Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Square Hotel Brighton 4 stars

4 New Steine, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1PB, United Kingdom

#5 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Delightful hotel, nice to escape the mainstream nonsense. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the Delux King room, my wife and I found the large glass windows eitherside of the bed which looked directly into the bathroom compromised bathroom privacy. Could pose a feeling of embarrassment for couples who feel somewhat uncomfortable about using the bathroom. Would suggest blinds, or perhaps one way glass.

    Hotel was immaculate, always clean and welcoming without being invading.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff was really friendly, was so close to the beach We...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like the chair in the small double room wasn’t really needed was taking up space. The only issue we had was the shower, it kept leaking like the water was coming out under created a bit of mess on the floor other than that it was nice.

    Staff was really friendly, was so close to the beach We loved it and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    beautiful room and bathroom, amazing breakfast, great...
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hand soap, cotton buds and pads to remove eyemakeup and hairdryer were all missing.

    beautiful room and bathroom, amazing breakfast, great location yet quiet in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Overall my stay was the best I’ve had in the county in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I found a little off putting was the fact that the bathroom had no real privacy. Glass window shouldn’t really be that way.

    The staff were amazing as soon as we arrived they welcomed us. Very informative and advised us on everything we needed to know.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    A gorgeous boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gorgeous boutique hotel. Spotless, comfortable & beautifully furnished room. Great location, great staff & great breakfast! Would absolutely visit again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Perfection 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are stunningly beautiful. The beds amazingly comfortable with the best sheets and pillows. The bathroom/bath an absolute dream. The service level from Mark and his recommendations for dining were spot on. The breakfast was really superb and the bar well stocked. An perfect hotel. I can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Perfect anniversary break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic luxury hotel, furnished to a very high standard with great attention to detail. Run by a professional friendly team who go out of there way to make your stay perfect. Excellent location to explore Brighton.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Give The Square 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from because of the type of building you can hear people walking above you in another room whilst trying to sleep..creeky floors

    Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable couldn't fault it..great location to the sea front but yet far enough away from the noise!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendy and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. unable to put a shower/bath matt down untill you have opened the shower door. Made floor very wet.

    Very friendy and helpfull staff. Warm welcome. Lovely breakfast! Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Would defo stay again but in an upstairs room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was really loud, you could hear all footsteps upstairs, was also quite dark. Said it had it's own private entrance but it was locked up and the tv's only had a few channels due to a technical issue

    Very specious and luxurious, feels like your abroad. Bath in the room was nice, breakfast was tasty and staff were very attentive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and relaxing and helped with a trouble free and pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given the extremely hot conditions it would have been preferable to have air conditioning, however, the Dyson fan provided was a reasonable alternative.

    Very good, polite and helpful staff, good facilities and very good breakfast options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, rooms were lovely and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Perfect location, rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you for a wonderful two day stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was room could sometimes get very hot

    Very modern design, with the shower and Fan standing out Bed very comfortable Breakfast was delicious Staff were polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was great right by the beach. The room was stunning and great size with an amazing rain shower. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and we even managed to have cocktails in the bar which was a nice touch to the end of our evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    The environment is very good, about three minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, but there was no air conditioning so I didn't sleep well at night,

    The environment is very good, about three minutes walk from the beach. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay and recommend, a great stay and trip for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small point is that the hot water broke when we were there but they speedily fixed it within an hour or two

    Great location and nice room friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Staff, Location and stunning rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was stunning, the only issue we had was there was too many mirrors and the shower leaked a lot because of the door. The bed wasn't the comfiest either and sometimes it felt like there wasn't enough space.

    The room was stunning when we walked in. The staff were very helpful and were very accommodating. The location was perfect it was a 5 minute walk to the beach, The décor was very modern and really nice. The breakfast was included and it was really good, they had a great range, I would say they need to add a few more vegan options but the selection that was on offer was still great and I always left breakfast full. By far this was the best boutique hotel I have stayed in and I would definitely come back, I think next time I would come back with my partner as the rooms are very romantic and cosy. I loved that there was a fan as it kept us cool in the evenings. I would recommend this hotel highly as its great value for money and the staff are amazing and very helpful and always willing to help you. The rooms were all very clean and the toiletries were really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great Square
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about it. The decor was amazing. It's spacious for a bigger room. Roughly about £60 difference but it's definitely worth it. Very nice service in particular Ozkar he was such a nice man.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It was clean today and we'll presented. The staff went above and beyond and could not be more polite and helpful. The rooms are imaculate and would be going back soon to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel, perfect location and extermely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic hotel, room was small but had everything we needed. Very clean, and couldn't fault a thing. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it, set us up nicely for the day. Had an evening drink in the bar in the evening which was lovely. Staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A perfectly placed gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thete was nothing to dislike about the hotel

    The Square hotel is brilliantly located being a short walk from all sorts of interesting places: the piet, the Pavilion, the Lanes and more. The room was really comfortable. It was clean, tidy and well equipped. The staff were lovely; really friendly and obliging. We were staying there to celebrate my daughter's birthday. It was a lovely surprise when so lovely chocolates were delivered to our room as a birthday present from the hotel. Can't recommend the place more higly and I'd love to go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Made for an enjoyable peaceful birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get parking is a mission. You can buy 24hr residential permits from the hotel for £12 which helps but trying to find a spot is nearly impossible but that’s not the hotels fault.

    Deluxe room decor was beautiful! Breakfast in bed was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely 2 night stay, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Not great TV signal in the room and therefore were very limited on what we could watch. - WiFi signal cut-off quiet early in the morning of checkout. - We were right on the top floor and the property does not have a lift. Not that much of an issue but not ideal either. With that said, the staff helped take up our case. - The room was a bit too small with low ceilings. A bit too pricey for the size of the room however, would still visit again. - The throw on our bed was slightly stained with makeup. But the other bedding was perfect.

    The location was in perfect distance of Brighton beach. Only took about 5 minutes and you’re right at the heart of the Pier. Furthermore, Brighton central was only about 20 minutes walking distance away. The staff were really lovely particularly Mark who helped with serving us breakfast. Breakfast was incredible and defo a highlight of our stay. The general decor of the place was very nice and sophisticated. Coffee in the room was perfect too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Best Boutique Hotel in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so clean, very well decorated, felt luxurious and expensive. The staff were so helpful and friendly. They went over and beyond and was accommodating to our needs. I can’t praise this hotel enough. The way they treated us, made our girly trip, that bit more special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely brilliant, lucky with the sun too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault. However we stayed in room 3 and the people above us never stopped moving around and the floor creaked and it got annoying late at night! Didn’t stop us sleeping, just very curious....

    Breakfast and location were superb staff lovely. I could have lived in that armchair by the bay windows. Room 3 excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people in the room above.

    We booked a king size superior deluxe room which was modern, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom had a lovely shower with a huge shower head and a free standing bath. There were a couple of little things we needed to get rectified when we arrived but the staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast in bed was fantastic. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay at the Square. We will definitely stay again. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot. However, they did provide a fan and the windows opened. We went at a wonderfully warm weather spell I couldn’t find the rubber duck as featured in the photos!!

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent. We all love a breakfast cocktail!! The room was wonderfully quiet, but in walking distance to the main attractions of Brighton

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Would stay here again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved our 2 night stay here. Stunning room, beautiful breakfast, and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Thanks so much for the bottle of fizz !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    One night in Kemp Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything I didn't like

    Absolutely beautiful, we were really impressed with the room and the breakfast. Went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    A room with the necessary amenities, a pleasant sleep and a wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was wondering if, due to the many steps , it might make it difficult for some elderly people to climb the upper floors. (?)

    Great location. Walking distance to the city centre, pier and waterfront / beach. Friendly staff. Various choices for breakfast. It was excellent and very filling - keeps you for the whole day. Selection of teas & coffee /espresso machine, mini bar with lots of drinks and snacks, iron & iron board, hairdryer, tv, heating and cooling in the room, comfortable bed for a good night's sleep. Stylish hotel / pleasant environment / quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking, but this is Brighton. We purchased a permit for parking from the hotel, and luckily were only a couple of streets away

    All together a very pleasurable experience, even on a rainy Easter weekend. Staff were superb. Breakfast was excellent, and the whole ambience of the hotel was relaxing. We were on the top floor which was a quiet room, but a trek for my old legs but good exercise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, luxurious rooms and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were warm welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and was outstanding. Bedroom had everything you could possibly need and bed extremely comfortable. Fab shower too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    What a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything but stairs

    The place is lovely . Could not fault it be prepared though to walk up lots of stairs . As we were given room 8 which is at top of building and a long walk up the stairs but once in room all brillant . Staff lovely too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    You only get one chance to make a first impression, this hotel made a fantastic first impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can fault is the doors banging, I know they’re fire doors but if they could have been slowed down as I’ve always had them set it would have been perfect.

    I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world, every detail was taken into account, the hotel was so beautiful, staff were so welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Very comfy, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door could be better positioned to help prevent water on bathroom floor. Mini bar prices are excessive

    Very nice room, comfortable bed, good facilities, very good heating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Boutique, design led hotel run by fantastic team, but opt for a larger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and Beds are too small - we are used to a king size and I think the beds were double or maybe even smaller. We stayed in two different rooms, one of which was the largest in the hotel (room 5 I think). The other, room 4 was very small with a small bathroom.

    Staff are fantastic. Breakfast is great. Clearly design / decor focused. Well located. Important to book the bigger rooms - luxurious bath and significantly more space make experience more enjoyable..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Easily the best hotel we have visited! Great location too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Wonderfully decorative and very comfortable rooms, great staff and excellent breakfast. Brilliant location near to the pier and shopping centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Hotel was beautiful, locations is perfect, staff are great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking near by. There is parking outside but very very few spaces.

    Hotel was beautiful, locations is perfect, staff are great and helpful, rooms and bathroom are amazing. Me and my boyfriend stayed for valentines ordered a bottle on arrival and was gifted with a rose and hotel Chocolat chocolates. Breakfast was included was served till 10am but we stayed and had late check out! Mini bar in room is very reasonable and u get complimentary water and coffee anyway. The stay was perfect, will stay again and told all our friends!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Our first stay at this hotel and it's was wonderful. The staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel was glamourous clean and exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were very very kindly complimentary upgraded, there was a rose and some little chocolates on our bed (valentines) which I thought was a really sweet touch, the room was cosy, clean and comfy and so worth the money. The book full of information in our room and places to eat that they recommend etc was really great also. Breakfast in the morning was the best breakfast we have had in a hotel before personally and we couldn't fault a thing. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small with lots of mirrors that made it feel bigger. Would have found it too small to stay longer than one night.

    Great location, lovely boutique hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Anniversary/ New Year’s Eve getaway
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating wasn’t working however they did provide me with a top of the range dyson heater for the duration of my stay. Room was on the top floor which was like 6 flights of stairs way to much for my liking very exhausting. No lift so no option but to climb 6 flights Room was small however really nice

    Costumer service was exceptional Mark really went out of his way to please Hotel was immaculate and very well run Staff were amazing kind and very helpful they went over and above to ensure my stay was a good one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative I can scrape the bottom of the barrel for is that as a result of being kindly upgraded to breakfast in bed, it meant we missed out on all the continental goodies. This hasn’t affect our glowing five star rating though. Certainly not the end of the world and definately saved us a few lbs as a result!!!

    Beautiful hotel. Faultless. And the staff were amazing. Went above and beyond

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a flat pillow, but I'm sure I would've got one if I asked!

    Lots of attention to detail! Lovely room, we loved the decor, it was full of personality. Very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again - shame the rates for the larger rooms are so high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and especially the bathroom was very small for the price. The detail (although not major) was missing -things like not having a bottle opener and safe door being locked, and although we ask for someone to sort it they didn’t. These things should really be checked after each stay.

    Lovely hotel with good high end facilities, great breakfast and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Felt well looked after, the hotel has a relaxing but high end atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, it was fine for a couple of nights but might have been frustrating if staying for longer.

    The hotel has been decorated with lovely details and the bathroom was excellent. The staff were lovely. Breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Perfection an absolutely fabulous stay here will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron the lead was too short so wouldn't reach from the wall to the ironing board

    Staff very friendly professional service five star all the way

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely staff who couldn't do enough for you! Generally a very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower caps in bathroom.

    Excellent service from the friendly staff and great breakfast, generally very good although a little on the expensive side for mid-week in Brighton.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was terrific

    Great service.Was upgraded to a deluxe double room.Booked because it was our 25 years wedding anniversary.Would stay there again.Top marks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Service friendly & excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in Brighton is a nightmare

    Service friendly & excellent. We were late arriving due to traffic but the owner called us to assist with parking so and get us to our concert on time. She helped unload our luggage & took them to our room whilst parking. To our delight we were upgraded. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    A unique experience in modern luxury with a salacious veneer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Parking spoilt the holiday. I had to leave my wife's Audi tt in the middle of a council estate and pay £12 for the pleasure of walking 15 minutes through the bad weather to recover my vehicle everytime we needed the car. Other important point no water in the minibar.

    We had an exquisite appartment in the basement with the latest designer refurbishment a Victorian stand alone bath in the bedroom, virtual fireplace and 3 flat screen televisions. There were 50 frozen bagles in the freezer as well as commonplace sex aids. ( not that essential for 60 year olds ) Everything was of the finest quality, fresh, clean and very appealing. Breakfast a definite 10!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Would not hesitate to come back to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed (standard room), however comfy, was rather narrow for two; "on the edge" but, addmitted, acceptable, given the size of the room and the level of comfort it provided. Noise travels rather easily through adjacent rooms and coming from the floor above. Fortunately it did not keep us from a good night's sleep, even on a Saturday.

    The hotel has been completely refurbished just recently, which is noticeable in the level of detail and quality. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is superb and breakfast is simply ROYAL. Great quality & service, good value for money and pretty high standards all-round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Personal, friendly and very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no dislikes other than parking which wasnt the hotels fault.

    Our room was stylish and comfortable as was the hotel The staff couldnt of been nicer or more helpful with a fantastic breakfast Our stay in Brighton couldnt of been better. Parking is a problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny rooms . No lift. No in room dining . No restaurants available and we were not allowed to take any food inside the room. 😐 . We were expected a sea view room as booked via booking.com but room has no view at all .more like a 4 star guest house not a hotel compare to Hilton or grand.

    Very clean and stylish rooms. Helpful and Friendly staff . Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay at this lovely property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast looked lovely on the plate but didn't taste good enough. But maybe that just everyone's taste buds.

    Hotel was amazing ! Room looked exactly the same like in the pictures online ! Very nice and friendly staff ! Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect small hotel with luxurious intimate feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lived everything. Beautiful Decor. Service and great breakfast. Location was perfect to Brighton pier. Property overlooks ma a small square so feels intimate. Small walk to shopping bars and restaurants. Perfect. Will be back x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Outstanding service and luxurious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sensational. Luxurious and well equipped. The staff were top notch. Nothing was too much trouble and they were extremely friendly. I’d recommend The Square over pretty much anywhere else in Brighton.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    I love it and I will use it anytime that I am in Brighton.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only the iron needs to be changed and apart from that everything was excellent and noise free hotel.

    Everything was fanstastic including the comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Stayed for three nights and enjoyed every one of them great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in a good location clean and well decorated, the room we had was not very big but had everything we needed for the stay but I'm sure they had larger rooms available that we would book next time . The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, I would stay there again on my next trip to Brighton

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Lovely short break. We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Lovely room. Hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard. Good location, close to sea front and 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A really friendly and very well presented hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By far the best boutique type of hotel i have stayed in. The breakfasts were amazing and the staff were all excellent. Decent location within walking distance of seafront, The Lanes & the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is situated in one of the roads off the seafront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in one of the roads off the seafront looking over the park. I booked the super deluxe king room which has ceiling to floor windows so the seaview was excellent and the view over the park. The room was fantastic with many quirky features and the bathroom - just wow!! The owners have thought of everything to make your stay amazing. would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing...perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, really comfy bed and pillows! Staff couldn't be more friendly/helpful and the breakfast was so good that we didn't need to eat until the evening!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful new hotel ... deserves to be successful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all !

    Wonderful smoked salmon and scrambled eggs ... the best that I ve ever tasted . Charming staff, and very high specification , modern room designs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel for a romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the hotel was beautifully designed and apparently it has just been refurbished. We stayed in room 4 which was the best of the premium rooms and it had lovely views of the sea. The room felt spacious and the bed was lovely and comfy. Perfect walking distance to everything we needed. Would 100% stay there again. Ideal for a romantic weekend away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, relaxing weekend stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tap in the bathtub was incorrectly plumbed so that cold water came out of the hot tap and vice versa which is potentially quite dangerous. There is a window between the bedroom and the bathroom so you can see when someone is sitting on the loo if you're at the right angle!

    The hotel itself is in a fantastic location - the room I was staying in had a great view of the beach. The hotel room is luxuriously decorated and they also had a great selection of teas/coffees available. The bathroom is very spacious as well!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Super comfy stylish hotel. A pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks in the bathroom to hang up the towels.

    The beds were comfy. Lovely bathroom and super Clean. Staff were on hand formally our needs. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Great wee boutique hotel; very accommodating and very comfortable; good location lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning would have been good as it was over 30 degrees when I visited

    Breakfast was fabulous and all bedding and towels were of a high standard. Also tv screens were large

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Amazing welcome and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked The Square Hotel as a treat for my partner's 50th and what a treat! Recently opened the hotel decor throughout is beautiful and very luxurious! The bed so comfortable and the bathroom of the superior room spacious and a bath tub you can relax in and play with the resident rubber duck! The location is perfect enabling us to enjoy the beautiful sunshine but literally being a stones throw from the seafront. The added bonus was how close it is to all of our favourite Kemp Town night spots... easier to stagger back to after a couple of celebratory drinks. What really made the experience so special was the team led by the amazing Amy. From the moment we arrived the welcome was so warm and friendly. The team really go above and beyond and we're so kind to help add that little extra special touch to the big occasion. Where Amy's talents really shone through was in the fabulous cocktail making skills serving up cocktails with 'balls' (both alcohol content and also the roundest ice 'globes' I've ever seen)! It seemed only fair we had to sample a few! We loved it so much as we checked out we booked up our next couple of visits! I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. Thank you Amy and team and see you again very soon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Newly refurbished hotel -perfect for a romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is challenging but permit parking spaces are nearby and permit can be obtain from the hotel.

    Hotel is decorated to a very high standard. Spacious sea view room with a stunning bathroom and decor. Perfect location near the pier, cafes and 10 minute walk to The Lanes. Friendly and helpful management.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature slightly on the high side , windows governed but could be altered to allow more ventilation without compromising security

    Location, close to restaurants/bars

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    I couldn’t fault anything I enjoyed it, the hotel was cute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault anything I enjoyed it, the hotel was cute

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    It was quiet and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and the 60 stairs were a killer!!!!

    It was quiet and very comfortable. Mark was lovely and really friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Loved it here and would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room and the bath! The staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Location is fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On road parking was a little tight

    Location is fabulous

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: