Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Vin, St Andrews 4 stars

40 The Scores, St Andrews, KY16 9AS, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in St Andrews

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 623 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, staff, view, and area where hotel is situated. Room service non existant. Bar food nil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although advertising room service 24/7 this was not the case. We arrived back at the hotel at 9.30. We sat in the bar and tried to order snack / Food. No chef no food, we then tried to order crisps/nibbles none available. My husband had to leave the family and go to tesco for bags of crisps. We found this frustrating and strange. It is the 21st century and staying at a first class hotel and cannot get a snack at 9.30 on a Saturday. The rest of St. Andrews is buzzing with places to eat and drink, but we chose to go back to the comfort of the hotel. One of our guests was a visitor from the USA and was bewildered by the situation as were we. So although the hotel and staff were good, they let themselves down by mis representing the meaning of rooms service 24/7. David Mcfadyen

    The view, bed and bedroom very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean and interior exterior well kept.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view but room and staff more than made up for that. spent our day,s out and about.Superb weather and lovely town with lots to do.

    Huge room but no view however weather great while on a 3 night break with my sister for my 65th.birthday. Staff friendly and helpful Room facilities exceptionally good and great breakfast choice. Had dinner one evening again food excellent and service too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    A very good stay
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from the front was very difficult except for the very fit. Steep steps to the property, no porters to carry cases, front desk staff were very helpful when not busy on the desk but they were often young girls - not obvious porters. There were four steep steps from the pavement to the road which had no rails at all. Impossible unless you were a mountain goat. It is fair to say that the back entrance is n More user friendly but the front could be made easier without spoiling the aesthetics.

    Excellent breakfasts, masses of choice, delicious freshly made orange juice. Bistro has a varied menu drawing on local produce as much as oossible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed being in the Heart of St Andrews
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We could have done with instructions for the air conditioning and the coffee machine.

    the hotel is in a lovely location on the Scores. If you want a sea view you would have to request it. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. They had a bed and dishes waiting for our dog. Parking was a problem as other people kept using the disabled space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Over priced and over hyped. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was dark, almost to being sleazy. Ghastly imitation wallpaper in the bedroom. The bathroom was tiny and there was no bath. I ordered Lamb's Liver main course and asked the waitress if it was thin sliced (as it should be) and was assured that that was how it was cooked. The reality was a great thick overcooked lump of protein. Inedible. The green salad I ordered was served late with a muted apology for the poor service. The wine was ordinary and over priced.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel; great location; amazing views; just needs a bit of attention.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting service in the bistro is a bit sketchy. It’s been the same every time I’ve been there (both breakfast and dinner). Staff lovely but they sometimes totally disappear and service can be unusually slow.

    View amazing; bed super-comfy; Alastair at reception was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The public spaces are beautiful and our room was lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage in the room. I like to unpack and there was only one small closet and no real drawers.

    The public spaces are beautiful and our room was lovely and a nice size. Bathroom was clean and well designed. Very good breakfast with lots of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfy bed and very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm overnight despite no heating on. We were unable to open the window due to health and safety. Maybe air conditioning required in summer months. We did have a fan which helped.

    Very comfy bed and very clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely weekend in very good hotel albeit a bit overpriced. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm through the night need windows to open more to let air in

    Comfy bed nice lounge and beer garden and lovely staff . Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Luxurious hotel with excellent service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't stay longer!

    The breakfasts, which were included in the rate, were wonderful. The choice was good and a little unusual, cereals and fruit were available with lovely yogurts, and cooked food was freshly made. Service was super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of St. Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had back bedrooms that got incredibly hot by day and lifting the windows let in odors - albeit good ones - from the restaurant below

    This quaint boutique hotel is perfectly situated to visit the University of St. Andrews and view the water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    We both had an excellent stay at hotel Du Vin and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never found any faults.

    Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was to an excellent standard. Comfort of the room was first class.Staff in the resurant and reception were very proffesional and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Bar breakfast and breakfast service I love the place. Great location and reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything

    Service and Breakfast were terrible. A very bad experience. You would need to order your breakfast the night before to get in any reasonable time the next morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Great rooms let down by below average restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening was a disappointment, the steaks were over cooked and pretty tasteless, not ideal considering the huge price of them. I get a much better steak in Edinburgh, for less and with much better sides included (think Rhubarb at Prestonfield House) The desserts were very poor, my tart tartin was obviously microwaved as the pastry was soft and doughy. Much better restaurants in St Andrews, so whilst we would stay in the hotel again we won’t ever make the mistake of using the bistro in the future

    The room was excellent and the presence of a dog bed and water bowl was a lovely surprise. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulously comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no magnifying make up mirror in the bathroom to apply make up.

    The bed was very comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful. The location was fantastic. The snacks and drinks available in the room were of high quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Really good breakfast with frah juices and options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beans in the English breakfast Fire alarms triggered twice in.the middle of the night with no fire Elevator is quite slow Restaurant was fully booked and people staying at the hotel don't have prime access.

    Really good breakfast with frah juices and options. Location ia great Staff (Alister in particular) really welcoming. The bed was really comfy Parking lot are convenient Coffee machine is high standard and fresh milk is the fridge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable & fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have appreciated more of a welcome when checking in. We were barely acknowledged and the receptionist just kept staring at her computer. Decidedly frosty. The whole hotel has a very dark vibe; low lighting, brown bulky furniture. It’s a style that maybe could do with updating.

    The breakfast is good with a lovely buffet & excellent à la carte choice. The beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Was a very enjoyable stay, the hotel location was amazing! The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were on the top floor the room was VERY hot and the air con didn’t do much to help. The pillows also need replaced.

    All staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular, the restaurant staff. The breakfast was amazing and there was lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The service at breakfast was painfully slow, an hour to get a bowl of porridge! The waiter was not particularly pleasant. 2. The bedrooms although well appointed are quite cramped for space.

    The beds were very Comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the place, it is set in a beautiful building right in front of the beach. Easy walking distance from the Castle and the Cathedral. Also very close to the town centre for restaurants and shops. The breakfast was delicious, made to order with a great selection. The bistro, where the breakfast is served, is beautiful with a breathtaking view of the coast. The room was tastefully decorated and the shower was amazing. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.5
    POOR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaners outside my room at 8.30am!!! on a bank holiday Monday discussing in loud voices there work schedule!!!! At breakfast every single table in the dinning room was covered in dirty dishes!! It was extremely off-putting trying to eat your breakfast surrounded by other guests dirty breakfast dishes!! Definitely not enough staff.

    Room was nice but I paid £30 extra for what was a pretty small room,glad i Upgraded!! Bed was comfortable but even though i Requested and left out the "make up' my room it was not done, so wet towels in the morning and no complimentary water at bedside!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Hotel Du Vin below par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very poor, facilities were poor, no breakfast included within room rate which was expensive and no milk in the room for the tea and coffee.

    The decor and staff were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Would return and recommend..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was a bit small and very dirty and that was why we paid extra for sea view..so that was disappointing..

    Room clean ..facilities good..bed very comfortable..furniture in good condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel Never slept a wink!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was most uncomfortable and the heating in the room was so hot we couldn't sleep all night. Even shutting off the valve and putting wet towels on the old fashioned radiators wasn't much help.

    The room was tidy. The shower was good with great pressure too. The breakfast was very good. They had a movable fan in the room, they obviously know there is an issue with the heat, see dislikes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    We’ve stayed here twice now and it’s a superb location , but quite a strange hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly bland hotel with strange layout , expensive food. Bar staff were not all friendly to us when we popped in for a nightcap. Too busy clearing up to engage in chat.

    Location is superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    fantastic hotel, great location and food!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a wee bit too warm, even with the window open. But over all it was great.

    We felt that the hotel was really accommodating of our dog. We really appreciated a table being set for us in the bar for breakfast and dinner so we could order from the main menu while sitting with our dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    would definitely come back-easy access to town from here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it was a howling gale the wind was coming through the window and we couldn't sleep.old windows I think.

    breakfast was to die for.Evening meal was ok but roasted cod with lentils was very bland-dint eat it.room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    OK
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BOOKED TABLE FOR DINNER IN BAR FOR7.30PM ORDERED AND THEN TOLD DUE TO A WEDDING WOULD NOT GET SERVED TILL 8.45-9.00 THE FOLLOWING MORNING AFTER QUERYING THE CHARGE THE HOTEL WAIVED THE CHARGE

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in restaurant last night. waited over 30 minutes for our food order to be taken Service at breakfast much better this morning.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous weekend in a world famous town..the beauty of the sea,golf courses and an historic Uni.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think..it was a lovely weekend..

    The style of the hotel,beautiful and relaxed..breakfast overlooking the sea and views of the world famous Old Course... and... REN products in the rooms..fabulous..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable for short stay and fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was overpriced and the fish course was tasty but very 'nouvelle cuisine' and some vegetables should have been provided - not as a charged extra.

    Fantastic location. Good breakfast, comfortable beds, wonderfully cosy and stylish bar and the lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and great location great overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small,felt very enclosed with one small window looking onto a car park really felt it wasn’t worth the £164 price tag for room only and the food at the restaurant was very overpriced 1 soup 2 burgers 1 glass of wine and a glass of orange juice £60....

    Staff very friendly and great location great overall experience in St. Andrews itself.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Very conveniently situated but I did not feel it was particularly good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Milk in fridge (for coffee/tea) was off. Lack of biscuits unless we asked,. Overall the hotel was rather dark in lighting. Radiator was faulty so heating on high constantly making room too hot. (Husband fixed it), but we could open the windows.

    Towels and bedding were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, cosy hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I loved our stay here, the staff were really friendly and attentive. The room was cosy and the bed was really comfy. There was an excellent selection of food for breakfast and an excellent cocktail menu in the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant yet uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two single mattresses on a double bed not good enough for a hotel of this calibre.

    The room was adequate, clean, nice decor, the staff were helpful and approachable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great friendly hotel, quality food and helpful staff. Near all amenities and lots of restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the big bed and plush pillows. The staff were all very professional and polite. They were very attentive. The breakfast was of a high quality as was the Afternoon tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing night away in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple came off street and booked in beside us. They got 2 nights for same price as I paid for one.

    Room beautiful...massive comfy bed and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay on the beachfront. Affordable luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and dining room lack atmosphere. The bar seats aren't inviting enough to warrant sitting there of an evening.

    We stayed in the Laurent Perrier room and for the price we paid, it exceeded our expectations. A hugely comfortable bed, fab shower and very cosy. The dog bed and bowl were lovely touches too - thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Another excellent break.Thanks to all staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced bar. Some noise occasionally from room above - think this was a function room - noise of tables and chairs being pulled across the floor. No view from room as it is at basement level - however this did not bother us as we were out most of the day and closed the curtains once it got dark.

    Booked a superior double room but were given what appeared to be a suite! Great space with own front door. Excellent for access directly onto the Scores for dog walking and car. Good breakfasts and coffee. Comfy bed and great bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety on the dinner menu and different type of black pudding at breakfast. My preference is Stornaway black pudding

    The room was very comfortable and the Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Interior nice and beds comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find parking, there's a public car park at rear of hotel however it was very busy so parking extremely limited.

    Interior nice and beds comfortable. Breakfast was good but service slow. We we're attending a wedding so arrived before stated check in time however this was no issue and staff were very helpful allowing us to check in early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.6
    worst hotel stay i have experienced would never recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating was not working room cold first night, second night room was too hot. breakfast was poor long wait then tea stewed eggs overcooked toast undercook. too many dogs in bar being fed at table. no room service on xmas night.

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable hotel with Town Centre and amenities close to hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lock on the bedroom door was a challenge and could benefit from a key card system.

    Nice big bed with modern and great looking bathroom. Only a short walk away from St Andrews Town Centre. A good breakfast with a good time window for serving, so you can get a long lie and breakfast too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.0
    Our 2nd time in this hotel it lived up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very good, clean, and with an excellent view of the bay and sands. The king sized bed was comfortable with both hard and soft pillows. the staff were cheery and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    A relaxing stay in a classy hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room breakfast was a bit less than expected but fine enough.

    We know the hotel. Great location and views, good ambience, excellent attentive staff . It was our Anniversary and we received an upgrade and a complimentary fizz on arrival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Great night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was a roof. Room seemed FULL of furniture. TV has subtitles you could switch off. Coffee machine. Made tiny little coffee

    Lots of extras in the room. Nice big bathroom. Shower was great Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Our negative dinner experience spoilt an otherwise lovely, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we got extremely delayed and arrived at dinner very late, although we had phoned and they were understanding about this. The waiter looked at his watch when we ordered. The main course was shockingly bad, like it had been heated in the microwave. The meat was extremely dry and when I told the waiter he just said "Oh". I said I was too tired and too hungry to send it back and the waiter just said "OK". No apology. No offer of a discount. His attitude was awful.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing. Great room and great location of hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Few faults but still would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a nightmare... need to get valet parking as an option because it is a true nightmare. Also as with most hotels ... nowhere for women to do make up / hair near a mirror and a plug socket.... well lit vanity area needed please .

    Location was amazing. Our room was a sea view which was lovely. Breakfast was fabulous... best in a long time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful experience, and a very homely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the lighting cold be a little brighter but not a big issue.

    Lovely room with sea view. Staff courteous, friendly and very helpful. Food good and made fresh, would stay here again .I have mobility problems and the staff really helped a lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Not the huge treat we'd expected and hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the pub down below, owned by the Hotel was totally unacceptable at midnight, woke us repeatedly. Drinkers sitting outside being loud and raucous is not what you expect on a special treat break away. Breakfast was a bit average for a hotel of this calibre. No-one came to clear our dishes, the ready-potted fruits etc looked "tired" as though they'd sat out for ages, the pastries were over cooked as was the bacon and the coffee was weak and watery..not a great breakfast really.

    The bed was comfy, the view from the seaview room was great,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Phenomenal !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was beautiful and so luxurious and comfortable. The location is exceptional. The food was fantastic. My partner and I are in love with this hotel and will be back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall thanks
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first we were placed in a room for disabled people. We had to be replaced it as the sink in the bathroom is too low located, and we are all tall

    Nice hotel with very good location and view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and food in bistro was awful. Very abrasive and tiny portions. Price was not worth it. Very disappointed and feel let down by the bistro.

    Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Close to the university and the town.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the university and the town. Lovely views over the sea. It felt like the little things are very important here. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was excellent. Best Eggs Benedict ever!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms doors and fire doors slam regularly and loudly until late at night and from 7am which means that you can’t have a proper relaxing long sleep even when wearing earplugs. This is the only room of improvement I can mention and it probably can be easily fixed. I would advice the manager to spend a night in the Glenlivet room so that they can realise how a tiny detail can prevent a stay of this price to be perfect.

    Extra comfy beds, very nice staff, delicious breakfast and fantastic choice of drinks at the bar !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    The bistro lets this place down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro had the worst service I’ve ever experienced. Table booked for 6:30, offered no bread to start.(everyone else did) Only got asked once for a drinks order with whole meal had to get up during meal to get water from waiters station. Waited too long for each course to be cleared. The rest of my partie went back to the room after finishing desserts to which we waited 25 minutes for, whilst I sat and waited for someone to recognise me for 20 minutes that I was ready for the bill . Can’t belive I left the bistro at 9:00 with still dirty plates on table Just didn’t understand how disorganised the service was with from what I could see 21 guests in main room with a small party in a private room. I’m a chef myself at hate when people write blogs or critic online but this really did ruin my stay, so much so I cancelled my breakfast for the morning.

    Reception staff was more than helpful and very guest focused, as well as every staff member we bumped into through the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    I will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking nearby not always easy.

    Love love love the sea view from the bedroom and with the window opened the noise of the waves - Bliss Also reception and breakfast staff so courteous and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, lovely room, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower floor design didn't allow water to drain quickly enough. Stand alone mirror on table hadn't seen a duster at the back for a while!

    Lovely boutique hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my bedroom for £186 per night

    The bed was especially comfortable.and the breakfast was good as always. Excellent choice at breakfast.Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Unimpressed!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hotel that believes in form over function. Everything looks very nice but isn't necessarily practical. Dreadful lighting in the bedroom with two down lighters over the bed and two bedside lamps (one of which didn't work). This meant there was no light by the two chairs or near the door. Shower looks very retro and lovely but is ridiculously complicated. 1 knob for handheld or overhead. 1 knob for temperature. 1 knob for on/off. Walk in shower which then sprays everywhere and as the radiator/towel rail needed bleeding the room was cold.

    Very central. Reception staff friendly. Good selection of complimentary tea & coffee in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Almost the ultimate hotel experience! Shame about the "guests"?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sitting in the bar I was told that there was a table for me in the (less than half full?) bistro, but it took 20 minutes for anyone to take my order, etc. whilst I had to "listen" to golfers, Americans and American golfers who seemed to think we were all there to listen to them throughout the bistro experience. The maitre'd? was too "maitre'd"/supercilious, which was really not required. After organising my luggage to my car (two blocks away?, see parking issues) I returned to check out only to find that a "guest" had decided to check in five hours early and hog the reception area, minus her husband and daughter, who were allegedly looking for (and had been for some time?) a parking space and minus the PIN number for the card she was trying to use to guarantee her room(s). There were n spaces between the hotel and my car/near my car at this time of day.

    I find it almost impossible to fault my room. I had everything, and more, that I could have expected. Repair to glass shower screen? Small plastic bags?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly hotel with excellent restaurant, ideally placed for a short stay in St.Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably because the hotel was designed to resist the icy winds of winter my room was difficult to cool down, even with the window wide open. The hotel had kindly provided a portable air conditioner but I much prefer fresh air at a seaside location.

    Stayed here a couple of years ago and while very comfortable the restaurant was a bit short-staffed and the service and food a little disappointing. This time around I had no such problems. The restaurant was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner, with cheerful and very efficient staff. Our room, on the third floor, was spacious and had a view looking out over the famous West Sands. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring the town, castle, university etc, and once I realised they had some reserved car spaces out back, parking was no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful town with wonderful golf and hotel du vin is in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newspaper service was poor. Dinner was not good and not what was described on the menu but breakfast was delicious.

    The bed was wide and very comfy. Location was wonderful to be able to walk to shops bars and eateries

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    One loud person at table of 10 or more in the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One loud person at table of 10 or more in the restaurant which spoiled our dining experience. Suggest limiting table numbers to parties of 6 or putting larger parties in a separate area of the restaurant where they can be as loud as they want, so they do not ruin the dining experience for smaller parties.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot but radiators not on so don't understand why so hot

    Staff very welcoming and best thing we could take dog into lounge and eat there too excellent will definitely be back and will definitely recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Slightly disappointed compared to the last times we have stayed as the room was above the bar
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro overpriced Floor in our room noisy (loose floorboards) Very miserly with toiletries Bathroom door couldn't be opened from inside(door handle replaced next day) Bright courtyard lights shining into our room

    Very tasteful decor,comfortable bed Very helpful and friendly porter

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.1
    Disappointment in St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had money and credit cards stolen from my room. Almost certainly a member of staff...then an attempt to steal my identity...clearly organized from within the hotel.

    Great location. Very comfortable facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Our stay was very enjoyable. Can't comment on dinner as we dined out. Quite expensive for B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot even though no heating on but the small air conditioning unit was easy to use and worked well. Wall mirror was dark. Did not like the wallpaper (fake library effect, dark). Milk for tea was in date but turned. Very quickly remedied. Some quite fancy choices of cooked breakfast made fresh to order but very little on the buffet if you prefer continental.

    Bed comfortable though rather warm. Staff were lovely. Someone came right away when phoned for help with a blind. Appreciated the complementary malt whisky vouchers. Great location for the beach and the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean and tidy, room was very comfortable with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt fault it.

    Clean and tidy, room was very comfortable with plenty of room. Nice friendly staff. Breakfast had plenty of choice and was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant stay but such a shame about the room not being checked and woken up with such noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering we booked The Bownore Superior room, were most disappointed to find the room had not been fully checked and prepared. e.g. One Bedsite light bulb not working, tea, tray not fully stocked, one packet of previously opened biscuits left. Then woken up at 11:30pm, from very noisy room above, with loud banging, sounds of feet and people moving around. My husband after 20 mins if suffering this, called reception to complain. He was told the room above was a function room, the noise was staff preparing the room and couldn't be helped. This is not accceorable from the cost that we paid for the room, which was £305 for 1 night. We would politely request a reply and feedback on this situation.

    Staff were friendly. Quality in hotel and location were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Golf stay or romantic get away, either are nicely accommodated at the Hotel Du Vin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My eggs benedict eggs could have been less cooked. Still a great dish, but it could have been even better.

    The location is amazing. We had a view of the bay and could see the R&A and the Old Course. There was parking available on the street but the hotel has a parking lot in the rear that would have been just as easy. The property is a short walk from then, only a few blocks, and you are right on the street to access the University, the castle and the cathedral. The Old Course and New are only a short walk away so whether playing or watching or shopping, The Hotel DuVin has you covered. I love the bar. There are 3 areas, one is cozy and dark, the next is light and airy and the last is outside where you can enjoy the weather, or the liquid sunshine, as the case may be!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Dinner menu very disappointing and quality indifferent. In contrast, breakfast was fine. Bar dingy with grotty outside area. Overall feeling was of a tired corporate franchise - a mile distant from the brand's early days. We would definitely not return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view was a not very nice roof

    Lovely and cozy hotel, every room has a special name with special meaning. Comfortable room and very helpful staff. Great location right beside the old golf course in front of the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay andvif I return to st Andrews I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful bed , lovely room , excellent reception staff and enjoyable bar area. I also loved the location overlooking the sea but also very accessible to the town and the golf courses

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant fairly stay in St. Andrews accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like about this experience to your hotel in S'land everytime I walked up and down in the hotel tall. Boy the legs on it kept wobbling up and down on the. Floor and were unstable and kept banging on the carpet floor and the glass campaign. Glasses kept clinking in the tall boy I didn't like this experience for this reason.

    I enjoyed the breakfast the next morning especially. The Marmite on toast I like Marmite on I hadn't it for years it was delicious and. I enjoyed the crunchy nut cereal as well for breakfast and the freshly squeezed. Pure orange juice and the tea also served in the teapot that's what I about the whole stay at hotel Du Vin in St. Andrews in Scotland about this experience with my stay. At hotel Du Vin at St. Andrews in Scotland with my visit to the hotel in S'land.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: