Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of South Lawn Hotel 3 stars

Lymington Road, Lymington, SO41 0RF, United Kingdom

#24 of 35 hotels in Lymington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Was not expecting to see so many changes but everything was spot on - staff, decor, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed here quite a few times but this is the first time since the hotel had a make-over about 3 years ago. The difference is amazing. Very pleasing atmosphere and great food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Very confortable and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom needed a shelf to put down wash bags etc as there was plenty I room to fit a shelf or other standing furniture.

    the location and easy parking,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay and a doggy lovers heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there is no lift up to the bedrooms, which is a problem for those with mobility issues or the general weariness that ensues with an advanced age, the staff were very helpful with taking luggage up to the rooms (not so sure they would have been able to assist with giving my parents, who are both in their 90s, a 'fireman's lift' upstairs though!)

    Good style of decoration throughout the hotel. Comfortable beds with nice quality bathroom fitments i.e. large shower cubicles. All staff very helpful and welcoming. So nice to see that patrons are also able to bring their dogs into the hotel and that there is a section in the restaurant reserved for them to accompany their owners at meal times...especially breakfast. 10 out of 10 for that. The selection of secondhand books available to read or take away and leave a donation to RNLI in their collection box is a great idea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel and restaurant in an interesting area with plenty to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is being very picky. A small shelf in the shower room to place our toilet bags near the basin would be very helpful. I accept I am being overly critical and the lack of a shelf isn't the end of the world but small things like that do make a difference.

    Food very good and plentiful. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall we enjoyed ou stay at the hotel. The owner Mr. Tim was very accomodative and guest friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The extra beds were not comfy. 2) The dinning place was full of kitchen smell. Could be improved with some decent spray to avoid kitchen smell. 3) The menu could be enhanced to serve some asian food as well to add cream on top.

    Dog friendly hotel with polite staff. Clean and tidy hotel with decent English and cntinental breakfast menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely place but meals not good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10.50 for full English breakfast was expensive for what it was. Bed mattress was lumpy. Not a big choice on menu

    Pleasant surroundings. Large room. Friendly staff. Clean. Good shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    More than I'd expected thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I'd booked a French window room

    Lovely big room with huge windows that you could actually open! Gracious but not intrusive Staff and very helpful, fabulous lawns to sit about in gorgeous food at dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall fabulous and would definetely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing for us not to like. As there was car parking food a really good bar and a greT garden

    It was perfect for us as so dog friendly as it was our first holiday with our puppy who is 6months old so needed to be sure that it would be ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Our stay at Southlawn was nice, relaxing, except for the chairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The chairs in the rooms are the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat in. Hard, straight backed and high. Struggled to "sit" and read before bed. Last year we swapped the chairs on the room for two in the hall. They were lovely and comfortable. Told the staff at front desk but same chairs this year. Oh well.

    The rooms are nice, clean and well appointed. Love the décor. Grounds are lovely. Milford-on-Sea is just a short walk from the hotel. Cooked breakfast is nice, but at £10.50 per person??

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Newspapers left on table at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Newspapers left on table at breakfast. Was taken away from me As they were pre ordered.i should have been told. I was also not told where the toast was self prepared.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    OK but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The continental breakfast was very average. No fresh fruit, limited choice of cereals and toast. They obviously make a lot of money from weddings but then the noise travels and the disco is likely to keep you awake. The bedroom walls are paper thin so you can hear your next door neighbour snoring. Friendly enough but somewhat lacking in a real welcome.

    Great location - easy access to the forest, village and coast. Rooms comfortable. Restaurant good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Everything pretty much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only critique is that the next doors power shower was heard through the wall where our bed was placed. Ok in the eve but not before 7am.

    Everything pretty much. Considering its a dog friendly hotel i was very impressed by how clean and tidy it is there. I was impressed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    One Night Stay - Would stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight humming noise coming from one wall / under floor - perhaps outside. Wasn't too loud to keep me awake.

    Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly. Clean, large room. Well equipped with pretty much everything. Fan provided for the heat. Ironing board and coffee etc. Beautiful setting. I recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Our room was excellent, couldn't fault it. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought breakfast should have been included in the price and not charged as extra.

    The room was excellent. The location next to perfect. Staff were friendly and in some cases charming. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited to bring my 88 year old mother to visit my fathers grave and catch up with her old friends the staff were so kind and helpful, the beds were supper comfy and food was good. We hope to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and professional. Meals were very good both breakfast and evening meal. Location excellent for local visits, around New Forest with just a 20 min walk to beach. Parking at hotel no problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic couple of nights away at South Lawn Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say is shelves in the bathroom to put our toiletries on would help !

    The whole feel of the place from the minute we arrived made us feel right at home !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    We have previously stayed at this hotel and would be very happy to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    Very comfortable beds, excellent room cleanliness and all staff very attentive and friendly. The restaurant provided an excellent dinner and good value. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful relaxing break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm as it was scorching weather and though fan was provided it was very humid but this couldn’t be helped.

    Lovely clean room and warm welcome for our dog with a dog bowl freebie on arrival and a breakfast sausage for the dog. Lovely hotel and bar, food excellent and breakfast nice too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    very very good stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was good

    good welcome rooms really good really good for my dog especially in the restaurant and a welcome gift for the dog food very good and good value plenty of parking very quiet plenty of places to walk all very good have stayed in lots of hotels this was by far the best for our needs jackie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice gardens, nice food at the restaurant, great parking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in the upstairs room (it was a sunny day) - we had a fan but would have been nice to have airconditioning. Showers were a bit difficult to work out how to change the temperature.

    Nice gardens, nice food at the restaurant, great parking for cars

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, excellent service for both people and dogs.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were delayed and did not arrive until after 1 am. The owner waited up and welcomed us in. We took our dog with us and he got a welcome pack on arrival with a ball, bowl, treats and poo bag. Our dog was allowed to come along to breakfast in a designated area (doggy dining room). There was a good variety of food at breakfast and lots of it. The hotel is set in quiet grounds and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. I booked this room last minute and it was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I'd been recommended this hotel by a friend who...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd been recommended this hotel by a friend who doesn't have a dog but knew id feel very at home with my lovely dog Megan and she was certainly right.With the doggy dinning area,the lovely sized room, the friendly staff and great location, this hotel far surpassed expectations.We will be definitely be returning. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Gwen,Tony and Megan the Staffie cross.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Smashing hotel with all the home comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived from the Midlands late at night but this was no problem for the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast- full English with all the extras- very much. Room service is even available if you don’t want to get up early for breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the South Lawn Hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the South Lawn Hotel and can't wait to go back. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and the meals in the restaurant were first class. Hope to be back soon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Older building in great grounds and a modern and clean...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast buffet could have been better. Not much choice

    Older building in great grounds and a modern and clean interior. They really made the dogs welcome, lovely introduction from Roxy and a doggy dining area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    A convenient spot to meet our friends and stay another night as a group
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the hotel was a little hot for our liking. We were ok in our room as we could turn the radiator down (or off in our case), but the communal areas were far too warm. We would prefer fresh grapefruit to tinned and maybe a banana or two wouldn't go amiss.

    The bedroom was nice and large, with a double and single bed, two easy chairs, table and plenty of space for bags. The shower was excellent, with space to move and no risk of flooding the floor. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. We chose the continental breakfast, which was tasty - juice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, pastries, tea, coffee. We stayed for an evening meal and the choices on the menu were excellent, with the addition of a daily changing menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Had a lovely weekend from start to finish thankyou
    • Group
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault rooms were so hot had trouble sleeping couldn't open widows as they eye under repair had a lovely

    hotel and setting was lovely food and service was top notch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    I would recommend South Lawn to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fans in the bathrooms are very noisy... and run for far too long once the light has been turned off!

    The evening meal was first class. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay for a suprise for my Husbands Birthday, we want to return in the Summer to see the grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot chocolate sachets alongside the tea and coffee sachets as lots of people do not drink tea and coffee so t hat would be a nice bonus. Not just this hotel but ALL Hotels need to offer this.

    The bedroom was spacious and clean and had ensuite which was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a last minute booking as the b&b I booked was actually closed, and they dealt with it very quickly, the staff were very kind and extremely helpful, the room was very comfortable after a long day of driving, and nothing was better then a quick beer in the bar before heading up for a lovely hot shower before I went to bed, still can't believe I slept for 12hours haha, the wake up call was very helpful otherwise I would have over slept for my job interview.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had bare bulbs on wall lights and felt very utilitarian. Nicely decorated bathroom lacked any shelving to put bits on. Obviously money has been spent modernising. Pity that a few small touches could have made the rooms more homely. Also the chairs in the lounge are very grubby.

    Recently decorated rooms, comfortable beds and spacious shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Extremely well managed with the ethos that the comfort of guests is paramount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Professional, well motivated & courteous staff & the food was excellent. The room was exceptionally well appointed & spacious with a large amount of storage space. We will certainly return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent base for the New Forest and Solent Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a love-hate relationship with English breakfasts in England:-) The salmon and poached egg is a good choice to go for, me thinks.

    Very good location in spacious area near Milford on Sea which is a lovely seaside village, not as hectic as Lymington! Rooms are large and in very good condition, seem to have been refurbished relatively recently, bathroom was nice and spacious with good proper shower. The restaurant for dinner was great, very good creme brulee served by a good French waiter! Great base for the New Forest and Solent walk which we both cycled a bit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The food and wine were excellent. Our room was large and comfortable and beautifully decorated. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and local lymington is lovely
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    The bed was amazing ! The room Was lovely and the hotel and staff were lovely - the only tiny thing was we had no view at all from our window ...just a brick wall 😕 Maybe because that was that we had a dog with us?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay have already booked again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed needed renewing and we believe it will be shortly.

    Refurbished to an excellent standard since our last visit. Food superb and very reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful staff. The lounge had comfortable leather chairs with light and airy surroundings The hotel is situated close I to Southampton and local beaches which suited us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Annoyed at Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoyed at Booking.com for suggesting that I could book bed and breakfast when, in fact, booking through Booking.com you only get the room and no meals. For the same price I could have booked direct and had the breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    I would have given an even better review but the Hotel does...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have given an even better review but the Hotel does not have A/C and we had to open a window which is ok apart from the campsite nearby - so we had the smell of camp fires come in. We were told that this is only in the month of August - so please be aware. Wasn't a huge problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant experience. The hotel is much better than the website suggests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not well organised. It needed a shelf or somewhere to put wash things. Also very mean on soap, shampoo etc. We were given one tiny piece of soap. The restaurant and bar staff were OK, but need more training.

    The room was lovely. A very comfortable bed and a view of the large Cedar tree. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The garden was a bonus. It was good to be able to eat and drink outside. The shower was one of the best I have experienced in a hotel - powerful and water staying within the shower tray.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    Rip off!! Over priced, not good value for money. The worst hotel of the week by a long way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could easily add the whole stay to this heading. The hotel is over priced and not very welcoming, the staff are robotic and there's not even a bottle of water in the room. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the décor left a lot to be desired. Our bathroom was quite nice though, apart from the very noisy showers. £113 per night for a not too pleasant room is daylight robbery. There are much better hotels around for less money.

    There was very little to like about this hotel. It looks impressive as you arrive but that's whden it all starts to go wrong really. Checking in wasn't a pleasure, we wasn't made to feel welcome at all. We never used the restaurant or bar. The menu wasn't very extensive and the bar wasn't very appealing. There is a cosy looking room near the entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Have stayed here before, but it has improved greatly with restyled rooms and lounge and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial response from receptionist when attempting to check in - like an episode from Fawlty Towers!! Turns out she hadn't had anything to eat or drink all day and when we attempted to check in it was about 3 o'clock.

    large room, lovely view over front lawn. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust inside the draws ...

    Location is a fantastic spot....a short walk to a very friendly village...left and onward to the beach...a very rewarding walk...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel, lovely grounds, excellent reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wait staff in the restaurant were a bit grumpy and on Saturday morning, could not answer our questions regarding the pricing of breakfast what was included in the fry up etc.

    Croissants were great at breakfast. Excellent hotel. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Refreshing and relaxing stay with perfect match of seaside and countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to park in the small overflow carpark due to a wedding reception and a funeral wake being held that day. As a result, someone reversed into our car damaging the boot and wing.

    Since our last visit, the hotel is under new management and bedrooms, bathrooms and restaurant have been refurbished to good effect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant and its outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comment.

    The restaurant and its outlook. Very close to Milford. Having been before it was good to choose a return visit. We were not disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovey location and well run and charming hotel, dodgy wi fi however
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi Fi - did not work most of the time for me

    Lovely location and I feel a really good place for leisure travelers, liked room, quite spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Amazing stay and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    The property was located on a quiet road just on the outskirts of Milford on sea it had lovely gardens to sit in and the food in the restaurant was amazing and very reasonably priced the staff were all friendly and it is also a dog friendly hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    A pleasant relaxing stay of three nights with plenty of places within easy reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The hotel and rooms were clean, well arranged, spacious, plenty of storage space, bright bathroom. Good restaurant area and good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    I was there for a buffet lunch party.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there is no lift - but the hotel and the room were very comfortable.

    I was there for a buffet lunch party. The venue and the food were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent, very dog-friendly, coped extremely well with allergies including glutenfree
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Our dog Tigger was welcomed by a letter from Roxy (the Hotel owner's Jack Russell) including a food bowl, treats, poo bags and a tag for his colar with their phone number on. The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a separate 'doggy dining area' in a very nice part fo the restaurant - so breakfast and dinner was with Tigger under the table. The chef was brilliant and coped very well with a rather large list of allergies including gluten. The food was very tasty and the Maître d'hôtel had worked as a sommelier in a restaurant with several stars before, so the wine were very good but not with the usual high price tag. We hope to be back soon! The room was larger than it seemed from the photo and very comfy. The hotel is in easy driving distance from the coast and the New Forest and the walk to the coast takes 30 -40 minutes. There is also a very cosy lounge for after-dinner drinks or coffee or just to flop and read. We all relaxed very well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.6
    Food in the restaurant was good and friendly staff in there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean at all, and even when we asked for it to be cleaned, it wasn't. Would not go back because if it/

    Food in the restaurant was good and friendly staff in there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Bathroom not to clean eg thick dust on green wood panneling...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not to clean eg thick dust on green wood panneling top of water slow to go down in shower removed cap and was full of hair not done since in stalled extracter fan needed a clean other wise brillait stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice calm place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi was announced at booking, but it didn't work in our room. Also there could have been a bit more options at the breakfast bar.

    Dinners were very nicely made and stuff was helpful both at dinner and breakfast time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Superb break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about the place. Good location to explore both the new forest & coastal areas. Warm & friendly welcome - very dog friendly. Arrived at 9pm and the chef very kindly kept the kitchen open so we could get some much needed food after our long journey. The food served was of good standard. Hotel set in lovely grounds & nice outdoor seating areas. Rooms & public areas tastefully decorated. Would definitely come back again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    cute place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no shelf in the bathroom for our toiletries

    Large room with comfy beds and a nice view. Great choices for breakfast and nice places to sit and relax in foyer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    cleanliness and size of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedrooms were not well sound-proofed so you can hear conversations next door. Not good if you're a light sleeper.

    cleanliness and size of rooms. Cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. Thanks

    We have visited before and even though at that previous visit they were refurbishing at the time ,we felt comfortable there and the location was perfect. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Loveliness in Lymington! Happiness in Hampshire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was a great hotel and would definitely stay again. Couldn't fault it.

    Everything was great. Location and settings were perfect. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely room, loads of storage, comfy bed Food was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Very nice , very convenient for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick stop over on the way to the ferry Very nice rooms , helpful staff , evening meal very nice - next time we'll bring our dogs !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the cost breakfast should have been included and bedrooms were nothing like what I expected for cost

    Bed was comfortable and room quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Dogs allowed anywhere in hotel including restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Dogs allowed anywhere in hotel including restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    lovely sea views Isle of Wight, wild life and mud flats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good nights sleep in clean, quiet hotel set in own grounds, off main road, spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely people, great food, easy parking, handy for seeing sights nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of choice for continental breakfast, our window was damaged and couldn't be opened

    The food was exquisite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean and tasteful rooms. Quiet location and short walk to Milford.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel could not do enough to make our stay good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel could not do enough to make our stay good and welcoming for us and the dog .Would go again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    entrance from road

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.0
    Going again soon
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going again soon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Newbury people
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was adequate but not excellent...rather pricey.

    Nice big room. Evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    3rd visit to hotel and Excellent as we expected can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😊

    Bed really comfy Good shower facilities Staff and hotel very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay. Breakfast menu bit limited. Staff very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs in the garden not comfy!

    Lovely garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fab stay, will stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most dog friendly hotels I have come across.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.5
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lighting over the dressing table in Room 2

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The staff are so polite. Very good meals. Relaxed atmosphere. Lovely area to visit. Will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 11pm on a Friday night.

    Bar staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: