Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Mellons Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Castleton, Cardiff, CF3 2XR, United Kingdom

#46 of 47 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely stay here and got amazing service off people from the front desk very helpful and nice. The spa was also lovely and was so relaxing! Overall had an amazing stay and would come back

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    It was fine but not exceptional, the spa facilities made it worth the £100 price tag.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was newly renovated but it just seemed a little sparse and uninviting. I couldn't find a phone to ring reception. There was no sample breakfast menu in the room to decide if we would have breakfast at the hotel. There was nothing in the room information pack to let us know that towels would be provided at the spa - we didn't need to take our room towels. I found a used cotton bud on the floor of the bathroom which had been missed by housekeeping which was inexcusable.

    Very comfortable beds, loads of pillows but not so many towels. The areas that have been redecorated and renovated look as you would expect for a hotel of this type, but some of the corridors looked very dated and sad, and would have benefited from a coat of paint at least to freshen them up. The pool and spa was very clean, beautifully located, a lovely area and the staff were so helpful. There was a very pleasant bar and lounge area at the spa where you could enjoy a hot or cold drinks and food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Planning to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are lovely. And the rooms newly renovated with a perfect balance of elegance and comfort. The whole hotel is a gem, taxis to Cardiff were easy to get 15 minutes and £20 - well worth it to escape to a green and peaceful haven.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel with pleasant staff but the older rooms are desperately in need of an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially housed in one of the older and dilapidated rooms with a terribly uncomfortable bed, we had to pay extra to upgrade to one of their refurbished rooms which was excellent.

    The staff were lovely and the facilities comfortable once we had upgraded. It was lovely to be able to use the pool facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Great location and staff tried to help
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very uncomfortable and the breeze coming from the old sash windows kept me up most of the night! The room was clean and tidy

    Great location and staff tried to help

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    We like a firm bed so it suited us just fine, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A full English breakfast was extra and acceptable standard but nowhere near worth £12.50 each so the following day we opted for the continental...to be politely advised that they had no ham or cheese! There was also no yoghurt and the only fruit was some sliced melon on day two. The bathroom was shabby, the view from our window was of the extraction/heating unit and the WiFi does not extend past the ground floor. The spa area was fine but the water cooler is in the corridor by the gym and no robes or slippers were provided as reception had led me to believe.

    We like a firm bed so it suited us just fine, the staff were really nice and it's in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    10/10 would definitely recommend and revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nicely cooked and tasty however not worth the amount paid. You’d be better off travelling out for breakfast!

    The staff, rooms and facilities were all amazing during our stay! John the night worker was so funny greeting us from our night out! 10/10

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was lovely and the waiter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was damp in the room and the heating wasn't working, so was very cold. Receptionist gave us a mini electric heater to use though.

    The breakfast was lovely and the waiter.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, building is run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was damp on the ceiling in the bathroom mould on the bathroom tiles and the shower head looked as though it had never been wiped. The bedroom walls were marked to be honest the room needs a lick of paint and the bathroom needs sorting. Breakfast was dry as had been sat there a while.

    The staff were friendly, the pool area was nice and had good facilities and was open till late.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    The spa - fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't find a newspaper to read at breakfast. The wifi signal in some parts of hotel is very poor but good in other parts. But I would expect that with an old building with thick walls.

    The spa - fabulous. The gym/s - excellent. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value all things considered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was rather firm. Some areas a little tired.

    Good sized rooms, nice restaurant as well as bar area. Food fair value from a fixed price menu, the steak (I had this twice) was excellent. Daily menu changes. Quiet location yet midway between Cardiff and Newport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel and leisure complex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road leading into the grounds was pot-holed, but no worse than roads around the county in which I live and did not cause an issue.

    After reading some of the reviews, I was expecting a tired hotel. In contrast our room was to a high standard. After discussion with the hotel staff, I understood that the hotel was undergoing updating and assumed that our room had been redecorated, but found it hadn't. The room was good, the leisure centre was one of the best I have ever seen in a Hotel complex, the grounds were of a high standard and the breakfast was good. We will be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house needs some work doing to it, not nice to see all the rubbish and broken funiture everywhere! Looks bit run down not what we was expecting from photos. Had to complain about first room as it was not what we had booked from pictures on here! moved us to a better room without any hassle.

    The spa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, comfortable for a short stay. Would use again.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A larger more accessible place for suitcases, larger TV ( the one in room 103 was very small), the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. A small fridge would be very useful. Overall the hotel could do with some modernisation.

    The towels white and fluffy, cleanliness, large bed, iron and board.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little jaded, it has not aged well, but the catering was exceptionally poor. I ate from the bar menu - which wasn't great so I selected a burger - and it was so overcooked (reheated in the microwave I suspect) it was it was barely edible. But no-one asked! I got up and left 2/3 of my meal and no-one batted an eye-lid. I had almost identical experience over breakfast- again dreadfull overcooked or reheated - so again I got up and left almost all and nobody asked me how it was. On checking out, the receptionist didn't ask how my stay was, just transacted like a customs official. I hope they respond to this - My first ever negative review - and say "I wish you had said, we would have...". My point is, I would have said, but at no point did any one of your staff ask if my stay/food was ok. This is far below common standards in your industry, so here is your negative review.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Change the mattress and I’ll return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, harder than a mortuary slab, could barely sleep and kept waking in pain when I did fall asleep

    Staff were lovely, bathroom and bedroom looked fantastic, lovely and clean too

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    One night break won't be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dreadful. Continental meats left uncovered for flies to land on same with the cheese and butter. Cooked breakfast no better they got the order wrong and poached egg was cold. Sausage undercooked. Dirty fruit juice glass with lipstick on it. Complained and was refunded the cost. As it was disgusting and not fit for consumption

    The swimming pool Jacuzzi steam room and sauna were the best part. Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Old hotel which needs a face lift and not worth the money they are charging
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and toilets stink so I had to checkout midnight and find something else and I booked party room for 150 ppl paying £750 and there was a leak in the roof which I think is appalling

    People

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    I won't rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm kept going off, the rooms are in need of modernisation, the facilities are not as I would have expected.

    The staff were trying their hardest to make the best of it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the building structure was interesting the rooms were shabby and a bit grubby. We had two rooms with a torn net curtain, bad bleach mark on the carpet,missing bathroom tiles, mouldy grouting and ceiling, wobbly tap. If you enjoy a full English breakfast then the breakfast is good - otherwise don’t bother. 2 of us ate only toast (because the eggs were not good) and despite complaining still paid £10 each.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    nice to get away for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    most of it really outdated , no music on in bar although lovely new starter behind bar tried really hard to entertain us his name was alex. 5 star for him

    breakfast was ok friendly waiter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    The peaceful location and character of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or fan

    The peaceful location and character of the building. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool and spa facilities were clean and very much enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    I won’t be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelt of damp and the beds have one of the most uncomfortable mattress’s I’ve ever slept in. The staff don’t ask people to keep the noise down when coming back early hours in the morning. The breakfast selection on display is very minimal and when you order breakfast it takes a very long time to be delivered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Had a good two nights stay. Would go here again and recommend to others. All in all, a positive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been slightly comfier and TV was too small in room. Also, not enough plug sockets for everything.

    The staff were friendly, room was comfortable and quite homely, facilities were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated. Blinds didn't work in room 22 so when you had a shower everyone could see. Beds were VERY uncomfortable, and rooms exceedingly hot and no fans available. Showers were not good. No pressure whatsoever.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    There were so many positives however priority has to be given to comfort. The lack of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard, the pillows were flat and no headboard. I didn't sleep well

    The room was lovely and clean. The leisure facilities were excellent. The location was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff. Clean bed but not such at great breakfast this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time we stayed the breakfast was cooked to order and there was more selection. Not so good this time.

    Location is brilliant Room was good. Second time we have stayed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too hard and uncomfortable. It was very difficult to sleep as no air conditioning or ceiling fans and no fresh air coming into the room as the window only opened a small way.

    We liked the location, the gardens, the views, the pool being available. Good choices of food throughout the day. Plenty of parking and free. Also everyone including the staff and guests were all very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable and grate staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a pool table and a few other bits to stay entertains.

    You could be anywhere because the grounds are beautiful even if you are so close to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Polite, comfortable quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our daughter is vegan, the soup had butter in, so not vegan and the chef made her a meal from scratch. All the staff were very helpful. Lovely to have use of the pool, sauna and towels. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    It was a lovely hotel very friendly staff but the room was a bit dated no air con or fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot no fan or air con the shower didn’t work very well and the towel heater was left on it was extremely hot out side and in the room

    The staff where extremely friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Country house hotel , with Gym and Spa facilities and golf surroundings.Lovely place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved every thing about the place

    husband and 2 adult children stayed for a week while i was in Hospital and they loved the upgraded room, clean fresh and lovely garden views. wholesome breakfest and evening meal delicious. lovely walks to golf area and forest and the spa and gym and coffee bar too good. Lots of relaxing things to do for them to do together and near the village . When I left the hospital I could recover there as thanks to Hannah and super staff for looking after my needs and catering . Peaceful time was had by us. 6 th time we ve been coming here and will always stay here if we are in Cardiff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful grounds.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception and public areas starting to look a little tired. Perhaps time for a small upgrade.

    Beautiful grounds. Very relaxing atmosphere yet very close to city. Comfortable rooms with good décor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lot of decorating inside and out.. lots of debris.. bathroom was very old.. cost too much. Breakfast not included in price...

    Comfy bed.. great spa facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The grounds where amazing and it’s so close to Cardiff but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated inside but is being done up slowly. The swimming pool and spa has been brought up to date and is very nice and clean but the hotel room was very dated and a little dirty in hard to reach places

    The grounds where amazing and it’s so close to Cardiff but you would never believe it when you look out your Hotel window

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Decent hotel, needs a lick of paint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some tlc, one of the sockets was hangin off the wall in our room Also when we arrived & asked for food at 3pm we were told depends if the chef is still working!? We only wanted sandwiches & he managed 2 do that, but didn’t say on the menu food not served between certain times!

    Nice pool, spa etc Large landscapes gardens We had a large room & en suite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    The Room was comfortable and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room was comfortable and the staff were friendly.The location was nice and we went for a short walk. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Taxi to Cardiff £25 each way and no other public transport. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was skimpy and not cooked to an agreeable standard . The toast was warm bread , still white , and brought a good 10 mins before food . The filter coffee ran out at about 9 and when we asked for more we were given a cup of what I suspect was instant . The continental offering was a bit of salami and a few Danish pastries , which were good. No cheeses no fresh fruit apart from a fruit salad which was basically apples and a few blueberries . All in all very disappointing. It was the only let down to an otherwise delightful hotel .

    The rooms were immaculate. The grounds beautiful. The spa amazing . I cannot fault the standard of room ., facilities or staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast always freshly cooked to order, new...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are tired. I stayed a lot at this hotel and more and more have an issue in the rooms. This time shower only ran cold. Which is improvement on last when it didn’t work at all (no pressure). Sealant and tile grout discoloured/mouldy.

    Breakfast always freshly cooked to order, new gym/spa/bar extension is modern and nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is set in nice surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired, bedrooms are poorly equipped, in my room the shower did not work only cold water, the TV only had one channel working. The bar area is feature less and not welcoming.

    The hotel is set in nice surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Lack lustre accommodation but nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is fairly run down in parts - water damage stains in room and chipped bathroom sink etc. Needs some tlc generally with regards to decor all a bit dated and worn not what you would expect from a hotel and spa. We ate in the lesuire bar our first night and not a great experience as 45 minute wait for fish and chips and a burger and both were not great bar the chips which were very nice. I asked for ketchup and the server left for it and never returned. Although staff were pleasant got the impression some were not very experienced e.g server at leisure bar.

    The grounds of the hotel were lovely and well kept and the breakfast had a good selection with pastries, cereals and cooked options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Would return on the purpose of spa day only, would not waste extra money for a overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the fact my room was tiny, felt chlostraphobic, and the tv worked when it felt like.. Mynhair dryer did not work in my room and I also did not Have any shampoo or shower gel.

    I liked the spa facilities and the cleanliness of the spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Provided what we came for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    place needs a makeover We came without our bathers and you did not have any for sale or hire.

    TV remote did not work in our bedroom and did not work in the dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    country manor hotel in country side and golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old tired side of the hotel but it did not worry us as the front part is very nice. needs repair

    the country manor hotel situated in the green forest, golf club , lovely garden at entrance, tranquil , good restaurant, excellent swimming pool and gym. Good place to stay just out in the countryside in a quiet suburb. lovely big rooms . a bit outdated but good feel and comfortable beds with big windows and a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    A lovely hotel needs a bit modernising
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for a Z bed, a bit cramped. The bath was dirty (had pubic hair) Bathroom was narrow from bath on one side and opposite sink / vanity unit. I kept knocking my hip

    It had spa facilities, swimming pool and beautiful gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and there was patch work done and not redecorated which made the inside look a bit shabby

    The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and also the swimming pool area was lovely and also good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BE A STRESS FREE DAY AND EVENING .!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE BOOKED THIS AS A ONE NIGHT STAY FOR US AND OUR VERY GOOD FRIENDS AS A BIRTHDAY TREAT.THE WEATHER WAS AMAZING SO YOU WHERE LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE IN THE GARDEN ALL AFTERNOON HAVING A FEW DRINKS TO CELERBRATE THE BIRTHDAY THE REASON WE WHERE THERE. WHEN WE DECIDED TO GO AND HAVE OUR EVENING MEAL WE WHERE TOLD THAT THE RESTURANT WAS NOT OPEN DUE TO THE FACT THERE WAS A WEDDING TAKING PLACE. SHOULD THIS NOT HAVE BEEN EXPLAINED TO US WHEN YOU TOOK OUR BOOKING OR EVEN WHEN WE ARRIVED. AS WE WOULD HAVE ASKED FOR OUR MONEY BACK AND MADE OTHER ARRANGMENTS .WE HAD SPENT THE WHOLE AFTERNOON USING THE BAR FACILITYS AND WE WHERE NOT PREPARED TO GO OUT AND HAVE A MEAL AND PAY FOR A CAB. YES THERE WHERE ARRANGMENTS MADE FOR US TO HAVE A MEAL ,AFTER MAKING IT PLAIN WE WHERE NOT HAPPY .WE WHERE ALSO GIVEN FREE BREAKFASTS AT OUR SUGGESTION AND ALSO SOME DRINKS. THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BE A STRESS FREE DAY AND EVENING .

    Some of the staff where lovely .But some of the lady staff on reception where not so lovely .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    would happily go again but would like a little more choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit disappointing in comparison to rest of facilities and service. Would have liked some fresh fruit and yogurt. We were one of the last for breakfast as very tired and overslept. Hardly any pastries left and no croissants.

    staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Couldn't have done more. lovely pool. and room. huge bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The place is under renovation. The 1st room was simply bad, we asked and they happily changed it. The 2nd one was great. Clean, nice mattress, new service and shower, WiFi TV, great signal, Great SPA, steam and Jacuzzi and very clean pool. Garden is better than the picture. Golf course near by. Good view, a bottle of wine on front door bench. Love it thanks. Pietro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    This is our second stay mainly due to the quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thing that ruined it for me was the bathroom - mouldy tiles around the shower, dated appliances and decor. I understand the hotel is undergoing an overhaul but really prioritise the bathrooms please! It was not nice to use. I will be staying elsewhere until I am informed the improvements are complete - even a five star breakfast can't erase the memory of that mould! Sorry photo is upside down.

    This is our second stay mainly due to the quiet location. I cannot fault the staff and the food is fabulous. The gardens are lovely, lots of room to walk and relax. Downstairs the bar etc is very pleasant. It is upstairs it all begins to go down hill. The room itself was adequate although small - it is better to pay an extra tenner for a bigger better room but even then in my experience, it is dated and not as clean as it could be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was a bit cold and the coffee the room was dated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit cold and the coffee the room was dated curtains were coming off the rail.had to wait a long time for the shower to run hot the bed was old and not comfy but overall it was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Grounds and spa and good weather made it a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that we were put in a room that was due for refurbishment after we had left. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling, no hand rail for the shower etc but overall was clean and the room was a good size

    Grounds and spa and good weather made it a pleasant stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with good facilities at a fair price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and Bathrooms are a little dated. I struggled to get hot water from the shower so had to resort to baths and the shower knobs kept falling off.

    The hotel is a quiet and the actual property is lovely as formally an old manor house. Guests also have access to the gym attached which has a pool and squash courts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Nice venue, better communication needed especially when facilities are closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were closed during our entire stay. We had even booked treatments and paid for them before being told that the spa was actually closed. The reason we chose this hotel was for the spa facilities but we didn’t get to use them.

    The setting is beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Place to Chillax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great welcome and friendly staff from arrival to departure. Food excellent quality. Rooms larger than average and the hotel in is a wonderful setting. Spa and swimming pool is excellent. A great place for a relaxing stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to get into Cardiff (or Newport) easily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Nearly there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom is very much in need of a modest renovation. (We can only speak about room 23). Nothing too much needed but to match the price paid we felt the room and bathroom was very tired. This hotel is a few steps away from being a first class property and probably 4/5 star. If the decor doesn’t even match that of a budget hotel it will be a struggle to attract regular return guests.

    Great location, lovely grand main property, Gardens, friendly attentive staff throughout, great bar food (especially the burger) and breakfast. Spa looked great but we didn’t have enough time to use it. Same for the golf course🙁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great area, not so great room maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tap didn't work, there was damp above the bath, mould around some of the grouting and the curtains had half come off their railings so didn't shut properly.

    Beds very comfy, beautiful drive through the golf course to reach the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.9
    The breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in either room so no shower or bath. Couldn’t be fixed in time. The building was lovely but needed tlc. Ensuite - grotting round bath flaking and toilet flushing hit ir miss

    The breakfast was very nice. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    The spa is lovely and staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated and look marked and in desperate need of refurb I was told that it is in prodded but the pictures on booking are not accurate for were u actually stay I changed room once as well

    The spa is lovely and staff were nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Rather a bad night, compensated for by the exquisite breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and comfort of the bed - fix that and it would be perfect.

    There are fabulous things about this hotel, and there are not so fabulous things. The staff are first class, the location is first class, the room is spacious, the en-suite is vast, with everything provided to enhance a few nights away from home. Breakfast was fantastic - best I've had in ages and the service again, was great. The hotel is, as I understand, undergoing refurbishment, so perhaps that explains why the decor is on the shabby side of chic, but the room could have been cleaner. The shower in particular was pretty grubby and the bed was hard, like a bed of nails. I ached head to toe in the morning - a mattress topper would have helped. Since I rate the success of my stay almost solely on mattress and shower - I was a bit disappointed but perked up after a bad night by the brilliant breakfast. I'd stay again if they changed the mattresses and cleaned the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The reception / bar staff were very lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tiles were mouldy they could of done with updating. Booking.com was misleading

    My daughter loved playing in the swimming pool and the locals who were members were very friendly and chatty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.0
    Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in room 26 needs bleeding its full of air and sings all night - I have never had peas on a plate with a burger and chips - a first for me thanks! (I didn't eat the peas) - no leisure facilities - only reason I booked

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit tired. I had a room where you could here fridges/ machinery powering up and down ,all night. There was no brown bread in the hotel ,the breakfast was okay, nothing to write home about.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Cosy room with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food needs I provement

    Staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble. Made sure I got a downstairs room as I had broken kneecap. Food was OK, could do with a little improvement. We had Ham, Egg and chips for quickness as we were going out. Ham was a little dried out and egg under cooked. Missed check out deadline as we had trouble getting back to hotel after Joshua fight, didn’t get in until 04.40! Not enough taxis to cope, staff were very understanding and didn’t charge for extra day as they were not so booked up that day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows needed renewing they were lumpy and very stained. It was not disabled friendly so a few to many stairs for us

    The staff were great and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    It is an interesting historic property with potential but needs work and better customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing is very noisy and there was very limited hot water for the shower when I tried it the first day and ended up having to have a bath but it was ok the 2nd day. If you advertise on all your menu's that breakfast is until 10am on Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays and then tell me breakfast has finished and the kitchen is closed at 9.30am as it is a weekday, when I arrive at 9.47am on good Friday and use the excuse it is a Friday and tell me the chef has already finished, I shouldn't have to try to persuade you to let me have cereal and a couple of bits of bacon when I had paid for it advance. The day before that was a weekday when breakfast was only until 9.30am and no worries with the time as I there at 9am, as I knew it finished at 9.30am. It says on the menu you get a choice of eggs which they don't ask you, you get fried as default even if you don't ask for eggs. I don't think 1 bowl of ketchup that all the people get to share is a good idea, I was given it from another table when I asked for ketchup and it had bits in it from the previous people, it looked like bits of toast from a knife but I shouldn't have to guess what the added bonus ingredients are in the ketchup....

    It is an interesting historic property. Some of the staff where very friendly, others seemed uninterested in customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but not what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival you are greeted with Butlins style chalets that are very run down and scruffy (these were not shown on the booking.com website. However I did notice that some maintenance work was being carried out. Our room was big, the tv was very small and difficult to watch from the bed. There was dust in areas and cobwebs on the light fitting. Other than dust and cobwebs the room and bathroom seemed clean. However it was difficult to tell as the whole room was in need of a renovation to make it more of a luxurious and modern room.

    Staff were very accommodating, breakfast was delicious and there is parking available on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    This is an ideal place for serene reflection, or in more modern parlance - chilling out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water system being renovated during visit, but minor problems soon overcome.

    Beautiful rural setting, very friendly and accommodating staff, leisurely excellent breakfasts and a fascinating living history. Not for the traveller in a rush, but ideal for taking a break from the trials and tribulations of the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing. Staff were really helpful. We arrived early for the rugby and were able to use the spa facilities for a shower and to get changed. £15 taxi to the city center. I was dreading going due to the reviews but was pleasantly surprised! Will definitely be returning. Would recommend room 21/28.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, had an uncomfortable night with sleep dispruted the mattress was worn and could feel springs through sheet. The bed headrest was thick with dust,and the staircase not been hoovered for a while. Couldnt get any hot water next morning as boiler not working so had to use another room on otherside of hotel to shower. Opted for a cooked breakfast which was so inedible refused to eat it. The bacon was cold the scrambled was a congealed lump with baked beans poured over the top.The only positive was that the staff were friendly n helpful. Overall a poor experience needless to say we wont be staying again which is a shame a such a nice location

    Staff were friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall very happy with our stay, very good value for money, nice facilities and beautiful grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom door was difficult to lock. Drive down the hotel through the grounds needed maintenance, lots of potholes

    Really enjoyed using the facilities such as the gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna. Room was spacious and the bed was a large double - very comfy. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a short visit. I enjoyed my dinner and the spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to unplug the light to plug in the kettle. Breakfast was a little sparse. My partner’s bacon was a little dry.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Great facilities, value for money. Nice to be able to open the window. Nice vegetarisme pie for dinner!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    It was relaxing and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room is only open at weekends and bar food is limited for vegetarians.

    Requested travel cot was brought and very cosy. Bathroom was very luxurious. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in every way!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so pleasant the whole time we stayed there, couldnt help you more if they tried. The pool was fantastic and so was the hotel itself. We felt right at home as soon as we got to reception and was made to feel this way during the entire stay. Thank you to all at St Melons Hotel for a fantastic stay!! We shall be back!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Spa great hotel poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a superior room with a queen sized bed which we didn't get nor have we had a refund for it.The shower broke the toilet didn't flush and it was cold in the room when we arrived. I've emailed the hotel with these points but have not recived an email back

    The spa was great

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: