Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3 stars

Guild Street, Aberdeen, AB11 6NF, United Kingdom

#44 of 46 hotels in Aberdeen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Bugget hotel, in a central possition. Very good for its price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No elevator.

    Small hotel. Opposite of the train station and two minutes walk from Union street. Clean rooms (daily service). Coffee and tee in the room. The lady in the reception was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was described as continental with croissants ham and cheese. That wasn't there. Toast, cereal and juice. That's a standard West of Scotland breakfast. Also many varieties of tea. Salted caramel. Fennel etc. Standard tea bag wouldn't have gone a miss. The reason the breakfast annoys me as much is the tables are set with fork knife spoon and butter knife. Not sure what the fork and knife were for? The shower took forever to get warm. Eventually ended up running cold tap in sink to get a luke warm shower.

    Good location right next to bus station. Staff were helpful. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier. Been woken at 8.30 on Sat morning was not pleasant

    Double bed in single room was nice touch and spacious accommodation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    I would stay at this hotel again mainly due to its very central location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no towel rail in the bathroom. This made it a bit awkward when using the various towels. Obviously I did not want them lying on the floor.

    The bed was very comfortable. It was a double bed within a single room. It was also good that it was an en suite room. Having the shower and bathroom is wonderful. The room was quite small but it was clean enough. There was a good view out of the window to look at Aberdeen Harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    My stay was short and I felt it was comfortable and all the amenities I required were all close by.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like as above it was adequate for what I required.

    For what I required it was adequate-Friendly and helpful staff - Close to Railway Station - Close to city centre.Close to a couple of good resturants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place with no frills but beds are comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was no hot food in morning so popped across the road to union square where lots available

    Cheap and cheerful hotel in the centre of Aberdeen for what I paid was a bargain.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Everything- location, cleanness, facilities- was perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was sometimes cold in the room because windows does not save properly from wind blowing strongly

    Everything- location, cleanness, facilities- was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    i only stayed over night ,and had all i needed for my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a large suitcase and as a single lady it was hard work going to the third floor id stay again if I didn't have a lot of luggage .oh it was pretty hot no air circulating the room ,

    location, comfortable bed nice spacious bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location, lovely hotel but poor communication leading to poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water in our bathroom, and therefore had to use a different room on our first morning to have a shower. This was mended however the customer service we received was appalling.

    Brilliant location and very clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location and welcoming staff. More hostel standard than hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic, not sure it hostel or hotel. Quick fixes: include bath mats, upgrade beds and hang curtains properly. A little more cleaning required.

    Friendly welcoming staff, good location and large room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    a place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no croissants, the bed wasn't very comfortable, there were no drawers for your clothes or a wardrobe. nowhere to hang your towel in the bathroom. Continental breakfast was very basic - toast and cereal, couldn't upgrade to full English (or Scottish) although 2 people had obviously had a cooked breakfast when we came down the first morning

    Friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is in need of tlc. Toilet seat needed to be replace and the whole place looked over used
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken toilet, missing bedside light, light above mirror didn't work, scuffed paintwork. breakfast was fine but the mini muffins were uneatable and rock hard.

    The location was excellent and the room was large. Managed to get parked at the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Advert should state It is a Hostel rather than Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking is misleading, States it is a Hotel but be warned this is a "HOSTEL" not a Hotel. Staff weren't much helpful even after knowing the card machine was broken days ago, no phone call was giving to state that needed to pay by cash only. Had to carry my bags and suitcases back up the road to get a cash machine. Mould on the bathroom roof, Stains on the carpets and walls, photos on the booking clearing are from years ago, not recent. People sleeping on the sofas in the bar lounge, hotel is locked from 1:00am and your giving a code which if you loose then you wont get access to your room which leaves you thinking no staff must be on site as no phone number given if having any problems.

    Only good thing is location from the Train Station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Hotel badly needing a male over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wouldn’t stay in the bracket Only 1 towel in the room One plug socket didn’t work Hot sink tap was broken No light on one side of the bed under the headboard Corridors to room - deco look out dated and sad, could see damage and plaster crumbling Sofas in corridor looked saggy and out dated No chair at desk Flush on toilet button broken

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit but they now no longer serve food in the bar which is a shame. Also I left an item in the room and despite two calls to them to look for it they never did or called me back.

    Very well priced and good room. Excellent location close to station and centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    On entering the hotel the stuff didn’t greet us and were too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On entering the hotel the stuff didn’t greet us and were too busy arguing with another customer. Bad service and even worse room. Double bed was two single beds together which is fine besides the fact one was higher than the other. Roof leaked and made dripping noises all through the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok if you're just spending the night and somewhere close to the train or ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is also a bar/lounge which looks like an ordinary bar or pub, which was a bit confusing - at first we thought the hotel is closed and we will have to find somewhere else to spend the night. The main entrance to the hotel is closed during the day. Breakfas was continental without much choice, just toast, butter, jam, juice, tea, coffee and yoghurt.

    The hotel is close to the train station and the harbour which is nice if you are just staying for the night and leaving for the train or ferry. The room was spacious and quiet despite the heavy traffic outside, but the hotel has seen better days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Would give this hotel a complete bodyswerbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole experience

    Nothing really to like. Breakfast was poor. Got disability with stairs, and they put me in room on 3rd floor. No elevator so had to struggle up and down each day. Hotel needs completely modernised. Would definitely not recommend or stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty operating the shower but resolved it quite quickly.

    Room was large overlooking the Main Street, so it’s location was excellent. The staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place looks more like a youth hostel that suddenly became a hotel. The price included breakfast. I was not informed that I had to preorder my breakfast the day before so when I showed up they didn’t even offer me tea.

    Excellent location if you get to Aberdeen by bus or by train.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Average...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift! I was on the third floor and everyday I had to go up and down 3 floors every time I had to be away from my room. I can’t say they are also fanatic with cleanliness...

    The location is perfect, everything is within 5 mins walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice location for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, no AC, had to open the window for fresh air. No Elevator! Make sure to get a room in the nearest floors.

    Location is amazing, in front of a big shopping mall - 200 m from Union Street. 15 min walk from ASDA!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    It was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather uncomfortable as it was 2 single beds pushed together. Bathroom needs updating. Bar under hotel so couldn't sleep as loud music all night

    It was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend, was a horrible stay- I’m a young adult so I don’t usually complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was freezing and never turned hot. The bedroom window was broken and was wedged half- open with a nail therefore I could not close it, nor could the hotel staff. I had to sleep with the window half open all night, next to a noisy bar on a Saturday night. It was also freezing having to sleep with the window open. In the morning I looked forward to a hot shower after a cold night, but the shower was poor and freezing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable price with very good staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle in my room.

    Nice and helpful staff. At the time of my visit. There'sa staff which can speak Thai. Very nice. I forgot to ask her name. (Sorry)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate and suitable for my needs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired and the beds poor. There were no wardrobes or hanging facilities. The shower hose was needing replaced.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. I made them aware of my dietary requirements and they were very helpful, going the extra mile over the weekend to make sure my needs were met.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Can’t expect much for the price however I was disappointed this time round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed there in the past and got a full breakfast now it’s just continental which consisted of toast and cereal. I paid extra for the upgraded room which was in a pretty poor state.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Plenty hot water, comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only offered a “continental” breakfast but choice was limited yoghurt, cereal or toast. No croissants pastries etc. Huge great crack in wall and ceiling in my room which was a slight eyesore.

    Plenty hot water, comfy bed. Good location for union street and Aberdeen centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Location and price was fine wouldn’t stay again as better budget hotels on offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was facing onto a busy office block! Bed was very pokey and the elec shower was v hot then v cold! Couldn’t pay for room on Visa card! Booking.com did not make me aware of this prior to booking!

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.0
    Okay for one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to go in through the lounge door and did not see the reception hiding in the corner behind a curtain. The receptionist found us, signed us in and explained what to do if the night porter was not there when we got back at night, also where to find our room. Maybe it was just us, but we had to search for our room. Then when we returned at night and entered the door code on the door next to the one we used earlier, it did not work. Eventually the lady we spoke to let us in as she was leaving for the night and told us we should have rung the bell like she told us. Like I say maybe it was our fault but we did not hear that or see a bell. There are no toiletries in the room only a small cake of soap thankfully I take my own. Breakfast was continental which was good, but my husband expected a cooked breakfast which was never offered.

    The room was clean and comfortable, once we found it. The hotel is a warren of corridors and doors, not really a problem once you know where you are going, but the lady who explained where to go did not explain very well. Our room was quiet even though it looked on to the main street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard for my tastes and would like to have had a kettle in the room.

    This is a great little find. Very reasonable prices for a single stay. Close to town centre and local attractions and short walk to train and bus stations. Hotel itself was nicely presented and rooms were clean and spacious. Great staff...friendly and chatty... Nice bar on site serving pizzas. This was fantastic for such low price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, price and room for a break in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv in the room (if your planning on spending some time there). Some noise from the main road outside but not enough to disturb you all night.

    Great location for a night out in Aberdeen City Centre - close to Union Square shopping, the station and within walking distance to lots of pubs/bars. The room was spacious and the hotel bar/restaurant has a nice atmosphere. This is our second time staying at the hotel and the weekend price, especially for Easter, was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Cheap budget, good location but be warned 4 flights of stairs and no help to carry luggage!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 flights of stairs to make up with luggage, no help from staff. They just watched me from their office and making jokes that 'I'm strong'. Very rude and unhelpful leaving a customer obviously struggling. Room was quite dated, dusty curtains and radiator cover. TV didn't work/or batteries were dead.

    Cheap budget single bed room, had private shower room, easy check in and ability to leave luggage in storage. Great location just across from Aberdeen train station, easy access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy bus station across the road was noisy. Carpet in room was filthy. No shampoo or shower gel provided. Only 1 bulb in 3 lights. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls. Staff were rude and argued about my pre-payment. Only pizza or salad on the menu (Not that i would have ever eaten here).

    Central location was good. Tv in room. Cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    The size of the bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access around the room, the size if the furniture is too big for the space....it's easy to knock your leg against the edge of the bed.this is specific to the room i stayed in.. Also, a bottle of water would be appreciated when glasses are provided.

    The size of the bathroom. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Cheap but that’s exactly what room was
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows let in cold air, there was a tv but no tv switch to turn on, no toiletries in bathroom, breakfast was toast or cereal. No cooked food?

    A nice bar and loved the fairy lights. Room very nice tall ceilings and large windows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent apart from inadequate heating
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was totally inadequate. The cast iron radiator was under a window and most heat was lost. Particularly cold during the night.

    Beautiful spacious room with good artwork.very clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    2.5
    Due to the recent bad weather there were no buses running so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the recent bad weather there were no buses running so I could not physically get there. Asked if they could change the room to the following week, answer no. Asked them if they could understand the position I was in. Answer no. I then rang the hotel In Glasgow i had booked for the following night and they were so understanding and offered to cancel the room at no charged. Asked him if I could possibly change the booking to the following week. Certainly he said, no extra charge and looked forward to meeting me when I was down meeting friends and wished me a pleasant trip and stay. Now that is a hotel I would stay at again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in while visiting Aberdeen. :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just could not make the hotel’s wifi work with my iPhone - logging on needs passing through a third party webgate with single use password provided every 24h anew by the hotel which was just not workink with my iOS - and on my Windows laptop the connection was quite slow. In the room the temperature dropped pretty low at nights, but it was in the middle of Winter. Lack of lift eliminates the possibility to accomodate guests with physical impairments.

    The location is just perfect: just near the harbour - some rooms with view on ships - near the main street of the city, bus station, shops etc. In the level 0 of the hotel is a bar available. The staff are very kind and helpful, rooms are kept very clean, fresh towels every day, free tea, coffee, suar and milk come along with the electric kettle. The TV was in the room. The continental breakfast ingredients were fresh and tasty. The furniture is comfy. The hotel has its recognizable climate. You will love it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room, centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: very disappointing and not worth the money. A very limited supply of fruit juice, cereal, toast and insipid coffee. I wished I'd gone to Starbucks instead.

    Very comfortable room, very well located across the road from the bus station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Friendly and helpful staff and great city centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to run the shower for around 15 mins before hot water started to flow. Shower screen had no rubber seals, therefore the floor was flooded in water afterwards!!

    Friendly and helpful staff and great city centre location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    not very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would had been much better if the bedding was clean, iron not broken, shower door not broken, toilet properly fixed to the floor and the window properly glazed so could get silence for sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    January 2018
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No longer offer a cooked breakfast, only refreshment facilities available during my stay were the ones in the room. The bar was closed and no food on offer during the evening. Room was very cold, small electric heater in the room hardly enough to keep the edge off. Unfortunately, compared to my first visit, mid 2017, this hotel has gone done in my estimations and I doubt I'll be booking here again unless improvements are made.

    Large clean rooms, central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    booked breakfast, went down at 9.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast service ends to early and check out at 11am on a Sunday very poor wont book again

    booked breakfast, went down at 9.30 was told breakfast finished at 9.30....very poor service for a Sunday morning.....not even offered a bowl of cereal to eat...and checkout is 11am again very poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    Value for money and ample for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was freezing and the one small heater only heated the wall above it. The decor in the bedroom and bathroom was quite shabby in places and the dark coloured shower curtain made it very dark inside the shower.

    The location was great and the room size was good considering I had booked a single room but got a double.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Freezing but friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely freezing, I ended up sleeping with my jacket on. The bathroom window didn’t close and the shower wouldn’t drain away well very fast. The room wasn’t the cleanest but it did the job for the purpose I needed it for.

    Location. All night access. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    I have never stayed in a hotel like this one in my life absolutely dreadful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel all the mattress springs Radiators were not working was given a small convection heater Room very shabby, whole hotel was in need of a makeover Will not be going there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, lovely pizza, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The uplighter things above the bed fell out, the bedside lights were loose, no water put out for breakfast

    The staff were so helpful, I arrived early but they looked after my luggage while I did some shopping and had lunch, took the time to chat as I was on my own. Perfect location for train station, shopping and the Tivoli Theatre just a couple of doors away. Breakfast was really good and the pizza place downstairs was perfect for a quick dinner. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No major problems for me, lack of lift and busy street outside might worry some people though. Although generally good, a few minor issues prevented it from being excellent - only 2 (cheap and old) coat hangers, and dust in some areas (eg under radiator, behind desk)

    Good location, easy access to city centre and transport. No problems checking in or out. Room was of an acceptable standard, no major cleaning or maintenance issues. Comfortable bed, good shower in large bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast that was not included in price, although booking.com said it was. Broken curtains in room, unemptied rubbish bins. Cold bathroom.

    The site said there was breakfast included, it was not, the breakfast available was very poor and expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel and worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing it could not have been more perfect.

    I liked everything about this hotel. The location is just off from the railway station. The room was tidy and clean. The staff were great. The next time I am staying the night in Aberdeen I will make sure I book this hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little late for check out for 11 am !! By 5 minutes!!! I just came out the shower and I was naked and a man came into my room and threatened me I had to hold the door to stop him .. But after going to check out there was no problem obviously I apologise for sleeping too long but got no apologies for being threatened.. Lucky I am a big man and I hope they wouldn't treat a woman like this..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    No sugar or spoons for the tea, the bath towels are good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sugar or spoons for the tea, the bath towels are good for clean the face not for the shower. The shower very poor, and the heating is to little for the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.0
    Good location , staff ok , apart from the man on night shift.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced breakfast No hot water Cold room Window didn't not close correctly and latch was broken. This was dangerous if a child could open window easily and fall from 3 story's up.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    Poor heating and a lukewarm shower at a conveniently located and affordable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing and there was no option to turn on / up the heating - the radiator in the room did not have a dial to turn the temperature up and the bathroom had no heating. The shower was left to run for ten minutes and it was still not hot enough to have a shower with, this was not only inconvenient but also bad for the environment - what a waste! I ended up having to have a cloth bath instead - really not what I expecting. Disappointed. The room was run down and could do with some redecorating however I believe this is reflected in the price. Couldn't get connected to the wifi that they provided.

    Friendly staff and a convenient location (a two minute walk from Aberdeen Train station and Union Square) at an affordable price with a quirky bar area downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Liked it very much. Would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout could be better. Staff and management should visit a Premier Inn to see how a hotel room should look. You only get one chance to make a first impression. A kettle,coffee and nice cups are a welcome to the eyes but not if they are hidden in a cupboard. White netting on the room Windows would afford extra privacy. Less furniture or smaller is better too.

    Staff friendly. Relatively quiet stay. Nice big clean bed. Bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.9
    No t very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to write down my full credit card details on arrival Something seriously wrong here Money had already been taken out of my account Bed very uncomfortable No heating in bedroom Freezing!

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Good central hotel, great staff but unfortunately the room let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was needing an upgrade as very dated and in need of a lick of paint. Seen other rooms which looked very nicely done up so I think I must of got the last of the pick. Nice big room but unfortunately the main window was a sash window that would open but couldn't be left open unless something was jarred between so I basically gave up.

    Very central, staff were very polite and helpful. Lovely downstairs restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Cheap great location for solo traveler but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest room I've ever stayed in. Very little hot water.

    Close to bus station for airport shuttle. A bed to get the head down but very basic. Did the job and was cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like all the stairs especially with my heavy case, there’s no lift. On the plus side the top floor is quieter when the music is loud in the bar. It would have been really nice to have a loo roll holder rather than having to chase the roll around the bathroom! I did mention this when I was there. Several of the TV channels were unwatchable as they were so pixelated, again mentioned when I was there.

    I liked the location, opposite the bus & train station & Union Square. The breakfast is good. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Not bad and handy location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit tired but for the price I can't complain, although drinks not the cheapest.

    Staff friendly as ever and a good location opposite the Train and Bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Great Central location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If not eating in restaurant it was £10 for wifi for 24 hours.

    Property was very clean and comfortable.Great central location across from Uinion Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Basic but you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was poor and difficult to get connected (and stay connected) to. The shower room was stained and had certainly seen better days. Bin hadn't been emptied and sheets hadn't been changed for two nights. No long mirror in room. Lighting was awful when trying to work back at the hotel.

    Great location, simple to find and affordable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Stay was fine no lift so a bit stair climbing but not that bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If heating was on would have been ok

    Staff all nice hotel fine for money we paid .Big bedroom no heating on in room so bit cold at night .But was fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.3
    1 star hotel better hotels for the same price avalable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night you have to buzz to get let in no shampoo cheap bed not up to the mark as you can feel the springs and no lift stairs only and you have to walk through the bar to get out as hotel door blocked in the day time

    Had better for the same price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    I would rate the overall stay as normal, but found the owner not very professional and commercial
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift in the hotel and there a a lot of stairs .. I haven't paid attention to that and we were moving my daughter for studies so had a lot of luggage. We were lucky they had a spar roçom for the luggage so we left some of it there. The hotel tells there is a wifi, but you can have a code for 2 hours wifi per day working only in the lobby. But even there the quality was very poor. Be aware that there is a hotel and a hostel in the same building. I would rate the overall stay as normal, but found the owner not very professional and commercial. I booked one room for 2 the first night and 1 single for the second. There was a prb with my credit card while I was on holiday and the first nigh was cancelled and I got a message that the second was going to be cancelled also. So I updated the card info but had still to rebook again. WHen I came back from holidays, I saw that there was 2 rooms booked for the second night. Booking tried to contact them asking if it would be possible to cancel the second room without fees ( there was no free cancellation) or make me 1 night credit for another night in november. Despite the fact that there was still 3 weeks left before my travel, they refused. I sent a mail to the owner .. and got a negative reply too ... My daughter is going to study there for 4 years so I guess they lost the possibility I book quite a few nights with them in coming years. A commercial gesture would have been appreciated

    The hotel is in the center of the city, very easy acces from the airport and railway station. Room was ok. Every evening there was smth organised in the hotel .. Lithuanian night, tango night .. Day staff was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Not worthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found used toiletries in the bathroom in the shower I said to the receptionist for a new Ines and he told we can use those. We were a couple and we had only 1 bath sheet and one hand towel and the receptionist gave us only one more bath sheet and no bath mat. The heater didn't work the valvule to get on was removed.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.2
    Very expensive room for what it has to offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in the room was flickering, the running water was not constant warm, thus difficult to take a shower, no elevator, heating system was not working

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was expensive and paid WiFi was very slow.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel wasn't fancy but cosy and comfortable and the location was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable start to a holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift. See above

    A combination of hotel and hostel made the place very pleasant and relaxing but with a nice degree of liveliness. The staff were very helpful and friendly and my room and bed were comfortable and clean though the place is in need of a bit of a facelift. The lack of a lift is a bit of a problem but staff carried up my luggage. It is well situated and I would certainly be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room let the hotel down. The carpet was disgusting with black stains and what looked like ink marks. The curtains were hanging off the rail and it looked like it was string that was holding them up. There was two lamps in the room not working and the light in the bathroom was also out. The shower wasn't the greatest you had to let the water run for about 5 mins for it to heat up. There was hairs on the shelf in the wardrobe and also in the bath, the toilet seat was damaged and should have been replaced a long time ago. There was water left in the kettle also which should never happen in any hotel this should be one of the basic checks that gets done after each guest.

    The location of the hotel was good it's a 2 mins walk from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location for train & bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift & as we were on the 2nd floor it was quite a climb carrying 2 hand luggage , it would have been very difficult if we had suitcases , not recommended for elderly people

    Location was good for the train & bus station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    It served the purpose for our needs which was a bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we we were in needs a major refurb, the carpet was badly stained and the ceiling had a massive stain on it.

    The location was great, the staff were lovely, it was a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't go here! Showers are crap. No hot water, not just in my room. They already warn you about the water in a leaflet when you arrive.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Romantic weekend stay in Aberdeen Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating

    Bed was very comfortable & clean, amazing view, beautiful interior, location was very good being quite central, staff very helpful & polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: