Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sportsmans Arms Hotel

Lower Clicker Road Menheniot, Liskeard, PL14 3PJ, United Kingdom

#5 of 9 hotels in Liskeard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s so comfortable, I sleep so well when I stay here. The main line train station is nearby, so you could hop on the train and travel to Penzance if you wished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room (for those of us wishing to do some paperwork whilst away) was very dim and no real work space.

    Room was a great size and good shower. Location was very peaceful and the traffic noise was minimal. Bed very comfortable and excellent breakfast. Plenty of off road parking and no charge! Nice bar but surprisingly they didn't do food in the evenings however there is a very god bistro / restaurant just a short walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that could be improved here, loved it.

    Honestly can't rate this place highly enough! Steph & Ollie were really welcoming and friendly and we immediately felt comfortable, if there was an example of perfect hospitality then this is it. Our room was spacious; immaculately clean and comfortable with excellent tea and coffee facilities. There was no noticeable noise in our room from the pub and likewise we weren't disturbed by the railway which, although nearby, seems to be a sporadic service and certainly won't be a problem during your stay. We found the bed really comfortable and the pillows and duvet were of equally high quality. We decided on the full breakfast which is honestly a bargain. An excellent selection of cereals, toast and jam and then the cooked breakfast which was perfection, high quality ingredients and loads of flavour, the coffee was great too! Although the pub was busy in the evening everyone was really friendly and at no point did it feel uncomfortable, numerous people said hello and asked where we had travelled over from which was nice. The pub itself is lovely with a great selection, lovely staff and even a parrot called Dylan. Location wise it is so easy to get to, really close to the A38 but far enough and lower elevation so if you didn't know it was only a short distance, you'd easily think it was 5 miles or more. This means there's great access to explore Cornwall and for the adventurous among you Adrenaline Quarry is just next door. I knew from the reviews the Sportsmans Arms Hotel was going to be a good choice of place to stay, but to say it exceeded my expectations is an understatement. Without a doubt we will always look here first when we come down to Cornwall to see if there is a room available and can't wait to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Made a last minute booking and was delighted with the accommodation, very clean and spacious very friendly owners, nice breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Sportsmans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Although it was a single room, it was very specious with a nice on-suite. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even took my bag up to my room. How nice of them. Breakfast was superb and set me up for my days out in Cornwall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was excellent with a separate lounge area and large onsuite. Steph & Ollie are the perfect hosts they made us feel like family from the time we arrived to the time we left and nothing was to much trouble. A good choice of breakfast was available everyday. Would definitely look at going back and recommending this place to family & friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed not comfy, duvet was very noisy. Breakfast was great food but far too early 7.30-8.30

    Great comfy bed king size bed, tea, coffe and water in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was quite soft. Breakfast time (too short and too early for people who are tired and would like to rest a bit longer in the morning - buffet options with coffee in containers which keep it warm are the best for guests as this gives more flexibility). Guests should be made aware before they book that there is a bar under the rooms : the noise cannot be avoided if the bar is busy. Trains and cars not far away but room well insulated.

    Roomy comfortable bedroom with clean bathroom. Nice hosts. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Were not advised that it was going to be noisy on our last night. We were in a room directly above the noise which went on till after midnight Originally booked for myself, then daughter wanted to come but could not cancel the room to book at a more suitable location

    The manager and his wife were very helpful on local info

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower could do with an upgrade, especially if you are used to a power shower.

    Friendly staff, who were considerate, helping to carry bags etc Lovely inn with well furnished rooms which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts, Steph and Ollie were outstanding. Really welcoming and friendly and looking after all we needed. As a group of 3 we used the the triple room which was wonderfully spacious, clean and quiet. The accomodation is in a quiet location with pleasant country views but a very convenient driving distance from Liskeard and the A38. The breakfasts were excellent. Many thanks to our hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The price of the room did not include breakfast. We paid extra for a light breakfast. The room was clean, nice bedding and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. . It was so nice I wanted to stay

    Fabulous friendly B and B. The rooms were lovely. The breakfasts freshly cooked to order. The bar had a great atmosphere and loverly beers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Already stated

    Apart from not liking duvets on beds (I am a sheet and blanket man)! Everything else was top quality. The map on the printout could do with saying the turnoff for Menheniot is over three miles out of Liskeard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds no padded head board music late on from the bar cooked breakfast not the best should have opted for the lighter option of cereal and toast

    Nice big room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives from our experience

    Lovely room, very comfortable .... the best we used on a four night road trip around Devon and Cornwall. Nice welcome, nice people and nice pub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no dislikes.

    The Sportsman's Arms greatest assets are its proprietors Steph and Ollie Holman, both of whom are extremely helpful and cheerful with just the right amount of courteous formality. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and adequately furnished. A good breakfast is freshly cooked to order and was absolutely delicious on both mornings. Good clean accommodation at a reasonable price. No fuss No hassle. Especially good for individual travellers or couples. As a retired military officer with worldwide travel experience during service and afterwards I recommend it without reservation. I stayed recently whilst supporting a group of cyclists completing a John O Groats to Lands End event.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit disconcerting to see what looked like the staff preparing breakfast in their pyjamas pants. Just took a bit of the shine off the professionalism. Wi fi connection was rubbish. (Apparently power was off in town intermittently) However we were unable to get connected during our stay.

    Large very clean and well appointed rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they had a ground floor room then that would have been more convenient but all the rooms were up stairs which i didn't look at when i booked the room.

    Very comfortable bed.lovely room and a nice view of the countryside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't recommend this place more, the friendliest owners ever, went above and beyond to be helpful (I had a hiccup with my car and without their help it would've ruined our weekend!) Had a lovely time in the bar chilling out and the room was quiet, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fab too! No problems catering for veggie / gluten free couple! Massive thanks to Ollie & Steph for a lovely stay! We'll be back :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome from Ollie & Steph,a really nice couple who could not have been more helpful. Lovely country pub in a quiet location with excellent clean, warm & comfortable double room in adjoining annex. We stayed for one night whilst visiting family and will definately stay again when next in the area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for visiting family in Liskeard. Breakfast was very good. Cooked breakfast was of high quality and served lovely and hot. Comfortable bed and linen. Helpful and friendly owners. The offer to carry a suitcase up or down the stairs was much appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault it. All good!

    Everything in rooms that we needed, clean, comfortable and apparently recently renovated. Friendly hosts. Excellent breakfasts. Super comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit remote but we knew that when we booked it. It's certainly not a criticism but a very obvious observation.

    Very good indeed and excellent value. Helpful friendly staff. We would thoroughly recommended it. Decent beer too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative at all.

    Stopover on way to Cornwell. Very friendly hosts,good location and very good room with en suite. Good restaurant 500 m done road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay but evening meals not available.

    Everything, lovely helpful staff on hand always.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the country pub atmosphere; down the lane, off the beaten track.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go home!

    I have stayed here before, it’s an excellent location out of town but close to public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Reasonable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Football Ale & friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff nice hot showers and lovely clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly welcome, lovely spacious, clean, comfortable room and lovely bathroom. Couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food in evening and breakfast not starting till 0730

    Location to work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one around at 0800 so mo opportunity for breakfast

    Easy access very clean and quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Real friendly owners and a warm welcome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    suited our needs perfectly

    Super comfy beds, excellent hosts ideal location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was brilliant thanks

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and a very comfy bed. Owners were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpfull Staff and very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and staff so friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff. Friendly feel. Amazing room very spacious and bed I didn't want to get out of

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike, as I was only there for one night.

    Very clean room in a quiet location. Just what I required.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable and the room is neat and clean. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing pub, great hospitality and will defiantly be staying every time I visit my daughter in plymouth in the future. Staff are incredible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there for one night, but it was exactly what we needed. Everyone was friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shaver point in bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and very helpful owners!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ..

    nice stay for a night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and it was clean

    It was a pleasant stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection could have been better but that's all.

    Everything was very good but the friendliness and helpfulness of our hosts was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly village pub. Quiet comfortable room with very pleasant view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable and the owners were friendly and helpful. An excellent stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owners are great really helpful, Very clean room, Good breakfast,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later breakfasts.

    Friendly staff. Very clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit out of the way but otherwise fantastic

    Owners made me feel very welcome as well as the locsls

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bed and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were exceedingly helpful. Great local restaurant couple of hundred meters away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners very helpful / very frrendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay in a lovely room. Amazing hospitality. Definitely going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pleasant and friendly couple who owned the pub...always helpful with whatever we needed. A***

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    excellent hosts and very good breakfast. would stop there again. Very close to Looe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some snacks available for purchase.

    Single room, with bigger than single comfy bed, warm, good en-suite. Very good breakfast and friendly owners.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all perfect

    Great stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was amazing bed heaven lovely owners

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was good

    Very clean 10/10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Great owners and flexible. Very helpful. Spotless rooms. Great parking space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to criticise

    Made very welcome throughout stay. Everything went as expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Excellent breakfast. Large, comfortable, spotlessly clean room. Would stay here again .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening food available this was the only problem as its good to have a meal after a hard days work

    Very friendly welcoming people will stay again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very clean room

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: