Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Strattons Hotel

4 Ash Close, Swaffham, PE37 7NH , United Kingdom

#3 of 7 hotels in Swaffham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable but a little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor lighting in room Breakfast was adequate but had to be taken in a fairly basic annex cafe like building which was very noisy

    Bed very comfortable. Shower room good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    A quirky boutique hotel with good food, great staff & a beautiful setting - lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the Venetian Room was not great and as an allergy sufferer I wasn't that happy about the hotel having a couple of cats accessing all areas (including our room through the window while we were out one evening).

    The staff at the hotel were delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and everything with a smile. Dinner was delicious and although slightly pricey did touch on haute cuisine standards. The coffee shop attached for breakfast was super and the ability to sit outdoors in the gardens enjoying the sunshine with a cup of tea and the newspaper was very much appreciated. If we came to Swaffham again, we would stay at Strattons for sure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    OK for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shutters in our room were broken and had been for quite some time apparently so we were awake really early because of the daylight coming through the windows.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room nice and quiet making it easy to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Terrific ,small, friendly boutique hotel located in the centre of Swaffham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and proffessional staff, 'shabby chic' stylish decoration, very comfortable bed with quality linen. Breakfast included..... absolutely first class, probably the best I have experienced!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    NIGEL HOTEL REVIEW
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a loft room that was rather hot and stuffy. But this has been an exceptional summer so normally would be cosy on a winters night. The ordered breakfast is fine but it would be nice to see a greater selection of bread / pastries and fruit juices. Natural Orange juice should be there in my opinion.

    This is a nice romantic get away for a few nights. Very relaxing and charming. The restaurant is also worth going to. Good Gin selection. The staff are pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.0
    Disappointing as not representative of the description on the hotel website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned sufficiently. There were two rugs in the room that smelled unpleasant and so we had to remove them. There were dirty marks in the walls in the bathroom and the towel rail was peeling and covered in dust and dirt. The blind was also dirty and dusty and the outside of the toilet was splashed with something unpleasant. The hotel website portrayed it as a luxury boutique hotel with high quality photos to match however the reality was very different and disappointing. The saving grace was that the breakfasts were good at Cocoes cafe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing hotel. Very attentive and professional staff, great food, lovey room. If I have to criticise then maybe more signage would be appropriate from the main road. Overall an excellent stay. The staff should be applauded.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Property was lovely but no coffee in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn’t great, eaten there before and food was amazing. But the Sunday night the food was bland and the couple behind us broke a tooth on a gun pellet

    Property was lovely but no coffee in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    My wife had for a long time wsihed to visit Strattons.... we have now done that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not one comfortable chair anywhere in the premises. The armchairs were all old and tired and the restaurant chairs too hard for me. The dinner menu and food were both disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Overall a nice anniversary stay and meal
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking and although there are signs telling people using CoCoes to park in Swaffham main car park, they still parked in the Hotel! The room was up stairs away from main courtyard. (I should have looked into where the room was situated)

    Nice room and look of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice food and room. No WIFI
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI didn't work in the room, which is very inconvenient when staying for business. The issue was longstanding which was confirmed by staff.

    The food was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous relaxing stay, friendly staff, great food and pretended just for one night I owned it ; )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good, thank you One slight thing was the beer in restaurant was a little flat, but that’s it

    I love the whole vibe of the place, feels bohemian and something special Great blend of old new and art. Will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Luxury having a deep copper bath in bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking at the photos of the property I thought the hotel was going to be on the edge of a village not tucked away from High Street. Town of Swaffham not very interesting.

    Luxury having a deep copper bath in bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    We have stayed several times in the past and this time were not disappointed - a real gem.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel and staff very welcoming. Room lovely - stylish, with lots of attention to detail. Bed large and very comfy plus a fridge in the room with real milk! We were sorry to leave and will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Absoloutely fabulous gem of a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, this hotel is definitely 5*

    This has to be one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. I must admit I was a bit dubious about staying in the annexe as I don't like them. One word WOW, the room was amazing, wished that I was staying longer. I was asked if I wanted to book a table for evening meal, very easy process. I was asked to choose a table, nice touch. Again the food was delicious, couldn't fault it at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Loved every minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting by bedside a little dim for reading.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, service was great. Ideally located just off the High Street close to local amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Excellent over all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    It was a joy to stay at the hotel as I needed to come to Swaffham quite urgently as I own a property there. The whole experience was really great, especially the bed and pillows!! My only criticism would be the following but they are only minor. No make up mirror and not able to get near a mirror made putting make up difficult. Plug sockets not that accessible for charging phones and hair appliances tissues or shower cap would have been nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful luxury feel hotel, wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit chilly in the house reception area.

    Gorgeous hotel tucked away in a back street in Swaffham. Absolutely beautiful food, accommodation and a really wonderful place. Would love to come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    A perfect get away for our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Our room was beautifully presented and the bed was comfortable. Our evening meal was delicious and the bits from the Deli were excellent. They do brilliant cocktails too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Potentially very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had issues - noisy extractor running 30 minutes. TV flashing blue and orange at 3am! Refrigerator rattling. And all three at once at night! Needs attention but still enjoyed our stay.

    Restaurant first rate. Staff exemplary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy , good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the cafe was great, but surrounded by people doing business and on their mobile phones. Bathroom taps wobbly and big climb into the bath!

    Quirky decor, beautiful house. Delicious dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    See above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home :-(

    Everything. Quite simply put it's the best most friendly hotel we've ever stayed at. Stunning room, outstanding food and excellent staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Tiring, and woke up after 2 hours sleep with bad neck ache
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful and the bits sticking out off the bottom of bedstead we banged our knees on more than once. The fridge in the room practically vibrated the room through the night, and was kept awake by a baby crying in a near room, sounded like it was in our room!

    The room on initial walk In was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Didn't live up to the Internet hype and was a complete rip off in terms of value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the stains on the carpet or the smell of fish on the landing. The bed was extra hard not helped by the waterproof mattress protector which made it very uncomfortable. The pillows were also very old and flat.

    The breakfast menu was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Ok would we stay again not sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking across the courtyard to the restaurant just glad it wasn't raining or snowing! Ordering breakfast with toast unerneath a full breakfast we like ours with marmalade - odd

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing - unusual opulent.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels and body lotion

    Just an amazing place to stay at-so very unusual, a real star of a place.Done really well with great attention to detail, to make the stay a pleasure.Could have had newer /fluffier towels in such a high class place maybe and likewise No body lotions or shower hats.Had taken mine out of washbag thinking that such a place would have them. But forgiven as rooms are so well done otherwise-a real treat to stay there And breakfast at Cocoes very very good too.As was dinner in resturaunt.Yes you have to treat yourself to come and stay here folks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and would probably return - but not this room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small with sloping ceiling and knee-high projections on bed corners - resulting in navigating around one side of the bed hazardous. Over-bed reading lamps have sharp metal edges and easy to bang your head on.

    Excellent breakfasts, good location, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay! Quirkly rooms make it more than just a hotel room and many have outside space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay! Quirkly rooms make it more than just a hotel room and many have outside space which is a massive bonus. Would visit again and recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast... Quiet romantic setting... Charm of the period property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom acrylic finish poor. Shower not very strong spray. Distance from the coast not ideal.

    Bed was very comfortable, the charm of the property. Excellent breakfast. Very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very disappointed with the room, it was very dark and the layout made dressing awkward. The bathroom had a pebble floor which was uncomfortable on the feet and the shower was over the bath, with no handrails, which made getting in and out risky. The bath struggled to support standing under the shower and moved and flexed which we feel made it unsafe. The biggest disappointment was the bedding which was stained and although it had been laundered it wasnt properly cleaned. Breakfast was well presented and what was available was fine but we would have preffered some fruit and yoghurts as well as pastries. The Restaurant was also fine but the menu was very limited to three main courses and a vegetarian option

    Strattons is a boutique designer hotel which offers an artistic experience, the public rooms are very well presented and the staff provide excellent service, Breakfast is served in the Brasserie and was of a high standard. The Restaurant was attractive, competitively priced and the food of a very high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    This hotel is not for the faint hearted. I advise prospective guests to be clear about their needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was not for the faint hearted. Access to hotels and dinning area involved steep flight of steps - not pointed out in brochure. Bathroom I was aware that the shower was over the bath but this was very difficult to get in partly due to wide surrounds of bath. I could not use the bath but it was so narrow that I don't think it would have been an enjoyable experience. I did manage to access the shower. The surface of the bath was slippery and there was no mat, there was only an overhead shower but no disposable showering cap. Bathroom assesories were the minimum.Bedroom - the bed was so high that it was almost impossible to get in - I have two painful arms from trying to heave myself up there could have been a footstool. The bedside lights were not easy to access from the bed. The mattress was comfortable once in the bed but it's softness added to the difficulty of getting in. The drinking glasses provided were plastic ! In a four star hotel! There was no small table near the sofa to rest a drink on I improvised with a nearby piano stool. Re the bathroom I consider that you should ditch the awful bath and replace it with a modern walking in shower unit. Also inprove the lighting. More consideration needs to be given to the comfort and convenience of ye guest in the both bathroom and bedroom. I am aware that the quirkiness and age of the room is important but there has not been a clever use of modern equipment to compliment this day and age for the traveller. I am aware that I am older than most of your guests but there are many younger people who would find this room a challenge. I think this is a missed opportunity because the room is ideal for the single traveller and the Kessler active as it is so close to reception. I hope you will see this as constructive feedback and not unpleasant critism.

    No stairs to room which was next to reception Bed linen was excellent All staff with out exception were efficient helpful and happy I dilighted in watching the staff at dinner who were friendly but so efficient. They walked with great purpose but were very observant of all the dinner guests and ensured that their enjoyment of the evening meal was complete. The fresh milk in the fridge in the bedroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing, definitely worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about our stay was of the highest quality from accommodation quality to the staff helpfulness and friendliness. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone for a peaceful and relaxing stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, pretty garden, some fixable niggles
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No utensils,plates, nor cooking gear. Got very warm, stats were reading 28 inside (very hot period in the area) but too many flies to open windows. Upstairs floor was wood and noise from above was really loud, especially when they dragged the chairs in and out from the table at 2am. Wifi kept dropping connections and was rather slow (hard to get consistent work done.)

    Amazingly spacious and well designed studio space. Comfy bed, big bathroom, great tub. Wonderful sitting and dining area. Nice kitchen. Beautiful garden area, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    Be one hundred percent fit to go there.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Level floor in the bedroom and the bath area. The bath, toilet and sinks (yes 2 sinks - one would be sufficient) should be in a separate room, not behind a wardrobe. And to have been forewarned that if you have even the slightest mobility issue you should not go to that hotel.

    The cafetiere in the bedroom, and the size of the bath - also in the bedroom!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was way too dark for applying make up!! Also there was a very, very unpleasant smell in the bathroom that disappeared when reported. Not sure what was done when I was out, but it was improved the second day. Was kind of difficult to find as the GPS took me down a road that was closed. Sign was difficult to see when you're driving and navigating without a passenger to watch out for entrance.

    Very comfortable, great staff, nice decor, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    A lovely hotel in a prime position for visiting Swaffham.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm, and although we turned down the thermostat on the radiator, we had a restless night's sleep. We had driven all day so felt too tired to struggle with the heavy curtains to open a window in the middle of the night - our fault, I think!

    A very warm welcome from reception staff, and we were immediately led to out room. We had been upgraded as our booked room was unavailable - our gain! The room was very well decorated in a Venetian style, and very comfortable with everything we needed. The hotel was in a quiet location away from the centre of this small town, and had a lovely ambiance. We booked a meal in the restaurant, where again staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and we enjoyed our evening. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, everything of a high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    A delightful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricey but you get what you pay for, a lovely treat for our anniversary.

    Lovely room, staff friendly, meal in evening was superb, overall excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Lovely spot but don't expect Boutique our room was more like a previously self catering unit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tatty patched up paintwork in bedrooms, old scratched plastic beakers, shabby soap dispensers, old noisy refrigerator and 1/4 of the floor space was empty with an old sofa pushed in the corner! hardly Boutique! Yet another example of not re investing profits in the property but still trading as boutique

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Swaffham - don't go there but if you have to bite the bullet & stay at Stattons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price! Exhorbitant for a north Norfolk hotel. I've regularly stayed in 5* hotels in London for far less. Swaffham is not particularly attractive populated almost exclusively by charity shops & estate agents.

    A tranquil & attractive setting off of the busy market square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    The perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not anything that we did not like. The sunshine added to the thrill of our visit. And breakfast was marvellous.

    The hotel is beautiful with exquisite design as befits the location. Both friendly and professional at all times in our experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had too many levels for people of our age.the bathroom wasn't private enough for us.

    Good breakfast. Great veranda.hood location for a wedding at Narborough Hall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above also the plumbing in the bathroom was a little slow (it's an old property)

    Bed was very soft, clean and comfortable however the mini fridge was very noisy and woke us during the night a number of times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    lovely hotel, food good, friendly service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extra charge to use the self catering facilities in our room. This wasn't the room I had chosen but as we had a dog we were moved. The accommodation was lovely however the catering equipment locked away. We chose not to pay the additional cost.

    nice accommodation, large and spacious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    The bed very comfortable,breakfast good,staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt there could be more choices for dinner and some specials of the day on.If I had been staying there longer I would quickly have got fed up with the menu.

    The bed very comfortable,breakfast good,staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Expensive, comfortable and quiet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They do not supply tissues or shower caps which irritated. Breakfast which is served in their cafe was just o.k. They adopted the fashion of only toasting one side of the bread and at £ 43.00 for two of us it is an expensive meal. However again the staff were lovely.

    The bed was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We liked the quirkyness of the decoration and the staff were most helpful and obliging. In particular the young man on duty on Saturday and Sunday was charming. The location was good as it is right in the centre of the (small) town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and welcoming stay. We love going and have never been disappointed after 5 stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Venetian room was a bit noisy with a room above making lots of creaks but didn't spoil our stay.

    Really liked the great service. We arrived late and Sunday lunch was just closing but the reception fitted us in and made sure we had a lovely lunch. We were really pleased and even more pleased when we upgraded our room for just a few pounds extra. They couldn't do enough for us and offer great service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff. Fabulous food. Accommodation just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Fantouch a little more shabby than chic. Shower needs attention.

    Public rooms and restaurant were excellent. Staff all very pleasant. Location and exterior impressive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Best rooms you can stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could do with being a tad more traditional

    The rooms are amazing each one is diffrent and amazing in its own way. second time we have stayed and will stay again many more times

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.2
    Great central location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All minor. Steep spiral steps to top bedroom cocoes 2. 5 minute walk to dog exercise field. Would definitely return though.

    Ambiance and staff. Food excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the dinner menu is not changed daily.

    Just what we needed after a lovely but hectic festive season. Food was amazing. Best cooked breakfast ever. Dinner very tasty but never had room for a dessert. Lovely staff who were all local and loved the quirkiness of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Our initial room has no carpet and no bath and sky light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our initial room has no carpet and no bath and sky light windows - felt like a student flat more than a luxury room . It was an amazing bed with nothing else nice !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    We have never stayed in a hotel like this before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for two nights and didn't find anything to dislike

    We have never stayed in a hotel like this before. It was quite quirky and different but so comfortable and the staff very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Very enjoyable - definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    We were given a free upgrade when we arrived which was unexpected and a nice gesture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to have had more complimentary toiletries in the bathroom as we come without any and maybe a biscuit to have with the tea or coffee.

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable . The hotel was very nicely decorated with comfortable lounge areas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel - eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in restaurant uninspiring, food served was poorly presented and tasteless. Very disappointing for such a lovely hotel.

    Room and very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.0
    Bad value for money and not baby friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -room was slightly cold -we took our 8 month old baby there and were disgraced that they charge £10 extra for a cot. Who charges for these items in this day and age?

    nicely decorated room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    You feel as cozy and pampered as the house cats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a little bar but I did have a drink in the room and cocktails were brought to the lounge area so not the end of the world Had better martinis

    I thought the staff were brilliant. I thought the Red Room was fantastic one of the best rooms I have stayed in. The 24hr cooked Pork belly was the best pork dish I have ever tasted also loved the breakfast Would come back

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Beautifully decorated boutique hotel with great staff and food in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not huge and steps to bed and bathroom, not great during the night if no light on!

    Went for a 60th birthday party and stayed the night before. Really helpful staff and really clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Highly recommended!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. If I'm being picky I would have liked espresso and cappuccino in the restaurant. As I said, picky!

    What a delightfully quirky hotel - beautifully decorated in strong style. We loved it! The bed was glorious and a comfy sofa with throws was added luxury. I would love to have looked at all the rooms as each one is individual in colour and style. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which was delicious and a far better than average hotel breakfast the following morning. Warm and friendly staff and even a cat sleeping on a sofa in reception- hope to go back one day!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Definitely stay again. Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the service in the restaurant at dinner could be better to match the rest of the hotel.

    Quirky fun hotel with friendly staff. Lovely building and comfortable room with lots of information available about the hotel and surrounding area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    When In swaffham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Friendly efficient staff, superb food, kitchen went that extra mile to satisfy my wife's gluten free requirements.Wonderful quirky building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect romantic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely time at Strattons, staying for one night. We stayed in one of their suites which was lovely - only slight downside was the TV downstairs was a tad small but semantics. They helped me arrange a cake to make our stay special and turned this around quickly and were very willing to turnaround everything we asked. The grounds are lovely and staff are 1st class. Wouldn't not hesitate to recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    4.2
    The hotel is trying to position itself as a sophisticated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is trying to position itself as a sophisticated offering in what is, unfortunately, a rather unsophisticated place. Marks for trying to offer something interesting (and for friendly-ish staff), but would not go back. The location is hardly the country ideal. Swaffham is not a particularly attractive place compared to other destinations in Norfolk, despite its website trying to portray it as an historic market town. The hotel itself, while the building is pretty, backs onto a residential area. The pictures make it look you are in a real country location. No point in choosing a room with a balcony when the balcony overlooks the car parking area or the driveway of a neighbouring semi. They seem to be relying on the fact that the hotel is 'eclectic' to justify its position as a 4 star boutique hotel, when really it is just a bit shabby with a mismatch of furniture and styles. Could do with a dust! They also need to work harder on creating atmosphere rather than relying on the building itself - bright cheap halogen lights in the dining room, no music in the lounge etc. And for a 4 star I would have expected a proper bar area, rather than relying on the receptionist to serve warm drinks in a cluttered lounge. Food was ok, but expensive for portions. Trying to justify the hype by claiming all ingredients local etc. But bit more effort required in the delivery! Very surprised this is a 4 star so am being critical. Would have been less so if it had been listed as a 3 star.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Short but very sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a few little extras for the money such as tissues, shampoo, sewing kit etc.

    Lovely and comfortable - food was excellent. Bed very cosy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Best meal for many years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lloyd loom chairs underneath the desk in my room were too low to work comfortably, suggest you change to a higher chair.

    Hotel is in the centre of Swaffham with private parking. Staff were very welcoming and efficient. A colleague and I had a meal in the restaurant, one of the best meals I have ever had, it was more than excellent. They do not have a bar as such, one orders drinks from the comfortable lounge. The organic lager was very good! The bed was comfortable and breakfast was also very good. Will definitely stay there again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful shower
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs Our room was perfect. Friends upset by open plan bathroom. No other rooms available. Should have been warned on booking.

    Wonderful shower Super king bed very comfortable Food delicious for breakfast and dinner Staff very friendly and super helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Pleasant hotel but triumph of style over substance, design over practicality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were thin and hard.. Difficult to get any feather ones which were very thin. No power sockets near a mirror. No toiletries at all, not even tissues. Penny pinching dressed up as evironmentalism. Duvet too small for king sized bed.

    Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good but would have liked orange juice even if not locally sourced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Good little hotel but can improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weekend rate is not good value for money.

    Rooms were unique but the food was really excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Needs good clean and repairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down needs updating, Not as clean and needed a good clean especially after paying nearly £200 for 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Amazing place can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave 😢

    Amazing place can’t wait to come back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    We had the best time and would 100% recommend. The breakfast included in the price is also amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey for the location

    Comfortable beautiful rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    A magical place for a romantic weekend however cats!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and other areas of the hotel smelt of cat urine which was a bit off putting

    The location was magical

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a relaxing happy friendly break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden was a little unloved in places but otherwise excellent.

    Bed and linen great. Breakfast was outstanding and dinner was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely room and hotel feel , would stay again but wouldn’t dine there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with my meal in the hotel restaurant

    Lovely deli for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very charming property in a lovely setting. The staff were very courteous. Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: