Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Strand Continental

Reviews of Strand Continental

143, Strand, Westminster Borough, London, WC2R 1JA, United Kingdom

#924 of 1,068 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1458 hostel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    7.9
    Great location to attractions and venues but never any hot water in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There never seemed to be any hot water coming from the showers in the morning whenever I used them. This was very dissatisfying and had to be the worst part of staying at this hostel.

    The hostel was close to city centre and much of the tourist attractions. Pubs and restaurants were all within walking distance of the hostel and I was always spoilt for choice on where to eat or drink. The room I stayed in had two other people in it and was a great value for money compared to other hostels.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    4.2
    An awful stay. Exhausted once we left. No sleep as noisy and very dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dirtiness of everything. The brokenness of everything- our sink plug stuck, the windows wouldn’t open properly and the curtain rail came off the wall. The toilets and showers needed updating the room needed updating and the whole place needed a good scrub. The stairs were steep and difficult to manage. The windows didn’t block out the constant 24 hour traffic noise.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    6.3
    meet expectation for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    though it is an old facility, the restrooms and shower rooms can be made better.

    location is really good, walking distance to the river and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    6.7
    Good location, poor mantainance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place hasn't had maintenance. The window of my room didn't close and the windows from the restrooms and showers were difficult to close. Only one out of two showers worked.

    The location is incredible, you can walk from there to all the iconic places of London.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    4.2
    Location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly, I thought there are some criteria a lodge has to satisfy before having the right to call themselves a hotel. Things were broken, window didn’t close, shared bathroom where the automatic light went off every 30sec and u had to wave outside the shower cabin to get it back on, cabin door broken. No mirror in the room nor in the shared facilities. Staff wasn’t very friendly or helpful and lot of times not available at the reception but somewhere else on the premises. Loud restaurant, loud street noise (would have been better if it were possible to close the window). Crappy breakfast w instant coffee. Room was in 4th floor w no elevator, narrow staircase.

    Location was great. Bed was alright.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful, the location was amazing so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a little tired, and things like the skirting boards needed dusted.

    The staff were very helpful, the location was amazing so central. The beds where comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    8.8
    Really convenient location close to West End
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As noted in the description, you have to walk up stairs, with rooms on 3rd-5th floors. A small desk lamp would have been nice, my basin/shaving wasn't working. You need to be out by 10am (not a problem for me and you can access room from 2pm, plus what are you doing sleeping-in when all of London is out there?).

    Two things really stand out. Firstly, this is a really convenient central location for the West End & Theatreland, located on the Strand and at a very good price point. Secondly, I personally liked the south Indian influences in terms of food, the restaurant room and historical references; this made it quite distinctive. It could have been somewhere in central Bangalore/Bengaluru, not central London! I liked that aspect, but you have to recognise that means simple fairly basic accommodation plus the relative costs locally elsewhere. South Indian simple dishes available from the restaurant in evening, plus an abundance of restaurants of all types and prices within an easy short walk. Breakfast is a simple continental affair, self-service as you please. Would have been nice to had a marsala dosa, but that's not really practical...

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    5.4
    Yikes. Pay extra and stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely atrocious facilities, no hot water, dirty room, lumpy mattress. There was garbage and articles of clothing that were left behind in my room. Toilets and showers are shared and beyond disgusting.

    Can’t beat the location! Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    5.0
    Cheap both in price and quality, but great location. Perfect for a low budget traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    White bread toast and cereals. Only cheap Instant coffee. No wifi in the rooms. Furniture in bad order, stinky carpets all over, humid rooms.

    Typical continental breakfast. Great location Great price

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    4.2
    Poor show.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was unusable hot so I went without a shower. When I complained I was told that I should have gone to reception(10 flights of stairs) when they would have advised of a bathroom that was ok. Assuming that wasn’t occupied all good. Apparently “no compensation can be provided for retrospective complaints” and that was trotted out like it was said to most guests. Dreadful and unforgivable that they can’t provide a proper bathroom on the same floor as your room. And the high handed and completely unapologetic attitude of the reception staff was the icing on the cake. Nightmare stay.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    8.3
    Location fab
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame there’s no cooking facilities as we had hoped to warm it but couldn’t

    Location location location And an acceptable level of space and service Great price for such a central spot

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    8.3
    Great location and brilliant value for money
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sanitary installations are a bit run-down

    Great central location. It's clean and has a great atmosphere, especially in the breakfast room. The view towards the Thames from the top floor is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    7.9
    Another nice stay with an excellent curry in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price is creeping up which is disturbing, still good value for central London but it is very basic accommodation

    Another nice stay with an excellent curry in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    8.3
    Great value, great location, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Windows didn't close, no Wi-Fi or TV In the rooms. A must, I'm afraid in this day and age! Definitely needs a little spruce up, but it is what it is for the price, excellent value! Too many stairs I'm afraid, not good for frail or disabled.

    Hotel was extremely basic, but what it lacked in splendour it more than made up for in location and security. I felt very safe and the bar area was delightful, 2 for one cocktails between 4 and 7! Will definitely book there again asap! Receptionist lovely and helpful too. Breakfast included, very acceptable too.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    6.7
    Very central and pretty cheap -- and feels both.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has a vaguely shambolic feel, exemplified by one of the toilets overflowing when flushed, leaving me in a race against water to get out of the cubicle.

    The location is outstanding and, considering this centrality, the room was pleasingly quiet.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    7.5
    Incredible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toulets often ran out of toilet paper and the doors were noisy, but pretty good all up.

    The location was awesome for everything i wanted to see, not too far from food and major attractions and never a long walk to a tube starion.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    5.0
    If you have money or other options go for those
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old property, the oldness is reflected from everything that is to say from beds, doors, washrooms, washroom fittings, space, stairs, staff etc

    Just the location is good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    7.1
    Great location and helpful staff but room needed deep cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had basic cleanliness but very dirty behind/under beds. Bathrooms clean in AM but by evening very smelly. Duvets raggedy, some mattresses stained. Some pillows pretty bad shape.

    Location, staff always available and helpful. Breakfast unusual for hostel so that was nice.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    4.6
    Gregg's underneath!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything in the room was of poor standard, the carpets in the room was ill fitted and rucked . The ' curtain' didnt have enough hooks on it. The decor was poor in the room...in bad need of a refurbishment and decoration. For the price I paid, I have had far better for less. The picture in the website makes the hotel look nicer than it is. The noise outside was horrendous...needs triple glazing windows. The hotel had all the attributes of a Hostel, not a hotel. The shower in the bathroom available was broken. Poor ventilation and non at all in the toilets.

    Gregg's underneath!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    5.4
    Hilarious in not necessarily a good way.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upkeep of building. Basic facilities. WiFi in room and/or tv. Better towel and bedding. This is not a proper hotel but a hostel great for backpackers but not business stopover. This is not clear when booking.

    Shared toilet and bathroom. No WiFi in room. No running cold water in room. Poor bedding. No tv. But it was clean and well sited though poorly maintained.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    7.5
    Location and hospitality
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in floor,need to go to breakfast area. Bunker bed gap can be increased little more. No lockers in room, of course shelves are provided but no locking mechanism.

    Location and hospitality

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    5.0
    Checking out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel needs demolishing... Absolutely disgusting... Filthy... Old.. Out of.Date .Health Hazzard..Dangerous!!!!! . Cant believe you list such a place!!

    Checking out!!!! Checking out!!!!! Checking out!!!!Checking out!!!!!! Checking `Out!!!!!!!! Checking out!!!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    8.3
    Did the job just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because the shower room has a motion detecting light, once you drew the curtain the light wouldn't sense you and would switch off... And then it would... And then it wouldn't. So there was just that cycle of the light turning on and off throughout my shower.

    Served the function I needed it to. Location was perfect for what I wanted, my room (5th floor) was quiet, there was cctv in the hallway, plenty of storage in the room, tea, coffee... Bit of a squeeze to get to the sink, mind, but this did everything I needed it to at a price I could afford.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    7.1
    Good value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect. I was surprised by how peaceful it was during the night. Everything very run down but clean white sheets and towel and even the mattress and pillows underneath were clean. Cheapest place around by far.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    7.5
    Overall good but being unable to shower or my mum to shower or bath was unacceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower. I was scalded with boiling hot water. I was bright red. The temperature was either boiling or freezing no in between. Also the lights went out for 5 minutes whilst I was full of soap suds in the shower. I was very frightened and burnt. I had to advise my elderly mother not to shower and helped her wash her hair in the tiny sink in bedroom instead. The bathroom never had a light either so we couldn't use that instead on our 2nd floor landing. I feel I should be compensated for this terrible situation. Please reply. I did notify reception. to complain. Thank you Carol Watson Mobile 07837 596376

    Location to all sights was amazing

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    8.3
    Great budget location means you can walk to enjoy some of London’s best attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly atmosphere. Lovely quirky bar. The no frills set up works for the easy going traveller enjoying a short stay, who wants to be close to Central London.Excellent location for the price.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not very comfortable because of the size but for a couple of days of a city break acceptable. It was visible that no one has poured any money to the property for a long time. Breakfast was a nightmare. They really should not advertise it as a breakfast. Slices of toast bread with soft cheese wrapped in plastic and marmelade or Nutella as a sweet option, instant coffee and not even enough of it including glases and plates...no way

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    5.8
    Location of this hotel/hostel is great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor toilets and showers (tiny, sometimes dirty, not comfortable); very poor breakfast; very tiny and outdated room, stairs and corridors;

    Location of this hotel/hostel is great; bed was clean and comfortable; tea/coffee bags with cups and electrical teapot available at the room, express Tesco shop opens till night hours close to the hotel (aprox. 200m); pleasant staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    2.5
    Not Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a horrible experience....the morning staff at reception wasn’t polite... i slept on a bed with Bed Bugs... in an Hour of on Sleep i Got a Major Allergy All over my Body with Swelling & Rashes...in the middle of the night i rushed to Reception- This Guy at the Reception was v Helpful & changed my room, got me Medicine at 3am & then i cld sleep.... the Morning Reception Staff wasn’t even concerned whn i told thm the story... I was on the 6th floor & you hv to carry your luggage thru stairs .... no phone in rooms, So any question, you hv to run down 3 Floors

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    4.6
    Location was good for Central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the communal toilets were blocked and overflowing and there were bandsaw operators working on the outside stairway until 3am!!!!

    Location was good for Central London.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    7.9
    Fine for overnight stop for a Theatre visit, rather than a hotel break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather basis, but as anticipated and fine for the price and location. If you are ok with 1/2 Star (I am) then you will be ok. Breakfast reflected the price, but as we never eat cooked breakfast was ok for us.

    Given location within London Theatre area, price is excellent and great for budget travellers. We were looking for somewhere close to the Theatre. There is baggage storage enabling later pick up, if needed. In immediate location there is a wide range of places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    6.7
    Quiet location comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to walk up 6 flights of stairs. Yes it’s standard for London but a warning would’ve been nice. No one around to check out in the morning. I was going to stay later but had a horrible night. I had to find someone in the restaurant. Roommates were openly smoking in the room til 2am Nothing to say they couldn’t and the window closest to me wouldn’t open. I know you get what you get in shared rooms every time is different I’ll ignore the phone calls and incoming messages going on throughout the night. I complained but there seemed to be a language problem between us which is again part of the international hostel experience.

    Quiet location comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower and toilet facilities on 6th floor, dirty, need serious cleaning. Two showers and 2 toilets between 4 rooms insufficient. One shower had no head just the metal water hose. Ate in India Club on first night, sent the night being ill.

    Location to Covent Garden and tube stations

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    3.8
    Very Noise and no wifi available in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there is no wifi available in the room~ very noise sound from second floor, some sort of machinary voise (heater maybe) is attached outside, even if i close the widow its still can hear

    i likes the staff over there, and in good location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    4.2
    Centrally situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Badly in need of decorating, in very poor condition. Some staff friendly, other staff miserable. Room very small for three people. Believed room was for three females but was occupied by brother and sister and me!

    Centrally situated. Nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.3
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom facilities were poor. Breakfast provision was poor. Building very dated, could do with a refurbishment while still keeping its character.

    Bed was comfy. Good location. Heater in room. Lots of power points.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    7.5
    Good value for money. Great location close to Covent Garden. Simple standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared toilet and bathroom, both very tiny and simple standard. Wifi only works in the bar/lounge area. Breakfast was very simple and the toaster frequently stopped working, then starting again - causing some confusion and irritation in the restaurant. When storing our luggage there was no receipt, tag or similar, so they really did not control which luggage people would drop and collect. Fortunately, nothing got stolen.

    Great location and good value for money. Suitable if you're not too picky. Short walk from Covent Garden, yet, quiet and reasonably comfortable if you don't expect too much. They kept luggage for us, which was great. There is a bar/lounge with good sofas which is good after long walks in the city, and while using the free wifi. Cosy style although simple and nothing extravagant.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    7.1
    Quirky, basic, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic accommodation. No WiFi in the rooms, just the common area.

    Excellent price. Good location. Its a quirky historical institution in London. (the India Club) so it felt novel to actually stay there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was a service guy who was angry all the time. I think that gives the place a bit worse reputation.

    Breakfast was okay, and so was the room. I think the room is a little small for the number of beds it has. I stayed in a three-bed room and it could have been slighty bigger.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    4.2
    Wouldn't recommend and won't be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was cold and no extra blankets to cater for this. Noisy from fan right outside window. Couldn't use the kettle as it was filthy and the cups were cracked. The toilets were smelly and the shower was unuseable. Didn't sleep well due to the noise of the neighbours at 6am. Advertise as free WiFi but doesnt reach the rooms.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was nice and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    8.8
    Nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was only in the Bar (not available in the room). There's no lift so one has to carry the heavy luggage (if you happen to have) up through the narrow staircase.

    It's functional. Location is great. The baggage room facility is very useful too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    6.7
    The room was clean, heating was working just fine.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's quite expensive for what you get (although very cheap compared with mean prices in the area), the room was very small, no lift (I stayed at the fifth floor) but the worst is only having two showers for an entire floor

    The room was clean, heating was working just fine. People at the reception were very kind and the breakfast was good. Location is perfect!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    5.4
    This is not what we expected at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not what we expected at all. The carpet was all worn and ratty. You could tell that it hadn’t had a good clean in ages and when I went to use the mug provided the tea bags that came out look like they had never been replaced and it was all stained. The heater was not working in our room and we stayed during winter and because the room had a smell about it we had no choice but to leave the window open. The shower also had the mouldiest head I had ever seen, the door kept opening into you while you were in there and therefore everything got wet. Not what I expected at all.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    Cheap cheerful and friendly, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The long climb to my room at the top.

    Really comfortable beds, lovely friendly really helpful staff. The reception offered to look after my bag after my stay so I could sightsee for the day. And they got me an extension lead so I could charge my phone in the breakfast room. They had Nutella and pancakes!!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    3.8
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sign outside the hotel is nearly impossible to read. You have to be underneath it to see it and then it looks like an access to an alley. The room did not match the photo's. Four of us were jammed into a small room. Not enough space for suit cases. The bathroom facilities were down the hall in a poor state. The shower has a timer on the light which does not stay on for long. Have to keep on leaving the shower cubicle to have to get the lights to turn on again.

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely staff answered all of our questions patiently :) The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny shower space. The light goes off when you are under the shower and you end up showering in the darkness.

    Lovely staff answered all of our questions patiently :) The matress was very comfortable and we got everything we needed nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay for a night if you got work the next day
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good I can't complain about the level of service and room was great

    When I booked my room for the night the guy who took care of me really was kind and friendly and went out his way and managed to get me an upgrade to a double bed

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    8.8
    perfect place among the perfect spot!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower: lack of water! room: a bit noisy, but in that case, people have to respect others and keep silence.

    The perfect place to visit London. Based in the city center, you have everything for a recovery sleep. Functional, everything is minimum but the essential is here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    6.7
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not clean as we had to share the toilet with other people. Privacy issues as another person was also staying in our room something that was not mentioned when we made the booking.

    Great location! Friendly and very helpful staff!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    4.6
    It was very basic. Wasn't worth it even for a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    6 floors up - no lift - there was no indication beforehand. This would have been fine if you did not have to trail down the 6 flights of stairs every time something was needed. No toilet paper in toilets. Wifi not available in room. Most of the time the reception was unattended and you had to go looking for them. Very frustrating.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.0
    Staff are nice and willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but it contains 6floors. If you are unfortunately assigned to 6th floor, this is really very bad! Shared bathroom and toilets are in poor condition. The building is very old.

    Staff are nice and willing to help. Location is good, walking distance to Charging Cross, Covent Garden and Temple station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.3
    Awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is only available on the 1st floor lounge. There are no lockers in the room, so you’ll have to bring your valuables along. The staircase is steep and narrow. There is breakfast but it is the very basic. The lights in the shower room turns on and off while you are inside. There is a bit of a smell in the hallways (but ignorable after a while).

    The location is amazing. You’re smacked in the middle of the main attractions. The beds are comfortable, linens are clean and a towel is included. The staffs are also very nice. There were two bathroom and shower rooms on my floor and I never found myself needing to wait. The shower room has a general purpose soap dispenser.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.8
    Very cheap for the location. Maybe ok for 1 night if you dont mind run down neglected hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was on 6th floor. No lifts. Very narrow stairs. Weird buzzer entrance system where you enter a code on the second floor. Bed uncomfortable. Room was in front of shared toilets and showers it was like leicester square at 6 in the morning. Noise people banging doors. There are signs everywhere asking people to close the doors quietly but they are heavy and slam closed on their own. A few controlled hinges would fix it. Very shabby, just generally looks like the owners dont care about the place.

    Excellent location. Cheap price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.0
    Good fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bar and restaurant. Very good Dosa, chai and lassi. Nice place to sit for a drink. Old fashioned which was great. The opposite of a bland corporate place. Rooms are basic.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.8
    They clean the room every day, the staff are nice and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit poor on selection, but it's ok since there are a lot of places to eat/buy food near the place.

    They clean the room every day, the staff are nice and very helpful when needed. Also the location is great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Basic accomodation but suitable for my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet and shower are basic. They need to fix the shower in one of the rooms as the head doesnt stay in the holder so you need to hold it yourself or wait for the other room to become free - this was a problem the last time I stayed in September so it really does need fixed. No lift so this might be a problem for anyone carrying a larger bag. Wifi limited to the breakfast area only.

    I have been here a number of times and think the location is excellent. You are in a main section of London with Covent Garden etc a few minutes walk. I am a lone female travelling for a meeting so I always get a private single room, the location is just around the corner from where my meeting is held and I always go see a show the evening before. The hotel is on a busy road so very well lit and I feel comfortable walking around on my own at night after the show. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Close to the tube station and bus stops. Breakfast is basic but you cant complain when its included in the price and you can either get fresh toast, cereal or pancakes plus fresh juice, tea, coffee or water. Bed is comfortable and there is a small sink and mirror in the private rooms. Overall I would recommend this place for both price and location. I will book again as it suits my needs for a single night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.8
    Close to center or London, if you adapt to sleep in a not comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed not comfortable - little breakfast just coffee Thea, sliced of bread, plain yogurt. Not fruits or hot things to eat, apart the bread that you can toast.

    Close to center on London

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.3
    If you travel on budget this is an affordable place for 1-2 days stay in central London.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small room for 4 people, too soft mattress, no real cover only a thin blanket covered in a duvet-case and broken lock in our door so people coming late couldn't open the door quietly.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is central but surprisingly it wasn't noisy - the dormitory I slept in is located on 5rd floor and the bonus is that street noise hardly reaches there! Breakfast was OK as for 'hostel continental breakfast in London'. :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.7
    Fit for purpose, expect nothing additional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very noisy and basic, with poor maintenance (windows not closing properly, increasing noise from the street.) Breakfast is also very limited. Enough to get you started, but with instant coffee and only marmelade & nutella on your sandwich a very basic offering.

    The hotel is at a central location in London. It has a friendly staff who are willing to help. The luggage room is easy to access and they can store your luggage for last day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water on 5th floor so had an ice cold shower to wake me up. Corridors smelt of sewage but luckily my room never.

    The location was fantastic and for £54 a night I can't really complain.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night stay in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No private lockers, breakfast was very simple not a lot of options. Difficult to charge devices because of very few electricity ports.

    Great location, amazing price.. Not modern not luxurious, but you get what you paid for, and that was enough for me

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.0
    Basically the location, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super old hotel, could be a hostel instead. Bedroom really tiny, medium comfortable. Super old bathrooms, some of them, didn't work properly (didn't flush). The walls are like paper, you can hear everything. The heater didn't work (or they didn't want to turn in on), and were cold days. In my opinion really really expensive according to the quality (I paid 160 pounds for 2 nights) Crazy!

    Basically the location, perfect!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.4
    Position it's very close to Covent Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can't sleep I had a very bad mattress with old springs. I felt the spring on my back/body every time I change position. To arrange they put other 2 duvets over the mattress but I sleep very bad too. I still feel the springs. They need to change the old mattresses they have with a new ones.

    Position it's very close to Covent Garden

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortably bearable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed in several budget hotels in London so I did not expect much but I was taken aback by The Strand Continental. Although the booking.com advertisement shows that there is a restaurant/bar connected to the hotel, there is no mention of just how close that is to the rooms. On arrival, it was incredibly noisy, the stairs were sticky with what I chose to assume was spilled drink and there was nobody in reception. A sign greets you to say that you should check with the bar tender if nobody is present. The bar tender, a fairly affable man, explained, once you'd dragged your suitcase through and squeezed past hords of people, that the receptionist was on their way down. This led to a 10 minute wait outside the reception area right in the centre of a walkway between the downstairs bar and upstairs restaurant. It was an uncomfortable situation to be in as a lone female who clearly was not there to join the party mood. Two receptionists eventually emerged, there was an apology but no real rapport with the customers. A few guests in front of me mentioned a repair being needed and I could hear the receptionist's internal eye roll quite clearly. Then it was my turn. For reasons I am not quite clear about, I had to pay £64. I had booked for £60. I was quite tired from a long journey up to London so decided not to challenge that at this stage. A small slip of paper was presented with the code to get through to the upstairs rooms. It is of course advertised that there is no lift but nobody offered to help me with my luggage. After a trudge up several flights of ominous red stairs, I reached the floor with my room. I was initially greeted by a poky corridor with a series of brown wooden doors and gold handles. I immediately felt glad that I had booked a room to myself. The room had the basics you would need for a short stay. However, the bed was of a camp bed style with hard springs which could be felt whilst sleeping.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.3
    A very high standard for what you pay for and unpretentious. Very refreshing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi not operable in rooms. Would have liked a TV. The stairs!!!

    Very clean. Comfortable bed. Clean toilets. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very cosy bar and fabulous restaurant on site.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.3
    A convenient location, basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no information about the steep, narrow stairs. My rooms located on 4th and 6th floor. Very tiring trying to drag cases. No lift.

    The location was excellent for seeing shows on west end. Able to walk to and from theatres. Storage was great and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    My room was on the top floor and the shower was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was on the top floor and the shower was disappointing. It was a handheld shower head with no wall mount. No place to put your shampoo and soap. It made showering a bit difficult. No hooks or shelf to put your clothes on. Had to put my clothes and towel on the floor. The shower room is big. They could at the very least put a chair in there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    2.5
    Actually, I didn’t like anything about the property.
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was really cold. I mean the heating was not working while outside was 2 degrees at night, also the lights were not working properly, we have to wait till they get back, the water in the shower was cold always don’t mention that the whole property was dirty and smelly because of the restaurant at the middle of the property. Room was small and outdated. I don’t recommend this place for anyone.

    Actually, I didn’t like anything about the property. If I have to say something nice about this place that maximum would be that the location was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    It's a Hostel in a great location, you get what you pay for (e.g., the location only)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very uncomfortable (felt like the springs were poking through). Showers were dirty, shower heads were filthy and were in need of either cleaning or replacement due to calcium/lime build up. Toilets were rarely stocked with toilet paper, they also didn't flush consistently. No wifi in the rooms as it was only in the Bar and Lounge areas. Rooms were very cold at night even with windows closed and curtains pulled.

    Staff were very helpful, friendly and helped me with my stay in London (e.g., places to eat, where to go and how to get there). Wifi in the Bar and Lounge area was excellent. Water pressure in the showers was great, hot water in all sinks and showers was great. Food and drinks from the Bar and attached Restaurant were well priced and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They lied about wifi in the room, they threatened me when I complained and even came in to my room (3 of them) and started shouting at me. Incredible behaviour that I've never met in any hotel. Small and dirty rooms.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    4.2
    extreemly dissappoining
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room way on the sixth floor, there are no lifts. There was no offer to help with my luggage. There was no internet in the room. Only 1 tea bag and 1 coffee sachet and only 1 milk. only one pillar. I understand that this is a budget hotel but even the basics were very poor.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good price and location if you can adapt yourself to a shared toilets with a full floor of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress very hard that I can't sleep the first night and the people close to my room make noise and chat until 3am.

    I live the position and the price

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    4.6
    No wifi in the room, expensive price. The zone is great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi worked only in the bar where i went just once. It's true that you are in West End where all is expensive, i took a full room (not a bed in a dormitory) and price was quite high thinking that restroom was in common and the curtains couldn't even block the sunlight. So, yes, the bed things were the wifi and the price.

    You are just in front of the Mamma Mia theater and beside the Tina Turner Musical Theater. 8 minutes walking to Covent Garden. There s a Tesco Express 24/7 just on the corner. It's the very heart of London. Very close to Waterloo Bridge and to Southbank Centre Theatre. Outside you see only fancy people and nice tourists, no homeless. Breakfast at the bar is included and it's not so poor. I ve been to London many times but never slept in the very centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    For the price and location it was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in the rooms just in the restaurant, no elevator and very narrow staircases, rooms were a little bit cold for my taste. No shelves or hangers in the shower. No sink in the bathroom just in the shared room.

    The breakfest was good and big with few different choices, the rooms were clean so was the shared bathroom and shower. The restaurant (Indian) was small but nice. The location is really great and it is cheap. The Tesco is literally next door. The view from the window was really nice but I was in the 6th floor not sure about the other floors. Luggages can be stored whole day even after checking out of the hotel, so you dont have to carry them whole day with you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.7
    The Strand Continental Hotel was in the perfect location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was small and very hostel-like, which would not normally be our preferred choice.

    The Strand Continental Hotel was in the perfect location for what we were doing; it was clean and reasonably comfortable, but not ensuite. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly/helpful. Considering the central location, good value for money and was a good one night stop.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Strand Continental Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: