Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Elizabeth's House 4 stars

Longbrook Street, Plymouth, PL7 1NJ, United Kingdom

#3 of 15 hotels in Plymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Arrived late from a ferry crossing but they could no do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Arrived late from a ferry crossing but they could no do enough for us. Fabulous room and facilities. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there was lots of choice. Thoroughly recommend this hotel - amazing staff - just what we needed after a long journey!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A relaxing stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall good breakfast but for thin white and brown sliced toast of cheap quality let it down.

    Adult feel to hotel, our room was spacious and comfortable. Dinner very good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    It's our 3rd visit & will not be our last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny issue- mirror should have socket next to it for hair drying. Couldn't see in mirror from where I had to plug in hairdryer. Table by socket also be good for hospitality tray. Boiled kettle on floor. Minor niggle in an overall fantastic stay. Will be returning.

    Wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Good value. Superb food & service. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice view into the park from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place for our two suitcases. No place in the bathroom for our toiletries. Very soft matrass. We made a reservation for the restaurant long before. First we got a table on a dirty floor and with dirty chairs (breadcrumbs everywhere) and than we got a table on the wall inbetween a big group. Not very cosy and romantic.

    Nice view into the park from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main Shower head in my and my friend's room was spraying in all directions, all over the place when you turned it on. Cooked breakfast was cold both days, and no fried tomato.

    Lovely bed and pillows. Great bath. Evening meals were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and charming but check out if there's a wedding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the well styled and comfortable rooms....noise was a serious issue. Behind the wall behind the headboard in Castle room, resided the fan system for the bathroom next door-the grinding sound was impossible to ignore and a room change was willingly given. Early the next morning, there was another grinding concerto outside the window of Whitehall room to which I'd moved. Modern hotels really should get the nuisance of machinery be it fans or exhaust systems sorted out; it's not good enough to expect customers to sleep through loud noise. The head waiter for the restaurant was most efficient, but unfortunately his male waiting staff need a refresher course-don't ask people half way through a course, taking a momentary pause to check out the thrushes, whether they're finished. A little reticence rather than somewhat excessive bonhomie is really preferable. The music in the entrance hall was rather unpleasant very loud musac. If music, heaven knows why, is considered necessary then play proper stuff-Classical, R&B, Country, even proper Pop, but please oh please not loud wallpaper! I get the impression that the hotel has decided to go in for weddings in a big way. Good for revenue, but tricky for other guests who don't share the group dynamics of wedding parties....I must confess that I'd hate to be staying in the hotel when a wedding is in full swing-mind you that would be true of any hotel.

    The rooms were well appointed and comfortable-I say rooms because I was in two....more in the what I didn't like section! The restaurant was comfortable and the food could also be described the same way-there were no difficult to comprehend flights of modish cuisine. My fillet steak au poivre was cooked perfectly and the rhubarb creme brulee was also perfection.The wine list was, although longish, I felt rather short on classic wine-only one claret I seem to recall. The pair of thrushes in the rather charming gardens were a delight to watch during both dinner and breakfast, good company for someone dining alone! I get the feeling that the owners take a pride in the particular style of the hotel, which is reasonably formal and somewhat traditional, although not at all stiff or offputting. The prices for rooms and food are in my view good value. There are however some areas where attention to detail as listed below would improve the ratings quite considerably

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room in a gorgeous setting. Visiting off season. Service was courteous and attentive. Restaurant elegant with delicious food, much of it locally sourced. Really could not have been more perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like.

    I was very pleased with my stay. The receptionist when I arrived Sunday afternoon was extremely nice & helpful. Thank you. The restaurant staff were very attentive & courteous. Thank you. I’d stay again most definitely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    Extremely disappointing. The Reception staff need some customer service training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in Bath the first night!!! Ordered early morning call didn’t get it, when this was queried the receptionist said she’d been too busy checking people out!!!!!! The first night in restaurant we were given a table in what can only be described as an anexe to the main restaurant along with one other table ??????? Needless to say we didn’t book for our second night. On checking out they had the audacity to charge us for a bottle of water we had used from the mini bar in our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Can't believe that it's taken us so long to find such a wonderful place right on our doorstep !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault anything. Having travelled extensively we could honestly say that St Elizabeth's House was right up there in service, comfort and cuisine.

    An absolutely lovely experience. The charming receptionist allocated us an upgraded room which was amazing with a huge bathroom and a very comfy "Vispring" bed - gorgeous !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Country house feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance hall and reception seemed cold. Room was a little warm. We were there during the snowy weather so may feel different in the warmer weather

    Traditional decor and service with modern touches. Not a 'corporate' hotel. Quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff, excellent food and a simply lovely venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a minor point - some items in the bathroom needed fixing e.g. a light fitting and a loose tap.

    The venue was superb, very relaxing, warm and inviting. Staff were all very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    The bedroom and bathroom was lovely comfortable bed, couldnt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom and bathroom was lovely comfortable bed, couldnt fault anything perfect retreat for us both after a busy weekend partys with family and friends for my husbands 60th birthday. I would truly recommend 10/10 really pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Highly enjoyable other than a couple of minor stutters at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit selection at Breakfast. Crispy Bacon please!

    Fruit selection wasn't great, the cups on our table hadn't been cleaned and we needed them replaced . Took a while to receive sauces, food was semi tepid by time it came. Sunday meal staff were friendly but gave impression a little inexperienced and forgetful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome, attentive staff, excellent food. We had dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed every mouthful. Breakfast was a good selection on the buffet and hot menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival after a 6 hour car journey we asked if we could have some light refreshment but we were told that they stopped serving food. We were tired and hungry and did not want to get back into the car to find somewhere to have a light snack but that is what we had to do. We thought the hotel could have offered to make some sandwiches which we would be happy to pay for but this was not possible they said. Very disappointing. Our room was drafty and noisy with traffic and the bed was very soft. An uncomfortable three nights sleep!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a bit more choice on the food menu. However, this may have been because we were staying at the hotel in between Christmas and New Year. Also, there was no iron / ironing board in the room.

    This is a lovely hotel in a good location. The rooms are of a good size and very comfortable. It has a good lively bar and restaurant with a great atmosphere. The hotel and rooms were all clean and of a good size. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and over priced for what we recieved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    room noisy. fire doors sprung so did not shut easily, banging as people returned to their rooms. windows not double glazed or protected by any sound proof shutters,so therefore not sound proof. My room backed onto area where an extractor cut in and out all night. Management not receptive to our requests for family to join us at breakfast. Excuse understaffed! Reception had no authority and management were not available to deal immediately with our complaints.

    bed comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    A very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi is practically non existent. It seems there are two free wifi available. One of them does not give you access to internet. The other has very poor reception. I could connect from my room using my laptop but not my mobile. The mobile couldn't even find the wifi anywhere (bar and restaurant included). From the laptop the signal was low and it was cutting off frequently. There was also an ethernet lead in the room for wired connection but this one as well was not giving you access to the internet. When asked the staff which wifi to use they didn't know and said that a technician was there some days before looking at it, indicating they have ongoing issues with their internet. I ended up using the data connection from the mobile.

    A very nice hotel. Rooms are very good. Nice atmosphere. The restaurant is excellent and the breakfast great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - had a great stay

    Lovely house and grounds. Very large bathroom with freestanding bath and walk-in shower. Excellent breakfast. Staff friendly and helped us with an early check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    A solid 9 out of 10, I'm just fussy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My superior room was beautifully equipped, but being directly above reception, at times I could hear customers coming and going through the front door. Whilst the breakfast was excellent, one tea bag in a tea pot is annoying !!

    The staff, the location, the food and the overall ambience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    We have been staying several times with a group of around 12...
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have been staying several times with a group of around 12 people. Staff is very helpful. Spacious rooms, good parking, hall with comfortable seats with bar, nice ambiance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    A most enjoyable stay nevertheless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no usable shelves or drawers in the bedroom or the ensuite, which meant that all clothes that couldn't go on hangers had to remain in the cases, and our bathroom gear kept on the floor of the ensuite.

    The food and service were great. The room and ensuite were also very good except for the comment below, but we do intend to visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel set in quiet surroundings delivering a professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance into the hotel is quite hidden if you are coming from the A38, easy to miss and have to turn around as we did. At night there is a very bright light shining at you as you drive in, so you have to be careful of cars coming at you over the small bridge from the hotel.

    A lovely well run small hotel, staff were very professional & communicative. We had a wonderful a la carte dinner which was very well presented and had lovely flavours. Breakfast was also very nice with quite a few dishes to choose from. The hotel has a large car park so no problem parking. It is popular for afternoon teas and booking for dinner is essential as many people come from around the Plymouth area to eat there. Would recommend it highly for a luxury treat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, disappointing service for the price, expected much more. focused on weddings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had few hours out, came back for a nightcap at 11pm, we’re told all closed, couldn’t serve us a drink because there was a wedding on the next day. Breakfast next day at 9am, ousted into some back room near the toilet and stacks of chairs, no music, awkward placement of sparse tables, could hear everything 3 other couples were eating/saying, very disappointing.

    Beautiful room, most comfortable bed, stunning bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Fine - would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in bathroom. Poor signage (none!) of hotel when approaching from the south - we missed the hotel, and had to turn round.

    Very pleasant change from "chain" type hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing. The location of the room and the poor breakfast were the main problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (Francis Chichester) was very nicely designed and spacious. However the location at the back/side of the building was a disaster. On reflection we should have requested a change. The view of some houses was poor at best from the main window. The side window overlooked the main approach to the hotel. Unfortunately the main window overlooked a road immediately adjacent which was very busy early in the morning. The side window turned out to be overlooking the delivery point and a large lorry was delivering at 7.30 am and the noise of the vehicle and associated with the delivery woke us up. It wasn't really acceptable. The breakfast was also poor (eggs benedict arrived with the hollandaise toasted on to and the poached eggs hard.) The fried eggs were not good either. We pointed this out, received an apology but our bill was not changed.

    The coffee was good. The staff friendly and efficient in the bar. The bar area itself was a nice space to be in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    A SUPERB HOTEL RUN BY A VERY EFFICIENT TEAM. THANK YOU.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE LIGHTING INTHE BATHROOM WAS VERY DIM AND POOR.

    THE TEAM OF STAFF AND THE OWNERS WERE SUPERB. THE FOOD WAS EXTRA SPECIAL AND SERVED BY EXTRA FRIENDLY STAFF.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Quiet chique for less than a city centre chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly not much really

    Quiet location, good access to the A38, lovely room and en-suite and good breakfast and all for less than two nights in a Plymouth Premier Lodge!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    The best hotel we booked during our tour in Cornwal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super hotel in a super location with a lovely garden in front of the hotel and on the back. The room was very nice, big, clean and comfortable. The bathroom as big as the room itself. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Exceeded expectations - not always the case these days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was directly over a main road and opposite a pub garden, so a bit noisy. More surface space would have been good - turn the wardrobe through 90 degrees and put in a bigger table - room for lap top etc. Apart from that very good.

    Food excellent. Staff friendly and helpful without being intrusive or obsequious - no 'how is everything for you' or 'have a nice day'. Hotel comfortable and well maintained, clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    A luxurious stay at St. Elizabeth's House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about our stay!

    The staff were very pleasant, kind and friendly throughout our stay. The dinner was excellent and the accommodation very pleasing and comfortable. Breakfast was high quality and plentiful. Being able to park easily on the premises was very convenient. A very enjoyable stay in a top quality hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Unexpected delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't advised on booking about the dress code for dinner (smart casual requiring collared shirt for men). I have no argument with this other than the failure to provide warning. After a long drive, I wasn't in the mood for offending anyone - so having only tee-shirts, gave dinner a miss. Made up for it at breakfast!

    Bathroom extra special with beautiful bath and stunning shower and other fittings. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The village of Plympton is very close to Plymouth and provides a lovely walk through the town and around the church. Breakfasts were very good providing a cold buffet as well as traditional English breakfasts, eggs benedict and more... All of the rooms were named rather than numbered, so be alert when they show you the way to your room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No idea how to work the coffee machine

    The bed was comfy, the bathroom in the long brooke room was fantastic. Amazing stay and can't wait to come back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in gorgeous setting. Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom was poor and a bit complicated to work out. Also bit worried about the loose glass sheets on the bedside tables

    Beautiful room and friendly helpful staff. Fabulous bathroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Accommodation and food were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation and food were excellent. We chose to stay at the hotel as this is where we held our wedding reception in 2014. It was lovely to revisit and enjoy the hotel again. Staff were friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning again soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Plymouth Gem!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying 1 night would have wished longer stay!

    Staff were very friendly and positively helpful Bed really comfortable and dinner and breakfast 5*. Setting of hotel is like a peaceful haven and yet convenient to Plymouth

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Great Hotel, food, staff and location, well worth a booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb friendly staff, very clean and great service from start of our break until the end. Congrats to all staff members. Meals were very good portions and tasty. Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    i'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb menu, fantastic dinner and attentive service . Perfect! Specials menu was explained fully in great detail. Amazing bed, perfect nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    The food was excellent as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with three course dinner but when it came to paying the dinner had not been included, we had to pay the extra. I shall be wary of booking on line again.

    The food was excellent as always.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.4
    Disappointed!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bathroom was dark, I was unable to open the blinds as they were only for show! It was difficult to put my make up in the dim light! There were no pain au chocolates for breakfast. Whilst my daughter was eating her cereal, her scrambled eggs came out, so I sent them back, they came back cold! new one was made but were mushy, not like firm scrambled eggs.Cold bathroom floor. Location of our table at dinner and breakfast was in a awkward place, people came through a door and then straight to my table.Breakfast waitress was not as helpful as evening staff!

    Nice location. large bathroom. Dining room staff at Dinner were very nice and couldn't do enough to make sure everything was nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    A wonderful visit - as always
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very comfy and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Hired the Beatrice Room for the evening for 30 family and friends to celebrate my special birthday. A good time - and meal - was had by all. WE enjoyed our overnight stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    another triumph ...well done !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Wife's Arnold Bennett omelette was not up to scratch but had such a good time we didn't want to complain...and we are British !!!

    everything from the welcome through to checking out.....another triumph !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a young business traveller the hotel does seem to be very popular with a much older audience looking to relive a hotel of yesteryear experience.

    The restaurant is beyond amazing, well priced and excellent food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Great anniversary celebration stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly overpriced at £120 for one night.. But I'm still very happy overall, will definitely book again.

    The Staff were excellent, venue was superbly presented and Very clean.. Our Room was very comfortable and spacious. The food was exceptional and menu had a very good varied choice, the atmosphere really relaxing. We loved it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    Superb staff & location. Shame about traffic noise in bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a "Quiet room", but got the opposite. Room 14 (the "Castle" room) is right next to a road and the windows are single glazed sash windows which appear to let in all traffic noise. Got a total of one hour's sleep all night (if that). Ideal if you are considering joining the SAS and wish to experience sleep deprivation. Not ideal if you have a two hour drive the next day.

    Staff were exceedingly well trained and customer orientated. Beautiful building with ample free parking. If you have time, try a walk around the nearby historic part of Plympton.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely setting, away from the busy-ness of Plymouth, but close enough if wanting to visit the city. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, great breakfast. Staff helpful and polite. Clean. Well stocked tea and coffee tray in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.2
    Ok-ish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    St Elizabeth's calls itself Luxury Hotel, Restaurant and Bar, not quite reaching that description in my view. The breakfast - was served in a room which did not feel warm or cosy with parquet floor (not the main restaurant) with basic dining chairs - the continental buffet was rather bland looking with a small fare - the grapefruit had started to "fizz" possibly because it had been exposed to air for too long - the hot breakfast and served in a room (not the restaurant) - despite indicating a gluten free and dairy free diet: both gluten and gluten free bread were served on the same stand (the chef should know guests affected by coeliac disease would be at risk here) and there was no dairy free spread available anywhere in the kitchen. The bedroom (Darwin) Surprisingly in need of refurb, especially the bathroom: damp stains and paint peeling off the ceiling, cracked tiles where the bath stands, broken shower plug, blocked holes in shower head sparkling water in all directions. The maintenance of the place Could definitely be improved to make it more modern and looked after. The corridors to the bedrooms Very confusing with no clear signage to reception except the emergency/fire exit signs. The car park Full of animal droppings... perhaps ducks? Or some other creatures. Could not see any on site so it is a mystery. The staff The waiters at dinner, although pleasant enough, just seemed to be doing their jobs without really connecting to the guests.

    The evening dinner was fantastic, the food was very well presented and cooked to perfection. The hotel is located in a village just outside Plymouth, surrounded by a pleasant garden. There is a large graveled car park, not very practical for rolling suitcases. The reception staff was very attentive and made guests feel welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Unexpectedly fantastic stay !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving !

    From the moment I walked in there was a genuine feeling of comfort relaxation and being welcome.....I don't know how they do it but one of the best I have stayed in for a long time ...superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast plates were cold, so the cooked breakfast became cold quickly, simply warming the plates would have avoided this.

    The surroundings were beautiful, pity we arrived so late, so couldn't take a stroll.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Faultless three night stay in St. Elizabeth's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues, no complaints whatsoever. Everything was tip top.

    Everything. Friendly, professional staff. Superb rooms in a quiet but close to town location and the food in the restaurant was top class.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.1
    The good, the bad and the ugly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shelf space in the bathroom. Waiters response to complaints about food quality and cold coffee. Grapefruit juice past sell buy at breakfast. Very low water pressure, so a long wait for a sink full...

    Very nice location. Lovely gardens. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Memorable and we'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was served in a small dining room that didn't have much ambience and had pop music on quite loud at 9am.

    The bathroom in the Sir Alexandra Bur suite was HUGE. Rainfall shower and a massive bath! Everything about our stay was enjoyable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom shower unit rather quaint and not very funcional

    Charming place and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Two days and nights if heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.the style of the rooms particularly the bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Our stay here was excellent, we both loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with fantastic bathroom. Evening meal was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    The food was outstanding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    The friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelves or tables in bathroom to put toilet bag

    The friendly welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love staying here...always perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee at breakfast could have been better.

    Room was lovely, extremely spacious, excellent bathroom and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some appliances did not work eg telephone, jug or safe

    Relaxing location & most staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Value for money! Excellent Food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Rate for the room - room a little small but OK - I was worried about being on the Road side but it was very quiet. Food was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    loved the food and the setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very soft - personally I like a firm bed

    loved the food and the setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the rooms.

    Food portions were excellent and the staff were happy and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big bed. Staff very pleasant and food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Goodnight sleep but
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water wasn’t working and staff took a long time to fix this problem.

    The room was really modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Just a lovely place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view not good in the Whitehall room.

    Lovely grounds, rooms were very well appointed, staff very friendly, beautiful furnishings, food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable one night stay. Nice evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Quiet location, comfortable rooms with nice food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant offers an extensive menu, good food and reasonable prices. Friendly and efficient service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    There for my brothers vfuneral. Super place and will go again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great food and service. Lovely people who were not pushy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Dreamy Vi-Sprung bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good.

    The bed! Most comfortable bed and best night's sleep we have ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    A very relaxed and friendly hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room temperature was quite hot through the night, so had to open a window

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel. Restaurant was excellent - delicious food and great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Met all my requirements and expectations
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like a larger comfortable sitting out area, not dominated by the bar

    Well presented hotel accommodation

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: