Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of St Giles Apartments This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

375 High Street, The Royal Mile, Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1PW, United Kingdom

#88 of 475 vacation rentals in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2834 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    A wonderful time had by myself and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The apartment was very central for the old town and also the new town, only 5/10 minutes walk. Close to bars and restauarants, entertainment and shops. The kitchen was well stocked with cutlery and crockery and the two bathrooms were very clean and nice toiletries included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    A great apartment in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi-Fi was a big let down, very weak and didn't work half the time. The apartment was super clean but when I went look under the bed for any clothes left, there was a load of rubbish under it (apartment 3), first bedroom. The matress was extremely uncomfortable here aswell.

    The apartment itself was fantastic, brilliant view over saint Giles cathedral. Lovely kitchen with all facilities included, towels, nice little chocolates on the bed, water in the fridge. The staff were super nice and made the check in experience very easy so thank you for this.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the heart of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Victoria Street
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent, couldn't have hoped for a better place. It is also ok to leave your bags at the office if you arrive too early or are staying for a few more hours in Edinburgh after check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in a ground floor flat which was quite noisy both from other apartments and people walking past outside.

    Easy pick up for keys, and the staff in the office were great. Good location just off the Royal Mile.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Lovely apartment in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steps! There are steps to get to the apartment, and then steps inside the apartment. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom with about five steps, a little treacherous for getting up in the middle of the night.

    The location is ideal - right across from the Cathedral on the Royal Mile. The apartment is spacious, with a complete kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.3
    Great central location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance looked very tired , bedding and towels were good but it could have been cleaner - it was dusty in the corners , felt dated - could do with some of the large old furniture being replaced , huge very wobbly glass dinning table took up most of the living room ! Lacking utensils - no bottle opener !

    Great central location . Bedrooms were nice - nice bedding and towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely apartment, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the bedframes was loose and rocked making it difficult to sleep. Toilet didn't flush well

    Fab location, great kitchen, lounge and shower facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was kinda confusing to get to the office because it's hidden in the alley. Also the apartment location is not where you think it would be. The wifi signal is somehow poor as well.

    Apartment were clean and pretty comfortable, staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    We thought our apartment was the one pictured in the ad only to find that this was not the case
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment shown on the advertisement is NOT the apartment that we ended up in. We were in the Old Tolbooth Wynd Apartment. 3 flights of stairs with luggage was not fun. The carpet in the hallways needs to be replaced as it is old and tattered. We thought we were going to be in the apartment pictured but found out after booking that was not the case and the booking was non-refundable. Bottom line, they should show the actual apartment in the advertisement.

    Convenient to Old Town, mini market, restaurants and tourist attractions all within walking distance. It was nice to have a kitchen to cook breakfast each day. The apartment was comfortable but not fancy as the one pictured in the advertisement.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Canongate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Address to our apartment could have been made known to us earlier. We were actually at the vicinity of our apartment, but we don't know that before hand. We only knew the address where we would collect the keys and address to our apartment. As we were with heavy luggage, and it was a uphill walk from the apartment to the key collecting address, we took a cab. Upon collecting the keys, only to find that the apartment was at where we took the cab from! This time, we drag our heavy luggage downslope to our original location/apartment address.

    Many amenities available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.3
    clean, spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC Had to pick up the key in one location because we arrived after check-in hours, and then walk about a mile to get to the apartment. Would have been nice if we could have picked up the key at the apartment.

    clean, spacious apartment. easy check-in and check-out even though we arrived after check-in hours and left before check-out hours. washer and dryer in the apartment. great location close to airport bus stop and in walking distance of main tourist attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.2
    Good base for sightseeing, very close to the Royal Mile and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apartment was very clean and tidy nice decor could have just done with better pillows.

    Good base for sightseeing, very close to the Royal Mile and all the attractions located there and in the old town plus not far to walk to the new town. Easy to walk to from the train station. Complimentary tea, coffee, milk with bottled water were waiting for us in the apartment on arrival which was really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Great! Wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking-in process...book in in one place then walk a distance to where the place was. Delay with being able to check in as they were busy.

    Quiet but still in the middle of the action. Great facilities and welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, it was good, but I would probably stay somewhere quieter next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet didn't work on the first day, but was fixed thereafter. Still, it required logging in often, which was a pain. The apartment was right opposite St Giles Cathedral and on the busy Royal Mile (cobbled street), so it was noisy even late into the night and early morning. You'll also need strong backs if you have heavy luggage, as the steps are steep.

    Location was great, right on the Royal Mile and close to Princes St and Edinburgh Castle. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing,everything was perfect

    Absolutly perfect,quiete bedroom and the large lounge facing St Giles Church on the royal mile,perfect for a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.8
    Will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Canongate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to pick the keys up from another destination (no key safe available apparently butbthere was one there when we arrived) which was a nightmare to find. Apartment had a damp smell as soon as we opened the door. All doors in the apartment including bathroom and bedrooms have frosted glass panels giving no privacy at all. Lugging cases up 2 flights of narrow winding stairs was not fun. Apartment decor needs to be brought up to date - very rough around the edges. Poor value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Great location on the Royal Mile close to shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The booking said it was on the 3rd floor “with a lift”. It was on the 3rd floor but we had 70 narrow winding stairs up to the apartment. We were NOT happy with that. Especially with all of our luggage.

    Great location on the Royal Mile close to shopping, restaurants and the Castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.8
    Great location shame about the standard of cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets, sofas and cushions are in desperate need of a deep clean which made it very uncomfortable when trying to relax in the apartment.

    The facilities were great and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    St Giles Apartments are not necessarily next to St Giles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The web site makes it appear as though the apartments are next to St Giles. Yes the office is, our apt however was 1/2 mile walk away. It would have been nice to know.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting the key was a bit complicated, and the washing/drying machines in the apartment were not very good.

    The location was wonderful and the apartment was nice and cozy! Staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    A lovely comfortable appartment to explore Edinburgh city from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Advocate Close (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really to fault. It's an apartment, on the Royal Mile, in a Close so it's very busy day and night right outside, but that's to be expected.

    Excellent Old Town location...in a Close right on the Royal Mile, nice views down to Princes Street and Scott Monument from bedroom and lounge.. Ideal for a family/group base to explore Edinburgh. Very clean property, kitchen is well equipped, lovely decor. The Office is close by-the Office staff (Kerr) very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect to enjoy old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff gave me wrong direction finding apartment and the the room was not that clean. No batteries for remote control and the fri-pan didn’twork on induction

    Location was perfect to enjoy old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent and the apartment was clean and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Johnston City
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only, could be better if we had more place (shelves may be) to put staff in the bathroom and a mirror in the second bedroom.

    The location was excellent and the apartment was clean and very comfortable. We were 4 ladies staying together, had plenty of room for our staff. The staff in the apartment office were so helpful and friendly, and the apartment was so near to all of the city's attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    We loved everything about it the beds were so comfy it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was perfect

    We loved everything about it the beds were so comfy it was clean and the staff were absolutely superb it was a gorgeous appartment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in has to be made in a nearby alley, that was not easy to find.

    It's very nicely furnished, good taste, sober and just what's needed. The location is absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    Good kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor internet. Cold water shower in the morning. But we were leaving early so couldn't really contact agency. Walked to third floor of apartment block. No lifts.

    Good kitchen. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.9
    Staff attempting to come in and clean our apartment at 9.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff attempting to come in and clean our apartment at 9.30 when we didn’t have to check out till 11 and then argue this with us was the only downside. Other than this a great place and fabulous location literally on the royal mile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable beautiful city❤❤
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful old building,we were on the third floor,lots of steps,it's a good work out

    Had a fantastic time guys,staff very helpful and kind. Will definitely go back to the prop property❤

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    4.6
    we were disappointed these apartments need better care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy apartment, the breakfast bar was useless the apartment needs a table and chairs. The hallways were dirty and not vacuumed.

    Location was good for the castle and St Giles Cathedral

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    A spacious flat with good wifi and 4 bathrooms, located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spacious flat with good wifi and 4 bathrooms, located within 1 minute from the Royal Mile, and at a quiet close at the same time. Very friendly staff. What else would a company of friends need?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing and does not present well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment was very stuffy and was not well presented and poorly maintained. Liquid soap dispenser empty. Freezer smelly. Entrance was off putting with unsightly rubbish bins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.7
    The location was really fantastic, you can excess city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in the main bedroom wasn’t so great!! The water came from water heater couldn’t adjust the appropriate temperature, it only could have boiled or cold water.

    The location was really fantastic, you can excess city center easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Directly in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One sleeping room was really hot, the heater could not be switched off, for whatever reason. When taking a shower, the water supply system became really noisy... But ok. Just a few meters ahead is a restaurant, it can become really noisy, when people sitting in the evening outside enjoying their dinner and drinks.

    Directly in the city centre...! Comfortable room with little kitchen and table. Two separate sleeping rooms. The staff is really friendly and will support you, whatever problem you have. I forgot after checkout my mobile in the apartment and they helped immediately!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    Ok for short stay. The big and only bonus is the central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Johnston City
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ground floor room, lack of light and views, to pay more attention to cleaneness ( eg under living room sofa dust was not wiped in ages), to add basic staff to the kitchen ( clean cloth, sponge, tissue etc). If you are light sleeper the noise of the boilers and not sure what else will keep you awake.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful location to stay to visit Edinburgh's attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front windows looked out on the Royal Mile, there was a private courtyard also, the apartment was large and light. The kitchen was well equipped and there was a washing machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    If you spend the evening drinking red wine then even a smelly old sock needs a friend. Great visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grease on wall tiles above the cooker. One dirty , smelly sock found under the bed. I would say it's been there for quite some time, given the strong aroma and crusty feel to it. Views of Princes Street ? image having tunnel vision, then that's the view we had, due to the buildings outside. Not exactly what we had pictured before arrival or as described on the site. Would we stay there again ? maybe, but looking at Fraser suites on the Royal Mile for our next visit.

    Location great. Staff 1st class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    60 or so stone spiral stairs to climb to get to 3rd floor apt.

    Great location, top quality comfortable apartment. Plenty of space for our family. Great view from bay window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.4
    Big apartment in a good location but very basic furnishings which weren't clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment - Holyrood (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't clean, there was dust and dirt in lots of places. There was someone's popcorn in the potpourri, the kitchen was really basic, the dishwasher didn't work,we had a balcony but had no access to it and the price was really high for the standard. I've stayed in a lot nicer, cheaper apartments in Edinburgh with a great location. I wouldn't stay again. I was expecting luxury for £800 for three nights. It should have been 500 Max

    The size and location was good and three bathrooms. The top floor was cool and different too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a nice apartment but maybe not the best for a young family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the apartment didn't quite look like the pictures and when we had to move one of the beds slightly, it was really dirty / dusty beneath it.

    Location was great as it was near the main sights and also near the train station. Apartment was quite spacious and was properly equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    excellent apartment very close to the major attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent apartment very close to the major attractions, Most within walking distance . Also the apartment is about 5-10 minutes walk from edinburgh waverly station. Rooms quite spacious and clean. crockeries supplied were ample.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    4.6
    Coming home
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows in the bedrooms would not open, the main shower was either red hot or freezing cold, the electric kept tripping, there was no grill pan and the utensils were very spare! The noise from the pub next door on a morning when the bottles were being empty was really bad.

    Coming home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.1
    The space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Victoria Street
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cheap beds, overall the apartment was a bit shabby and lacking any real attention to details that could have made it special. Not enough toiletries for length or stay and No hand soap, pillows were pathetic. Incorrect Location of unit

    The space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great Value for money Apartment in the heart of the old city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, apart from the toilet wash dispenser. It was coming off every time we were pushing it. Of course it didn't bother us at all!!!

    Excellent communication to arrange visit and during our stay there. We stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment at old fishmarket close. The apartment had everything we needed. super clean. very comfy beds. right at the royal mile with so many options to dine and drink nearby. cant fault it at all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the area and the staff. Apartment lovely but needs areas looked at if it wants to be classed l
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of dust under beds... bathrooms not as clean as they could have been. Windows in some rooms couldn't stay open. Smell of stale vomit in hallway. Stairwell carpet dirty.

    The location and apartment were lovely. The apartment was tired in some places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff, nice cafes right across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was far away from the reception (at Old Tolbooth Wynd), which is quite unamusing with heavy luggage and cobblestones all the way. The toilet and one bed was dirty. One of the mattresses was saggy. The dishwasher was broken.

    Friendly staff, nice cafes right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent, and space in the apartment is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot water system was very noisy as were the internal doors (impossible to move around quietly at night)

    Location is excellent, and space in the apartment is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to walk about 5 minutes to the apartment, where we stayed one night. The boiler for the house was between our bedrooms and very loud, so we could not sleep when someone was showering.

    The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Apartment fabulous and great spot. Communication poor via email not an easy check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment - Holyrood (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in poor communication

    Asked about parking just standard reply which was no help. Found on arrival after parking the car in car park a fair way away that the apartment I had booked had free parking on site. Very annoyed as had had lunch + wine. Check in very restricted too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor make some noise when walking around in the apartment. You could also hear people walking around from the apartment above.

    Lots of space. 2 bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent and would definitely return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from the apartment you could see right up the royal mile ,the apartment was very spacious and had everything you needed.could not fault these apartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    Good kitchen area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couches quite small. Beds quite low down and found pillows/mattress too soft, no support.

    Good kitchen area. 3 bathrooms in 2 bedroom apartment. Friendly staff in office. Easy checkout as I was able to post the keys through the apartment door without needing to go back to the office.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to be fair it was all clean and tidy and all round amazing for your money

    Bed was so comfy and it was beautifuly furnished. Lovely place and it had a great view from my window

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    The quaintness and location of the apartment enhanced our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The directions to the office could have been better- perhaps using landmarks or stores. It seemed hidden. It stated it slept five, but two were on a sleeper sofa, which aren’t very comfortable. I am not sure if that was stated - if not, it should be.

    The location was perfect as it was right on the Royal Mile and close to everything. The apartment was modern, clean and comfortable. When checking out, we were told we had the option to leave the key in the apartment. Which was really convenient. The check- in people were extremely nice, informative and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Location was really good in the middle of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was really good in the middle of the old town. Easy access to Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle, Whisky Experience etc. Bus from the airport brings you to Waverley Station and it takes 5 min to walk to the apartment. We came after office hours and key box was easy to find and use. St. Giles Cathedral can be seen directly from the apartment windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.1
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Canongate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The advertising is so mis leading, you’re told St Giles apartment but it’s not. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment but there was no ‘master bedroom’ I thought for £400 for 2 nights there would be an en suite also! No mirror in the back bedroom at all either. There was a hand book to tell you the local food places but no explanation of what to do after you leave, so we strip the beds? Do we wash up and tidy up? Or not? I would come to Edinburgh again but I wouldn’t stay there again just because of the price, even though you have your own space, it was a lot to pay for what you got.

    There was lots of space, the location of our apartment itself was good, close enough to the town but quiet enough to get some peace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Victoria Street
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Telly kept losing signal and washing machine dryer takes ages to dry clothes.

    Lovely place. Comfortable bed linens! Complete kitchen stuff. My family who came to visit from California loved the apartment! I will recommend St.Giles to my friends and family!!! Thank you to Byers Close office- they were so kind and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed by all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift, should have thought - we have a member who found the stairs difficult. I would also comment on the construction site next door, although noise wasn't an issue I imagine that when the building is more advanced this will cast shadow and make the apartment very dark.

    Great location for sight seeing and very comfortable for relaxing after a long day on your feet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was not where you think. That is only for the keys. Apartment could be anywhere and you don't know in advance where it will be.

    Very nice apartment Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    Logistics are hassle but quality is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aptt address here is the office address and your apartment can be anywhere on 15 minutes walk. I arrived after hours and it was a huge hassle to obtain keys. If logistics work out, apt is good.

    Apartment was clean, well kept and is good for a family. Nice 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable beds and apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so far from the main street. We had to walk quite far after collecting our keys. We didn't know how far it would be. Also there was no fire starter for the stove so we had to go out and buy a lighter to light the gas stove. No cheap convenience stores nearby to do this either.

    Comfortable beds and apartment. spacious and lots of stuff for cooking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few things that could have been improved in the apartment: There was no tea towel!! It would also be helpful to provide things like washing up liquid & salt & pepper. It was dissapointing that there was no cloths dryer.

    Location was excellent & comfort was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    The staff that received us was super nice and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Victoria Street
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff that received us was super nice and helpful, provided us wit maps and advice to go around. We went to the apartment, located in one of the most interesting streets of Edimburgh and when we got in... it was just beautiful: huge space in rooms, beautiful kitchen and living room and an amazing bathroom! we couldn´t ask for more!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - St Marys Street
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My mattress was too firm and the 3 flights of spiral stairs were very challenging for some of the guests,especially with cases.

    The space and the view up the Royal Mile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Another excellent trip to Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower could do with an upgrade . Pressure was a bit low . Catches on the windows also needed a little work . Very stiff

    Nice apartment in excellent location. Would recommend and definitely return. Nice touch having water ,milk ,tea and coffee in the apartment on arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    5.8
    We had a fabulous time in Edinburgh it is a lovely city and look forward to returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought all the apartments would by the same and was a little disappointed that only 2 had one bathroom and no ensuite in the main bedroom. Also one apartment was on the top floor with no lift. There was damage to one of the sofas, one bedroom lamp and marks on the carpet in one apartment.

    once we got our bearings a lot to see was in walking distance, everyone was friendly and we were lucky with the weather. Edinburgh is a lovely city and we will definitely return to explore more 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area, first impressions were of graffiti and cigarette butts.

    The apartment was lovely. Check in and out was very efficient. The beds were so comfy. Really lovely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    The location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was overlooking a graveyard! not exactly what a family with small children would like. That was somewhat inconsiderate.

    The location was awesome! walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Castle, Hi Street...and plenty of pubs and restaurants . Apartment was beautiful, very clean, and well equipped even though we did not use the kitchen at all. Perfect for a family. The TV room was separate from the bedrooms, which was much appreciated as I get to have some quiet time and not hear the TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little noisy but didn’t disturb sleeping. Light fixture looked like it was going to fall off in the ensuite room.

    Great location, easy to find, very clean and spacious apartment. As well as friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing stay in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were a few small items of kitchen equipment missing but no major issues.

    Location was superb! Right in the heart of the Royal Mile overlooking the cathedral with very easy access to all the tourist areas, shops and restaurants. The apartment was spacious with huge windows overlooking the cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was kinda uncomfortable.

    I was very happy they were able to accommodate our early check in. The Room was very tidy and spacious. It was close to everything, its very easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful apartment in Edinburgh Old Town - full of character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Canongate
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only things we didn't like were small things - the shower cubicle didn't drain quickly enough and nearly overflowed on to floor. Also a few of the lightbulbs in the flat needed to be changed. In addition, one of the windows in the living room is cracked and is awaiting repair. This would not deter us from staying in this beautiful apartment again though!

    We stayed in the lovely apartment at 246 Canongate. Location was excellent and perfect for exploring the Old Town. We felt like it was our home soon after arriving with a comfortable bed in each bedroom and a relaxing large living room with great sofas. Kitchen was fully equipped and was a great place to cook a breakfast each morning. Bathroom was fitted nicely and was also very big. Wifi was fast and big TV had Netflix. Check in was easy and staff were more than helpful and friendly. The apartment was also serviced and we got fresh towels and linen during our stay. We were sad to leave!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Good location clean and comfortable for friends or a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed everything.

    We arrived and had a very easy check in. The apartment on arrival was very bright and you could control the heating yourself. The beds very comfortable and room bright and airy. The kitchen was well equipped. This is a very well located base for your time in Edinburgh. I would highly recommend this apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    Served our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - St Giles
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor a little tired for 4* accommodation, cleanliness wasn’t to as high a standard as I would expect for that star rating

    Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    A fabulous stay & would love to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Fishmarket
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I thought was missing was either a radio or docking station to play music!

    The rooms were immaculate! Really spacious and comfortable apartment! The reception couldn't have been any more helpful-excellent customer service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.1
    Was ok but was expecting a higher standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Old Tolbooth Wynd
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The couches in the living room where not the greatest. Also I found the booking to be very secretive about the location of the apartment while booking and hard to find accurate pictures of the apartment. Also on looking at the advert for the luxury apartment it comes across as the address is on The Royal Mile for the apartment. Also the road and the way into the apartment was closed for maintenance and I had to take s very narrow street under an archway and scratched my Car because it was so narrow

    free parking was good

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St Giles Apartments Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: