Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London B&B and inn reviews
  4. London B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Sunborn London Yacht Hotel

Reviews of Sunborn London Yacht Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Royal Victoria Dock, Newham, London, E16 1XL, United Kingdom

#46 of 462 B&Bs and inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5716 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.5
    The room and the romantic package
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The member of staff on reception who seemed rude I also didnt like the fact all the outside areas felt very shut off and bad access to them

    The room and the romantic package

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel impressed us and we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the food was very good, the drinks we felt were overpriced. Next time we stay we will eat out.

    Everything about the hotel impressed us and we will return.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.1
    Pretty but some issues with facilities - double bed was NOT a double bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid for a double bed but got two single beds pushed together with a painful divide in the middle! Would have loved to give a good review but let down by that. As well as rose petals put on bed (for girlfriends 21st)being plastic when I paid £45 for them! Also room was a little cold despite heater maxed

    Very pretty room and lights were very nice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    It was completely different to anything I’ve ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid for a family room and the second bed wasn’t made and had no bed sheets or duvet for it !

    It was completely different to anything I’ve ever stayed at

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    A most pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar area was lovely; but lighting, although very pretty, made me dizzy. Maybe I'm getting old !?!

    Lovely spacious room, with excellent bed; balcony a bonus (thank you for the upgrade). Great views from yacht. Close to underground trains. Staff very helpful. Complimentary extras in the room very appreciated. Probably the best hotel in London that I've stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms where well equipped and clean. The dinner area and bar area was beautiful with great views

    The location was great. The service was impeccably good and help full

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    The evening meal was delicious as was breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure about the extra £40 taken at check in. What was this for exactly?

    The evening meal was delicious as was breakfast. The staff were friendly and efficient. The bed was really comfortable so much so we overslept!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed out stay and we will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a trip to celebrate my wife's birthday - we had had a busy day in London and the Sunborn was a welcome retreat at the end of the day. The complimentary drink at the bar (as it was my wife's birthday and the complimentary desert (with candles) was a nice touch and much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.5
    Nice But Not Luxury
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room we were given was dark, dingy, not very clean. Was upgraded to a other room that was far better but nothing like shown in photos! Communal areas are small bar, restaurant etc. Not a luxury yacht!

    Joanna on reception was fantastic in sorting out oyr room issues. Great location for local attractions and landmarks

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.3
    The place in which the boat is docked is peaceful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The constant running of the toilet all night where the flusher was broken .... unsettled our nights sleep and stay ... anniversary slightly dented because of this !!! Also the breakfast was a little overdone , or mushy ...

    The place in which the boat is docked is peaceful and perfect for a getaway .. the staff were great , the boat pristine , and just a perfect little place for a couple to spend some quality time together ..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing location and amazing night stay in such a different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of entertainment on the boat may have been nice as obviously there wasn’t a huge amount to do apart from dinner and drinks but that’s a minor thing and Ofcorse that’s hard to do!

    Amazing location and amazing night stay in such a different hotel. Right next to the cable cars to the O2. We turned up to breakfast 5 mins before it was due to end and they rushed to get us plates, ensure the food was still hot, sat us at a table with an amazing view - plus the food was delicious. The service went above and beyond, lending us a phone charger for free, upgrading us to an executive room with a balcony and view of the excel centre. Amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed. Meant to be a luxury stay and is very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower had left over body hair in. The mattress was as thin as a cot mattress. The room was very basic and the restaurant was very basic looking with unbalanced tables and very poor service.

    The reception staff were welcoming

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful venue, very good food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely hot at night and the thermostat did not appear to work. It was struck at 24 degrees. Needed more than two small bottles of water in that heat.

    The room was beautiful and much bigger than expected. The view from the balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    The place is literally 2 mins walk from the DLR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is literally 2 mins walk from the DLR. The staff were so friendly at check in and check out. The place is absolutely stunning, loved every bit of it. I tried ordering food off the night menu but they couldn't make it, as the chef was preparing breakfast, however to my surprise they offered me a complimentary full english breakfast for 2, which was a great way to start the day. The scenery in the morning is beautiful, from the balcony.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.0
    A captains room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a night club above our room, started about 9 pm and finished at 3.30pm first night... we didn’t sleep! Second night it finished at 1pm! Sleeping is not a priority in this hotel, we also had a 5 year old child with us! On complaining we were given complimentary breakfast and 20% off our first night stay.

    A very nice exec room 20 m2, With balcony overlooking the lovely Royal Victoria Docks

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Unusually unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! The staff were fantastic, very attentive

    Unusually unique! Great location, just out of the way enough after a busy day wandering round London

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    Rooms excellent and hotel excellent no complaints as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No drop off point so if raining you would get wet along with your luggage, and family..for the price you pay that’s not good really. The food was very poor, had to send mine back twice as wasn’t cooked ( vegetables rock hard or raw, meat luke warm with portions very small, ordered turkey festive dinner with all the trimmings ( see photo) which left me eating alone......

    Rooms excellent and hotel excellent no complaints as was very clean, fresh and comfortable except air con which hummed and you couldn’t switch it off......

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    We got an upgrade.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door wouldn't stay open when needed to.

    We got an upgrade. And lovely comfortable bed. No unnecessary noise.and no complication. Friendly staff and also a lovely blanket if needed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Peaceful and idyllic change to city hotels
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was brilliant.

    Idyllic location away from the hustle of London, a stones throw from the DLR and such good value for money! We slept so well and there was no noise at all, even the aeroplanes can’t be heard! Really clean and staff very pleasant hope to stay again and take advantage of breakfast and dining next time.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Really comfortable room, great staying.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were not really soundproof and even if the environment is really quiet it might be a issue if you have noisy neighbors. Not a big deal, but if happened to me one night.

    Well, the hotel is on a really nice yacht. Pretty impressive. There is a DLR train stop close by and you can easily reach the center in 30/40 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Always a pleasure staying on the Sunborne, our 2nd stay even better than the 1st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did have some issues with hearing loud noise from the floor above us, but it didn't continue beyond 9.30pm so it didn't bother us too much.

    The staff are very attentive, and will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Very comfy beds, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    4.6
    I loved the location of the property and how the property...
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having paid nearly £300 for 1 nights stay in an executive king suit we really had our expectations high due to viewing the properties websites before we booked. This was riverside view but unfortunately the view was the best part of our trip rather than the experience itself. I maybe slightly more upset as it was my birthday as well but being given a room that clearly was not an executive king but was two single beds pushed together, Pringles left behind the sofa from previous guest, poor cleanliness in the bathroom and our champagne on ice being champagne in water it was all the little things that you should not come across when paying this price for 1 night stay. We are still in contact with the property and are trying to come to a solution we’re everyone is happy so fingers crossed it’s a good outcome as it’s the least we deserve after such a disheartening and expensive stay. We just wanted to experience what we paid for but I am sure it is in sunborns best interested to meet every customers need and keep everyone guest satisfied.

    I loved the location of the property and how the property was presented from the outside - millionaires lifestyle was defiantly in mind until we got inside the balcony in our room was fantastic though really nice view day and night no noise what so ever from other guests or the commuting outside world but of course this comes at an extra price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Even though we had a few problems when arrived we still would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the upfront fee you had to pay for your stay, its already expensive to stay at the sunborn. Also even though it was a beautiful place where we stayed things where falling apart, etc ... door handle, fridge door, so was scared that we wouldn't get our deposit back even though these problems wasn't caused by us.

    Very comfortable stay, would stay again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    This Sunborn yacht hotel was fabulous very high end clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that we didn’t disapprove of and we Will Definitely recommend and we will be returning here.

    This Sunborn yacht hotel was fabulous very high end clean and very welcoming, can’t wait to go back. The bed was huge and very comfortable there was complimentary water in fridge both sparkling and still which was replenished free of charge daily, coffee machine and plenty of supplies, when we arrived we were upgraded to an executive room with a balcony overlooking dockside which was very pleasant. The staff were lovely we didn’t have breakfast here as we wanted to go out and about but we had an evening 3 course meal in the hotel and the food was delicious and served promptly with small interval between courses which was perfect, the cost was very competitively prices at £29 for 3 courses !!! the waiting staff couldn’t do enough for you highly recommend this hotel and if you are wanting to go into central London def go on the emirates cable car then boat taxi and final tube into London fantastic and you get to see many sights along the way all in all for the cable and boat return was £22 each such a bargain for over an hours-journey in total.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, calming and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The atmosphere, the style, rooms are lovely, views on the dockside are stunning, highly recommend a room with a balcony riverside. Breakfast was tasty although a little pricy for what it was. The view whilst eating breakfast is lovely. Staff are wonderful and will do anything to help. Room service was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure it is worth £300 for 2 nights room only I think they could include breakfast I'm the price and a voucher for a drink

    The staff were amazing and so polite and friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were on the bottom floor would have been nice to be a little higher up

    the whole atmosphere and experience was excellent , easy check in and out , we will be back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed in hundreds of hotels, but my wife absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have stayed in hundreds of hotels, but my wife absolutely loved the Sunborn Yacht hotel. - So different, so special ! Had a lovely weekend in London, for our anniversary. With a trip to the O2 to finish it off ! ( Frankie Valli ) Very memorable weekend, would definitely recommend this hotel. -Or you could stay in the Ibis and look out of your window at this beautiful super yacht !!!!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic will definitely like to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to fault

    Lovely friendly staff comfortable room and bed fantastic food and a lovely young lady called Jessie who made us lovely cocktails and made us laugh x

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    A different overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a huge rabble of teenagers/early 20's in the bat around midnight.. Shouting across the bar, opening & slamming doors & no manager came over & asked them to just reign it in a bit..i was really disappointed with that..

    The room was great with a balcony, a great double shower & a fab brekkie in the morning

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.9
    Really nice, but I had higher expectations
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As carpet fitter, I found the flooring in very bad state. All the hallways are rippled, and quite dangerous. This part of the hotel really needs updating

    It was all just nice,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    2.5
    nothing very bad experience from the beginning to the and
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room 4040 the bathroom was a lots of hairs on the floor we had for 2 persons only 2 small bottles of water well not exceptional

    nothing very bad experience from the beginning to the and

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.3
    Good overall but a bad bed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately me and my partner was given to single beds pushed together with one double mattress on top ! The beds kept sliding on the carpet ! It was impossible to have a cosy night ! We didn't notice this until arriving back at the hotel in the early hours of the morning !

    Overall the property was great lovely staff on arrival. It was nice to receive complementary water ! Also, the room was very spacious and the carpet was like walking on clouds !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't stay again , disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was not good.. to pay 19.50 for breakfast with hardly anything left and poor service. we ended up going elsewhere for breakfast

    The service was very good. Staff were exceptional

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was obviously under the bar/ reception and horrendously noisy with heels clomping above us until early hours Saw cleaner throw discarded coffee overboard which looked very unprofessional I thought

    Comfy room with good facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, and somewhere different to stay in London. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key cards were temperamental. They did not always work, but when reception were aware this was rectified. This was the only fault. Other than that a brilliant stay.

    The location was perfect, and within easy reach of the cable cars to the 02 Arena. The online images were an exact match to the yacht, and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Beautiful luxurious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bath only shower

    Easy to get to by car, immaculatey clean, friendly staff, good quality breakfast. Beautiful decor. Walking distance to shops and outside bars and reataurants too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good, fun hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive breakfast! We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel instead went to Starbucks 2 mins walk away.

    Very fun hotel, something a little bit different. Room was very clean and spacious. Great facilities nearby, the Emirates Skyline is really fun (see pic of hotel from the skyline). Could spend all day in the O2 building. Hoping to bring our kids back with us next time. Out the way of busy central London but lots to do!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel could’ve informed us that there would be a party on with loud music on until 11-12pm. Fortunately the beds were so comfy and we were very tired we just fell asleep!

    Joanna was lovely. When I phoned reception as the coffee machine wasn’t working, they gave us 2 cappuccinos and pastry’s which was great service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    nice pleasant stay , clean comfortable throughout, but definatly overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we thought the prices in the bar/restaurant were very over priced, hence we didn't dine there, which was disappointing ,however we had a drink in the bar and we were unhappy to pay £21 for 2 drinks, we understand that in London prices are higher than normal but thought for a wine and G&T this was just being ripped off, we feel if the prices were lowered there would be more atmosphere in the bar area.

    we had a lovely weekend at the sunborn hotel, theres not a lot around the area, but we used the tubes to get around and about, thought it was a lovely hotel and would recommend this to friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    If you need to be at Excel, this is the place to stay -...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was good for the first day, but having the same breakfast everyday is very disapointing; might be better to mix things up, and have the english breakfast only as an additional option.

    If you need to be at Excel, this is the place to stay - great location, big rooms, lovely interior.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.0
    Looks better from the outside than in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated furniture inside room, more of a glorified Premier Inn and definitely not worth the price Trying to order room service (limited choice too) was near impossible Just didn’t have the wow factor as portrayed on-line Significant aircraft noise from City airport

    Hotel reception staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for the O2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying extra for breakfast at £20 pp and not having fresh tea/coffee. Poor quality bread for toast. Standard English breakfast not worthy of the price.

    Great location for the O2. Stunning yacht. Rooms were large with separate seating area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.0
    The location was good , breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was told I was paying for a river view this was not the case! I was told it was an executive room it was far from executive standard. Was charged 40 pounds which they said they would put back in my son's account the next morning when they left, then informed him it would take five days to go into his account.

    The location was good , breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    2.5
    pirates and thieves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    if you want to be robbed you can choose this hotel , basicly after stay ,2 days later realised charge of 140.06 on my credit card( hotel cost was 113 ) after getting in touch with manager,i was told that this bill is from the bar 😀i have no idea even where bar was there,good that i could despute this transaction wit amex ,so stay away

    nothing ,ship of pirates,stay away

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.3
    We still had a enjoyable experience on the yacht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the English breakfast and the beds were not good. Two single beds pushed together. One double bed would have been much better.

    It was just so clean, staff were very good too. Especially the young man at the reception. Location was excellent for us as we were going to the 02.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot get dropped directly outside the entrance, therefore needs a approx 40 metre walk. With lots of luggage in transit it might help to create a carry bags to taxi service?

    Great value for money Lovely venue, handy for London City Airport

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Robert was fantastic, we had a birthday planned and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar closed at 12 midnight which was disappointing to be honest. As we had been informed it would be open later.!! Felt we were rushed at breakfast as the food started to disappear at 10:30.! Usually at hotels the food would be picked up at 11am. Apart from these two items everything was superb.

    Robert was fantastic, we had a birthday planned and everything was in place and it was a great set up so thanks to Robert and his team. 👍🏽. I will definitely come back to stay again and would recommend this property for special occasions. It’s a stones throw away from the DLR and just 20 mins in to central London so great property and great location and FANTASTIC Staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.7
    Great service from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were woken up by some thudding on the on both nights around 3am. The morning of check out we were woken up by thudding which was causing the bed to shake. This ruined our overall comfort and sleep.

    Great service from staff. The room looked great and was prepared to my requirements.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing night away with friends - Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We stayed for my cousins 50th, there was quite a few of us, staff were friendly and professional. The boat and the rooms cleanliness/maintenance was impeccable. Amazing stay. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel very comfortable but drinks experience and evening meal extremely poor .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed weekend with friends for 50th surprise and booked meal at 8pm ,very very disappointed with food ,service was extremely poor ,very expensive for poor portions,would definitely not eat in restaurant again .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.0
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was nice but need to update it looks too old fashion for the price needs to be more modern. Also no swimming pool which was a let down as it’s meant to be a spa hotel

    Room was ok staff was lovely

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although a little pricey it was worth the stay!

    Perfect getaway for my boyfriends 30th! Lovely view, clean and comfortable room! Staff were nice and made the stay extra special! Great location and not too far from the o2!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The management is obviously poor the staff were very willing but clueless . Fawlty towers would be a good comparison. The restaurant was overpriced for what it was . Food was good. The staff willing but untrained atmosphere was lacking , the set menu that was advertised was not available even though we had asked before arriving The setting was wonderful and could have been amazing but the lights were so bright you could not see out at the spectacular views , the tables had plastic mats , service was what one would expect at a fast food restaurant . There were children in high chairs with parents dressed to go to the beach . Very poor ! , as most of the other diners had come for a special night out and were dressed in their evening attire . I have been in this business myself so maybe my standards are high. Considering what else is out there in London this is not a place I would come back to unless the management got their act together . I asked to speak to the manager and was told he didn't work in the weekend . !? The other thing that irritated us and clearly others was that everything was subject to compulsory service charge even when one bought a drink at the bar. Room whilst lovely was overheated and it was not possible to control the temp , towels were not changed and just little things could be done better . Generally our feeling was one of disappointment and of being ripped off .

    The setting and the potential this establishment has .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be better trained. Vey clinical in approach. Breakfast in room took forever then no plates (told this is normal also have to butter toast on the tray except no butter sent either. When spoke about his there was an answer for everything although we did also get an apology . Order with drinks wrong - just feels like staff dont really pay attention / listen Unable to get into restaurant on first night food in abr OK though. Ate out next night and service here in italian literally 100yds away was fantatsic warm and friendly. Wouldnt go back - just as happy to stay in the ibis next time

    rooms large. Good shower.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have nothing bad to say about this hotel! It was absolutely amazing.

    The room we were given was big and spacious and also had a roomy balcony. Everything was clean and the staff were very friendly and were always there to help. We were staying at this hotel for MCM Conic Con at the ExCel centre which is just outside. The tube is about a 5-10 minute walk away and the o2 arena is nearby too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    Could have been amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is hugely overpriced and don’t arrive towards the end of service as nothing gets filled up. Drinks are more expensive than central London Hilton prices, crazy £11 for a gin and £15 for a whiskey. They also deducted £120 from the credit card info that was taken on check in, although we settled our bill by debit card, this left a nasty taste as others may not check their accounts so diligently.

    The hotel is beautiful and worth staying. Rooms are large and very clean, location for 02 was superb.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    Nice change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy at night. Doors slamming and people above us banging their feet. Can hear every noise.... even a couple having sex!!

    The room was lovely and cosy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel with a twist - no need for sea legs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest we couldn't have been happier with the way were welcomed and treated while we were there.

    This is our second visit and it did not disappoint. Although the location is not in central London, we love where it is and book our excursions, meals etc. with that in mind. You can get the cable car within 5 minutes walk, that takes you to the O2 and you can get a Thames Clipper into london - a perfect way to arrive - and there's a bar on board! Back to the Yacht, it's a classy stay. The boat does not rock and the rooms so quiet. The staff are great and we upgraded to the Executive Suite which we would recommend for a special occasion/treat - the bathroom is WoW! However the smaller rooms are spacious and comfortable. In addition, we booked The Predator Experience - which takes place in the adjacent waters, an escape room 15 minutes away and a fab meal in a restauraunt (Cafe Spice Namaste) 15 mins away. The Good Hotel close by has a funky little coffee bar with great staff for a cake & coffee.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.8
    Night away in luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue we had was the bed. Instead of a double bed, it was two singles pushed together. This proved to be uncomfortable during the night.

    The whole experience was luxurious, the room was really good value for money as the genius scheme gave me 10% off. The room was spacious and relaxing, great place to cosy down in the evening watching TV and drinking some complimentary tea. The breakfast buffet was delicious and well worth paying for, the pastries was particularly scrummie!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.0
    Enjoyed my stay , would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast good but could have benefited from better bread for toaster and no ice in the orange juice ( made it like squash ) .

    Wonderful bed, best nights sleep as it was quite despite being near London airport, staff friendly and attentive. Restaurant good .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.7
    It was a different experience, a change from the normal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could literally hear every time someone opened a door along the corridor whilst in your room, therefore, not in any way relaxing!

    It was a different experience, a change from the normal hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.1
    Stressful due to lost booking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all they lost our booking which was stressful but they found a room when i showed them my booking .com confirmation on my phone. We could not get in their restaurant either night we stayed for two nights.

    The rooms are generous good aircon and the bed was very comfortable. It was lovely and quiet got a good nights sleep both nights.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    6.3
    Pretty but not a happy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar was advertised as 24hour, when I woke up at 6am was told I had to wait until 10pm only serving coke & beer after 2 hour of dehydrating i demanded a drink after all I was in a hotel that also advertised as 24hour bar. From the minute we checked in to the minute we left 95% of the staff gave us dirty looks & spoke down to us... was it because we wasn’t dressed to the 9’s as we was only there for a concert as it was a cheap location. The Ned & pillows in bedroom were so uncomfortable I just couldn’t wait to get home to a comfy bed and pretty bedroom.

    Beautiful interior and exterior of the yacht.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice room, very clean, staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little noisy, people walking up and down the corridor outside sounds quite loud in the room and the door to the floor bangs as they go through it. Sitting on the balcony was not very peaceful either as it’s so close to the airport but you can’t hear the planes inside the room at all so this was a plus! Breakfast was too pricy for us so we left and went elsewhere. Not enough milk provided with the coffee machine either, adding one sachet made it a shade paler but still very dark brown!

    Really nice room, very clean, staff were very helpful and friendly. It was easy to find, we got the Emirates cable car then walked the short distance to the yacht; much nicer than using the DLR! Absolutely beautiful staircases and bar area, there was also a room with sofas on our floor to sit and a main balcony looking over the dock. The toiletries smelled amazing although the conditioner was a little hard to get out of the bottle!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    What a wonderful way to spend a birthday, on a lovely clean, comfortable and beautiful yacht
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bar, bit too much

    Came to celebrate my 50th birthday, the location was perfect as came back from central London by boat and cable car. What a way to go home!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.7
    Glad I’ve been but I won’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The standard of the restaurant. Very friendly staff but we waited 40 minutes for our order to be taken for dessert. The Chef/cook could not say what ingredients had been used.

    The beds were very comfortable and apparently so was the sofa bed. The rooms were nice and clean. .............................................

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, very nice ambience and scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed- 2 twin beds pushed together with a mattress topper Couldn’t sleep in the middle of the bed as would sink into the crack between 2 mattresses. Made for an uncomfortable sleep.

    Nice hotel, very nice ambience and scenery. Nice decor

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely treat with big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was served a flat glass of prosecco in the bar so had to ask for a new one - was clearly out of a bottle which had been open for a while.

    Lovely big rooms, nice bar area. Everything was very clean and the rooms were warm. Nice strong shower. We had room service breakfast which was quite good value for money

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    3.3
    The reception and the food was about all that is any good
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very bad no plug sockets worked and plugs wouldn't stay in sockets My sink in bathroom was slow to drain and had to spit in toilet when cleaning my teeth My hand shower sprayed water in every direction apart from my hands or head The lighting in my room was dull and dim infact one of the lights over the dressing table wasn't even working my partner had to do her make up sitting on the bed

    The reception and the food was about all that is any good The outside boat was looking good that's about it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Sunborn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to upgrade and pay extra if you required a bath.

    Great experience. Anything you wanted was there. Staff were very helpful. Couldn’t fault it. spotless room. Wonderful weekend and would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.5
    Not as luxurious as one would hope
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King room with Dockview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner did not have instructions or a remote controller as promised so the room was stuffy. Also the instructions for the coffee machine were for a different machine. The ipad with room info gave no instructions to remedy these things and nor did it have receptions number to contact staff

    The interiors are very stylish

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    amazing place and the best room with a lovely relaxing view. This is how london should be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast on sunday morning was much too slow. In a group of 10 I ordered hot drinks 3 times and after waiting half hour the manager went straight into the kitchen and brought out the remaining item a large pot of tea. It was the only slight blemish on a great stay and was the first time this had happened in five visits. Normally breakfast services is fast and efficient.

    Amazing five star luxury and view of river

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely experience but my son enjoyed the stay at Sunborn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing for young children to do. It would have been nice to have some colouring pads, boards games or some sort of entertainment for kids in room or separate area.

    Lovely experience but my son enjoyed the stay at Sunborn Yacht Hotel and so happy to be on a yacht.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    my wife had a great time but only due to me surprising her. the hotel never helped with this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff did not go out of their way to help my wife enjoy her 50th birthday. you get more attention at the travel lodge. even when i said it was a special occasion they weren't remotely interested. no praise from me due to zero effort.

    the evening meal was first class, one of the best meals we've had

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sunborn London Yacht Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: