Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Andrews Guest House

Broomlands Drive, Irvine, KA12 0DT, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 hotels in Irvine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe put a reference to turn door entry to the right as the guy said it sticks a little. x

    Got upgraded to a bigger room which was really nice. Had a minor problem with entry but sent someone round quickly. Lovely wee stay and plenty of pubs, takeaways and a local shop nearby and not too far from walking to train station. Would stay again! x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open door no staff present at anytime carpark at back kids throwing bottles and bolders at parked motors not ideal with kids as guys coming and going drunk shouting and banging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was great, u get ur code in ur email and once u arrive u just let your self in with the code,u will be told what number ur room is to in email, your room is open with ur key there, was fab , Rooms were fantastic with eveythig u need,the staff were brilliant, although we did not meet, we did speak on the phone all numbers on front door. Will be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I noticed was when I pulled out the bed to plug in charger there was some rubbish down the side of bed. That’s just being very picky tho. Everything else was perfect And brilliant value for money

    Check in was quick and easy. All detail sent before hand. Room was nice and warm. Larger and better than expected. There was a dining table. Bathroom and kitchen area which had everything needed! There was also a welcome hamper with buiscuits, beer and a small bottle wine which was a nice surprise. Central location and plenty space to park car, will definitely use again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I clicked on a later check out this arrangement did not make it to the staff and we got a knock on the door at ten past ten asking us to leave!

    Facilities were exactly what we needed after attending hogmanay ball at nearby hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed wasn't too comfortable, springs were almost gone.

    Location very central , close to buses (2 mins) and train service (10 mins walking) and local shopping mall. No street noise and clean and warm inside .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better quality and bigger duvet would have been nice, but it was ok. Some females travelling on their own may find the fact there were no staff on the premises a little unnerving, but this is explained when you book, so your choice really.

    Welcome box was a lovely addition. Great location. Clean and fresh smelling. Good quality tv. Even though there are no staff on the premises, it was well orchestrated and organized. Loved the automatic lighting that comes on as you walk through. Great price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door handle was broken and wouldn't lock. The portable heater didn't work. The rooms were a bit on the cold side. The walls are paper thin. We could hear everything the upstairs guests were doing, the toilet flushing, their kids jumping on the bed and squealing early in the morning, could hear the man talking and when he sneezed, every footstep they made.

    The welcome package with drinks, crisps,biscuits, porridge etc was a really nice surprise. The rooms were clean and nicely laid out. Room included iron, ironing board, microwave, fridge, kettle, hair dryer, a portable heater but unfortunately that didn't work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking could have been better. If your lucky you get to park outside the property. We didn't get our welcome gift for liking and sharing on Facebook.

    The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the facilities in the room themselves were excellent. Access to and from the property was excellent. The whole place was very clean and family friendly with free wifi which was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, hard and lumpy and you can feel the springs poking through! Headboard bangs off wall when your changing position in the bed.

    Large room split in two each with two single beds wardrobe and drawers and tv. Excellent hospitality tray with cakes tea coffee can of lager bottled water and shortbread. Strong wifi. Fridge toaster and microwave added bonus! Quiet area next to town centre bars, bingo, restaurants and take seats.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was non existent a wee bit disappointed but did not spoil our stay

    Good room ,Small Hamper was a lovely surprise ,Clean room with everything that we needed thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t see anyone to pay on the morning of departure. The guests who made a noise early in the morning getting ready to leave for the airport. ( hotel can’t help that).

    The hospitality basket. The tourist info. The free wi fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the bed was very clean and comfortable I have a bad back I wished I could have taken it home with me as it was better than mine also the facilities in the room were exellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not major, but bathroom sign would be helpful explaining how the cold and hot water tap in the shower has been adjusted. Took 2 days to figure out.

    Very clean, compact, but everything we needed -- fridge, microwave, tea and coffee station and great wekcome basket! Great location for touring the coast between Irvine and Points north and south. Suoerb pub and restsurant just acriss the street. Good parking options either off street or rear Bingo parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is the upstairs noise when someone is walking around the floor creaks and we could hear someone snoring and their alarm going off! So unfortunate because otherwise it would have been perfect!

    The room was really lovely and checking in was easy! Loved the breakfast basket! Walking distance to food and shops! Parking easy in car park 30 seconds from guesthouse. We really liked it and had no problems at all!! First morning since being in the UK I heard bird song in the morning!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location just off the Main Street, 10 minute walk to harbour / beach. 5 minutes from shopping centre and bars. Complimentary basket there was also a fridge microwave iron and hairdryer in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are quite steep & the shower really wasn't powerful enough. It was little more than a dribble.

    It was clean & very well presented & was fairly centrally situated. WiFi code was clearly available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee supplied wasn't very nice but then I don't like UHT milk. I knew it was room only but sadly I didn't have a choice and made a last minute booking. There is a shop on the corner which sold rolls, coffee etc which was handy. But I do miss having a cooked breakfast when away from home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only time we got to see or speak to someone there was when the card details wasn't correct which with a guest house I think there should be some more interaction between you and the owners.

    The shower was nice and hot but it were pretty small though. The location was good with everything within reach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit lumpy but considering the price you pay maybe expected

    Basket of freebies was excellent. Did not expect so much as was fridge, toaster and microwave

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mattress was a little lumpy but fine for two nights.

    We had a room for four people with four single beds and the room was divided which was unexpected and a bonus! We had two TVs, a fridge, microwave and toaster! The owner put out a complimentary welcoming tray with water snacks biscuits beer tea and coffee. We had a hairdryer and iron too! Property is in a fantastic location, a few minutes walk from town centre with pubs, restaurants and take away just round the corner! We will definitely be booking this guest house again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A musty smell with plugin air fresheners everywhere. Nicer to switch them off and open the window

    Value for money good, but don't take the wife for a romantic break. No breakfast but tea, coffee, kettle, fridge, microwave and an instant porridge pot - it did the job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were up for a family party and it met our needs perfectly. Lovely surprise to find that our large room had its own self contained kitchen. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We booked a triple room and we were suprised when we arrived that infact it was a small apartment. Very clean. Staff very friendly, location was brilliant and a very easy drive from Glasgow airport. Fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. For money can't fault it.

    The accommodation was basic but comfortable and really good value for money. Had to buy a few things like cups and dustpan and brush but generally was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fab little welcome basket and the wifi was great, the room was perfect for us and we had use of the kitchen as we where in the studio. Beds comfy and the staff where so nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds seriously need changed even the slightest movement the beds made a terrible noise, so that resulted in next to no sleep. And looking at reviews now this has been going on for years. Would not stay again because of lack of sleep. They really need to replace them.

    Good size room and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd like some breakfast!

    When I couldn't locate the property I phoned up quite late in the evening but the member of staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never saw a member flag during our stay. Very poor parking especially as I am in a wheelchair and needed to be close. We would not recommend it to anyone.

    Thankfully they did listen to my mobility and ur room 2 was right by the front door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen could have had more cutlery & crockery as the mugs were chipped and I couldn't find teaspoons.

    I booked 3 twin rooms but was given 2 twins & the studio room which was excellent. It meant that my mother & I, who are both disabled could stay downstairs. The studio has enough beds for 5 people with ensuite shower room & a kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds probably aged. Twin room, chose the bed which looked the best. Bed linen on other bed a bit iffy. Bed linen appeared unironed or previously slept in.

    Facilities good. Fridge ,shower ,microwave , kettle etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault anything. Everything clean, comfie bed, easy to work shower!

    The ability of Daniel to accommodate an early arrival at a beautiful unit harborside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in and check out. Given different rooms on arrival and cleaners at the door at 4 minutes past 10.00 am a little bit of grace would have been nice.

    Location was very good. Suited our group very well.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out of date milk tabs, never met anybody from the accommodation throughout the stay. Automated lights need to stay on for an extra 4-5 seconds

    Well organised, names on welcome notice on the door, Joining email very clear .Fridge ,wi-fi and microwave in room. Good sized tv. Reasonable walking distance to town. convenience store within 30 seconds walk

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were provided with al the information we needed to check in, and there were no hitches, it was a bit impersonal

    The staff organised everything very well as we arrived out of hours

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit damp in bathroom. Noisey from walking around of people upstairs. Not too sure on cleanliness of bedding.

    Good value for money. Town centre location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted a late check out but was refused

    Check in facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy check in, room was clean. Overall good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were terrible

    Not very much the view was looking at other houses

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn’t like

    We enjoyed your stay for offordable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a complete overhaul

    Bed uncomfortable room depressing not really clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the guest house a few time and have always been pleased thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was as I expected

    Clean and comfortable , good night sleep , the hamper was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and no dvd player

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcome/courtesy call would have been welcoming

    Can of beer!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Quiet and comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a better breakfast

    Cheep

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was col no heating on

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very happy with our accommodation and very grateful for the complimentary basket of food and drinks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had s problem with my shower but got it sorted when they were notified

    Good sized rooms, good facilities and good position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hassle free

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside late in evening, parking

    Good location, tidy and clean staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 blokes on motorcycles the room was spot on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't stay longer

    Perfect. Affordable, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was the biggest I have ever had

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean , well kept rooms, greatsize family room, great price an great location , near centre but not to near .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family sized room with separate kitchen. Loved the wee basket of goodies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Undefined smell in the kitchen, coffee was not good, room other than ordered

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky beds and noisy neighbours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irvine in general

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Mattresses. Poor shower. No kettle or cutlury or dishes supplyed

    Not a lot !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything as described on website

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy needed new bedding and could of been cleaner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing.

    Lovely ,comfy place to stay Well looked after. Everything you need when staying away is at your fingertips will go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy, room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaking beds need sorting

    Ideal location - stayed a few times now when visiting friends. Good price for what you get

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and super fast wifi speeds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catered for all needs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit squeaky but in no way hampered our stay!

    It was very cosy and warm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just maybe some hooks behind doors for jackets

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. Close to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: