Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of String Of Horses 4 stars

Faugh, Great Corby, CA8 9EG, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Great Corby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not the easiest place to find. First impressions were not good. The room we were given for a four night stay was unsuitable for a couple nearing 80, but the management changed us to a better one on the second day.We knew the hotel restaurant and bar was closed on Monday, the day we arrived, but the person at reception told us all nearby establishments were closed for the evening, adding that there were plenty of places in Carlisle, seven miles away, Not good after a 300 mile drive. Both the breakfast menu and the dinner menu were limited . Overall we felt this hotel was a little over prised compared with other similar ones we have used in other parts of the country such as the Forest of Dean

    Very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed a bit soft for me.

    This was a good place to stay in quiet surroundings. Good choice of menu and quality of food. The staff were all very pleasant. Rooms clean and well presented. Large bath towels . Easy check-in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in started at bit late at 16:00. Nothing else to complain about.

    Very beautiful old inn with great food. Spacious room with large bed and bath. Staff was more than friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location but 24 hrs after departing I was charged £70 and when I queried it was told it was because the room smelt of cigarettes. I'd never smoked in there but how do you prove it 24 hrs after you leave

    Great hosts and staff. the food was good and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There is nothing I can say against The String of Horses. It is a gem. Staff excellent, food superb and room was lovely. Colin and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Would definitely recommend and will be going back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely need a GPS to find hotel

    Quiet spot and hotel with history. Room was spacious, bed comfortable. Had meal in pub which was delicious and breakfast nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little, but if we had to make suggestions it would be a slightly firmer mattress and a bar that did not close at 10PM Sunday.

    Plenty of freshments and storage space in the room. Evening meal very good with a varied menu and breakfast excellent quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needed replacing. Very soft either side, firmer in middle. Shower over bath - bath very slippy when wet with no grab handles at all - I very nearly fell with nothing to grab on to except.side of shower screen. Room 2. No one on hand on bank hol Mon to advise me when I had a querry about the local area. I wanted to go for a walk and in spite of being a country inn there were no leaflets about walks and no one to print one I found on-line.

    Full of character. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not think of anything negative!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Inn was lovely and situated in a Hamlet, which was very quiet. The decor matched the inn perfectly. The family room was perfect for us. The adjoining restaurant served a variety of meals, great choices and it was delicious! Same goes for the breakfast. Recommended for families, couples, short, long breaks. Plenty of parking also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather!

    Wonderful spot but not in the midst of the worst snow storms in years, especially when you drive a big, rear wheel drive merc! The rooms were wonderful, great size and lovely and warm, very comfortable bed and decent shower. Bar and restaurant excellent with a lovely crowd!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unable to stay in the family room which we booked as there had been a leak, we were notified by the owner prior to arriving. The kids had to sleep on camp beds, ok for one night. The breakfast was limited in what was on offer. Eggs benedict not great.

    The cosy pub with onsite food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice country pub accommodation. Room was spacious comfortable and clean. Lovely bar facilities and fine beers. Breakfast was superb and staff very helpful. Used for a business trip but would certainly take my wife for a weekend break!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was allocated was quite noisy. It was above the kitchen and the main bar, however once the bar closed it became much more peaceful.

    Food was all locally sourced and home cooked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING NOT TO LIKE

    ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING! Upon arrival at The String of Horses I was blown away. A beautiful former coaching inn hidden away just off the A69, not far from Carlisle. A great welcome then taken to a stunning bedroom and fabulous ensuite bathroom. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and well equipped with TV, tea and coffee making facilities, plenty of toiletries, towels and a super comfy bed. Dinner in the String of Horses was magnificent followed by a delicious dessert. Unfortunately I didn't get to sample the cooked breakfast as I had to leave very early but the owner left out continental breakfast for me. HUGE THANKS! This is one of the most fantastic guest houses I have stayed in and totally recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a plug near the bed for laptop & phone is needed.

    It was a lovely old building, nice bar & food, staff very friendly. The room was nice, very cosy & warm, a good bathroom with a nice bath. The breakfast was awesome....eggs Benedict. The location was convenient for me, I would stop again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place,so romantic with homely atmosphere.Beautiful shabby shic decorated rooms with extremely comfortable bed. Very clean. Food delicious and very good price compere to amount. High recommended for romantic time. I will be back there :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for pub accommodation - compared to 10 other pubs/hotels used in the past month

    Excellent friendly staff and first class breakfast. Good beers and a cheery Bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard double bedroom was on the small side but the bathroom had recently been brought up to date. The food was good but lacking any extra factors to make it special. The village itself lacks the character of some of the others nearby. Like a previous reviewer its hard to describe but as a pub it just lacks atmosphere.

    The building itself is full of interest displaying its 17th century origins. The furniture and general décor is equally in keeping. The coal fires were lovely. The pub was very quiet on the Thursday and Friday night but busy for food and more guests on the Saturday night. Three real ales, one a stout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the String of Horses as a stopover on our drive to Scotland and so glad we found it - what a hidden gem! Looked beautiful when we pulled up, all lit up and cosy. Quaint bar, open fires, friendly and obviously family run, lovely warm bedroom and bathroom. Not the cheapest but really worth it. We didn't have dinner as we arrived after the kitchen had closed but they made us a lovely cheeseboard on arrival (9pm), we sat in the bar enjoying their great wine selection next to the open fire until late. The owner brought us extra logs and locked the bar up and left us to chat, without any pressure, which made our evening. The breakfast menu is absolutely superb (highly recommend the eggs benedict, poached to perfection!!) If you want a romantic hideaway this is the place for you! Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit out of the way for restaurants etc. However, in saying this the Inn offers a variety of evening meals, including vegetarian options which are priced reasonably and taste amazing. The service is excellent. Whilst the Inn is a bit out of the way it is extremely close to local attractions and the host was extremely helpful and gave us good advice.

    The staff were just so friendly and helpful. Being vegetarian I am always concerned whether there will be anything for me to eat but the breakfast menu contained a vegetarian option and the evening meal menu contained several vegetarian options. Parking was very easy and the location was great for exploring Hadrian's Wall and the Roman ruins. The room was lovely, quiet and quite spacious in comparison to many that we had stayed in earlier. The bar is frequented by locals as well as tourists which is great. Everyone was so friendly and the decor is very English which is what we were looking for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in a lovely location it was very clean and comfatable the staff were very friendly and helpful.. it is a lovely cosy hotel that all of us enjoyed staying at and would deffinatly recommend to anyone staying in this area.. we had a lovely evening and the food was lovely too..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower facility though it did have a spa bath.

    This last minute booking, of their last room, brought great surprises: a big lovely family room with a four poster bed, a separate full bed for our teen, and a huge bathroom. This 1659 inn has grown over time, into a charming hotel with all the olde worlde Englishness you might be looking for. Breakfast was good, and it is close to the Hadrian Wall sites, and not to far off the freeway. Did I mention our cheery hosts and that meals and a bar are available? Lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The meal there was outstanding,our second stay there and would stay again.The young staff were polite and caring.I would always recommend Friday night fish & chips,huge portions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being knocked up aggressively by man from next room asking to turn our TV down at 11pm when watching the news. This has never happened to us anywhere before so either we were next to a grumpy guest or the adjoining wall was too thin.

    Interesting layout, friendly staff and good to have a lounge upstairs with lots of local information. We enjoyed dinner in the bar and the food was excellent ... so was breakfast the next morning. We'll definitely return one day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May not have been great for kids, possibly more of an adult venue. Could have Earl grey teabags in room (a small thing!). Didn't do enough research so hadn't realised that the pub wouldn't be open all day for lunch. So would need a car to get about, although this wasn't a problem for us.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Breakfast was huge and lovely local meat from butchers. Dinner menu was quirky and delicious. The chef came out to discuss the recipe with us when we asked about ingredients. Room was clean and comfortable. Lovely old building. Good gin menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temp changeable. Would have scolded 9year old son if he had used it.

    Clean, warm, cosy. We arrived very late due to traffic on m6 and they were very accommodating and breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was slow not what I'm used to, but we would not let that put us off coming again.

    The ambience of the inn was wonderful and the staff were beyond friendly. Really felt welcome. The food was delicious and plenty of it fir the dinner menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn is a beautiful coaching inn. I was spotlessly clean. My husband has a food allergy. They were very helpful both prior to the visit and during the visit when we were ordering from the food menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing within the control of the staff!!

    Interior was great ; liked the "olde worlde" atmosphere! Room cosy with good facilities and excellent breakfast! Nice to have some decent local ale!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar and restaurant don't open until the evening, which makes the place 'quiet and a little boring', and there was an 'unfriendly' feel about the place.

    Quite a nice place but not particularly good for children to stay. May consider staying there again, but not with children. Bar and restaurant don't open until the evening so it was disappointing that drnks or snacks weren't available. Lovely building but something is 'not quite right'.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing was a problem

    the string of horses was a lovely character-filled B&B/ pub hidden away in the back lanes of Carlisle. the food was great and so were the staff. very organised, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was small and the pillows were flat and uncomfortable. The walls were thin so we could hear the conversations and movement from next door. It took some time to work out the shower system and it was very noisy. We understand that it's quaintness and location are appealing, however it is more 3 star then 4.

    The home cooked meal was superb. It was served quickly and was extremely enjoyable. Great bar service too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough hot water and feeble shower. We thought the basic price was expensive for what was on offer compared to elsewhere.

    Good friendly staff. Food basic pub grub. Nice breakfast. Good housekeeping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the straps stairs which can't be change no complaints

    Our room was a good size, enough to tea coffee and sugar, enough towels for all three of us. We had a good even meal at a good price, breakfast was also good. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit on the small side, and bathroom not well designed - nowhere to put toiletries and makeup, and lighting very poor.

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Dinner was fabulous, and breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pub basically with rooms above so we didn't really mingle in the place. My daughters only 15. We looked at the menu, I thought it was a little expensive so we opted for fish and chips in the nearest town. It was ok probably wouldn't bother again as we like to go to different places. It was a little expensive for a one night stay. But the breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom was very basic

    This property is an old inn with history but although it could possibly do with the rooms updating it was comfortable and ideal as a stop off when travelling further North.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very hot weekend so may be a fan in the room as it only had 1 window.

    people, food, location all good.quirky building which dates back to the history of the bulding it;s self.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dreadful, mattress was well past its date and as for the yellow piece of foam on top!! Could hear the people in the next room talking!!

    Staff were very friendly and polite. Evening meal, only had once, not that great. Breakfast was a lot better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big bath with shower head but no stand for shower? A fair distance from Carlisle city centre so own transportation a must I would conclude

    Very welcoming, beautiful inn, and extremely comfortable 4 poster bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls which was surprising in such an old building (must have been plasterboard). Could hear the neighbours on both sides

    food was excellent apart from the steak pie with soggy pastry on top

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not turn on shower without first getting wet...the shower head could not be removed from its holder. It's normally nice to test the shower temperature before stepping in.

    Very comfortable bed. Good restaurant in the pub for dinner. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Food was beautiful, rooms were spotless, comfortable and the staff welcoming friendly and helpful. This was our second stay and we will be back again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just a tad off the beaten track.

    Everything was as you would expect in a first class hotel but at B & B prices. It was good that the establishment was also able to offer a really good evening meal. The room size, cleanliness, facilities and food were all top drawer. There was ample car parking on site.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - it was a bit difficult to find...but once found never forgotten!

    A lovely property stepping back into history-lots of atmosphere and character! Very comfortable beds ... GREAT Breakfast with variety...Meals in Restaurant was excellent and value for money. Good parking. all round a lovely quiet countryside location with a relaxed feel after a long journey by road. Really thought this was the best we had stayed in. Staff so helpful. A pleasure to stay there and guys "THANKS FOR THE MEMORY"!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really something bad but if I were to choose maybe the fact that the reception was not manned. Saying that all you had to do was ring the bell and someone would be there shortly.

    Loved the location and how well the inn looked. A good mix of a 17th century Inn with modern amenities. Too bad we didn't stay for longer. Great choice for breakfast and although we didn't try it the dinner menu looked very nice with loads of options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was happy overall with our stay, but these are the slight niggles I can think of: 1. Our room seemed more modern than the rest of the inn, and was a little on the small size; the door only just cleared the radiator. 2. I would have liked some plain natural bio yogurt to be out for breakfast, but to be fair I didn't try asking for any.

    Plenty of parking space, friendly welcome, plenty of character in the public rooms. Our room (number 7) was compact but clean and comfortable, with a view of the garden. We could adjust the radiator setting and open the window. We had a peaceful night's sleep. Dinner was served in the bar, and was tasty with generous portions. The waiting staff were attentive. Breakfast was good, with a choice of juice, cereals, fruit and flavoured yogurts. The cooked breakfast was freshly made to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Lovely place to stay, always so welcoming and excellent food and facilities. Close to M6 so ideal for travellers who want something special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to improve on.

    This is such a lovely place to stay. Always made to feel so welcome and the food and accommodation are great. Colin and his staff really deserve credit for making such a good experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room ks a bit small - but given it's 400 years old and an ensuite has been added to the rooms. Can't complain

    Lovely position in a beautiful and quiet location - great for a get away. Very handy to historical sites. Great staff, good food and lots of ambience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little out of the way and you need a car, but that's not really a grumble, just a fact.

    Beautifully decorated premises with some superb period features

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant in this hotel was great. The bar a real Olde Worlde type place and it was full which tells you they are doing something right. I loved the working log fires and low beams and the fact that it was a "local" seemed right somehow.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't normally write reviews but we really enjoyed our stay and I promised my friends I would! The room was a good size, very clean and a decent hair dryer was also provided which is somewhat unusual in my experience! Our beds were also incredibly comfortable, I don't think anyone had a bad night sleep :) I was afraid the restaurant and breakfast wouldn't live up to our expectations as that was the deciding factor in choosing this place over a few others around Carlisle but if anything it exceeded them!! Would definitely go back if I was ever in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4 pm opening time, we arrived at 2 and everything in the local area was closed, so please bare this in mind when booking. no good when your busting for the toilet after a 2 hour drive!

    The place is lovely, clean rooms, did not eat here but the food and service looked great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report.

    Excellent quiet location. Beautiful old building, spotlessly clean right through premises. Our room was very nicely decorated, bed was very comfy. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, very homely atmosphere. Food was excellent serving large portions, good value for money. Would stay there again when visiting the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience of the hotel was all good. The staff were very helpful. The food at breakfast and in the evening was superb, plenty of choice so we ate in both nights..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duck (not Grouse), once you caught your head on it twice you soon learn. You have to go to find out what I mean.

    Nice quiet location with welcoming coal fires and even more welcoming staff. Room is on the smaller size than you will be used to in a hotel but this place was not built yesterday and that was the size of the rooms then, just adds more character as far as I am concerned. Good hearty breakfast. Felt that it was really good value for money. If I am in that area again will have not any hesitation about booking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit cold in the bedroom (it was freezing outside and I guess being an old building it is difficult to keep warm). Noise travelled from next room. bed comfortable but noisy

    Good atmosphere. Good food. Friendly staff (family run business). Open fires.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was friendly service in a location that was good for us. Close to family Food was excellent evening meal exceptional and good variety choice for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had let them know that we were vegetarians and they made sure they had veggie sausages to offer us for breakfast! Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room had everything we needed and was a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been a bit bigger. No sockets adjacent to dressing table.

    Staff, service and food were all excellent! Public areas were all welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A desk surface in the room

    Friendly relaxed inn away from the tourist trail. Lovely food with some Latin American options - delicious. Cosy. Good conversation at the bar for anybody who wants it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place in the country, quiet, friendly staff & locals who use the pub. Food is excellent & the room was lovely. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having booked in advance,after driving all day staving and tired we arrived and could only be served fish and chips which neither of us would have chosen. the kitchen apparently closed at 8.30pm room was very basic but clean.

    it was clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu needs updating.

    The staff are efficient and friendly. The traditional ambience of a country inn has been conserved with a bar full of character and comfortable rooms. The menu has some interesting dishes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosy Friendly environment in Bar & Restaurant. Quaint Nice rooms - the building is obviously quite old, but the whole place is well kept and the rooms are fairly modern Pleasant, professional staff Big car park,, plenty of spaces Good hearty breakfasts in a large breakfast restaurant Good value for money It might seem a wee bit off the beaten track (you will prob need sat nav to get there) but it is only about 15-20 mins off the M6 and it makes a good place to break a journey (eg we were travelling from Somerset to Scotland and were looking for somewhere conveneient to stop)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have been better to control instead of just a hot and cold tap mixer. Bed a bit low for an 85 year old to get in and out of.

    Welcoming, comfortable, good food and nice people what more could you want?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were stunned when we found this place, a beautiful inn in the middle of nowhere. We were staying there to finish our Scottish tour. It was comfy,warm and lovely evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being too full to eat their gorgeous looking desserts!!

    Fantastic little find. Food is fresh and delicious. Staff and locals were very friendly.lovely accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything at this place but you need to be aware that it is on quiet little back streets and very quiet location. We used it a as a base for exploring Hadrians Wall and avoiding big towns.

    The rooms were lovely with everything we needed. Great bathroom and shower. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and it was great after a long day to be able to have dinner at our accommodation especially as the Inn is a bit out of the way. A car is definitely needed to get there. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was rather hoping to be in the middle of a picturesque Cumbrian village! The String of Horses is apparently 17th century in origin but the village around it, as far as I could see, was mainly middle to late 20th/ early 21st century!

    Everything was attractively decorated and well cared-for. Dinner was excellent (substantial) and breakfast was even better! Our room was comfortable, well laid out and equipped, if a little on the small size (which didn't matter at all). The String of Horses is convenient for the M6 - about 5 miles (ten minutes) away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sharp knives would have made the very good steak much easier to eat - a minor moan but you wanted to know.

    Very warm welcome from Colin and all his staff very good. Enjoyed the food, steak cooked exactly to order. Good atmosphere and attentive service in a busy local inn and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bin in the bathroom was not emptied and the glasses from the night before were not removed. The breakfast was disappointing one rasher of bacon and no Cumberland sausage which we expected having had a lovely breakfast here last time we stayed (be it a long time ago thought) tinned mushrooms and plastic tablecloth was also not something I expected. The owners have a lot to learn about traditional Cumbrian hospitality

    A lovely old coaching inn with loads of atmosphere we had an upgrade and had the room with the jacuzzi. The evening meal was good, lots of it and we were all set for a traditional Cumberland breakfast the next day. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming inn tucked back in a quiet neighborhood near Carlisle, Hadrian's Wall and the Lake District. The inn was built in the 1600's and including many original fittings that add to the ambiance. Don't miss dinner at the historic and quaint pub/restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of water hot enough to take a bath, and no ability to make an outside call from the room. Understand that work had recently been done to water system and thermostat turned down. Should have been checked before room used.

    Food was very good, but the pub was very quiet the evening I stayed, so there was little atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: