Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Marguerite 4 stars

The Riviera, Paignton, TQ4 5EX, United Kingdom

#32 of 75 hotels in Paignton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant one night stay, nice room, owners very friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small TV on very low unit so very difficult to watch in bed, needs to be put on a wall bracket in the corner or higher unit.

    comfy bed, large room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous,fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Robbie &Jane Robbie greeted us with a very warm smiley face, felt at ease straight away. He cooks a fantastic breakfast. Robbie gaves us pointers on where to go to eat, which we took him up on, little old fashion very English pub.Excellent food. Also places well worth visiting, if you had enough of driving, take a day trip on the local bus all day £5 each, they go anywhere, fun. On our last day breakfast time this is when we meet Jane, very nice to talk to shame we didn’t meet her earlier,. Very nice people. Sure to go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation, food and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to report.

    A excellent couple, very friendly, food best to order, after catering ourselves for years could not find a fault with anything, booked for next year very pleased.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic B&B in Paignton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean & comfortable. Great sized family room. Owners are lovely - so welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, there was a great choice of cooked and uncooked items. The location was perfect, just 10 mins walk to Paignton seafront. This B&B is situated on a quite side street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The stay was superb would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about it

    The breakfast was excellent everything about it was lovely The location was superb you couldn't have wished for anything more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Perfect breakfast...v comfortable bed. Host could not have been friendlier. Just a little walk to beach and quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and friendly with a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was superb. Good position not too close to the hustle and bustle but in easy level walking distance of local amenities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Highly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - all excellent

    Excellent hosts, comfortable and exceptionally clean room. Superb breakfast in the morning. Close to town and railway station. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant hosts and brilliant food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we arrived late in the evening all of the parking spaces in the road were taken so we had to park one street away. Luckily it was not raining.

    We only stayed for the one night and we did not arrive until 21:00 hrs as agreed. We were greeted very well and had a good night's rest. I had scrambled eggs on toast for breakfast and my wife had poached eggs. They were both cooked to perfection, in fact they were perfect. Booking out was easy as we had already paid. The hosts were very informative and gave us some good tips as to where to go locally in the morning before we moved on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, great hosts, comfortable accommodation, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything. Very pleasant and thoughtful hosts, spotlessly clean and great value accommodation. A very nice cooked breakfast and home made marmalade which was super. I'll be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    St Marguerite - couldn't ask for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - really tranquil but with in easy reach of town centre & short stroll to the beach. Fantastic breakfast - really loved the strawberry jam! Really friendly hosts. Lovely spacious room - great power shower - nice little touches : )

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Close to Torquay and Dartmouth but way more reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't really find anything about St Marguerite that I didn't like

    Owners take great care of their property as well as their guests. Very nicely updated and exceptionally clean room. Owners are very easy to communicate with and offer plenty of information about surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    A perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault. Jane and Robbie were very welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our breakfast needs. The room and ensuite were immaculate. The location was perfect. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice room to stay in & very nice breakfast to. overall great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    organization on breakfast as requested in message but all fine otherwise as made up great breakfast

    Great breakfast which was suited to my taste as Vegetarian so made up for me,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendky, clean and efficient - fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were lovely and very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with high quality ingredients and cooked with skill and care. A very clean and well looked after place offering fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Fab night's stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed in Paignton a number of times so the only negative I can find was the location was slightly further from the town than other guest houses we have stayed in for the same sort of money.

    Lovely guest house. Spotlessly clean, comfortable king sized bed, power shower, lovely hosts and a fab breakfast in the morning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb accommodation, clean and comfortable. The full English breakfast really was excellent. Good location for a short walk to Paignton harbour and town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was amazing and hosts were extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed very hard which wasn’t good as I have painful joints

    The breakfast was amazing and hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay, close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room unbearably hot overnight.no air con or any air flow

    Nice hosts. Knowledgeable about area. Room comfortable. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly and lovely couple must go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and lovely couple must go back. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    All of it well run nice and clean good food very nice &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was very good

    All of it well run nice and clean good food very nice & friendly would go again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Really friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The wifi was a bit slow

    The amazing hospitality of the owners, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent food, friendly staff, very clean this is my 2nd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent food, friendly staff, very clean this is my 2nd visit, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Small but perfectly formed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet. Parked on road but probably could have parked in small driveway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hosts, excellent property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Hosts are fab. Easy to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Only one night and an an early start back, but I thought it was very pleasant and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very comfy.Location also good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Extremely enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    Very caring and helpful proprietors, clean, comfortable beds, good facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    A home from home stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The comfort and cleanliness. The hosts were very welcoming and very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    excellent accommodation, breakfast and hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Marmalade

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hosts, peaceful nights sleep and gorgeous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely, great portion sizes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door should have been opening not sliding as large people would find the gap difficult.

    Good hearty breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place go stay. Short walk to main shops and seafront. Very nicely run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and very clean accomodation. Great breakfast, all cooked fresh to order. Owners very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and hosts very welcoming. Good location for easy walk to shops, eating places and train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Very nice; would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and cosy - excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast. Friendly and helpful owners a real delight to stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.3
    needed a blown out night out and a surprise visit to see by big sister
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was basic and stuffy a fan would have been nice

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only 5 min walk to train & bus stations never used car all week

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Home from home, a short walk to the beach.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking sometimes difficult.

    The B&B is very homely, breakfasts exceptional, made to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyanle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit awkward

    English breakfast delicous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    lovely owners, great breakfast but didn't sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seagulls waking us up at 5.30 in the morning.

    The people that run it are lovely. Breakfast was great all cooked from fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly hosts and excellent all round one of the best I ve stated in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Excellent room, helpful and friendly hosts , good food would...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect please don't change

    Excellent room, helpful and friendly hosts , good food would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Excellent stay, shame only for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful hosts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful proprietors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. All good.

    Friendly and helpful proprietors. Very good facilities. Even complimentary Cadburys cream eggs left in the bedrooms ( stay was over Easter weekend).

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Jane and Robbie were excellent hosts and made you feel at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Jane and Robbie were excellent hosts and made you feel at home immediately.cleanliness was second to none and breakfast was great which kept you going for most of the day.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Clean and we'll maintained, good sized room, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very warm until we found a way to open the window, would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room.

    Clean and we'll maintained, good sized room, friendly people, nice breakfast. Not near other hotels but peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    This is the best B+B I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Being picky, I would have liked a toilet brush in the bathroom. There is no lounge or bar but we didn't mind.

    This is the best B+B I have ever stayed in. We had a great welcome from Jane and Robbie. The room was spacious and plenty of tea and coffee in room. They even provided us with shower gel.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    I loved the B&B from the second I entered the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I loved the B&B from the second I entered the house. Jane and Rob are great hosts and super friendly! Our room was to die for! I wish we could have stayed another day but had to drive home. I would recommend to anyone to stay at St Maguerite's if who gets in that area! Such a peaceful place! Breakfast was awesome too! Fresh fruit salad topped everything!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    What a lovely gem we stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a lovely gem we stayed at. Rob and jane are great hosts who compliment each other perfectly. The room was spacious clean and comfy. Breakfast wellcooked and plentiful

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    All facilities were clean and in excellent condition, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All facilities were clean and in excellent condition, very friendly owners, in a convenient location. Good knowledge of the local area and great breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    The owners were so welcoming and helpful but there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were so welcoming and helpful but there was a really laid back feel to the place. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfy! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    the room was excellent,the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wouldn't change anything

    the room was excellent,the bed was very comfortable. the owner and staff made us very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Excellent host's
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All good

    Excellent host's

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    Friendly welcome and throughout the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly welcome and throughout the stay. Very comfortable. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.6
    Nice clean room and lovely breakfast
    • Family with older children

    Nice clean room and lovely breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    It was warm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was warm!! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Excellent, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent, would definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    The room was very clean and comfortable bed a fantasic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very clean and comfortable bed a fantasic breakfast and a VERY friendly couple. I would go there again.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.3
    Comfortable bed and nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price

    Comfortable bed and nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    Quiet location friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location and excellent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and excellent room

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    Cleanliness, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a little overpriced but they had made a point that they wanted to attract a good clientele.

    Cleanliness, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    Very hospitable, clean room, comfy bed, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all to dislike

    Very hospitable, clean room, comfy bed, very good breakfast. Overall lovely people & a great stay.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: