Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St. Giles House 4 stars

41-45 St Giles Street, Norwich, NR2 1JR, United Kingdom

#2 of 21 hotels in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1064 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for facilities and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speed of the staff and knowledge of the staff was poor. The apartment was a walk from the hotel which is fine on a sunny day but miserable in the rain. No maid service. No spa facilities.

    The location and the facilities in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Location in Norwich
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments not located in Giles house Bathroom of the 1 bed apartment was small and grouting was black - I refused to stay in room Reception staff not very responsive to any issues raised Beds not that comfortable No breakfast included and For 145.00 I thought it did not represent value for money

    Location in Norwich

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.0
    On the whole a enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was a bit hard to find and I feel that the charge of £5 was not necessary.

    Ideal location in Norwich, very comfortable bed and enjoyed a drink on the terrace on our return at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location but not convinced on value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entry to hotel from the car park was very "tradesman entrance", not the nicest public area, was dated and not in the style of the reception. From that direction of entering the building you approach reception from behind & that view was messy and unprofessional looking compared to street entrance. Felt poor value from first impression. Room rate did not include breakfast despite the booking not stating either way. Belatedly we were told we could pay to have breakfast.

    Fabulous location. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    This represents very poor value for money and is extremely outdated and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is jaded and very out of date and very expensive in comparison to other similar rated hotels. The furniture in the rooms and throughout the hotel is a mish mash and shoddy at times. Art work is cheap and unstylish. The beds are useless as are the cheap voile curtains. It represents poor value for money.the staff however tried hard so can only assume its poor ownership investment. Its struck me as being complacent because of lack of local competition. Travelodge is better than this!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more toilet paper in the bathroom .

    We really enjoyed our stay . The room was lovely with air conditioning and the hotel had lots of small outside areas as well as the main bar and restaurant . Just wish we could have had more times .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Norwich Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel couldn't be in a better location in the city. The room we were given was lovely and extremely comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome. We will definitely be back and would happily recommended a stay here to anyone 😊👍.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were a bit threadbare in places with no lining, so when the same came up, so did we! I booked the hotel initially because it had a spa, so I booked a massage. Unfortunately, the massage was cancelled so that was disappointing. These things happen.

    Great location and a nice comfortable room with a huge bathroom and shower cubicle. The champagne cocktails in the bar were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The frying pan is old and not flat which made cooking difficult at times especially when frying steak.

    Very good location, convenient as it’s close to town centre. Apartment very clean, staff very friendly especially house keeping who is extremely efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Go here! Avoid the Georgian wing
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stiff old Georgian windows and no air conditioning, on a busy street, pavement right under our window - had to choose between broiling all night or being kept awake. Plastic sequin still on the carpet from previous room occupant. The Full English breakfast was completely different from one day to the next so I don't think the chefs talk. When their restaurant closed at 9 they had no data on optional restaurants still open in town and suggested takeaway - but were unable to tell us how to find one of those, either.

    The main reception, the ceiling lights, the bar, the staff. Every member of staff that we interacted with could not have been more lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Period features in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in an awkward part of the hotel and required walking up and down stairs to get to the room, when the garden door was closed. Breakfast should have been complementary for price of the room.

    Great bathroom, comfy bed, lovely garden. Good bar, friendly and welcoming staff. Also the location is brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel - shame about the curtains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside for us was the thickness of the curtains - they were not lined which meant we were awoken at 5.30 am with the sunlight blazing through them. I expected better from a hotel of this standard.

    Everything else was very good. The bar staff in particular were lovely. The location of the hotel couldn't be better with the shops and restaurants just a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and the apartment was beautiful and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was my first time in this hotel I would have appreciated if a employee could have taken me to the apartment as it wasnt in the hotel it self. I had to call a few times as I got lost looking for the apartment. After a long day I didnt really need the headache.

    Staff were very friendly and the apartment was beautiful and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was great lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a "King Room" here on booking. Com but it seemed like a cosy double to me. The King Room showed a bath but we didn't get one..

    Location was great lovely hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Better than expected, nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are all different so everyone's experiences are different! My bathroom was a bit dated, had scratches in the shower but it all worked well and there was good water pressure!

    Bed was comfy, lighting was nice and there was a little balcony!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    One of the best apartments I’ve stayed in. Thank you St Giles House.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if there was a washer dryer rather than just washing machine. Directions to the apartment could been simpler and clearer. The weather was warm so it was a bit stuffy but absolutely fine with the window open and it was still really quiet. A little sachet of washing machine detergent would have been really helpful. With a two bedroom apartment having two double beds would have been better than a single in the second room so apartment would suit maximum of 3 people.

    Spacious, very clean. Good showers and very quiet. It felt like a home away from home and the couch and beds were super comfortable. Would absolutely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Get a room at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant noise. Motorcycle engines revving; drunk people; obnoxiously, inconsideratly noisy (sober) people; car doors slamming. You would think that a hotel with rooms facing a busy road (not constant traffic, but plenty of the above mentioned) would have more in place than original sash windows and mediocre secondary glazing.

    Bed and bathroom facilities were great, no saggy mattress, bath (with hand shower) and separate cubicle shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    I definitely will chose another hotel to stay in Norwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unpleasant staff. The room is OK but nothing special, for the price they ask, one can have better rooms in other hotels in Norwich. If you ask to stay half an hour longer they ask you to pay 50 pounds! And in a very unfriendly way. Don't be surprised if they ask you to pay £2, 50 for the newspaper, very bad management indeed. They ask you what kind of newspaper you would like to get in the morning, it is a service offered in all good hotels, as it is included in the already high price of the room, then before you leave they ask you to pay for it in an unpleasant manner. But obviously this is not a good hotel. Also their breakfast is expensive and you cannot have a cafe' expresso nor a cappuccino, you have to pay extra!!! Never seen anything so ridiculous! Ridiculous management, whoever runs this hotel should be ashamed of keeping such unfriendly staff and making guests to pay extra for an expresso on top of the price they already paid for the breakfast . They must tell the guests that they have to pay for the newspaper and pay extra for an expresso or a cappuccino as it is really SIMPLY RIDICULOUS and very poor management to ask the guest when he/she is checking out of the hotel. The staff doesn't care at all, they just reply that it is the way it is and they couldn't care less about the complaint!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    I love everything! staff was lovely, room was comfortable and welcoming and it was super clean! Good value for money and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and quiet apartment. No AC. To expensive.
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only realized upon arrival that we were not staying AT the hotel but rather in another street, where the apartments are located. Short walk, but nevertheless not what we expected. No toiletries then! No air conditioning! Way to expensive compared to alternatives.

    The apartment was in a quiet neighborhood, and it was immaculately clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having paid via booking site, was then told we had to pay as different card used. Turned out we were charged twice! Now waiting to get my money back.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had an excellent two night stay & would have liked longer, next time we hope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the the bed too firm for my comfort, no give at all like sleeping on a board, but my sister in her room with similar bed was happy & had a good nights sleep, proof its difficult to please everyone. At our evening meal in the dining room the noise from the bar was extremely intrusive on our dinner conversation.

    Size of room & decor excellent, ensuite excellent, towels etc. all very good plus mirror and clock nice touch. Helpful friendly service, staff all delightful, went out of their way to please. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay for central location to explore Norwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room became quite hot in the night but having the window open was noisy from street below. An electric fan would be really useful.

    Fabulous central location. Loved the roof terrace for drinks. Bathroom was huge and bedroom nicely decorated. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was OK but let itself down on the extra service touches you'd expect at this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was average for a hotel of this level: - Why tack on a previously unstated £5 parking fee at checkout when you could have told us at checking and added it to the cc bill then? Leaves a bad taste in the mouth. - I understand checkin is 3pm. But if a guest arrives early you could at least explain the room is not ready yet, or check to see if it is ready and let the guest check in early. Because you didn't we had to plan a walk back to the hotel to unpack our stuff - breaking up the only time we had to spend in town. Sure - check in is not until 3. Fine. Great service would have seen someone try and let us in early without us having to ask (we didn't ask because the sign on the desk made it pretty clear not to). Also our room: - hot - noisy (from street with window open) - bed had a weird fitted cover on it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too hot and no obvious temperature controls in the room. Managed to open a window. Not bothered enough by it to ask for assistance however.

    Lovely building in fantastic central location with parking (extra £5). Nice decor and spotlessly clean. Friendly helpful staff. Did not try restaurant or breakfast as loads of great places in the city to eat nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but it could have been lovely with a few tweaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was ok but the staff could have been more polished and more welcoming. It’s a late check in at 3pm when a lot of hotels are 2 and 2.30pm so you drop luggage off and go back when it’s time. Only one of us went back, I needed to be elsewhere and my friend walks with a stick and it’s a good distance from the hotel and reception desk and no one offered to help and then they gave him the wrong key and he walked in on another couple and reception wanted him to go back and get the right key and only when he refused did someone come across to him. No one checked we were happy throughout our stay. The selection of tea and coffee sachets were poor not even enough for 2 throughout our stay no biscuits. There were no toiletries offered so I was grateful I had taken mine. The kettle stopped working which resulted in lots of calls into reception. The ensuite shower refused to get hot whatever we did. It wasn’t the luxury stay we had expected and didn’t offer value for money. We could have stayed elsewhere in a good location for less.

    The beds are lovely and comfortable and the apartment offers plenty of space and is very clean and is in a good location for visiting the city of Norwich.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall and enjoyable stay in a quirky hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a bit lost in the warren of corridors and slight smell of drains in the bathroom And oddly smelling lift.

    We had a lovely room spacious and comfortable. Lovely staff great location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Lovely overnight stay with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd plug situation at the dressing table, with an extension lead hanging down.

    Excellent overnight stay. Comfy bed with a huge bathroom. Lovely terrace for afternoon drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Could do with a re-furb. They need to sort out the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the place was superficially clean, there was a lot of ground-in dirt in the carpet and mould spots in the bathroom etc etc. I liked the look of the hotel online and, while I knew the apartments were separate, I expected them to be of a roughly similar standard... but our apartment didn't really live up to that. The apartment wasn't terrible - but neither was it a place we particularly wanted to spend time. It felt to me like it needed a general refurb. The main annoyance, however, was the parking. There is parking available for the apartments but not enough and on both evenings the places were full by the time we needed one. We were then told we couldn't use the hotel parking as it was reserved for hotel guests – which seems a bit ridiculous given that the apartments are marketed as being linked to the hotel. We were left with having to park on the street which had a 2 hour restriction. This meant we had to plan our weekend around moving the car. I think there's an NCP nearby which might have been a better option but we were informed at the hotel that it was very expensive (although we didn't check that). If you're travelling to Norwich by train, the apartment would be sort of okay. If you're driving, I'd suggest getting your parking sorted before you travel. Otherwise you may find you're spending more time moving your car around than enjoying the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    St Giles hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressure in shower in the evening at all, so couldn't shower after a very warm.day followed by a hot music gig. Disappointing.

    Everything else about our King Room was wonderful. Lovely tea and coffee selection with biscuits. Great breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Well located hotel with both New and Old rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the plumbing, shower, needed updating.

    Well located hotel with both New and Old rooms. Traffic noise was present with rooms overlooking main road. Staff were exceptionally helpful and could not do enough for you and dealt well with any problems we had. Will visit again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Apartment facilities great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were unfriendly and rather abrupt and impatient. This is not what I would expect at a 5 star hotel. They should have been friendly and helpful and welcoming and shown us to our room as they were out of the hotel and difficult to find.

    Apartment facilities great. Very useful having a kitchen and lounge. Location perfect for the city. Very nice apartment with homely furniture and homeware.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful apartment, wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartments are a bit of a walk for anyone with difficulty in walking. It took us a while to find the apartment (dark, 9pm with an elderly Mother) and no one had explained how to actually get in the building. I would recommend that the hotel offers to escort people to the door and let them in.

    Spaciousness of the apartment was splendid. Fresh, new and lovely interior design.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely couple running the place who really want you to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely couple running the place who really want you to have a good experience. 2 minute walk from beach and swimming pool. Breakfast was top quality with great coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Great location, lovely hotel venue, terrible apartment and extremely poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation we stayed in (the hotel's apartment behind the hotel) was very poor - although very nicely appointed and clean, there was no hot water for the entire time we stayed over the weekend. Despite raising this with the hotel manager as soon as we discovered there was no hot water, the problem was never fixed and the manager refused to give me a refund. Terrible, really uncomfortable single bed too - I will not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

    The location is great, the staff in the bar were really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place but avoid it If there is a wedding on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise and behaviour of a very boisterous wedding party ! Awful group swearing excessively . Waiters and staff were run off their feet .There were a few issues with our dinner at the restaurant which I brought to the attention of the waiter . We were given 20% off the starters and mains . I've just seen on website that there is 20% off the a la carte this month anyway so I am very cross about that . The meals were like warm and had items missing from them . It wasn't the service that I'm used to really , very disappointed

    Beautiful hotel loved the terrace area . Rooms and bathroom fantastic .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Could have been much better at the "meet and greet" part but overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were poor - not very welcoming, and a lack of system/organisation. They are the first impression and should do better. Did not object to car parking charge of £5 for one night but should be made clearer regarding this when booking on-line,

    Restaurant staff were very good - pleasant, friendly. Quite liked the quirky character of the building and a very good location for access to Norwich City Centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    lovely building, sort of luxury decadence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff not experienced (had issues at the room check in, spa, and also as for room cleaning ) , bad breakfast (coffee in particular was undrinkable) and, overall, the hotel seems to have a bad management . A level of service and attention very poor, that I was not expecting in a 4stars hotel. I have checked some of the latest `bad` review and i agree with most of the points raised

    lovely building, sort of luxury decadence

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, parking available (Not always the case...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the en-suite was spacious and the shower worked well, it is starting to look a bit 'tired'.

    Excellent location, parking available (Not always the case in Norwich city centre hotels), Comfy bed, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area doesn’t feel right and a horrible smell of drains! I think the hotel is looking tired and dated, it definitely needs a makeover!

    The location is perfect, staff are very friendly and attentive. Had the best cocktail I’ve ever tasted, Modern Royal!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable. Good food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking charge and time restrictions, even when the park had plenty of spaces. Making your own toast at breakfeast Smoked haddock was a very small portion

    Postion. comfort. Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were miserable and not helpful at all. Charged us for parking and we had been told it was free.

    We stayed in the apartment across the road. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    WiFi Problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi problem, please see above. The hotel should consider changing to a more reliable internet provider.

    We booked the apartment for about two weeks. The WiFi was down after a few days and couldn’t be fixed promptly. We had some urgent tasks to do for the rest of our stay and must had WiFi which the property promised. At first, the manager arranged a twin bedroom for us in the hotel hoping the WiFi could be fixed soon. Unfortunately this was not the case. As we need two desks to do our work, the manager moved us to a bigger room in the hotel while keeping the apartment for us as we had a lot of food in the fridge/freezer. The WiFi was not properly fixed by the time we left though we could use the hotspot for the last two days in the apartment. The manager was super nice and tried to help wherever possible but the problem was out of his control. The staff were great and helpful too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel very convenient for City centre and the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning/heater a little on the noisy side. Would have been nice to be offered hot water to replenish the breakfast tea. Requested crispy bacon but this was rather burnt around the edges.

    Lovely room with a large bathroom. Good selection on offer for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good start, ruined by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and restaurant staff were arguing together after we had our breakfast about where we should pay the balance, this was totally unprofessional in front of customers and more than that I had to go and pick up a menu myself to prove that my friend only needed to pay £9.95 for a continental breakfast rather than £14.95 as they didn’t believe me?! Before this happened the stay was pleasant and we maybe would have gone back again. Only one member of staff, a young girl who I didn’t get her name was professional and looked as if she had some care for her customers, other than that the girl working as the waitress for breakfast and the hotel manager and older gentlemen were horrendous.

    The apartments were value for money and very private.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Perfect place to stay to be in the city centre and with parking available at £5 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information from Booking.com was not accurate. There was no minibar, DVD or CD player in the room. Also misleading as champagne and chocolates are mentioned but these are at an extra cost.

    Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great short term stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent, room was clean and very spacious. Only criticism was that the room was very hot and stuffy in the night but as we were in the front of the building overlooking the road it was noisy to open the windows. Car parking was free through Genius incentive at Booking.com but apparently that is no longer going to continue and as we had already received an email confirming they had to abide by it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a very comfortable room in superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved my room but rather noisy at night with people passing and noise from room above. Realise hotel cannot help this!

    Lovely comfy bed and room with gorgeous shower room. Loved the outside space for warm summer days!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall a very enjoyable stay, St Giles Hotel is very centrally located for visiting Norwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light over the bathroom mirror. Bedrooms in the old part can only be accessed by stairs, no lift!

    Very comfortable large bedroom with an amazing walk in shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for central Norwich with a lovely room and cheap parking but not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive and breakfast not included. Staff were ok but could have been friendlier, especially the bar man. Vegetarian sausages were very weird. Not sure anyone wants frozen vegetables for breakfast!

    Parking very cheap- £5 for over 24 hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    I didn't like booking through you paying £125.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like booking through you paying £125.00 placed in the back accommodation no breakfast included when I could have paid £135 direct with breakfast and in the main hotel. what is the point of Booking .COM

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great location for our needs. Welcoming bar and restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given that the car park is very difficult to find (and I used to live in Norwich), reception should have been able to talk me through accessing it and a route to exit I think. One particular member of the reception staff couldn’t help me as ‘she didn’t drive’! Probably not the best response to give a guest, particularly if they are not from the area, I was fortunate to have some knowledge. Training should be given on this aspect to be able to talk guests to the car park as and when necessary. A map of local streets highlighting road restrictions should be made available, in order to navigate out of the City as well. £5 charge per day is a bit over the top as well!

    The location was exactly what I needed. Staff within the restaurant and bar were fantastic, very friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice but would have preferred better service with the amount we were paying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful. No proper written directions were given as to where the apartment was and no one took us to the apartment which would have made it easier. One of the receptionists even left the hotel as we were at the end of checking in so she could have directed us.

    The apartment was comfy, big and spacious and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    spacious modern clean apartment, friendly informative staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking in the hotel car park instead of being offered the option of parking at the back of the apartment. bit of a walk from the car with handfuls of luggage

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value apartment in a handy location for exploring Norwich on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the easiest place to locate on foot arriving at night, the receptionist tried to be helpful but going out of the back of the hotel, through the car park & locating the apartment wasn't that easy in the dark. So much easier in daylight. Whilst the apartment was stylish and well furnished there could have been more china. Plenty of pans & cooking equipment but not enough plates & dishes. The single bedroom had no curtains or clothes storage.

    I stayed in a two bedroomed apartment with my sister-in-law. The apartment was quite roomy and very clean. The weather was cold whilst we were there & the apartment was warm and welcoming. A good location for exploring Norwich on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car Park looks like a war zone. The entrance at the back is scruffy and uninspiring followed, on entrance, by bland, boring corridors. The room was spacious but badly in need of renovation with cracks in the ceiling, mould in the wet room, appallingly grouted bath fittings, stained bed throw, curtains that didn’t fit the window, scruffy water stained furniture, peeling ceilings and more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing! We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay.

    Secured parking was immediately behind the hotel (a little difficult to find - just enter '61 Pottergate' into a sat nav and the entrance is on the right). The hotel reception staff (who answered all of my emails very swiftly) confirmed that we could arrive during the morning (i.e. before the official check-in time of 3pm), park the car in the car park, leave our luggage at reception (which would then be taken to our room), and have a stroll around Norwich. On checking out, the reception staff were happy to let us leave our luggage with them, and leave our car in the car park whilst we enjoyed another few hours of sightseeing - returning later to pick up the luggage and car to return home. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel (because of the vast numbers of eateries & bars in the city centre - and the hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the city centre's attractions (cathedral, castle, market, theatre, shops ......), but the bar & restaurant looked very inviting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for visiting Nottingham, just off the ringroad, Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms lovely bathroom, secure parking, breakfast excellent value, great location a few minutes walk from the centre and some good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful, without exception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and helpful, without exception. It struck me as a happy place to work, and the atmosphere reflected that. Staff went out of their way to make us welcome and looked after, but they were also friendly and chatty, which is so much nicer than just courteous (which they were too). It made a real difference, and was the reason we stayed in to eat supper too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Meh.. Process compliance trumps guest experience....not geared towards solo female business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in - please may I pay extra...:) On check-in on late cold evening – I was advised out that the apartment was not in the same building as the hotel. The instructions from reception on it’s location seemed a little vague, nor was there an offer to show me where it was. I didn’t fancy trying to locate this in the dark so – I asked if I could PAY EXTRA to upgrade to a room in the hotel. The reception answer was initially ‘we have free rooms’ but ‘no we can not allow you to switch even if you are prepared to pay more’ ‘we get in trouble’ for doing that. I pleaded, and she sighed ‘OK just this once’. I got the room, but I have the sense that the staff may be under a lot of pressure to follow process. Check-Out (The great escape) I had breakfast - where I provided my room number. On checkout – I offered my card - and was told there was nothing more to pay. (No other questions or clarifications, nor was an invoice provided) Unfortunately – it turned out that the restaurant had not updated the internal system, so reception didn’t realise the breakfast had not been added to my charges. As no receipt was offered at checkout, neither did I realise this. Later the day of checkout I had a very pleasant voice mail asking me to phone back so they could charge my card for breakfast. (I phoned the day after I checked out & settled up) I was at back to back business meetings for the day, so could not immediately phone back. Later that same day I had a rather sharp email (see below) - essentially saying that I had not respected their policies and implying that I had deliberately absconded without paying. My view is that mistakes like this happen – but in this case I think the mistake was not solely on my side. I had not problem at all with paying for breakfast, no problem with getting a voice mail or email reminder – my concern is more about the style of email, and speed of escalation within 1 day.

    Room was clean. Coffee at breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least the room that I stayed included a lot of stairs so might be an issue with less mobile people.

    Beautiful spacious room, very elegantly decorated. Breakfast was really nice. Freshly baked pastries, fresh fruits and a la carte menu available to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Just wonderful with memories to keep for ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was excellent

    The waiter in the restaurant was excellent, so helpful and the food was gorgeous we just wished we could have eaten it all but were too full. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a nicer way to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold when we were there and the room was draughty. The shower-head was hanging off the wall. No fruit at breakfast on second morning, apart from tinned peaches and some apples and bananas. Very hard to find the way out of the car park because of road closures (not hotel’s fault).”

    Friendly and helpful staff. Central location. Biggest and prettiest bathroom I’ve ever seen in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Since my daughter studied at UEA, my wife in thinking to stay your apartment in next winter to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room key did not work properly. I had to hustle to lock the key every time. Amenity such as shampoo, conditionar, soap were not prepared in the room. Hot water did not come out in the bathtab.

    Though the apartment was away from the hotel, We were more than satisfied with the room's interior and facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Both hotel and apartments are good. Confusion over parking hindered my stay. Wasted time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion over the parking and I was Given conflicting messages by different staff. It should be made clear when booking the apartment that you cannot park at the hotel. The multitude of apartments have 6 parking spaces. Hotel talked about charging me. They almost lost a long term customer over it!

    I stay at St Giles a few times a year. I recently stayed in an apartment for the first time. The apartment itself was perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel... carpark a nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark is extremely difficult to find if you’re not familiar with the area! I rang reception and the person on the desk wasn’t very helpful and told me I’d got it wrong!

    The room was amazing! The bathroom was my favourite part! So gorgeous!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    Left me with a real sense of sadness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think this venue is incorrectly too assured in its reputation, resulting in a lack of the personal touch, a sense of deflation and a feeling of real disappointment. I made it clear when I made the booking that this was a very special occasion for my husband and I, but no effort was made to personalise our stay. Our room was on the ground floor, right on the street, so a constantly disturbed nights sleep with traffic and noise outside. The room was stuffy. Breakfast was nice but the coffee was dreadful. Little details like dead flowers on the restaurant tables sound minor but speak volumes. Polite staff but no sense of sincerity. I just felt like a wallet on a conveyor belt. It’s in a good location for an evening on the tiles, but don’t book it in the expectation that it will enhance a special occasion. Instead, choose somewhere that remembers it still needs to try. I feel very sad about my visit.

    It was clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A very nice, rather costly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a shame the cost of breakfast is no longer included in the room rate-£250 for two nights is very expensive, with the cost of breakfast added it costs more than £300.....

    The parking is really convenient. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel and perfect location, ruined by poor customer focus and patronising, unhelpful manner
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misleading as advert suggests British breakfast is included, but it is not. I booked and paid thinking breakfast was included - this needs to be made clearer. They wouldn't even offer a complimentary coffee on my way out :). I didn't need a free breakfast, but they could have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. Also misleading advert as talked about 'complimentary car parking' but then also says it costs £5 (although we didn't get charged as in the apartments this is free). They missed my request for a room with a bath and had to amend the room once I had already checked in (they hadn't read it). The fridge was dirty inside, and I left a beer in the fridge when I checked out, when I rang up they "couldn't find it". We asked for an extra hour on check out but this was denied (even though I do not believe the room was booked the next night) - we would have happily paid extra. Sadly, the staff had a very poor manner and were not courteous or concerned about customer satisfaction (worse than any other high end hotel I've experienced). Very slow to reply to emails (over 1 day). It's the little things, that don't cost a lot that make a BIG difference. Really disappointing as it's a lovely hotel! The staff seem unhappy to work there, which is reflected in their manner. Sorry to be negative.

    Location was excellent, spacious rooms and quite well equipped. Espresso machine would be most welcome. Room was clean (apart from fridge).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, great location and lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was mildly outdated and the bedroom could of been abit bigger. The towels provided were nice but abit small.

    The bathroom was gorgeous, however the actual room could of done with abit of updating. The room had a DVD player and plenty of lighting which was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff very pleasant, building and finishes very cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not the easiest to find, so allow a bit of time - but it is a City Centre. Had a slight issue - but Manager responded in a timely and polite manner

    Staff very pleasant, building and finishes very cool. Right in the City - which has loads of quirky shopping/cafes/pubs Would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent service and great staff ,the bar is open for as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent service and great staff ,the bar is open for as long as you are there and nothing is too much effort we were also able to leave our luggage there before and after check in and check out very well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation close to the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to check in at St Giles House first of all. We were given instructions to drive to the apartments but they weren’t very clear to drive to. Written instructions could have saved some time.

    We stayed in the apartments owned by St Giles House in Pottergate. The apartment was very clean, had everything that we needed including a full kitchen and was very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in great location but awful bed & shower mean I can’t recommend & won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worst hotel bed I’ve slept on (or not!) in a very long time. I like a firm mattress but it was so hard my partner and I both had an awful nights sleep, and had sore hips the next day! I didn’t like the shower, the head was a bit pathetic and a tiny touch of the control changed it from cold to scolding, especially annoying when the position of it meant it was easy to accidentally knock it while showering. Breakfast was pretty good value but took really long to arrive (even though it wasn’t busy at all).

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Staff were friendly and the decor and atmosphere in the hotel are really nice. I liked that the room had a proper hairdryer and dressing gowns.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Very traditional hotel . Excellent service . Rooms were very comfortable and clean . Good size too .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in my room ☹️

    Free parking . Breakfast was lovely with a choice of cooked breakfasts . Room was a good size and comfortable . Couldn’t use spa as was fully booked .

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St. Giles House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: