Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stags Head Hotel

Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA233DG, United Kingdom

#37 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1278 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A great weekend
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Great hotel. Great service. Well looked after. In a superb spot for the family wedding up at the Bellsfield hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its good value for money, especially because of comfortable rooms and its proximity to the lake and the eating joints. The breakfast served in the restaurant was also personalised. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant was only hoping that we could've stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to disike, breakfast was lovely, car park for overnight stay was only a minutes walk away

    We booked a room for our relatives from Australia & we were pleasantly surprised when we booked in they had upgraded for the same price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location and lots of places to eat and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    went out at 7am walking to get back for the England match so had to skip breky the staff put us up a packed lunch which was brill great sarnies crisps and a drink . Live entertainment was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Stags head family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking, but this was remedied by the local car park 5 mins walk away but beware it's not cheap, £15 for 3 days or £7 for 12 hours only

    Staff were accomodating, good value for money in a otherwise expensive area, good breakfast and brilliant location. Noise was mentioned in some reviews, but the family room being at the back this was minimal and gone by midnight, the room was basic but clean, given the price this was expected and adequate for one nights stay after a wedding reception. We would stay again and you could enter via a separate entrance to the pub which was good as didn't have to walk children through the pub when returning late evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice two night stay and I enjoyed the music playing on Sunday night - good choice of music guys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small but it was a single room and they have made good use of the small space.

    The breakfast is lovely, you can either have a full English breakfast or just order what you like and you certainly get plenty! Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was just big enough to take a single bed. It was unbearably hot even with the window wide open and a fan going. The staff said they knew there was a heat problem but couldn't do anything about it. I got about 3 hours sleep. It's a dump run by people who don't give a sh!t.

    Nothing to be brutally honest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    staff were very friendly, clean comfy room, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't seem to be enough staff at breakfast time, poor girls were run off their feet and we had to wait quite a while for our food...full English was worth the wait though!

    staff were very friendly, clean comfy room, perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff was really helpful, we booked the wrong dates and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really helpful, we booked the wrong dates and we could change the dates without any extra charge. Even we had a free upgrade to the suite for one night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't be in a hurry to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking being quite a distance from the hotel especially when you had to haul cases in the pouring rain. We had a twin room and I fell out of the bed Never seen such small beds

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower had very little pressure so couldn’t was hair. The bed was not very comfy. There was no mention on the website if there being a nightclub downstairs, we were only told this on arrival. Very noisy between 1-3am!!

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable enough and the shower was good however the overall standard was not up to par
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very jaded and in need of a complete makeover. Being a pub with outside space and late licensing, it is very noisy until very late.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got quite hot and lots of noise from laneway out the back when the window was open.

    Brilliant location and value for money. Easy walk to everything. Room and bathroom was a great size for our family of 4, definitely the biggest we’ve had on our UK trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Stags head hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't friendly nor helpful The deluxe room was far from deluxe! It had damp in the corners of the room, the door handle in the bathroom was falling off, the mattress on the bed was rock hard and had springs sticking out of it!

    The location was really good not far from the shops and really close by to the lake! The breakfast was really nice aswell :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room which doubled up as the fire escape. Very dated, noisy, dirty carpet, no mirror in bedroom. The shower room was newly furnished and clean.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Depressing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small claustrophobic room with one small window (propped open by a stack of beer mats!) facing a noisy extractor fan and wall. Almost zero natural light or air in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was nice but the bedroom was a little tired, could do with a new carpet, repainting, more plug sockets and a good clean.

    Location was excellent, cosy pub atmosphere, nice friendly staff and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely amazing location, smack bang in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to some other BnBs in the area it was a bit pricey, especially considering they don't have their own carpark and that cost another £15. Also breakfast is only served between 8-9:30am so not great if you want a lie in

    Absolutely amazing location, smack bang in the centre of Bowness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is great for shops restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of this hotel and it's rooms and facilities are not what actually is there so don't be fooled. We had to wait for breakfast for over 40 minutes because there was a party of Japanese in who got priority not good when we had a 2 year old who's hungry. We wouldn't stay here again though despite all that, especiall if you've got kids is avoid it!

    The location of the hotel is great for shops restaurants bars the lake and boat trips and transport to surrounding areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially the member of staff that greeted us was condescending and rude, even for a northerner. I know the lake district is expensive but 90 quid for a basic room with an average bed in a pub (with a loud club downstairs) is way overpriced

    In a great location, allowed us to check in earlier with notice, although was made to feel like it was the biggest inconvenience in the world

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and a clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and the breakfast was lovely. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this isn't it but if you want a nice comfortable stay in a clean friendly pub give them a shout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location,clean rooms great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was noisy at night if you had a room at front till 2 am Friday and Sat night

    Great location,clean rooms great breakfast. Lively pub don't stay if you want a quiet stay especially at weekends 10% off food and drinks good value Great live music

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Location great and very clean would recommend and go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found our arrival at reception very rushed and the person on duty was more interested in the bar customers. Not a very helpful person I found a bit rude. Reception could have been labelled better

    The room and the bar staff in the evening were great. Breakfast very good. Very clean bathroom in the room. Bar area was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant stay enjoyed every minute loved the breakfast and nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress definitely needs changing as in our room the springs could be felt through the sheets however if they did this I would happily recommend to anyone as everything else was great We didn’t complain about the bed as we were only there 2 nights and hopefully they have a policy to change them more frequently in future

    Friendly and made a fab breakfast Great position for Windermere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    No frills stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in this old building; wifi drops out a bit

    Great location, full English breakfast, staff willing to help when possible. Although my room was compact, it had everything I needed and was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Still good value at a decent price for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access a problem on the 2nd floor even though it was reset at least once.

    Very good breakfast in the spacious bar area served by lovely, friendly ladies. Limited cereal and fruit juice choice but excellent full English cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Its was a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, the bed was lovely an comfy, as was the room , bathroom was lovely as well.Also the live band they had on in the evening was brilliant not just good singing but funny as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    ok place fantastic breakfast but loud music spoilt our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Music from nearby flats till 1 30AM both nights, Friday night we knew there would be music downstairs that went on till 11 30 not to bad as we were expecting it but the other days we were not. We found out there was a night club down stairs but the staff told us the noise must be from nearby flats not the night club either way should have looked at the reviews a lot closer.

    Breakfast was great location good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Easy to get onto the front at Bowness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work going on through the night which woke a few people up. Bathroom was lovely but nowhere to hang anything up some clothes and towels had to be left on the floor.

    Easy to get onto the front at Bowness. Easy to find. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and enjoyable with great scenery and places to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although the both the room and location of the hotel were excellent, the only problem i had personally was the pillows in the room they were too soft for my liking and didn't offer much support. However this is the only complaint i have about the facilities.

    The location and area of the hotel was perfect just a short walk from the pier, had a nice lively atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. The only let down for the nights we stayed was the weather, i can fully recommend this hotel for others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, breakfast and spa really good. Staff were polite and help full. Let down the room too cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold as the single glazed windows let alot of cold in and the radiator didn't let enough heat out.

    Breakfast and the free use of the leisure centre and spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awful, under charged us then phoned to say they had made a mistake and would take the money off our cards. Very very noisy on an evening due to live music and the nightclub. Didn’t sleep well. Breakfast was cold the first morning and not enough choice continental wise. Some of the staff were rude the way they spoke to you left a day early due to the noise levels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    ok but not lived up to previous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast and and service at the bar was slow

    the breakfast was horrible , the sausages were sour and tasted out of date , the bacon was not cooked enough and the black pudding and mushrooms were undercooked and cold . we had stayed previously and the breakfast was great then ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed it due to the way I was treated and the location. There are beautiful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the single room I was given when I arrived. Noisy, very simple, not dark curtains, bad mattress and the shower the water wouldn't run

    the room I was given on arrival was VERY SIMPLE, not even a lamp on the bedside table, white curtains which let the light in, etc but then I was offered a better room for the the 3rd night and a refund for 1 night. I think that was very professional and honest. Staff were extremelly helpful and polite. I'll come back to the second room,not to the first. the pub downstairs is a plus where you can spend some time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    We had a great stay everything was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay everything was Excellent,and breakfast was amazing staff were great location was great.i cant fault the hotel at all we will be staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is second to none in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu could do with some fruit added to it. Property is old and it shows its age (part of the charm!) though the room was clean and the towels changed daily. Staircase carpet absorbs the smell of smoke but as we didn't spend our days in the staircase, that's also a minor thing. No lift, so if you are not fully able bodied, that may be an issue for you. Shower pressure not great and Internet a bit slow. No frills, does what it says on the cover.

    Location is second to none in the area. Price is wonderfully low for how close it is to where the attractions are. Breakfast was hearty and kept us going all day. My boy loved the bank bed and the shower, staff were friendly and the atmosphere was lovely. We'd come again, and try one of the suites next time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Ideally located if you just need a central base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only downside is the that entrance for the club is the same one for the hotel stairs & is open to the street as well - didn’t feel secure - a little noisy too

    Central location, surrounded by shops, restaurants & bars -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a tight squeeze.

    Easy access for centre of Bowness , lake cruises etc. Friendly,helpful staff,choice of quality produce well cooked & presented. En suite "compact" lovely comfy bed in an unexpectedly quite bedroom which had caused us concern prior to our visit but would not hesitate to return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Our family room was not good 👎
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ladder to bunk beds wasn’t securely fixed! Our double bed had collapsed on one side! It was also stained. My husband cut his foot on a nail that was randomly knocked in the floor through the carpet! We paid for two nights, stayed one as we couldn’t face another night there. Manager fully refunded us.

    Staff on arrival were lovely. Real ale was good and the pub had a lovely roaring fire. Fantastic location, just a shame the hotel can’t spend a small amount of money on the things that matter most to people e.g. a clean comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Very close to all amenities in Bowness. Gorgeous four poster bed room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any parking - but there is a public car park a couple of minutes walk away. There is a night club in the basement of the hotel. As the hotel is an older building you can expect all the creaks and noise from other rooms.

    The hotel was in a brilliant location. Walking distance to everything you need. The bars and restaurants are all a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel staff were ok, some a little grumpy in the morning but went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable. Checking in and out was very quick and easy. Breakfast was ok. The room was lovely, we were lucky to get the four poster bed - I would recommend staying in these rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    10/10 Best value for money we have found in the lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel entertainment can be noisey just check whats on before you stay. This information is presented and states that live music is often on, a bonus for some.

    Very large clean room, excellent breakfast, friendly helpful staff. We go to the lakes often and the Stags hotel is the best value for money we have found. 10/10.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay and for what we paid it was worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside as we were right above the entrance where the smokers stood and could hear everyones conversation also when the pub and disco closed could be difficult to get to sleep double glazing would be good

    The location was brilliant the room was clean with a lovely shower room the beds were very comfortable the staff were pleasant and helpful had a great breakfast so much we couldnt finish it so ordered less the second day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Its a local Pub / B& B / Hotel depending on your own personal view. Would we stay again ---- Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so let down by a mattress that must have slept Sumo Sam in it for a week. The Windermere Suite so needs a makeover to compliment the modern bathroom.

    The Bathroom was very up to date . Breakfast was very tasty. Location was perfect for all ventures.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No major issues would recommend the hotel

    Good breakfast, excellent location and helpful staff when we complained that our room was freezing, they quickly arranged another room that met out requirements

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, 20% off bar prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated at breakfast on a single table, no atmosphere. Put the news on the tv, sit everyone together in the same area.

    Great breakfast, 20% off bar prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Lots of snow, lots of walking, lots of tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the top floor for 5 nights, during a blizzard, so we where obviously going to have lots of bags and suitcases. No lift, nobody helped us with our stuff. I'm not sure if the owners had a dog or not, but there was lots of noise coming from the loft area now and again, that made us feel like we where in the movie 'rec' it was actually a little scary. Hotel is set out a bit like it, too. It was very cold all week. When the room heated up though it was okay. Local kids invade the pub at weekends, was waiting four hours to play one game of pool on last night, people staring at me all night because I'm Scouse. Someone started drinking my boyfriends pint and thought we wouldn't see him doing it. Rude. Drinks where slightly overpriced, even with 10% discount that I'm not sure he actually gave me, barman was rude to me. No pub food, had to brace the cold every night. No bath.

    The shower was really good, like a sauna. The housekeeping took place towards the afternoon so I was at least awake. There was extra quilts in the wardrobe, and a hairdryer, and a heater. Though it kept sparking and didn't seem too safe, it was so cold it was needed. Big breakfasts. Dogs are allowed and it was nice to see them staying warm. Everyone kept to themselves really and there's a lot less people in the lake district than Liverpool and the people are overall more chilled out. Quiet place, a lot of the staff where friendly. Enough resturants at the doorstep, hotel right next to dock for the cruises leaving from Bowness, all staff there where lovely and helpful. We had some good walks and adventures. Cleanliness was really good, was just some cobwebs on the window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Good, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor outdated. Wi-Fi did not work. Kettle had to be put on the floor to plug in. Room cold - no radiator. Smokers were in the doorway and the smell seeped up the stairs.

    Good, quiet location. Bathroom clean. Comfy beds. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovley little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with sound proofing the bedroom windows some how..noise from people hanging round back of hotel coming back from another pub. not stag heads fault but did keep me awake.

    Loved the overall look & quirkyness of the building..plenty of charactor. Warm & inviting. Evening & morning staff were approachable & cheery. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. Look forward to going back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location - good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not parking at the Stags head, however a main carpark is only a few yards away. Great location in Bowness right in the centre of pubs, resturaunts and shops. I have stayed here over 5 times now, if your looking for a great location for activity then this is perfect - Not boutique style rooms but clean and comfortable and a good rate for Bowness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy but we knew this advance, this didn't effect our stay but I would suggest of you are a light sleeper ask for a room higher up and towards the back

    Rooms were clean, location excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    lovely place to stay friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking a little far but nice walk along the lake on a dry day

    outside needs a lick of paint but inside old fashioned styled pub staff friendly and helpful rooms very nice fantastic bathroom beds comfy rooms nice and warm breakfast very tasty with plenty of choice would stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was great, the room was lovely. We also went on the yellow cruise to lakeside! Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was expensive, not just where we stayed but every establishment! £4.25 for a pint!

    Night club in the basement was great, busy pub on the ground floor was great too. Also two minute walk from the lake, we went on a lake cruise to lakeside and visited the motor museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Staff were nice, location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked by some friends so not our choice. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was cheap, so no real complaints, it’s just a pub with rooms and everything is well overdue a refurb. It just felt a bit grubby for want of a better word!

    Staff were nice, location good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Bowness is a lovely place to stay. The Stags Head is basic but friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was small. The bed was next to the radiator, which was hot. This was quite concerning as the person sleeping next to the radiator could burn their face. The rest of the room was cold as was the bathroom, because of the single glazing. Sleeping was difficult, because of the noise of a generator. I don't know if it was the Stags Head, or the hotel next door as we overlooked the back of both. Cereal choice for breakfast was poor, and no fruit or yoghurts were offered which l would have liked.

    Location was good. Staff pleasant. Cooked breakfast was good. Bed was comfy. The shower was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location but in need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was clean it was extremely dated and could do with a refurb in some parts. The bed/pillows were not the most comfortable and although we were on the top floor it was very loud until the early hours of the morning. I wouldn't recommend for anyone who wants somewhere a bit quiet - but what can you expect if you choose to stay above a pub!

    The hotel was clean and basic - exactly what you would expect for the price in Windermere. The staff were friendly and told us that we could get 10% discount at the downstairs bar as well as giving us directions to the closest car park which was only a couple of minutes walk away and was £7 for 24 hours. The hotel was in a great location, very close to the lake and also nearby bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blood on toilet seat. Yuk. I am used to a continental breakfast, so I missed fruit and muesli. No food available when I arrived Sunday evening.

    Large room. Great pillows.Modern.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value , great location would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park you've got to park about a 5-10 min walk £7 for 12 hrs parking Small tables for breakfast ask for a larger table , as when it all arrives you've no room To eat .

    Excellent possition , right in the centre of bowness right by the lake . Good atmosphere in the pub discount if you show your key . Good breakfast nice coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    enjoyable,friendly,lovely plae to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    fantastic new bathroom in room 22. rooms very warm on the winter days excellent choice for breakfast fantastic service nice old fashioned décor pub very homely and friendly would recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no car park and had to pay £15 on a car park for overnight parking which was just behind the hotel .

    Very central to centre , staff friendly and the breakfast was lovely will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.8
    Was not happy with the staff or room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t nice we had no heating in our room during the night as the temperature was -3c outside and 0c in our room wasn’t happy as they did nothing to resolve this issue and had to leave a day early.

    Bed was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    Great location, discount on drinks in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty underwear left in bathroom and room could do with a bit of tlc.

    Great location, discount on drinks in the bar. One staff member stood out from the rest and made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite With Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Through no fault of the hotels own there was a power cut on Sunday morning. This meant we were not able to have a hot shower or see to get dressed. We were also unable to have a hot breakfast. I understand it was not in the hotels control, but I felt disappointed that we had to elsewhere to buy breakfast. I would have liked to have been re-imburst for the cost of breakfast as I am aware this will have saved the hotel money in stock.

    The location was perfect. Lovely large room with very modern bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Basic but clean . No breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power cut ( obviously not hotels fault) but was unable to have breakfast or wash my hair . Thought it would've been a nice gesture to even give us £10 refund to get breakfast nearby as other places where fine.

    Good location..Good price. Basic but clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    The location is brilliant, and spa was an amazing treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. You can park outside though, to unload and check in, but have to go and park your car somewhere else. There is a parking about 2-5 mins walk from the hotel, have to pay of course

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    2.5
    Never again !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic pictures not the same as room , Work bring conpleted and not advised , breakfast burnt room just above pub and noise from partying just outside pub until 1am

    Basic and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    for what I paid overall i'm happy with my stay, but I won't be returning due to the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room above a pub which was loud until 1 in the morning. not a huge issue, but should be advertised as such. Also the breakfast was poor

    great value for money. great wifi, clean, nice en-suite, lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    The location, good breakfast, lovely staff who cleaned and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the bedroom was sickly. Staff allowed to drink, get drunk and hog the best seats near open fire. Which is what you kind of come to the lakes to do.

    The location, good breakfast, lovely staff who cleaned and did the breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the Old England Macdonalds Spa next door which we were suppose to have access to would not let us use the pool because they have cancelled The Stagshead membership since their new manager took over, so that was disappointing as that one of the main reasons we booked the Stagshead so we could use the pool in the hotel next door with the free leisure passes that were included in our booking. Not The Stagshead fault at all.

    The staff couldn’t do enough for us they were very friendly and helpful with our disabled son.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location but doesn’t deliver on what it advertises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both booking.com and the Hotel very poor at confirming parking arrangements before stay. Whole family extremely disappointed that a reason for booking this hotel was free leisure passes advertised. We took our gym and swim gear as knew weather wasn’t expected to be good. Hotel and booking.com have this advertised on their websites (even on the day) as a perk of this hotel and it is advertised on the Hotel bedroom doors, and yet the contract With the Hotel next door has ended. The Hotel / booking.com should have alerted us to this on booking as it is false advertising and we would have stayed elsewhere with such facilities. The staff just tried to blame the other place. Breakfast service was very slow although staff did apologise.

    Great location in the heart of Bowness. Great pub to watch football.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    It was fine. The location was great and including breakfast was nice, but it was too noisy to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were neat and clean, but lacking in comforts like size, a lack of outlets near the bed, and no washcloths. Further, my room had a tub but no shower feature, which was inconvenient, and it overlooked the front door where people would gather outside the pub. They were exceedingly noisy and kept be up both nights until well past 3am.

    Breakfast was excellent and the service was wonderful. The rooms were very neat and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    nice hotel but it is also a loud pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were woken up in the middle of the night by very loud group of drunk men who were shouting and almost fighting right outside our bedroom so i would recommend the hotel to try and locate such groups separately from families staying there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms pub

    Sleeping was horrendous windows in our room were right in front of air condition and kitchen vents coming from large MacDonald hotel no double glazing or anything to try and help with noise didn't sleep all night place really dated and tatty didn't fancy breakfast in there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.8
    A true disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard. Try to avoid Ullswater room if you can.beds looked like they are folded narrow beds.very hard not even. You will feel metal stripe whilst laying on your back. Room carpet was with dirty spots. There were no hangers for the towel. Room was cold because of single glazed window. But most important there was unbearable noise all 3 nights from the night club somewhere. Didn't helped ear blockers because of thumping base noise vibration. The noise continued until after 1 am. There were better rooms for sure. But because we booked through booking .com we got I guess the worst one. Although price was not cheap! Therefore the value and price I would rate negative

    Town itself was pretty.breakfast was good and serving ladies were kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Expensive stay on the whole, £15 public parking fees to pay on top as no parking avail at stags head
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid the same price as our friends for twin room which was actually a fire exit, very small, cold,(radiator didn’t work)and uninvitng, our friends were in a spacious, warm room with double shower. At £90 per room I didn’t feel we had got value for the money.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Terrifying !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fight broke out in the middle of the night in the corridor outside our room and no one from the hotel sorted it out . No one offered us an apology or any compensation for the sleepless night that we endured It was one of the worst places I’ve ever stayed.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: