Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stratford Hotel

43 Romford Road, Newham, London, E15 4LY, United Kingdom

#280 of 356 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 425 B&B reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    It was ideal location as we could walk to Olympic park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £100 for 1 night . The walls were full of holes , the whole place was a bit run down. Someone was clearly smoking in their room on the first floor. Really poor value for money

    It was ideal location as we could walk to Olympic park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.9
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    No tv for 2 nights bathroom tiny beds uncomfortable room was damp paint peeling off the walls couldn’t even fill the kettle up properly as the sink in the bathroom was the size of a cereal bowl the guy behind reception was rude and unhelpful and when I asked for a refund he told me it wasn’t possible as we didn’t need the full week but booking.com said i was entitled to it so he lied to try keep the money all in all terrible service and hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. There was no room either side of the bed so you had to get in from the end of the bed. The wardrobe was 4 hooks on the back of the door. There was no remote control for the television.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Good for a bed and not much else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a good atmosphere at all, dark and dingy. The TV in the room was dodgy, flicking in and out. No bulbs in the bedside lamp. No milk for tea/coffee in the first day, the second day a stained plastic spoon was provided, no real spoons. The room itself was dirty, especially the bathroom. Mold in the bathroom and used tissue left on the ground. The room also had a strange smell. Handle and light fitting were all loose, would come off in your hand. This is not a hotel, it is a B+B at best, and not a good one.

    Nothing really. If there was any effort put into the upkeep and cleaning of the place then it would be a good place to stay. The way it is now I would not recommend staying there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Not the best is a fair comment !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old and shabby on a really busy road in the far from nicest part of London. TV remote did not work. Stay here only if its all you can afford.

    Friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    2.9
    Horrendous
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SEE ABOVE

    The bed was the worst I had ever slept on in my life, very uncomfortable, with springs felt and equally painful on my body. The only supposed to be bedside lamp, not reachable whilst in bed as it is on a table/ dresser, needless to mention that the lamp did not even have a bulb. Plug next to the bed not working, the one next to it broken. Shower creating a pool of water as you wash, water not draining, which causing an uncomfortable situation. There was nothing I liked unfortunately

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Don't expect the Ritz for the price you pay & you will be fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with most places in London there is continual road noise and emergency vehicle sirens - so this is expected. Unfortunately my sleep also suffered from people returning after midnight and being inconsiderately noisy.

    This is a good budget hotel with walking distance of Olympic Park & Stratford station & even has off-road parking. Facilities are not fancy - but adequate - and at this price in London it is exceptional value. Shower, tv and tea/coffee making in room - all that is needed for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.3
    Very uncomfortable and disgusting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable (we both woke with sore backs) Curtain was hanging off the window The door handle was broken we didn't risk the shower The whole place was disgusting!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Comfy bed and nice staff but that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location seemed pretty far out from central London attractions (about 20 mins - half an hour tube ride from Victoria station). Only one thin pillow supplied. Room needed a fair bit of TLC (weird drip stains over walls/one wall looked like it needed replastering. 4 plug sockets next to the bed which didn’t work. Paint had flaked off the wall beside the bed. Carpet tiles that weren’t fixed to the floor properly). But having listed these issues, had no problems with the sleep quality so if only staying here for 1 night and just literally want somewhere to sleep I would recommend.

    Stayed here over bank holiday weekend so was one of the cheapest available. Staff were lovely and gave us a bottle of cold water on arrival due to the hot weather. Bed was surprisingly comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did you enjoy my stay from the moment i walked into my room. 1) There was a mouldy smell coming from the bathroom. 2) the room was too warm due to the radiator being broken you could not turn it off / lower the heat. 3) The shower was very dirty along with the desk & carpet. 4) Due to the heat i had to spend my first night sleeping with the window open and because of that i was woken by chirping birds at 5Am. Was not a nice pleasant stay at all

    Onsite car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Good staff and good hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From windows Outside something smells like cigarettes. May be don’t know what is it but very bad smell. I don’t like it

    It’s very nice hotel and I will visit again. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.9
    Literally the only thing that was okay about this property...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is misadvertised. It is not clean nor is it safe… our windows couldn’t even be locked properly let alone see through them because they were so filthy. The toilet seat was broken and chipped, there was no hand wash but a half used bottle of shampoo was in the shower (maybe from a previous guest?) which we had to use as soap. There was a stain ‘dripping’ down the wall where tea or something else had been spilt, there was the corner of an opened condom wrapper on the floor down the side of the bed. Everything was just generally run down.

    Literally the only thing that was okay about this property was the fact that it was fairly close to Westfield shopping centre and the tube station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view as was in basement but this wasn't needed as was only for one night and not for that kind of thing. 11am check out or half room price fine which was a killer...

    Easy access and big room for what it was for. Friendly staff and access to room 24/7 as was only to stay in after night out!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the last triple room - It was in the attic, small, low ceilings, no lift, dripping tap all night, noise from the street all night, cars / people shouting - not worth the money!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.5
    Awful place, completely falsely advertised.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was easily one of the worst places I have stayed. I am a frequent traveller into London as I work there three days a week. Not only was the room dusty and unclean, the bathroom was covered in mould. There was also tiny hairs all over my bed. I had to clean the place myself for an hour to make my stay better. The staff were rude and unhelpful, blaming me for the condition of the room.

    I did not like anything about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff Rooms are very small Bathroom very small. The sink in bathroom is just a wast of time being there as it’s so small you can’t wash your hands probably The shower is also very small kids size

    Parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Cheap hotel, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated décor and some facilities in the room were in need of replacement. Electrics looked a bit dodgy with wires taped together. OK for 1 night stay wouldn't want to stay longer.

    Comfortable bed even if it was strangely placed within the room. Plenty of tea & coffee & milk. Quiet room as I was at the back of the hotel. Huge TV for a small room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, not a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish WiFi, very small room, tiny tiny bathroom, sink so small I couldn’t even fit the kettle in to fill it up! No wardrobe, just a pole on the wall over the desk and kettle! Could feel the springs in the bed and it had a stupid frame sticking out which we all banged our legs on a few times.

    Excellent location, only 5 minute walk to shops, train station and restaurants. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    At £55 for a night it provided what we wanted, a cheap, basic room to sleep in close to Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic with poor quality furniture and not particularly clean. The TV did not work, or the extractor in the shower room. Cleanliness was average at best.

    The shower worked well and the beds were clean and relatively comfortable. Sufficient clean towels were provided. The staff were friendly and there is the bonus of parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Cheap, not so cheerful, clean if you are looking for 1 night then its meets the need.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decour. I would not recommend for lone female traveller, I didn't feel safe nor did the staff put my mind at ease about safety at hotel/immediate area. No restaurant/bar but there are several nearby.

    Very reasonably priced for the area, close to station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    2.5
    I would not recommend staying here at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No direction about the WiFi. Had to go back down to ask 2. Door wasn’t square in the frame. 3. Screws loose in the door lock 4. Only plug sockets accessible were semi hidden 5. Tv wasn’t plugged in 6. (5) didn’t matter as the Ariel was on the other side of the room 7. (5&6) didn’t matter as the Ariel socket was open and wasn’t attached 8. The sink dropped all night 9. The shower had mould 10. The carpet tiles were loose 11. The WiFi kept dropping out 12.

    There was a roof and a bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Near the football ground, with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A breakfast, lounge area would be helpful.

    Near the football ground, with parking. Basic but comfortable. This was basic budget accommodation at a fair price. You get what you pay for so don't expect all the bells and whistles. However, it is clean, comfortable and the staff are really friendly and helpful. There is parking out front for a fiver and they monitor all night through CCTV from the reception. Very few budget places in this area offer parking. Room was warm, bed was comfortable. Breakfast is not available. Shower and toilet was clean though a little a small. Unlike many other hotels in the area, the price is fixed so you don't get any surprises having to pay double on a busy day. Easy access for the London Stadium, and on West Ham match days it is great finding a place with parking, with a 10 minute walk to the mall and stadium. There's a back yard with seats for the smokers or for the kids to run around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were in and out the building, so we were left standing outside waiting to get back into the building numerous times for longer than 10 minutes because the receptionist had decided to ‘pop out’. For one night it’s ok, but anymore find somewhere else. It’s a run down property that needs some much needed TLC. The walls are thin, the bathroom isn’t great, the floors are dirty. Very dark and dingy rooms. The interior isn’t up to taste or scratch and £100 a night is far too expensive. Get a Travel Lodge for a better, cheaper stay. Bed was ok, comfort at least.

    Location was alright. Close to Tube, Bus and Shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Basement room need some renovation
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark room in basement, it was difficult to get up to the small window which can be opened/closed only by a nail. The curtain rail was broken and fell whenever we wanted to open/close the window. Mattresses uncomfortable, noise from the reception, could hear every word and step. Maybe other rooms are better.

    Great location, exactly what we needed. Reception 24/7, we could leave our luggage there after check-out. Very helpful and polite staff, clean bed linen, kettle with coffee, tea. Good heating which kept the room in comfy temperature, in spite of the cold weather outside and light blowing through the window that couldn't be shut tightly. Although the window was onto the road, the noise from the road didn't disturb us. Large TV. Good for short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Cheap Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 3 right next to the reception area, was Very loud with doors banging people talking on the phone etc, Shower room was in need of a deep clean and a bit of TLC was also possibly the smallest shower room i have ever used

    Gentlemen on reception was very polite on check in, Clean towels and linen

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Extremely noisy, clean sheets but generally old and dirty. Simply skip if you want to get some sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    OK, where do I start... You have to be prepared what to expect; I was expecting low budget, but they have to find another word for this! Extremely noisy - to the point you cannot get any sleep with earplugs, thin walls so you can hear neighbour as if they are in your room; shaky ground from tube under the hotel, so bed shakes every few minutes. Very worn carpets; old bathroom with loose fittings; no hot water - happened only once, but very unpleasant after walking round cold London and coming to hotel to find you cannot get a shower. The boy at reception did not believe so wanted to come in and check himself while wife was in a towel - well, there wasn't any hot water! Was fixed the next day.

    24 h reception, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, one bed was comfortable, clean bedding, good pillows, staff OK, 10 min walk to tube.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Minimal comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faults everywhere:the tap didn't turn off in the bathroom,leaking shower head,most of sockets didn't work neither the remote control.

    It was quiet and close to the underground station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff. Clean and quiet in a good location for Stratford amenities however rooms are tiny
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny. If you were of larger structure you would not physically be able to access the bathroom as the door doesn't fully open because bed is in the way

    Staff very friendly , reception open 24 hours and 4 spaces for car

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    2.9
    The location was good for the Stratford area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities the cleanliness ,, I didn’t like nothing

    The location was good for the Stratford area. Easy to reach!! But the condition very poor fro the value of money .. no choice I had to stay there in that night .. I wouldn’t recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    The staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean Mould was on the shower The bathroom was super small The shower door wasn't attached The hotel was noisy and couldn't sleep

    The staff were nice The location is nice and close to the tube station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    Poor in terms of facilities being checked within rooms, wouldn't of stayed more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work Shower didn't work properly There was rubbish left in the room from previous customers No way to turn off radiator

    Tea and coffee in the room Good layout Fan provided

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Musty smell from the bathroom. Paper thin walls so could hear guests next door as if they were in my room Sounded like someone was trying to unblock the toilet at 10pm

    No complaints for the money Friendly staff and close to Stratford tube. Comfortable bed and good shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    ok for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room i stayed in was ok except bathroom door couldn't be fully opened because it hits the bed .again,it is ok for short stay in East london

    ok for short stay. staff were friendly and welcoming.wifi signal was good .tea and coffee and milk were provided .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing , soft bed! Nice TV programs!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showerhandle needed fixing.

    My nightbus from Amsterdam arrived one hour too early in Londen. the friendly staff let me already in the room. This was really super nice as I had my 5 year old son with me and everything was still closed as it was 7 o'clock in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty brown stains on the carpet Rude check in MOLD ON MY BEDESK SHEETS Curtains hanging off Door handle to the window came off in my hand Filthy bathroom No way to fill up the kettle as the sink was so tiny Someone tried to open my door while I was sleeping!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some member of staff opened the bedroom door at 8:30 in the morning made loads of noise with the lock and room key then saw us sleeping and slapped the door shut and didn't apologise

    It's near the tube

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.2
    for me as a single woman not safe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleanliness... cheap but not cheerful

    clean bed but overall dirty,,, shower dirty... booked for 4 nights stayed 1 ..no plugs ..kettle had to be on the floor to plug in ..didnt feel safe there as a lone woman traveller

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and had a job to get in the bathroom because of the bed. The kettle had to go on the floor as it would not reach to plug in. Bed was clean and comfortable and staff very helpful

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just very poor hotel. Curtains hanging off the rail, extension leads all over the room, broken window latch and as on a main road so very noisy. Shabby furniture and lumpy mattress but at least the bedding was clean otherwise we'd have slept in the car!!!

    The locality to the Olympic Stadium, 10 minute walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been a little cleaner in the small bathroom but for the price and just one night it was fine

    Very close to Stratford centre and park, can walk in ten minutes park at the hotel and leave car there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.8
    Would be embarrassed for friends/ family to stay here if this was my house let alone charge people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cramped, creaky bed squeezed into an alcove, no reading light. Limited storage, one short pole hanging off the wall. Bathroom fittings mostly broken off, many poorly filled holes, ingrained dirt behind taps.

    Staff were welcoming although couldn't find my booking. Location was quiet and was able to park off the road (for an extra £5). 15/20 minute walk from Stratford stations, Westfield Centre and the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Poor avoid unless everything else booked up close to westfield/stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains falling down and so thin for a room fronting onto a busy road - joke! No shade to light; tv did not work intermittently; Kettle could only be filled by glass as would not fit in sink; Key lock looked jimmied - no chain; Light could be seen into hallway as door so ill- fitting; No headboards to beds; Just very poor

    Close to qe Stadium - only redeeming feature

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Simple and basic but very handy location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water or plug in bathroom sink. Only one working light bulb. No storage space / shelves / drawers.

    Very convenient for Olympic Park and Stadium and public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great stay at Startford!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Me not being so forgetful!!!! :)

    Just love the place - the people, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, its close proximity to the train stations - local and International, the London Stadium, excellent shopping. I felt so safe in the neighbourhood!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.6
    Basic at best
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not sleep due to noise from the surrounding rooms with arguments and doors slamming with the hotel staff taking no action. The room was very basic and small, no air con and room right outside a busy road so too noisy to open windows. I was asked for ID at check in, I did not have any on me but had booked and paid already through booking.com. It would help if this was on the booking information. I arrived for a conference and struggled to relax and rest at this venue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    Uncomfortable bed but somewhere to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. The bathroom light pull was so filthy I turned it on, washed my hands and left it on. The room smelled of cigarette smoke, the whole of the bathroom was grubby.

    Staff were amazing, helpful friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    We won't be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was in dire need of renovation. The bedroom carpet and bed base were stained and un-inviting and the mattress was far from comfortable.

    There was very little to like about this property except the polite staff. The bed linen and towels were very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Excellent suburban hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really loved it that I was so close to the London Stadium to watch the World Para Athletics Games. The place is so safe - walked at night and everything was fine. The staff were so kind and amiable. I loved the place. I love Stratford - the shops, the people, the location, my hotel!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Good small little hotel in the olympic suburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room and sometime the sheets were not extremely clean (but not dirty either). And there was no view from the window (just a wall). But perfect for just sleeping.

    It's in a nice building, not far from the central underground line. With the minimum of comfort (tv, shower and toilets with the room), and very nice people there. A very quiet area but with some restaurants and supermarkets around. And the very big shopping center at the underground !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.5
    Not a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience from minute one. Dreadful hotel.

    Hotel room was dreadful. I have never compained previously but this hotel (can you call this a hotel?) was absoloutely awful. There was nothing you could like.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Good basic one night stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on front was noisy even with double glazed windows. Better curtains needed for a street facing large window.

    The room was OK for a single traveller. A bit shabby, curtain hooks missing, shower working but holder for shower head broken. Spotlessly clean, tea & coffee making facilities, and toiletries made up for the slight shabbiness of the fixtures and fittings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.6
    Not worth £85.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang clothes,no plug in sink.bathroom very small ,room very dark and glum,furniture very tatty,outside back door a drain, water running into it all night.you couldn't fill the kettle up as sink too small.can not possibly understand how you can charge £85 for this??

    Bed was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.0
    Basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation is basic, staff friendly. Reviews generally are accurate, if you read them you will know what to expect.

    Ok for a one night stay after attending a concert.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.2
    I wish I'd paid a bit more to stay at the Ibis nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 3.30 (having told them to expect me between 2 and 3) yet the room was still not ready. The room was in a very bad state of repair. There were damp stains on the base of the bed, as if it had been in water at some point. I went to make a cup of tea, but when I added the UHT pot of milk, it had gone off and curdled. The TV didnt work properly, there was only reception for BBC 1, the other channels cut in and out. There was no hot water for a shower in the morning. The walls/door were very thin, you could hear people coming and going and talking clearly.

    The location was good, I was looking for somewhere near Olympic park so this was ideal. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.3
    Worst place I've ever stayed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple having sex all night no one in hotel got any sleep management didn't do anything the couple was let in of the street about 1.00 am rooms where small and dirty no air conditioning the rooms where hot and clammy wouldn't sleep my pet dog there!

    Location okay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable Accommodation for Price Paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sink tap was loose & sink was chipped. Had to fill the kettle from the shower head as kettle would not fit under the sink tap.

    Bed was clean and comfy. It was a very hot day / night and a fan was provided in the room. Plenty of hot water to have a shower. For the price paid for the room, the standard was OK. We only needed one night for the Guns n' Roses concert and other hotels were charging 2 - 3 times more than the amount we paid for this accommodation. Also free cancellation was available up to 2 days before arrival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor carpet and the bed structure were really really dirty But the tiny bathroom was clean and the shower new

    Staff was really excellent and welcoming and helpful Considering the fact that we were living a very stressful situation due to the London attacks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Great but still place to improve
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to give my ID to be photocopied Having to leave the room keys in the reception all the time when I pop out or having to pay the deposit And the cleaning of the room and bathroom wasn't great

    Staff was very polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.5
    Give this place a very wide berth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was expecting budget and boy was I disappointed. The bed was like trying to sleep on a metal pole, the walls had questionable white stains on them. The shower was only fit for someone of about 3 feet in height unless you held the shower head yourself. The pole it was mounted on was rusting. The walls and floors were cracking, the ceiling looked like it had seen better days as well. The water tasted questionable, even when boiled. The bathroom door would not close properly, and also had no lock. People were running up and down the corridor as late as 3AM. The area around the hotel did not feel safe at all and when walking back up Romford Road in the evening, I genuinely feared for my safety. Parking is available but very tight. There was also an unhealthy insistence on leaving the room key at reception despite being told on check in that we could choose whether to leave the key at reception, or take it with us. Entry to the building was by a press buzzer only.

    The only positive that I could glean from this visit was that the person on reception was very helpful in telling me the policy for early check-out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mouldy Bathroom , no breakfast considering it states Stratford Hotel bed and breakfast , bed headboard up against a radiator , was itching after sleeping in the bed. £5 to park on their premises is a bit harsh .

    Easy to park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    I would go back but a different room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small for a double and right next to reception. Was woken a few times during night because of people talking too loud.

    Very close to my meeting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    2.5
    Left my phone when I checked out of hotel and when I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left my phone when I checked out of hotel and when I returned 30 mins later the cleaner told me it wasn't there. Thers no doubt I left it in the hotel so the cleaner definetly took my phone. Staff where no help at all and told me it's not their problem.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    3.8
    Now worth it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was extremely dirty and stained. Only one iron available so had to wait to iron work uniform. Room was continually hot. Could hear door banging closed and shut downstairs. Could hear someone walking around. Not worth £70, I feel cheated by hotel and booking.com!

    The staff tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.0
    Advertised as a basic. hotel and in my opinion it was less than basic.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nowhere to put any clothes no bedside tables no lightshade on the main light the toilet was loose and door handle hanging off.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    2.9
    The worst hotel in the world according to my experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dirty, bed linen ripped, shower sprinkler broken and hazardously fixed with inefficient tape, spraying water everywhere and into my mouth, room is in the traffic riddled street, very noisy all night. I payed for 3 nights but stayed for 2 and booked at another hotel for the third night. Staff are so cold , they don't even maintain eye contact to listen to concerns.

    There is nothing to like about that hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    The bed was comfy & there was a good hot shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I couldn't access the wifi even after trying it several times and I wasn't able to leave my room at the time I wanted to check it. The floor boards above my room were also quite old & noisy meaning I got woken up early.

    The bed was comfy & there was a good hot shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    5.4
    comfy bed, fair price, would not go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the heating in the room could not be turned down it was just on. The shower grout and seal in bathroom was not good. You did not get a front door key so you have to ring a bell to go in. No breakfast is available. Most worrying the front door a marked fire door is locked at night so when I tried to get out I had to wait and wake the reception staff member.

    the bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    4.6
    Not too bad for a very short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating was poor, the mattress was just awful - back hurts. It's a little bit noisy. Small bathroom, the sink was 10 inches.

    The hotel is close to Stratford underground station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.1
    Good value for ,money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed ..awfull but it was okay for one night

    Nice staff ,very friendly Our bed was soft but to noisey for a family room every time you turn the springs made an awful sound Overall good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    We stayed for one night, which was pleasant and we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a little bit higher for our standard, but it was o'right.

    We stayed for one night, which was pleasant and we had a very clean and comfortable bed, with TV and some good programmes too. The reception stood past 11 PM (maybe even more), which we appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    2.5
    Staying in a ditch would be nicer and feel cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and fixtures were falling apart. Radiator had no cap so temprator Couldnt be adjusted and the window handle was broken. Headboard wasnt secured to frame properly so everytime you move it banged against the wall. Hotel Staff were watching tv until 1am in the morning making sleep impossible. Website says free parking however when you arrive you will find out it is £5 a night. Just genrally being in the room madmade both of us feel unclean.

    Being able to leave.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    Basic bed for a night or two, wouldn't do longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel, more a very run down guest house. In need of major overhaul, decor & repairs. Cheapest around last minute for new year but expensive for what it was.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Short walk to underground & shopping/eating. Bed comfy. Room cleaned & clean towels daily.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    3.3
    Only stay here if nothing else is available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far to hot even with the window open all night. The carpet was dirty. The door to the room had large gaps in it so was lighting the room when the lights were off. Had to put a towel at the base of the door to try and stop this.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    3.8
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower flooded and the shower holder was broken. The hot water was very tricky to get to a decent temperature (not too hot). No bed side lamp. The TV was bolted to the wall at a impossible angle to watch. The curtains were partly hanging off. Mouldy patches on the ceiling both in the bedroom and bathroom. Very thin walls so felt like the neighbouring guests were in your room.

    The bed linen were clean. I could borrow a hairdryer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    3.8
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing no value ...

    For the price of the room. It was not worth it. I could hear the toilet flushing in the next room. And I am sure that the family next door did hear us having sex. Not good. Room need a lot of improvement major....

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75