Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stanton House Hotel 3 stars

The Avenue, Stanton Fitzwarren, Swindon, Swindon, SN6 7SD, United Kingdom

#4 of 18 hotels in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Lots of character and Japanese theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was limited, would have liked to see more option (several were unavailable/sold out)

    Lots of character and Japanese theme. Room fabulous and bed so comfortable. Used it for the Air Tattoo - perfect location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the room wooden furniture could do with an upgrade, the surfaces look tired.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice quiet outside area to relax with views to the lake. Good location. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon in the room. Not exactly the hotel's fault in a heatwave though.

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Location/setting absolutely brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    1st class
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Staff went out their way to accommodate late arrival of my business colleague and made fresh breakfast at 10am. The place is spotless and all staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Night by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relaxing country feel to the garden surrounds. Efficient, helpful and precise reception. Intriguing restaurant menu with extensive Japanese choices. Possibly the most elegant car parking in Wiltshire.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Good, but not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all very corporate- but not in a good way. Not good value

    The beds were comfortable; the bathroom was good, and you could walk in the garden. Oh, and the Japanese’s food was an unexpected surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered champagne for the room on ice , for my partners bday , wasnt in the room Ordered room service made 5 calls , 4 to the room service number to have it picked up put down . Or I could hear people asking what to do . I then booked at reception and was told it would be at least an hour , because the wedding reception was receiving their mains , we waited 1 1/2 hours We weren’t told room service was on the tv , then to find out it was Broken , and the room service gentleman couldn’t work it either ! I had a lovely chicken salad , but my partners pork meal came , it was a bacon roll basically covered in a sauce ! We were so looking forward to this night away , and I felt , we were let down , the little extras were missing! The receptionist wasn’t very helpful , we asked about breakfast she said it’s all on top of your ticket there , that was that ! Gave us our key , without any guidance as to where we were meant to go 🙁 Kind regards Neil Woodward

    The area , the gentleman who delivered out champagne , went above and beyond for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Top place if you pay for a decent room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a cheap deal online so was put in a small room, obviously not used often due to there being a cleaning station right outside; clanging cups. Also the bath needs replacing I wouldn't take a bath in that tub. Shower was lovely though. No hot/cold markings on taps either, they do differ around the country guys.

    Lovely old building and Unbelievable surroundings. Staff were very professional and friendly has the feel of an upmarket swanky hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    Dated place. Poor restaurant service. Would not return or recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sunday night, restaurant empty. Waited 45 minutes for a fish pie, which eventually arrived in a tiny bowl and cost about £15!! Waited another 15 minutes for someone to take the plate and bring me the dessert menu. No-one arrived. When I got there, I ordered a cup of tea and asked for a scone but was told the kitchen was closed. Ants were rife all over the worktop in the bar. The rooms were dated and miserable.

    The grounds were lovely. Room was clean. Can't say anything else positive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Country house in a nice setting in large grounds mainly...
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not quite come up to expectations given by the web site - in particular the Japanese menu was restricted (no sushi or sashimi) which we had particularly looked forward to. Bars were limited in range of drinks available. Appeared to be understaffed at least at the customer facing end.

    Country house in a nice setting in large grounds mainly grass but shrubs and climbers nearer the house. Large clean rooms with easy access. Helpful staff. Plenty of car park space. Good food and drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The welcome ,very attentive team at breakfast service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome ,very attentive team at breakfast service. Room immaculate,very relaxing and comfortable.I shall certainly return and recommend,many thanks Andrew Jackson

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the room & setting, but extremely disappointed with the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the food. Salad lettuce brown on the edges, fish pie had hardly any fish in it, and bacon was hard to cut never mind chew.

    Very comfortable bed & good to have the tea/coffee making facility in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice comfy room, lovely staff, annoying WiFi. Won't be coming back because of this.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Laptop couldn't connect to free WiFi and I was told this was quite common because of the security settings on most laptops. When ask for secure connection, was told this wasn't available. The upshot being that I couldn't work which is pretty critical for a business stay.

    Nice room, Comfy bed and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, worth seeking out due to the great authentic Japanese restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a ground floor room in the main building. I think the soundproofing of the door onto the main corridor could have been better; early evening I could very clearly hear people walking and talking - overnight it was quiet and there was no problem though.

    Accommodation is good - my room was a fair size, clean, well lit, large bathroom and with tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities. What makes the hotel worth choosing over others in the area is the excellent restaurant. They have a very nice range of high quality British options - but also an unexpectedly comprehensive Japanese menu (I believe they're used by visitors to a nearby Japanese motor company). I'm a frequent visitor to Japan - and the food at Stanton house is authentically what you'd find at a restaurant in Tokyo. Even at breakfast, Japanese 'natto' is available, which is very unusual to see in the UK. It's an acquired taste (which I haven't acquired!) so I happily enjoyed the excellent English hot buffet options they also have.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice property offering adequate accommodation. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cafe or lounge serving anything mid-morning. Breakfast choice was dull.

    Standard hotel with pleasant room. Staff very good, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    A nice, character hotel in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant has no mushroon-free vegetarian options on the menu. The lovely, helpful restaurant manager arranged for salads with grilled vegetables to be made for us. The food was very nice but it felt awkward to have to ask for something special.

    Clean, comfortable room with a beautiful bathroom. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel for one night. Check website booking carefully
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I had booked breakfast but it was some "grab and go" option which had to be upgraded. No idea where the mistake occurred but I am experienced at booking exactly what I want. The bar is very odd. It is in a corner of the dining room and not very welcoming.

    Comfortable room with a great shower. The hotel is in a nice setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant for the setting, room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t control temperature of shower. The morning receptionist didn’t understand what I was trying to tell him about a broken tap which controlled the temperature.

    Friendly helpful receptionist on arrival. Big room. Comfy bed. Beautiful setting although not there long enough to enjoy it fully.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    very pleasant stay, will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean. Great location, it was a shame weather was wet and windy as we would have walked around the grounds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, excellent food and a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms - carpets and furniture are looking very tired and could do with updating.

    Reception, bar and restaurant areas have been renovated to a high standard and in keeping with the age of the building. Staff are professional, polite and always on hand to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    A very well managed Wedding venue with great staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with our bathroom in our room as the toilet had walls either side and there was not much room to use the toilet. There was a display on the dressing table offering deals on food but this was 3 weeks out of date which made us question how well the room had been made up for us. When it came to the evening party at the wedding we had to leave the hotel at reception and go to another entrance of the building, this was confusing as the buildings are linked to each other , Just glad it was not raining.

    We were very impressed with the building and the grounds. The staff were very helpful and polite. The food was lovely and the staff at breakfast were very pleasant and helpful. We were there to celebrate my Cousins wedding which was done very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park needs to be better lit. The sign needs to be on the left hand side of the road coming from Swindon - on A361 we ended up in Highworth in the dark.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit "corporate" in style Decor needs a little updating

    Beautiful location, quiet and rural whilst being close to town and main travel links Quiet room Comfy bed Large bathroom Good value Helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Okay but wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV remote failed to work, bed was a little lumpy and possibly needing new mattress. Car park very poorly lit. Receptionist on check out was poor, failed to acknowledge I was even there as she was dealing with other guest. Not expecting to be dealt with first but do expect to be at least greeted.

    Good sized room with clean and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Delightful relief after the problems I encountered with another hotel, in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Eating breakfast late meant things had been well turned over but could have waited for freshly cooked. Dinner was superb. The room was comfortable but having a shower over a bath is difficult for me to deal with. I couldn't fault the staff for their consideration and helpfulness. I will most definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Problem not solved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the recepcionist was rude with us when she told us that until 2pm was not possible to checkin. I had a problem with the toilet cistern. I told the recepcionist about the problem and asked if it was possible to fix it because I was going to be out of the room. When I arrived to my room at 10:30 pm the cistern was broken and I had to use the keetle to pour water in the toilet. I would asked to change the room but it was late at night.

    The building is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    3.3
    Deteriorated greatly since a previous visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and furnishings were shabby and boring. Food was dreadful. Japanese menu had very little choice and dishes were of poor quality. Extremely disappointing.

    Lovely building from the outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great value for money, lovely room, great food, beautiful wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was never enough out , as soon as they filled up the tray of something it was emptied as it was just a small portion.

    Food was excellent !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Far and small room but good view of surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far away from any sightseeing and would be very hard to get to and to anywhere without a car. Very small room .

    The surrounding is beautiful and good for a walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay and we enjoyed our few days there. Would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found nothing to complain about.

    Stanton House Hotel was perfect for my wife and I to tour around the Cotswolds. Central to all that we wanted to see. The staff were excellent, the room was reasonably large and the en-suite was clean. Although we paid for breakfast there was plenty of choice and plenty to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant setting could be improved

    our room was so romantic, giving on this very nice park with the sheep in the grass as soon as you open the window in the morning! A perfect getaway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable & relaxing stay - have already mentioned Stanton House to our travelling friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waitress on first evening had limited English & knowledge of Japanese dinner menu but she may have been a recent addition to the staff. Male waiter on second evening was excellent - he mentioned he is coming to Australia ( Mildura ) to work in November.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A lovely weekend retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel on the outskirts of town, very modern with a nice ambience & efficient staff. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot cold food. We ate in the restaurant which had a Japanese & English menu with plenty of choice whichever you choose. Good kids menu too....my granddaughter decided to eat her huge fish fingers with the chopsticks provided for the Japanese menu 😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel. We were just a bit unlucky with the plumbing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the evening the flush of the toilet started playing up and in the morning it no longer worked. I looked inside the cistern and there was nothing I could adjust or report as broken, so something hidden within the mechanism had packed up. I therefore had to improvise a flushing method. This was annoying and put a dampener on an otherwise very good stay.

    Very elegant hotel, well-looked after. Our room was classy and for a modest price. The food in the restaurant was very good. The Japanese menu in particular was a pleasant surprise for my South Korean wife.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Appalling! And I told them so too with a full list of unhappies for £115 per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed for the 2 evenings we stayed due to wedding venues and no staff available to serve staying paying customers. Cracked sink in room as well as cup rings on half the furniture and long cobweb hanging from ceiling. No replenishment of coffee, sugar or tea. Overcharged on final bill of extra breakfast and a room service fee. Totally understaffed.

    Lovely property with views of the countryside and a lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely grounds and room was comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took ages for someone at reception to serve me which was rather frustrating after a 3 hour journey. The room was quite near the bar and there was a noisy group in there until quite late.

    Lovely grounds and room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful location and great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Very comfortable rooms, and quiet too. Hotel in a really peaceful, beautiful setting. The inclusive grab and go breakfast was a great benefit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Once again a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did leave it late for breakfast, so some things had run out- my fault!!

    I stay here whenever I can as I know I will get a nice clean room, with a comfortable bed, and a good breakfast. With the bonus of good wifi!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Reception staff friendly, the food good but problems with the waiting staff, bedrooms comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff were very disorganised and no one came to clear the main course or offer a dessert. The chairs were not comfortable and the room was stuffy until another guest asked them to put the ac on.

    the towels were really fluffy and the bed linen was nice and crisp

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Would not stay again, so obvious staff not into customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom, the view was very poor, the room was as far away from reception as possible, crazy when the hotel was empty. I mentioned it and was told it's a single room.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    overnight stay to tack part in Cotswolds Triathlon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening meal expensive and dining room needs a bit of tlc , tables scatched blinds shut despite gorgeous grounds as a cosnsequence we didnt bother with breakfast

    Beautiful grounds and setting, rooms vclean and tidy but nothing exceptional. No leisure facilities which whilst known at time of booking surprising for a hotel of this size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful, delightful, unique
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot with no air conditioning, but I should have asked for a fan.

    Beautiful location and building with it's own lake. Very peaceful. Executive room spacious and clean, bed very comfortable. The Japanese food menu is just wonderful, as you would expect, being owned by Honda! A few drinks on the patio before dinner, a nice conservatory if it's chilly and space in the Japanese style restaurant to sit in the bar. The staff were very accommodating. That evening was 'outdoor film night', the night was balmy, the terrace packed with rugged up people on deckchairs, gave a very unique and special atmosphere. Really hope they continue to do this!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    awful boring and completly a waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms where terrible the breakfast was completely uneatable. the staff were very unapproachable and non understanding. totally disappointed and under my expectations and not as described in listing. the only good thing I can say as it was central to the locations I needed to go apart from that I wont stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone

    the grounds were amazing and stunning to view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was overall a very disappointing experience. On the picture the hotel seems like a small, friendly plac instead it was a big hotel full of people. There was a wedding so it was busy too. The walls are paper thin and the doors are heavy and super loud so I couldn't sleep all night disturbed every 10 mins of the banging noises. The corridors and the rooms were smelly, the carpet and the walls are stained, and it is just so depressing inside. The room was clean and the bed was okay. It was very poor value for 69 for a tiny single room with no sleep and the breakfast is way overpriced for what you get as well. Do not recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel close to the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all was fine and dandy!

    Very nice and comfortable hotel. It was my second stay there and I will hopefully have the opportunity to stay again in the not too distant future. I rated the breakfast but both this time and the last I only had the "grab and go" breakfast. That included an absolutely scrumptious croissant!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Stanton was pretty good.......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little dated but pleasant. There were no bar snacks just restaurant eating. However I could have had room service with a more casual menu (no idea why it had to be eaten in your room!?)

    Lots of easy to use parking, in a really rural location. Swift check in and out, so no need to stand around for ages while the guests in front ask every question under the sun! Breakfast was just a "Grab and Go" concept (I didn't).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful place, beautiful room, beautiful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was promised the bar would be open later, unfortunately they didn't keep it open to the agreed time. The breakfast even though it was lovely there was a long wait even though they knew there was a wedding party and all the guests had stayed they hadn't catered for the volume of food consumed. We had to wait 20+minutes for the cooked breakfast to be replenished and because the queue was so long it was disappearing as fast as it came out which wasn't very fast

    The cream tea and afternoon tea were very good. We have promised to go back just for them

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel close to the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel is a nice quiet location. Many of the guests are Japanese as the hotel is close by the Honda factory and, as it turns out, is owned by Honda. There was even a menu in the room of the daily Japanese specials in the restaurant. Only stayed one night but would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic setting....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More comfortable chairs in room would be welcome.

    All staff welcoming and friendly. Good bar. Offer a @carry away breakfast which is very good. Excellent croissants. Good coffee. Wonderful walks around the hotel. Very impressive original art-work on display.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Location, grounds, conservatory, food, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were celebrating my mums 80th birthday. She could not use the shower as it is within the bath and not accessible for her sadly

    Location, grounds, conservatory, food, friendly staff. Thank you to Vicky in the restaurant for her help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful place disappointing nights stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took me just under an hour to have a shower and hair wash, the drain was blocked so I had to keep turning the shower off so the water didn't over flow into the bathroom.Not relaxing!!!!!! I reported it to the reception it would have been nice if they even offered me a completely breakfast

    Beautiful location and building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice enough, let down by little things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertised on site Japanese restaurant is closed. We wanted an early tea at 5pm so we had to eat from the lunch menu in the conservatory as the main restaurant didn't open until 6, the menu was a mix of Japanese and more English food however half of what we ordered wasn't available. The staff didn't speak very good English and at times disappeared from the bar entirely.

    The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. The conservatory by reception was a lovely place to have a cup of tea. Plenty of parking and relatively easy to find. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Croissants were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv didnt work fully until the 2nd night. Recepyion said they would organise someone to look at it - but they clearly didnt. This left a bad impression

    Croissants were excellent. The surroundings of the hotel were beautiful. Also quiet The hotel buildings looked good Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value, beautiful setting and property with good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't the most comfortable, noisy during night with people walking up and down corridor outside

    Lovely grounds, nice area, beautiful property, staff friendly, very clean, nicely decorated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property and an overall nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Using the shower was a little difficult to start. The device to turn from the bath to the shower was quite difficult to switch. I also found the room to be somewhat "dated" in the fact that trying to find outlets to plug our phones to charge were in inconvenient places such as near the ground by the bed. However, the room itself was very comfortable and I liked the idea of having a fridge in the room. One last thing however, was that when I initially made the booking, breakfast was included, however when checking in, the breakfast 'included" in the price of the room was considered a "grab & go" and not the buffet breakfast. There was an additional charge for the sit-down breakfast. This should be made known when booking the room in advance and not when checking in. Very disappointed in that.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I especially liked the hairdryer in the bathroom which it makes it very easy to dry your hair. Amenities were nice and the view from our room was beautiful overlooking the lawn and water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is crying out to be a 4 or 5 star hotel just needs more staff and decor in bedroom updating no slip mat in bath

    Lovely setting with impressive building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    The location and outside appearance of the property is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom decor is dark and very dated and the restaurant is more a "canteen" than what you would expect from a modern day hotel.

    The location and outside appearance of the property is great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa in the room looked very inviting but when sat on it was clear it had seen better days so not so comfortable

    Friendly staff, lovely comfortable clean bed and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    3 star! you are kidding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was of any concern with perhaps one observation and that was the pillows though I am being very fussy there. It was not something I felt necessary to raise.

    I am surprised this is only categorised as a three star hotel. This hotel made a real change in every way from the usual P Inn hotels. In this case the rate here was at a lower price than the local P Inn and in every way was excellent. The weather helped as one could enjoy a drink on the terrace before an excellent meal as well as a walk around the grounds. Very hard to believe that this hotel is so close to Swindon. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and prompt in dealing with any requests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    Rooms were very dated and smelt so had to keep the windows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated and smelt so had to keep the windows open constantly. Buffet breakfast was poor kept having to ask for items to be replaced as they had run out at 9:30am when breakfast finished at 10am. We were told they had run out of mushrooms which I struggle to believe more like they didn't want to cut them up and cook them for us! Started packing away at 9:50am so had to ask for orange juice to be brought back out as we were still eating and thirsty..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Great stopover hotel with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our standard room was smallish therefore the dark wood and dark furniture made it feel even more so. The restaurant room was vast and soulless

    Our evening meal was excellent. The following day, the breakfast was superb. The restaurant staff were very well trained and amenable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Good stay at Stanton Manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I was helping at a big event at STEAM Swindon and the hotel provided a nice place to stay. There was a wedding which initially worried me but it was dead quiet in the room at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel and Experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is not the best thing of the hotel, but this is just detail. The room is really beautiful and comfortable. If you're not with a car I won't advise you to stay there.

    Dinner and breakfast were exceptional! really amazing. Nice staff. They have gigantic gardens, full of sheeps, it's really cute. The location is perfect if you're by car and the parking is really good also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    The evening meals were very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pre cooked breakfasts under lights being kept warm, not good

    The evening meals were very nice. Chris was a credit to you and his level of service for someone so young was a pleasure to see.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and enjoyable - very pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room and hotel areas we quite cold and even my bedroom and bathroom could have been warmer. The coffee at breakfast was not good, the food also mediocre and hardly warm.Very relaxing and

    The staff were friendly and helpful and my room was very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed sitting in the conservatory, also walking in the adjacent park. The Japanese food was a welcome change too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    We loved everything! thank u so much!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heater could have been a bit low, some nights was too hot.

    Me and my partner stayed for 4 days, everything was spectacular, the food, the service, the cleaning too. We loved everything! We will definitely be back !!! Thank you so much for the nice welcoming.😊🌸💋💋

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.5
    The grounds and gardens were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The " English manor house" was most disappointing !!! this is not a hotel ...... it is more of a convention centre / wedding venue . There is really very little of that English country house appeal here. The restaurant has more of a cafeteria feel to it and the food awful ! Beware of ordering the mixed grill ! the steak was burnt yet raw inside. Primarily Japanese cooking ( and bad Japanese cooking at that ) we were very, very disappointed

    The grounds and gardens were lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location out in the countryside but about 15 minutes...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy (lift motor/ventilation fans?) but didn't disturb me too much.

    Great location out in the countryside but about 15 minutes from the town centre in a lovely (former) manor house. Made my girlfriend really jealous when I told her about the Katsu curry I had!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing stay in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice of English and Japanese food. Hot, plentiful and well cooked. Spacious bedroom with nice view. Fridge and beverage making facilities. Friendly, courteous staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Great place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small I had to use the desk to put my suitcase on. Couldn't leave it on the floor as I'd have tripped over it.

    The water pressure for the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very lovely location next to Stanton Park. Great location for walks and people with dogs. Lovely meal in the evening Celebrated anniversary

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasent stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A less than warm welcome from the lady at the front desk, did give a sense of apprehension to the stay.

    The ambience was excellent, the staff polite and very willing to help and the environment was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception could have been more welcoming

    Location was beautiful. Room was really nice, bed comfy, spotlessly clean. Restaurant and bar staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful Country break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect Hotel. Beautiful, friendly and great service. We stayed over Christmas and enjoyed the 4 poster bed suit with private terrace overlooking the lake. The hotel and surroundings are truly stunning. Staff extremely friendly and efficient. Food is of high standards at a good price. I would highly recommend Standon House Hotel. We look forward to visiting again. Thank-you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.5
    Manageress tries to charge customer for two rooms even after her staff spot the error
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manageress who tried to charge me for two rooms. Her staff had alerted her earlier in the day that it looked like a mistaken double booking,. Rather then call or e-mail me to check. She insisted on arrival that I would have to pay for both rooms. Hotels.com cancelled the second booking; and they came out of this looking much better than Stanton House. De Vere Swindon now has my business.

    Rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: