Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spean Bridge Hotel 2 stars

Fort William Road, Spean Bridge, PH34 4ES, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 hotels in Spean Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was dull and not great , some starters were ok but mains had frozen cubed vegetable not nice at all.

    Bed was cosy and bed linen new and fresh and clean as were towels but the room decor and paint was grubby and decor throughout the rear of hotel was old and not very appealing. Staff were lovely on reception and in bar and restaurant although the menu needs a major revamp.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked in February and expected rooms together in the main hotel as shown on the website photo. Got rooms upstairs in a back wing, adjacent to a dreadful motel-style spread at the back with the parking lot. Shockingly bad set-up. Low-end decor inside, badly needs renovation, redecoration, some basic landscaping. Hot day - no way to prop open window in one room and bathroom heater on full blast. Saggy mattresses in both rooms and green ceiling fire light on all night - simply could not sleep with the glare.

    Reception and one waiter in the restaurant was friendly. Food was adequate. Our rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired looking decoration shabby recommend whole site in desperate need of decoration both inside and out. . Very dated both decorating and furniture. Odour in the corridor which I could only describe as old moth ball smell. Nothing to do on a night. Coffee and tea facility very limited had to go and buy milk. Had the breakfast included in the price all I can say it was nice. Cleanliness by the chamber maid good no complaints. Staff especially the waiter who served us breakfast excellent friendly and helpful.

    Staff friendly area beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole Hotel was dirty, in a poor state of decor and needed modernising. Very shabby and tatty I will not be staying there again and would not recommend it to anyone, over priced and grotty.

    the receptionist was very warm, friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't sure where to park the car..we didn't see any signs

    The food was excellent. .room was very comfy.had a great sleep..breakfast was excellent plenty choice..lovely and freshly cooked..definitely worth the money xx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs some renovation it is quit old-fashioned. The breakfast is average.

    Hotel was next to shop which is good if you are doing the Great Glen way. The staff is very friendly and helpful and also helps you to arrange a taxi to bring you back on the route of the Great Glen way (spean bridge lies 5 km outside the route).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not comfy myself and partner both had sore necks and backs. Were kept waiting at reception to check in for 20 minutes. Room was very outdated and old fashioned but not in a good sense. Situated right on main road bad view from window could hear traffic also.

    Room was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has peeling wood chop mouldy paper. Friends were above foreign staff quarters. Very loud at night. Very old fashioned. No fresh fruit or croissants as listed on breakfast menu. Staff weren’t bothered

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a better presented more appealing continental breakfast buffet?

    Nice unpretentious charming little hotel very clean and comfortable. Very polite and friendly staff, the lady who checked us in was very helpful and very friendly. If you looking for luxury then look elsewhere this hotel is reasonably priced and very good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water was running too slow Wifi should be also available in rooms, not only common areas

    Room was nice and clean, bed very comfy. Hotel is in nice little town Great track starts behind the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black mold on windows. Filthy window glass not been cleaned for years. Bathroom a disgrace.

    Bedrooms in dire need of redecoration. And this is a like....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good our telly didnt work and we got moved straight away

    It was beautiful log cabin was perfect fr me and my husband to chill out so relaxing thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds were the most uncomfortable mattress I’ve ever experienced with just about every coil noticeable. Pillows were particularly soft

    Location was good and nice touch of tucking in the kids soft toys when room was made up. Takeaway was very good and value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard for me although my Hubbie thought it was fine. The only other complaint we had was that the heater didn't work in the bathroom which made it quite cold when coming out of the shower.

    The staff at both reception and the restaurant were friendly and helpful, even holding off closing the restaurant a bit so we could order food after arriving around 8.10pm. We didn't have breakfast as we were meeting friends a bit later. The Commando Exhibition at the hotel was brilliant - there is so much information and displays to look over. Made the visit to the Monument a whole lot better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had our own bungalow, plenty of space and nice bathroom. Parking right outside and also included an electric kettle, tea, coffee and milk. A shop right around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building tired. Bathroom needs upgrading. Restraunt staff did not seem to understand requests. Asked for chocolate ice cream and given strawberry. Asked for 1 fried egg and given 3. Got drinks order wrong.

    Bedroom clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the mattresses are quite old and uncomfortable. As well, I didn´t like flow-heater in a shower, the pressure was low and water either too hot or too cold. Also, restaurant staff could be more welcoming, we felt pretty uncomfortable as they were watching us and talking in their languages.

    Nice and comfy chalet with our own TV, table with chairs and sofa. The receptionist was really kind to us, she even brought us an extra duvet when we asked for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not ideal in that it wasn’t very clean. The shower walls were very dirty & had not been wiped for some time.

    Staff was excellent: friendly & willing to accommodate. Everyone was very friendly. The bar was the best part! Locals were wonderful & happy to give us advice on where to go & what to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was extremely soft - some may like that, but for me I didn't sleep too well as got backache from the lack of support. Otherwise cannot fault it.

    Good value for an overnight stay. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean lovely room upstairs there was no facility for catering. No cutlery, no plates , no sponge or cloth to keep clean. The emphasis was definitely for eating at the restaurant.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't up to scratch and upon a complaint we received a partial refund which was good compensation.

    Hotel is a great location for everything you need in the area and breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little chalet at such an affordable price, very neat and clean. We have 2 boys and they love the bunk bed. I’m surprised how warm it was in there considering it only has one radiator by the side and it’s super cold out there! Friendly reception, makes us feel really welcome. We had fish & chips at the bar and it’s one of the best we’ve had! Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    broken / blocked guttering meant there was a noisy waterfall outside my room and there was a ridiculously bright green "safety" light pretty much above the bed (because it's obviously dangerous to let your guests get to sleep)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, room far too warm and very powerful green light from emergency light meant room did not go dark so restless sleep unfortunately.

    Location was great and price ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Although a bit dated, this hotel is ideally situated for our purpose. There are chalets in tghe grounds and the rooms are a bit of a maze. It's worth saying that our room (33) had a huge amount of hanging and drawer space as well as having one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather.

    The staff were polite and friendly and very helpful. The bar could do with going back to its original configuration including a log fire and soft furnishings for a more homely feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was so basic with furniture that didn't fit together it should have embarrassed the owners, the room also had a green emergency light in the room which remained on all the time. The walls were so thin that I could hear every word from those in the next room, which did not allow for a nights sleep. The room also SHARED a hot water tank with the room next door, just how can that be in this day, and you had to out of your room to switch it on, just a disgrace.

    Very little

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel is run-down. The rooms are poorly decorated and basic. The gutters leak and drip all night during rain. The entrance lobby is poor and outdated and the hotel is a matrix of lengthy anonymous corridors. The external areas are dilapidated and I'm surprised they have the audacity to keep this place open. At £51 for the one night this was a rip-off and it did not include breakfast which I had to pay extra for. Stay somewhere else.

    Not much to like I'm afraid, but the room was comfortable although basic. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good and the breakfast excellent. The waiting-on staff - especially the Polish girl, Kasia - were all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is more like a youth hostel set up or hill walkers stop gap. Certainly wouldn't stay again especially if your a travelling salesman.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only available in reception area. The room looked cheap. Shower was more like a tepid drizzle.

    The hotel was fine, the rooms was a bit....cheap looking. Also, no wifi in the room, so you have to go to reception to get a signal, I brought my own wifi to get round this, but in this day and age, its a bit poor not to have wifi throughout. The rest of the hotel was fine though. The bar was fine and had a pool table, the resturant was fine as well. Staff nice enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the log cabins, very comfortable, spacious and clean. Ate in the restaurant very nice. Went for a short walk and discovered station restaurant had a drink there good menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in my room were a bit thin and I could hear my neighbours talking. Never forget the earplugs !!

    The staff were very friendly. It's a busy hotel used by coach parties.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor could have been more modern, however i liked the 90s charm of it.

    Although the hotel is not ultra modern inside it has a charm in it's out of date decor. The staff were very nice, the continental breakfast was great. The room size was good and the bed comfortable. Its location close to Fort William is perfect for those travelling on to the North.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a convenient and cheap place to sleep when you drive through. The restaurant is a meeting place for local unit of royal marines with a small commemorative exhibition (free). Interesting. There is good food and local pub there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk behind hotel to what looked like an annexe than a hotel dated room for price ive had better b&b cheaper with ensuite will never use again nor reccomend

    Staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast

    Overall it was ok the shower was like soft rain and a leaky hose. The water took ages to drain away and the breakfast was a total rip off

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The style of the apartment was like a modern cottage. The staff were incredible. We were arriving late and they accomodated our needs. They were really passionate and thoughtful. I would come here again if I was visiting near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included in the booking. Can only book room only. Room and corridors were very hot. Heating turned up. Was in a room at the front of the hotel very noisy with passing traffic. Could feel the springs through the mattress. When paying for breakfast have to have cash as they don't take credit card for anything under £10.

    The staff were very friendly. Receptionist and waiting staff at breakfast. Room and bathroom clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, no toiletries (shower gel etc), brekkie poor and very expensive for what it is.

    +ves: bath, kettle & coffee supplies in room, great cafe next door and a fish and chip shop on site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was free wi do but didn't reach Ronny room. Continental breakfast terrible wish hadn't bothered. Waste of £4 didn't see anyone having full breakfast so can't comment on that

    rooms basic but clean enough

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great for want we needed, hotel was tired and needing some TLC but it was definitely clean so well done girls on that. We had continental breakfast and it did us fine, we could have had more if we had wanted. Dinning room clean and staff polite and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that this place was not as advertised. We were given one of the "chalet" rooms, but it really felt like a typical roadside motel one might find in the States. The beds were not particularly comfortable, the facilities basic, and there was little in the way of charm or character. In addition, we arrived just before 9pm as the kitchen was closing. There was an attached bar that was open quite a bit later, but no options for food, not even simple sandwiches. We ended up driving the 15 or so minutes down to Fort William to try to find food. In other words, consider your food options and your arrival time when staying here...

    A major positive of this place was the friendly staff. I don't recall his name, but the waiter /server in the attached restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful. He answered our questions about the Scottish food, and seemed genuinely interested in our upcoming plans to tour different parts of the country.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't notice that there was a booster switch for the hot water- that would have been useful for morning bath!

    The room was spacious. We could sit outside the chalet and look at the snow on the mountains! We had dinner in the restaurant and it was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It reminded me of a 1970s style motel type layout with internal access to rooms through the dining room. I wouldn't rave about the continental breakfast at all (understatement). Evening meals: great service, reasonable value but again wouldn't rave about it. I wouldn't plan to stay again but it was okay, if a little Life on Mars.

    The staff were lovely, the actual building much less so, but quite adequate, clean and comfortable. Location is rated for having your own means of transportation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a room on first floor at the front of the building, noise from the traffic outside was a bit disturbing. At breakfast in the dining room found it like a thoroughfare with way too many people coming and going to the reception from the chalets at the rear, not ideal! Pity about the above or it would have been five star, but just fell short, would still recommend though.

    Very helpful and friendly staff! Room warm and comfy, quiet inside, spacious toilet. Food excellent, great breakfast! Chambermaids efficient and quick!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very tired looking, Toilet seat was very loose, It was reported but nothing was done about it even after asking again. The wardrobe had no catch on it so kept coming open. Only one bedside light, our friends had no bedside lights at all. Only two Electric sockets in the room, all in all, looking very tired and needing some update in the bedrooms. certainly not like the photograph on the internet.

    The Location was good, The food was good, Staff were kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner there. They were fairly quick to deliver food and it was ok. They never came back to see if everything was ok or clear our plates or see if we wanted pudding. I tried to get eye contact with the waiting staff but they just ignored me so we got fed up and left in the end without pudding.

    Our room was like a little apartment at the back of the hotel. Nice to have our own space so kids were contained and we parked the car immediately outside our room door.cleaning staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in room, though I could get a good BT hotspot signal.

    Very nice large double room. Excellent staff. Convenient for anything in Spean Bridge. Breakfast served reasonably early.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower tired, food only served till 8.30 pm.

    Big chalet room with great view, if a little tired, airing cupboard within room great for drying wet bike gear, could park bikes directly outside window, lovely staff, lovely quality food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have said WiFi in room would be a huge bonus. Only available in the lounge which was usually busy! The emergency light in the bedroom shone like a spotlight on the bed at night. I had to hide under the pillow! We knew it was not listed as a 'Pet Friendly' hotel but the room was a long way from the car park where our dog stayed the night. Happily he loves the car! Perhaps responsible owners might be allowed to bring their pet as long as under control...

    For the price the accommodation was fine - very clean, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower had a mind of its own, struggled to regulate the hot water, either scalding or icy cold. The receptionist said they are aware of it and working on the problem.

    Lovely little hotel in Spean Bridge. The food in the hotel restaurant was very nice, large portions and well priced. Wifi worked well in the lobby, but not at all in the rooms to the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cons. (no Wifi available in bungalows, but this was no disadvantage for us)

    Everything was OK. Apartment was clean and cozy. Free parking was available, free wifi available only in main building. Good pub in the main building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was only available at common areas and the location wasn't easy to access on foot. Plus, booking online said it included breakfast and upon arrival it turned out it wasn't.

    Facilities were good and clean, staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi only available in Reception No Toast with Breakfast

    The Hotel is a little dated but i found it to be spotlessly clean and comfortable , For the evening meal they have a varied menu and also a very good chef as i found the food delicious the breakfast was also tasty but a little expensive at £7.00 for what you got .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be extended to rooms rather than just by the bar

    Nice little hotel complex near Nevis Range, ideal location and great facility. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows rubbish ...bar lacked atmosphere and character with its bright lights and pine wood looked like Chinese takeout shop.....

    Food was good value,staff very helpful and friendly..room was clean and warm.. Overall good value ,great for one or two nights perfect for walkers.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel in general, was like a Commando in the field - rough and ready. It requires a great deal of work to bring it back to its former glory. Woodwork faded and peeling. Bed mattresses were past usefulness, sagging and creaking badly, with a "topper" to try and make it comfortable.

    The location to the Commando Memorial was great. The staff were very helpful and attentative. The Commando Museum was good to see and spend time in. The meals were average, eggs at breakfast under cooked, with part of the breakfast cold. y evening meal was Stew and came out hot, my partners was Scampi and came out lightly warm, nearing cold.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a major refurb. A guest dropped milk on my car (no apparent reason), so I had to get it washed in Ft. William. No Wi-Fi in room. Didn't try the restaurant.

    Room was a good size. Free parking. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome was none existent. Room chalet style damp and musty. Not clean, sheets didn't fit bed and mattress was discusting. Bathroom had cracked sink and lots of mold. Breakfast was a farce. DIY toasters didn't work and poached egg that were ordered was hard boiled spread on cold toast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation very dated. Room am elled of damp. Cramped and dated bathroom with inaccessible bathroom window No breakfast option before 7.30 No beer available in the bar, limited soft drinks. No WIFI except within the hotel reception area. Fish and chip shop on sight

    Relatively close to Fort William

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a little run down could do with a bit of modernising like wifi to the rooms etc.

    The room was large and comfortable and location was good and the commando museum was interesting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on wall in bathroom, no breakfast included in charge. We declined breakfast as there was an extra charge for breakfast which we weren't informed of when booking stay.

    Bed was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen closes rather early and the hit water arrangements in the room were a little confusing

    Good bar with welcoming feeling. Comfortable if modest rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel generally is a bit tired. We were on motorbikes and rode all day in the rain. Particularly in that region with walkers, etc I would have expected the hotel would have had a drying room. As it turned out the towel rain in the room dried my kit out enough overnight.

    Everything in the room was clean and worked. The staff were all pleasant and were keen to please.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer didn't work and the hot water was shared with another room. The temperature in the room was a bit chilly.

    Staff was super nice and helpful, breakfast was rich and of good variety.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was terrific, very jolly and helpful. Just the ticket after a long 23 mile walk.

    The rooms were basic and a bit shabby. A bit like the hotel generally. My pal got food poisoning! Breakfast was chaotic, partly due to a large number of Japanese visitors. However, that can hardly have been unexpected and they could have brought in more staff to cope My tea was cold (how can you get that wrong - it's either boiling our not?!) My requested poached eggs on toast were actually fried, but I'd given up the ghost at that point and had a taxi booked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike. I have stayed here many times, and have always found it satisfactory and good value for money.

    Excellent food, and the Highland Breakfast was amazing - set me up for my long journey home!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms in the annex are not especially good value for money. Although adequate, there is no ambiance; they are reminiscent of the cabins in US national parks dating back to the1930s. Breakfast was not included in my rate. I was told that a full breakfast cost £7 and a continental breakfast £3.50 but I could also order a la carte The contnental version was toast or rolls from a package, discount supermarket juice and tea bags for the tea. I chose to order a la carte as I didn't want the full breakfast with sausage, beans and mushrooms, for example. There were no prices on the menu but I was charged for a full breakfast even though I only had scrambled eggs on toast, a small package of cheese and a pot of tea. It seems to me that £5 would have been plenty for that. Spean Bridge itself is a good highland location for those with their own car. It's difficult if you are not. The trains only call there a few times a day and the buses are unreliable.

    I booked a room here because this location was one of the few in the area with good availability of refundable accommodation in August. The lounge, dining room and bar of the main hotel is late 19th century and attractively furnished, the staff exceptionally friendly and accommodating.The food was fairly good (nothing spectacular). I didn't see the rooms in the main house. The location is a 5-minute walk - downhill and back up - for the return trip) from the direct rail line Glasgow to Mallaig (gateway to Skye).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunkhouse Chalet (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi at the rooms.

    The room has TV and water boiling with cups, coffee and more. The room was big and the car could be parked in front of.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water is timed outside. Bathroom and room is quite old style.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Feel very welcomed and we arrived quite late due to gps wrong direction.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunkhouse Chalet (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chalets a little shabby but o k value for money.

    Great food if it you want to purchase lunch or dinner. Good information room about the commando history.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the service staff can be more friendly morning shift

    The bar was great was not to bad for the money but by this price is not acceptable that you must pay extra for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - everything felt grubby. Rooms sad, tired, decaying wooden window frames , wood chip paper and had paper thin walls. "Restaurant looked like school canteen and full of coach parties - we did not try the food. ! We had booked for two nights and would not have stayed even one if we had checked the room first. Left promptly after one hellish night.

    Nothing. Old rundown pub with rooms in main building and annex and some chalet type accommodation at the back. We stayed in the annex which was a warren of corridors and doors. Fire exit doors were wedged open. Loose flagged steps - the list goes on.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is available only in public areas which is basically only one small hall with a few seats. Moreover if more people connect to the wifi the signal is very poor. Impossible to use. It's a big shame that the hotel does not have wifi in rooms. Big disappointment.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just needs a bit of money and TLC spent on it. I appreciate this is a "tourist" hotel but with a bit of effort it could upgrade.

    Good location. Pleasant staff. Good car parking. Bar menu good. Water hot. Relatively comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: