Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Mark Hotel 3 stars

4 Barkston Gardens, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW5 0EN, United Kingdom

#852 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1525 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel which gives you the basic comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room is very small and does not fit a lot of people, the room needs to be bigger and spacious. The breakfast provided was okay but could be better. The hotel needs to upgrade their TV services as it was not working properly in my room. The price was okay but I think could be cheaper because of the standard of the rooms and breakfast provided. The hotel is ideal for people who do not care about appearance and the space of the rooms. As me and my friends spent most of the day out the rooms were only used for sleeping.

    The hotel is based in an ideal location with the good links to local transport e.g. bus stop, London underground as well as close to the high street which has good food outlets, cafes, pubs and shops and banks. The hotel rooms are very decent and clean, rooms are decent sizes if you are going with a group of friends. The WiFi has an excellent connection and works perfectly fine. I feel that the price of the hotel was based on the ideal location and links into Central London. The area is also amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Wimbledon Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement room at the back, view out the window, adjacent properties which was not really an issue. However, discarded paint cans and an generator directly outside the window not pleasant giving concern regarding fire hazard etc especially as it was so hot. No wardrobe/hanging space, We had to ask for hangers and use the curtain tie back hooks to hang our clothes on. The shower head could not be positioned to correct height. Wi-Fi poor connection.

    Proximity to the station. Beds were comfortable. Cleanliness good, very basic breakfast, but fine. Staff pleasant. Fine for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, quiet, very nice service and decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift, small rooms, really dirty carpets, mould in the bathroom. It would be quite a nice place if it was simply cleaner and renovated.

    Great location, quiet, very nice service and decent breakfast (good coffee).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Good location for Earls Court tube for all major tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite simply dirty. Not sure when the stair carpets were last hoovered never mind cleaned. I was fully aware that this was a budget hotel but l still expected it to be clean. Very disappointed. Unfortunately l didn’t take any photos.

    Good location for Earls Court tube for all major tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good value but a bit run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room could have been cleaner.Shower was dirty and the washbasin drain was blocked.

    location is excellent with close proximity to underground,restaurants and pubs.Within walking distance to museums.The breakfast was adequate.The staff was friendly.Compared to other nearby hotels the cost was low.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Room small but clean and quiet, bed comfortable, shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get the room lights to work but late in the evening so didn’t bother to report. Location very good, a few minutes from Earl’s Court underground.

    Room small but clean and quiet, bed comfortable, shower small but fine, staff friendly and polite, breakfast better than expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Location is the only plus point to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disinterested and unfriendly front desk staff. Carpets are stained and dirty, paintwork peeling, exterior of hotel is dirty, pile of rubbish outside my window including paint buckets full of stagnant water, fire doors wedged open in the morning with air freshener cans, breakfast is so poor its not worth bothering with. Wifi doesnt reach rooms at the back of the hotel .

    My room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Barely acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very big. Very basic, no safety mat in bathroom am couldn't supply one so had to use a towel, if you are any way impaired yuo need to advise or ask for help with bags

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Size of room was good for 3 people after we asked to change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast. Wi fi did not work in our room.

    Size of room was good for 3 people after we asked to change from the one on the very top floor which was tiny and no lifts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    The price / confort were probably acceptable for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast set up was poor. There are plenty of shops / coffee places on the way to the tube station...

    The price / confort were probably acceptable for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    just comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room is located in the ground floor(1st floor)and near stairs. Sometimes I heard noise because someone is going up the stairs. However, not at all times. I opened the windows, I saw a bunch of junks below my windows. they need to clean up. On the top of that, I opened the window, another guest can see my room from their window. the hotel should put some plants or something between us. Regarding a bed, spring is spoiled, so I felt back pain. Linen looks old. I saw torn and cut. Usually, hotels are in London, a building is old, so that hotels' facilities are also old. That means Not value of money... If you want to stay at a comfortable place, you have to pay high fee for stay. Traveling alone and just sleep should be enough to stay at like this hotel.

    This hotel is conveniently located on a station, where is Piccadilly Line, Earl's court. Besides, there are a fridge and microwave in the room. A lot of supermarkets are around the station. Even you miss breakfast or dinner, you can buy food from them and heat food up in your room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    good for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast very basic dusty curtains/cupboards nice bathroom but very small basin causing water to splash everywhere

    excellent location fair room size nice and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    we didn't stay inside during stay, we basically needed to have place to sleep, so it was just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't lift(elevator) so you have to climb stairs with luggages. There wasn't any porters to help either. There wasn't a/c, only a fan so on 3rd floor room we stayed in was quite hot.

    Location was great, near Earl's court Tube station very easy to get to everywhere. Quiet hotel. House keeping comes to change bedding and towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor value for money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was clean but had serious mold issues in the bathroom. The breakfast included in the price was pitiful little more that toast and jam juice and coffee. The most expensive property we stayed on our vacation and the biggest disappointment.

    The bed was very comfortable. Location close to tube and lost of places to eat at around the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk, was unclean mold patches on the ceiling too. Breakfast I had to stand and eat it as there wasn’t adequate seating to accommodate.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Would stay there again (but might be tempted to take my cleaning materials and get stuck in)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel just needs lots of TLC. Some areas like the staircase were really dirty. If this was cleaned the whole experience would be much improved. The bathroom ceiling mouldy due to extractor not working. I just didn't look at it!

    Room was a nice size. Perfect location for tube and local amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Good weather saved us from a poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not particularly clean. Breakfast really basic. Breakfast area would really need improvement. Same goes also for the rooms. A bit overpriced for what we got, we expected more.

    Location of the hotel. Also, we just needed a place to sleep so we weren't in the hotel a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was truly aweful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suited for disabled. It was on the fifth floor. Had to walk up and down. Room was beside a linnen cupboard that had towels spilling out onto the hallway floor.

    Location. Five minutes walk to tube.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness, Furniture, Bathroom, Overall room was needing renovation, No air Conditioning, Really poor breakfast and stacked into some sort of basement with no windows

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    The room was cheap and that sums it up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly, I am surprised this hotel is on your recommended list. The room was tiny with just space for a bed - no bedside table/lamps, no chairs, no desk/dressing table. It was too hot to sleep comfortably. The breakfast was simply not good enough. Packs of sliced bread near the toasters which hardly functioned sums it up.

    The location suited my requirements on this occasion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    Terrible place stay away from st marks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!! Dirty, flee pit ! Mould on bathroom walls, filthy, off milk for breakfast, mattress not fit for a animal, terrible Do NOT stay omg stay away.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great location and simple amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall was good except rude receptionist who didn't accept our international debit card and almost didn't want to take our booking and asked us to look for a different hotel and on a weekend was a nightmare but ended up talking with his manager and sorting it out.

    Location was great and simple breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in poor condition. The room I stayed in was dirty, and very uncomfortable. The fan I think was never cleaned. The bathroom apart from having moldy walls, had a leak in the toilet and the was horrible. The breakfast has very few options.

    Only the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    i would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great apart from breakfast. There needs to be a bigger room, better choice and introduce maybe a set breakfast, that the staff serve which would make things less chaotic

    the breakfast room is too small and was chaotic, I had a slice of toast and left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    The receptionist’s kindness and the hotel’s location are the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is very cheap! Need an urgent renovation. The condition of the rooms are very bad and you’ll feel claustrophobic because they are too small! The rooms smell bad and they are not really clean either. Wi-fi doesn’t work, except in the dining room. Couldn’t sleep because of a constant annoying noise, later because of the noises of the breakfast service. Only recommend it if you are short of money and doesn’t matter for you where you’ll stay.

    The receptionist’s kindness and the hotel’s location are the only things I can mention as the advantages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Place of the hotel is good but just this..
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is not clean,we saw fake nails on the floor when we entered the first day and they never cleaned the floor while we were staying and also they didn't changed our mug that they give us to drink some coffee/tea in the room.

    Location of the hotel is so close to the Earls Court metro station.This is a huge advantage to go somewhere in London and also return back to home if your flight is from Heathrow Airport.There is no need to take another tube line, it is go directly !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Glad to leave thou location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of things broken or worn in rooms and ensure. Curtains didn’t close properly, windows fraught, shower door didn’t close. Broken soap holder, water lukewarm only in shower. No storage at all in bedroom or bathroom. Dirty under bed and toilet seat. Smell in bathroom. I could go on but too big a list.

    The check in guy was efficient. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.9
    Cheap clean bed for night, expect nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight family break to sight see. No parking as stated on site, street parking was free as bank holiday otherwise resident permits Saturdays until 1.30 chargeable in some areas then free until Monday Breakfast was minimal cornflakes muesli boiled eggs cheese slices and bread for toasting. Not really full continental We went to local cafe near Waitrose cafe liaison perfect English breakfast for 4.95 each took lunch from there too. Hotel never returned correspondence prior to visit Key given at reception no information about breakfast hotel etc Stairs and carpets dusty worn and needed a hoover room was up several floors decor needs a revisit Wooden floors in room needed hoovering bedding was very clean and beds well made bed was ok but firm but had good nights sleep Garden table and chair in room makes it look very tacky hairdryer provided and tv Holes in doors and wall in bedroom and bathroom can only assume had adults on night out but not fixed by hotel makes room look very poor. Room quite small with very small ensuite. Shower sharp edges as parts missing on plug Water is very hot when left to run and plenty of it. sink is tiny and dusty vents which was apparent when on Fire alarm new and fitted but old structured left on ceiling Overall hotel is practical for cheap easy overnight stays maybe adults out to party with just a clean bed for night but lacks simple basic attention to detail which would make customers return. Overall quality of hotel let it down other budget ones including premier inn near by which would have been better quality stay for slightly more money.

    Location was best thing about hotel close to sights walking distance to key areas Close to main shopping, Harrods, supermarkets and walking distance to tube Lots of lovely bars and restaurants nearby Bedding was clean and well made

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Handy location for a brief stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some small repairs on the bathroom door to allow it to shut properly would minimise the need to slam it shut - not a great thing to happen during the night.

    Comfortable beds. Breakfast was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant location, room okay for what we needed, small but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small, very limited breakfast, only toast, cheese hard boiled eggs and two cereals

    Excellent location, easy check in, staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Recommended for one night stay if booked before for low money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was on basement. Very small rooms and bathroom. Often absence of hot water. Not good breakfast at all. No lifts (if you stayed upstairs)

    Friendly staff in the reception and in the kitchen. Location-2 Minutes walking to Earls Court underground station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    -The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -The breakfast could include at least some ham -The shower could be a bit more cleaner in the corners -The missing presence of towels for the hand/face use -Dirty curtains and dirty bed decorations

    -The location is perfect -The bed is comfortable -The presence of the microwave in the room was great -Everyday cleaning -The price for a Hotel (and not an hostel) in such a location is good for the rapport Quality/price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel very near tube station for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is basic, just coffee, tea or hot chocolate, juice with toast and cereal. Some fruit would be nice.

    Our room had a kettle, a fridge, a microwave and a balcony!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.9
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the bathroom. Shower hadn't been cleaned properly - used shower gel had been left in the tray. Bin wasn't empty. Didn't seem clean.

    Bed was relatively comfy. Staff were helpful on check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor. Not much choice. But OK for the price really. The room was a bit grubby in places but the bed and bathroom looked clean.

    Good location, friendly staff (who let us leave our bags for a while after we checked out), comfy bed, quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    If you're on a budget but still don't want to share...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're on a budget but still don't want to share your bathroom with other guests - look no further. Although the room is not the biggest I've ever seen, it's clean and has a perfect location next to the Central/District line station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.8
    Embarrassing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed slats missing. Shower wouldn't drain. Plumbing gurgled loudly all night. Carpets filthy. Breakfast was sweaty chease, cold boiled eggs, toast or cornflakes. Breakfast room was tiny, so most people just gave up any way. Coffee was filtered but ok.

    Area was lively and fun while also safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Good size rooms nice location comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to move my children in the middle of the night on the 4th night to a different hotel due to very very noisy people upstairs loud music constant banging and dragging noises for hours leaving my small daughter unable to sleep called front desk to complain which then resulted in everything getting louder also not the cleanest and breakfast was very disappointing so much we didn’t even bother to have it after the first morning

    Good size rooms nice location comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    I loved everything about London excluding our motel. That was a HUGE let down.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that when we first arrived,the receptionist had no idea what he was doing. During our stay we had to deal with 3 different receptionists who gave us conflicting or incorrect information. SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! We will NEVER book there again.

    The best part about St Marks was the location and that's about it. I will never stay there again!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was good, very close to tube station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift so we had to walk 5 floors of stairs with luggage and help was not offered by staff, room was smaller than the pictures and extremely warm with a window that did not open. Room was not 100% clean, there was left over food on the floor under the fridge. Not a lot to offer for breakfast, we had our breakfast elsewhere each morning.

    Location was good, very close to tube station, restaurants/pubs and small supermarkets. Bed was comfy and good TV channels, had a microwave, kettle and mini fridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    A good budget Hotel with a quiet convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was compact and had all the required amenities. The bed was comfortable but with a double and a single bed squeezed into a small room we could only get out of one side or climb over the single. It was cheap and cheerful but we had to queue for nearly half an hour to get a seat in the small breakfast room.

    A good comfy bed in a good area with a lot crammed into a small room. Clean with helpful staff, close to the underground and bus routes to provide easy access to central London while srill being in a quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    I would be willing to spend more for accommodation next time I come to London
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible hygiene: we found blood stain on the bed spread. Safety concern: a guy lives upstairs opened our door using his key even though we have locked the door.

    The location is very convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location and spotless neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the fact that the reception desk was very helpful and booked my requests with kindness. Plus the fact that the location of the hotel is iconic to move within the city without difficulties

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.9
    Barely tolerable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude, no helpful. The facility was not clean, broken shower, paint stripped from room.

    Only good thing is location. Other than that it was just bad, awful I dare say.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Just for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with very limited amenities. Microwave was out of order. Flat screen tv mounted on the wall is too high and far from sight. Daily breakfast is not changing and of the same items everyday.

    It is close to Earls Court Station and walking distance to main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    great stay for the traveller thats looking for a central location and just a bed to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is located at a great location only 10 minutes with the tube to central london. it is a very quiet neighborhood and for the price you pay for the location is simply excellent. the breakfast was decent, eggs, toast, milk and cereal nothing special about it, if you want an alternative, at a 5 minute walking distance you can find loads of cafes etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location staff were friendly plenty shower gels and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely however would have been nice to have more selection and biscuits with coffee.

    Amazing location staff were friendly plenty shower gels and toilet rolls fridge and microwave also in room which was a bonus. Slept really well lovely clean and tidy and a great hotel for value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    Dirty but did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty. The bed sheets didn't look like they had been changed or washed. We were in a basement room and the shower floor had a crack in it

    Shower had really good water pressure

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Small and lacking in some things, fine enough for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could have been bigger to keep from the cluttered feel and look. Breakfast was lacking in options, particularly hot options (my partner was most horrified at the lack of bacon). Some dirt in various locations; walls were stained in spots with questionable colors. Shower head adjustment was broken; it would not stay in a location once pushed up.

    Had decent value for the price, the room was very small though. The shower/bathroom facilities were nice and the air system was nice. It did come with a refrigerator, microwave, safe, kettle, etc which was a pleasant surprise. Good for a one night stay; any longer and we'd have chosen a different hotel. Good location near the Underground and various eateries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic continental breakfast. No fruit , fresh bread or ham. The rooms are small but the bed is confortable.

    Nice hotel at very good location.Close to Underground.Ideal for a weekend to visit the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.5
    Avoid at all costs, receptionist is a liar who will do the utmost to get you out of the hotel. AVOID
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff incredibly rude, upon going into the room we were then told to remove the third person from our room even though there were only two of us. Manager threatened to call the police on us unless we let that third person out of the premises, manager refused to search the room and in the end did not end up calling the police (there were only two of us the ENTIRE time). Manager did not even apologise, shortly after we discovered the shower had no curtains or door so just turning on the shower meant flooding the bathroom. Upon informing the manager of this he simply said "So what do you want, are you checking out?" I have never experienced such terrible customer service from anyone, anywhere, ever. Added to the fact the bathroom did not even have soap, toilet paper or a working light. AC was kept on with no way of turning it off, in the middle of winter - windows were also impossible to shut. In summary we had to sleep in a room with air conditioning on, with windows that cannot close during winter and no means to have a shower either. Upon telling any members of staff the problems they will only ask you to check out. Absolute waste of money going here.

    The best part of our stay in this hotel was leaving.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    it was ok convenient for my stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i do not liked being asked for photo id as the only thing i had was my cis card and they should not photo copy that

    it was convenient for where we wore working.the room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.8
    It's not a continental breakfast (just milk, coffee,...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's not a continental breakfast (just milk, coffee, orange juice, egg (no omelette), bread with honey or confiture and a simple cheese) no fruit, no chocapic for children, no . And besides that in a very small room with a maximum of 15 places where you have to wait for your turn to have breakfeast. There is no elevator if you have a room in the 4 floor is hard. And the service room is very bad (dirty floor with lots of hair and very dusty).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    London was great on Christmas! Thank you St. Mark Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest problem was that Booking does not specify that for Wi-Fi you have to pay 10 £!!! I was looking for free Wi-Fi in hotel, and it was an unexpected waste of money... But i had no other choices :( So please, note this issue!

    The location was great, Earl’s Court station is on 3 minutes walking. Room was clean and fresh. I was little bit disappointed about breakfast. It wasn’t as good as i was expected. The rest was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    Hotel Disappointing . Overall impression grubby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small Room in basement near breakfast area . Found it noisy. Tea making facility but all sitting on top of a microwave as no shelf . Breakfast included in price but Poor continental breakfast area ( put us off having breakfast so we didn’t have it)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Ok but could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stained bed throw, unmatched ill fitting curtains , level of finish every where was tatty. Bathroom light cord broken and no working extractor. Breakfast was cramped and not enough tables to sit as a family. Waiting staff hurried people out and were on the verge of rude to some guests. Top (4th) floor for a family room was a hike with kids and no lift ???!!!

    Great location. Bed was very comfy. Towels and actual bed sheets well laundered. Good room facilities. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Dirty dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very very very dirty. As you can see in the pictures i attached, there was dirt everywhere on the hallway and on the stairs. We stayed at the top floor and every time we went to our room or out, we had to see the mess that was at every floor (we stayed as much as possible in the city, in order to avoid spending too much time in the hotel). The room is very small, the bed is small, 2 persons barely have space in that bed. The radiator, was full of dust (i forgot to take a picture of that, because i had a shock when i saw it). In the bathroom there was a smell like it wasn't cleaned in a loooong time. The breakfast was very very simple: bread, boiled eggs, cheese, cereals (i think the worst cereals on the market), milk, coffee and orange juice (not natural, of course). It is too bad, because the location is ok, but i could never go back at that hotel because is was sooooo dirty. I have nightmares about the dirt there.

    near to metro station and city center changing the towels everyday big shower cabin

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfy bed but poor dirty room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly positioned tv . Hit head 3 times coming out of bathroom. No i didnt learn the first time. Whole hotel needs severly updating. Bedspread had big stains on them. Very very basic room.

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Great nights sleep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Close to tube station and shops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much for breakfast. Cereal, toast, jam, hard boiled eggs and cheese. Walls crumbling, walls marked, ‘wardrobe’ hanging off wall, bedsheets stained, shower dirty, no storage. Staff ignorant, except 1 man on reception.

    It was close to local tube station on district line. Close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, great location for Tube & Bus, quiet, & good food choices in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stairs

    Very friendly staff, especially Fardi, helped with my luggage great for solo travellers, quiet very convenient location, Earls Court Tube Station down the street, with 'no stairs' & on Heathrow Tube line. The Blackbird pub on the corner has great food, lots of other good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    The location was perfect for us and so were the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was alright although a bit too small and shakey, and so was the duvet - def not big enough for two people.

    The location was perfect for us and so were the staff. Also the rooms were clean so a plus there. Good value for money if you book ahead, we'll probably be staying again in the future!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Good exercise stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baggage store in basement need your strong hands and legs. All steep stairs and no lift from basement to 4th floor provides a good exercise. Small breakfast room in basement so better take earlier. Everywhere and everything is clean but stairs' carpet looks dirty.

    We stayed at 3rd floor in a back triple bedroom with solid walls all round so was quiet. Internet for free or at £5/day or £10 for unlimited duration of stay use was reasonable. No problem on hot water in bathroom. Read of bedbugs, but found none. Same simple beakfast every morning was still good. Staff were friendly, busy and hardworking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    I was quite surprised to see that it is a three star hotel; it rather felt like a youth hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of storage space in the room: We expected a cupboard or at least some shelves but had to live out of the suitcase instead As family we chose the hotel also for the "well-equipped kitchenette" but were rather disappointed by a water-boiler on top of a microwave on top of a mini-fridge; it didn't seem a safe construction with small kids around and without cutlery or plates, only four cups, preparing something is quite a challenge (as well as finding a place to sit and eat in the room...)

    The beds were quite comfy, warm water for shower, hair dryer in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    Glad it was for only one night, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, the room very very basic poor decoration and bathroom sink was so tiny is clearly for a downstairs loo not a family of 4. The price we paid was ridiculous for what we got and would never stay again. We have poor the hotel was we didn’t even go for the breakfast we went out and paid for it!!

    The area was quiet at night other than that very poor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bin in main room, only bathroom. Toilet seat broken, shower was either scalding hot or freezing - no inbetween, bathroom main light didn't work, and there were mould spots and cobwebs all around the ceiling of the bathroom as well. Also hair stuck to the walls in the bathroom from previous tenant! I think a herd of elephants were tapdancing in the room above us as well, it was so noisy! Manager (?) Didn't ask us how our stay was, otherwise he would have known all of this! Worst part was that i woke up with several bites on my body from some sort of beastie, slightly worrying!

    Good location for events at Royal Albert Hall. Close to Earls Court tube station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy Our room was close to reception area one night we had to get out of bed st 1130pm and ask staff to be quiet Very very noisy and room was small

    Location close to underground

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Short and sweer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls/ceilings. Could hear neighbours into early hours of the morning Only fault though

    Close to earl court time station and walking distance to famous landmarks like Hyde park, Royal Albert hall and museums

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Easy access to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy hallway and smells faeces which hasn't been cleaned.

    Easy access to public transport. That day, the hotel wasn't busy, so my room was upgraded to triple instead of double which was unnecessary. Beggars can't be choosers. At least it was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    The location was very good, and there were nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as spacious as I thought would be, hair dryer given was burn, luckily I brought a spare one with me. Overall cleanliness wasn't that great, heater not working. Doesn't worth the price.

    The location was very good, and there were nearby restaurants and near to subway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    I would not come back in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room vas situated in the basement, they gave us a 3 bed room instead of a twin room. In the room there was no phone connection, it was impossible to take or place any phone call or to check the internet or e-mails without paying extra for their wifi connection. The place where you have to live the luggage if you check out earlier is not guarded, so not safe.

    The location of the hotel is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were ignorant. Upon our arrival we were met by a man on his phone who did not look up or greet us and instead just grunted to ask what we wanted. After stating my reservation he said the room was not ready and to come back later. We returned an hour and half later, the same receptionist was on a loud-speaker phone call and frantically tried to check us in at the same time as talking to somebody in a call centre. We did not pay at check in as he forgot to take payment, he gave us a key to a room that was dirty as the people had just left. We went down to request a new room and he simply blamed the cleaners who are clearly the hardest working people in the whole hotel. Later in the day when we came back to the room and he chased after us to say he did not take payment, I commented that he should have been more attentive instead of being on the phone during check. Breakfast was just toast and a boiled egg - Not something i'm accustomed to as being classed as "continental" - After spending so much money for one night i was very disappointed, especially since I am regularly in London and have received better customer service for the same amount of money at other hotels. Won't be returning to this one!

    Excellent location - just 2 minutes from Earl's Court Station. The room was big and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was large and the amenities were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Amazing location; would visit St Mark again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite warm and dark, ours was underground with a small window.

    Fantastic location to Earl's Court, Kensington and Knightsbridge...on foot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    The bed was comfy but the surroundings were disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived that's when we were allocated a room. I was asked questions I had answered on booking.com so I didn't feel expected. The room was very cramped and very hot! The milk portions in the fridge-some of them were off. We just felt the pictures of the rooms didn't reflect the reality. It was disappointing.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.5
    True Scam!!Stressfull, feeling cheated and disgusted. photos speak for itself. Avoid at all cost!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do Not believe the photos on booking. Rats ditch hole:very diirty, smelly noisy, insecure, breaching all health and safety regulations. Better to sleep rough. Asked yo be refunded after an slepeness first night but need to face rude attitude from manager and receptionist.

    There is nothing likeable about this property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall a pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the very top floor and there was no lift. Very small gripe though. Also, our room was ridiculously hot even with the fan constantly running and the window open. I know we stayed in Summer but we are from Perth where the nights are 25 degrees as opposed to 15 below. It's easy enough to get some decent aircon. One last thing, they should really get some vegemite for people to put on their breakfast toast (I'm only half kidding)

    It was actually a really good location considering it wasn't in the heart of the city. Very easy and quick walk to the tube. Close to a few necessary shops. Great area 😁 the ladies in the kitchen at Breakfast were lovely and friendly. Cost was pretty great as well. In fact, I had initially booked for 3 nights but had to change due to our flights and these guys were really great about it. Didn't charge me a fee to change and were really understanding 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St Mark Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: