Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stracey Hotel 3 stars

2 Stracey Road, Norwich, NR1 1EZ, United Kingdom

#9 of 23 hotels in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient for Norwich town centre and the station. I booked a single room with the expectation of something small but was given a double room with lots of space. Staff very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location and excellent value, with lovely staff :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was very slightly uncomfortable, as if the mattress perhaps needs replacing - but nothing desperate, I still slept fine.

    Perfect location for travelling football fans, with equally easy access to the station and the city as well as Carrow Road. Will definitely stay again! Comfortable, good sized room and exceptional value for its location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a tad noisy as we were at the front of the hotel and could hear taxi drivers talking quite loudly during the night. The rooms were adequately sized for a short stay, but anything longer and you would probably need something a little bigger. The staff were friendly, however we were told we could choose whether we wanted breakfast or not in the morning, but when we went to the front desk to ask about breakfast that morning we were told that they had closed the kitchen. It was well before the cut off point for breakfast, so we were a little confused. We went to the nearby Costa for breakfast instead.

    The location of the hotel was very convenient, as it was less than five minutes from the train station. The room and ensuite bathroom was clean, and the shower was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Stracey stay was very good, all staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking. Nearest car park 200yds away, cost £7 if paid by card over the phone or £8 at the machine per day. Car could be parked in same road as hotel but only after 6-30pm and then moved away by 10am next day.

    The bed was comfy,would have liked a bath, but shower was good. Room was quiet,couldn't hear other guests unless they were walking past the door talking. Breakfast was very well cooked and presented. Wasn't far to walk into Norwich town. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, superb staff, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Good value and superb friendly staff. Breakfast is good quality and value and not over too early! We were lucky to get a parking spot right at the front door. Their own bar shuts early at night (hence 9.6 instead of the full 10 score) - about 10:30 but there is a lovely pub (The coach and horses which brew on site) a stones throw down the road that shuts much later and is on the way into town. The walk into town is 10 or so minutes and then suddenly everything is there in close proximity...the shops, cathedral etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Booking.com photos sold this property above and beyond the real deal
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold and the bed linen quite plain like a hostel. There were four parking bays which were taken but we did manage to park down the road luckily. Parking restricted there for 2 hours until 6.30pm on Saturday untill Monday morning. So be aware that 2hrs max down the road until 6.30 Sat night to Monday morning.

    We did not eat breakfast. The dining room looked a liitle uninviting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Please replace the beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds terribly uncomfortable

    The Staff we met were very friendly, the hotel in general was clean and tidy although would benefit from some updating, the room was nice and clean but the bed was horrendous sadly the only negative, please replace the beds we would happily return once the beds have been replaced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be hit and miss, noise from other rooms can be a problem.

    Staff were excellent, good bar and restaurant on site, good location for the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    lovely night in Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if we had to put something it would be the bed was a little squeaky but that is the only criticism we can find!

    very friendly welcome which continued throughout our stay. clean room, lovely shower and bathroom with nice towels and toiletries. full English breakfast recommended as sausages and bacon were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Convenient location for football stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this for the night prior to daughter's graduation - a 10 minute walk away from the venue (football stadium). There is no dedicated car park but we were able to park on the street overnight, then moved the car to a nearby car park the next day (where there was plenty of space, £6 a day). We had a triple room, adequate size, big bathroom. Reception staff gave us instructions in case we arrived after 10.30pm, when the desk isn't manned (in the event, we arrived before Reception closed). I'm not sure I would book this if I wanted to be in the city centre, but it was close to the football stadium and the restaurants/entertainment area which was what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    3 nights over a hot August weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative would be the lack of central air conditioning. Though, fans are available in the room.

    Basically everything else. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nice and good value. It's close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking facilities. No available parking until 16:30 (on road directly in front of the hotel, non-reservable) although this is free until 10:00 am the following day. Unfortunately the nearest car park situated a two minute walk away charge a minimum fee of £8.00 for twelve hours so by arriving on time (15:00) and with nowhere obvious to park we were stung. Not the fault of the hotel but I feel that this could be made clearer in their information.

    Excellent location. Lovely room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Walking distance to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 hours parking max outside the property. The nearest car park costs £7 a day renewable at midnight. Very few car parks are H24 in Norwich. To suggest this hotel has parking available is misleading.

    Walking distance to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, Helpful Staff, Bright Well Presented Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel doesn't have its own car park I was told about the cost of the breakfast Full English or Continental but not the times

    Great location near the railway station and a number of bus routes Friendly helpful staff Well presented hotel Full English Breakfast I've used this hotel for a number of years and recommend it to everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.5
    we were very happy with the hotel ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound insulation between the rooms or lack off .I had to ask the next room to turn there television down at midnight as is seemed to be in our room full blast

    Breakfast was very good with ample choice and a very reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming staff, pleasurable property, flawless food... great place for a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather... but that's about it. Haha

    In all the Hotel was lovely, the receptionist was remarkably lovely, friendly, caring & accomodating, yet still all the while professional and generally just made the place a warm and comfortable place to be. In fact she was that good I think she deserves a payrise. :-D The food was all fresh and delicious and there was a good variety to choose from for the prices aswell. Will definitely be staying here again. :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    perfect and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was a bit on the small side as well as the toilet but cabt fault anything really staff were very helpful and directed us to a nice walk into the city which help set the mood of what was an enjoya le weekend

    staff were very helpful and directed us to a nice walk into the city which help set the mood of what was an enjoyable weekend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was excellent made extra special by Cherie .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable and chair in room also lacks comfort could do with two chairs when a couple in the room

    Staff were very good at their job especially Cherie who goes above and beyond very lovely young lady

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant comfortable stay not too far away from the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice for continental breakfast was limited.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, there was free WI provided in bedrooms, also, hairdryer , tea and coffee making facilities provided and most important for the couple of nights I stayed, there was a fan in the room!! 5 minutes walk from the railway station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    OK, but not outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By 9.15 they had run out of croissants and had no plain yoghurt or muesli, so the 'continental' breakfast, basically toast and cornflakes, was disappointing. A generator outside my poorly ventilated ground flooor single room hummed most of the night. The price was much more than the advertised £49 per night.

    It seems to have been freshly decorated and was very clean, bed comfortable, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Perfect overnight stay for UEA graduation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed with my husband and my parents for our daughters graduation. Lovely, helpful lady on reception in the evenings. She even helped carry my elderly parents bags up to their room. Nice, freshly cooked breakfast and hotel close enough to walk to Norwich nightlife - perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A proper glass in the bathroom instead of a plastic one.

    The staff are friendly and well-informed regarding tourist info. The food at pub across the road, Coach and Horses, is amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the road outside was busy at night making rooms facing that way noisy. We changed to a side facing room for our second night and that was much better.

    The staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and well equiped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Came for a short city break after walking the coastal path. Very convenient for seeing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The choices for a continental breakfast didn't look great, but Norwich has plenty of good cafes.

    Travelling by train, the hotel was only 6 or 7 minutes walk from the railway station. Staff were attentive and the room was very clean and a good size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff. I locked myself out of my room. There was an emergency number and I called. The person showed up and opened my room saying that that was not really an emergency. What was I suppose to do? Sleep on the street? It made me felt awful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean comfortable rooms well-managed and close to station and CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good no problems

    The bottom floor rooms were more spacious than I expected, good size ensuite shower, the staff were very helpful without being intrusive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay, had an enjoyable holiday, we will be staying here again no doubt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in an excellent location, very clean and spacious, breakfast was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful providing us with useful information during our stay especially on parking and eating places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent could not have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Didn’t have time for Breakfast so could not comment on that

    Nothing was too much trouble for Receptionists who went above and beyond to help. Everything was remarkable for the price . We will be bak for an overnighter next month

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, comfortable hotel near the centre of Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the largest of beds but it was comfortable. Really can’t think of any other non positive comments.

    Only a short walk from the train station and city centre. Very friendly welcome and efficient check-in. Room was light and airy had a nice fresh modern feel - looked much better than some of the photos shown on booking.com. Comfortable bed, extra pillows provided. Good sized on-suite shower room. Good breakfast in the morning which I thought was excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, clean and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the hotel

    There was no box in this feedback to indicate that I travel with ‘family’ I.e.my adult son. We had an excellent stay at the Stracey hotel and we loved our visit to Norwich.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside cabinet was too high for the bed and too close, I hit my elbow on it very hard when in bed causing it to swell up.

    Staff friendly and polite. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    The staff were generally good and one in particular was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general needs a refurbishment. The beds are old and squeaky, there are no net curtains which means you’re in full view of everyone outside, you can only access cold water when running the water for a very long time. I wouldn’t have minded necessarily but the place was massively over priced for what we received. I was expecting a very relaxing stay but had to leave part way through. I’m sure that if a refurbishment was to happen and prices adjusted, it would be better.

    The staff were generally good and one in particular was very helpful when dealing with my complaint.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Small-ish Room - Nice Bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (no 8) was a little smaller than I expected and some of the plug sockets were inaccessible / hard to reach.

    Brilliant large bathroom and shower. Very clean everywhere. The staff were helpful and friendly. Let me leave my bags on the last day after checking out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, very clean and showers brill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses uncomfortable ,had to change room slight improvement. No where to sit comfortably chairs seats concaved.

    Great staff, very clean and showers brill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    It was adequate but expensive when compared to Premier Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dressing table mirror. Limited options to plug hairdryer near a mirror. Limited drink offerings. Saggy bottom uncomfortable chair. Dirty carpet.

    Location Bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A basic+ hotel and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a larger bed and fuller pillows but the hotel was very inexpensive so I really can't complain.

    Walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean tidy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the other guests where a bit noisy

    Clean tidy and comfortable. Good location near the train station and a short walk to the shops. Good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located near Norwich station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress uncomfortable and room quite cold. Breakfast not included in room rate, but too mediocre to merit buying separately.

    Conveniently located near Norwich station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view! But we didn’t choose the hotel for the view, so that’s unfair really.

    The hotel was nearby the station which was really useful for us. The room was spotlessly clean with a great En-Suite with toiletries. We enjoyed our breakfasts both Continental and Full English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    No frills,close to rail station. Clean and practical.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things: no conditioner, shampoo that was like Palmolive dishwashing liquid, instant coffee rather than fresh or drip. Instructions on how to turn on the heat would be nice.

    Close to rail station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Wont be back - cheap and clean but no luxury at this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cramped, service at reception wasnt met with much enthusiasm, room was too hot and no way of turning off heating, had to keep windows open and thus noise of someone throwing up, room was arranged poorly so you had to unplug stuff and fill kettle other side of room which then over bubbled everwhere, toilet burns you by way of towel rail, toilet blocked and had to get my hand down it, Bed was uncomfortable and pillows useless. Banged face on high cabinets next to bed.No water glasses. Basically the room was a right pain in the butt - not enough lighting for the missus to do her makeup, tv was at a desk other side of the room and walls paper thin. Annoyingly a lovely hotel was cheaper in nottingham where we just came from, and it was ten times better. Parking also done etiher on the road or down the road at cost, which in our case was the football match so machines were off and prices went up.

    clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff but expensive and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a massive extractor fan just next to our room, number 11, which was so loud, it kept us awake and started up v early in the morning. The chair in the room was v uncomfortable. The duvet was very thin, so it was cold. Breakfast not included in the £89 we paid.

    Excellent shower, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.5
    Only here for a weekend visiting family. The staff were lovely but I was disappointed with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hallways are very tired and carpets could do with replacing.The bar was only open until 10 which was disappointing. The traffic noise which was until late and started early morning was bad so my sleep was disturbed.

    The staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and lounge closed at 10pm. Hotel bars should stay open longer than that and one night was closed at 9pm and couldn't sit in lounge as attached to the bar so had to sit in our rooms.

    Excellent breakfasts. Excellent staff and wonderful location. Very clean and warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    A great weekend and would definitely recommend this hotel for it's convenience, hospitality, comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only things to improve would have been more tea bags in room and the hair dryer was not working but they dealt with that immediately - so no real complaints at all .

    Hospitality was superb and the facilities perfect. The breakfast was excellent - used good local produce.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Stracey hotel has a good position, very close to the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't much light from the window of my room, and no view as there was a wall right over it. I didn't try the breakfast.

    Stracey hotel has a good position, very close to the station. The staff is kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Short and sweet stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work properly and there was nowhere that you could eat in the evening as we didn't realise this was just a bed and breakfast hotel!!!

    We had a large room and bed was very comfortable, breakfast was hot and satisfying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, very well situated and very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and in particular the lady who was on reception when we arrived, she was so welcoming and informative. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very well stocked with everything you might need. The breakfast was fantastic and nothing seemed too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    What I needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the bathroom came at the cost of bedroom size: there were two chairs but they wouldn't have fitted under the desk/TV table because the bed was too close. So I could only work sitting on the bed!

    Very nice bathroom (I asked specially, and think I got the only room with a bath). It was all very clean. Very friendly and helpful lady on reception in the evening. Nice breakfast, with gluten-free toast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent little gem near The Riverside
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little difficult, best to consult before arriving, as there is a 2 hour restriction outside. Also, stairs a little steep, but I think there are more accessible rooms available. Oh... and the sink in rm 6 empties by a lever behind the sink! New one on me. Otherwise, a very good choice!

    Lovely clean property, large pleasant room, very polite staff. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Very quiet location considering it's literally 10 mins walk to the Riverside. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Weekend in Norwich and a show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the Sunday there was a football match and people came in and were served alcoholic drink whilst we were still eating breakfast (08.45). I'm no teetotaler, but they shouldn't really serve alcohol until after breakfast, say 10am.

    Good location - parking wasn't as much of a problem as I thought it might be. Excellent staff and lovely breakfast. The food was good quality, well presented and enough of it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Ideal base for Norwich, Norfolk Coast and visiting child at UEA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was on street only and restricted to two hour periods during the day time. Breakfast was not included in the price. We were in an annex with views onto the Royal Mail staff car park, but it was fine as a base for a short city break. Our daughter’s room backed on to houses and her windows didn’t open so it was a bit hot when the sun was shining in.

    Very clean hotel with simple tasteful decor and friendly professional staff. Probably the best hotel shower ever (temperature and power). Breakfast, although not included, was excellent, cooked well and really nice toast. Easy to walk into the city centre and very easy to get to the ring road to go round to the university or out east to the coast. We saw around 80 seals on the beach at Waxham. Would also be super handy for the train station too. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    I would not return.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking was advertised as including breakfast, it did not- and they wanted us to pay £7.50 each for breakfast. The pillows were so thin and awful that neither of us could get proper sleep. This is an issue i have seen others mention in several reviews and they haven't bothered fixing that. There was an airlock in our sink, meaning no hot water- The shower didn't work properly and gave off a pathetic mist, not able to even rinse my hair of shampoo properly. We came back to the hotel after a day of exploring the city, dinner and a movie, so about 11pm and i was desperate for a shower... unable to as nobody at reception to assist us in the evening/night. This is not a hotel, it is a bed and breakfast in need of some serious improvements in very basic things. If people constantly review you need new pillows... replace them! They were seriously awful. I ended up using my coat as a pillow.

    The location is good, the hotel is clean enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, really helpful and nice staff who helped us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but there are plenty of places in Norwich so just plan ahead :)

    Excellent hotel, really helpful and nice staff who helped us with late check in as we got held up on our journey. Room was larger than expected and extremely clean and comfortable - nice shower and big bath too. Also provided tea and biscuits with a mini kettle in the room - can’t fault this place and will definitely be staying again. Location is great too, especially if you’re coming from the station. 10/10!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room with free wifi and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for a key to the safe, and as in a previous comment, only one set of towels but I feel sure they would have been available if I'd realised before I got into the shower!

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room with free wifi and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Stracey hotel business stop-over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have any parking and you have to rely on street parking with the possibility of a ticket if you exceed the allowed time. However, if you check in after 5pm and leave before 9.30am you will be fine. There is a nearby pay and display car park

    There was nothing to fault here and for £53 it was remarkable value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, easy check in, new and modern room with everything for a nights stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but fine for one in a single bed.

    Bathroom nice new and clean. Very quiet good night sleep. Hotel not too hot or cold at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location but no parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no onsite parking and breakfast was not included. This makes the hotel over priced on a room only basis.

    Staff were very attentive. Hotel is only five minutes walk from football ground, station and eating houses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Great central location for visiting Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com listed parking which we took to mean there was an onsite car park but there isn't, however it was easy to park in the road outside or at a nearby pay and display. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants etc, we didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment but it looked good

    We were in Norwich for football and this hotel was perfect, easy walk to ground and also close to city centre for bars and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and Norwich was a lovely place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good sized room felt more like a small apartment. Excellent Breakfast, lovely thick clean Towels.There was an excellent Pub close by which served good food and selection of Craft Beers at a very reasonable price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    I appreciated the comfortable bed and the quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and would have liked more info on surroundings.This was not a major thing,I enjoyed my stay

    I appreciated the comfortable bed and the quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Exciting, tiring, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be nice to have a spare blanket on hand. Longish walk to shopping / city centre but not far from excellent pubs / restaurants and 5 min walk to the train station / bus terminal.

    Wonderful staff especially Jenny the night receptionist, really helpful about our travel delay / late arrival

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    perfect for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking.com suggests there is free parking but this isn’t correct. There is parking on the road but this is only free in the evening and on sundays. The hotel were very helpful explaining that and indicating alternative parking. booking.com needs to correct the description

    well placed, comfy. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.8
    No lift and 4 flights of stairs. Cold room. Nice friendly staff. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was freezing due to faulty radiator. Small windows did not have blinds that were easy to reach so one was woken by the early morning light. Given the room is in what was the roof space, when it rained it was very noisy on the roof window. No wardrobe in the room. Angled roof over the bed meant I hit my head a few times.

    Lovely breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable,, great location, great staff ,, great all round,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,, keep it how it is ,, we are booking again very soon , and the same room ,,

    The room was spot on ,, we have stayed before,, the breakfast was perfect,,,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is often the case area around railway stations aren't great. No problems though safe area.

    Clean, comfortable great location for city centre and football ground. Cheap parking 150m from hotel. Pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    I was out most of the time . The hotel took payment immediately when I booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room could have been better. The bathroom was bigger than bedroom. Room too small curtains gaudy!!! The bed very narrow.

    The bed was not so comfortable the room could have been bigger for a 4 star hotel. Staff helped me with luggage very matter of fact.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Sleeping on the floor might have been more comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard. The curtains did not shut out the bright street lighting and lighting from the adjacent Royal Mail sorting office. The breakfast, though cheap (£5), was not a good experience, but there weren't many options in the immediate area.

    The hotel is a short walk from the railway station, but away from the city centre. It is next to the Royal Mail sorting office. If I had enjoyed watching large trucks, I would have been very happy. The room was spacious, with adequate en suite. Very good pub across the road - Coach & Horses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    A well-maintained period property, close to station, football ground & city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had travelled to Norwich by train for a concert at the Waterfront. The hotel was located just a few hundred yards from the train station and football ground on the other side of the river from the main city centre. The hotel is not luxurious but is very clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. Rooms had en suite facilities, toiletries & tea, coffee and biscuits. TV if desired. Although our room was ground floor front, the street is not overly busy therefore noise was not an issue. the bed was comfy. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to go out into Norwich for coffee. The staff were very friendly, helpful & kept our bags until our later train. There is a small bar within the main dining/breakfast area and food is served here during the day. For us the Stracey was perfect for our trip and we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I was in a 2nd floor room could have done with a lift.

    It's convince at being near to railway station and pub near to it The Coach & Horses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel well located close to the train station, city and river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift and the staircase was narrow and winding which caused difficulty with larger cases.

    Good location near railway station and river, restaurants and pubs. Friendly and helpful staff. The bar and breakfast prices were reasonable. Free parking on the street was restricted which caused some inconvenience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    We were on a business trip and stayed two nights.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only criticism I can think of was that it would have been better if a larger shower had been installed: the en-suite was very generously sized and there was plenty of space for a larger shower unit. The shower itself was good: lots of hot water.

    The room was comfortable, the en-suite shower room was decorated to a high standard. Everything was very clean and felt new. I was not disturbed by other guests. The breakfast was good, with freshly made filter coffee. The wifi was extremely fast. I went out for a run one morning and the staff gave me good advice on where to go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Rooms were very clean and a decent size, beds comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone forgot their key card and was banging very loudly on main door to hotel in early hours of morning

    Rooms were very clean and a decent size, beds comfortable and a great full English breakfast both mornings we were there. Staff very helpful too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    In my opinion, faultless.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tough to find a downside to the hotel, genuinely. I can't think of any complaint that I could possibly have, and for the money we paid I'm astonished at the value. Top notch, would definitely recommend. I promise I haven't been paid by this hotel!

    The breakfast was great, the pubs in surrounding areas were very good, and we used the bar in the hotel before we went to Carrow Road for the match (which is a 5 minute walk away), and the bar was very reasonably priced. The staff are pleasant and the rooms are comfortable, with a great bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Mostly positive, but disappointed at the lack of provision of evening meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have meals at this hotel but breakfast was offered. There was a list of meals on a sheet in the information booklet in the room, and we were going to have dinner there in the evenings, but were told when asked to be booked in for this that unfortunately they could not provide evening meals as this was due to the season and other reasons, we were told there was a pub over the road which served meals but didn't use this and instead found somewhere else about a mile from the hotel. It should be mentioned that this hotel has steep stairs to the rooms and several steps up to the front entrance.

    A large corner room on first floor with double aspect windows. Tea/coffee/biscuits on a tray. A safe on top shelf in the free-standing wardrobe. Fluffy white hand and bath towels, and a good supply of soaps, shampoo and shower gel also a box of tissues. Flat screen TV. Crisp white sheets and pillowcases.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: