Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Somerton Lodge Hotel - Adults Only - 2 stars

Victoria Avenue, Shanklin, PO376LT, United Kingdom

#28 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with the lock on our door. More bedding in the room would have been an advantage. Breakfast window times were a little tight and early 815-915

    Friendly staff and nice breakfast. Facilities were warm.and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit tight and had to park down a road nearby as came back late all spaces were taken. Sink a bit cracked but adequate

    Friendly staff Cosy room Nice place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    it was a pleasant stay.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedroom a little small. Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet apart from the plumbing which was too noisy. the parking was a real problem. not enough space and impossible if you arrived late.

    Staff were excellent. Professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    It was a pleasant and adequate stay but I don't think we would go bavk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door difficult to lock and unlock Walls rather thin so you could hear your neighbours! Shampoo and shower gell very difficult to open!

    Staff very friendly Room clean and comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Fine for a cheap night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fennel material sheet was just horrible. It was not nice to sleep on at all and ended up sleeping onto of the duvet. Also the room was so hot and you could;dn't open the window to get air in. It was also really noisy outside.

    It was ok. A very cheap room so wasn't expecting much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Was very clean and the staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite shower was far too small and you could hear the traffic on the road very early in the morning

    Was very clean and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff good sized clean room. Lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really an issue with the hotel more advice, it is quite a long walk from the hotel to Shanklin Town Centre if you are going out for dinner in the evening.

    Friendly helpful staff, good sized clean room and a lovely breakfast. Room was a bit pricey but to be fair it was peak season and was comparable with other hotels in the area. Useful to have parking on site though could be a little tight to manoeuvre if you have a large vehicle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would get rid of the dressing table to allow easier access to the plugs and put the mirror on the wall, but this is not really a criticism just an observation

    the hotel was fantastic, the staff were friendly and helpful, the accommodation clean and comfortable, the bar and living room beautifully decorated, with very easy access to Shanklin (10 minutes walk) also the breakfast was lovely lots of choice , with good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    My stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed needs repairing and was too low to the ground. Shower needed a shelf to put your shampoo on. Car park was very tight.

    Location is great - for your only a short walk away from the town centre and all that it offers!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked

    Very friendly, excellant breakfast and very comfortable. A very relaxing stay . Is walking distance to shanklin town., would go back and stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle a bit small, but good water pressure.

    Excellent breakfast each day. Staff and management excellent. Hotel very clean and well laid out with a lovely lounge area with a bar which was good for relaxing in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Del1952
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast time was limited from 8'15am to 9.15am it should be extended to 10.15am after all most people are on holiday

    Location of this hotel to local was very good within 5 mins walking distance to main town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were very clean and tidy, very up to date as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Rooms were very clean and tidy, very up to date as well. The staff are brilliant, they are on hand when you need them and nothing is too much to ask. We were given our breakfasts free of charge to by the owners. Which was such a lovely thing to do. Great place and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.0
    Short break - 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was a bit small however it was very warm during our stay. I’m sure if I had asked for a blanket it would have been provided so not a big problem.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom, the bed base was hard and my wife kept banging her legs against it, covered in bruises. Pillows were also too soft.

    Friendly welcoming staff very helpful. Wonderful breakfast with plenty of choices. Beautiful decor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay thank you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High temperature played havoc with the TV channels but nothing could be done about that one

    Very quiet very comfortable place to stay, 5 mins walk from the town centre, excellent breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble A big thank you, i will be back to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Fab place and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we are leaving!!!

    Everything! Was an awesome stay and very soul warming. Extremely pleasant, warm owners and staff. Very clean and great Service, whatever the requirement.....planning our next visit here already. Many thanks from us both😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    In our short stay at Somerton Lodge, we experienced charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking bays although accessible could have been a bit better. But this by no means should be a deal breaker :)

    In our short stay at Somerton Lodge, we experienced charming and helpful staffs. The beach, chine and town are all within 10-15 min walking proximity, and this places the hotel in a serene 'non-touristy' side of Shanklin. Main-road ahead leads towards Yarmouth or Sand down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Good overall but requires some improvement and upgrading for a rate charged currently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small towels, cramped space - perhaps remove some further from the room, lack of electrical sockets, shower cabinet is small, thin walls - it could be heard people talking.

    Tasty breakfast, comfortable bed and plenty pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice welcome. Deluxe room not value for money, stick to just double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a deluxe Room, extremely small bathroom and shower, room was quite small with lots of furniture squeezed into it. Sheet on bed too small and kept slipping off.

    Room clean and functional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Convienent but lacking service could be so different
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds low and uncomfortable Given wrong code on confirmation slip and when rang bell no one answered then when we called them they said we had wrong code and should have rang the bell! Poor customer service at beginning by female.

    Adults only quiet location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Value for money, great team and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was the only disappointment, very low down metal bed frame and mattress seemed to dip one side.

    The Host and staff were excellent and the place was very clean and lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    access at bit bumpy, but so were lots of the main roads!

    Clean, and comfortable room, pleasant staff, lovely choice at breakfast. Nice and quiet location, ten minutes walk from the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous, comfortable, Lovely and Relaxing, Ideal Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Duvet could have been a little larger, this is just our preference.

    Arriving at this property the grounds are very well maintained, great car park to the rear which we parked in and made our way round to the front door, we rang on the door bell and was very warmly welcomed and shown to reception for checking in. We were then advised on where everything was and shown to our rooms, we had room 6 great size had everything we needed it was immaculately kept, great En Suite with shower again immaculately kept. Breakfast was from 08.15am to 09.15am great choice of cereals, fresh fruit juice and cooked breakfasts, plus fab coffee according to my husband and our friend and very generous servings of both Tea and Coffee. Shanklin old village is approx 5 - 10 minutes walk from here, with great places to eat, Village Pub to name one, including an award winning Tea Room, a bit of a longer walk approx 20-25 minutes to sea front, again great places to eat and take in the lovely views, we used a taxi to and from there, just over £5 each way. So an ideal place to stay both location wise and for a very comfortable and relaxing long weekend. Thank you to all, we will be back. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beatiful property clean and bright lovely and well presented. Great areas to sit and relax with bar . Rooms very clean and comfortable. Lovely owners who where friendly and helpful from the start. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely accommodation but badly let down by the manner of the male owner.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with the manner of the male owner. We tour a musical theatre show all over the UK, and we are all 'old in the tooth' and not interested in partying after the gig but we do expect to sit quietly and relax after the show. We returned to the accommodation at 11pm after the show, and ordered a drink. The bar was then closed, but at 11.50pm while sitting talking quietly, the abrupt, disrespectful manner of the owner was pretty awful. We were told we had to go to our rooms and we couldn't sit as a group (5 of us) and chat. Perhaps he'd had a bad day, but he could have handled this in a more professional and friendly way. Very disappointed because the lady of the house was nothing but charming and helpful.

    Accommodation of high quality. Lovely lounge area. Very warm welcome by the lady in charge. Very helpful with the quite limited parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant long weekend on the island. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too short for me. We have spoken to the owner and will be able to have a different room with a suitable bed next time.

    Friendly welcome, comfortable room. Nice breakfast. Ideally located with bus stop right outside and easy walk into town. We travelled by train, ferry, bus. This is our preferred method as the island gets very busy as the season rolls on. There are too many cars on the island anyway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe a few more tea bags and milk on the tea trolley

    good friendly staff, room comfortable and clean. breakfast was lovely and well presented with a good variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful but very small bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for curtain to be mended couldn't pull it across Also had to ask for shade on ceiling to be cleaned it was full of cobwebs. Bathroom tiny couldnt shower properly couldn't even stretch arms out as it was to small and we are not big people.

    Everything from start to finish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    A gem in Shanklin IoW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like. T

    Nice, generously sized clean rooms, pleasant staff and good food. Conveniently situated for walking into Shanklin for evening meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent relaxed comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and cramped. Decor is grey/black and white and lighting is not bright enough. Fashionable but more white in small room would be better. Duvet quality needs upgrading.

    Breakfast was excellent, dining room comfortable, staff very friendly and efficient. Overall comfortable stay, will return.location good as relative lives nearby. Lived up to expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean, nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the outside carpark at the back the building looks shabby (you have to pass the bins etc to park) but from the front it's fine and inside it's very nice. The bathroom sink was tiny given there was plenty of room for a bigger one and although the plain glass window in the bathroom has a net curtain you don't feel you can't be seen in there at night from outside once you put on the light!

    Comfy bed, nice decor, friendly staff, good breakfast, handy location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Despite being an 'adult only' hotel, there was the noise of a child/children running around and screaming on the ground floor one day

    Tastefully decorated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable budget stay with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I wasn't as keen on was breakfast. It would be nice to have more than an hour's slot.

    The hotel is quiet, just a short distance from the Old Town and the beach, and has a good amount of parking at the back. The rooms are small but comfortable. Bed likewise. The staff are great - very friendly and keen to help with any query.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    We had a very enjoyable stay, thank you Agnes, everything was immaculate, well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a deluxe double, my friend had a double, her en-suite was bigger than mine, the only bonus with the deluxe was the sofa.

    The room was comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spare bathroom needs a bit of updating but will probably do in time but shower was lovely in room so did not need to use.

    The staff were very friendly, near to the town of shanklin so could walk in. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    This was a taster visit to IoW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very low ; bath towels small - we are used to bath sheets. Picture on website suggested this was a country manor but it was on a main road. Rear of property is car park which is very welcome but front garden is on main road.

    Did not eat at Somerton Lodge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    My favourite place to stay yet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They're fully booked for my next visit to the Isle of Wight.

    Very smart. Ridiculously comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Changed my booking without hesitation. Wonderful value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed although very elegant and trendy, if you are of the older variety, is pretty low and getting out of it can be fun.

    Lovely accommodation and good breakfasts especially for carnivores. Only a short walk down into the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and peaceful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I needed an armchair in the room but there was only a dining chair and a low bed. I had to spend a long time in the room due to the snow and ice conditions and I was unable to go out. An armchair would be better.

    Quiet and peaceful. Lovely old house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    I'll certainly be happy to consider the Somerford Lodge next year.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like at that price? It would be petty to be critical, as it is great value and doesn't pretend to be something that it is not.

    Great value for money. Clean, nice room, quiet, good service. Actually worked out cheaper staying overnight on the Island than returning to the Mainland on the fast cat, and had the additional advantage of being able to get a prompt start for business calls after a good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a very small point, but the large black and grey wall art was gloomy.

    The bed was very comfy and the room quiet and peaceful. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    FIRST STOP ON THIS ISLAND !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    COULD NOT USE THE WI-FI ! but only stayed for one night - would like to have stayed a WHOLE WEEK !!

    THE OWNERS HAVE INVESTED IN MAKING THIS HOTEL ONE OF GREAT VALUE FOR WHAT THEY HAVE SPENT IN DECOR , MIRRORS & PICTURES - WELL DONE. WILL BE STAYING AGAIN - IST STOP ON THIS ISLAND!! plenty of PARKING. NICE LOUNGE with BAR - AND an attractive GARDEN. GREAT BREAKFAST & FRIENDLY STAFF!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Value for money and spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like a blind at the bathroom window, a radiator and shelf too.

    Comfortable, clean room and good breakfast. Staff very accommodating. Proximity to the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, comfortable, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in an annexe to the main house which is why the walls may have been thinner. The tables at breakfast were very close to each other, not a major problem though.

    The main house was lovely, clean tidy well decorated, the house felt cared for and loved, the breakfast was good and there were many choices. Owner and staff very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, fab location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell from the sink in the small en suite. We mentioned it on departure as only stayed one night

    The bed was really comfy, probably one of the best mattresses I've ever slept on. The staff are very friendly, nothing was too much for them. A little gem at a fab price and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Exerlant Staff ,Exerlant stay, Exerlent location, would reccomend 10 fold to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    !!! none !!!

    a very well run hotel its a good family concern, all !!! the staff were pleasant ,perlite, very accommodating, nothing was to much trouble for any of them. we were both very happy there and would recommend this hotel to anybody without children. perfect location to where we had to go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    unbelievable value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going home.

    I have stayed at many places on the Isle of Wight and this is the best value for money - clean and comfortable accommodation, very helpful staff, an ideal location and a lovely breakfast! I will definitely return again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Warm room (winter visit) and great breakfast, smart lodge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds - too low almost roll out type - not very comfortable. Recommend memory foam for comfort

    Warm room (winter visit) and great breakfast, smart lodge and garden

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Cramped bedroom with uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Metal beds with thin mattress was very uncomfortable- reminded me of my camping days. The room was so small my husband and I had trouble passing each other and we are not large. No hand soap so had to use the shower gel. Hate the thin little plastic sachets which I can never open. Drainy smell coming from bathroom so we had to leave the extractor on all night which was noisy. Parking was insufficient spaces for number of guests. Breakfast from 8.15 to 9.15 on Sunday. Check out 10.30- We got to breakfast at 8.30 and waited over half an hour before getting our cooked breakfast- was annoyed to see people who came in after us being served first. My husband complained they had forgotten about us. We booked last minute so there wasn't a lot of choice- I would not recommend- pay more and stay somewhere else.

    Friendly staff and nice breakfast (when it finally arrived).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Quiet , peaceful and relaxing three nights in a friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little too low and soft for me but was OK for my partner.

    good breakfast plenty of choice. friendly and informative staff . clean throughout . ideal for public transport with bus stops outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.0
    Very welcoming and would recommend as not far to walk to restaurants and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a bath rather than a shower (my own fault as I should have requested one) and also the bed was a bit low for people with back problems.

    good location. good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    A holiday to remember for all the RIGHT reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast would have been nicer a hour earlier BUT honestly that was only due to the amount of time one needs to travel from one end of the island to the other, on the bus.

    What a friendly and accommodating Owners and Staff. For folk using the public Transport there are bus stops outside the lodge, both going towards different ends of the island. It is close to the town center, ( we recommend the Crab pub for a cheap and cheerful dinner), close to the beach and yet you dont feel like you are in a town with all the hustle and bustle. We will be going back and this time we will hope to stay up past 8pm ( all the fresh air meant loads of early nights) and make use of the down stairs lounge. The pub on site was also reasonably priced, next time we will stay awake long enough to use it :) . My step son came in to town to visit and we didnt want him to drive back after having a few drinks, my hubby spoke to a member of staff who got him permission to park his car overnight in the Lodge's parking lot, allowing us to have a fabulous night out. I am only sorry that I was so busy being wowed , I forgot to ask folk for their names. Thank you for a super service !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Good, clean and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no sockets near the dressing table and to blow dry your hair you could not look in the mirror at any time. Plus no light near the mirror for makeup. This had to be done in the bathroom over the sink.

    The reception and communal parts of the hotel were clean and cared for. Warm and inviting. The room the same and breakfast was very filling. They accommodated for lactose free at a moment notice. Would go back there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Everything I was looking for in a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it’s an excellent hotel

    Have stayed here several times and each time the facilities have been excellent, the staff are very helpful, breakfast is very good. Would not consider anywhere else. Plus it’s very good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming, hospitable and exceptionally good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the price level there is nothing I will fault. Perhaps the room lighting could be brighter and the bedroom furniture may be described as 'economy flat pack' but it was newish, clean and perfectly adequate. This is excellent accommodation for the money with a quality of service several price categories higher.

    In my view Somerton Lodge is exceptionally good value for money. We had booked two rooms and each was a good size, clean and well equipped. The bed was comfortable. The traditional breakfast was good and the hotel had available options for vegetarians and people with sensitivities to dairy products and these were offered freely. Without exception the staff were helpful and efficient and genuinely seemed interested in providing good service. The hotel has some large and comfortable public rooms, something I think unusual in this price range and they were appreciated. There is ample car parking and it's only a ten minute walk to the centre of Shanklin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    I’d stay here again if same budget available
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi weak and intermittent in room - unusable Wardrobe door needs adjusting so as to be flush when closed Sink in ensuite cracked Two out of three bulbs over ensuite mirror not working Toilet seat and lid mounted too far back so does not stay up unless held Hot water in sink takes an age to get up to temperature Shower plug hole missing

    Very pleasant hostess and reception Good food and coffee Very pleasant dinning room Clean and tidy Room nice and quiet Tastefully decorated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    A well run hotel at a reasonable price, with pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No soap-holder in the shower. I would have preferred a chair to a stool in the room.

    Breakfast was good with plenty of choices: English, vegetarian, kipper, etc. The bed was comfortable. Shower was slow to drain but this was fixed on the same day that I pointed it out - excellent. Shower was spacious and worked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Hard to beat certainly my first choice in Shanklin
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it’s a great hotel at a very reasonable price

    Have stayed here before and like it very much. Staff are particularly helpful and friendly. It’s in a good location for Shanklin. Also they provide single accommodation at a very reasonable rate. Can’t recommend it highly enough

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay with very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say is the bathroom was a bit on the small side. But that wasn’t really a massive issue for a 1 night stay.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very good value for money. Lovely breakfast. Left to get on with our stay and if we needed anything they were there. Was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    All our needs were meet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    As we were early (2 hours ) , we craftily asked if the room was available , the host(very cheerful lady) checked and it was, so after a change of kettle ,which wasn't working ,a cup of tea was had .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    The Somerton Lodge hotel was rather good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Somerton Lodge hotel was rather good. Admittedly the parking was a little tight, but that is down to the residents to park sensibly. The room was clean, staff friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. I’d certainly go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    good breakfast, excellent location helpful, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst thing was the bed, very low with thin very soft mattress, had to wedge pillows behind it to stop it rattling every time we moved. Came home with a bad back. Car park on site but when busy became a block car park, so a hassle to get out.

    good breakfast, excellent location helpful, friendly staff, very quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed the hospitality and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds a little uncomfortable and unsubstantial... perhaps a thicker mattress or top mattress would do the trick.

    Excellent breakfast with plenty options, including veggy... Great, friendly and helpful staff. Everything in good condition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable base to explore the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom in our room with an inadequate sized basin for washing - more like a hand basin you get in downstairs loos.

    Excellent friendly staff and the hotel is maintained to a high standard. Superb service at breakfast - just sit and be waited on 👍 Although we didn't use the residents lounge and bar it looked comfortable and inviting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Quite location and room, well worth a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suite was tiny with the hand basin in the main room, but no biggy.

    Helpful staff/owners who were happy to make recommendations for dinner in town. Clean room with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Apart from the above it was clean, good breakfast and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we are elderly and I have serious spinal problems the bed was far to low 12 - 15 inches from the floor. The mattress was hollowed out from use making it difficult to get out of bed. Also the shower en-suite was very cramped for us and if we'd been large persons getting in would have been very hard.

    Clean, car park and wholesome breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely friendly clean and great smelling hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Rm 9 and our shower room was clean although, with a little more thought, the shower cubicle could've been made larger (ie across the end of the room to utilise the space -and larger people). The shelf above the sink was slightly too large so you almost hit your nose on it when brushing your teeth. The bed linen ie pillow cases and duvet cover were a lovely white crisp cotton, but were let down by a 'brushed cotton'/terry-towelin fitted base sheet. Parking was slightly tricky as the entrance is up a small pathway to the side of the hotel and the cars were spread out a bit & not too uniformed, so we had to carefully manoeuvre our car so as not to hit any of the other resident's cars.

    Clean, friendly staffed accommodation. Fresh smelling, comfortable throughout. We were met with smiles and we departed with more. I would recommend this hotel. .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for a group stay, hard to find this elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were basic, metal framed and squeaky, when it came to comfort very average, not the worst I've ever slept in but they were ok. The decor of the hotel was a bit tired.

    Very good breakfast. Good lounge and bar for meeting up. Good place for groups. Plenty of rooms with twin beds for group bookings. Very helpful staff. Very good value. Short walk into Shanklin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    wonderful host&pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bigger shower cabin as it was really small but the water pressure was okay.

    breakfast was delicious and you could order almost everything you wanted.When we checked in, they immediately asked if there were any diets they had to take into condideration,which wasn't the case for us.At this time of year,we didn't have any problems parking the car although it was quite full,so this might be difficult during school holidays.Our host was so so friendly that I can't say a bad word about our stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and friendly would not hesitate to go back for a retuned visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I though the bedroom doors should be replaced they fit badly and let light in which is uncomfortable once the bedroom lights are off.

    Very nice breakfast serviced with a smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have a little later breakfast 8.15 -9.15 is early when on holiday. That said breakfast was excellent!

    The staff are very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    it was ok but not to our satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was to low to the ground found it difficult to get out of. shower and toilet facilities to small, very crampt could not shower very easily.

    customer service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rear of the building is obviously undergoing a little cosmetic work. once done the appearance will look far better. That was the only downside observation of a lovely property

    Staff all very friendly. The premises were in good order and the decoration first class. the rooms reasonably sized .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast for £5 extra - can't see how they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small sink in room, en suite shower/toilet facilities a bit cramped

    Excellent breakfast for £5 extra - can't see how they can possibly provide it for that price? 5-10 minutes walk from town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: