Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun Inn 5 stars

Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AU, United Kingdom

#3 of 8 hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room at the front of the building. Double glazing has been added internally and this makes ventilation in the bedroom less than efficient, and in the bathroom impossible. A steady temperature of 24 degrees isn’t comfortable, and an electric fan does not reduce the temperature.

    Located in a delightful small town. Food really good , interesting short menu for dinner and wide range of choices at breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom a reasonable size and properly furnished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 is not as nice as our last room 10. On booking it offered 2 rooms at the same price. 9sm and 22sm saying the 22 was above average size to other rooms in the area. So I ticked the largest room. When this went through the hotel knew nothing about the big room and so we ended up in a small room which was disappointing.

    The location, decor, food and overall enviroment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that the Sun Inn could control! There was no mobile phone signal but that seemed to be throughout Kirkby Lonsdale.

    The Sun Inn is a lovely, warm, welcoming place. The room was beautifully decorated, with a large, very comfortable bed, fluffy towels and robes, great shower and toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. They also offer free hot drinks from the bar for the duration of the stay. Both the breakfast and the dinner were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would echo what others have noted about availability of hot water. Took an age to run hot and, even on full temp., was not really hot. Staff recognise the issue.

    Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff & a relaxed atmosphere. Rooms well appointed and spotless. Great biscuits !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms struggle with water supply. Long time to run hot water, & better described as warm when it finally arrived.

    Comfortable, coaching inn style of pub. Excellent breakfasts. High quality dinner menu. Well appointed rooms. Good range of other eating & drinking options right on the doorstep if you fancy a change.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of on-site parking is a drawback (I don't like leaving my classic car in a public car park); hand basin in room 9 was not draining properly

    friendly/helpful staff, quiet room, decent beer in the bar, and good quality breakfast (didn't have dinner)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit stingey on portion sizes. Got given half a small glass of orange juice and were given half a slice of toast each with our cooked breakfast. Need to be more generous with portions especially when it’s not cheap to stay there. But food was very nice despite this though

    Lovely, clean bedrooms, comfortable beds. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to be ready at 3pm but on arrival at 4 pm the room still wasn’t ready. A charge of £30 for 2 small dogs seems expensive to me. For the price I paid I would have expected a better choice of food and service at Breakfast which was limited to 8.30 am to 9.30 am a limited time in my experience. Over priced IMO

    Clean room comfortable bed good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couple of minor maintenance issues in bathroom.

    Uniformly warm welcome from all staff. Pub is ideally situated in the middle of town, yet quiet. Walk out through the churchyard is beautiful & opens up to a spectacular vista over the river. High quality food, both at breakfast & in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Really comfy bed, excellent cooked breakfast with a smashing black pudding from the local butchers - a must try !! The Inn was lovely and clean and an extra special touch from the owners for our anniversary was a real treat and very thoughtful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The Sun Inn is everything you would expect from a first class hotel. The staff, service and the quality of the food is outstanding! Stay here and you won’t be disappointed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were very friendly, food exceptional. They even gave us dog bowls, towels and treats for our two little princesses. We were offered free hot drinks in the bar and given a parking permit for the duration of the stay. We will defiantly be using the Sun Inn again. Highly recommend - 5 star

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was excellent, there were also a number of small extras such as homemade flapjacks, flask of milk for the room, etc that made it extra special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms small no wfi in my room,, to many dogs in bar area where people were eating ,, which was upsetting .. photos of rooms created an illusion of spendor they were not ... but extremely clean

    very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A table d'hote menu would have been good. Meals much cheaper in other hotel in town.

    Beautiful omelette. Good choice on dinner menu. Fresh milk in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages for hot water to come through ( which there was a note to say) & I was aware of wasting a lot of water.

    Crunchy muesli & good mixture of fruit for breakfast as well as the full English breakfast .plenty of tea & coffee availability . Pleasant helpful staff. Lovely fluffy towels & robes. Roaring fires well stocked up- ideal on a cold day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small Long wait for cooked meal at breakfast

    Complimentary hot drinks in the bar at all times Being dog friendly Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A cosy hotel, with a nice bar and selection of real ales. The food was delicious and well presented. Our room was spotless, very comfortable bed and there were nice touches in the room. The staff were excellent being friendly, helpful and very accommodating . Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not that I didn’t like it as it was not a problem but the reviews said that you received a dog mat, bowl , towel and a goody bag for your pet but there wasn’t anything in the room, I did bring my own anyway so wasn’t relying on it anyway

    The bed was very comfy , everything was well done and a lot of lovely attention to detail, very clean everywhere, very dog friendly too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room 8 with no full bathroom ( sink in room) no croissants or danish for breakfast although they had them before , very noisy and rowdy in bar after 9. 30

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 2 which is quite small. It overlooks the main street and shops and didn't feel very private with the curtains open. The double bed felt small and seemed to dip in the middle. We didn't sleep well and that was made worse by the dray man arriving at an ungodly hour in the morning (before 8am) and chucking a load of barrels into the cellar

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Megan. The breakfast, as usual was excellent and made from local ingredients. You can start with either cereals, fresh fruits, poached plums or yoghurt and then have a full English breakfast or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, poached egg on toast etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Countryside View - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few television channels but maybe the reception was limited due to location

    Warm, cosy bar,excellent friendly staff, great bedroom, oodles of hot water, hearty breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a criticism but an observation! The menu does not express the locally sourced ingredients that so well support it. What a butcher!.....but I would have preferred a selection of your marvellous local cheeses rather than something from Hampshire.

    A warm efficient welcome directed us to the unloading bay, the public car park with a hotel pass and a superb room. Every element of our stay here was of an excellent quality, room, food at dinner and breakfast, bar facilities and particularly the staff. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closed very early - not really like a pub. Evening meal, although very tasty, was extremely tiny portions, so not good value for money

    Pretty much everything, Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not sure about the washbasin being separate from the bathroom. I know its an old building but the floor boards in the room were annoyingly noisy.

    the bed was comfy, plenty of storage, breakfast very tasty, would have liked bread rolls on offer. great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The attention to detail at every level was amazing. From the greeting on entrance, quality of food and wine in the evening and amazing breakfast. Faultless!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cannot think of anything we did not like.

    Location of the Sun Inn, for us very convenient. We like it so much that we have stayed a few times and will continue to visit in the future. Very pleasant staff, good food all very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was no problem for us but people should be aware that there is no parking at the hotel. You get a voucher for free parking at various car parks but these are a little walk away so wouldn't suit everybody.

    A lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a lovely mid week break and found the location ideal for exploring the town and local area. Very comfortable room, staff friendly and efficient, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve

    Beautiful quirky room on top floor with lovely toiletries from local bath house shop smelled so amazing I made a purchase! Thick fluffy towels, actually everything was such good quality. Staff so helpful, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Countryside View - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little hard to park, but the hotel provides a permit for parking in the local car parks (which is a bit of walk). Room was a little small, but no major problem.

    Brilliant location - view over the church yard was beautiful. Wonderful dinner and breakfast was good too. Great bar - lots of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous place and lovely friendly people, food was delicious and very reasonably priced .Room was comfortable with the best toiletries I've had in a hotel,keep up the good work,we had a great weekend!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The beds soft and so comfy. The rooms and complimentary items give the right touches to the stay. Complimentary Coffee and teas in the bar/restaurant and bedroom. Staff really friendly. The Sun Inn itself is full of old charm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing though morning coffee in a cafetière was nothing special.

    Everything was of a high standard in the hotel and the staff were particularly pleasant and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was of a high standard too and the plates offered were modem, well presented and not heavy on the stomach (unlike a lot of pub hotels). The breakfast offerings were varied and everything we tried was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a handy drop off point but may not suit everyone to have to find parking. We were there when the music festival was on in June but managed to get a space just a little way round the corner at the church. So wasn't a negative for us.

    Very comfortable beds and cleanliness was excellent. Staff attentive and friendly. Had a excellent breakfast ..... good quality with excellent coffee, table settings etc. Hotel is central and there are a selection of small boutiques and quirky little shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells but not really an issue.

    Great location, quality, staff, food and ambience. Car parking permit is a great idea. Indulge yourself with a great menu and wine list. Staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Would not hesitate to recommend or visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the room temperature.....too hot! A top sheet on the bed would have solved the problem as the doona was too hot.

    I loved the location, the ambiance, excellent staff, the room decor and bathroom products on offer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small but very comfortable. Unfortunately the heating and towel rail were not on and the towels consequently did not dry, however they provided us with clean towels.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good food if a little expensive. Car parking a problem but hotel provides guests with a parking voucher which can be used in two car parks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the outset The Sun Inn exudes quality. Hannah couldn't have been more helpful by email prior to the visit and was there to welcome us on arrival. In short this inn has excellent staff; great food; comfortable rooms, that are dog friendly, in a delightful location. Thank you for a super stay, we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL GOOD

    WE HAVE BEEN MANY TIMES. EXCELLENT LOCATION. LOVELY BAR AND BEDROOMS AND RESTAURANT. FRIENDLY STAFF. GOOD FOOD. NOW HAS NEW OWNERS. WE HOPE IT STAYS AS GOOD

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fabulous restaurant (evening meal and huge breakfast), dog friendly , excellent attentive staff, quality bed and breakfast. Airy sound proofed bedroom, Exceptionally good all round. We will be back and definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good outlook from our window and the church bells, although delightful during the day, not good throughout the night. Having said that ear plugs are provided but we didn't find them until the morning.

    Excellent staff; friendly and welcoming. Dinner was amazing; probably one of the best meals we have ever had.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all we just couldnt find the shampoo

    The little extras like perfume , the milk in the flasks , the cake , the dressing gowns , the stafff .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing was taken care of nothing was lacking.Even the room had a towel,dog bowl and biscuits for our dog plus a map of dog walks.Parking permit for any of the carparks was also included.Food excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Countryside View - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny downside was the parking but there is nothing you can do about that and it certainly wouldn't stop us staying again, may just be a problem if mobility is an issue

    The whole place is fabulous, from the roaring fires to the Bath House Toiletries in the bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    The room was excellent. Very clean. Free cups of tea and coffee in bar area. Excellent staff. Helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Had a meal in restaurant the night before and food was amazing. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room was a standard double (as superiors sold out) : we knew this, but those beds are only just big enough really. One of superior rooms had a shower over bath- our party in that room would've preferred a separate shower cubicle

    Staff very welcoming, couldn't do enough for us. Room excellent with lovely 'bath house' toiletries. Fantastic restaurant- should have rosettes/stars. Complimentary tea/coffee in the bar was a nice touch, with free papers to read too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food ! Quality of food poor , ate dinner and breakfast . Dinner four of us ate and we were all disappointed with food . The only nice thing on the breakfast was the scrambled egg , bacon very salty and burnt , mushrooms dry , sausage unpleasant.

    Rooms very nice , bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet welcome pack provided. Towels bowls biscuits and walking map. We were all made to feel extremely welcome. Delicious breakfast. Didn't have to leave dogs in the room whilst having breakfast so felt completely relaxed. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely decor and atmosphere, but more than anything else the staff were superb. I was travelling with an elderly lady and they couldn't have been kinder. Everything was thought of including a cup of tea when we arrived, help with baggage, room service when we were too tired to eat in the restaurant, and--on our return from a day out--our personal stores of milk and cold drinks left over from our journey put in an ice bucket. The hotel even provided ear plugs for snoring and the church bells in a little box! The dinner in the restaurant was delicious. The inn is situated right in the middle of the lovely town of Kirkby Lonsdale in short walking distance from lovely boutiques and the world-renowned Ruskin's View over the Lune River.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i felt the evening menu quite restrictive, not a lot of choice in my opinion also ifeel that the prices you charge it would be nice to either offer one nights free evening meal or a consession for residents .

    the room was very spacious and comfortable, bed very comfy also bathroom toiletries as usual were excellent also tea and coffee available in lounge for residents.another very nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i think our room was located above the kitchen, it did seem very hot at night, but could of just been me as my husband slept really well.

    I loved the location of this hotel, as we have a small dog and we could just step out of the hotel into the churchyard, that was so beautiful and great for a walk for our dog. The churchyard led to a path to Ruskins view which really was breath taking especially at 7.00 am as the mist was lifting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved staying here. Great attentive service, fantastic food with lovely wine. Our dog was made most welcome, the room was comfortable clean and peaceful. We will return soon. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second visit to The Sun Inn . The staff, food and accommodation were all excellent, as was my experience on my first visit a few months earlier. I particularly liked the dog towel/dog bowl and biscuits left in the room for my dog. Highly recommend the hotel - with or without your dog!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking separate from inn but free ticket from them.

    Centre of town so easy walk to all shops and restaurants. Great rooms and bathrooms. Staff great and make you feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to return parking permit, (would prefer to have one that you can discard) and too much noise from street till quite late.

    Bed comfy, bathroom great at end of days walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location. Excellent service and comfort in a luxury hotel. Food was amazing in the restaurant. Hearty breakfast in the morning. All our needs catered for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that let the place down was there was no wifi connection on the top floor where my room was located 😰

    Lovely place to stay. The room was lovely & clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance of the parking facilities is a disadvantage, but unavoidable. The evening meal was good but we felt a little pricey.

    Old Inn atmosphere and the keen-ness of the owners to fit the property out in an appropriate, individual and good quality manner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was unexceptional and eat out the next night. Breakfast was slow and mean - poached eggs on toast came as a lonely single egg on an empty plate. The room was tiny and claustrophobic. Arrival and parking is difficult. Not a 5 star establishment. .

    Nothing was particularly bad but it just didnt live up to the hype.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Food ALWAYS first rate...our fourth visit. Rooms all v comfortable . Amazing staff- never met a grumpy or clueless one.. Will be back for sure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent oldy worldy hotel beautifully modernised with good facilities. Restaurant a bit pricy but excellent food. All the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is NO parking. However there is a drop off facility for luggage and FREE parking has been arranged at several nearby public car parks. I would be a little worried about finding a space at the height of the season.

    Wonderful location. Good cuisine and a marvellous individually prepared breakfast. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. I left my i-pad charger which was posted to me first class at no charge.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    very pleasant and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't fault anything

    Stunning room and bathroom, superb location, great breakfast, warm welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and Food excellent, super clean. Dog had a ball!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    Quiet and comfortable room, nice bar, good breakfasts, located in lovely little town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the handmade biscuits in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was rather small in standard room.

    Everything! Healthy breakfasts, delicious evening meals, well-equipped rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful accomadation,lovely friendly staff, we will definitely be comming back thank you for making us welcome .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay from arrival to departure

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sun Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: