Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spread Eagle Hotel And Spa 3 stars

South Street, Midhurst, GU29 9NH, United Kingdom

#7 of 14 hotels in Midhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal bill caused confusion and I went to bed feeling annoyed. There was annoyed no problem, the waiter just seemed to explain it incorrectly. Observed other couple having similar communication problem.

    Everything else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very warm despite open window and fan. Towel rail permanently on.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Good range of toiletries and comfortable hotel environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar food was very overpriced for what it was. The drinks both soft and alcoholic were also very expensive

    The hotel had a lovely fragrance throughout, even more so as you went into the spa area and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Dinner was delicious in the beautifully candlelit dining room and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was also above average with plenty of fruit, cereals and cooked choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horribly overrated and overcharge for dull, stuffy rooms along creaky corridors, and most of the wait staff just as creaky and ramshackle! Upon checkin for 2 nights, found that there were NO spa timings left for either of our days - and this as in-house guests!! The main restaurant very average and overpriced - high tea boring and overpriced, breakfast again at best average. When you pay GBP300 for BnB, one would hope for delicious berries, fresh pressed juices and artisan jams, chutneys etc and certainly the best cooked breakfast ever! Not a tired looking plate. A real pity!

    Hotel is in a wonderfully old character building - beautiful old bar, but very restricted drinks, only 2 beers on tap, and horrible house wines!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Spread Eagle Hotel, Midhurst- - great atmosphere, superb service, lovely spa ( treatments are fab) but what makes the hotel are the friendly and caring staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The friendlliness of the staff. We were made so welcome and having our dog made us feel he was no trouble to the hotel our stay was really wonderful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot can be done about this, but like previous comments we were on the ground floor right on the road, and the room was small. But, we had booked last minute and got a cheap room. Would advise upgrade from the cosy rooms.

    Excellent food and staff both helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff were limited on Saturday night and we ended up waiting for 20 minutes to get a drink

    Customer service and "sign posting" was excellent throughout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    It was a lovely birthday treat in a four poster room with champagne. Dinner and breakfast was good. We visited the spa and strolled to the local town, all perfect for weekend stay, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I complained to the hotel sent email twice with no response, I followed up with a phone call and was told manager had been on holiday and will get back shortly that was 4 days ago. Extremely noisey neighbours and cleaners, waiting staff kept knocking my husband the whole meal and not once apologised.

    Beautiful hotel and rooms, spa is small but lovely and treatments rooms are gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience we had with dinner was absolutely superb. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was truly sensational. It really was a fantastic meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was not very good Didn’t look appealing either which was a great pity as the healthy buffet was exceptional

    Breakfast buffet although fairly small the quality was outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite the standard of efficiency I would expect for the price. Breakfast orders slow and/or wrong three out of five mornings and room not made up one day even though requested. Generally felt like such me staff a little sloppy (however other s great).

    Lovely old hotel with great spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female changing rooms by the pool not that clean. Rooms were a bit tired - needed a fresh lick of paint. Due to building work being undertaken we had to walk through a dank underground tunnel to get to our room. Not pleasant!

    Great location. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything including the Spa was just lovely, staff so friendly and welcoming. Loved sitting in the bar and relaxing.... in front of the fire. Our stay was delightful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal and service was excellent. However the room that we were initially given was very small for a standard room (classic and it was more like a cosy room) and my wife couldn't stand up by her side of the bed because of the eaves. However I mentioned that we were disappointed with room and they gave us a free upgrade to a lovely room. So we were very happy and had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot! It got quite uncomfortable if the window was closed but we had a room overlooking the street so with the window wide open you could hear everything in the morning. No fans were provided.

    The room was really nice. A little small but it was only a classic double room. Bed was super super comfy! There was a coffee machine and a kettle with fancy tea bags! The cookies were an extra nice touch! Bathroom was amazing! Lots of towels and temple spa products and shower was huge. We also had breakfast added which was super yummy. Lots of selection of things to choose from. Also full access to the spa which is a nice touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and very laid back. Service at breakfast on our last morning was very poor unfortunately. Although 4 staff appeared to be on duty no one asked us what we wanted to drink or if we wanted something different for a cooked breakfast. In the end WE and several other guests had to go up to the waiting staff and ask them. When I asked for some coffee the waiter only brought enough for me and none for my partner, so we had to ask for more. Great shame as everything else was lovely. Also there was never anyone on duty in the bar so you had to wait around for ages for a drink. One family even rang through to reception at the hotel on the external number using their mobile phone to order drinks.

    The bar area and friendliness of staff. The spa was lovely as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I am being fussy the coffee, I had decaf was rather too bitter.

    Cosy atmosphere on a rainy bank holiday weekend. Spa was busy but not crowded, bathrobes and flip flops of good quality. Massage was reasonably priced and good. All meals prepared and served in a timely fashion; with restaurant staff friendly and efficient. Our cosy room was well heated, quiet, well furnished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went there to celebrate an 80th birthday, all whole experience from booking in to booking out was fantastic, the staff were brilliant nothing was to much trouble, room very good clean and comfortable, and spa pool great. local restaurants if you wanted to get out and about were 1st class to. I would recommend this Hotel and surrounding area as 1st class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the mattress could have been slightly firmer.

    Hotel was in a great location. Very quaint bedroom in the main building. The staff were all friendly, and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent, breakfast was a good size - and very tasty! Superb range of Gins on offer in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corollary of nature of the property (historic coaching inn) is small rooms and quite a lot of noise from other guests in corridors. Unavoidable, it some won't like this.

    Quaint and filled with character. Motivated, pleasant staff and very good restaurant. Spa and pool first rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee and we would have liked a little more milk!

    The bed was lovely and comfy and the awaiting dogs beds and towels were very welcome and a sweet touch (they definitely liked them)!! The shower room was very good - really warm and fluffy towels and good sized shower and handbasin too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great

    The hotel is great value for money. Extremely relaxing and the staff are really friendly and nothing is a problem for them. There’s a lovely conservatory area to sit and relax, a great lounge bar with open fires and the spa is lovely. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great. No proper bread. Out of waffles. No dry muesli. Only one cheese and one ham option.

    Beautiful hotel with very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fan in bathroom ...

    Stayed here many times, always the same high standards in every way, especially staff -- welcoming and professional but not stuffy ; in reception, the new lady in the bar ( excellent ) and all the restaurant crew. Food to die for. Brilliant chef. Very reliable -- you know it's going to be good !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom window faced a car park although windows were frosted! Room service did not arrive with milk waited 45 mins. They messed up our booking and only booked 1 day they called asking us to vacate the room! Sticky label in my dinner! Ignored at breakfast had to wait 1 hour. I have stayed here 3 times before this was not one of the best! Such a shame as it’s a beautiful hotel.

    Food and wine were good and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful relaxing old fashioned hotel. Exellent spa facilities. Upmarket restaurant or slightly more chilled option in prezzo next door. Drinks expensive but very nice. Pleasent, friendly staff. Very tasty cooked breakfast as part of the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very meagre and not very tasty. Scrambled eggs so called were like a little omelette broken up with a fork. The bass was completely tasteless and the Savoy cabbage leaves so tough I had a job to cut through them. The continental breakfast could not compete with a Premier Inn. My husband commented that the only good thing about his evening dinner was the tomato juice. My husband is a London trained chef and said for £38.00 per head it was very poor value.

    Room comfortable and well appointed, and all staff very welcoming and helpful, and the spa very enjoyable and relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way past it’s best but apparently they’re all being upgraded.

    Excellent food, lovely, friendly service, great atmosphere, quirky ‘olde worlde’ accommodation but 100% genuine. Also the bery modern spa facilities complimented the hotel perfectly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was freezing & the cooked breakfast was extremely poor. Over cooked beans, very poor quality black pudding & sausage. No one at our table of 6 adults finished it.

    The beds were really comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks at the bar were costly and the awesome gin selection wasn’t really taken advantage of as there was no one available to make anything other than a G&T...

    The shower was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a bit bigger, disappointed there were no treatment appointments left, but my own fault for not booking ahead

    Excellent welcome by staff very nice toiletries &tea/coffee in the room, and although I didn’t take my dog, I loved that they made the little canine members of the family welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area could have been better. I had to wait for receptionist to check out. There were workmen in the reception which didn't give the best impression.

    I liked the general comfort of the room and the feeling that the hotel offered. The fire was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast! It took ages before our order was taken and then took ages for our breakfast to arrive!

    The room and the staff were lovely. The bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices were very expensive £24 for two vodka and tonics. Also the spa treatments were expensive so we went elsewhere. We also ate out as the menu was not to our liking.

    Staff were friendly and attentive. Spa facilities were lovely. Room was very nice. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It wasn't obviously apparent when booking that the Hotel allowed dogs (in all rooms) - access to some rooms was through the dining room and although we were told that there was an alternative route for those with dogs - the staff seemed to turn a blind eye when they were taken through the dining room (Hygiene questionable.) Also Dogs were left in rooms with owners going out - on one occasion the room adjacent to us had two dogs yapping until the owners came in from a night out at 12:30am - we were in bed but couldn't phone reception because the phone wasn't working (telephone system being changed !!!! - telephone issue rectified on following day) The hotel did apologise and provided a complimentary bottle of Prosecco but that was only because we complained - what about those poor guests that just put up with it

    Location and friendliness of all staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - lots of old fashioned dried fruit and not very good fruit salad - large chunks mostly indigestible melon and a few grapes. Second morning, Saturday, waited from 8 o'clock to 8.35 for cooked breakfast. Poor service by kitchen - waiting staff ok. The spa was a great disappointment and expensive. Were the staff qualified? Polly didn't know what was in the urgent she was applying. No signs giving their qualifications. All very vague. Egremont was very comfortable but it was impossible to sit in those lovely chairs and read because it was FAR TOO DARK!

    Egremont had a comfortable bed. The dinners were pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chairs in bedroom, bath had no facilities for helping one to get in and out. My husband is slightly disabled so we should have booked the accommodation on ground floor as the stairs were quite hard to ascend and descend but the staff were most helpful.

    Lovely food, great staff and great facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was prompt and efficient in the delivery of breakfast but would have liked more attention on clearing the tables as well - especially in view of a grasping toddler. However this is a minor point in an otherwise exceptional stay.

    Superb breakfasts especially the freshly baked and deliciously light croissants and pain-au-chocolats! All staff were friendly, helpful and very accommodating to our 16 month old daughter throughout our stay.Spa facilities were also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were told wi-fi was available throughout the hotel it really only worked in the public areas downstairs, bedroom not. Only a niggle.

    Everything was great. I'd told them beforehand that booking was for husband's 'special' birthday and we found complimentary wine in our room. Husband's dessert plate was decorated with chocolate writing 'happy birthday - both delightful touches. Bed really comfortable, room lovely overlooking a small courtyard garden, both dinner and breakfast really good. Midhurst is delightful and we'd certainly return to this hotel. Staff were attentive and helpful. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy as on street. Breakfast good but bit slow. Bed very soft for my taste.

    Charming upscale B&B... didn't try the spa, no time. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer was a little flat , maybe it was the glass ? Menu a little limited , as it's a set menu for the evening but , it's good quality food !! So no complaints really !!

    lovely period features , etc , !! Staff wonderful , if you like the older style hotel , this is the place !! ?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very attentive, bar staff need to be friendlier and more helpful and the breakfast needs vastly improving for the prices that are charged.

    Clean public areas, clean rooms and comfy bed. Spa staff were also very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn't be faulted. Drinks rather pricy but that is all.

    We were really impressed with the little extras such as home made cookies provided with the tea/coffee in our room. Also my request for decaffeinated tea and fresh milk (instead of uht cartons we met with a friendly 'no problem '. Whole hotel was totally beautifully kept and a lovely homely but luxurious feel everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a very warm as the bathroom created heat into the room. We were on ground level near a road so we didn't want to leave the window open at night but they had left a fan in the room to keep us cool.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Very clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath although it was detailed in the description - really not sure what the difference is between a standard double and traditional room and not sure what the extra money I paid for the traifitional room actually provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to pinpoint.

    The little things like cotton wool in bathroom, dressing gowns and slippers, newspapers and magazines available in most areas. A good selection of beverages in our room. A very good selection of different brands of Gin, Whisky, etc in the bar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The portions of food were only 'adequate'! I ordered from the breakfast menu - waffles with maple syrup. One small waffle arrived and about a quarter pint of syrup!. Always the amounts on the plate at every meal were very small. Really embarrassing as we entertaining!

    Staff very helpful. Bedroom fine and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely relaxed stay was slightly spoiled when I realised I could have had a much better deal if I'd booked with the hotel direct rather than using booking.com.

    Really enjoyed the Spa and the treatments were of a very high standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As nice as it looks, it is just not worth the money. I paid like a 4-5* to get squished into a tiny, old room which would not fit anyone 1.80m+ tall, and had obsolete heating and structure. I would have given this place 8+ score if it had been priced cheaper. Did not check out the spa so perhaps that makes it better.

    Charming hotel in Midhurst town centre. If you are into historic/classic British hotels, this is for you. Excellent breakfast and breakfast room, and reasonably priced if you did not include this in your booking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all

    Very comfortable hotel, particularly liked the Temple Spa products in the bathroom Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit too soft for our liking. Every time either one of us would roll over the other would wake up. This is just a matter of taste though and we did not ask the staff if there was anything they could do about it as we only stayed for one night.

    really beautiful hotel with great atmosphere, all staff where very friendly and helpful. We arrived too late for lunch in the hotel but got some good tips on where to go. The spa and pool offered a wonderful refreshment in the morning. Breakfast was wonderful as well, poached eggs and salmon where a real treat and the coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room tired and curtains need replacing. Needs a refurbishment. Bar lounge a bit bleak and unwelcoming. Hard chairs and seating - not comfortable. Bar staff absent a lot and had to seek them out. Chaotic service at breakfast time. Sat for ages waiting for order to be taken. Some of it didn't arrive. Slow to clear away plates.

    The entrance conservatory lounge lovely place to sit. Pleasant room. Bed very comfortable. Great selection of tea, coffee etc and home made biscuits. Nice toiletries. Excellent spa facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean, with a really comfortable bed. Delicious homemade biscuits along with a fine selection of beverages in our room. The restaurant provided a wonderful menu which was beautifully presented. I will never forget our stay at the Spread Eagle, it made for a perfect 50th birthday celebration. The whole Spa experience was relaxing and a real treat for the soul.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault was fantastic

    We had the most wonderful stay at the Spread Eagle, the staff were fantastic, rooms lovely, dinner in the evening was great, spa also fantastic. Could not fault this hotel and want to praise all the staff for doing a fantastic job, this is a real gem of a hotel we are going back very soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very hot but it has to be said that the weather was exceptionally hot. A fan was supplied by the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast, very clean, helpful and friendly staff. Very dog friendly even providing a welcome Boneo for our dog's arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent food in hotel restaurant. Set price for 3 courses which was fairly high to match the standard, so not a problem, but I would prefer also to be able to see individual prices for dishes.

    All rooms dog friendly, which is very unusual, so worth speaking to hotel beforehand to choose best location of room as some rooms are definitely easier to access than others. Good walking from hotel. Lovely indoor and outdoor seating areas. Very good indoor pool. Ideal for visiting beautiful NT Woolbeding as minibus shuttle service is located in car park just 5 mins walk away (no parking at Woolbeding) and don't forget to book tickets in advance as numbers limited each day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a little mixed. Room comfortable but small. Spa area nice but tired.

    Service a little mixed! Room comfortable but small. Spa area nice but tired. Ticked the box for what we wanted and weather was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very slow at breakfast. We had to ask for things (like toast, sauces etc) from various members of staff, several times before they arrived at our table. Admittedly we were the last to leave the breakfast room that day but it didn't help to have a staff member standing next to our table and sighing very loudly rather than just politely asking us to leave! Also our room was overlooking the main road so it was quite noisy late Friday night with revellers leaving the pub.

    Great property with good facilities in very attractive location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to my room was difficult because of my dog. Had to go via what the staff described as a "secret tunnel" - this was steep stairs down to rather dirty looking corridor through the staff locker room. Not impressed, considering the cost per night.

    The spa was good. Most of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firmer mattress - but that's a personal preference.

    All the staff were welcoming and accomodating. Room well appointed (especially the shower room). Would have preferred a firmer mattress but chose not to move. Excellent choice and quallity for breakfast. Easy parking. My first visit since I patronised the bar with friends at lunchtime after A level exams at the Grammar School in 1959 - much to the headmaster's concern!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sussex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a Deluxe Junior suite with sitting room and shower. On arrival at the hotel we were told we had been upgraded to the Courtyard Room because of plumbing issues with our booked room. The Courtyard Room did not have a sitting room or a shower. Lack of a shower caused us great inconvenience. An upgrade should include all the basic room amenities that were originally booked plus extra improvements. It felt more like a downgrade rather than an upgrade. We feel the hotel should have informed us of the room change and lack of shower prior to arrival giving us an opportunity to cancel.

    The spa was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was pretty but had a funny smell. The bed wasn't comfortable and there were stains on the bedspread. The sink was a bit high placed! The walls were very thin and we were woken by people walking past and watching tv. The continental breakfast options could have been a bit more extensive. The spa facilities were on the small side and the jacuzzi was a bit violent!

    The hotel is very charming and well placed for exploring the South Downs. The lounge bar and conservatory are particularly beautiful and well furnished. The spa is attractively presented. The staff were delightful and very obliging.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sussex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible stay - the Spread Eagle management should be proud of its wonderful employees. I have spent 20 years in hospitality and two gentlemen made our stay so memorable. Oli and Craig thank you for making myself, my wife and 2 daughters so welcome. Our pics and videos will remind us of what true hospitality is about ... great people! Thanks Oli and Craig Pete

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Midhurst Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking can be difficult at weekends when functions are booked, although there is a large car park.

    Hotel has great character, staff are very helpful. Room was spacious with a lovely view over the very pretty garden. Breakfast excellent with locally sourced products. Everything is within walking distance. Midhurst is a historic town with lots to explore,the ruins of Cowdray House dating back to Tudor times are well worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel had character, some aspects of it were shabby rather than antique, such as the bar, where the seating and cushions were a bit worn and lumpy and the tables had peeling varnish. Our room was a good size, but again, the armchairs were lumpy and it didn't feel especially luxurious considering the price we paid for one night (£350).

    The reception staff were delightful, the others were quite nice. The spa was pleasant. The hotel had character and atmosphere and we particularly liked the upstairs residents' sitting room. The food was fairly traditional, but very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I had asked when booking to have two rooms close to each other as I was celebrating my birthday with my two adult daughters, our rooms were is separate wings. Eventually sorted out but still two floors apart

    Attractively decorated, good food and excellent spa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked afternoon tea and were almost left to our own devices. There was a large function on in another room and we were often left waiting for long period of time to ask for someone to ask for more sandwiches. We had to ask three times for some more tea before it finally came!

    The facilities were superb. The spa was lovely and the breakfast and dinner were delicious. The reception staff and the evening dinner staff could not do enough to help us. Nothing was too big an ask.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered lunch on the day we arrived but the service was really dreadful - don't be tempted by any offers. You would do better to find somewhere outside of the hotel. It was busy with non-residents and there is no waiting space for a table (although we had booked and I could see there were tables free). We eventually received our (tiny) starters after about 45 minutes. Bread rolls arrived half way through the start course. Breakfast the next day (included in our room price) was completely different and very good.

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have asked the price of the single malt whisky before I ordered a double (£14.80). The sauna wasn't very warm

    Good location overlooking the river but only a short walk to the town centre. Spa is excellent although the sauna wasn't very warm. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a tad on the small side - but as it was only for one night, we coped! (We had to dress in relays!)

    Polite, helpful staff. Very comfortable bar and lounge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Included in our package was evening meals we did not realise that we would have to pay extra for vegetables

    Pleasant hotel and facilities in good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spreadeagle is such a beautiful historic building it is wonderful to be able to stay in such surroundings. The restaurant is excellent as are the spa facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa treatments are a bit overpriced!

    Food is amazing and they use local produce. The staff are always friendly and welcoming! Our 3rd stay here this time for my partners 50th and the manager J J left a bottle of chilled wine in the room and a lovely card!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: