Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Inn Southampton City Centre 3 stars

6 Dials, New Road, Southampton, SO14 0AB, United Kingdom

#7 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Usual Premier Inn reliability but wish it had been closer to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The words 'city centre' in the hotel's name were misleading – it is close to but not in the city centre.

    The price. And Premier Inn hotels are pretty reliable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, food good, staff very helpful. Hotel within walking distance of town centre. Room good
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, it was all good as I expected.

    Staff were very helpful without being familiar. Hotel was near to town centre. Everything was I would expect of a premier inn. Any questions were answered quickly. Domestic staff were very good as room was clean. Tea, coffee, milk available if refreshment station needed refilling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Despite the shortcomings mentioned I would stay there again as long as price was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Function of air conditioner remains a mystery, control seemed to be for show only, as temperature in room not able to be lowered, resulting in a stuffy room. Why no bed side draws and a safe? Chairs in dinning room filthy. Hotel is looking tired and is in need of a update.

    Bed was an improvement on our stay 2 weeks earlier. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. Location to shopping area only a short walk away. Free WIFI is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    If bed had been better and a/c worked, we would have had a very satisfactory stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed we have ever (Not) slept in. Air conditioner did not work properly meaning room was very stuffy. Room not serviced after first night-this is apparently policy. No bedside draws. A safe would be nice.

    Great breakfast. Evening meal excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    If you can find it straight away on foot without google maps or sat nav- that is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can be awkward to find on foot.If you get a little lost (as I did) and do not approach it from the correct road/s. It seems more geared toward the car driver. I did notice cars got in a small jam going out of the car park. This is (I was told) run by another company.

    Lots of lovely food to pick for Breakfast, comfortable bed, loads of room (enough for three!)I knew what to except from my previous positive experience of a Premier Inn in London. It is a short walk (once you know where to go) to the city centre. The staff were also good and I was able to leave my luggage there after my check out time free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Ok apart from room veiw
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the way you checked in you had to do it all your self on the touch screen never done that before also I asked for atop floor room high up I was on floor 2 with a terrible veiw don't know if you can do anything about this it was not what I asked for

    Breakfast and evening meal was up to standard along with the bar and restaurant management

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed. THANKYOU
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough trolleys to transport cases people waiting quite long having to bring down cases in several trips. We did leave some not needed down stairs but waited for trolly to take cases to transport driver not HAPPY

    We were in transit only 3day stay beds very comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Fine! Cheap hotel, GREAT staff, basic rooms with a basic breakfast but fine given the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable, both my partner and I woke up with sore backs as a result of this. The second night of our stay was one of the worst nights sleep I have ever had. The car park was extremely small, the helpful lady on reception allowed us to park in a non space as we had two children under 4 sleeping in the car when we arrived. No where near enough parking for the number of guests.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfy and staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more teabags and milk in the room.

    Room very nice with comfy beds. Only annoyance was the noise when you put the bathroom light on. It sounded like a drill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Sincerely disappointed for the first time with Premier Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room service - cleaning Breakfast attitude. No cleaning service on my 3rd day. Last day - paid £18 for breakfast at 10.10hrs - only to be almost hunted out at 10.50hrs - lights turned off and cleaning lady with hoover arrived. Would like our money back for the breakfast we did not hardly have!!

    Bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    First stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of dents/holes to one of the walls. Only one plug socket on one side of the bed.

    Very good location for the purpose of our visit. Comfortable bed and very clean facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff at check in were so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so hot and windows don’t open properly. I know it’s a safety measure but it didn’t even open enough to put your hand through and everyday we left when we got back in the evening the cleaners had the heat on and room was like walking into an oven. Made for a very uncomfortable sleep for the baby who sweated and cried most the night.

    Staff at check in were so lovely. Breakfast was nice too but I did think £9 was a lot it is all you can eat so if you like a big breakfast it’s worth it. Rooms fresh and neat with nice bathroom and tv with plenty of channels. We really enjoyed our stay. Very close to city center just a nice stroll through the park but don’t walk through the park at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, just 2 minor things as recommendations and not as complaints - Wifi (if phone is on standby mode, wifi is automatically disconnected) - Some rooms (like ours) are next to the railway lines and you can hear the noise

    - Bed was very comfortable - Spacious and clean room - Walking distance from the town center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    OK stay, will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a little remote but not too far from city center

    good value. Clean room and nice breakfast. Nice chain, we've used them several times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming and stress free, thank you.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good; I have no criticisms to make.

    The staff were welcoming, and check in was a very swift & stress free process. My room was clean & comfortable, with decent wifi. Breakfast was busy, but I was able to find a table and dined in peace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    enjoyed our 48hr stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was very hit and miss, cheap for 24hrs but not always spaces available

    Service was very good from the front desk staff, restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient, room was very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Easily accessible by foot, busses and taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to all that can be described as utility and store rooms. From 530 in the morning until after midday there was constant clinking of cups and glasses. Noise from a dish washer and or washing machine. Staff talking quite loud. I was very disappointed being disturbed from sleep so early. I opted to stay 1 more night in southampton but chose a different hotel.

    Easily accessible by foot, busses and taxi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, clean rooms and big beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking. I was lucky but it's a very small car park with only 50 spaces compared to 170 rooms so get there early.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and big beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Stayed the weekend. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the football stadium and town,shopping centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not see out of the window as the seal had blown on the double glazing, therefore the window was misted up in room 133.

    Bed was very comfy and the room was well laid out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for a short business trip. Will book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Aircon in the first room they gave me didn't perform at all, upon my complaint I was initially offered to get a fan installed in the room (it was 11:30 pm and I was going to sleep, that means a noisy fan was no option at all)... I refused the fan and then I got a room transfer to where the Aircon worked really well. This should have been the offer in the first place. Breakfast was typically british, not really my continental european taste.

    Aircon after room transfer was great, room was nice and clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was awful. One member of the reception staff were unhelpful. Prepaid breakfast was not great as half the choices had run out. Would not stay again.

    Staff in the restaurant were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    I liked that all I've see on pictures was real.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't liked the fact that i could hear the tren during the night, which is not quite resting...

    I liked that all I've see on pictures was real.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    Ok but not great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of door slamming throught the night so not much sleep and shower was very low power and no interation with staff as all electronical plus parking pay and display not made clear as it takes ur reg on the sign in so u assume it charges ur parking then

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    The manageress solved a serious issue professionally and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff lied to our faces and there is no parking. No where to even get a bottle of water late at night as the vending machine wasn't even working.

    The manageress solved a serious issue professionally and with courtesy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    overall did enjoy and would use again
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking

    food was fine room fine bed comfy. travelled and stayed here with family our room was quiet but other rooms were disturbed at night with train noise

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Central Southampton for good value
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps biscuits with tea and coffee in room would be a nice addition. Bottles of cold water would have been a good idea too instead of relying on a vending machine in lobby.

    Very comfy bed and quiet room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.7
    Premier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets far too heavy and far too warm I didn't get a good sleep The food was not up to the usual standard that Premier has always been

    The staff were excellent The site was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel , great location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Railway noise ..but it did stop around 11pm - 6.30 so no bother really just early evening

    The bed was so comfy, the room was great over looking St Marys

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - free wifi is very slow (1 Mbit down / 0.5 Mbit up), although premium (faster) wifi is available for a fee - automated check-in system at the reception doesn't recognize special characters in the name

    - excellent staff, they were very helpful, and also friendly - superb location - close to the centre, parks, and the St. Mary's Stadium, walking distance to the train station - breakfast was very good, I had it included in the price; otherwise it's quite pricey - comfortable bed - quiet room, no audible noise from the outside - big TV screen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location, bed brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waste of time putting the "don't disturb" sign on the door, I could hear the cleaners doing my floor around 8am too early for me!

    The bed, really comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel if only two, not so for family of four, space issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough room for a family, a double and two singles no room for anything else.

    Breakfast went down well, lads loved chocolate pancakes. Room clean and bar ok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a bit sluggish in the room which was cold when we checked in, but it stabilized more or less a few hours later.

    Excellent reception staff members, amazing assistance with helping to park. Very efficient team! A lovely place to stay. Thank you all for the welcome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Very warm welcome and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaints were the breakfast, the bacon needs to be better cooked,also,we weren't very happy with the additional charge when we arrived as it doesn't explain correctly when booking.

    The staff where very polite and frieny and the bed was better than we thought. The evening meal was lovely! We will definitely be booking again next time we're staying in Southampton.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.9
    What made our stay was the receptionist who checked us in -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Wi-fi connection on the 6th floor, I dont know for the other floors. As well - why pay for the parking, even more - almost empty all the time ?

    What made our stay was the receptionist who checked us in - Gary! Very polite and friendly, he gave us the best customer service, which we received through our whole stay for 3 days! Thank you Gary!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.3
    Premier Inn Southampton a Good Option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Range of dishes on the evening menu in the restaurant were quite dated and nearly all bar a couple included BBQ sauce, what if guests do not like BBQ sauce? The restaurant needs to update the menu and use some more exciting healthier ingredients in their offerings of dishes, including side salads etc., I have bought better in the supermarket.

    Room, very comfortable, lovely bedding. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegetarian options in the hot food section of breakfast would be nice

    The staff were all fantastic, the beds were comfy and the room was clean. Nice big bath too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.8
    Good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have any wi-fi during our stay. That was a big disappointment especially as we were on the top floor.

    We liked being close to the town centre. The staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Good location, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free WiFi. No safe in room. The trains rumbling by on the tracks right outside my room.

    Size of the room. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Central Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    Had a very enjoyable stay, great location and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy location, we walked to lots of places, railway station very handy. Found the bar and restaurant very convenient after a busy day sightseeing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    A very comfortable four night stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Bed very comfortable. Breakfast offered great choice & as much as we wanted, set us up for the day! Towels changed every day. Hotel immaculate.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.7
    Free wi-fi is very very slow and one needs to pay for better...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free wi-fi is very very slow and one needs to pay for better connection. I am used to have high speed connection free for the price I payed for the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    The checking in and out process was excellent, very quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking would have been ideal. Although still fairly cheap, I feel it should be free for guests with a car.

    The checking in and out process was excellent, very quick indeed. The key cards to access the room and lifts was also superior to others used before.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.4
    Go to the other premier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very good, very bland and was always running out. The room was noisy as right next to the train line, the wifi didn't work and the car park is tiny, because if this we had to spend a fortune to park somewhere else!

    The room was a fair size, the staff try to help with things but there isn't much they can do about the negatives here

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    7.1
    don't go in cold weather!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff at reception;rubbish! the room was cold and I asked them for a blanket, as heating failed to work, never got blanket had to put towels and coat on the bed! not good

    Location and the staff in the restaurant are very very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.5
    The receptionist was really helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A group of females were shouting and arguing on the 5th floor, shouting and banging doors which went on for a long time. They behaviour was not challenged

    The receptionist was really helpful and polite. The car park attendant was also really helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    Premier Inn,New Road,Southampton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing not good enough,and as the railway line run just outside,plus a road,it was noisy at night.Not a good nights sleep.

    Room very comfortable,good facilities,clean bathroom etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    very good and would stay with premier again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no disrespect to anyone in particular but there was a bit of a language problem. staff explaining things which was a problem but we managed ok.

    happy all round

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Staff v helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more food choice for my poor gluten intolerant husband. Longer hanging space for my posh frock.

    Staff v helpful. Bed v comfy.Location great.Great tv and great position

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Good location - Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait several minutes and ask several times for the food to be replenished at breakfast - Staff handling the food with bare hands!

    Staff on check in very helpful and friendly - Room was clean and comfortable - On site parking good value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    great staff and good location near a park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    shame there wasnt a play area for kids and the bed wasnt changed after there was dirt on it the next day. also we all found the bed very uncomfortable

    the staff were great and always friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    great value and comfort at Southampton Premier Inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    toddler running around at all hours overhead, and food available in the building would be great

    Room was big, warm and really comfy. I loved the big telly and the nice view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Quality nights sleep ! 😴
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , all was perfect for my needs.

    Quality bedding , comfiest bed by far in all the hotels I've stayed in !! Perfect for a short stay. I was in transit looking for a self contained holiday apartment after my previous place had to be cancelled due to bad location and 2 nights of no sleep !!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    OUTSTANDING HOME AWAY FROM HOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-In. Somewhat very slow, and the male representative was really not friendly, never smiling or saying anything other than whats your name? Often no one was at the front desk for long periods of time, and I attempted one call from my room to the front desk and no one ever answered. I hung up. Check out was a totally different experience. Female representative very attentive, offer suggestions, and thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again. Very customer service oriented.

    The bed, room was great, and a real surprise for the value for money. I was extremely surprise at the restaurant Thyme. The food and service outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    On the whole good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really cold and the central heating wasn't working. We were really cold on the first night, for the second night they bought in a heater, which made it more comfortable

    The breakfast was good value

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    We had exactly what was described in the advert. The staff on reception were really polite and extremely helpful. Would recommend the Premier Inn to all my friends and acquaintances.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Very good, well worth a stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dont go for a room overlooking the rail line, can sometimes be noisy

    Location, food and staff. The older gentleman serving was very attentive and professional, even remembered what I drunk after only one visit. He is in the wrong Hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    calm in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    V comfortable room, clean, large wall-mounted tv, good pillows and quiet despite size of hotel and city centre location. There was a bar and restaurant too and the lifts were in good order. It felt safe with security measures in place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel to stay night before a cruise from Southampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the car park

    Staff were very friendly, room was clean and modern and the bed very comfortable,evening meal and breakfast were excellent, will definately stay again, thanks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    Great Location but not the best PI I have stayed in!
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant/bar not the best Premier Inn I have stayed at and the breakfast one of the mornings was not Premier's standard - everything was over cooked. They ran out of Full bottles of Prosecco on my 2nd night and when I mentioned getting one chilled for the following night they just said no more due until Monday ... Premier Inn West Quay just down the road I am sure they could have sourced some when a guest has specifically requested it! Not a major issue but let themselves down on customer satisfaction there.

    The bed - love Premier Inn beds! Location excellent for purpose of my trip - needing to get to West Quay to shop and Spire Hospital for my daughter

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Hot but comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning not working properly. Very hot in room, made sleeping difficult. Reported to reception but maintenance not working until Monday when we checked out.

    Great location. Very friendly staff, we had problem with air con and when reported again at check out ,she gave us sleep guarantee refund for one night. We did not expect that so thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    The helpful staff raise this above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very cramped. The hotel backs onto the railway line so is noisy.

    The beds are certainly comfortable and the staff were all friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were very limited. First time in my life I did not find cheese or ham at a hotel breakfast even in uk.

    The room was spacious and the location was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    A most enjoyable experience.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The automated check in system. It was low down and difficult to read the lower details. The member of staff who had to assist me was however very good. I want to be welcomed by a person and not a machine.

    The hotel was first class, the food was excellent. The staff were both polite and helpful in every way, particularly Keith in the restaurant who attended to us in an exemplary manner. We shall certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service or to help me to match to my needs.

    The breakfast was short, I couldn't get any breakfast because I have epilepsy and seizures every morning, I couldn't move out of the room until afternoon, as my epilepsy would worn out, I couldn't get a little room service as to help my needs. But I did like that they let me to check out a hour later than normal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.7
    Not located at City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from city centre and train station. Should have stayed at the one at West Quay instead. But since this one is named Premier Inn city centre, thought it should be better located. It's in a remote and quiet area, did not feel too safe. Restaurant located on 5/f is not too ideal!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Very h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rather grumpy manager/ waiter in the restaurant!

    Lovely big room very quiet and an excellent restaurant where we had a delicious meal!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very happy would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Walking to town was easy, cruise terminal only a short taxi ride as was the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    cost and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    cost and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    My room was spacious and comfortable and I enjoyed my breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked having a cheese omelette specially cooked for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely stay and the food in the restaurant was excellent would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent stay. Would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked a bit shabby from the outside

    Very comfy bed. A great nights sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall very good, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More help with wifi

    My tablet could not be connected to their free wifi for some reason.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    It was exactly as the advert said
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little short

    It was exactly as the advert said

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The wide choice for breakfast, extremely comfortable beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The wide choice for breakfast, extremely comfortable beds and cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Value and location

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: