Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St George's Hotel 3 stars

6 St George's Place, York, YO24 1DR, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a bar to socialise with other guests, otherwise we had no complaints.

    The people were very friendly, and did everything required. The room was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they are selling up...we'll be visiting your new enterprise good luck on the move

    The welcome was second to none rooms lovely location perfect and breakfast cooked to perfection just a pity that they are selling up....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the owners have sold it. :-(( Sad to hear that but we do understand that after 30 years you wish for something new. All the best to you!!

    The lovely hosts! It's spotlessly clean. The breakfast is delicious. This place is run with so much love - really touching. It made our stay so special

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    St George’s was perfect for our short stay in York. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean and the breakfasts were delicious, with a great personal touch. It was easy enough to walk everywhere, about 15 minutes from the city walls, and in a lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance dirty and smells needs freshening up

    Excellent breakfast choices lovely filter coffee!!Lovely big bedroom comfortable bed!very friendly owners

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good choice at breakfast, comfortable bed, room was warm and cosy Convenient location within walking distance of city centre. Parking available- narrow access though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather. Had to leave 2 days early , reluctantly, due to a family problem and an incoming snowstorm.

    Room very spacious and comfy. Plenty of tea/coffee available. Breakfast was excellent and very tasty. Host Andy was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Full marks!

    Bedroom was immaculate. Breakfast was included and was delicious. The hosts had no problem customising it for us, and we were never made to feel that something was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked hairdryer in room but there was one available if required.

    Friendly ,clean,great choice @breakfast-easy access to York centre by good bus service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toast preference offered- clutching at straws to find anything bad

    High ceilings and generally beautiful room Towels provided Clean sheets Bathroom nice - spacious shower and good pressure Lots of information offered Hairdryers available to borrow Carpet really clean Amazing breakfast in bed Walk not too far from centre Beautiful city Shop not too far Near the station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super breakfasts and large rooms with comfy armchairs in Room. Lots of information on York facilities and seasonal events. House very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A lovely property, very comfortable with friendly staff. Breakfast was fantastic! Rooms are spacious but warm, with very comfortable beds. The property is in a beautiful area, only a short walk from the city centre (regular buses if you can’t walk). Loved it & have booked another stay already. Just hope the new owners don’t change it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    HOSTS OF THE GUEST HOUSE ARE MOST HELPFUL , ROOMS SPOTLESS, HOUSE SITUATED IN A IDEAL SPOT ABOUT 10 - 15 MINS WALK FROM THE TOWN, FOOD AT BREAKFAST TIME FOOD IS EXCELLENT, YOU JUST CAN NOT FAULT THIS PLACE . 5 STAR

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price had gone up quite a lot since my last stay - but compared to other properties in York, it was still reasonable I suppose.

    very convenient for the racecourse, nice large room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Contruction work across the road, parking is a premium due to proximity to town. Property will no longer trade next year.

    Walking distance to city centre WI-FI

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too close to the city center but plenty of buses or taxis...

    Very welcoming . Good breakfast, smoothies...spacious and quiet bedroom, large bathroom with window . A little too warm at night but possibility to swtch off radiator

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door lock was small and tight, toilet seat was loose. it was noisy when the window was open, it sounded like we were near a train line?

    The room was large and was comfortable, the bed was also comfortable. Parking was good at the back of the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    the bed very comfy staff very helpful and very friendly breakfast was lovely lovely room and bathroom information booklet was very informative in every way Would stay again well worth the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was beautiful! Such a cheap price for an amazing property, i was nicely surprised. Great service, having a dog with us and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming! I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have a little more pressure.

    Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were really clean and tidy. Well put together room with excellent design ideas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little hot even when i turned the radiators off.

    The rooms are big and clean There is a exercise area outside for the dog.Breakfast delicious.Joanne left guests homemade buns to try.They were lush.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    It was my partners 60th Birthday and the staff were great , we had a champagne breakfast in bed organised by them and the breakfast was fabulous , nothing was to much trouble for them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guesthouse is cosy and beautifully decorated. Our room was lovely with lots of space for storing clothes and getting ready, a comfy bed and a nice, clean ensuite with a hot shower. Friendly, warm staff greeted us, opening the gate so I could use the car park as there were no parking spaces left on the road. A local cat had wandered in to visit and they had contacted her owner and were looking after her until she was picked up. They love cats and used to have a regular cat visiter who sadly passed away. Pets are welcome to stay! In a morning the staff can't do enough for you when making breakfast. There is a menu but they're also happy to take requests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. Breakfast is fabulous. Hardy was made very welcome. Our 2nd return to St George's. Great location too and easy to walk into town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful cakes were left every day... a tummy. Room was really comfortable, clean and well decorated too. I would definitely return!!! Also it's in a great location for walking into York.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    The breakfast was second to none. Plenty of options. We had the full English breakfast which was cooked to perfection. The room was excellent, the bed was so comfy and our hosts worked so hard to make us feel at home. Really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Whole property was lovely both inside and out, The owners were both friendly and Helpful, The Breakfast that was provided and included in the price was well cooked and the host could not be more helpful offering more toast if required and being very attentive to his Guests, the rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels being provided, A nice touch was home made cakes left in the lobby area for the guests to take,Excellant Customer service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom door was difficult to close. Only separate hot and cold water taps, no mixed warm/cold water tap. A bit far from the city centre.

    Beautiful wallpaper, matching duvet covers and tea cups. Good breakfast, nice owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We very much enjoyed our week at St George's. The room was cheerful and clean, the breakfasts were tasty with lots of choice on the menu - even boiled eggs with soldiers! The hotel is in a great location and an easy 15 minute walk into York with several good restaurants on the way. The owners, sorry didn't get their names, were so friendly and very helpful and a daily covered plate with various homemade cakes for guests to help themselves was a real treat. We would definitely recommend St George's and hope to stay there again if we're lucky to visit wonderful York again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety and quality of breakfast complementary home made cakes available for guests my dog made very welcome good facilities and hosts very accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good nothing we didn't like

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast in bed. Colour scheme in room. Good shower, hot water, clean bedding and towels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smoking area too close to the front of the house.

    Breakfast was excellent (anything was provided .... on request) and was always cheerfully served & well cooked. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made us feel welcome, but also left us to our own devices, answered any queries we had and were very accommodating This is the second time we have stayed here and would definitely recommend it to people, we will be staying at St George's again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike, all good

    Excellent location, safe parking, easy walk to Yorks main attractions and shops, excellent breakfasts and presentation, clean rooms, and staff were nioce and helpful. We will go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a negative point in no means, and didn't spoil our stay but the shower could have done with a stronger water pressure.

    Good location, well maintained. Loved our room, the bird room. The breakfast was excellent so much to choose from, it really set us up for our day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to not like

    Extremely helpful, friendly staff fabulous house with large comfortable clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast. Perfectly placed for easy access to York centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problem with us having our dog at the property, even had a secure area at the back so that he could run freely whilst supervised. Well sized room & no noise issues despite having the windows open (hot weather recently). Very friendly staff, no complaints.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent location, comfort and value for money. The owners were excellent and very very helpful! They allowed me to leave my bags for a few hours after checking out, nothing was too much trouble for them. I highly recommend staying here, breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Breakfasts excellent, nothing was too much trouble, breakfast could be tailored to individual requests. Room was very comfortable, large and bright with everything you could need for a lovely stay. Easy access to York City centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Room was large airy and well equipt. The cleanliness was outstanding. Very helpful hosts. Cheerful and attentive with homely welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was perfectly placed for our weekend at the Festval of Vintage. Our room was lovely. Light, airy and very comfortable. Loads of room. Huge shower in the bathroom. Plenty of hangers in wardrobe. Room cleaned every day and our coffee mugs replaced every day. Owners were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Intriguing bacon and marmalade sandwich was delicious, just had to try it 😊We're definitely going back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It was a home from home - really nice, warm atmosphere. This is a family run establishment, where nothing is too much trouble. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts was delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike. Everything was perfect and so enjoyable.

    This guest house is absolutely incredible. Everything was perfect, the host's were amazing and are such wonderful people; nothing was too much trouble.The rooms are immaculate; absolutely spotless with an incredible shower, a huge tv and so comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and such a lot to choose from; again nothing was too much trouble. The location is ideal for seeing the sights and the view of york racecourse is stunning. You won't find a better guest house anywhere in York so book now! It's total perfection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the ground floor, next to the front door (which we knew in advance) and it was noisier then we had expected

    Big room, nice breakfast, good shower, all we could expect for a one night stay in a guesthouse

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault , all lovely

    Great location, 10 min walk from town :) Very clean, comfortable, excellent staff!! Would 100% recommend and visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Size of the room and bathroom was excellent and short walk to the town. Choice of breakfast in bed which was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful and room and bathroom spotless.will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could've been a bit more powerful.

    Great location for getting in to, or out of York, very handy for buses. Decent size tv, room and bathroom were a good size as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot think of anything ..... it was perfect from start to end!

    The house is in a quiet cul-de-sac with no traffic, yet very close to the main road, and to the bus stop. Our bedroom was very clean, nicely decorated, large and full of light. We felt immediately at home. But the unbeatable thing was breakfast: everything was delicious, full of variety and of excellent quality, from the jams to the hot plates (omelette with smoked salmon, to name one). Both the owners were always nice and helpful. We plan to come back to York, and it will be at St George, for sure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous place and lovely hosts.Lovely cat is a bonus.Clean, comfortable room huge TV-set.Kettle, hairdryer in room. Lovely breakfast with a variety to choose from.Easy to reach with public transport (bus # 4 is most frequent 1.20 GBP/person for single, 4 GBP for a day ticket on workdays) but railway station is max 20 mins on foot. Take-away places nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely B&B clean and homely, good choice at breakfast. Just a short walk to shops bars and facilities. Would highly recommend a stay. Staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave. Could of stayed longer.

    Room and the hosts were lovely, very friendly and the guest house was immaculate throughout. The cooked breakfast was amazing. The hotel inspector could visit here and have a nice break as there is nothing to improve on. Would recommend St.Georges every time. We will definitely book here again. Easy to get into the city centre as well, catch a bus, it's so much quicker and easier than driving in and paying for parking. Thank you to the owners and staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing totally happy

    Very nice and and clean. Had to be up before the standard breakfast time to attend a course, but they left me milk for cereals and bread for toast and made a bacon sarnie. Excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom facilities were very good with a nice ensuite but room decor could be modernised slightly but don't be put off by this as the room was still great to stay in.

    Good priced brekkie and liked the upstairs guest kitchen - great idea if you want to cook or grab take out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was on the small side but very comfortable.

    The cooked breakfast was perfect. Staff were polite and helpful. The room was well decorated and exceptionally clean. The location was excellent being a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of York.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was perfect, no problems

    Lovely comfy bed, good location in walking distance of centre. Nice breakfast, had it in bed one day and on two occasions made us bacon sarnies to go!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners were really friendly. The position of the property is excellent and only a short walk into York and, best of all, they have parking. The breakfast was also one of the best I have had for a long time. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A firmer pillow would of suited me, but that's more my fault as I forgot to take mine with me.

    We were able to have breakfast in our room which was really relaxing, and they were lovely sized meals, keeping us going most of the day, so a big thank you.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of note.

    The location was ideal. Breakfast, hot, good variety and very well cooked. The bed very comfortable, large room so not cramped at all. Ensuite was very well done. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the saturday, there were some children running around upstairs quite late at night which wasn't a massive issue as we were still awake but it could have been annoying if we were trying to sleep.

    I loved how relaxed it was, nothing was too much trouble and the little sample of bacon and marmalade sandwiches was brilliant when we had breakfast in bed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle could of been a bit bigger&shower head was too high&could not move it..

    Breakfast was very good...just a little bit more fruit would of been nice...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole hotel was spotless. Although we didn't take the option of breakfast, there was a fully equipped kitchen that we could use, every need taken care of including washing machine, iron and ironing board, fridge, microwave and cooker. In the room there was a large flatscreen tv, tea and coffee, hairdryer and additional heater (although wasn't needed). This hotel really exceeded my expectations. Perfect location being 10 minute walk from micklegate. It should be higher than a three star. Can't recommend highly enough !!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcoming biscuit in the room to go with the tea would've been nice after our long journey.

    Cooked breakfast very good using good quality ingredients. Peaceful location with a picturesque walk in to York centre. Ten minutes walk from the train station. We were given a lovely large airy room. Shower also very good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we would change about it!

    We loved the fact that it is away from the noise of the city centre and yet just a 15 minute walk from it. The house is clean and well maintained and staff were great. We loved the breakfast - probably one of the best we have been served in a while! We would definitely stay there again should we visit York in the future!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The St. George is a fair distance from central York, but not too far to walk. It is in a very pleasant residential neighborhood, and there is convenient bus service to the center of town. The hotel itself is an excellent, well-run place, with great hosts and a great cat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we did not opt to get the breakfast! It smelled heavenly every day, but we'd brought our own items with us.

    This is a wonderful B&B, in a fantastic neighborhood. We were able to walk to the City Center in 15-20 minutes. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, and it feels like a real home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is perfect here!

    The best accommodation when I traveled in UK!! The house is so beautiful and the host is very kind and helpful. He also provided us a brilliant English breakfast. Of course we love Kitson!! My friend left sth here. They helped to mail to us. Many thanks!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking behind the guest house is limited and access not easy but we found spaces on the road outside.

    We received a warm welcome for our 3-night stay and were shown to a good-sized, well equipped, comfortable room - much better in all respects than the standard Spartan layout of something like a Premier Inn. The bed was excellent as was the cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Even for an elderly couple it is a comparatively short walk into York for shopping, restaurants and a cinema.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Owners are the friendliest people you could wish to meet. Rooms are well-appointed and comfy. Convenient location for a walk into the city, or getting the bus in if you are lazy!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Staff were friendly but certainly not in your face.

    It was quiet - both location-wise but also within the property. This was a real bonus, in addition to it being very close to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good we haven't got a bad word about it

    Brilliant hosts everything was spotless clean room was fantastic breakfast out of this world definitely go back there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose the small double as it was the only room available when booking. The en suite being a little tight, particularly in respect to the position of toilet immediately behind door.

    Breakfast excellent! Well cooked! Well presented! Especially the fruit platter! Host very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room: Second Floor, No Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, can't find one single fault.

    The most comfortable bed I've ever stayed in, lovely room and building, all round gorgeous place. Staff were kind and attentive throughout the stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was all very good. We would definitely return

    Perfect location, lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order and plenty of variety.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guests dog barking late at night and very early morning

    The place Itself was quite the size of the shower and the room were very good Nothing To Much Trouble

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the hottest days of the year and air con would have been helpful

    The location was excellent, parking available, very comfortable rooms, massive shower, down to earth friendly staff, breakfast was lovely, very peaceful at night

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: