Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Storrs Hall Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Newby Bridge Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3LG, United Kingdom

#7 of 14 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 732 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.1
    the variance between the house and the lodges...is extreme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    outside of units need attention,bins full long way to empty personal litter, trees make cabins darkish steep walk to units with luggage.

    Parking !! position of studios

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    10
    It was close to the centre of windamere 5 min drive or 30...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It was close to the centre of windamere 5 min drive or 30 min walk. It had private grounds right on the edge of the lake which was beautiful and great to wake up and look out to such a beautiful vista. Staff were friendly, food was lovely. We’ll be going again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect with the front lawns running down to Lake Windermere. All the staff were very pleasant and courteous. The room was spacious and clean. Everything we could have asked for. New management are obviously making their mark and I am sure will continue to do so.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.3
    COMFORTABLE AND ENJOYABLE & THE LAKE DISTRICT IS A BEAUTIFUL AREA TO VISIT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BEDROOM FURNITURE NEEDED ATTENTION AND OUR FRIENDS ROOM WAS REALLY DULL AND GLOOMY

    THE BATHROOM WAS EXCELLENT AND THE BED WAS REALLY COMFORTABLE. THE LOCATION IS GREAT AND THE LAKE VIEW FROM OUR ROOM WAS LOVELY

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Private lake view and historical building is unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would understand if there is a few spider web far on the wall, but it is everywhere in the room. The kitchen knives are not sharp, and the toaster is hard to use. The location is a little far from Bowness, and there are only two buses each day, we had to take the taxi.

    The private view of the lake would be the plus and probably the only thing I like amount all. We chose the lodge with the self-catering. The reception and the building is really pretty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the executive suite room as it was stated can stay up to 2 adults + 2 children. After I booked then I realised the room charges is only for 2 adults and children need to pay additional charges. this is a bit misleading. Price was steep. Other than this, everything is perfect.

    Very nice location. The property faces the lake & feel like your private lake. At night, you can walk around the property till 10 pm plus and the sun had not set yet. How I wish to stay there for a few more days. It is quiet and peaceful. Dinner was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.3
    A very good base from which to explore the South Lakes, and not too far to drive to other areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a bar menu (tried x1 - disappointing food) and restaurant "Market" & "A la Carte" menus, both for 3 courses including Amuse Bouche & pre Dessert, fixed price £60 so not really "a la Carte" . The "Market" menu changes daily but the "A la Carte" did not change all week. Limited options and only 1 vegetarian option. BUT when we tried the restaurant on the last night the food was EXCELLENT.

    Lovely lakeside views, very comfortable room, good facilities & bathroom (Bath robes, coffee machine, good shower). Nicely furnished & decorated. Staff service really excellent at breakfast. Breakfast options adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Superb Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top quality hotel in a beautiful location on the banks of Windermere. Well appointed bedrooms with contemporary en-suite with TV over the bath. Friendly staff. Excellent quality food both at breakfast and dinner. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    This was a wonderful place with the most magnificent views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would’ve liked a gym on site. You do need to take a taxi into town as there is no safe way to walk there from the hotel.

    This was a wonderful place with the most magnificent views of Lake Windermere from our room. I highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful and relaxing experience. The staff were the best! Thank you Fred for taking great care of us when we left a ring in the room! We will definitely go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    lakeside location 2 miles from Bowness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact a wedding party were very noisy setting off the smoke alarm late on whilst I was sleeping also should be advised the restaurant would be closed due to a wedding party

    lakeside location 2 miles from Bowness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    When we arrived Friday afternoon we were advised there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived Friday afternoon we were advised there was a wedding on the Saturday and the Monday so could not use any of the hotel facilities. This was disappointing and should have been told before our visit so we could decide if we wanted to cancel .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely visit again as was so beautiful pricey but worth it!!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact a wedding party were very noisy setting off the smoke alarm late on and two men knocking on our door whilst me and my husband were sleeping gone midnight, also should be advised the restaurant would be closed due to a wedding party prior to us checking in that same day

    The location by the lake is just beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Restful, peaceful, comfortable and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was an excellent Hotel the staff were very attentive the food also excellent. The view from the patio and conservatory was sublime the Lake beautiful. We can not fault the Hotel at all. Our room was really comfortable as was the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Vewry nice and wish we had booked another night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    finding the hotel was a challenge two satellite navigation systems sent us to the wrong place. The signs at the entrance are very nice but not clear and striking enough, it is very easy to miss them and drive past

    The hotel is in fantastic setting, very close to the lake and town. the room was very good as was the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely relaxing holiday in a perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The travel cot had holes and mould all over it. They changed it for me. The next travel cot had also got holes in it.

    The grounds of the hotel were lovely. The lodges were in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was wonderful and more than we could have ever expected. Rooms were spacious and fitted out to a very high standard as was the bathroom. The best we have come across in England. Comfortable and spacious lounges, wood fires, wonderful friendly and very professional staff. All in the beautiful Lakes District. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps the bar meal menu could have been a little more extensive or changed daily

    We had a lovely stay. The staff were excellent and the room really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.0
    wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices in the dining room

    The grounds are lovely as are the views of the lake. The dining room is expensive for dinner but a wonderful place for breakfast. The bar is nice for a better value meal although still expensive for the area. All there staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was great and very comfortable with fabulous views of the lake. A very good hotel but its a bit expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely View, location , functional and dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtain rail fell down when I opend the window. Table lamp didn’t work. There where only 4 of everything in kitchen, noisy guests in no 2 at 3 am twice and outdoor furniture wet and dirty. Unstable hot water,

    Lovely View, location , functional and dog friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.7
    Although the lodge was needing an upgrade the location of where it was made up for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lodge was in great need of a full refurbish as it was very dated and tired. There was a fusty smell in the sitting room area and the couch was badly needing replaced as it was old and sagged in the middle which made it uncomfortable to sit on.

    Location was perfect and walks around the premises were great with the views. The lodge was a good size for us as a family of 3 and had a very comfortable and great sized bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Romantic and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room was big and spacious it was a little warm at night. Couldn't seem to regulate this very easily with the thermostat in the room.

    Amazing stay overall. Staff were polite and friendly. Service excellent. The hall itself is a lovely relaxing place to sit and unwind. Breakfast and the food in the restaurant were also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Luxury property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main breakfast portions could be a little more generous. Salmon was literally one strip with what looked like half a scrambled egg! For the price, less scrimping on the portions.

    Ultimate relaxation, beautiful building, lovely breakfast. Amazing bathrooms, luxury

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    Magnificent location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to say what I didn’t like. Probably best visited with a car, whereas we had to rely on expensive taxi journeys each day.

    Storrs Hall is an elegant country house, with great views over the lake and recently refurbished to a high standard. The bedrooms are large, well decorated with great bathrooms. The public areas of the hotel are very pleasant, if a little formal, and suit adults relaxing with a newspaper, book or afternoon tea. It’s not an environment to which I would want to bring young children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.5
    lodge was situated perfectly for a view across the lake.and a short drive into windermere,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in one of the lodges.my only complaint was in the smaller bedroom we had no use of any plug socket.we found the socket behind the bed.it was not possible to plug in or use the lamp, which we had on the dressing table.so also enabled us to use any other electrical appliance, ie:hairdrier etc.

    .four adults stayed in the the lodge, at the end of march for four days. weather was pretty cold.but the heating in the lodge was perfect.beds were comfortable ,two pillows on both sides of bed.very soft.sheets and quilt in lovely white linen.kitchen had every thing you needed for a short stay.the lodge was clean and tidy.we had a great stay and would book this lodge again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    Over all really happy with the stay, and again location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The space between the wall and bed was tight if there was a larger person would not be able to get around.

    Location was beautiful and only 5/10min drive to the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location and beautiful rooms with stunning views over the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was disappointed that the room wasnt infact sound proofed at all as stated in the write up on the website, as we heard all the bangs and crashes from the kitchen during prep, service and cleaning up from 3 until 11 pm on the Saturday. How ever it was a little better on the Sunday evening.

    The room was beautiful as was the view over the gardens down to and across the lake. The hotel itself was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The free bonus naked man locked out of his room on the Saturday was an amusing and unexpected surprise!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing break with wonderful views and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room safe was inaccessible in our room - though our friends were able to use theirs with no problem. I reported this to the team.

    The staff were very attentive and enhanced our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.1
    We wouldnt recommend this hotel at the prices they charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wardrobe was next to useless for hanging anything up in. The door stuck and in the end I kept most of my clothes in my suitcase. The heating was sporadic too. I didn't feel the room justified the price. The tv only had about 3 channels working.

    the view from our room was lovely and staff were pleasant. We had a superior room with a large and comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with breathtaking views, helpful staff and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As this was a February stay and the weather cold the hotel lit open fires in all the downstairs rooms. I would normally really appreciate this but unfortunately the smoke from the fires was choking and our clothes particularly suffered and had the odour of a visit to a public bonfire. As both my wife and myself are asthmatic this made it impossible for us to sit downstairs in the evening and enjoy the facilities. Also, the extractor fan in our bathroom didn't work and there were no instructions for the coffee machine, which would have been helpful.

    The food cannot be faulted. My wife has food allergies and the staff were helpful and the chef adapted meals for her. The breakfasts were particularly excellent. The hotel is very clean with beautifully furnished rooms and breath taking surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worthy of note, the complimentry slippers are a bit small!

    Heated floor in the luxury bathroom was a nice touch. No aircon in the room meant that I had a perfect nights sleep, no low hum and waking up without a dry nose was a small but very positive personal point. Staff just about perfect professionals in an easy going and relaxing hotel. We're looking forward to visiting again to see it get even better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and worth every penny. Return visit is on the cards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!!!!

    The whole weekend was top notch, from checking in to checking out. All the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection. Can recommend the full English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.8
    It’s a beautiful location and the rooms are large and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too hot and the beds were uncomfortable. Also some of the staff could try to be more helpful. For example my 12 year old son struggled with 2 heavy bags to the car on leaving and we walked past 3 members of staff and no one offered to help or held the door. Also the bar area often had no member of staff in it and I had to go and ask at reception to be served.

    It’s a beautiful location and the rooms are large and quiet. The bathroom was particularly pleasant. Some of the staff are lovely but others need more work in a luxury hotel like this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    it was very enjoyable with friendly staff , magnificent views over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was average but well presented, it was also over priced to have dinner.

    rooms well appointed an very clean. Staff couldn't be more helpful, great with children; decor was very traditional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    My second time staying at Storrs Hall and definitely won’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My second time staying at Storrs Hall and definitely won’t be my last. Such a gorgeous hotel, with amazing staff and peaceful location. Favourite hotel in the Lake District by far!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely view of the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went for a walk in the grounds and noticed a small maintenance area that had stored broken items etc and seemed a little messy. Perhaps it could be screened off from public view?

    Lovely view, great location, rooms clean, warm friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in lovely location, wonderful staff food not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Last booking for dinner 20:30 Food disappointing for dinner, a question of style over substance

    Room very well appointed huge bathroom in junior suite Staff couldnt be more helpful especially reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely break
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren’t informed that the bar wouldn’t be serving food and there was only a 3 course set menu available in the restaurant for £52 a head due to it being in between Christmas and New year. After having a couple of drinks we therefore couldn’t drive into the centre staff did arrange a sandwich which was fine but were hoping to have an alacarte meal, so disappointed not to have been informed prior to arriving or when checking in.

    The location is great 5 minutes drive from the centre and amazing views over the lake. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.2
    A nice little self contained apartment in to-die-for surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating in the room was faulty, and couldn't be turned off. Had to keep a window open to keep room at correct temperature.

    The grounds are unbelievably beautiful. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    8.8
    The location is excellent we enjoyed watching the boats and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive evening dinner, that was not worth the cost. The meal was cold which we complained about, the waitress was really off hand. Had a better meal in Bowness at half the cost. The hotel discounted the cost of the meal back at check out.

    The location is excellent we enjoyed watching the boats and wildlife from our lake view room. Bedroom was excellent, large bathroom with walk in shower and underfloor heating. The lounges were cosy and warmwith the log fires. Breakfast was superb with a good selection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.6
    Welcome few days break in comfort with great lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to return food ordered at bar, not as described. Hospitality manager acted swiftly to resolve situation after we made a complaint.

    Excellent breakfast food choice, comfy bed and clean room, friendly staff, lovely location, great lake views and nice walk in grounds. Beautiful hotel with period features.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Fabulous darling 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    The place is amazing beautiful settings amazing rooms and lovely staff nicest hotel I’ve ever stayed in and would love to go back especial mention to Fred who was so so helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    5.4
    Windermere in Winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The maids waiting outside the room on day of departure with piles of bed linen and towels on the floor outside each room, never seen before in a nice hotel. Barman told us we could not sit by the fire as other guests had reserved the spot for dining ! Later came back and said it was ok but was a left feeling a little disgruntled. The cleanliness of the window frames in the conservatory could certainly do with the spider webs and dirt removing no pleasant to look at. Could have moved but the view of the Lake made up for it.

    Room was comfortable and clean, beautiful bed linen, towels toiletries gowns and slippers. Breakfast excellent fresh fruit tasty pancakes, staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything about the property

    Lovely hotel in a fantastic location overlooking the lake. all the staff were friendly and helpful .excellent food in the restaurant would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Well looked after, rested and we'll fed thanks to all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could not find any fault and our experience was better than we anticipated

    We were welcomed by the staff and quickly and efficiently booked in. Given a room upgrade at no extra cost. Facilities in the room were excellent. Bed was comfortable and warm. Breakfast had plenty of choice food a high standard and hot. We departed feeling we had been received the best possible customer care and definitely return next year.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    7.5
    Bad signal on tv and internet and a couple of handles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad signal on tv and internet and a couple of handles missing off furniture,hotel smelled of fire, suite was a bit small but very nice bathroom.room 6

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to escape in a glorious location with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Letter headed note paper available on request .

    A warm and comfortable hotel with excellent breakfasts , attractive bedrooms and wonderful views and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.3
    The room was clean and the bed is comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff ( I heard she was a temporary staff) was not so helpful when we asked for her advice about going to hospital cuz our baby got fever. She also took quite a long time to find our room keys.

    The room was clean and the bed is comfy. The breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to nit pick... TV signal wasn't great.

    Fantastic stay. We stayed in a "feature room" which was beautiful and had a great view of the lake. Beautiful grounds. Great breakfast. Very helpful staff. Perfect location on Windermere, 5 minutes drive from Bowness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    I was like a "duck" in water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Set in a beautiful area of Bowness. The walks around the property were picturesque. You do need a car to get to places. 5 - 8 minute drive to the main st for restaurants even though dinner is offered here. We were treated like gentry and all the staff were so helpful with their ideas of where to go and what to see. Tks Gina.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing luxurious in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sèe above .

    Stunning building and surroundings from roaring fire and bar to restaurant and rooms .fantastic service.great food.all round a wonderful place to stay.will go again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.3
    Basic but served a purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lodge was very dated and could have been better.

    The fact that the hotel contacted us for a discounted second night stay. We were in one of the lodges and it was ideal having separate rooms with a young child.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    5.4
    Unique location close to the lake and nice main hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wood lodge was not imaged as the pics and many times out of work of heating. bf was not affordable!

    Unique location close to the lake and nice main hotel building!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.3
    Great location, beautiful surroundings but self-catering option was not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Lodge was basic with some items of broken furniture. We were not given enough towels or toilet paper. It is a shame because the main hotel looked lovely. The Lodges feel like a bit of an after thought.

    The food was very good and the bar lovely and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel with luxurious rooms and stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait a long time for breakfast. It was all cooked fresh to order and was delicious but did take a long time to arrive.

    Large room with a really modern bathroom. The bed was really comfortable with lots of pillows. The view from the room was of Lake Windermere which was beautiful. The room was quiet, we weren't disturbed at all. There was plenty of parking which was really useful. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and were able to answer our questions and queries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay, beautiful room and stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For calibre of hotel, there was not enough staff on reception which meant we were waiting. Felt sorry for poor reception lady who was checking everyone in and walking them up all the stairs to their room which led to delays.

    Beautiful rooms and views, tasty breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming staff. Beautiful hotel on a great site. Less than 5 minutes drive to Windermere. Warm and cosy bar and lounges. Will loved staying there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.3
    The area was really nice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some sockets in our lodge wouldn't work and the plug on the DVD player wouldn't reach the socket so we couldn't use it

    The area was really nice,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely courteous and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely courteous and polite. My fiancee felt unwell at dinner and the staff brought our food out to us to the lodge. Really excellent service. The main hotel is a beautiful country home, a very relaxing atmosphere with views overlooking the lake, a real open fire burning away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    6.3
    The property has a lovely view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff could have been more friendly. We stayed in a lodge which was nice but on the small side. Overall there could have been more value for money.

    The property has a lovely view of the lake. Breakfast was great (if expensive) and the lady overseeing it was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful staff during our stay. Breakfast was very tasty and filled us up for the day. View from our room across the gardens and lake was amazing. Bedroom was spotless And contemporary, just perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent few days of relaxation and comfort, in a charming, picturesque and historical setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing really to fault, except wifi connection was a little intermittent (but that could be a positive side of this hotel for those seeking to simply get away from it all!)

    Superior Room with Lake view was just amazing, loved the general rooms to sit by the fire and read, listen to the background music, stare out the window across the lake, etc. Staff are super friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable - but slightly expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast - nice choice And good quality ingrdients - tasty but could have been a little more in quantity on full English

    Comfortable room and bed with excellent view of lake - we booked a room with a lake view (extra cost)- beautiful grounds - staff are lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    Surprised the restaurant menu did not change over the 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lift needs to be installed, as all rooms are either on first or second floors

    Surprised the restaurant menu did not change over the 3 nights we stayed. Food served in the bar was disappointing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    The stuff dreams are made on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think they could possibly have done better for us!

    Storr's Hall is truly a gift to the traveler. The location is exquisite, overlooking Lake Windermere. The Hall itself is lovely, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The food was always good (especially the eggs benedict!), and most importantly, the staff was wonderful. Everyone was helpful and friendly and ready to make the entire visit the best it could be. I was sad to leave and would return there in an instant given the opportunity. I sincerely thank the staff for the warm atmosphere they created.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay next to Lake Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have had better quality food at similar country house hotels, not that it was bad, just not fantastic. They were very busy at breakfast and it took a while to get served.

    The hotel location, buildings and rooms are fantastic and just what you want from a stay like this. Really enjoyed our lake view room where the bath also has a view as well. Nice walking along the lake in front of the property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    5.8
    Below expectations for the price paid for one night stay.
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Damp on ceiling in bathroom, shabby worn furnishing, blocked guttering leading to constant dripping throughout the night, loose and missing fitting and no hot water in the morning on day of departure

    The location for other local amenities and panoramic views from lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice of hotel and would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like about our stay

    Loved the hotel overall specially the heated bathroom floor! Food was really good and location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.5
    Had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to stay again. Really easy to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed in the Lodges, and although wonderful views right by the Lake, bit disappointed as very little in the way of kitchen items, plates, cooking dishes etc in the kitchen. Not very well stocked. i.e. no drinking glasses. No large cooking pots. Only one small saucepan. We were only two adults so managed, but the Lodge is supposed to house four people/self catering. Bathroom a bit tired looking but generally clean but had black mould around bath and on ceiling. We were told that the Lodges are due for a refurbishment so they should be wonderful when this gets done as superb location right by the Lake.

    My daughter (adult) and I stayed in one of the Lodges down by the Lake. Excellent location and wonderful view. Only viewed the main Hotel in reception but looks stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    3.3
    If the location and the view are what you are after then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was dirty. There were spider web everywhere. The couch in the lounge is torn but they had covered it with a throw to hide the tear. The bathroom was infested with mold and the tub itself was turning yellow like it hasn't been cleaned ever. The pillows were lifeless. It was supposed to be well equipped kitchen but from the cleanliness we didn't dare use any of the utensils. The receptionists walked us through the loft, hand the keys and walked off adding 'you will have to move your car tomorrow as we have Supercars coming and there is no space to park your car' Unless you have no option anywhere else then I guess this is better than staying in the car. I just have nothing nice to say about the this.

    If the location and the view are what you are after then this place is perfect but apart from that there is nothing else good to say

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    10
    A stunning hotel full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    Incredible ambiance in this stunning hotel in a spectacular location overlooking the lake. A warm and friendly welcome and a superb room that was extremely quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.3
    Enjoya;ble and thoroughly relaxing. Will go back one day.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Lodge (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    May be the lodges need a little upgrade and maintained better.

    The superb location and ambience. We stayed in one of the lodges which was great as we had a little dog so could leave her for a short time for a meal in the Hotel. Loved walking the dog in the huge grounds along the lake shore. The two dinners we had in the Hotel were amazing, delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    5.8
    Room with spiders !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in a Junior suit for 3 nights: - The room is full of large and small spiders mostly coming from windows as they are not well sealed - No fridge in a junior suite !!! Was difficult to store baby's milk and food in hotel's kitchen (first time to see 4 star hotel without fridge in the room !!!) - Very poor Wifi service - Had to pay extra 20£ per night for baby's crib - Very limited options in breakfast with same menu and choices everyday (mostly egg menu !!) - No elevator (not mentioned in Booking.com) - Far from essential services such as shops, restaurants and lake activities. Car is recommended

    - Great location and views of the lake (but not in the rooms as there are NO rooms with lake view) - Old historical palace with lots of old beautiful decorations. Had a good renovation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    6.7
    Quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating difficult to adjust, in bathroom the towel rails never did heat up. Bar food disappointing and not value for money. No fire evacuation details in room.

    Staff in restaurant friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel with stunning views. Excellent outside areas for walking or just relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A minor thing but would have liked a small seating area for two to relax and watch TV

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable, left us both feeling totally refreshed. I felt the room was too small as there was no seating area to watch evening TV or just relax. There was only one fairly comfortable chair but two of us in the room. We had to move this chair to the other side of the room to watch the news and use the other uncomfortable chair to watch the news together. Both chairs had to be placed too close to TV. The room was very clean and the breakfast was lovely. The outside areas and views were stunning. Any constructive comments I have made are minor as the comfort of the bed out weighs any negative aspects of the room. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again ourselves. Thank you for a lovely experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was excellent and beautifully presented, but portions were small!!

    The best hotel location on Lake Windermere. A beautiful old building with some stunning features. Very comfortable interior with roaring log fires and sumptuous armchairs to relax in. Our lakeside room looked across the lawn to the lake,what a view! And the best shower ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: