhaps could do with a freshen up of the decor for the price of the stay otherwise I was happy with the service.

    Receptionist and staff were extremely helpful, helping us old out baggage to and from our car. The spa facilities were excellent and the massage therapist was very thorough and was professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the manicurist was not on site full time and I could not get my nails done, anytime, in the 2 days we were there.

    Everything. Location, ambiance, staff, food, all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Very expensive for what it was. Dated bathroom with mixer-tap shower and plastic shower curtain.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was dirty, lots of hair in the water. Sauna was home-made with a door that wasn't easy to open and close. Put us off using it in case we got stuck inside! Bathroom was outdated with mixer-tap shower strung-up awkwardly. Sealant around bath peeling away. Old patio doors to outside sticky and lock very difficult to work. Disappointing for the cost of the room, have stayed in much better for much less. Would value the room around 80-90 not 150 and I have stayed in a lot of hotels with work.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was absolutely amazing! Dining at the restaurant is a must, great food and the restaurant views are incredible. Service throughout was brilliant and made to feel very welcome. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Two nights at almost £600 would not say great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd dining room table allocation system according to your room - weird. Beds not very comfortable (pillows not great) Location not great - very hilly - if you have joint issues - select carefully 'Garden room' isn't really as expected - sliding door onto a facing hedgerow Room noise from other guests above (think they had elephants in the room) and TV from room next to us.

    Staff very helpful. Food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was stunning. Having no mobile signal was amazing! The food was fab. The staff were attentive and friendly. The room was very clean and bright. Very comfy bed. My dog also loved it. It was great to be able to take her with us. Lots of gorgeous coastal walks from here too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    A delightful visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meals were exceptionally high class and delicious. It was a real bonus to us to find the wonderful setting and a 10 minute walk down to a lovely cove ( a little longer walking up)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Much needed relaxing escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very expensive, compared to European or UK luxury breaks. Food was also very expensive.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, there was an issue with our food order which went missing and was delayed a few hours so we got 50% off.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed what turned out to be just a 3 night stay in this beautiful spot..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    After Dinner coffee wasn't that great.

    Family style welcome and the Staff were always extremely attentive and helpful. We were given a free cream tea and an upgrade to one of the best rooms as we arrived a day late, due to the weather conditions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable and relaxing stay despite the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work and wasn’t fixed. At dinner I asked the server for a break between the main and dessert but she came back three times in quick succession. I was annoyed and didn’t order dessert!

    Lovely location and a really relaxing visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel + fantastic food and location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of proper wi fi is annoying !

    Been here a few times and it’s a great place for a break food is fantastic - dog freandly and 2 hour cliftop walk into Salcombe is incredible- or ten minute drive ! Well done team

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all great

    Such a fabulous location and place to stay. The staff are amazing, the food delicious and the views to die for. Couldn’t have asked for anything more. Plus they are super dog friendly which is lovely to see. Couldn’t recommend more!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    A lovely weekend break by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the hotel staff are very helpful. The food in the restaurant each evening was superb. Great breakfasts too. Really good service. The swimming pool is an added bonus. The spa treatments were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    This was a different kind of hotel to stay at, and we appreciated it. Definitely a good break for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife found the bed uncomfortable. I was disappointed that the television in Room 21 was audible in Up Above. Luckily, the guests in it retired at a reasonable hour. Sound-proofing might be advisable.

    The best things about our stay, in no particular order of priority, were (1) the food, (2) the pool and sauna, and (3) the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Apart from the purpose of the visit being ruined I enjoyed the rest of my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not book for dinner on the Saturday , which was the purpose of the visit. The hotel and booking . Com did not make this clear. There was a charity Ball. I Was very cross.

    Room great, food great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    A relaxing hotel in a wonderful location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to stay here mainly because the hotel accepts dogs. It was very apparent when first entering the rooms that dogs are allowed - a dogy damp smell! If we had not had our dog with us we would have been disappointed because of this. The rooms we feel could do with a bit of updating - especially the bathroom in one of the rooms. Staff were very pleasant but we felt the service was lacking a little for a 4 star hotel. Couple of other things which we noted, we didn’t have bath robes in one of the rooms - however we didn’t point this out as we didn’t require them. Toiletries and tea bags were not replenished at all during the 3 days. We had to ask for more tea bags. All little things which don’t cause major problems but for a four star hotel we feel one shouldn’t have to ask!

    A very pleasant hotel in a wonderful isolated location. Perfect for walkers who wish to take their dog on holiday with them. The rooms are a decent size, comfortable beds, duvets and linen. Breakfast was excellent with a super choice on offer. We had dinner one night and you couldn’t fault the food - tasty and well presented. The lounge area in the hotel is very relaxing with a fantastic view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a nice time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon tea was minimal although we negotiated it to be included on arrival. Two separate beds made into a double with a ridge in the middle. lovely place but very expensive. Initially breakfast was not included which was ridiculous taking in the price of the stay. Evening meal fairly average but expensive.

    The room size and view were lovely. Room service which was really practical.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was not great. Chips were hard, scrambled egg was burnt, tomato not cooked, bacon not crispy, and the glass of wine i was served was off

    location was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Not great for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome we received on check-in was anything but warm. The receptionist wasn't very friendly, which was a shame as the hotel itself and all other staff were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    A lovely place, but badly trained staff and lacking in the finer detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't have an idea on anything. In Devon and expected at least 1 ale on tap, nothing just a few cans. No idea on wine, or cocktail making. Ran out of too many things, even on the menu - right down to no horseradish to go with the beef.

    The room was very good. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for our wants and a very comfortable hotel with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location near the SW coastal path. The excellent meals and even when there was a power cut during a big storm, the staff all strove to cope and be as helpful as possible which they were throughout our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Dinner in the bar area was excellent and staff very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensuite needed some attention e.g. toilet seat not fixed properly. Would have liked better coffee/tea supplies on hand without having to go and ask. Lounge area for both guests and doggy companions

    Dinner in the bar area was excellent and staff very good. Bed linen was soft and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Refreshing retreat in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and doors are thin, so we could hear people walking about or talking outside our room.

    Excellent food, friendly service, quiet location with superb views of the sea and the moors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Mixed bag, lots of irritations, and a very high price compared with other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unhelpful porter service when we arrived. Case was left in the rain, we had lots of bags a dog and dog bed and found we had to suggest the lobby trolley was used. Having stayed at two other hotels, of similar prices where our arrival was stress free. No complimentary water in the room, no complementary biscuits ~ standard in other hotels~ Bad meal service, didn't warrant the high prices charged, and charged the same price for one scoop of ice cream as they did two, which suggests a certain mean spiritedness.

    The view~ the room ~ the shower~ the lounge although not dog friendly~ helpful receptionist~ fresh milk was given. Excellent variety of breakfast fruit which was nicely displayed. Molton Brown in the room was special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel, a bit isolated but very comfortable rooms but service could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is the bar was awful. There was only one bar man to do the bar and the restaurant. Service very poor.

    Food was good and the rooms lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful short trip with my wife on the motorbike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was firmer than I'd have liked but when mentioned they said they have toppers for the beds if required

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great get away, remote position with great views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't take the dog into the main lounge

    Patio doors to garden from the bedroom, perfect for the dog! Big room, 6' wide bed, good shower room, loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and extremely scenic.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative comment I have to make is they the bar is too light in the evening, the lighting is quite harsh and therefore lacking in atmosphere.

    Fantastic location and lovely for people with dogs, very dog friendly as can eat breakfast in coffee shop with your dog and dinner in the bar . Lovely sea views, book a sea view room only, food tremendous and staff very efficient and friendly. Bed very comfy and room a great size. We had a lovely relaxing break . We will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    beautiful position, staff very pleasant, but very lacking in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful position, staff very pleasant, but very lacking in atmosphere, and very overpriced on the drinks , waiter at the dining table very odd no communication at all, the lounge was like a residential home on our trip around Devon and Cornwall this hotel was the one we liked the least

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Far from madding crowd warm welcoming & relaxing - #finefood
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from madding crowd- if you're ok with being slightly off radar and prepared to just relax and indulge yourself for a while this is the perfect place ....even / especially in the rain ☔️ 😊👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, beautiful dog-friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet regularly ran out (we had to ask for it to be replenished), for the price of the hotel this shouldn't be happening. You have to pre-order dinner ahead, but both nights there were mistakes with our order. It also meant that dinner was served the moment you sat down even prior to ordering/getting a drink (makes it feel a bit rushed).

    The hotels location is perfect, stunning coastal walks and very peaceful. View from dining room is wonderful. Rooms are spacious and well decorated... bonus that we took our dog with us :-) Staff were very friendly and attentive. Will definitely recommend and return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    would definitely stay there again and am looking forward to returning later in year
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom although clean could do with another powerful vent as the room smelt damp and that meant the whole bedroom smelt damp, that was very offputting. the temperature in the room varied from hot and stuffy to cold, we had to sleep with the window open to allow some air but then it got chilly in the morning.

    the team at the hotel were super accommodating and very attentive, the location was excellent and the views to die for

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room could have been bigger for the price, and the bathroom could have had a bath as well as shower

    Great views, great breakfast, the staff were all polite and most were fantastic to deal with

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location with a sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Awesome location with a fabulous sea view from the dinning room. Great staff, only too happy to help make the stay more enjoyable. Very good breakfast, the dinner menu was very limited but great if you are into local sea foods. Great coastal walks locally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel was calm and peaceful. Soar Mill Cove is in an amazing location, with stunning views and walks across the South West Coast Path right on the doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding Hotel All round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whilst the Hotel markets itself as a getaway retreat and we knew in advance WiFi access was not going to be good we felt this does not suit everyone and would liked to have had better WiFi access. Not the hotel's fault but mobile phone access is very intermittent. EE appeared strongest.

    This is an outstanding hotel in all respects albeit a little pricey. This is however worth it if you are looking for a truly restful break. The staff are both friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much for them. Being a Spa facility the swimming pool is excellent and range of treatments likewise. These need to be booked in advance though. The food is outstanding. Breakfast comprehensive and evening meal superbly presented from a varied menu cooked to perfection. Service is outstanding and great afternoon teas available. The location is out of the way and beautiful providing access to beach and walks. This is probably one of the best hotels we have experienced and certainly we plan to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent host, and his staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Seem to be pressurised into dining every night in hotel, had a dedicated table for breakfast every morning but on last morning had someone sitting at our table, we complained, but staff seemed unwilling to move offending guests!! Local beach is nice, but is totally unsuitable for guests with mobility problems, i think this should be explained more on hotel description .

    Excellent staff, good location, and sea views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    How to enjoy a short stay in Devon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Prix Fixe menu limited and a la carte never seems to change. I wouldnt want to stay for more than 5 days because we had all that we liked on the menu by then.

    Food and location were good. Enjoyed the breakfasts. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    A very friendly, family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We should have stayed longer.

    A very friendly, family run hotel. Beautiful surroundings, very quiet and relaxing. Great for walks and swimming. dog and child friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but not as well suited to toddlers as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises a soft play room for young children which they have replaced with a table tennis table. They need to get a sign for reception in the car park, every person that visited tried to enter through the gardens for the garden rooms!

    Breakfast had everything you could want. Very relaxing hotel even when all rooms are full.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 3 has a restricted panoramic view. Also lock on patio door is a bit dodgey, and the tiolet seat is broken. We had a lovely stay but a bit disappointed with the room. We've always stayed in Jenny wren which is a bigger room and a much better view over the garden. So I will remember to request that one next time. we love your hotel, and we use it for special occasions as it really is a treat for us. We did buy drinks but we found them a bit over priced.

    The staff were friendly, the food was lovely, the view is spectacular, the room was very clean. A lovely place to relax. A nice complimentary bottle of bubbles to wish me a happy birthday in our room was a lovely gesture. Love the relaxed atmosphere and love the serving of breakfast till 10.30

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Go there !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 7 which lacks any windows that could be opened at night we had to sleep with patio doors open which my parner was not comfortable with but room would of been too hot otherwise, otherwise this was a superb break.

    Staff were extremely friendly, food was excellent and the location is exceptional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Friendly, well-run hotel in stunning loaction. Fantastic indoor facilities- pool, gym, sauna, spa et
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom door- no. 9- rattled a bit in the wind.

    We absolutely loved it all! Family-run, so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Fresh milk available in the room on request, plus cafetiere and ground coffee. Perfect! We had a cheaper garden room, which was peaceful. The location is stunning, with walks from the hotel to Salcombe one way and Bolberry the other. Plus, of course, the delightfully quiet Soar Mill Cove. Unbeatable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Idillyic retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quiet unspoilt location and room with beautiful view over the headland to the sea. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere and is ideal for people of all ages.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic, dog friendly hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic, dog friendly hotel. Rooms were huge and really luxurious with nice little touches like a box of dog treats and a feeding mat. Location is second to none, with a lovely wall down to the beach and amazing views. The staff were really friendly and food was excellent. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Matt on reception gave us a lovely warm welcome on entrance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - excellent

    Matt on reception gave us a lovely warm welcome on entrance and each day, upgraded our room. Cleanliness throughout. Breakfast also very good. Room overlooked the sea...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location & people but uncomfortable atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor & design was "hard" with no soft furnishings to soften & absorb noise. The tables in the restaurant could use a table cloth & the chair legs a soft pad as every impact created noise. The harsh black décor in the bar with hard tables & floors meant no atmosphere whatsoever & maybe why there was no-one in the bar whenever we visited. There was a strong smell of toilet cleaner in the corridor by the public toilets every time we went past & access to the kitchen which was a bit off putting. We had Room 15 which had an adjoining door to the room next door which meant that we could hear every word spoken & every move they made & they could probably hear us. Also, the door was loose in it's fitting so every time someone walked past or the air pressure changed the door rattled, which on the first evening kept us awake for a while as the corridor was busy, on a Saturday night. It was also a little strange to have someone knock on the door to take our food order at 5pm when we had just arrived back from a day out, although I understand the need for efficiency... it also meant that our food arrived immediately as we sat down but had to order wine at the table so waited until the wine arrived, (the hotel not having our first choice) so the food was slightly cold when we ate, it all felt a bit rushed & as we hadn't read the info re food orders as we had arrived only just prior to the 5pm request. I believe it's ok to order all at the table, but it still felt a bit odd.

    Great location, god facilities, mostly helpful & welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: