Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Strands Hotel/Screes Inn & Micro Brewery

Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale, CA20 1ET, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Nether Wasdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our short stay. Have visited in the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young girl behind the bar needed more training and a more open and positive manner. The place looks a little tired, dull, and needs a good clean freshen up.

    The Breakfast staff and food were awesome. The place is very traditional and I really liked the setting, colours, and the Bar man, new at his job was very good. Tge atmosphere relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Walking holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very welcoming - best pub stay we’ve had! Atmosphere and the beer choices were fantastic! Room very comfortable - bath amazing! We will be back!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our third visit and once again the staff were all very friendly and helpful. A wonderful atmosphere in the main bar area. Food and the locally brewed real ales were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Welcoming, friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming, friendly atmosphere. Traditional pub with good selection of ales from their own micro brewery. Drying room and pack lunches available so perfect for walking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Great location for Scaffel Pike, onsite micro brewery, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, lack of toiletries in the bathroom (for the price we paid you'd expect at least an all-in-one body wash/shampoo), Wi-Fi not working, room not serviced when requested.

    Great location for Scaffel Pike, onsite micro brewery, food ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful chilled out break fab ppportubity for amazing walks right at the foot of Scafel Pike. We w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of vegetarian and vegan food options on what was an extensive and excellent menu for foodies. With the beautiful local produce in the area I am sure the plant based diet could be catered for better.

    Lovely location fabulous views and excellent walks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent stay in the Strand/Screes for 3 nights. Friendly, well run pub with comfortable clean accommodation. Ate in the pub for our evening meal and found the food to be reasonably priced, good choice and cooked well. Excellent breakfast served in the morning. All the staff we encountered were friendly , helpful people with good local knowledge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Nice but Basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sash window in bathroom could not be opened as painted over. Bedroom window movement restricted but would not remain open as cords and weights not fitted. Fire hazard? Ensuing poor ventilation as any condensation from shower remained within bedroom hence damp smell on return. Wife complained constantly of bed being too hard for her (I can sleep on a washing line). Little to no view from only window. Our room very basic. Possibly smallest TV in the world. No ITV signal and only nine stations.

    Great location for hotel. All staff were brilliant, most courteous and helpful. Great bar and ambiance. Very popular with climbers and hill walkers. Entertaiment nights were great. Food simple and good value. En-suite bathroom conversion lovely. Room clean. Breakfasts excellent. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    small village two pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor was a little tired. in the rooms.

    rooms were very clean, staff are attentive and friendly. we had evening meal, and it was all local produce. highly recommend eating here. steak and ale pie was the best. breakfast is also recommend it was spot on. location is buitifull as you would expect. tiny village with 2 pubs what more could a bloke want. Scaffel 10 minute drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Really friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpful staff. A wonderful location, lovely, simple, filling food and the most fabulous range of beers, brewed on site. Just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable Cumbrian accomadation great beer great food and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed, nice facilities. Breakfast, varied choice, full English cereal, fruit etc, plentiful toast, coffee & tea plus other hot beverages. Staff courteous friendly efficient, very quick service. Lesley, served breakfast with efficient cheerful demeanour, although on her own, still had time to chat despite breakfast provided for both The Strands & The Screes. Lovely location for numerous walks. The Strands brewery beer on tap, various hoppy variations on offer all good flavoursome beers eminently quaffable. Quirky names such as Errmmm (they couldn’t make their mind up?) Low Flyer, Terrmintor ( porter) my favourite was 1472 very hoppy beer. Great choice of meals in the evening, sirloin steak, steak ale pie my favourite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    The food is excellent home cooked fare and generous portions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The food is excellent home cooked fare and generous portions. The beer from the on site micro brewery is fantastic and all the staff are really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Busy, friendly local with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major

    Busy, friendly local with helpful staff. Simple, comfortable and clean room. Lots of hearty food and good beer. Sunday dinner very good value. Quiz night good fun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Deep in Southern Lakeland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary roads!

    Any place that offers a bath sheet gets my vote! A hotel in the Lakes must have character and this certainly does. The single room was tiny but comfy, took a while to work out how to drive the shower, but a most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay if you're walking this part of the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place. It's a pub and walkers stay there, so there will be noise until 11:00pm ish and there will be people getting up by 7:00am - if you're a light sleeper and need more sleep than this you might want to consider somewhere else. But you're probably there to walk too...

    It's a really friendly pub/inn near the foot of Scafel Pike. You're probably there because you're a walker. Its a good pub. Food was good (breakfast), beer was good, staff were really friendly. They have a drying room if your kit has got soaked which is not only nice but often a reality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that did not appeal to us was that we noticed that dogs were allowed at tables where food is served in the bar area. I guess this is commonly accepted in pubs, so difficult to avoid. Pets are not allowed in rooms.

    Our room was clean and well stocked with good towels, tea, coffee etc. and the shower was also very comfortable and easy to use. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc. The staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Real traditional inn in a lovely location, with very helpful staff, and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to be honest, just the weather - but then its the UK.

    Great location, perfect for getting to Scafel Pike. Staff were very helpful, loved the property and the room. Food was good and plenty. Even had a tour of the micro-brewery. A wonderful assortment of drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic staff, lovely food, comfy rooms, friendly bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't check in until after 3.45 as the room wasn't ready even though we should have been able to check in from 2pm. We arrived at 3. Tv was tiny/tablet sized

    Fantastic staff, lovely food, comfy rooms, friendly bar and plenty of drinks choices. We will definately come back here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway break. We booked a return visit for next year before we left!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints at all.

    We wanted a quiet peaceful "away from it all" holiday. The Strands was perfect for that, and thanks to the great staff we had a very friendly welcome when we came in each evening. The excellent range of beers also helped:-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable but perhaps a tad expensive considering the quality of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furnishings in the bedroom looked tired. The bed was just comfortable enough but had a least one broken spring (if the occasional clunk was anything to go by).

    Food was good and excellent value for money. Service was quick and the atmosphere in the bar/dining area was friendly. The location was stunning and particularly quiet in the evening. Most of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very helpful and welcoming. Great breakfast, varied dinner menu and food was excellent. WiFi. Busy bar with great beers and a friendly atmosphere. A great place to stay. Highly recommended ++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff and food were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we had booked a table for every evening of our stay, this did not work out. I think priority should be given to residents first as it is an incredibly busy place.

    The staff and food were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Our anniversary weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather and that was it.

    The staff are amazing, the ales are the best ive ever tried, the scenery is amazing and the food is fantastic nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    A weekend near Wastwater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The web site said all rooms had hair dryers but there wasn't one in my room and my sister in law's room did not have a hair dryer either, The restaurant can be manic at times so food can be slow to arrive and they do not give enough time between table bookings.

    The rooms were immaculately clean and the towels were lovely and fluffy. There was plenty of hot water for showers. No shortage of tea and coffee in the room. There was also plenty of information regarding the local area and the staff were very knowledgeable. The choice of beers was superb. You could not have a much better choice of beers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    A friendlier, patient, more helpful and understanding landlady could have made all the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 2 nights and I requested a room with a view...were shown into an old fashioned room and bathroom with view of a shed + noise of generator. Asked for another room, was told not possible. Owner did show me 2 further rooms, the first tiny and above the bar which she advised against because of possible noise, and another with some view, tiny room and shower room, which we chose. Learned later we were1) above the kitchen 2) noisy extractor fans which were loud in night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, good breakfast and a range of quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast and a range of quality ales from their own micro-brewery. A tranquil and scenic setting with great access to the stunning and dramatic landscape surrounding the Wasdale valley (Wastwater and Scafell Pike close by).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent but needs good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was as described. A quaint single typical of older pub hotels. However..... there was mould in the corners of the ceilings and more than a few cobwebs and dust on the picture frames. Room was in need of decoration and or a spring clean.

    Facilities. Location. Staff. Bedding and towels were spotless. Breakfast and food excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location, awesome staff, amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite basic although comfortable, had to hunt for a hairdryer which was in a chest of drawers on the landing, there was a sign up saying no Wi-fi but found out on the morning of departure as guests there was Wi-fi we could of used,breakfast is only served for an hour between 8-9 so no chance of a lie in would be better if served til 10, we left a sign out for the room to be serviced but the tea/coffee/milk wasn’t replenished and had to go in search of that too, extractor fan in the bathroom didn’t work but we still had a fantastic time and would stay again, in fact we are missing it already!

    Fantastic location, awesome staff, amazing food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was truly stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Bathroom needs modernisation especially the shower. Wi-Fi on both sites was very poor, all guests were complaining about it and you wasn't given the pass code without asking for it ,It should of been in your room notes

    Location was truly stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Book direct!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Disappointing that a Sun/Mon two night stay is advertised in the rooms at £50 per night but this isn’t available on booking.com!

    Very friendly staff. Huge portions in the restaurant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    A most enjoyable stay made extra nice by the super friendly and efficient landlady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find a hair-dryer in the room which I'd sort of expected, hence I hadn't taken my own and so had to go down to dinner with damp hair! Not really a problem but just abit disappointing.

    Excellent restaurant and food choices complimented by the superb selection of craft ales brewed at the micro brewery. Ideally situated for beautiful walks around Wasdale lake and up Scafell Pike. Lovely deep bath to relax in after trekking up that mountain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Olde world style inn, very welcoming staff, great bar, warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating ( I believe this is a work in progress )

    Olde world style inn, very welcoming staff, great bar, warm homely atmosphere and honest well priced food. Quiet and very far away from the rat race

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The perfect short break for us - thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Erm ... no sorry - can't think of a single thing we didn't like or would have changed in any way!

    We loved everything! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, light and very clean and there was plenty of outdoor space to enjoy the sunshine and delicious beer brewed in the onsite micro brewery. Breakfast was just right and we enjoyed all the meals in the restaurant during our stay. Everything was also very reasonably priced, which was a welcome experience after the inflated prices we've found in similar locations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    I might visit the place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to plan for food since the local shops are not in near vicinity and they close early.

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast was really good and location is very good. If you intend to visit the highest peak of England, it is 3 Kms away with a scenic lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic however ensuite was very good

    Great food and service Good selection of drinks including home brewed Great location for before or after walking Scafell Pike

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely pub in great surroundings in the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but that is to be expected from an old hotel

    Lovely setting for a hotel near the lake. Great food, and so much of it! Great breakfast. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    An excellent base for local walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms chould do with a little updating - but they were clean and had everything you need; some bar noise travels through.

    The staff at Strands really do make all the difference, nothing is too much trouble and they are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. The bar area in the evening is cosy and friendly. The location of the property is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing - wont be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little money has been spent on this hotel in the last 20 years and you can tell. The bedrooms and furniture are very dated, the pillows are rock hard, the TV was no bigger than 14inch. No cheery welcome from any staff and they don't recognise you from day to day. The place was packed due to bank holiday weekend but we were made to feel like that was a problem even though we had spent our hard earned money here. £100 a night for a £35 a night room! Food is adequate but not great and you have to go to the bar to order drinks even if you are having a meal. So we got a bottle of wine brought by the waitress but the beer and lemonade we wanted we had to leave our food and go to the bar!

    The scenery around is breath-taking if a little remote. The towels are lovely, big and fluffy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful Food was amazing! Would recommend the salmon! Fantastic location for walking. Good selection of drinks Breakfast was fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    An excellent 2 night stay and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a price of 75 quid a night, which is a lot to me,the breakfast isn't the largest. It's enough for me as I'm not a big breakfast person but I think most men would expect a bit more. The menu even specifies 1 egg, 1 piece of bacon.

    The location in a small hamlet was just what I wanted. Parking is often a problem in the Lakes but not here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent base for exploring Wasdale
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Strands is a traditional lakeland inn, ideally located for anyone wishing to explore the Wasdale valley & surrounding area. I parked my car at the front of the building without any trouble & was greeted by a friendly member of staff when checking in. The rooms keys are quite quirky in that they are knitted in the shape of a herdwick sheep, with the room number stitched onto it's side. I was in room number 7, which was well furnished & in character with an Inn of this type, and has a large double bed. The bathroom consisted of a shower, toilet & sink. The highlight though is the bar. The Strands has its own micro-brewery, and about half a dozen of the ales on sale are home-brewed. They also rotate a few of these daily, so there's always a different ale to try! These are also available to buy in gift packs. They also hold a beer festival (which was happening the weekend after my stay), where they showcase all their ales. I dined in the bar on both nights - I booked a table (and was glad I did, as the quiet afternoon bar was very busy in the evening). The menu consists of all locally sourced products - in fact it mentions the lamb comes from the farm across the road - so can't get much more local than that! For the first night, I opted for the steak & ale pie (made using the Strand's own ale). The portion size was more than enough, but I left just enough room for a Sticky Toffee pudding dessert which also was really good. Breakfast is served in a cosy dining room and as well as the usual selection of cereals & fruit juices on offer, they also serve a lovely cooked breakfast which really sets you up for a day on the fells.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The whole experience was amazing ans I am looking forward to visiting the area and Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a revelation. Surrounded by mountains and a very quiet. It is an excellent base from which to branch out and visit some of the many attractions the Lake District has to offer. The staff and other guests were very friendly and offered advice on what to do and where to go. As a city dweller, I was gobsmacked by the night sky view on the first night. I have never seen so many stars in person in my life. Jaw dropping!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Worth going out of your way to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price, nothing to complain about, some improvement in storage in the room would help

    A wonderfully friendly walkers pub - with good food, route cards with breakfast and great staff. Its perfectly placed for Wasdale walks. All the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome even though I was travelling on my own. The choice of their own beer is an added bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been helpful to know kitchen opening times for dinner on bank holiday but staff very kindly let us have dinner despite the kitchen being closed

    Great friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Large helpings of well cooked delicious food, very promptly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very small shower room, but accept that is the constraints of an old building. Could have done with more shower gel. But a very minor point that did not majorly detract from our stay.

    Large helpings of well cooked delicious food, very promptly served, both in the evening and at breakfast. Lovely, down to earth and helpful staff. Blissfully quiet, stunning location. Clean and comfortable bedroom. A lovely, historic set of buildings with original features and many interesting photos and pictures. A lot of tourist information, leaflets, etc, liberally dotted about. Friendly locals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    A great walking holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom window didn't open. No room hairdryer Dated but typical B&B Room cost was over £90 per night so would expect maybe a bigger room for this money with a fridge and hairdryer Lack of dusting

    Great Location The Beer - Good micro brewery Breakfast Warm room & hot water at all times Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    We would rebook without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing,....and I am fussy.

    We liked the good selection of beers, the set you up for the day breakfast, the good value evening meals, the great location. The staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous little inn in a wonderful area. Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom door didn't shut but that was only a minor inconvenience.

    The room was lovely and the bed was really comfy. The hotel is above a nice pub that does really delicious food, large portions too. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again and would recomend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible food. Very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived late in the evening and they had already booked us a table without us asking which was very welcome as they were very busy. Nice extra touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Very cosy and popular pub with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work at all apart from the next morning where it was still very weak.

    The room was very comfortable and cosy. The breakfast was great and very filling. The staff were very pleasant despite being extremely busy. The pub itself was very busy the night we were there but the staff made efforts to ensure we had a table. The food was plentiful and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    So enjoyable we have already booked our next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hot but there’s not much water pressure.

    Great pub food. Massive portions and good value. Wonderful beer from Hotels own microbrewery. Friendly service and general atmosphere. Great hillwalking base in a fantastic location. Lovely comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice inn in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit small..couldn’t open the bathroom door properly ..it banged on bedside table..and the decor was a bit dated..however the bathroom was nicely decorated..looked as though it had just been refurbished

    Meals were good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    A great stay with friendly helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From start to finish the Management and staff were excellent in every way. With very friendly bar and a great breakfast to send us on our way, couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was made to feel rushed and uncomfortable during our evening meal. The place was empty so it wasn’t as if they were busy. Most seats were free. We have never felt like this anywhere before. The staff made it obvious they wanted us out with lots of sly comments about how busy they were. Strange when you’re staying there. Totally spoilt our evening.

    Lovely location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was so quiet and peaceful and the surroundings were beautiful. The staff were friendly and the food and drink was of a very high quality and locally sourced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed location Room basis for price. Food only average at night would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £140 for one night that was a room upgrade. Room good size ,facilities basic. No hairdryer in room. Sachet of shampoo and soap etc. Would have expected more for price paid

    Staff were friendly. Location excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff and food were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than the pictures made it look. Bed broken in our room so an uncomfortable sleep. Shower pressure non existent.

    Staff and food were outstanding. Very friendly atmosphere. Staff very attentive and nothing seems too much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    We had never been to this beautiful part of the Lakes before but will definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been bigger but for a couple of days stay it wasn’t a major concern.

    The whole place was lovely and warm despite the frigid temperatures outside. Staff and locals very friendly, great food, comfy bed, beautiful surroundings, what more could you want?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    The food was of a very good quality with a good menu and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really - all was good.

    The food was of a very good quality with a good menu and plentiful portions. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, and worked very hard. The surrounding scenery is stunning. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but didn't live up to expectations or reviews we had read beforehand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired, dated and small. There were no plug sockets anywhere near a mirror which made hair drying difficult - also no hairdryer in the room which is contrary to the room information online. The complimentary toiletries weren't great and the room generally was missing those little touches which (given we paid £99 for one night) we would expect.

    The bathroom in our room was lovely and the location was great. Breakfast was also good and the staff were all lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but not really catering for veggies....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food option pretty poor for veggies. Despite assurance in advance and several interesting options on the sample menu. Only two choices involved mass produced products (Linda McCartney sausages and quorn chunks) cooked blandly with veg. No veggy substitutes at breakfast either. Ie veggy breakfast is the full minus bacon, sausage and pudding. Tis a shame...

    Comfy convenient accommodation in a pleasant country pub. Good ale (to be expected from a microbrewery)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Cosy and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Executive suite bed is two singles pushed together and are actually 2 different mattresses with a slight height difference so uncomfortable for a couple. Good range of food on the menu, but I found the fish dishes (salmon and the fish pie) to be very bland, my partner did enjoy his though.

    Clean room, lovely staff, warm and cosy atmosphere, Great Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay, eat, drink and have fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Amazing service. Will visit this lovely place again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in a most beautiful part of the Lake District mixed with a traditional pub and comfortable accomidation. The Landlords and staff are very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    In a excellent setting and very good for climbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quirky and very good atmosphere excellent staff 5 star food and good rooms the best hotel we have stayed in for a very reasonable price thanks

    In a excellent setting and very good for climbing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    We won't hesitate to stay here again, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly longer/later breakfast window at the weekend, although it did make us get up and make the most of the day :-)

    Room was well laid out and comfortable. Ensuite shower room was clean and the shower had great pressure. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order. Dining facilities were perfect, home cooking with ample choice and portion size. Staff were very friendly and accommodating at every point of our stay. We will definitely be back, hopefully for longer next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant Location, Food and Staff. I'll definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really, However i struggled to find the right pillow combination, one didn't seem enough and two seemed to many,

    I liked the hospitality of the staff the most, as a lone traveller who spent his days out walking, it was so nice to have friendly aimiable staff to deal with in the evenings. The food was fantastic and I really looked forward to my evenings in the pub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Beer and mountains makes heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room a bit rattly with the odd strong gust of wind.

    Ideal location. Great value for money and lovely food. Staff also very freindly. Oh and great beer. Great weekend and hospitality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Micro-room at the micro-brewery. Fresh smell of paint. Great outdoors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely tiny and could not see any photos prior to our arrival (the photos that I’ve seen were all depicting nice and large rooms). We both felt very claustrophobic. There has also been a strong chemical smell of paint in our room, throughout our stay, which made us concerned about our health. There was only a rail for clothes, no other storage - had to put our stuff on the chairs... The bathroom was en-suite with a large step to get in. The bed appeared to be made from various pieces of wood sticked together, with a mattress on top (which kept on sliding). WiFi - I wouldn’t even bother! One of the poorest connections I’ve ever used, has been taking ages to load a page. I talked to staff about the small room and the smell of paint - I was told that the size of the room reflected the lower price. I don’t think that would justify not providing clear details to customers beforehand - as if I’d known the room was so small, I might have chosen to stay somewhere else. TBH, all in all I would’ve expected a partial refund, taking into account all the above. This is pretty negative, but it’s a honest review. Location was great and I think most of the other rooms were very nice.

    Location was great. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, warm reception, good food, comfy accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only improvement I would suggest, and this is by no means a deal breaker, is to put a clock/radio in each room as there are no radio channels on the TV.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent bar, excellent meals. We tried the sirloin steak, fish pie, and the chicken pasta dish, all were well prepared and would recommend any of the offerings on the menu. Breakfast was also very good with a selection of fruit, yogurt, cereals, and full cooked breakfast on offer, cooked to your individual preference.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Mark and Lesley( the owners ) are always very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the weather is Bad there are limits to what can be done

    Mark and Lesley( the owners ) are always very friendly and the locals go out of their way to make you feel part of the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of en-suite bathroom - it was the smallest possible to squeeze in toilet basin and shower. with no room whatsoever for storage of toiletries etc.

    Great food, homely atmosphere, great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Great food and friendly staff who worked their socks off to...
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food and friendly staff who worked their socks off to keep everyone happy. Loved the wide choice of locally brewed beer and the fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Will not be eating there again until health and safety have given the place the all clear!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff allowing 2 dogs to run around in the bar, same area as where food was served earlier, jumping up at customers, jumping onto seating cushioned benches and running on them to get to tables, one sniffing where customers dogs had been, then “marking his territory” by cocking a leg and urinating against table legs leaving puddles of urine, while staff ignored loud comments to dogs to go away - too busy chatting to “local” customers at the bar!

    Mostly friendly staff with good service at breakfast and with meals

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    A traditional pub in a beautiful location perfect for enjoying the Western Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little on the small size, as was the TV. A rubber bath mat would be helpful in shower tray. We had 3 small mirrors but would be nice to change one for a full length mirror maybe by the door.

    Location, traditional pub, food excellent, portions large even the small option, value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: