Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solent Hotel and Spa - A Thwaites Hotel and Spa 4 stars

Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham, PO15 7AJ, United Kingdom

#5 of 11 hotels in Fareham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 559 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue... It’s not easy to find the room service menu... there is nothing printed in the room and the channel number where it should be isn’t correct

    Location was great; car parking, big size and quiet room; good facilities; WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say at all. Really enjoyed our stay.😁

    Reception really friendly and helpful, nothi g to much trouble. Suites spotless, beds really comfortable, enjoyed my morning coffee sat on the comfy sofa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed and the lack of cups / tea a coffee .

    The sofa bed was broken and very uncomfortable for the children . Rest of room was ok . Never enough mugs and tea and milk , and 2 Nd night the cups were found not to be washed up .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con kept going off. Beds I didn’t think were that comfortable, nor the pillows. Thick dust under bed. Breakfast was ok but bit cold and the toaster wasint working. Steam room not open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cracks in wash basin, beds too hard, we were on FLOOR 2 and the child safety window catches did not work !!!!! reported this to reception.

    Great atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire alarm. The staff seemed underprepared and not very much in evidence. It turned out to be a false alarm which was just as well given how ill prepared the staff were.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the food was good and the service pleasant, the restaurant is a bit bright and unwelcoming and not in keeping with a Spa experience.

    Great choice of Gin! Friendly services and generally helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite dated and there were parts that were slightly broken like the panelling on the skirting boards. This is not what you would expect from a "4-star hotel". The restaurant dinner left something to desire too - the food was not good value for money.

    The shower was extremely powerful, which was a pleasant surprise. However, I was informed this is not consistent across rooms. The staff were helpful and friendly. The gym facilities were excellent and staff were helpful in getting access. The breakfast buffet was extensive and a sight better than the dinner food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get much use of the leisure facilities due to time restraints. So would have like the pool etc open a little later

    Really nice place, catering to all your needs, the room was great and our stay was really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to evacuate due to a fire alarm but it seemed to be a complete shambles no staff on our exit or talking to guests so we left to go and eat up the road. Didn’t even get an apology or anything next day at check out. Do not expect a relaxing spa like we thought it would be as you can’t relax with over 15 children under 10 in the pool. Didn’t realise when booking the hotel and spa that there was no age limit in spa. Also male changing rooms where turned into female ones so had to walk all the way back to our room wet.

    Very nice sized rooms and the bed was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been better.

    All the extra bits, that made our stay so special. Cookie and milk for our little boy and gift bag. Dressing gowns for us including our child. Coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dated and too small, shower fittings poor. Swimming pool too small not enough seating, Gym not clean enough no decent water fountain available Breakfast was sad wish we hadn’t bothered, luke warm not sure the scrambled eggs were fresh and no one bothered to restock unless asked hence no dishes glasses pastries had been obliterated.

    Bed was good room pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reached the hotel at 10 pm as my daughter had to travel from Copenhagen after work. We were disappointed to find that her room was given someone else and she was offered a taxi to go to Holiday Inn. But I did not want her to go there because her course was in this hotel and was unwell due to early pregnancy. I had to request for a third bed in the room . The folding bed provided was uncomfortable and I slept on this bed and gave my bed. The following day she was given a junior suite which she had to vacate at 8am as she had to attend the course at 8.30am. We had booked the rooms with breakfast but we were told that breakfast was not included. On the whole very disappointed service. No safe bin the room.

    plenty of place for parking. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had some internet issues with speed.

    The bed was to die for, so comfortable Flakey Croissants and the toaster worked, the first time too. Great choice for Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that every hotel guest could see into the pool as they walked past the spa area. Doesn't really have any privacy to relax without everyone looking in on the Area.

    The room was nice, bed was comfy and the breakfast was lovely, the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee machine did not work very well. A slight problem with the number of towels in the room

    The room was well laid out and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Room service was very good and the pub next door provided a good alternative to the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit dated and tatty. Dusty units in room and shower very low! Couldn’t actually get under it. This was apparently an upgraded suite for us too?!

    Pleasant staff and lovely pool and facilities. Great area near to whiteley

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and facilities. Really nice touch for the children with own robes, cookies and kids packs on bed. Great choice of restaurants and shopping a nile from the property. Brilliant stay. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included in the room price. Bar prices are a bit steep for outside London. The rooms and in fact the whole hotel was very hot throughout.

    Spacious, friendly staff and a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one gripe. There was a step in the middle of the room. All of us fell over it at some stage.

    The family room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a toddler and found facilities and staff were great for him. When we arrived he was given a cup of milk, cookie and a little bag of goodies. We loved the pool and spa facilities and the fact we could use gowns and slippers. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety and all of excellent quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking did not clarify we had already paid for breakfast and we had to show proof as was not updated on their system so be careful or they may try to charge you twice. Breakfast was quite busy and some tables were just left to clutter and get messy when they should have been cleared for more guests, but it was very busy.

    The hotel staff were very nice, they accommodated us very well when we asked to change rooms for our afternoon tea. The beds were very comfortable and the room very spacious. The spa and pool was lovely, really relaxing. The customer service from reception was excellent, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    felt a bit like a conference centre

    comfortable beds. very polite staff. Attended for a fabulous wedding. lovely looking spa which we didn't manage to use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was broken. I was moved tp another room that had the same issue. Third time lucky. Breakfast options were limited and very overpriced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed when wedding on,eat at the parsons collar pub food was not good waitress was good most helpful food was sent back very over cooked replacement was not very edible bar supervisor didn’t come to see us not good would not employ him or her if I had my own pub,hotel very nice staff great shame about the parsons collar pub would not like to go back there this was a birthday treat for my wife spoiled by food that should not have been served

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Open fire was not good as all the fumes were coming in and Affected my breathing. They need to have the chimney cleaned and be aware of the serious fumes

    Great facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't overly keen on the dinner menu.

    The staff were all very friendly and informative. The room was very nice and best bed I think I have had in all the hotels that I have stayed in. The pool was very nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Poor food ..steak meagre salad merely a garnish, ambience of dining room terrible as main restaurant being refurbished. Restaurant staff inn attentive. Room dark. Only two breakfast tea bags and coffee machine didn't work. Dirty towel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was rather uncomfortable. Double bed could have been a superking as room was big enough. Should have been notified before that restaurant was being refurbished.

    Location, excellent room size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is getting a bit tatty. Not sure it is a spa hotel with a business clientele or the other way around

    Breakfast has a good selection and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only little thing is ordered glasses and ice ( was a hen party) never arrived , just a tad annoying , staff just need to communicate a tad more but in no way affected our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were miserable. Apart from the lady who checked us in. Not accommodating at all. Room was dated and run down. Spa was uncomfortably hot and full of screaming children. Breakfast was shocking... dirty plates and tables everywhere. The staff just seemed to not have a clue. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, although we were booked into a family suite, there was only provisions for one person, ie. only one dressing gown, one towel etc. As we had just come from our wedding reception, we would have liked more but were too tired to take it up with the management.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together is not the same as a king size, even though the receptionist insisted it was! Irrelevant as I booked a family double with a sofa (bookable by anyone on the booking.com site)... I was told booking.com shouldn’t offer these rooms to two adults without children and it wasn’t available.

    Cocktails were lovely, service very slow though but we weren’t in a rush.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout for family was average - The L shaped suite is awesome, specifically if you have young children. Our room was large but all beds next to each other, which is not great. Upper floor request was ignored on the booking, quite noisy at night, average nights sleep.

    Large room, clean facilities, good service, nice pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection limited although what was provided was good quality.

    Room was very good for the rate. Fridge and Bath both welcome when we have a little one. Room was also available early which was great as weather was not good so we changed plans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    felt the bathroom very tired. peeling paint on ceiling and hated the shower curtain. would of preferred a nice clean modern shower cubicle than standing in a bath with a shower curtain sticking to you. not enough staff in bar especially when you have a function on and they take over the bar. long wait for drinks. breakfast table not set up. there was not enough cups and no milk/sugar. needed to find a staff member.

    comfortable bed, clean. welcoming staff. nice premises and a fab pool. fantastic service at evening meal. could not do enough for us. very professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need updating , when there’s a function going on they should have more staff on as you wait at the bar for staff cause their serving in the function room , pool was over crowded so had to wait for it to calm down

    Clean rooms friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff very helpful and accommodating. Hotel room very comfy and homely. Loved the swimming and gym facilities. Business centre and lunch were also good and for once it was nice to have coffee and snacks on tap and not just at designated times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for a beautiful wedding that was held in the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. Food was mouth-watering great. Spa looked fantastic, wished that we had time to enjoy. Great stay from start to finish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half of the facilties at the spa weren't working and it was full of kids. I also paid for an upgrade on the room but the room was dingy and small.

    The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a bit small and crowded. Gym had no bench for lifting weights, and nothing for stomach muscles. Surrounding area mainly busy roads. Very far away from nearest train station.

    Very cozy hotel. Room very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They lent me a free bicycle for the week.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 140 was so SO cold, no fiddling with the Aircon warmed up the room, radiators were on, but not hot at all. Made for an uncomfortable stay, strangely the reception and corridors were Baking hot. Also, bathroom wasn't very clean, and definitely needed refurbishment. Not especially 4 stars, especially for a junior suite.

    Fantastic looking hotel, lobby was very impressive, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked hash browns for breakfast but that was the only thing!

    The breakfast was delicious. The swimming pool was very good. The room was clean and well appointed. The Christmas decorations had been done beautifully.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    joggers constantly blocking the drive on Mondays - rather unsafe. No free newspaper.

    excellent customer service and the food/room service was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of spider things on the walls in the room. There was some hair in the bath. The fridge didn’t work in the room. During the night people were shouting in the hall.

    The shower was good in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very disappointing. Shower very stiff and difficult to adjust temperature. Heated towel rail didn't work even though we reported it before breakfast on the Friday and someone came to look on the Saturday but still not working when we left on Monday. Also bathroom wasn't cleaned on the Sunday.

    Bedroom was good with comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting was good for relaxing but some extra brightness might have been useful in other circumstances. It is good to get a bargain - this wasn't. It was very good but we paid a full price

    The bedroom was excellent, four poster bed good, sitting area with armchairs. Restaurant excellent for a hotel, really good food at a reasonable price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ironing board, iron, robes, posh coffee machine in room - good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some little things have changed since our last visit. Only one pack of biscuits in the room. Not such a good breakfast selection. No jams etc at the table. Slightly smaller menu at dinner and an increase in prices.

    The hotel is clean with friendly staff and good food along with a nice wine list

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna didn’t smell right. Showers could be better and Spa area better maintained. There was confusion about checkout time. The online said 11am but brochure in room stated 12pm.

    Staff were friendly and room excellent. It was quiet considering the number of guests

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room cleaner did not come in time. Air conditioner, fan and central heating did not work correctly. The staff was not kind in the room phone call because we don't speak English so much. Room facilities looked old.

    Breakfast and dinner were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had salmonella through the bernaise sauce and when i asked for my sirloin steak to be cooked at medium to well done, it came between blue and raw and expected the steak to moo back at me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing had great stay

    Came with family for business trip - room was great, treat for the children when we arrived in room - lovely clean and welcoming - had a great stay and would recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception told me I did not need to book a table in the hotel as it wasn't busy, later when we went for dinner it was full. luckily they have another place to eat on the other side but it wasn't as nice, more pub grub than a nice dinner but was ok.

    room facilities were excellent, tea, coffee and little packs for the kids with a drink, sweets and puzzles. pool was open till 7pm and lots of families using it kids loved it. there was quite a long wait to check in but there was a wedding on during our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything and a long letter of complaint has gone in to the duty manager with several points ( all bad )

    we didn't like anything about the solent and certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of staff Room ready on arrival Room properly maintained Bar better staffed Room was dirty Bed very uncomfortable Power cut in room early morning Could not wait to leave if not for the meal this would have been a disaster, £234 for the room was highway robbery

    Separate booking for restaurant, the food was excellent and staff very good on the whole. It was my wife's 60th birthday and that side of it was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    milk was off! Unfortunately we were told there was a big problem with the delivery and that they would be looking into it . not enough tea and coffee.had to ask for more .

    the spa for all my family ,and very friendly staff everywhere we went in hotel . beds were lovely ,very lovely and quite at night time even with 2 lovely weddings going on .would defo stay again .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not cope with extra guests after 2 weddings held there. Had to queue to be seated for breakfast for 15 mins then abrupt staff and a long wait for tea and toast to be served.

    Mirror positioned near a table and plug socket for hair drying and even a tray for straightening irons. Recycle bin in room .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price.... £156 and no breakfast. Not good value for money.

    Bathroom needs updating Found the coffee machine in the room too fiddly. Would prefer sachets and a variety of teas. eg peppermint.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at hotel lacked knowledge on basic info, is there a garden to drink outside? She had no idea! The next morning asked reception where I could get a coffee pre-breakfast, was sent upstairs (?) area all closed off, & no sign of anything. Very odd! Service at breakfast was appalling. Waited forever for coffee. Toast arrived after (a pretty poor) breakfast was eaten it all took so long. Not enough staff allocated to serve 3 tables of 10! Just one poor girl who did her best but was ineffective. Sorry but in this day & age, at those prices you expect more.

    Bed was comfy & shower was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Solent Hotel and Spa is a big, modern hotel, but a very good one of its kind. The room was excellent - clean, comfortable, well equipped. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, and the breakfast was outstanding. If you are looking for rustic charm, look elsewhere, but as a comfortable base near Portsmouth with easy access to the M27 this is hard to fault.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    All of the staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are quiet and a good size with very comfortable beds. Dinner and breakfast are excellent. Relaxing pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room wasn't particularly bright, could maybe do with a brighter 'main' light?

    Our room was lovely and spacious, one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mould on the bathroom ceiling and in the shower. Not too bad, but I would expect such an expensive hotel to be free of mould.

    Good Wifi, very large room. Haven't used the pool but looked nice. Staff is alright and helpful. Swanwick station is the nearest rail station. It's a 30 min walk. Taxis should ideally be pre-booked as there aren't many available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean lack of shampoo/ shower gel and tea, coffee and milk in the room Someone left dirty nappies in the recycling box in the room, which was not picked up by house keeping. Leads us to think the room may not have been cleaned at all Disgusting

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, thought it was over priced. Staff at breakfast could have been better our waitress forgot to bring our drinks and toast and when prompted they were just luke warm.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk staff were blunt, rude and pandered to the groom at a wedding rather than dealing with other paying customers in order. They also said our room wasn't ready even though it said check in was after 2pm which is when we arrived and just said it would be another 20 minutes...not good enough. After complaining they strangely found one 2 minutes later, so obviously first comment wasn't true. Hotel over priced especially as it didn't include breakfast. Won't be staying again.

    The room itself was fine and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower only suitable for small people. Too much seafood on dinner menu. Buffet breakfast is served by restaurant staff. I'd prefer to serve myself at the buffet.

    Brilliant room. Lots of space. Leisure facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was quite expensive for the hotel standard. The bar was also expensive.

    The bed was very comfy and breakfast was delicious! The spa was a nice addition.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms are a little dated, but I believe there's an update program. Bathrooms are not always as good as you might hope. Because of the proximity of many businesses, it is difficult to get a room at short notice and is usually overpriced mid-week.

    Good, spacious rooms, lovely staff. Spa has excellent facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card needing updating each day as they all stopped working after the cleaners had been in. This was annoying after reaching our door a few times and having to trek back to reception again. Restaurant menu is limited and one menu for restaurant, lounge and room service is limiting especially if staying for more than a few nights like we did. Neither of us had room service menus in our rooms apart from the breakfast card.

    Cookies and milk and gift packs for the kids were lovely. One cleaner on our first full day did a fantastic job setting up the childrens soft toys and placing everything around nicely. Cleaners after that just did the minimum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped and had the thinnest walls I have ever experienced at a hotel. I could literally hear every word the guests in the next room were saying. It was very difficult to sleep until they had stopped talking and they were not being exceptionally loud. I stayed in room 138 and the room was by far the worst part of the stay. Everything else was good.

    The indoor pool and saunas etc was great as was the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    Rooms were well appointed with Espa toiletries. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. My kids were delighted with their in room treats, fluffy bathrobes, cookies and milk. The family room was a bit small once the sofa bed was up but we were all so tired from Paulton's that it didn't matter. Swimming pool is great, spa looked nice. Breakfast was yummy, kids activity room was a nice addition. On site pub was great wood fired pizza oven and ice cream a complete hit with my lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, The breakfast was appalling all round, the service was really bad, we were forgotten about on our first stay then our second stay we were forgotten about again and then everything we ordered was wrong, our daughters breakfast took way too long to come out and when it did it was not what was ordered and had to send it back and waited ages again for it. The waiting staff did not seem to know who had ordered what it was quite disorganised. This really needs to be addressed as I hate to say it as we loved our stay, but it lets the hotel down. The food itself was ok, but not great.

    The bed was the most comfiest I've ever slept in has an amazing nights sleep! The pool and spa facilities were great which we had a lovely relaxing time! Both rooms we stayed in were to a high standard, very clean and well stocked and our daughter was left a lovely colouring bag, cookie, fudge, raisins and a drink on a plate and a cup of milk in the fridge for the evening it was such a lovely touch! The staff on reception were all really friendly, when I booked I requested quiet rooms, which was taken on board and we were given. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again, we all had a fab stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We was in room 208 which is right next door to the LIFT. There was a wedding on in the hotel and the lift was very busy on our first night and went on until nearly 4am. It kept us awake for most of the night. I asked at reception on the morning and he said we have never had any issues before. When I got back to the room I looked on previous reviews and saw a complaint on there about room 208. If only I had read this before. The next night wasn't as busy so we managed to sleep until the lift woke us up at 5.50am. I mentioned this at reception on departure that I didn't think it was value for money as we didn't get any sleep the first night, the reception said they would report my complaint and get back to me its been over a week now and still not heard anything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 5pm. Two stressed members of Staff on duty at Reception kept disappearing into adjacent rooms behind closed doors. We waited for half an hour before we were provided with a key card for the ground floor room we had booked. On entering into the allocated room we found it was already occupied. Back to front desk where we waited a further hour before being taken to a third floor room by the duty manager, whom we had asked to see. When booking we had requested a ground floor room for reasons of elderly infirmity. The manager opened the door with his 'house key' let us in and said he would return with a key card. He did not reappear. Another trip to the front desk where a key card was provided. The time was now 6.50pm. There was never any explanation for what had occurred. Strangely, for an hotel of this expected standard, trollies with soiled linen and cleaning materials were in corridors showing that room change-overs were still being dealt with this late in the day. All very odd!

    1. The kindness and attention Nathan in the restaurant, following very difficult booking in procedures on arrival at hotel. 2. We were offered an evening meal in recompense for earlier difficulty. This was much appreciated. The restaurant facilities could not be faulted and in spite of our horrendous booking-in experience we would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: