Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stotfield Hotel 3 stars

Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth, IV31 6QS, United Kingdom

#8 of 10 hotels in Lossiemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1159 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of TLC. A very old style building which was obviously quite grand in its day and undoubtedly is an expensive upkeep. Needs modernising and some decent double glazing as it gets the brunt of the weather even in summer. Food choice is average though the steak menu is good. Parking is restricted to 10 cars, but on street parking is quite easy.

    Excellent location right on the coast and overlooking the Golf Course and Air base in the distance. Awesome views. Spacious and bright rooms. Quiet location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast definitely needs to be improved. The view from bedroom window was directly into another residents room. We had to keep our curtain closed at all times.

    The staff were extremely friendly. The Dining room staff were friendly and the evening meal was lovely. Location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was once a rather grand Edwardian Hotel, but over the years it has somewhat faded and is now in need of a complete makeover, which I would think is not financial viable.

    The helpful staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were difficult to adjust. It would have been nice to have more natural light but we closed the curtains for privacy as there were windows directly across.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room needs updating, breakfast was a buffet style service and this would have been better maybe being served to customers as then they feel more included. the room was the overall disappointment and if it had been in the pictures they had advertised then would have improved the overall experience

    the rooms were in need of a update, seen pictures on facebook showing much nicer rooms than the one we had, felt a bit dissapointed with room and we were relocated from original room as card shown the room had been altered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms - socket hanging off walls, no information on the hotel and services available, bathrroom had a cracked sink, tiles broken around bath and shower area and generally poor condition. no air con in room and very small window that was difficult to reach to open

    staff and food is what saved this hotel from a really poor review

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lovely and friendly, nothing too much trouble, breakfast waitress with short dark hair lovely and chearful, lovely lady, also wanted fan in room, man on reception bought fan up, again always helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    in the lovely big room we were in (room 234) there was no mirror and in the bathroom no towel rail at all or even a hook on the door. the receptionist explained that the hotel was going through an upgrade and these were going to be done. we managed and would stay again though.

    the location and the views were fantastic. the hotel was very clean and the staff, particularly the breakfast staff were lovely. the hotel room we were in was huge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the signage discripting the exit, reception etc needs additional signs as sometimes it's confusing to find way out.

    Cozy feel to hotel overall. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated and unclean and the bed wasn't so comfortable. Also the noise from the door as we were right next to door opening for the corridor that was pretty noisey.

    Fantastic value for money couldn't fault the veiw from the room as we upgraded to a seaveiw room, the meal deal of upgrading to half board is fab the food was amazing both dinner and breakfast. The staff also were very helpful I booked this stay for my partners birthday and they went the extra mile to make it special so I was very pleased with that :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel in very poor condition, bathroom from middle ages, tiles letting loose from wall, very noisy, could hear neighbours snore all night, room above ventilation from restaurant (so including the smell). to my opinion, too much money for outdated hotel. Get the feeling of: ''ahh we don't care, as long as we can get some money out a crappy room, if people complaint, we'll help them...people keep booking any way"...

    staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, no complaints at all.

    located perfectly , interiors tastefully decorated and very comfortable and relaxing, staff very pleasant and food fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath had cracked plastic panel and despite asking for courtesy light to be fixed, it wasn't. Old sash windows impossible to open for fresh air.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are terrible, shower didn't work properly no bathroom door just a slide that doesn't close properly.

    Location right on the beach looking over golf course, food was amazing and breakfast is fairly good aswell to start your day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night, but felt it was very dated. The bedroom was tidy but the bathroom was not good. We did not use it unless we had too. We could also hear music from the bar until late and it was on again when we woke up. The food in the bar was ok but nothing special.

    Good views from room. Comfy bed. Staff very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no concerns. Have attended a function at this hotel before which was well organised. This was my first overnight stay and I would stay here again.

    Good value, short notice online booking, location close to event I was attending, quiet single room, good water pressure in the shower, satisfying buffet breakfast, reception and breakfast staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower should have had an operating sign on the bathroom door.loose tile on the main room floor which dug into your feet.aircon unit right outside the window.housekeeping told me it was normally a guide or drivers room.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. I have a disability. Disabled parking but when I asked the receptionist if there was a lift or a room on the bottom floor she said no. She was of no help whatsoever. A smile might even have been nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to sleep in room due to continuous noise from machinery outside back of hotel ( may have been fans or similar serving the kitchens, not sure). Had to keep the window closed all night to try and keep out the noise....

    Food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had a very weak flow and the temperature control was erratic - we were located on the top floor, so may be better on lower floors. It should also be mentioned that the hotel doesn't have a lift, for those with health problems who would find it hard to climb the stairs.

    The room was large and well equiped. The bed was comfy. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fried eggs were always hard because they were left out too long under warming lights and the bacon was not really tender enough but once I got a soft egg, breakfast was OK. Bar prices are VERY dear £20 for 2 large scotch!! Parking is sparse with only about 8 spaces so it was a case of having to park up the street.

    Location was good for the purpose of our stay. Meal deal was quite good at £20 for 2 courses plus a drink which is cheaper than Premier Inn!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was top notch and the beer from the newly formed local brewery (Windswept) Blonde was a definite favourite. The couple arguing in the room next door two nights in a row was a low point bit credit to the hotel they did have a word with them and they left at 3am on the second night. I couldn't fault the staff they were amazing and it isn't a fair reflection upon what is a beautiful hotel. Do eat here, the steak on the hot platter is amazing and the views from the dining room are to die for.

    Dr the hotel has been modernised since my last stay and it is looking great, I will be booking again in the next few weeks. I whole heartedly recommend the Stotfield (bar the bad guest we encountered)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were visiting relatives so didn’t partake of dinner at the Stotfield, but looked forward to visiting the bar when we returned for an evening drink. Unfortunately, after purchasing our drinks, we were told that, despite there being empty tables , we were not allowed in the bar unless we were purchasing a meal. We retreated to the front lobby, which had no ambience for we were the only ones there, and listened to the buzz coming from the bar, which we would have liked to have been part of.

    Friendly welcome when we arrived, with a sea view as promised. Bed was very comfortable with clean crisp bed linen. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were welcome. Room was clean and it was great to have proper black out curtains for early morning light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals at night were not very good at all. Steak pie was full off grissel and could not be eaten. Pasty was just sat on top of the tasteless stew. Fish was greasy and a very strange texture. Evening meals was what let this stay down. However lovely places to eat close by. A stark contrast to breakfast which was lovely.

    Lovely comfortable bed, good breakfast nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The the room was old and although had some sort of upgrade was not very good. The wash hand basin was on the other side of the room from the toilet/shower. Not very handy. The heavy curtains were essential to hold back the terrible draft coming through the window. The curtains were flapping about. This resulted in a rather cold room.

    The site is eccellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smokers smoking right outside the front door of hotel so you had to walk through their clouds of smoke to get in to the property.

    Rooms have been refurbished since our last stay and we found them to be very comfortable and fresh. All the staff we had any dealings with were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not now applicable 😌⚓️🇬🇧

    Been to the Stotfield on a number of occasions over the last 15 years or so. Up until about 7 years ago it appeared to be going into decline , which I found sad, though I always thought the staff cheerful and helpful and the food good , however it is lifting nicely now and looking much fresher . It's comforting actually to feel life being breathed back into this lovely old hotel. My association with the Stotfield reaches back to the late 50's/early 60's when I was stationed at lossiemouth with the Fleet Air Arm .In effect I view the Stotfield now as having been 'saved'.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a Victorian hotel, and some of the issues that come with that cannot be helped. It is quite dated, the bathrooms could do with a refurb and the heating is quite noisy! The signage could be much better. But a great location and atmosphere.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The Roast Dinner, Apple and cinnamon crumble and selection of beers was very good indeed. the ground floor has recently has a refurb and looks great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very poor small spaces at front full I had to park on street opposite, breakfast was of poor quality dinning area could be doing with an upgrade decor if staying in travelodge at similar cost big difference most have a lot of parking & modern decor.

    Was ok for overnight stay two course meal & a drink for £20 very good,value for money however could do with upgrade decor .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very cold; it would be nice to have a heater or something but we didn’t even bother asking so maybe we would have been given one had we asked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to bedroom on second floor - surprised by lack of lift, two lengthy flights of stairs to climb to reach second floor. Help with suitcase not offered at check-in. On discovering no lift, returned to front desk and asked for help, was then told to leave case at foot of ground floor stairs and it would be brought up. Location of room would be problematic if guest had health or mobility issues. As a 70year old female, it was quite a climb when going back and forward to access room throughout stay. Shower facilities separate space from toilet and wash basin, all basic amenities. Water damage and loose wall paper on ceiling of toilet / washroom. Some car parking at front of hotel, otherwise street parking.

    Bed extremely comfortable, bedding and towels spotless Public rooms and corridors clean Did not eat in hotel so cannot comment on food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No armchair in the room, only a swivel office-type chair; no lift in the hotel. When booking, the room was described as having a bath, but in reality it had only a shower - this did not matter to me, as I prefer a shower, but others might be surprised to find that out, also the fact that there was no lift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room was poor. There was dust all over the dressing table, dust in the wardrobe, unable to put clothes away. Cobwebs in the window and dirt on the bottom of the bedding.

    Lovely comfy bed. Excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initial room was too small

    Staff were very friendly. No problem when we asked for a change of room. Second room was much bigger and more comfortable. Food was good with a good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotels Edwardian splendor is sadly on the decline and it needs some TLC. However I appreciate this costs money and I hasten to add this did not spoil our stay.

    Great location in Lossiemouth. Dinner was excellent. The staff are very friendly, helpful and cheerful. A wonderful building which reflects earlier days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    awful bathroom :(

    A very good restaurant. Tasty breakfast. Very nice staff! Hotel from outside very nice, but rooms are old. Bathrooms to be renovated (awful and with sliding doors)!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decoration was a little tired in the room particularly. Ensuite was functional and everything worked, water was hot but needs renovating.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite toilet door. No lock and a slide door. You could see into the toilet through the gaps and from the mirror opposite.

    Lovely hotel and great surroundings. Staff extremely friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room had zero water pressure and was more of a drip. Room was very hot even with radiators off and window open.

    Breakfast was perfect in the morning and the staff were lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries provided, not a problem if I’d realised but I am used to them being provided so didn’t take shampoo etc.

    Been before, it’s in a lovely position & is good value but lacks the niceties of luxury if that’s what you’re after.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bottle of water in the room (unknown brand available to buy at reception for £1) Bedroom incredibly basic with poor decor and awful curtains. Actually a very depressing room with no view even though the hotel was empty. Bathroom really dated with no complimentary soap,shower gel. No where to put toothbrush. Toilet roll from a machine on the wall isn't appropriate. Kettle in room filled with limescale. Wont be returning

    The blonde girl on reception was very friendly & helpful. The free WiFi was an ok speed The lounge area was comfortable to do some work. Shower pressure was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I would have, would be disabled access to rooms. I am disabled and found it very difficul to get upstairs, a small lift or a chair lift would make all the differe.

    We had a truly nice time and staff were excellent. Rooms gave been improved and wt/fit is available in two bands ~ great idea, and very useful. Food was nice and freshh. Linen, clean and immaculate,enjoyable stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators could not be turned off. Bathroom lino didn't meet under toilet very ugly looking. No fan when shower on. Light above mirror didn't work. Peeling paper etc in room. Renovations were still being done at 9.50 at night

    staff lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like about this charming hotel

    Stotfield Hotel is a beautiful and charming hotel built in the late 1800’s. staff super friendly, rooms comfy & great breaky. Opposite the beach & close to whisky distilleries, perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Referring to your survey, I travelled with my wife who is much more than a "Partner". I suggest you amend your survey to include spouse.

    Friendly staff, excellent location and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of parking at hotel itself, but on street parking available nearby. Room had sink in bedroom, not in the toilet/shower room which is not ideal.

    Hotel has a comfortable, relaxing feel to it. Staff very friendly,food in restaurant good. location great...seafront views and walks just across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very outdated, stark lighting. Bathroom mouldy. Windows were screwed and glued shut so no ventilation (or means of escape in a fire). Electricity was off for nearly 12 hours overnight. Floorboards loose and could hear next door room clearly.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done without the idiots clattering up the corridor in the wee small hours making lots of noise, banging doors & dropping keys, then shouting to each other.

    Hotel was ideal for our needs & good value for money. The staff were very friendly & the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately on our last visit the breakfasts were not as good as they have been. For the last 2 days we were asked what we wanted and they brought that out ~ which is ok but you don't always know what you want until you see it. I would mention that I wasn't impressed by the sausages!!

    The hotel is convenient for us being close to family members, and we have stayed there many times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a good overhaul,bedroom flooring made you walk on a slant & felt tilted,toilet cistern pulled from the wall when you sat on it etc

    Breakfast very ample

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    car parking is limited

    Staff were more than helpful ,room was on the list for a re furb which I am sure will be great when completed Food was was very good with a fair choice and the staff where really nice and could not do enough for us would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in the room matched and was in bad condition, the door to the bedside draw fell off in my hand, but there was a sign saying they were having a refurb... however that wasn't taken into account when being charged the same amount of money for the room, The floor boards outside the room were SO loud that you heard every person coming and going throughout the night. The breakfast was far from Scottish and a disappointment.The bathroom was so old and shabby. I also feel that by booking through Booking.com and not the hotel direct you don't get the nicest rooms....and that's naughty.

    The views were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that came to my attention.

    It was such a friendly hotel with comfortable lounges, beautiful views over the sea and a peaceful bedroom with a confortable bed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not allowed to drink in the bar at 20:00 on a Saturday night, with the reason being the tables had been set up for the Sunday lunch. We weren't told this until we had paid for our drinks. Had to sit out by reception where there was no TV or atmosphere. Wouldn't be that difficult to move the cutlery and wipe the table.

    Great location. Hotel recommends booking directly to save up to 20%

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not clean the cups properly in the bedroom, they forgot to leave toilet rolls and the was no bath mat or mats and it was slippy. They are in the middle of refurbishment but they could have warned us that we would have a carpenter outside our room at 7an banging nails in the floorboards. It would have been nice to have a reduction in the price but we did not complain.

    The manager could not do enough to help. I have special dietary needs and he said he would do whatever I asked however when he was not on two days of the week they didn’t even stock any fruit and only had one banana left! The staff were very helpful apart from this and cheerful especially Ava. The beach was just across the road which was wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had not been refurbished as it stated. Bathroom was damp cold as no heating or ventilation. Booked as a double bed and got 2 singles. Bath and shower water was almost cold. I would rate it one star.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedside light didn't work, realised it was unplugged only socket was behind the bed where it was VERY dusty, struggled to reach and then realised the socket was broken! Only one overhead light not near the bed so very dark. The bottom of the shower had lots of hairs tucked in under the glass and the floor was not the cleanest again lots of dust. The room is very old and dated, however the hotel is being refurbished and hopefully will be better afterwards but cleanliness needs to improve. The floor in the breakfast room was very bouncy, I get motion sickness and found this to be a real issue. If you are vegetarian or have allergies the breakfast could be a problem, the tongs for the buffet are piled on top together and no labels so you don't know which to use for bacon and which for potato scones for example. Be aware there are soap dispenser on the wall above the sink but no other toiletries, I would expect more from this type of hotel. Some of the restaurant could benefit from some customer service training (one waiter was excellent but the rest not so). My room was on the corner by stairs on second floor - the door from the stairs to the corridor was noisy no chance of a lay in :-(

    The bedroom was large, my boyfriend had the room next door that was lots smaller and we paid the same price for both so I guess it's pit luck what you get. The food in the evening was lovely and our waiter was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms advertised on the website are much nicer than the one which we have got. Apparently there is some ongoing work on room refreshing. The bathroom was quite old fashion, not very nice. We also have been at their restaurant. Starter was undercooked. Main was alright.

    Sea view from our room was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallways rundown, though there are notices telling of improvements about to be made. The bathroom is dated but functions fine.

    3rd stay at this hotel. Impressive old building with lots of character. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Ate in the restaurant at night and had a lovely meal, very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My colleagues bath and toilet gurgled all night keeping her awake. There was a lot of dust on stairwell woodwork but this could have been due to renovations.

    Beds were comfortable, staff are very nice and breakfast has a good selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in the process of being refurbished...our room, except for the bed, was in deperate need of new furniture/bathroom revamp. Very clean though. Would have been nice to know before we arrived.

    Location suited us perfectly and a beautiful view. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was excellent from breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast buffet style was not very nice, may have just timed it wrong but most stuff overcooked and no mushrooms! Small car park and unable to park outside due to double yellow lines, so short walk to nearest parking area.

    Great evening meal deal, well stocked bar, welcoming staff, beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe a refurbishment is in progress and should make the hotel much better

    The room was wonderful. The Receptionist was excellent very helpful. Breakfast staff were very nice. Nice old hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit worn around the edges and in need of upgrading. Slight musky smell in bedroom, although this can be quite common hotels of a similar age.

    Bed was new and comfortable. Good breakfast with lots of space in the breakfast room. Evening meals available in restaurant. Friendly staff. Hotel was easy to find, with easy parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the overall look is one of being a very tired hotel. Decor and furnishings in need of revamp, as indeed are the rooms.

    I liked the location as it was adjacent to Moray Golf Club where I had booked to play.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was well below standard; dirty and ill maintained; the wash-hand basin was in the bedroom; no hooks, shelf or towel rail, poor lighting and mirrors. Hall carpets were a trip hazard and fithy

    the view from room, the beds were comfy and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nice and comfy if a little dated. Bathrooms could do with a revamp.

    Location and breakfast. Beautiful spot and the staff were very friendly as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very tired and old, in need of a much needed face lift. Bed very uncomfrotable and ensuite needs replacing as was not fit for purpose.

    Food in the restaurant was extremely good value for money and surpisingly very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very comfortable, good beds and lovely fluffy white towels. The food was very good and well presented. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. The hotel is tired but renovations are on going and all the other plus points overtake this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy old room with out dated decor. Wall paper peeling off the walls and no hot water. Price I paid was for a sea view room and ended up looking at another building. £89 was a shocking price to pay for one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    where do I start? The room had cobwebs in the corner of the frame clearly visible. the bathroom was very worn and dated as are the corridors. the shower although it was a modern unit was a feeble trickle. at breakfast - staff had added cheap cornflakes to the Frosted flakes bowl to bulk them up a bit and save money. Cheap catering sausages were used in the breakfast buffet. the quality of the product does not reflect the price paid unfortunately.

    Although I didn't use it, that fact that breakfast is a buffet is a plus. the quality of the items needs to be reviewed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs replacing, couldn't regulate shower temp. Lot of noise from shower in next room

    Comfortable bed, warm room, friendly staff, good food in the restaurant and nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As above

    When we arrived we were put in a back room (130) which was overlooking the bowling green. It hardly rated two stars. We didn't unpack because there was only one wardrobe and no drawers and we were totally dissatisfied with the room. After speaking to the Manager he said he would be able to move us to another room the following day when a different room would become available. He showed us two rooms and we said the first one would be ok which looked out onto the side road. In room, 130 the next morning when we had showers, there was no heating in the bathroom, the window was sealed closed and there was no ventilation to let the steam out. We moved to room (125) where the windows did open and it had a radiator in the bathroom. On our second night our pillows had been changed and they (as well as the bed) were very comfortable. Unfortunately the painting generally was of a sub standard, lacking preparation. In the first room (they were all new beds) there was a big splodge of paint down the side of the headboard where the wall had been painted and in the other room a large paint mark on the base of the bed. On the three mornings we stayed we were down for breakfast about five minutes after it started and each day most of the items were lukewarm. We had planned to take out family from Lhanbryde (eight of us altogether) for a meal one evening but after the breakfasts we went elsewhere. Although we accepted the second room it was quite obvious to us that the standard of the rooms was not going to improve, we have no knowledge of what other rooms were like and this maybe the standard of accommodation that people booking through booking.com receive. Maybe booking direct may give better facilities ie: sea view, but does the standard improve? After saying all this the beds and pillows were very comfortable, bar area good and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were quite a lot of stairs to my first floor bedroom which were difficult for me with a suitcase and bag. The carpets and fittings were a bit tired but they are due for refurbishment. Not much fruit available at breakfast.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I need a gluten free diet and the restaurant staff had been made aware of that and went out of their way to accommodate me. The position of the hotel overlooking the sea and golf course was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated and shower pressure poor. Walls were paper thin which meant you could hear the slightest noise and sleeping wasn't helped by a mattress that was particularly uncomfortable (very hard). Lack of lounge/bar on-site also (e.g. to watch football).

    Food was excellent - evening meal delicious and excellent value. Good breakfast selection also. Location good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: