Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Albans Hotel 3 stars

355 Promenade, Blackpool, FY1 6BJ, United Kingdom

#315 of 362 B&Bs and Inns in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 52 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel I give it a ten out of ten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect in every way

    The hotel was very clean food excellent and the hosts were very friendly made us so welcome I would defenly stay here again the room was nice and clean such a friendly warm welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Decent but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken, the shower door was broken, the cold tap was more luke warm, the mugs were dirty & the bed was rock hard

    The view was lovely !!! and the location was spot on, wasn’t too far south or north, was bang on in the middle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.5
    War,, welcoming and will definitley stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    na

    The location of this hotel is perefct, within walking distance to teh Pleasure Beach and a tram stop across teh road for easy access to the North. Brian, teh owner could not have made my son and I feel more welcome !! He was fabulous and cooked an exceptional breakfast. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing only went for breakfast on one morning and it was disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shambles very untidy needed updating decor very poor rooms far too small and very basic needed a good deep clean young children running around everywhere and playing with sand in the bar areas and on the stairs .

    Nothing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was abit uncomfortable but every bed is different for everyone’s liking. But we slept.

    Everything was lovely and the people were so friendly. Fabulous place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location. Welcoming owners. Do not miss out
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish ensuite. But value for money

    Excellent location. Easy access to shared areas. Exceptional owners so friendly and so welcoming. Wi-Fi internet & parking. Would recommend friends and family to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    The staff were really nice and if we needed anything they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were children running around everywhere all afternoon and A child said 'errr there's a zombie' about me, I know it's a child but I found it offensive. The bed was hard and the room was tiny, it's more for a single person I wouldn't class it as a double room. The tap had a leak and the hot water was cold.

    The staff were really nice and if we needed anything they were always happy to help and quick to help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Good location, and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed in small room, was pushed up against wall. My partner couldn't get out, we had to move the bed towards the door. We then lost all floor space.

    Comfy bed but very small room, we was in room 6. Friendly staff, and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    4.6
    One expensive breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were run down and old. Broken furniture and furnishings. TVs didn't have all basic TV channels and signal. The cleaning was something to be desired and it had mouldy bathrooms.

    Breakfast was the best bit about this hotels experience and we was hesitant to even attempt breakfast, but glad we did. It was a very expensive breakfast in my eyes as the rest was dire!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we could of had a sea view.

    Staff welcomed us on arrival,good parking,room small but nice & comfortable,hot shower, lovely breakfast perfect overnight stay thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    My stay at Albans hotel Blackpool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and shower small

    Great view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Mr leggett.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife found it little bit far away from everything.

    Staff great the bar wos cosy very nice breakfast good people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Will be staying here again on our next visit to Blackpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are really friendly and welcoming, breakfast was lovely and hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    It’s very comfortable, very staff and friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the property is very close to the place we want to go like pleasure beach

    It’s very comfortable, very staff and friendly people

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bed was loose and wobbly

    Lovely family run hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and we enjoyed their company in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and we enjoyed their company in the evening. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Soul weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a bit tight.

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full of kids running wild

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great people # gotta visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean and the family are great hosts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Family friendly and fantastic hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family friendly and fantastic hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my sons 7th birthday the owner went and bought him a card and gift Very child friendly Breakfast was beautiful Staff happy and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic always polite and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic always polite and very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Hosts and breakfast were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small size.

    Hosts and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    would recommend to anyone looking for good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff really friendly and helpful even made myself and partner packed lunch for trip home on bus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    St albans stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bothered me

    Great hospitality nice location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    The place smelt like wet dog, the beds wasn't comfy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smelt like wet dog, the beds wasn't comfy, bath room wasn't that clean.. breakfast was rubbish

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming far a seafront hotel are already thinking of going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful toward all 3 of our kids and very understanding of their needs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like

    The comfort and helpfulness and location th

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Very welcoming and friendly owners, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very, very small

    Very welcoming and friendly owners, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.8
    comfortable once you get over the smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the place is awful.

    Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    helpfulness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough car parking

    helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Good friendly clean hotel an value was good would defo stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked how friendly the staff were an we were made welcome enjoyed the stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    The way the children were treated and the wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lol

    The way the children were treated and the wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    St albans
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really allround was a good stay

    Clean very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Really lovely owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything really was great. Lovely owners

    Really lovely owners. Paula and Brian couldn't have been more helpful,they made us feel very welcome. The hotel made our wkd! Thanks again and will see u again Lucy Linzi and Jake

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.4
    Location was good breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our tv freeview socket was broke the room was very small lamp glued down toilet flushing continuous tap kept dripping you needed binoculas to watch tv defo not worth the money

    Location was good breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We knew what we were getting. Like a lot of the B&Bs on the front it's just a bit dated. New owners though so they may make updates in time.

    Friendly staff. Clean linen clean room. Is ideal for the Pleasure beach. Fab breakfast for the price.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too cramped.bed lumpy.entrance,bar and dining room smells of cat urine,carpets filthy.owners children camping with quilts in dining room.whole place needs upgrading.breakfast cheap ingredients,nearly broke a tooth on hash browns!!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small bedroom with bed up against the wall, felt very cramped. Hotel furnishings a bit tired.

    Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. A good cheap break.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed here before under previous owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed for 7 days and there was no hot water for a wash or shower for at least three mornings before breakfast. We had to empty our own bin and take out our rubbish after three days as the room was not hoovered at all during our stay. We also brought our own mugs as there were small tea cups.

    We have stayed here before under previous owners. Comfortable beds and as the tap water was contaminated we were given a few bottles of water and our room had the WIFI password so we could all use our tablets. Breakfast were hearty and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff make you feel very welcome and are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a slight musty/pet dog smell downstairs in bar/reception area but this does not go through to upstairs.

    Staff make you feel very welcome and are really accommodating. The bedrooms are comfy but small size.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    3.8
    nothing at this b&b!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived at st albans b&b, firstly it smelt awful, shown to room, dusty, very unclean and very uncomfortable, cleanliness is awful, i would never in a million years stay again, unless it was totally cleaned and refreshed!

    nothing at this b&b!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    We had such a great time, we went to blackpool to celebrate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small (my partner is 6ft2) so the bed was small but I can't really fault the hotel :)

    We had such a great time, we went to blackpool to celebrate my birthday. When we arrived there was wine and chocs and a birthday card in our room which was so thoughtful! The owners were so accomadating and even gave us a parking space so we didn't have to worry about parking! We had a sea view which was lovely!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    Location was great as we were going to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were compact but clean

    Location was great as we were going to Watch rugby at bloomfield road. Staff were all friendly and the bar was open.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    4.2
    The best bit of our stay was that the hotel was on the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was uncomfortable. Couldn't swing a cat in the room. Breakfast wasn't much either. 1 sausage 1 egg 1 piece of bacon, black pudding, small pot of beans and toast that was more like bread.

    The best bit of our stay was that the hotel was on the sea front and easy access to what we wanted to do.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.1
    The room was a bit small but for the price it was good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a dirty towel and when it came to breakfast, we was made to wait for over and hour and when we finally did get our breakfast the order was wrong, we had to walk out in the end, leaving without having breakfast which we already paid for.

    The room was a bit small but for the price it was good value for money.the host were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    4.0
    The breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small and dingy and the mattress could do with going in a skip turned over in the night and a hour later the spring hit me in the ribs and the bath towels had holes in them mould above the toilet not nice and the manager showing us to our room said that's what you get for booking on the Internet

    The breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    10
    everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was excellent. it was my birthday the2nd day and when we went down for breakfast there was a birthday card waiting on our table. there was also chocolates and wine in our bedroom for valentines day. Thank you Brian and Paula see you again soon. Vinnie and Mandi.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    6.3
    Lovely welcoming hosts , great food, fab view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are sad and in need of some upgrading.

    Lovely welcoming hosts , great food, fab view and location.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    2.9
    Absolutely nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

    Absolutely nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Very nice staff that made our stay even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very nice staff that made our stay even better

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    3.8
    The room was so small you had to walk sideways to get in to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was so small you had to walk sideways to get in to bed. The shower kept running hot and cold.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Nice sea views close to amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice sea views close to amenities

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Great atmosphere, welcoming owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great atmosphere, welcoming owners.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Relaxed and friendly, really helpful would sty again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Relaxed and friendly, really helpful would sty again

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small rooms and funny smell throughout hotel

    Friendly staff and good location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Was in the right location for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was in the right location for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    4.2
    location,brakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    have stayed here before..it was,nt as clean and did not smell very nice at all.

    location,brakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.8
    The owners where lovely beds where comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It needs a GD clean as soon as I walked it smelt carpets needed a clean and it needs updating.

    The owners where lovely beds where comfy!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    3.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room no hot water couldnt get shower floor not hoovered dust all over wouldnt go back

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.3
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It needs up dating

    Location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    Location is Excellent, Owners are Great, Helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is Excellent, Owners are Great, Helpful and Friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.9
    location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    6.0
    The view and breakfast from hotel great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the hotel needs updating very tired and old furniture

    The view and breakfast from hotel great

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    friendly people ,lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    tiny room

    friendly people ,lovely breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom too small

    Breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: