Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Station Hotel – RelaxInnz

Bruton Way, Gloucester, GL1 1DE, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Gloucester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 813 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could be made to be an excellent venue, with the addition of one small and simple addition - a lift. (For a 70+ year-old disabled guest, getting to and from the top floor was a very considerable and exhausting repeat daily struggle).

    Staff most helpful at all times, and made me feel welcome and at home at once.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just. needs a little up dating.

    The staff were excellent and friendly advice on were to park different places to see and recommended places to eat.Breakfast was super nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    I found the staff so helpful and friendly and made my stay so good. I had to organise myself before setting off on my walk and the staff gave me good advice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By main road, noisy when windows open, but fan was provided in room. Rooms need updating. Lack of light swtich keys.

    Toiletries in bathroom. Comfy bed. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot (though a fan was provided) so the window was open most of the night which meant it was very noisy.

    Great price and location for the station. Decent shower. Great price on breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedside unit drawer was broken & missing its front! Carpet was grubby. Bathroom had someones shaving stuff still in it. Sadly my phone was full so no pics! Nothing really nearby other than the train stn, no cafes etc. Rundown, uncared for, absentee management.

    Only positive for this place is - its close to the train station!! Bed was reasonably comfy and its cheap! The ONE member of staff present (barman/receptionist&housekeeper) tried his best, i felt for him as he'd been dropped right in it! Rooms weren't made up - at 6pm!! Manager had gone home - leaving him to do it all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting dirty and mould in the shower and the hair dryer was from the 70s and not working, plus lots of broken tiles on the floor

    A good location for city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like stairway - no elevator. The room needed a serious upgrade. Dresser had a missing drawer, the broken bits had been placed in the closet. Beds could use new mattresses, springs close to surface. Carpeting poor and stained. Although bedding clean, the floors, windows and baseboards were not clean. Bathroom adequate but in need of upgrade.

    Location and friendly staff. Choice of cooked/continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept running out of stuff -last day no croissants, fruit or veggies sausages. First night continual knocking of radiator was mostly fixed next day and room very dusty surfaces i.e. The chair, top of wardrobe-however the cleaning lady did an excellent job so dust free second night. Parking a bit iffy as can park till 8 but then was watching for wardens the third day- however could have parked in railway car park at a cost.

    The staff were all really nice people and pleasant and did their best to be helpful which is more important than the other bits below and was good value for money. They had to cope with an emergency influx from another hotel but still had a smile for everyone despite the pressure of extra people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in room even with rad off. No glasses in en suite (but no doubt would have been provided if requested).

    Location was very good. Easy to access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was comfy but the whole place was tatty and dirty. There was no proper hand soap until I asked, very little shelf space in the bathroom, no hooks to hang things on in the bathroom. Breakfast "choice" was very limited and they wouldn't put the meal or drinks on the room like a normal hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is very rundown, when I opened the room door there was a distinct unpleasant smell of sweaty feet. Tiles on the bathroom floor badly cracked/ broken. The mattress cover was stained with what looked like urine.The sheets and pillowcases were clean.

    Central location , thats about all. Shower reasonably clean and plenty hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty, had things like coins and empty deodorants from previous occupants and the shower was so mouldy I couldn't face having one. There were also safety issues with bare electric wires in bathroom and a sash window that was stuck wide open. I would not stay here again.

    It's location was very handy for train and bus station and it was reasonably cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath and shower en-suite; I like shower, my wife enjoyed the bath. There was a good breakfast available, also lunch and evening meals. The hotel is convenient for the railway and bus stations, and access to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    food ... not much available, had to have my 3rd choice. My husband ordered a mixed grill, lol, consisted of gammon,chicken and a sausage,no tomato,peas or mushrooms,,no egg, no lamb no steak but they did knock some money off after complaining

    convienient location to bus station. Happy hour 6-7pm. Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cupboard broken, stained carpet, mouldy and dirty bathroom. Cracked tiles covered with sellotape. Light bulbs not working. Radiator kept making noises all through night and wasn’t on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know you get what you pay for but this hotel/restaurant/room was very disappointing. I was traveling for work and only needed a place to sleep and get something to eat. neither of these things worked out very well. I would never recommend this place as a place for couples or families to stay as the atmosphere was more like a doss house. the room was not cleaned properly - the toilet still had dried urine under the toilet seat and on the floor - the bathroom toiletries consisted of a small bottle of shampoo and a half filled (already used) small bottle of shower wash. there was a lot of dust on ledges and sides and the old sash window did not fully close. the carpet was very old worn and stained and there was no wardrobe or even a hanger on the wall to hang your clothes on. the mattress was obviously passed its useful date as it was not comfortable at all. I looked at the menu and decided to go in to town to eat rather than risking it at this hotel.

    not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit grim and smelt, there was a random wire sticking out of the wall. The room was uncomfortably warm. Better than cold i suppose. less than 1 roll of toilet paper. Kitchen not open until 12 which was a big issue for us as we had to leave before then which meant no food to start our day. But the biggest issue i had was only having decaff coffee in the rooms, which forced us to buy coffee from the bar. I NEED my coffee in the morning! this made a bad start to my day

    Bed was super comfy. room was decorated really nicely. Staff seemed really nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with a refresh and modernisation. However the price, food and location were very good.

    The manager and her assistant were lovely, really friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit warm - could turn off radiators but not the central heating pipes running round the room.

    Convenient location. Staff helpful and cheerfully locked away my luggage prior to checking in and after checking out. Felt comfortable coming in and out on my own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing we found frustrating was the heat in the room - especially of an evening. We switched the radiators off but there are pipes going all around the room which were always boiling hot.

    The size of the room was really good and the bathroom was a perfect size. TV worked and so did the Wi-Fi. Extremely clean room. Really handy for the train station and town centre. Staff are friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciated hand wash or soap in the en suite.

    The eggs at breakfast were perfect. The room was very warm in the evening but then there was a great fan.. Was visiting a relative at Gloucester Hospital so this hotel was just right for the job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sort out the cleanliness! The bathroom was very clean, but the rest of the room looked like a vacuum cleaner hasn't visited for several days; the remote control was filthy (!); and the kettle lid had a thick coating of dust.

    Good price. Very good location. Very peaceful. Overall comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed side light (it was on the wall difficult to turn off and very bright), slight worn feel.

    Felt safe and welcoming, very clise to railway station, warm and friendly. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point for me but Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the bed room.

    The room I had was lovely and spacious. All the staff were warm, welcoming and friendly. Food was nice as well. Open areas to sit in for eating or choose from high tables near to a well stocked bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a fight at the hotel. My car got damaged. i phoned police. At that time the hotel had not bothered to inform police although the fight had been going for about ten minutes

    The price of the hotel was inflated because it was Cheltenham weekend. Very loud disco one night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint but clean and tidy.

    Situated in a fantastic position near to city centre and train and bus stations. Rooms were tidy and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, maintainance,

    Dirty carpet,damp ceiling,bed was clean,but only had 4wheels instead of 6,window broke,used bible to keep open,I have photos,that's only some..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was moody, at night as i went up the stairwell all I could smell was weed, I was on the top floor and I could still smell it, the rooms were really dated, the room was dark and smelt of damp, I will not being staying again

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor broken items in room such as towel rail and bottom drawer on a previous visit.

    Tracy was an excellent host very helpful and kindhearted thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the 3rd floor corridor will make you gag. No curtain/blind in the bathroom. Bath-panels are water damaged. Damp/Water-damage stains on ceiling. Booked as a dbl & single be - received 3x singles. Advertised as having parking avlbl; not true, you have to use the nearby NCP carpark (not bad though at £4 for 24 hours)

    Good location with easy access to Kingholme Stadium & Town Centre. Room was ready early & the friendly staff allowed us to check in earlier than scheduled. It'll do for a night if you set your expectations accordingly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast experience.... one gets the feeling you are not overly welcome. Asking for a cereal spoon or sugar is a major no ( you get sugar lumps to crush !)

    Position next to station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dangerous step if your staying in room 16. There should be hazard markings for the slight step as it’s very difficult to spot in that light. My fellow guest fell to the floor after tripping over

    Welcoming staff and clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, only the broken drawer in the room which would have been spotted when the room was being made up. Didn't use it, didn't cause distress, should have mentioned it on leaving, would have been fixed for the next guest I am sure.

    Tracey the Manager was brilliant! Looking after us when we came at a busy time of the day, Gloucester rugby team were playing at Kingsholm,telling us where we could park without incurring any charges and making sure our room had everything we could need, including cot- not use as son is 6 And slept well in his single bed. We were visiting my Uncles so were out most of the day. It was a blessed relief to come back and take drinks in to our room, brilliant service. Breakfast was filling and our every wish was provided for, that together with the free parking, which we left all the next day to go into town, made for a really decent stay. Would definitely recommend the Station Hotel for a stay, a drink a decent breakfast and welcoming host.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe updating of some of the furniture - wardrobe and mirror were broken in room 10, but honestly, other than that, we loved it here.

    Staff were so lovely and helpful. Room furniture could do with updating - some of it was broken. However it wasn't expensive to stay here but had a lovely bar, great staff and room had everything I needed in it. Loved the location and character of the building too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy, windows letting all sound through. Room was incredibly warm (top floor), and opening windows wasn't an option due to sound. Fairly mucky, sheets were marked and bath was grubby.

    It was ideally situated, check in and out was easy and staff seemed friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was cosy and comfortable.Food was good.Bar area was spacious and fully stocked.Definitely recommend.Good location.Ideal for short stays for everyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was ok, but not great. Room was relatively comfortable although table space and seating was limited.

    Very good hotel for the price. First room had a bath. Hotel/ bar staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grotty worn out stained dirty room. Mouldy bathroom, cracked floor tiles, broken bit on towel heater, radiator that wouldn't turn down or off, stained walls ceiling and carpet, 3 bulbs not working.

    Sheets and towels were clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very poor hygiene

    Very unclean. Dirty bedding dirty carpets and definitely not a place to ever stay at again. Hotel Cecil came to mind. Disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole building is far too warm and sleeping at night was uncomfortable although I could turn down the radiator which I did so but it then began to make loud clicking noises from the pipes at regular intervals which made sleeping more difficult. The window did open though so getting some fresh air to cool down the room was okay, and a fan was provided in the room which I appreciated. While all the facilities were usable and good, they could do with modernising and cleaning.

    The hotel provided a good base location to stay for a single night as I did. Everything in the room was usable and fine. The bed was quite comfy and the sheets clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive; I even asked for an iron and it was delivered to my room promptly which I appreciated very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Bathroom was absolutely disgusting dirt and mould in the shower long black hairs on the bathroom floor and broken tiles sellotaped. Carpet was covered in hairs and dusty. The room was far to hot windows were open and a fan in the room says it is a known issue Wardrobe door was hanging off its hinges. Television did not work. The bed was so hard only good thing was the bed linen was clean.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, and there was no way to control the temperature of the room - it was too warm for me even with the window open.

    Clean, surprisingly quiet for the location, and barely minutes away from the train station and the hospital.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was somewhat overheated. The request for ID at reception and being told that people sometimes sneaked unauthorized into the hotel was a bit worrying as was finding the first floor outside door onto the fire escape open to the outside world late at night (on both nights).

    The location by the railway station is excellent and the relative cheapness. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs maintenance to repair furniture, hang curtains/ shower curtains into hooks, ensure heat is working, bulbs in light fixtures. This would improve the reviews and make it an inn to feel proud of.

    Bedding was clean anod fresh. flat screen TV. Location is close to stations and city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms noisy and dated furniture not comfortable bed too much outside noise and radiator banging all night. Booking was misleading as no breakfast included and when trying to pay for breakfast told we could not as chef/cook had had an argument and would not cook 2 extra breakfasts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The treatment of my friends when they arrived to check-in. The manageress was extremely rude to them!! Wasn’t told you had to precook breakfast and ended up having to go to Wetherspoons.

    I was greeted really nicely and was helped with my luggage to my room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly lit corridor and room temperature, initially cold. It warmed late evening , thankfully.

    The helpful staff , a splended evening's entertainment and fine Ale served in the Sports Bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The headboard was noisy and banged against the wall and made a bit of noise.

    The bed was mega comfy. Had some great sex and slept like a baby afterwards thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were plentiful, rooms were warm and comfy, staff were very friendly. Hotel was next to the station and the city centre was in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine there was nothing I didn’t like really.

    I arrived quite late but the staff were very accommodating and happy to let me in which was really nice. They made me feel really welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was tired & dated. Lots of dust/dirt in the extractor fan & on the curtains & pelmets. Multiple stains on the carpet. The whole room & hotel are in need of a face lift. No hotel car park

    Close to the train station. Very good for commuting. Close to the town centre for shops & places to eat. Staff were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little, really, given the price point. I would go again.

    Very friendly and helpful staff - the same lady every time, as it happened. Standard budget pub menu (I had lasagne), but within that good quality and well presented, and a very good breakfast for a fixed £7. Bedroom small but had everything necessary, and this was, after all, at a budget price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is in the bar, so it took a while to get served and to check-in. No parking onsite so had to use the nearby multi-story NCP car park overnight.

    Easy to find. Bed and breakfast value for money. 10min walk to Kingsholm rugby ground and the town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was broken and wouldn't close, but luckily the heating kept the room warm as it was very cold outside. The floor was very creaky so you could hear residents' every move, but this is to be expected with an old building.

    Great location and room warm and comfortable. The hotel was very quiet, especially considering how busy the bar was below the rooms. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Classic pub with accommodation,room big enough,en suite,tea and coffee in room,right beside town centre,,the parking turned out to be in public car park over the road,but was only £4 a day,,,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should have requested a room on the ground floor for my brother as he found the stairs difficult.

    The staff were friendly yet professional. The breakfasts were tasty and good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared the frustration of the hotel of not being able to locate a room with a remote control for a TV. Resolved by providing a new TV, bless.

    The staff, the pub, sky sports.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thought rooms very old fashioned, i could smell cigarette smoke when i walked in, bit I knew it couldn't have been recent so feel decor needed updating and perhaps redecorating to get rid of smell.

    Loved the Location very handy for what I wanted

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with my stay, Would recommend.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, good shower, comfortable bed, reasonable check out time of 11am and most importantly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Right next to train station and multi story carpark!! Walking distance to shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants!! Staff friendly! Great bar downstairs!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one thing I really didn't like was how dirty and unclean the rooms were, there had to be at least 2-3 months of dust and rubbish under and on top of all the furniture.

    I liked the way you was never disturbed and how had no noise problems

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place looks and feels tired. In need of a major refit and up date. Fixtures and fittings hanging from wall. Lights out. Shower head broken. Smell from kitchen coming into bedroom, cigarettes discarded onto flat roof not cleaned room 18. Constant humming from somewhere disturbing sleep. Damaged wardrobe, electric fan with blade and wire cover missing.

    The breakfast and the bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, but staff looked stressed and struggled to keep up with drinks, extra toast etc.

    Staff were really nice and friendly. After a great day at the races, had a nice meal and a few drinks in the relaxed bar with sports and decent music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day was too short got dark At 5pm Unable to visit Glos Quays.Need to go in Summer.

    Near train station lots of shops and eateries .Local people very helpful and friendly.lots to see and visit .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was disgusting, mould allround shower tray. Main light in bathroom didn’t work. Radiators were not on, thank goodness,as the extra large pipe they were attached to were constantly red hot, hence we had to have window open and let the constant noise in. Mattress was well beyond help at one point my wife hurt her knee just kneeling on an extra prominent spring. Had to park in a multi storey across a main dual carriageway but the price was okay. Moved the bed a little, wished we hadn’t. Also the guy walking around the bar had a chefs top on I just hope he wasn’t the chef...NEVER AGAIN

    Our drinks were okay in the bar and receptionist’s/bar staff were fine even though both night they couldn’t provide the drink I required👎🏻

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom had a step up in to the bathroom which wasn't ideal for someone with mobility difficulties but I appreciate that the building is of a certain vintage and this aspect didn't really impact on our stay.

    The staff were helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was looking for a cheap one night stay in Gloucester. The hotel facilities were adequate and the staff very friendly and helpful. It did what it said on the box!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty, I'm afraid. The offhand booking-in procedure - and, especially, the Sunday non-breakfast. Due to start at 8 am - when we needed it, with a commitment at 9 am - the restaurant was closed, someone opened it at 8.05 but refused us admission. We were eventually allowed in - but, apart from cereal and fruit juice, toast did not arrive until 8.45, preventing us from having more than half a slice; then we were still quite late for our appointment. Staff were very offhand and unhelpful.

    The room, though pretty basic, had all of the advertised amenities, and was sufficiently spacious; the en suite bathroom likewise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with double glazing. Room right above main road with traffic lights and pedestrian activated crossing with the noise advising when to cross.

    Friendly Staff. Good full english breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little tired and in need of decoration but it didn't spoil our stay

    very helpful staff, only recently taken over and trying very hard to turn things around. tried really hard to ensure our issues were dealt with efficiently

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet and bathroom were filthy. Limescale on the showerhead, mildew all around the bath etc. Basin hadn't been cleaned and neither had the soapdish. Loose tiles in the bathroom that were sticking up. Bathroom window was filthy, as was the window in the room itself.

    The staff are super friendly and the location was convenient for central Gloucester, which is what I needed. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Everything was superb.

    I liked everything about this hotel. Staff were very friendly location was great and the room was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music played until 12. Should have been told this. Room was so warm there was a fan put in there. Couldn't have window open because of the music and loud people at the pub. Room was very out dated. Mould on walls and all over bathroom. Rubbish in the draws, kettle fithy.

    Only thing was the hotel being close to the station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was awful. While the bed was comfortable to sleep on the duvet was badly stained. The carpet looked filthy, so I wore my socks all the time. One of the sash windows was broken, so it would not stay open. The wardrobe, cabinets and dresser were all old and knackered and need replacing. The heating was boiling, despite turning the radiators off, as the large victorian pipe feeding the radiators was continually hot. Had to open the window at night but then couldn't sleep due to the traffice noise. The shower started out ok then refused to stay hot and reduced to a dribble. The whole accomodation needs completely refurbishing to bring it up to a reasonable standard but a proper, thorough clean would be a start.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent, the staff helpful once you managed to catch their attention. The pub itself was ok, just suffering from a lack of care and attention.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: