Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sprowston Manor Hotel and Country Club 4 stars

Wroxham Road, Norwich, NR7 8RP, United Kingdom

#10 of 23 hotels in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 953 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable and a great vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that parts of the hotel were under staffed. We felt really bad for the staff that were picking up the slack and taking the heat for it. Come on management, step it up as your workers are great.

    The staff were fantastic and dealt well with us and others too. We hadn’t stayed here before and were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The suit was lovely and the bed was spot on. We’ll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    brilliant
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the piped background music, horrendous. Was not happy with Booking.com quoting & taking our booking for B&B & on arrival at the hotel we were told our breakfast had not been included. I had double checked prices for both & selected the breakfast option & price. very dissatisfied with their service. fortunately the hotel as goodwill included the breakfast.

    surroundings beautiful, comfy clean spacious rooms. helpful polite staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.0
    Relaxing spa day and night for a special birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was not working. We booked this hotel for the spa facilities and treatments so was disappointed that the jacuzzi was out of order

    Everywhere was clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    Unlikely to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast organisation was poor, I paid for breakfast in addtion to the room and service was poor there was no food at any of the stands and a lot of staff running around with coffee/tea pots. Another disappointed guest told us it was the same the previous day. I paid £32.00 and the cost didn't meet my expectations

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.0
    Gorgeous location and grounds, very clean and well kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool facilities were lovely, however the steam room was out of order and on speaking to staff it had been for a few weeks. The booking was made for this location due to the spa facilities which was disappointing to find them out of order.

    Gorgeous location and grounds, very clean and well kept inside. The room was beautiful and spacious with excellent and friendly staff on hand to help. We went into Norwich to a steak place called Prime, which was fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very grandiose looking property, and spacious, however it fails to deliver what it purports to profess visually. The biggest gripe I have, is that both before I arrived at the hotel on a separate occasion of trying to contact someone at the hotel to ask a question, and whilst I was staying there, is that the reception is so under manned that no one ever, ever, and I mean ever, answers the phone whether it be morning or evening, or from your room calling reception no one picks up and the same goes for housekeeping. This is very frustrating. Also for an ‘executive’ suite, the tea and coffee making facilities were exceptionally poor, I expected a selection of different teas and especially fruit teas. All there was was two English breakfast teas every day, and what can only be described as a liquid akin to urine,masquerading itself as milk. I’ll just elaborate on that, they had limited supply of skimmed UHT pots of milk, so you needed at least 4 to make the milk appear like milk in your drink. So you had to constantly request more milk from a reception that doesn’t answer the phone. The room service menu is exceptionally limited. Especially for vegetarians. The gym equipment was very tired and some machines were out of order, the only plus side about the gym is it was very cool which leads me into a perfect segue-way into letting you know that the rooms in the hotel are very warm and if it weren’t for the tower fan and the open windows you would fry in there.. We had a strangely warm day in October this week and we had to sleep with the fan on because there is no air-conditioning, that’s understandable, and thank you for the fan however I cannot imagine what it must be like in there in August. Plus they have restricted security windows so you can only crack them open by about 3 inches. Other than that everything else was fine 😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Britannia Get A Grip!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi had been broken for over 2 weeks prior to our visit. Breakfast was a chaotic disaster on both mornings. Dining etiquette and procedures sadly lacking from the staff. Serving area and heated food area far to small for number of guests. Serving receptacles too small so forever running out of food and drinks. Inadequate number of trained staff in the restaurant. This is not a staff problem, this is a management and training issue. I have stayed at this hotel when it was a Marriott hotel. The new owners Britannia really need to address these problems and more as a matter of urgency, reception staff are just deflecting legitimate concerns and complaints from disgruntled guests paying top notch prices. All in all a very disappointing experience!

    The maids were the happiest staff in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Charged premium Saturday night rate yet suffered poor...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged premium Saturday night rate yet suffered poor experience due to extremely loud disco for function. Hotel cannot expect to profit from functions without warning other guests that their experience, not to mention sleep, will be adversely affected

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Staff were Absolutely brilliant and the fitness centre was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in was way to hot and even though the windows were open it was still roasting

    Staff were Absolutely brilliant and the fitness centre was a lot bigger and better than I thought it would be. I never got around to using the pool but it looked very inviting. We were given an upgrade and also a bottle of complementary wine upon arrival which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay for another night.

    Th bed was extremely comfortable and the food we had including evening meal was excellent and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not such a warm welcome which was a shame and not a great first impression. I checked in fairly late after a 5 hour drive. No details were given about breakfast, where to eat, the facilities available. Got to room no room service details. No bottled water for two nights. The Nightshift team were great and did bring some. The lady at check out was lovely and did ask how my stay was which I appreciated. After a long journey would have been nice to feel welcome and looked after with a smile! Customer Experience and how you are made to feel is very important!

    Great location! Clean and comfortable bed.Smells lovely when you walk in reception. Pool and spa really nice. Parking good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place for a getaway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water biscuits or hot chocolate in the room I’ve been to cheaper hotels where these are supplied in the room rate

    Beautiful and comfortable setting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Very noice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little challenging but still not too bad!

    Staff were accommodating and the facilities on site were great. Breakfast was busy but good! :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were supposed to be ready at 3.00pm but after arriving at that time we had to wait for over 1h
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were supposed to be ready at 3.00pm but after arriving at that time we had to wait for over 1hr for ours to be readied, however we were offered a free drink to compensate!!. Unable to book a table in the restaurant on the first evening so had to eat in the bar. Managed to book a table for the restaurant on the second night but was unable to eat the rump steak as it was extremely tough!. Settled for a piece of fish instead which was fine. Thankfully wasn't charged for the main course. On checkout was overcharged but receptionist claimed charge was correct. Eventually was able to get my money back by contacting the hotel finance team. Not a great weekend!!

    Hotel leisure facilities were very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    It met our needs but it would have been better with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had just been taken over by new owners and this left the staff uncertain of their future and, hence, morale was low and it showed. Quality of food was below that to be expected from a four star hotel.

    Excellent room. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Good staff service. Nice surroundings. Poor management attention. Really poor breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above re the manager. Also the breakfast was very expensive and poor for the amount charged. Which is more than most London Hotels. The food was cold had had obviously been out since breakfast had begun. We were in Norwich to attend our Brother-in laws funeral. So we went to a very stressful event hungry and upset by the cost and standard of food offered.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. However when asking to see the manager we were told he was in a meeting. This meeting was taking place on a sofa ten feet away from reception. We felt therefore that his meeting was more important than us the customer who were about to leave due to excessive noise being generated in the Hotel area. We had moved rooms but this did not improve the situation. Therefore we were going to leave and move to another hotel. Fortunately a member of staff rescued the situation by establishing that the noise would end within 20 minutes which it did. but the manager not only could or would not see us but never tried to placate or redeem our discontent which is now being expressed in this review.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Great place would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children’s swimming was on whilst having treatment and all have to pass by treatment rooms and it was very noisy Heater in room broke so could not turn off so not a great nights sleep No room service at breakfast

    Fab place - Spa is great plenty of areas by the pool to sit and relax Treatment was good Therapist very professional Food good Staff were excellent everywhere in the hotel Room was fab spacious and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    Has the potential to be a 5 star hotel but not currently acting as a 4 star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist but not given any information about the hotel i.e. where and when to have breakfast, how to use the leisure facilities. I thought there might be information in the room but there was nothing except a room service menu. We ordered room service on the first night which wasn't great and the fish had soggy batter on it. The room was boiling and we could not seem to cool it down dispute it being October and cold outside. A lot of the facilities were out of order or not set up yet including the TV which has a system where you watch movies via an app but we couldn't get it to work and when we called up were told this had not been set up yet. The jacuzzi and steam room were also out of action.

    The restaurant was nice, we had a good evening meal there and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Very good indeed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere! They plonk you here or plonk you there! A restaurant is where you eat food, Not would sir like to eat in the bar? If I wanted a pub meal ....I would have gone to a pub.

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Check Iin was efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant slow. Limited menu. No staff checked during meal that all was ok etc.

    Check Iin was efficient. Room was nice. However, I did email prior to our visit that it was for a special anniversary. But no reply or mention was made at the hotel....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A list of 18 things - I won't bore you. It comes down to a vast management failing - the staff were doing their best.

    Recently changed ownership - the result is chaos. Too few under-trained staff working their butts off with no clearly-defined roles and struggling to cover more than they should have to. In a function room at a special event, the food was a disgrace. Information available was nil. There wasn't even a bell at the reception desk and more often than not it was unattended; I got used to banging on the counter with my fists to get someone to attend to me., A four-star rating - worth two at most. Stupidly expensive for the poor experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    A night of luxury in a lovely hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast service. As always, one waitress /waiter too few. A management figure turned up to observe but did nothing to help the poor waitresses. We had minimal coffee, not the end of the world but not brilliant.

    Lovely staff. Big room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    The suite was very spacious and not bad value for the size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows in our room had black mould around them, when we tried to open them it went all over our hands / the net curtain.

    The suite was very spacious and not bad value for the size and facilities we had in the room. Didnt take advantage of the swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.2
    Very Very disappointed had look forward so much to going and an utter waste of Money. Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not able to get anywhere near the bar to buy a drink - could not fit us into the restaurant - reception did not know the name of the general manager - or head office address -

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    A four star hotel which deserves three stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning, and the room was quite warm with the window open. A kettle and tea-making facilities were provided, but there was no milk. The toilet was stained, and one of the lights in the bathroom was being held on with tape. Breakfast was very average for the price paid, and despite being told it was open from 7am, the staff were definitely not ready for us to turn up.

    The bed was comfy, and the bedroom and bathroom were very big. The room was quiet and it was nice having a bath and separate shower available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice place shame on circumstances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as pictured Wouldn’t accommodate change in time in the Resturant although it was half empty Smoke alarm blocked off in bedroom illegal

    Location, facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for visiting family in Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main lift broken and service lift very slow and dirty

    Hotel has lots of character lovely grounds and in quiet location but not too far from the city. Enjoyed the gym and pool/sauna facilities Good breakfast selections

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both Lifts were out of order guest lift and the goods lift. The guest lift has been out of order since my visit two weeks before. I also ordered room service which arrived over cooked and not nice at all.

    Always been a great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Good Location,enjoyable would have liked to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we could fault with the Hotel but the Womens Golf team who were at Breakfast on our last morning were disrespectful to other quests taking food at breakfast for there lunch before quests had a chance to even have there breakfast. My Husbands chair was even taken by one of them before we had finished.

    Room was spacious and bed very comfortable and had every thing we required. Peaceful and relaxing. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    The location and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was absolutely no information in the bedroom; about the hotel, mealtimes, facilities, room service, local transport, etc. We had to ask Reception every time.

    The location and amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Amazing breakfast, lovely staff and very comfortable bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was perfect.

    Everything, very friendly welcome, large comfortable bedroom and a breakfast to die for, huge selection and the finest of ingredients used. There was also a lovely pool area which unfortunately we never had time to use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining experience very poor. If the second night we are at another hotel. Not enough staff. Food not value for money. Breakfast was a shambles.. one waiter was ground staff from golf course still wearing outdoor coat! Could have been better.. Dining experience would stop me staying here again

    Pool.. good, bed and room very. good. Hotel in general very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Room a good size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even when at end of corridor noise of tv from next room. Lack of information in room regarding breakfast, restaurant opening times. Menu would have been nice. Information on leisure facilities spa treatments etc.

    Room a good size Pool warm

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our door keys didn't work so a trip to Reception to get them re-set. Both lift were out of commission so the stairs were the only option to floor three: my partner has a damaged knee so very difficult for her. I'd handed my card over on arrival but this was not recognised at the bar so another trip to Reception to sort out. The dining experience both dinner and breakfast was, shall we say a difficult experience. The starter was not as explained so it was replaced some 20 minutes later after I had left the table to attract the attention of a waiter. The main meal was, however, excellent. At breakfast we were seated but then had to be re-seated as we had been placed at someone else's table: it had been cleared specifically for us. This used to be a top rate hotel having used this many times in the past but I will not be returning. There is a definite training need for both the Reception and Restaurant Staff or perhaps, an effective manager.

    Cleaning and bar staff were excellent. Room was excellent. Facilities met our need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room stank of smoke. Second room filthy. Told reception and offered no compensation whatsoever. Breakfast tasteless, ridiculous queues and long waiting. As a result felt left with dregs.

    Nice size room, nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information about when the restaurant is open or not would be good. Could not find relevant information in the bedroom so went online and it seems to imply it was open for lunch. Walked to the restaurant, which definitely looked shut. Ended up eating lunch at the golf cafe instead.

    Great bedroom. Delightful grounds. Excellent value for the price I paid.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    A very restful and comfortable few days. Would be excellent apart from a few minor gliches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extremely strong artificial fragrance emitting from the automated air freshener in the reception area was unbearable and needs to be toned down. When we asked the reception staff how they coped with the perfume they said that they are used to the smell and no longer noticed. It appeared that the hotel was rebranding from a Marriott Hotel which seemed to affect some elements of customer service. The only lift working was the service lift for the duration of our stay. Room service was not available. The TV in the room had not been re-tuned for a time so some channels were missing.

    The hotel was warm and the pool inviting. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice although cold plates were not provided for the continental selection. The gardens and outlook from the restaurant were lovely. The restaurant had plenty of choice on the set and a la carte menu in the evening. The food served was excellent. Having a fridge in the room was a real bonus to keep fresh milk and water. The live pianist at the grand piano should be praised for playing a wonderful selection of music over the bank holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Very disappointed in the restaurant and spoilt our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant , firstly the bar area is dated and has no atmosphere, the restaurant what a disappointment, the menu for a four star hotel was awful and very limited, the wait was unacceptable between courses and the quality was not good, we had to pay at the table Nothing could be put against our room, this was not explained to us and somewhat off putting when you are staying.

    We were disappointed as our room should have been available from 3pm and was not ready until 4:20pm, however we cannot fault the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Bed comfy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool new timing closes at 10 which was too early for us as we got in late and missed it

    Bed comfy ! And the new tv was perfect played my favourite youtube playlists . And check out time 12 is perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Deecent hotel - especially if you like golf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the gym looked a bit run down and could do with a refurb.

    Nice location, very friendly and helpful staff. I was in a room next to a noisy family who kept screaming and was very pleased when my room was changed with no fuss!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    over all we had a very enjoyable stay .and will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did have a small problem with our evening meal but this was rectified .

    The rooms were very comfortable . Breakfast was very good . Facilities in hotel were also very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Booked on the spur of the moment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs at breakfast. Poached eggs on the buffet cold and hard. Normally poached eggs are cooked to order

    Lovely spacious room with fridge. Excellent swimming pool sauna steam room and jacuzzi. Lovely building and grounds. Also plenty of parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel, staff, room but everything else need sorting since the take over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival asked for another £700!! I said no have paid in full on booking.com, was asked for pymnt for breakfast I said no have paid for this also up-front, Jacuzzi was not working. Breakfast nothing ever ready i.e. bacon, eggs, beans. No info on hotel in room or on the tv, Restaurant only open till 7.30pm, all paperwork side of things was a shambles.

    The beds were comfy, bathroom clean spacious, staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.9
    Never Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large King Four Poster Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is out dated, dirty and the staff are terrible. We had dinner at the Grill which was so bad they didn't charge us for the entire meal and gave us complimentary drinks which says it all! If you do visit this terrible place do not under any circumstances pay for the dinner or breakfast they are abysmal!

    Not a single thing! A waste of £350!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good stay for a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi for business purpose was quite slow. Phone system did not work when tried to call out or for someone to call in. Kettle in the room did not work properly .Decor in main areas a little dated.

    Comfortable room and amenities and furnishings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Beyond amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really isn't anything to find fault with. The only thing I would suggest is that they put more coffee sachets in the room. Two isn't really enough for two adults after a long drive. Other than that the room was perfect.

    Amazing. Can not find a single fault. Lovely location. Really helpful staff. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The facilities were fantastic. I would highly recommend. As a couples retreat for a night without the children it was truly a dream getaway. We will definitely visit again and have already recommended to friends. The food was delicious and the service superb. Free parking. The spa facilities were fabulous and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely food and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor menu choice for vegetarians and decoration and carpets are a little tired but didnt spoil our stay

    We stayed as it was our first wedding anniversary so booked an evening meal as well which was very good. The chef made me a dish which wasn't on the menu. As a vegetarian the choice wasn't great so it was lovely of the chef to do that! Likewise the breakfast was lovely especially the waffles. Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    A hotel of this standing should not have problems in the dining room and we were left disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no proper menu at dinner it was a gloryfide bar menu we were there for four nights and after the first night we went to the local pubs ; we like to dress have nice meal and a good glass of wine but found this was not possible. The breakfast was not good the food was there but it was hard, cold , and tasteless. All the four days we were there the lift was not working so we had to use the service lift

    All the staff did there jobs well but l always felt the hotel was under staffed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    We had the best nights sleep and will use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Things that could be improved, communication between reception and restaurant having been told we didn't need to book arriving at 8pm We waited a long time for a table as there was a large number already seated possibly the coach full we saw arrive earlier. The pool is used for swimming lessons and my heart sank when I saw all the children in the pool because I had booked this hotel for a relaxing swim etc for my Birthday but its not a spa experience so felt disappointed. The food at breakfast was all laid out but no one was keeping an eye on it and bits were missing like fried eggs and replenishing fruit salad. Wanted afternoon tea and cakes but nowhere in Hotel offers this there is the separate cafe by the golf course.

    The parking was easy, The receptionist was nice and polite. We were amazed by the size of our room with two large televisions a sofa and chair. The bathroom was lovely too with separate shower and bath. The bed and pillows were really comfortable the best we have experienced for a long time in an Hotel, the bed was a good size over double. The Swimming pool was lovely and a nice temperature with Sauna, Jacuzzi and Steam Room. We had a delicious meal in the Restaurant my steak was cooked to perfection and our waiter Jack (Omar) was totally charming and attentive. We had great fun at the golf driving range free to guests £4.50 for 60 balls also enjoyed the putting green where there is a cafe. Breakfast was great too lots of choice fresh fruit, continental and cooked food all help yourself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    The Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff weren’t really helpful, on our first nights stay we were told we couldn’t eat in the restaurant due to being busy with a coach party We then ordered bar snacks which wasn’t what we expected. We were also advised that due to being short staffed the bar would close at 10.00pm. We decided to eat out the following night

    The Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, the reception staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in our room could have been better maintained/updated. The evening food was nice but could be a little more top quality to match up to the hotel prices/standards Some of the hotel needs freshening up. Decor/carpet etc

    The spa. Spa treatments are amazing it was my 2nd facial here and again I fell asleep. Comfy beds in the room. Clean facilities. Nice breakfast. Lunch in the golfing restaurant was amazing. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely manor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no plugs by the beds. Shower might be a bit too small to use properly. TV could do with casting capabilities.

    Lovely manor. Great pool, spa facilities. Room was great. Pros are fantastic WiFi speeds. Pool sauna. Hot tub. Comfy bed. Standing fan. Good price nice breakfast. Friendly staff very helpful. Good location. £10 taxi from train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Just fell short of being very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal not as good as expected, let down by v.poor service. Tea/Coffee making facility in bedroom not very well stocked. Mini bar provided but not stocked..? Quite noisy through the night, door closure very loud.

    Clean, comfortable room, although extractor fan in bathroom not working. Spa very good all round. Ideal location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    i liked sprowston manor as a venue and has stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i didn't think the room was up to standard - rips in the curtains, the linen had an off smell to it. our key cards kept getting deactivated which was a massive inconvenience.

    i liked sprowston manor as a venue and has stunning views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Great facilities, hotel has alot of protential.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service/ dinner service is slow and stops at 9.30. Side Café doesn't seem to service food past 8pm. You seem to get everything all at once and then no aftercare.

    Lovely room, great facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Car parking.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very run down, lift wasn’t working so had to use the service lift which was very dirty and opened up to a laundry room.. all very dirty and tatty.. Bar area very run down, not somewhere that you would choose to sit and relax. Entrance/lobby all very tatty. Very disappointed.. our room was clean and tidy bed was good and the bathroom was good.. if it hadn’t been for this we were actually thinking of checking out, if we could of got our money back.

    Car parking. Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Better reception now not a Marriott. Good value for money rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was as usual not good. They have a good complex but always let down by the food. Glass of ok wine for £12 - ridiculous.

    Good sized rooms. God swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    THE STAFF WHERE LOVELY SO FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE STAFF WHERE LOVELY SO FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE ROOM WAS LOVELY AND CLEAN THE BEDS SO COMFY. THE BREAKFAST WAS PERFECT AND THE STAFF VERY POL;ITE. WE USED THE POOL AREA WHICH WAS NICE NOT VERY BIG THOUGH.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    A Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the access door to kitchen door squeaked incessantly and was most annoying - spoiling the ambience of the dining area

    Nice spacious room - tea making facility appreciated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Adequate though disappointing in parts.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay on arrival then pay for meal separately. No bathrobes, thin rough towels. Cheap toilet paper worse than in public toilets. Cheap bath mat. Phone on table instead of bedside table. No water. Couldn't sleep for ages because of noise from wedding reception even though we were on the second floor.

    The room was generally nice with comfy bed. Service from restaurant staff excellent. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The rooms are nice, with a up to date smart TV
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. They do not automatically take a deposit on the credit card on check in which results in the most ridiculous situations in the bar and restaurant. On top of that, if you have made the deposit the restaurants staff doesn't believe you when paying the bill and starts calling reception (the restaurant staff which is more or less in charge should not be in the restaurant business, the young waiters are fine and friendly) 2. doors of the rooms close so loud that if a guest leaves his or her room at 7.00 than that's your wake-up call.

    The rooms are nice, with a up to date smart TV

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. Even though there was a wedding on when we stayed it did not impact on us. Facilities were outstanding for the price that we paid.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for a basic hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Zest grill was over priced, food was awful and service very slow. Took an hour for food to arrive The bar in the evening was overpriced The bedrooms were very hot! Fan was noisy didn't sleep well at all. For room price we paid it was too basic and not worth the money.

    Pool was pleasant and a bonus for our stay. Good parking Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Staff although pleasant enough seemed very flustered both at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff although pleasant enough seemed very flustered both at check in and check out. Had to wait almost 15 minutes to check out, only 1 member of staff trying to deal with the busiest time! Asked to have breakfast in the room, told bluntly no morning room service. Stayed here before when it was part of The Marriott chain and had a completely different, more positive experience. Will not be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Good except for very poor breakfast procedure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to queue to get into the dining room for breakfast for 20 minutes despite free tables and breakfast being self service. Had to ask for tea twice. Rooms are a bit dated.

    Large bathroom, free spa facilities. Executive suite was quite spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay woth great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was amazing and all the staff friendly and was very clean. We loved the pool and will be back with the children as it was very child friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasantly surprised with the hotels facilities and the food served in the restaurant was very good too. I would deffinatelty recommend this lovely hotel to friends and family

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall comfortable stay but having stayed at similar accommodation small improvement would enhance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few vegetables on menu with meals although food excellent.

    A minor incident in the room while staff were very helpful and efficient at dealing with it I would have expected management to enquire about our well being .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Getting better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed two nights and on the first night the food and the service was really good but the second night the service was poor and the food not very good at all. My advice would be to sit in the restaurant that way you don't get forgotten.

    The breakfast was good if a little expensive. Choice of food and service was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little dated, cornicing needs replacing and carpet is rather out dated. The restaurant served a pink spatchcock, when we sent it back it came back 5mins later and was still pink. In the end we ordered another dish. The staff were friendly and polite about it all, just rather poor on the chef's behalf.

    Bed was super comfortable, pool and spa were great for the stay. It's a beautiful setting with the golf course etc. With an update of the furnishing and raising the bar in the restaurant it would be an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming and beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a good standard, however breakfast you often had to ask staff to replenish, they were incredibly busy as we stayed Bank holiday weekend. Employ more staff during anticipated busy periods. Or allocate a member of staff that regularly checks food items are well stocked up.

    The facilities were great, very clean and staff welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel and location good but would suggest that anyone who intends to stay eats elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE RESTAURANT WAS A JOKE. Breakfast time was chaotic as the staff had no idea how to organise people, people had to wait to be seated yet there were many tables empty but needed clearing and when you managed to get a seat you waited some time before it was set. There was no one keeping a eye on the available food therefore it kept running out and subsequently further waiting. The evening menu left a great deal to be desired, not a lot of choice and taking the T-Bone steak off the menu after Friday night did not help "How does a hotel of this status run out" they must have freezers. On our final night we had not booked and when enquiring at 6.30 for table at 7.30 we were informed that table was not available until 8.30. They however managed to fit us in at 7.15 but noticed when leaving the restaurant at apron 7.50 that it was only about 40% occupied so what was the problem. I think the hotel deserves its status but is badly let down by the restaurant which is not worthy of 1 star.

    THE LOCATION AND HOTEL WERE VERY GOOD AND STAFF FRIENDLY

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok but hotel could be so much better if staff smiled more and restaurant food was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff need to smile more, not very welcoming Pasta dish in restaurant dry and over cooked, needed a sauce with it. Restaurant could benefit with background music, no atmosphere

    Comfy bed and bed linen nice. Lovely pool area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Welcoming and every effort was made to make you feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi connection kept slipping The pillows were not that comfortable There was no information sheet in the room with regard to service times and checking out time

    Friendly welooming staff Clean and comfortable rooms First-class bright and airy pool area Tasty food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Didn't meet my expectations of a 4* hotel at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the day there is nowhere to get a coffee in the hotel... It's very strange! The day I was there it was lashing rain and I was told I had to walk outside to the golf course coffee shop to get a cup of tea/coffee while I waited for my lift (which was an hour away). There was no aircon in the room or hotel in general so that was not comfortable. My room was advertised as having designer toiletries, but it didn't. When I rang reception and specifically asked for them, they provided them. What was the worst thing of all though was that I was there for a wedding and...they got the main course wrong!!! I was shocked! Luckily for them, the bride was so nice. But they got it so wrong that the groom didn't even eat the food they provided! Again....just bizarre how something lie that could happen...

    The breakfast was nice and included some gluten free options which I was happy with. The grounds are well kept and really pretty. The room was clean and nice and spacious (I had a king suite).

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: