Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stansted Lodge

1 Mill Close, Elsenham, CM22 6EG, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Elsenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 956 B&B reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient for airport and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very flexible to late arrival and early departure for flight . Plenty of options to self service breakfast available from 3.45am. Very helpful host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The Staff, the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the stay, the staff was beonde lovely. Very helpful and so friendly.We felt right away a homley athmosphere.The matresse wasn't very comfortable,which was a shame.The location was only reachable by taxi at the time we arrived.But we would use the lidge again,if we would ever fly from Stansted at strange times.

    The Staff, the kitchen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Had a comfortable night stay. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further away from airport than I thought . but taxi service was good

    Owner was very friendly. Nice garden to sit out in. Breakfast ,teas coffee and cake was there to help yourself. Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    A well priced, very homely and welcoming place located near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well priced, very homely and welcoming place located near the airport. Welcoming staff, extremely helpful with taxis and travel tips, nice selection of things for continental breakfast including delicious home made cake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A grate choice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of something dissatisfying.

    Mariola who greeted me was very friendly and more that helpful! Everything was neat and clean. The homemade cake for breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The host was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was amazing . Very friendly and welcoming . Nothing was to much trouble . She had made a crumble which was beautiful. She booked our taxi for us which was £5 cheaper than than quoted by another local taxi comp any. Would recommend .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was great value for money, spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great value for money, spacious and clean. Mariola deserves a special mention, she was very helpful and welcoming. There is a bus to the airport that you can catch fairly near the guesthouse (the taxi to the guesthouse costs around 18 pounds). The breakfast is continental and self-service (perhaps not ideal for everybody but it saves time if rushing to the airport). All in all, good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The lady who runs this lovely little B&B is so lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin so can hear your neighbours!

    The lady who runs this lovely little B&B is so lovely and friendly, great communication before and during our stay. She kindly booked us our morning taxi for the airport and provided a good breakfast with a range of food and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and set me up for the travelling I had to do the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like

    The Stanstead lodge was excellent, the lady who runs it was friendly, room clean it was within walking distance to the local pub, which does great food. The Stanstead Lodge sorted out a cab for me in the morning which arrived on time, excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Nice little BnB, great stay, good location/close to airport and village, great room and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean room with en-suite bathroom and shower. Nice kitchen, well stocked with teas/coffees, bread, milk, cereal, and bread toppings and cake etc. Would recommend, nice little BnB!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    excellent value for money, very pleasant host
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you cant afford a taxi its quite a long walk from the station

    the cake provided in the evening was really nice and the drinks. Lady arranged taxi share to save money on airport transfer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lady that greeted us at this Lodge went out of her way to help us and couldnt have been any more helpful if she tried. Thanks from the Irish couple for making it a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely impossible to get in contact with, cannot even...
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely impossible to get in contact with, cannot even leave a message. despicable customer service once booking.com managed to get in contact the owners.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Fine for the one nIght , but I think it would have to be tweeted a bit for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much bedding on the bed for the time of year. Bedding was a mixture of colours plus the bed was uncomfortable for my taste.

    Breakfast was fine as we. Decorated beautifully. I would have liked the bed to have been dressed properly in matching colours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money B&B if you are on connecting flights from Stansted
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps not very easy to find, a bigger sign outside the house would help.

    Excellent value for money, about 10-15 min away drive from Stansted (and about £15). Self service breakfast. Very clean! Polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great overnight stay close to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public transport to the village is irregular and the taxis expensive (I was quoted £18 from the airport for a 10 minute ride to the lodge).

    You are independent and can help yourself to snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, nice, continental breakfast and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roads are a bit difficult in and around the area.

    Very friendly staff, nice, continental breakfast and close to Stansted Airport. Liked the fact that they let you boil the kettle when you like and you are welcome to use the kitchen when you need it. No cooking though. And there was cake with coffee and tea :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant beat the Value for money here.. 13 Pound Taxi to the Airport. Taxi was per-arranged by the Lodge too. Lovely little room with a Shower in my room.. Lots of Breakfast choice. very well run lodge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Short but sweet and cozy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host I met was absolutely lovely and kind - I arrived after midnight, and was made to feel right at home. I only stayed about 8 hours, so cannot comment on the rest, but quite convenient for travel to Stansted, and a very warm ambiance :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    A clean and welcoming place to rest your head
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warm for me, but I easily found out how to turn the radiator off

    Convenient walk to the train station, kitchen open 24 hours to help yourself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for overnighting before an early flight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very helpful owner. Self service breakfast available in the large kitchen, but as I was leaving very early I didn't get to sample it :-( Clean and quiet and ideal for an early flight as it's only 10 minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Was able to accommodate very late at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not particularly comfy and far too much on the bed eg) bedding

    Was able to accommodate very late at night. Good facilities Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Convenient to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very late check in time. Arrived too early and had to kill time in the cold and rain waiting for entry as we were on foot. Not much choice for dinner in area. We felt it was high priced for what was offered.

    Convenient as an early morning start to the airport and a good airport transfer company liaises with this accomodation. Cost of our transfer was £13 and driver was on time and friendly. Early morning access to help yourself continental breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Lovely little place in a nice area close enough to Stansted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little place in a nice area close enough to Stansted Airport that travelling is very easy. Room was cosy and pretty. Breakfast was just right! Very pleased with my stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    We had 2 nights at Stansted lodge on the way to holiday and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 nights at Stansted lodge on the way to holiday and back. No regrets, all fine. Convinient location to get to/from Stansted. Good breakfast, lovely home made cakes. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Stayed before and after an early/late flight into stansted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was small. But they gave be a much larger room on my second stay that was available.

    I was able to store a bag on site when I left for a long weekend during a longer trip. They were very helpful for arranging taxis, and helping plan options for airport transfers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Just what I wanted at a very reasonable cost, made to feel welcome with no fuss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of choice for a self service breakfast on a casual basis. Good car parking for whole trip at very good rate. Easy access to Stansted by taxi, which was on time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice overnight in cozu countryside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house in gorgeous countryside town. Local bus from Stansted Airport takes you to a couple of minutes walk from the lodge. Aleksi was very friendly and helpful, kept the place very clean and stocked. Got quick reply with bus instructions when asked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Really lovely lady, who helped us to get a taxi for early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely lady, who helped us to get a taxi for early morning. Fresh cake on the table and self-service in the kitchen. Very beautiful room with comfortable beds. Loved our stay there!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Even though we arrived a bit late, the host kindly informed...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we arrived a bit late, the host kindly informed us about the place and even reserved taxi for us for the next morning. Amazing place to stay :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Surprising...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unassuming hotel as thought we got dropped off at the wrong place. Very friendly and helpful when checking in. Clean, tidy and comfy rooms. Stayed the night as was flying out early morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay for travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were little cakes on the kitchen table. Self service in the kitchen was convenient. Toiletries provided in the bathroom. The lady was very nice and the check in was very efficient and all the information you need is provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    friendly host, good value and only 10 min drive from Stansted airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave at 5:15 am to Stansted Airport. There was an opportunity to make breakfast on site. There was Instant Coffee and the kids got a toast with ham and cheese. It's not five star but a good and cheap solution.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Great little place, beware of creaky floorboards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken up in the middle of the night by creeky floorboards, of guests upstairs getting up for an early flight. Maybe worth requesting an upstairs room if you don't need to be up early.

    Had a nice homely feel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant but not easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom/en-suite. Too small

    Two single beds were comfortable and the room itself was well furnished. The en-suite was very small but there was not room to make them bigger without altering the windows. Cake and coffee on arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Best choice for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my connection flight so I had to overnight somewhere close. This b&b is the best choice if you want somewhere clean and cosy to sleep for 1 night. There is nothing around but you can find an Indian take away (THE BEST) and a topical market where you can spoil yourself with chocolate bars, drinks etc. The staff is very friendly and willing to help in any case. Best choice I made for this terrible experience which I had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    would defernatly stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing every thing was spot on.

    This was a lovely place to stay in a nice quiet cul-de-sac so nice and quiet and no through traffic i was late getting to my accommodation due to accidents so never got chance to visit the local pub for a pint or two and a bite to eat however Breakfast which is self service ie juice tea and coffee and cereal or toast and jam did for me in the morning, the staff were lovely mother and daughter and very nice..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value-for-money experience. No frills but all essentials provided with great courtesy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really nothing at all to dislike. It was a perfect overnight stay. I had an early start (4.15am) and the kind owner was there to make sure I did not miss my taxi ride.

    I liked everything about my stay from the friendly welcome to the helpfulness in arranging a taxi at an affordable price. The only reason I did not give a rating for breakfast was that I opted to go without.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff and very welcoming. No issues with my flight being delayed and arriving in the early hours of the morning. Taxi serviced arranged as well. Breakfast was also excellent too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Shabby Chic
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sockets, old and tired bedding and towels.

    The bedding, and towel's were old and abit tatty, but all in all it was very clean and comfortable. Didn't like the fact you had to get out of bed to switch the lamp off, as it was by the tv. Should have more sockets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Great place once they fix the shower, put sign up to be found, and find a better way to handle key
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get clear on how to reach the property before hand. We got off the train in the city and walked to the Pepsi but it was pitch black and didn't have internet access to our phones. We had previously checked Google maps so we knew it wasn't far but still had trouble in finding it (there are so signs and the property is called Avalon instead than Stansted Lodge). In the morning the water of the shower was cold. It was 4 am when we woke up so no one around to complain about it. We had reserved a taxi for 4:30am and they were so kind to arrange that for us however the taxi never showed up. They had asked us to wait outside five minutes before the scheduled time. When the taxi didn't show up we panicked because once you leave the keys inside the property and shut the door there is no way to get back in. I didn't want to wake up everyone but I didn't have a working phone either. Fortunately another guest came out of the lodge and I could use his phone to call the taxi company. They apologized and came thirty minutes late. I had to stand for thirty minutes in the freezing cold London winter from 4:25 am to 4:55 am. The other gentleman had locked the door behind him before I could stop him. So there should be a better way to handle the key situation.

    The staff was super nice. They welcome us, helped us to our room, showed us the kitchen and the items for breakfast (cereal and milk, toast with ham and cheese), they called the taxi company for us and also printed our boarding passes. Great staff very accommodating. The room was warm and welcoming. Everything was great except for when I went to take a showy and the water was cold (I did let it run for a minute before taking the bullet)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend the Stansted Lodge.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the ground floor, and the couple above me stayed up late and got up at 4 a.m., which wouldn't have been a problem except the floors 'squeak' terribly loud. It sounded like a badly tuned orchestra.

    Maxi, who greeted me and showed me around, was wonderful! She speaks good English, and is professional and friendly. She made special cakes for the guests, which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable, and the kitchen/eating area is nicely decorated and has everything one would need for a nice breakfast (starting at 3:45 a.m.--help yourself style). I love the convenience to the airport, and Maxi called a taxi for me the night before so I wouldn't have to worry about it in the morning (it was also 3 pounds cheaper than the 18 pounds the taxi company charged at the airport kiosk to drive me to the Lodge).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful little homely place with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £18 to get a taxi there!

    Lovely, warm room & very friendly greeting from (forgotten her name) Polish lady. Very comfortable & nice breakfast with use of the kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    I liked the breakfast room with homemade cupcakes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bummer is the train from London to Stansted Airport means you have to take a taxi to the hotel, and the airport uses this 24/7 taxi company which is a rip off, for sure! When I arrived at the Lodge, the host said there's a much better cheaper company SO try to get that information before you get into Stansted.

    I liked the breakfast room with homemade cupcakes! Super cozy and the host was very friendly! I wish I could've stayed longer, except I had such an early flight that same morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Lovely staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to take a taxi to get the airport. The bus stop near the place is trustable. We changed our mind about taking a bus when we realized that was very late.

    The place was very cosy, clean and the room also very beatiful. Amazing furniture. The lady who looked after of us after we arrived was lovely and professional. She is called Mariagrazia. I strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    Do not stay in room 4 and park your car on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    On my return I was handed a bill for £9 which was for parking my car there. I was not made aware of this charge and could have easily parked my car on the road near to the building which would have cost me nothing. My room was extremely noisy and I was unable to get to sleep due to conversations taking place in the corridor and rooms near to mine. The person in the room above was moving around with the loudest creaky floorboards I have ever known. This very same person then woke me up at 3.45am with the creaky floorboards obviously getting up to leave early. I ended up leaving myself at 4am with very little sleep before my long drive north.

    I thought initially on arrival I had found the perfect stop over for my return from abroad. How wrong could I be !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    I had been traveling for two mo this and I club mbed into bed and watched tv for 5 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small and the shower was in the corner of the room. The sheets were damp and I couldn't get the water to turn on in the shower when I did want to shower. The room was cold and I couldn't reach the radiator because the footboard of the bed and the shower blocked it.

    the tv worked and the kitchen was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.6
    A bit dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was hotel by description, but was in fact house made into rooms. toilet seat was loose and cistern took ages to fill. No early morning call facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    The woman that ran the place was exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman that ran the place was exceptionally helpful. We were tired, cold, and hungry when we arrived. She looked after us, turned the heater on, provided food, and helped with the check-in for the next day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    We will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to airport, not a huge multi-national luxury hotel chain, breakfast at kitchen table shared with other people. The prioper is a lovely friendly person who is extremely helpful and efficient. Homemade luxury cake!! . Clean and tidy accommodation. Pub, shop and take away close by.. We will be staying again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of eating facilities in the neighbourhood. There is only a corner shop and Indian take-away to choose from. The closest restaurant is in a town 10 mins drive away, surprised to see the lodge in the middle of the residential area

    close to the airport, Italian lady who opened the door was very friendly and provided all the necessary information about the house rules, we could use the kitchen to heat up our food we bought in the local corner shop and make ourselves a cup of tea. The room was clean though the shower was a bit hit&miss.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    Difficult (4 mile) walk around Stansted or expensive (£20 for taxi) after 7pm & terrible breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest issue is the location, to be more precise the lack of clarity about the location. The Lodge is advertised as being only 2.1 mile from Stansted, that's why I booked to stay there. Unfortunately it's only 2.1 miles if you walk across the runways which obviously you can't and the last bus is around 7pm. If you're arriving early enough catch the 7 or 7A from stand 15, 16 or 17 (I can't remember which). And the first bus back is at around 7am from Ridley Gardens which is only a few minutes walk away. I recommend finding the stop and checking the latest times before going to bed. A train might be possible but no one seemed very sure and it involves going in towards London or away from London and then changing and can take over an hour. So I used Google maps, pushed through a thicket to the unlit local road and walked about 4 miles. The other issue is the "continental" breakfast which is basically tea, cereal and toast. This is what I normally have for breakfast so should be fine but the supplies are the cheapest of the cheap presented in premium looking glass jars. Good presentation but inedible. The orange "juice" and margarine were particularly disgusting. Finally, the single bed in my room was a frame design so I couldn't lie flat because stopped my feet pushing over the end. It was a normal single bed but choosing a bed that is shorter than many adults is foolish. To conclude, if you've got a car and want pay less than airport hotel rates drive a few miles further. If you don't have a car then pay the extra £30 for an airport hotel, it's cheaper than a taxi, or find somewhere that has a direct rail connection.

    The room had been cleaned, was warm and had a shower in it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Homely, friendly, easily assessable, free parking, ten mins from airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guests may feel that the rooms are too small, but as a solo traveller it was perfect

    The property had a very homely feel. Easy to park and only ten minutes from the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel for late night/early flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor is dated and the beds were ok. It was a bit noisy at night and the breakfast option was limited. For the price, though, you can't complain.

    The manageress was very helpful and friendly! She really looked after us and seemed to care about us enjoying our stay. The parking is very reasonably priced and the location to the airport is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was OK but the blankets could do with changing for a quilt and the bathroom outside our room had a very strange louvre sliding door which didn't give much confidence in the privacy aspect. However, the shortcomings are overcome by the lovely manageress!

    We were late checking in due to a problem with baggage carousel at Stansted but the manager was very helpful at 3am when we finally arrived. We would stay there again if we fly from Stansted in the future with a late arrival. Excellent breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    very good value b&b for Stansted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear through room walls, floors in upstairs rooms very creaky which was a nuisance when sleeping on ground floor and guests checked in very late.

    Comfy bed, good self-service options for breakfast, house is in a quiet residential area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Friendly but not up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm afraid the decor was poor furniture old and you could hear everything - in and out the doors, walking on the floors, incoming and outgoing guests. Breakfast was a cheap continental help yourself job, and the bedding also left a lot to be desired

    The Polish lady was absolutely lovely and welcoming made chocolate cake which was excellent 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    I did like the stay and would come again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of option to go around between villages in the area. Due to travel facilities or poor public transport options. A bicycle for hire would be excellent :-)

    The home made cake and care for details at the B&B. Foremost the friendliness of Mariella.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice enough place but more like a house share than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find property, especially in the dark, limited facilities and felt more like a house share than a b&b or a hotel. Although nice place, I didn't feel the prices reflected the overall facilities available and a tad overpriced.

    Clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location. Very nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worthy for the price.

    The host is really really helpful and nice. We arrived so late and she still waited and also book the taxi for the next morning for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and convenient but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the rooms are not very well soundproofed so I was woken up constantly by people coming and going throughout the night and early morning, which a bit defeated the purpose of staying close to Stansted to get a decent night's rest before an early morning flight. Would not recommend if you are a light sleeper, but otherwise OK.

    Very friendly staff. Convenient location accessible on public transport and in close proximity to airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    I AM ARETURNING CUSTOMER AND THIS TIME HAVE 2 COMPLAINTS.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I AM ARETURNING CUSTOMER AND THIS TIME HAVE 2 COMPLAINTS. The blanket supplied was stained and not warm enough for the change in weather. The sheets were overpowering with a strong smell or cheap rose washing detergent or rinse liquid. This was really horrible and I did not sleep at all well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    I was able to check in very late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got to bed at about 2am, but at 5.30am the whole place became very loud from other people getting up to catch early flights, banging things, gossiping, rather a commotion. The walls and doors etc are very thin and as I was near to the breakfast room it was unbearable and I would have liked some quiet to facilitate longer sleep!

    I was able to check in very late. There was someone there to let me in and help me find it. It's a large family house in a close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    I could relax in a very comfortable room to take my flight next day.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only one bus connecting the hotel with the airport so that it is better to check in advance for the time schedule. In other case you will need a taxi. I felt the room a bit cold but I must admit I didnt ask to increase the heat.

    It is a very quiet property to stay. Everything was very organized and clean, and the staff was solicitous and discrete. I am very happy to have found this place to overnight stay due to a sudden problem at the airport with my ticket.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Such a lovely welcome with self-made cake and coffee.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a lovely welcome with self-made cake and coffee. Everything you need is there. The house and of course the owner is very welcoming. I would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here few times and everytime everything was perfect. Comfortable rooms with a nice decoration. Kitchen available whenever you like to have a coffee or something to eat. Home made cakes. Nice owner helping to book a taxi to the airport. I recommend this place to everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and helpfull staff. A bit far from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the location. I thought it was closer to the airport. It took me 10-15 minutes by taxi to get there, which is fine. The problem is that, when going there, I took a taxi from the airport to the property and it cost me 18 pounds. This was a fixed rate I got from the airport taxi service. I thought I was saving money staying there but the taxi fare was quite high. On my way back to the airport in the next day I got a taxi that the staff reserved for me. In total, it cost 12 pound, but I paid only 6 pounds as I was sharing the taxi with another person who also slept in the property. It was a nice touch of the staff to arrange that. The suggestion I give is to ask the staff to help you to get a taxi also on your way to the the property. They might be able to get you better price than the one available at the desk on the airport.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was rather small but as I was sleeping there only to catch a flight next day it didn't bother me much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The perfect place for Stansted flights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an extraordinary place with ideal location very close to Stansted Airport. You can go there by train from Liverpool Street Station even you better to check the timetable in advance. Check in was nice and easy the staff was very kind and friendly. The house is very clean in everywhere and the interim design of the room is modern and tidy. You can get self-service breakfast even your flight is scheduled very early. Transfer to the airport was organized on demand. This is a perfect place in reasonable price I would recommend it for everyone,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.6
    Lady there was nice and tried to help but didn't have any control. Wouldn't stay again or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on the en suite rooms door was broken so had to prop a chair against it as no other rooms available and no locksmith could or would come out. I was in the room with 2 teen daughters and husband and son were on other side of building (2 staircases) with a shared bathroom so even swapping rooms with them would have left a child in an unlocked room. Table lamp switch was faulty and breakfast was stale. Have emailed management re lock as requested to but have had no response. Bedding etc. Was cheap and ripped or holey. Very thin walls so could hear neighbours arguing/talking through the night which was nice too. Lady in the building had no control or authority to sort anything and had to call the manager or owner about everything.

    The lady that greeted us was nice,friendly and tried her best to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    The helpfulness of the staff and the self served breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty to get to Elsenham with public transport. The size of the bathroom, narrow space between shower and sink to get to toilet.

    The helpfulness of the staff and the self served breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice quiet place to stay 10 minute drive from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It cost £18 in taxi from airport. For breakfast I would prefer real coffee, orange juice, eggs, yoghurt etc. There was instant coffee, squash and toast and cereal you could make yourself which was ok.

    Very clean and comfortable bed and pleasant helpful host

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled as if someone had smoke. Should be informed about It beforehand

    The staff. Very helpfull and nice. Having the kitchen open when we arrive, almost at 2am

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice staff and lots of foof to choice for breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room and there only were blankets on bed and therewere not warm enough. The beds were not very comfortable. At least for me and my wife.

    Very nice staff and lots of foof to choice for breakfest. Surroundings with very good indian "to go" restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay if you are flying in or out of the Stansted Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were really thin. I could hear a few other guests coming in and checking in after around 9PM. Fortunately, the guests staying at the lodge were very quiet and courteous and I didn't have a problem sleeping but if I had small children with me or were staying with noisy guests it would have been uncomfortable. The shower didn't hold its temperature so it would go from being burning hot to ice cold. The house is very old so the room had a strong musty odor when the windows were shut. I think the smell is what bothered me most as I was trying to go to sleep but due to the good service and the location I would definitely stay here again if I had to fly out of Stansted on an early morning flight.

    This property is very close to the Stansted Airport and to the Ellsenham Train Station. I took an hour long train from London Liverpool Station to Ellsenham for around 16 pounds. From the train station it is less than a ten minute walk to the Stansted Lodge. The Stansted Lodge is a ten minute (13 pound) taxi ride to the airport. The staff called and arranged the taxi for my early morning airport trip as soon as I checked in which was really nice. Less than a five minute walk from the Stansted Lodge is a little market and an Indian take-away restaurant which was nice to grab a few items for dinner. The lodging itself was sufficient for a one night stay. It was outdated but clean. It had a small and outdated TV which was fine for one night because it had plenty of channels. The kitchen area was very clean and the breakfast provided was nothing special. It was self serve but adequate (toast, coffee, cold cereal).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Nothing special but convenient for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television was very old and only worked intermittently. The electrics looked doubtful - all running from one extension lead. The bedside lamp was also faulty and the plumbing rather noisy

    Location close to Stansted Airport. Friendly welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stansted Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: