Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of SoHostel

Reviews of SoHostel

91 Dean Street, Soho, Westminster, Westminster Borough, London, W1D 3SY, United Kingdom

#483 of 1,036 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4357 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic...again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More croissants at breakfast

    This was probably the 5th time at sohostel and again very good. Friendly staff, perfect location and yummy chuncky chips with cheese 😉 See you next time!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    10
    It's been a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven't seen anything that could be improved!

    Absolutely brilliant! Very helpful staff, the place itself including the room are all spotless, a lot of facilites that you wouldn't expect to find in a hostel such as a proper pamper room with hair dryers and straighteners! Laundry rooms, a fully equipped bar which serves amazing food.. everything was absolutely perfect! Will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    8.8
    Very clean rooms, with clean and nice showers and toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is very noisy, the hostel should put some isolation on the windows because you can hear everyone partying on the street the whole night. Also microwave would be lovely!

    Very clean rooms, with clean and nice showers and toilet. One of the best hostels ive been in

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, comfy place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door closes very loudly, very disturbing to hear doors slamming early in the mornings.

    Friendly staff. They host events like pub crawls and karaoke nights. Very engaging. Large luggage storage room so we were able to leave our bags in the hostel after checking out and come back to collect it after. Good location as it was located next to Oxford street and a lot of restaurants around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    7.9
    Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Loving the common room, quite cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed light was not bright enough, which made it hard to unpack/pack in a dorm room as I didn't want to disturb others. The lift didn't work so well; lift door sometimes did not open.

    The atmosphere was superb, especially in the common room. The room, toilet and shower were clean, bed was reasonably comfy. The staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    10
    I'd book this place every visit to London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the rooms further away from the main entrance had weaker wifi.

    the best thing about SoHostel is the location. You would be able to save money on travel if you stay here. it's almost a walk away from everywhere I needed to go in London. The beds were good enough and the showers were clean and always had hot and cold water. Karaoke nights were awesome!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and moved everyt8me the person in the top bunk moved. The staff were quite rude on my arrival also as I didn't have any ID as wasn't told I would need any

    The location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    9.6
    Everyone was so nice, bathroom was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everyone was so nice, bathroom was very clean. Tesco is less than one minute walk from the hostel. There’s few games like Jenga and cards in lounge where you can hang out and drink beer.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    7.1
    Clean rooms, toilets, showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for 3 beds was very small and no chairs or tables to put the things.. anought for sleeping but not for staying..

    Clean rooms, toilets, showers.. position is just in Soho district and behind the coner is shopping street. Infront of Hostel is Tesco supermarket.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    8.3
    That's so good place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small toilet is only weak point.

    1.Front is kind and very helpful 2.Hostel in pub is very good and hot 3. Good location 4. Very kind roommate 5. Clean bathroom

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    8.8
    The location is top notch, I will add that I stayed here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the basement level the first time where the room could get a bit stuffy, but easily solved when the windows are opened ajar. The bed frame is a bit worrying sometimes, especially if you’re on the bottom bunk and your bunk mate up top is extremely rough with getting in and out of bed. The 4 bedded dorm I stayed in the second stay was small! I don’t mind small but where the door is makes it that much harder to open and manage to get through. Lastly, I had no issues with the shower in the basement level but the ones on level 3 with the temperature and pressure dial, the water was extremely hot, and I’m someone who generally showers in really hot water. My fault I forgot to tell reception about it before I left. Otherwise a decent stay in the heart of Soho.

    The location is top notch, I will add that I stayed here twice this trip, smack bang in between Regents and Oxford street with multiple underground stops to go to! If you’re watching a musical (especially Les Mis), Sohostel is less than a 10min walk. Love that they have a pamper room with hair dryers and HAIR STRAIGHTENERS provided! There are power points at each bunk space so that’s handy! Clean and maintained throughout the day. Sound from pubs surrounding it was minimal, generally slept well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    8.8
    Very good deal for budget travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was under construction, so there was a lot of noise. Also. being close to the Soho core nightlife, the night was not peaceful at all. But one should expect this, really. The beds were squeaky so beware, if you're a light sleeper. Also, please mind there's a lot of stairs and it can get confusing, as the hostel is very big. But the personnel is always ready to help. What I did not like was that they did not offer padlocks for the safety box under the bed. You needed to bring your own or buy one. Other than these small things, I really recommend this hostel, it's one of the best I have stayed in :)

    The hostel is right downtown, close to cafes, restaurants and clubs, it's a very nice area fit for young people that want to go out and about and try the London nightlife. The personnel is helpful and polite and the hostel is very clean. There is a satisfying number of bathrooms/showers down the hallway and they are all very clean and well attended. The room, although small , was really clean and it had a mirror and sink so you can brush your teeth , drink water or whatever you might need it for. The linen was also clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. The hostel is extremely large and complex, it has a dining area and a games area which I found really cool. You can also deposit your luggage for free. What I particularly liked were the REALLY low prices they had at the bar/lounge area. I should say that if one wants to enjoy a drink before going to bet, one will not find better prices for beer/spirits in the area! They also sell snacks. If you choose not to purchase their breakfast, like we did, there is a cafe next door which offers 20% discount on all products for all hostel guests. We just have coffee in the morning, so it was a really good deal! All in all, this was a very good experience, highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    first night I stayed in room of 8 and it was the worsest night ever! Room was too hot and super stinky! Next day I moved to room of 4 and it was clean, fresh and really nice stay! Very bad was the mistake of stuff because they avcidentally charged me for 5 nights instead of 1 and so they took all my money and they said that I get it back maybe after 5 days... so it was uncomfortable to stay in london without the money...

    Location is perfect. its basically located in oxford street

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    5.8
    locationwise it was good, however do not expect more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are totally different than pictures, it was too small. we were hearing the voice from ground when somebody is walking even from next room (ours was same) our room's window was broken, it was not possible to ventilate the room very vell and the room was colder than the corridors. bunk was moving when my bunkmate turns from right to left, left to right.. under of the bunks were dusty. mattress was nylon which is make u sweat during night. and there wasn't any napkins except toilet papers in the toilets. besides that they were painting main corridor in crowded xmas time, we had to make big circles from upstairs to go out.

    Location is perfect, very close to main streets and metro line. staff was kind, especially guys. hairdry & make up room was also good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    9.2
    Staff friendly and helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a bigger pillow!

    Staff friendly and helpful; the room had everything we needed. The location is great, you can easily get everywhere. Nice vibes!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    Clean Hostel, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain!

    What it impressed me, it was that the hostel is very clean. They really clean the toilets and the showers literally with a brush till they become very clean. This is a big plus. The common areas are nice, the bar is cool. The staff is friendly and helpful. I had a good breakfast in the bar near, where I get some discount being a guest of the hostel. Carmen the waitress was very professional. They have plugs to charge the phone at every bed and a small lamp.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    8.8
    Great locations, within walking distance to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite limited privacy as there are no partitions like curtains. Everyone can basically see what’s everyone doing. Ventilation is quite poor in the room.

    Great locations, within walking distance to metro station. Hostel is clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    7.9
    it was nice for the price paid, the staff is really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very bad coffee! please please improve, it is so important to start the morning with a good, strong, black, hot coffee

    it was nice for the price paid, the staff is really nice, lots of information available and very well situated. it was my first time, but if they improve on the coffee, I might return

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    9.2
    Just off Oxford Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a warren and got lost trying to find our way out. Twice. That might be us though.

    Just off Oxford Street. Fantastic. Twin room clean. Plenty of times and showers. Nice looking bar with entertainment. Very helpful staff. Really cheap and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    5.4
    So-SoHostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is extremely uncomfortable. It is clean, the staff is friendly, but they just didn't organize the things well. There is no place to put your stuff in the bathroom or in the bedroom - any shelf or rack. No place to put your phone or glasses for a night. Power outlets are poorly available if you have an upper bed. No fridge to store your food. No hot drinking water after 10 pm. If you were going to eat at the hostel, forget about it.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    9.2
    The location is very good and originally I booked another...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there should have hair dryer inside the shower room rather than in a separate room as it is not convenient as we have to go down the ground floor every time to use it.

    The location is very good and originally I booked another hostel but as that one could not be accepted so I changed immediately to SoHostel. I have been there two years ago so that I came back again. It’s good for travellers.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    6.7
    Really liked the pamper room, having hairdryers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet that worked near 119-124 was not clean, and the other one was out of order. The shower was mouldy and the shower head was broken. The rooms were super warm and there was construction happening right outside the rooms, so opening the window wasn’t an option. There were only one or two outlets per room in inconvenient locations for the top bunks.

    Really liked the pamper room, having hairdryers and straighteners provided meant less packing for me. The lounge area had live music playing one night, and the location could not be any better- right in the middle of the city!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    7.9
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a critism, just to note that a twin room is bunks not single beds. We should have realised that but it was a suprise. Shower cubicle was a little snug.

    Staff were helpful. Place was clean. Bar open late. Allowed us to drop out bags off before we checked in..thanks. Didn't eat there so can't comment on that. Superb location for Shaftesbury avenue and Leicester square.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    5.8
    I liked the convenience of the location to other amenities...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff was not very helpful in the begging but later on was okay

    I liked the convenience of the location to other amenities and also the computer services

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    7.1
    It was ok when needed just for sleeping and taking a shower but not for many days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress very curved and not comfy. Humidity in the room and toilet. No storage place in the room. Socket adaptors were not provided in the hostel which I believe should be since they have many travellers from Europe.

    Friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    it was my first time using hostel so I was really hesitated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it was my first time using hostel so I was really hesitated and not sure what to expect. However, the staff from this place is helpful and friendly !! on the day of check-in, they would walk with you to your room and show your facilities around. If it will be your first time using hostel, it will be a great start from here !!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    The Best Hostel In London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff Is Always Polite , helpful , agreeable , efficient... They have a small beauty parlour to do your hair which is Amazing , the location is excellent just accross Tesco and could not enviosn a better stay somewhere else lol

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect Friendly staff, clean room, perfect location I didn’t expect such am amazing memory at sohostel. I can’t wait to come back here

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    Amazing , Superb Professional Staff , Awesome Location Delicious Meals ! The Best In London !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have Curtains for more privacy :(

    The staff Are Incredibly Nice And Truly go out of their way to make your stay Unforgettable! The location IS The Best in London The Food Is Delicious , The Chef Is Incredible and the Prices Unbeatable they really provide An Unique Experience !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    8.3
    The location was perfect, very handy with lots of shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to find kitchen services maybe but the rest was perfect.

    The location was perfect, very handy with lots of shops, cafes, restaurants nearby and good public transport conections. I stayed just for a night and I had a great time. The rooms are with enough space for all the guests and even it's very central, it was really quiet. I will probably stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    9.2
    Loved the beauty room for girls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The computer room was a plus, but rather slow connection running out every now and then.

    Loved the beauty room for girls! Very clean restrooms as well!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    7.1
    Good location close to nice restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took a room alone (85€) for the first time but was a bit disappointed by the confort of the room. For the shared rooms the price is so low that you cannot expect more confort of course...so no surprises

    Location is great and low price of courses

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location, close to the Palace Theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was written that in deluxe twin room there would be 2 separate beds. In fact, we had the same bunk bed as in other rooms. It was cold in the room and the heater was full of dust.

    Excellent location, close to the Palace Theatre. Continental breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    7.5
    Clean, friendly and great location, good bar prices for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with building work going on outside and poor sound insulation generally in the hostel due to basic spec, ie no carpets. Harsh lighting, no lamp or bedside tables.

    Clean, friendly and great location, good bar prices for London.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    7.5
    Old styled hostel with an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with en-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk bed and mattress are really uncomfortable. This is very old styled bed. The bedclothes are also old and already deformed. There is a construction near to the hostel (everywhere in London though) which makes the location noiser. Breakfast is fine but coffee is terrible. The real coffee machine should be bought.

    The bathroom is inside the room, this is a really good feature. The hostel is generally speaking clean. The most valuable thing is the location which is super centric.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly & helpful staff, clean facilities, cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too thin.

    Very friendly & helpful staff, clean facilities, cheap booze, perfect location!! If we come back to London we will definitely book again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location but uncomfortable and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so thin I could actually feel the slats of the bed beneath it, the pillow was equally poor and had to be folded in half for it to actually feel like any kind of support. The walls are thin and you can hear every little sound throughout the night - I don’t mean the other residents were noisy, they were actually very respectful, I mean you can hear every footstep, every door closing, every toilet flush, I could even hear the phone vibrating in the room beneath us whenever they received a text message!

    Full English breakfast was excellent and the location couldn’t have been better, just off Oxford Street and only a five minute walk from Tottenham Court Road tube station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    8.3
    I did not like the flimsy feeling beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like the flimsy feeling beds. Every move the bed would shake and make sounds from the frame. It is disturbing when people are coming and going to a hostel let alone the disturbance of the loud sounds of the beds. If I ever have a hostel I would minimise this annoyance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    8.8
    The staff was really nice and would be very helpful at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit disappointed on the cleaning of bathrooms and toilets but it is fine!

    The staff was really nice and would be very helpful at anytime. It is a perfect place if you want to have a Leisure trip to London.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    7.1
    Quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, the pipe was broken and I needed to keep the shower in my hands

    The common room, the beers they have, the match on big screen...even the rooms but I think it was too small for 3 people

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hostel is great, complimentary English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin oom was very small and needed some a re-decoration and it felt like being in a prison cell, room had no where to hang clothes which was frustrating .

    The location of the hostel is great, complimentary English breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could probably use a few more laundry machines. Maybe a couple of chairs in the dorms?

    Great location. Great vibe. Friendly staff always happy to help and very approachable. clean and modern. Good security. Very spacious rooms. The room with the mirrors and hair styling stuff is a great idea. Would recommend or stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    9.2
    Great, Clean, Budget Accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful, and the accommodation was spotlessly clean, they're ideally placed with Leicester Square a short walk away, would definitely recommend and stay here again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.2
    I would heartily recommend this hostel to prospective visitors.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No access to tea/coffee ( & snack bars etc.) outwith core times proved less than ideal.

    Friendly staff, ideal location, excellent value for money and a positive age range of lodgers to make it easy to make acquaintances.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    7.5
    Good value for price & fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water system was not reliable: only hot water in the shower on my first night there. Toilets were not always clean.

    The location is perfect. Close to many bars, restaurants & theatres. Easy access to subway.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could of mentioned they do a vegetarian English Breakfast.

    I liked the vegetarian English Breakfast, they were so good to do it for me, considering I only mentioned this after I saw my mate in the dorm get it. I enjoyed the company of the people in my dorm. I also had a lovely Aussie lady check me in. I would certainly be back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Its all about location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and really noise as there was construction going on the street. The bed was really noisy as well. Bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner.

    Its all about location! Staff is friendly and you have a good cheap place to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a construction site right outside the hostel when I was staying there (02-05.11.18). It was impossible to sleep past 07:30 AM because of the noise.

    Great location, right next to Oxford street. Helpful staff Clean room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    9.2
    Cheery central hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses are quite thin, not so comfortable. Shower fittings probably need replacing as they’re difficult to work properly.

    The location is great, central & accessible. Rooms were clean, light with lockable storage. Options for meals/drinks in the hostel. Staff are fun & friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, amazing location with lots of fun things to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a hostel guys. If you’re expecting the Ritz Carlton do everyone a favor and stay somewhere else.

    Affordable option in a fun area of London. In Soho but near Chinatown, providing a good launching pad for lots of cool places.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    8.3
    Good location, great staff, overall impression was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and were given the option to drop off our bags. We were given 2 tags, 1 to attach to the bag and 1 to take with us so that you would be able to identify your bag when collecting. But when collecting the bag, nothing was asked about showing your tag.. I would appreciate it if they would otherwise there is no point in doing the tags. Also the shower was very hot and I could not easily adjust it, I made comments about this issue at the hostel.

    Nice staff, good location, they took their time to do a little tour and showed us our room. thought that was a nice little extra!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    5.8
    Staff was very friendly and willing to help 24/7
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our doubleroom was advertised showing bathroom pictures which was very misleading. There is no double room with own bathroom and we were very disappointed.so we figured out we payed that much for a room with a shared toilet. The toilet on the corridor was disgusting. Our blanket was very dirty. Our room was smelly. I stayed in many hostels but this one was really not nice.

    Staff was very friendly and willing to help 24/7 Location is abeolutely perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff and clean rooms, toilets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very friendly staff and clean rooms, toilets and bathrooms. Very good value for money: when I’m next in London, I will definitely stay here again !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent, and the people staying there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with a bed, which broke immediately.

    The location was excellent, and the people staying there were actually mostly young and friendly people. There was a bar that people could meet and socialize.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    7.5
    OK place for the night as long as you're not expecting privacy or comfort. It's a basic, safe, place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was stuffy and too hot, no heat control was available. Could have opened a window but that was pretty noisy.

    Convenient location, can't beat the price. Security regarding entry to the building and to the rooms seems very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    8.8
    Great. It was so worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That outside guests weren’t really allowed to entry the lounge area. But I guess its best for security purposes.

    Location was on point! Neil and Adrian are like the best people ever. So nice and very helpful! Never stayed in a hostel before so this was a great first experience. Meeting new people everywhere was great. Soo worth it. In the heart of Soho London with never ending activities and shopping. Plus all bus lines and trains were walking distances and was easy to travel anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing, the rooms were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazing, the rooms were very clean. Most importantly, the toilets and showers were very clean. The bar/restaurant/breakfast lounge were very nice. overall, a 5 star hostel at a budget price. I have never been so happy with any accommodation I have booked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an extra pillow and the bed was a little uncomfy but all in all minor things!!

    Staff extra friendly, keen to help and very knowledgable about the local area. Nothing seemed to much trouble!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to be if you desire to explore some of the busiest streets of London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite expensive,though worthwhile when you juxtaposed it with the value for money provided. Not so easy to trace because of some construction work ongoing nearby the hostel. The rooms payment goes compulsory with breakfast which is big No for me.

    The place is in the central part of London just off oxford street.Very cozy and friendly environment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    9.6
    Staff service is particularly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street environment was a bit noisy at night.

    Staff service is particularly good. Free luggage storage service is available. The hotel is fully equipped and clean. Great location. This is a comfortable experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    8.8
    Employees are fantastic and the location was absolutely prime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilities could be updated such as the showers. There was some damage, but nothing significant. My bed was a little creeky and especially being in a room with strangers, it made it a little hard to adjust my position in bed without concern of waking them up!

    Employees and the people at the hostel were fantastic! Took care of all my needs and answered all of my questions and concerns. Very friendly and made sure I was having a good experience. Able to guide me to all the cool places!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything ! Staff cleanliness, price, location all amazing Breakfast was great, meals served were excellent value. Pamper room was great. I will never stay in another overpriced hotel in London again now that I've discovered SoHostel!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    8.3
    For properly experiencing the city, the location, ammenities and value of SoHostel is top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds were a little unstable. I feel like there could have been more showers and bathrooms on the floors considering how many people each floor could accomodate and every night that I stayed there it was quite full.

    Although i found myself rarely using them as I only spent time at the hostel sleeping there, the amenities were many and seemed to be well liked by other guests. Great location and value overall. I brought my own ear plugs, but if I didnt I would hope there are complimentary ones provided because due to its location in the city center it would get noisy at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.7
    Good hostel in the middel of London city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were ok,but not so comfortable. They were making a lot of noise. The pillow was almost not existing, had a sore neck when i woke up.

    Reception was kind but seemed confused about the different bed and guests sleeping in them. The Cafe next door had a sweet spanish speaking lady serving coffee and great croissant. Great service here!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street where the hostel is located was under construction, so it's quite noisy at night. It's not the hostel's fault though.

    All staff is amazing, extremely helpful and friendly. The construction is new, rooms are thoroughly clean and well-organized. Great facilities, especially the pamper room. Excellent quality for a hostel. :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Service standard is very high with fully executed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with en-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service standard is very high with fully executed. I was really enjoyed because of the excellent reception that I received in my 3 days stay for the good location, clean bed, enough wash room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.5
    Excellent staff, excellent location, very good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunkers are quite light. If the person above you moves a lot during the night, you wake up from the movement. Also, in a female room the litter bin of the bathroom could be cleaned a bit more often.

    Excellent staff, excellent location, very good breakfast! I totally recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    SoHostel is in such a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with en-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SoHostel is in such a great location! Easy walk to either Oxford Circus or Tottenham Court. The staff are amazing and everything is so clean! Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds have no curtains so there is less privacy. But it is ok. It’s a hostel!

    I liked the staff. They make you feel like home. They are always ready to help and all of them are good people! :D The hostel has a bar working until 2 am and there is also a lovely make up room for ladies.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    I'd stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with En-suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant construction outside....they even had night crews working. Couldn't keep the window open, so it became quite stuffy at night. Bring your ear plugs!

    Excellent central location. Tons of restaurants. Facility was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Bonus: They will also allow you to store your luggage prior as well as after checkout for free.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Great, safe, clean, friendly and perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do wonder if there's any way to make the cages in the room quieter / encourage guests to not access them absolutely all night. The beds are very squeeky too - the big guy above me shook the entire thing most of the night. Not much to do about that I suppose - save for building bracing supports!

    I've stayed here a few times now - it's a great choice for location and it's about as smart as this type of place gets. The check-in process is smooth now that I know about the ID requirements.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Brillaint, fun relaxing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really welcoming and the whole place had a very relaxed and safe feel about it which encouraged people staying to enjoy their stay and respect each other. The Live band was a brilliant way to enjoy a pleasant hour in the bar. The food was delicious and really reasonable. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely worth it
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff really do everything they can to help you, they even printed my boarding pass and let me use their bathroom after I had already checked out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast could be either English or Continental, and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be either English or Continental, and lovely for the price. Located 5 minutes far from Leicester Square/Picadilly Circus, in the middle of Soho. Staff were friendly, and let me leave my baggage inside while walking through the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Very ! So !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in a 3-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the quick and friendly reception. I liked the soft bed, the warm showers, the quiet sleep, You're off to a good start, tell us a little more!

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse SoHostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: