Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Statham Lodge Hotel 3 stars

Warrington Road, Lymm, WA13 9BP, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Lymm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    great value hotel in a convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very clean room with comfy bed. Good breakfast. Very friendly, efficient staff. Have stayed previously and will do so again. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Better than expected for a training course venue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed here for a business training course. The hotel and staff were fantastic, so much better than I expected for a training venue host. The food was excellent, I had a beautiful steak. the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and the bed was massive. I didn’t use the Wi-Fi, but was told it was pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed seemed to be a bit too softly sprung and dipped more on one side of the double bed than the other.

    Very helpful staff, good english breakfast, clean bedroom/ensuite bathroom, good selection of teas/coffees in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location for Tatton Park and the Flower Show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went there to attend Tatton Flower Show.

    It was very comfortable and the grounds were pleasant to walk in, well kept. Lymm was close by and a nice walk along two path.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, nice food and attentive staff. Relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some dust and décor needs updating. Fan in bathroom takes to long to clear steam (perhaps needs looking into an upgrade?) Carpet a bit dirty. Small TV.

    setting was lovely with Garden Views. Food was delicious every night. Very attentive and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Lovely location and Lymm is worth a slow leisurely visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely location and Lymm is worth a slow leisurely visit. The hotel staff are very friendly in a relaxed atmosphere with the bonus an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Let themselves down ripping off wedding guests with high bar prices
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows not comfortable for us. Wedding bar was very very overpriced same two drinks in the hotel bar were £6 cheaper so I refused to buy at the wedding bar The staff member serving me seemed really embarrassed at the prices This alone would not allow me to recommend this venue for another event......shame as they seem to be getting most other things right for a mid range hotel

    Attended a wedding and everything ran very smoothly. was impressed with the wedding food being hot as it was a sit down meal and food is so often luke warm when served. All staff were helpful friendly and engaging

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.5
    Food excellent all staff wonderful willing to go the extra mile .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was very good !! drinks very pricey 8.50 for a large glass of wine thats hotels prices .

    the only problem we were on the ground floor and was unable to leave the window open as there was no safe way to leave it open when in bed asleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    The food for the wake we attended next day was very good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dipping in middle. Evening meal was not too good. Staff could have been friendlier.

    The food for the wake we attended next day was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    A really nice place, with great food and friendly environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom pipe potentially due to water pressure or something else... almost every thirty minutes was making a really annoying noise (whistling) which was really loud. The first two night I was waking up every now and them scared from this noise. Then I went to the city bought ear plugs and at least slept the last day.

    Beautiful location. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant was really good and the food really tasty and well presented! The room was clean and smells good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous Birthday break . Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay , but feel the bedrooms could do with a little paint freshen up, particularly the flaking paint on the window. Frames.

    Beautiful location . Friendly welcoming staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    My bedroom faced the car park,(which meant a lot of noise...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bedroom faced the car park,(which meant a lot of noise should I wish to open the windows) windows open only about 4cm, it was a warm night and the rooms do not have air conditioning, I requested a fan at reception and was given a small very dirt and dusty fan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting with lovely staff
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot as the weather was so lovely some air conditioning or a fan would have been great as the windows only open a small amount.

    The staff were brilliant and the setting is perfect. We were there to attend a wedding and the whole day was beautiful, the staff were very attentive and friendly. I am also gluten intolerant and they had options available for me which was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant day, hotel and grounds fantastic, comfortble clean rooms, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff wno were more than willing to cater for individual needs. It was a family wedding and everyone felt relaxed and at ease, the staff couldn't do enough to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t sleep well. I don’t know if it was me or the bed 🤷🏻‍♀️ But I still loved the hotel

    Breakfast was lovely Shower was lovely Everything seemed clean Staff were friendly Atmosphere was relaxing Service was excellent Lovely gardens Rooms were a little small but they were still nice I would definitely stay again if I’m the area and I’d recommend the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Just sort the Wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi code was very long and dropped out overnight so needed to be input again. Would be better if it recognised you

    Friendly helpful staff. Very clean rooms. Good well cooked food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for my needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I sometimes work around Appleton Thorn and Statham Lodge is ideally situated. The staff are always friendly, and the atmosphere nicely relaxed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay for a lovely occasion.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy with everything.

    I had an overnight stay as part of a wedding that was at the hotel. Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.. All the staff were incredibly friendly and informal without being unprofessional, which was refreshing and made the stay all the more enjoyable. Room was well sized, clean and bright with a comfortable bed. Would highly recommend and happily stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall very good except for the food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the food was ridiculously expensive. Paid £13.50 for scampi and chips with an orange juice. Chips were clearly the frozen kind and the side salad almost non existent.

    Was very nice, the room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Friendly welcome for a tired and cold motorcycling guest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late and rang the hotel to let them know I was travelling by motorbike and had become very cold. They made sure my room was nice and warm and kept the bar open so I could get a pint of ale to aid my recovery!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the bedrooms it felt chilly. Bedrooms could do with a coat of paint.

    Close to motorway. Good parking. Excellent breakfast. Bar meals very tasty and big portions. Rooms adaquate. Staff were pleasant and always happy to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Perfect for what we needed , easy restaurant and nice and quiet for our early start
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cappuccino was not from a proper machine and made with vile long life milk . Bed shoved under the wall headboard making it too short so feet hung out the end . Tiny bath

    Nice food, clean room , clean bathroom , lovely and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on there and didnt seem uo be a place for other guests to get a quiet drink before retiring.

    Lovely property with character. Bed very comfortable Table service at breakfast very appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Really pleasent out of town stay between flights from Manchester airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good :)

    It was a country house just as described and was comfortable and hospitable.The staff were happy to share good local information on how to spend a spare morning between flights from Manchester airport and the atmosphere at breakfast was informal and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant hotel to stay in during a short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is only around 400m from the motorway and as this section of motorway is above the hotel there is a constant noise/hum even with the windows shut. It but is advertised as being in the tranquil Cheshire countryside and if the motorway wasn’t there would be true, but based on it’s proximity to the motorway this is just not true. Noise not a prob for me but think it is not a very accurate description. A very small point, my room faced the garden and over looked a seating area. An outside light was kept on all night and this shone directly into my room. A small thing but a bit annoying as I like it to be dark and if it was a summer evening it would not be great to have people direct outside the window until all hours, especially as the seating area is linked to the events room outside space.

    Good breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. Easy to find the property. Comfortable room, if a little basic. Beautiful grounds. Events room in lovely grey and white, was set up for a wedding and looked stunning. Good and reasonably price bar meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. But a little bit of black pudding would have made it amazing!

    really good food in Bar in evening. Decent price and value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Warm welcome with good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar/eating area is combined so people doing very different things with different needs in the same place

    Comfortable bed, well-decorated room, pretty quiet location, dinner enjoyable, staff service really friendly and helpful. Really nice welcome and departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great hotel, the staff were very welcoming and attentive. The room was quiet and pleasant, bed comfy, what more do In need.Oh the bar was excellent and served a lovely pint of beer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location for a party in Grappenhall, just a short taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were sitting around the fire when we came back and it took one of the bar staff to ask them before they moved. The wedding party over flowed into the bar.

    Great location for a party in Grappenhall, just a short taxi ride away. Easy access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff friendly, helpful and room clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service VERY SLOW, could do with the matriarch in the dining room getting some Gordon Ramsey advice on how to work efficiently without distraction, spent 10-15 minutes at a time (twice in 45 minutes) talking to one guest rather than taking orders from other waiting guests. When it did come breakfast was good. Beware do NOT use postcode in your sat nav (anomaly with Tom Tom & BMW it seems) as it takes you to a housing estate the other side of town, use the road name..

    Staff friendly, helpful and room clean and comfortable. Bar service food fine but a bit chaotic service, and wandering cat a bit disconcerting (especially when it tries to join you for dinner)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an overnight stay in the hotel and had planned to go out for a meal at one of the local restaurants. We changed our mind once we had checked in and we ate in the Squires Bar in the hotel. We both had rump steak and it was cooked to perfection! Followed by Black Forest sponge pudding, panacotta and pistachio brandy snaps, absolutely delicious. The room itself was spotless, well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Some hotel rooms are too airless and stuffy but this one was just right which made for a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel very nice and peacful. Greath service. Ms.Jorjenar(hope I write correct),the owneris very nice and kind,she made my stay very comfortable. Thank you for your kiness. Kanmanas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more staff at Breakfast as the Restaurantvwas busy on Sunday morning.

    we attended a wedding at the Hotel - our room was lovely & our Breakfast was good & freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and beautiful view whilst having breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I have to give it a lower mark because one of the pillows was stained. The rest of the room was immaculate though.

    Lovely hotel and beautiful view whilst having breakfast. The bed was very comfy. Staff were very friendly so would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming and comfortable, the hotel was perfect for a our stop off en route further North.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kettle in out room may have been new or recently cleaned, as we noticed a very odd taste when we had a cup of tea on arrival. It seemed to improve after the first boiling, though, so may have been a temporary problem.

    All the staff we met were charming and helpful and the hotel itself is mostly based on a 17C building, which makes it more attractive than the modern, multi-story ones. The gardens add to its charm, and it's obviously a popular wedding hotel for this reason. We only stayed one night on our way further North and didn't dine in, so can't comment on the food, other that to say that our breakfast was perfectly acceptable and well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    We loved it & would love to go back before too long.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were efficient, polite & helpful. We loved the hotel & the catering & setting for the wedding, which we attended there, were amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bath towels - recently refurbished bathroom which was lovely but no towel rail and no handrail in the shower which would be a worry for elderly , room was a little tired however, was expecting better from photos on bookings.com - our room overlooked the car park rather than lovely gardens.

    Lovely gardens and food both at breakfast and evening was good. Steak night offer on Thursday was excellent value. Some staff were delightful - but a couple weren't .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with convenient location just off the motorway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - great for what I needed as a business traveller.

    Comfortable room in a quiet part of the hotel as requested. Great service from the staff. Breakfast was one of the the best I have had, beautifully cooked and presented and arrived quickly on a hot plate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel for a Wedding!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like eating my evening dinner in a bar, I would have preferred the restaurant. Also my room was a bit cold but a man from reception brought a heater up to my room which was appreciated. Also there were wedding speeches in the bar when I wanted to have my dinner - so I had it sent up to my room instead on the second night.

    I thought the garden was Lovely! The restaurant was lovely where I had breakfast & staff very helpful. Reception staff also very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The springs had gone in the mattress, I asked to move rooms. The bed was better, but it was an accessible room with just a shower and no bath. I booked a room with a bath! There was a lot of dust in the room, the carpet was stained and the headboard was dusty. It didn't feel clean. The soap in the bathroom had someone's personal hair on it! I sat in the restaurant for dinner, I could hear the kitchen staff loudly singing and laughing. Not very professional. The whole hotel needs an update and a good clean.

    The staff were very helpful and the good was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We bought drinks at the bar. On asking for a glass of wine the young woman behind the bar more or less threw (if this is possible) the last of the wine from one bottle into a glass, then opened a new bottle and sloshed the wine in to top the glass up to the right level. A little more poise would have impressed. It is the little things that show the guests that staff care what about what they are doing and that they know how to do their job. The tables in the lounge which are set with white table cloths look out of place. Wooden tables would look better.

    The room was comfortable. The hotel is in a quiet location and it has lovely grounds. The breakfast was excellent. THe staff are friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Not necessarily on the go back to list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing in terms of value for money, better choice of fruit eg in a salad would be nice.There was choice of cereals, juices yoghurts and cooked breakfast

    Bedroom was clean with ensuite, decor was pleasant. Large grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Interesting hotel with great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and hot. The bed was equally small and very uncomfortable due to a very hard mattress. The breakfast was average with over cooked fried mushrooms and average service

    The friendly, helpful staff in the bar, the food in the bar/restaurant in the evening, the convenience re the motorway and parking, the interesting showcases of interesting spoons, egg cups etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    blisfull.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    excellent hotel breakfast really tasty and well presented, room was nice and comfortable nice and clean and excellent comfy bed ,bath room was to die for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little more attractive in the continental range.However no complaints.

    We came here for our honeymoon 39 years ago! They upgraded us to bridal suite!Decided to stay another 2 nights! Just really nice,countryside all around yet not far from main motorways.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Some of the staff spoilt the experience but otherwise a clean comfortable venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff was quite rude after we tried to explain that the pre-authorised credit card payment had been spent and we should only pay the balance. She made a rude comment and took the payment again in error which meant my pre-authorised payment of £50 could not be refunded for up to 7 days. Tis pre-authorising of credit card payments is not helpful and I will try to avoid anywhere that does this in the future as the girl on reception took the payment again despite me having spent this charge. The rude comment that followed was not acceptable either.

    Lovely venue and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.0
    The Statham Lodge hotel was outside of the town of Lymm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting - ! Using new bulbs in their bedside lamps, there wasn't sufficient lighting to read in bed. They did provide us with much brighter lamps that we very much appreciated.

    The Statham Lodge hotel was outside of the town of Lymm. The Lodge has a lovely garden area, quiet surroundings and amenities such as a lovely dining room with full menu and nice lounge. They provided wonderful service - all staff went out of their way to accommodate our requests. Although a wedding and party venue, we never had a problem with noise. Also appreciated a ground floor room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay and the staff are welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being part of the wedding party that were on our corridor and being very near to the music meant we did not have to best of nights. They did offer to move us later as my husband had just returned from hospital but by then it was too late. When we arrived we had said we were there for a funeral and not part of the wedding party, maybe some more forward thinking might have been appreciated

    The gluten free diet requirements were dealt with very well. Also when my husband was taken ill the staff were extremely helpful and caring

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Not the best
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size and appearance of the room. Bathroom also smelt of sewerage drains. Bar tariffs were extortionate.

    The property was average, I expected it to be better. The rooms are in need of renovation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Much better than I expected...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More clearly defined areas for... separate dining, snack area with the football, and a smarter bar would be good.

    The grounds and gardens were really well kept... staff made me feel welcome without any fuss.. bar and food was great quality, I was presently surprised and will visit again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much for them and they were happy to go out of their way to help. Lovely comfy room. There was a wedding going on too but we had no disturbance and it didn't stop us sleeping ☺ Overall a lovely place, beautiful location and the gardens are stunning. Would definately go back 🙂

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Lush green surround with garden surround property is great ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building in old but it is fine to habe stay in garden.

    Lush green surround with garden surround property is great it look gardner doing very good work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and peaceful stay and a great breakfasat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor rooms on one side of structure look directly into car park. There is a shade rather than a sheer curtain so complete visibility into the room from passers by unless drapes are drawn.

    Very pleasant full English with table service. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Happy and relaxed hotel for family wedding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got poor information when I rang for travel details of how to get to the hotel by bus. I was told that there was not really any public transport when the bus stopped right at the hotel and even ran, albeit only once an hour, on Sunday.

    The location can be reached by bus fairly easily if you are travelling by public transport. It is a pleasant space, but I have paid less for similar rooms elsewhere, but when at a wedding it was lovely to be able to return to the room and just rest and it was a very pleasant room. The grounds are lovely. The food was very good for mass catering. It was cheaper to book via Booking.com than via the wedding party. The staff were very friendly and mostly helpful. There was a very nice relaxed atmosphere for the wedding, it was really lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Ok but not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasnt good at all, fish & chips were soggy tiny brown chips (looked like they were dipped in gravy!) and triangle fish- wasnt expensive but I would prefer to pay more and get something I will eat including fish shaped fish . Waiter calling everyone `Bud` all night! your in a service industry we havent meet before -i`m not your Bud.

    Nice location and easy enough to get to from the motorway, hotel itself a bit old but well kept with a nice feel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent, the room was great, bathroom had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was a noisy air-con outlet.

    Breakfast was excellent, the room was great, bathroom had a shower and bath. Fantastic hotel set in beautiful grounds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful experience, grounds lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 1st breakfast the staff were busy talking among themselves I had a little wait before I was attended to. Other than that the stay was brilliant as I was attending two weddings the food was exceptional and the staff again were very friendly and helpful . I would recommend a stay at this hotel .

    I don't drink coffee but all the bar staff were brilliant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Excellent food, evening and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very soft - felt like it was at the end of its life. Rooms a little tired and lighting dark - very difficult to see to do hair and makeup. Overpriced at £130 a night but would stay there again if there was an offer.

    Excellent food, evening and breakfast. Good understanding of coeliac requirements. Lovely staff, very welcoming and friendly. Lovely gardens Would visit again if just for the food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice location shame about the beige
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is semi rural and i was expecting a country feel but the room itself was very beige and uninteresting with painted furniture the curtins were so thin they were virtualy transparent and the carpet was stained. The bathroom had been revamped and was nice there was a bath and the water was hot. The weather was very cold when we stayed and a lot of the radiators were switched off and the communal areas were cold. We had to shut the curtains and turn the radiator up to make sue the room was warm enough.

    Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice hideaway near Warrington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could cater for earlier leavers. 7 am is a little too late. We had no view from our bedroom

    The room was very cosy The restaurant and food were superb

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.5
    Great Staff lovely cooked breakfast nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am afraid this time I had to make a complaint with regard to a bathroom situation I notified reception of the problem and hopefully the message was passed on to housekeeping

    Stayed here before and it is a good location if you are visiting South Cheshire. Great breakfasts and pleasant staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Good location well priced friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, The Food evening meal well served and value for money. Breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere all good localy produced produce.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.9
    The hotel is generally good and clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drafty windows due to old window frames in the bedrooms.

    The hotel is generally good and clean. Food and drinks good. Staff good, friendly and helpful. Hotel in nice location on edge of pretty village of Lymm. Good,big private car park.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.3
    A lovely hotel with nice reception staff, fab comfy bed and fluffy towels, nice extras in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast didn't really know what they were doing, a little confused and were not expecting me? breakfast was rushed, but was excellent

    On arrival late evening, reception excellent room fabulous, as was the finishing touches like soap coffee tea etc. Lovely and clean bedding and fluffy towels . Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely location - just needs more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was cold as radiator turned off. Even when turned on there was no heat in the morning. Restaurant not busy but we still had to attract the attention of the waiter more than once.

    Nicely furnished room. Comfortable bar with big sofas. Lovely gardens.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    3.8
    Statham STAINS lodge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival to my room I needed to use the WC, I removed the sanitised label from the toilet and proceeded to place it in the bin, opened the bin and to my horror it was full or the previous guests waste (lady waste), muck and stains all over the room carpet, stains all over the bed cushions, not the best experience !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    Nice stay in rural setting - but beware of weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed 4 nights which overlapped a weekend where there were 2 weddings and a bridal exhibition. Bit of noise re weddings, but to be expected - however we paid a weekend premium when we were not part of the wedding party. Also, not happy that some of our group weren't able to get food on the Sunday due to the bridal exhibition.

    Lovely garden view from our ground floor room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    friendly hotel, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too small and springs could be felt, quite lumpy. Only one shower gel and shampoo between two of us, neither of which were full.

    Quiet room, spacious bathtub with shower. Very clean throughout. Good quality bedlinen and towels.Delicious breakfast with excellent choice. Very helpful and pleasant Staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.8
    Only stayed as working in the area and will not return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi is appalling which is why I would not return to this hotel Door incredibly thin so noise levels are high I understand that the hotel is a wedding venue but function rooms visible, chairs lying around etc.

    The friendliness of the Breakfast Servers Bar food menu and food quality reasonable given the price Garden is immaculate

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    Rather disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby in parts: broken loo seat - instantly switched us to another room. No hot water in the shower; bath ok. Rooms rather 'cold' - a few pictures in the rooms wouldn't come amiss. Noisy wedding reception

    Good breakfast - great bacon, very good sausages, good staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.0
    Lovely location for the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid £139 for one night and the room was dated and grubby. There were holes in the carpet, receipts from previous guests were stuffed down the back of the bedside table,under the side table was dirty and on arrival the staff weren't very inviting or helpful. Checked in and was told there is my room that's it, no information about breakfast, the bar or check out. Honestly me and my pregnant partner was disgusted with the quality.

    Lovely location for the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Improved food but room prices regularly too much for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room prices frequently outside my budget so can't stay as often these days. Room decor a little tired.

    Better than ever cooked breakfast and best evening food I've had here (lamb curry).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Had a reduced rate offer, was good enough for a nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not turn radiator off and could not open the window properly as tree in the way.

    Lovely area, nice staff, comfy bed. Breakfast was nice. Ample parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    4.2
    I could not sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not sleep. A really noisy ventilation system from the kitchen was on all the night and just behind my window. I told the staff in the morning but they do not care and did not apologize...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was a bit small

    The hotel was very clean and tidy, and my room was first class, staff were really friendly, Great food, but a bit pricey but guess you pay for the quality

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: