Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Dorset hotel reviews
  4. Bournemouth hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Suncliff Hotel - OCEANA COLLECTION

Reviews of Suncliff Hotel - OCEANA COLLECTION 3 stars

29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AG, United Kingdom

#57 of 80 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2811 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2019

    4.2
    Avoid, pay a few quid more and stay at the Premier Inn up the road!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OMG!! What a horrible outdated throw back to the 1970''s room!! I don't think it had changed since Bodie and Doyle stayed here as well as Arthur Dailey!! Dark, dingy, uncomfortable mattress, patched paintwork on the walls (couldn't be bothered to paint the whole wall!!) which was not even the same colour as the original paint! Chipped tiles in the bathroom, intermittent hot water when in shower (oh, forgot to mention the bathroom suite was still in 1970's Dusty Pink!) The photo's illustrated on Booking.com are not a true representation of the hotel and I will add my own when I rate & review on Google. Generally the staff were good but I did end up having an argument with the manager at the bar restaurant which was fairly confrontational considering I am a customer!!

    Beautiful location right on the edge of East Overcliff Road. As this is a resort with 3 hotels you can utilise the restaurants and facilities in each hotel. The food was amazing although we did not have breakfast so can't comment on that. Nice indoor swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they offered me was dirty. Second room the bed was broke with thick blankets underneath the mattress topper as the mattress was so thin. Very disappointed.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the morning was a bit on the go slow, you have to wait for a manager to be seated at a table which is normal but if you can find them, as you can be left waiting a little too long.

    The property was lovely, although it could use a freshen up on the outside, we had a lovely double room that was recently refurbished and has nice modern furniture and new bathroom,

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    9.6
    The staff were lovely and nothing was to much bother for...
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and nothing was to much bother for them x the only thing that could be better was our mattress was a bit uncomfortable and made a nose every time a turned. But apart from that I will be back. The food and staff at VENTANA WERE AMAZING. Thanks so much for a lovely stay xxxxxx

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    7.5
    Good value, all things considered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is showing a fair bit of wear and tear and would benefit from some refurbishment.

    Overall we were happy with our stay at the Suncliff. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and sauna. The breakfast was very good value. Parking within the grounds of the hotel is limited but there are at least 3 hotels, Suncliff, Ocean Beach and Cumberland, within the group and we found a space in Ocean Beach (I believe guests can park in any of three). There is plenty of parking on the road but it is more costly than in the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    9.6
    Upgraded to sea view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening and parking was extremely difficult as there are not many spaces available.

    Hotel situated just off the beach. We were upgraded to a larger room with ocean view and balcony. Very nice, thank you!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    5.0
    nice location shame about the breakfast and quality of the bed and yellow bath water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ran a bath and the water was a rusty colour and there was lots of rust and pieces of metal coming out of the taps and into the bath water. the shower was to weak to use and the water was never a consistent temperature.

    the room on first appearance seemed good after the first night I realised the bed was not comfortable at all and actually had a gap inbetween the middle of the base of the bed leading to me having a bad back for the next day of my holdiay

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    10
    A peaceful stay. And great entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had a table in the room to have coffee by the bay window.

    The room we had was bright and airey and wow what a veiw. We often have breaks here and the Cumberland.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like at the hotel. Very loving and polite staff. I'm so happy as I learned to swim... No such drawbacks or complaints at all. It's a perfect getaway place and well located. Keep going. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    10
    The staff were brilliant, made us feel at home, compliments...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The staff were brilliant, made us feel at home, compliments to the chef as the food was delicious. Our room was amazing and wonderful views over the sea. We would highly recommend this hotel. We will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2019

    5.4
    Ok , aimed at elderly guests , good food , expensive drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets throughout and general update

    Hotel looks tired / dated entertainment ok but aimed at more elderly guests , rooms basic, food good ! drinks expensive but decent happy ‘hour 3-6.30 daily, reasonable walk to beach. toilet on ground floor smells disgusting !!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    6.7
    A nice building and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room very old fashioned. Very small. Bathroom very small and tired. Cracked sink and units. The room looked very shabby however it was clean

    A nice building and location. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2019

    8.3
    Good stay and definitely would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room we had was quite old and not so modern. Some refurbishmentu can do better for the hotel The shower we had was not spacious enough especially my husband was very tall. I find the door knob bit odd as it can be easily open by my toddler (not safe for me) and no other lock inside. Parking fee of £8 was bit off as it should be part of the hotel

    The hotel has great gastro food but the drinks quite pricey. Nice staff in the reception and at the Overcliff Pub. The swimming pool and sauna were great for us as leisure especially my toddler. Nice deck overlooking the Seaview. Location was great too near town and seeing the Seaview. The bed was comfy enough. Good price for the stay especially unlimited access to pool and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2019

    8.8
    Great location look forward to returning in October
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I explained above

    Our room 124was noisy and we couldn't turn the radiator down it was so hot, it was like a sauna and we asked to be moved, the new room was excellent.The duty manager did a great job sorting out our problem.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    5.4
    Great once I'd complained twice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was awful. I asked to reallocate. I was moved to another substandard room. Eventually to a recently renovated room with a nice bathroom.

    After reallocation twice room was really nice

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    7.5
    Lovely place for a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have done with a good thorough clean. Shower head had quite a bit of limescale on it that put me off.

    I loved the fact that the hotel is minutes away from the beach - beautiful view to wake up to. Staff were lovely including the cleaner and receptionist. Very friendly and helpful to ensure we felt welcome.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    7.9
    Close to the town and the beautiful beach.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people in next room snoring ! Noise from the corridor. Housekeeping blocking stairs and lift on the Sunday serious H & S. Car park £8 per day.

    Close to the town and the beautiful beach.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    4.2
    Never ever again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rust in the bathroom, old-fashioned taps. Broken furniture in the corridors. Everywhere something is broken, dirty or badly repaired. No socket near the bed. Employees not willing to serve me milk instead of coffee or tea at breakfast. Cornflakes, toast and jam are not continental breakfast. On the buffet only artificial scrambled eggs, real(?) only for an extra charge (GBP 6). After three days, an adapter I had forgotten on my departure could not yet be sent to me.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    8.8
    £5.03 for a can of pop and some water!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar. I can't really grumble about the facilities, but I have to say the bar was expensive. I had arrived rather late and was tired. Having walked from the station, I hadn't seen any open shops (maybe it's the way I walked) and was desperate for a drink. A can of diet coke and a small bottle of water ... £5.03. I nearly told them not to bother, but I couldn't have gone the night without it, the tap water not being that nice, and the complementary water having lime in it (urghh - nice touch though).

    Decent staff, decent hotel. Typical of it's type, looking a bit run down on the outside but cozy on the inside. The sauna worked well and was really nice (and had a changing room too). The pool looked good but I didn't use that. Staff friendly, and all good. 12 minute walk from the station (following Google's route planning). I'd stay here again if the prices were that little bit cheaper.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    5.4
    A basic small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above

    Thecheck in person one of are ethnic bothers said that will have to check card In case it is a stollen card. I thought well I am a customer not a criminal , by saying that It made me mad . Then he said it’s not the card I paid with, In fact it was , I think they may have kept details of a previous card I had paid with on a previous stay. They should not do that! Will not stay their again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    3.8
    Breakfast was the only thing that was nice , the staff in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an upper floor when booking , when we arrived we were give a ground floor room . The room smelt damp & it was awful paint peeling off the wall , & we had paid for a standard double & this room was a twin room with the beds pushed together . Would not recommend a thing more than the breakfast at this hotel .

    Breakfast was the only thing that was nice , the staff in the restaurant were as happy to be there as we were . With the exception of a few staff , one was called Monica who was kind & even smiled & refilled our coffee ☕️.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    8.3
    Suitable ideal hotel close to town, beaches with good standards and reasonable pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In certain parts of the hotel is in need of modernisation especially the bedrooms decor of furniture.

    Do it yourself breakfast's was perfect and delicious each morning. The dinner that was eaten during the stay was tasty, good portions and the chef went out of his way in cooking a dish for my vegan wife. In general the areas of the hotel is good in most aspects and the spa, gym facilities was great in every way. The staff was polite and courteous at all times.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    Overnight stay with my daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful, friendly staff. The room was amazing with spectacular view from our balcony. Beds were really comfy and we had a great nights sleep. Loved the use of the swimming pools indoor and out. We had an amazing continental breakfast sent up to our room to have on our terrace. Staff super helpful with our dietary requirements (allergic to dairy) and generally do everything they can to help. Would highly recommend, will stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    5.4
    Unless things improve, shall not return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, mattress was in need of a change. Sheets dirty , shower was terrible , no power and dirty . Breakfast was not well organised, food wasn't topped up enough and getting a coffee was hard work.

    Location was ideal ..

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    Absolutely fantastic , I enjoyed every part of my stay
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room we was offered , but the upgrade was fantastic.... & the fact that breakfast is served between 9-10 on a weekend think maybe should extend it by an hour , so maybe 9-11 am on weekends especially.

    Everything ..... absolutely everything.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    9.2
    The service was amazing thanks to Andrew at the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great It was just the decor and the view from the window especially our room being right next to the elevator and stairs was always noisy

    The service was amazing thanks to Andrew at the reception very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    7.9
    Kids loved the swimming pool, gym area, room lovely as been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, 2 single beds not made up. Staff accused booking.com for not telling them we were a party of 4 even though we were in a family room and the price reflected 4 people. Plus when we checked in, reception knew there was 4. Man who came up to make the beds up was a little irratated of having to do this. Booked late stay but received a phone call saying we should of vacated the room at 11am. Communication not the best but overall friendly professional staff. Lastly corridor to the room on the 2nd floor had bedroom furniture left out there, boxes, and linen bins by the stairs. Not great for health and safety. Stag and hen groups which on the 1st night, kept us awake until midnight as very loud. Night porter was excellent at dealing with when i phoned up. Breakfast - had to keep asking for tea/coffee, which was luke warm. Coffee machine a way forward?

    Kids loved the swimming pool, gym area, room lovely as been renovated. Breakfast lovely apart from not enough fresh fruit. A lovely view from our room, would recommend having this. Great weekend break

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    7.9
    Location, on-site facilities although not have time to use...
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear next door room snoring, housekeeping knocking door 9.30 Sunday morning, when leaving couldn't get near stairs for laundry trolleys staff also trying to use only lift for laundry.

    Location, on-site facilities although not have time to use them.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    10
    Wonderfully comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv on the wall is at an odd angle and the cupboard door kept knocking it.

    The staff were absolutely the key point. They made us feel so welcome and comfy. The rooms were big enough that my husband and I weren’t knocking each other over. It was such a pleasant stay. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    5.0
    Hotel could make it better but sad no one even try ti help. No follow up aswell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. Complained few times but no response, room was not cleaned even though we left make my room sign. We had to take towels from reception

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    5.8
    Better out than staying in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was atrocious...the bed was broken & so uncomfortable the mattress was old & in need of replacing.. the wall paper was ripped off all the ceiling.. the bathroom was meant for a disabled person but I can see how it was so impractical the shower barely even worked we got wetter from the rain then we did using this.. the room was directly outside the bar so was incredibly noisy.. room 27 just needs to be closed and used for storage because it's not good for anything else & definitely not worth the money paid

    After complaining we were given a different room this should of been the standard of all rooms the one we were given at first just needs to be condemned it's not fit for any human let alone a disabled person to stay in... The second room was amazing and felt like we were in a completely different hotel all together..

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    9.6
    Seaside value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but nothing special Extra charge for parking

    The price - we had a mid week deal Sea front location Newly refurbished room Indoor pool was lovely

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was old, its need some decoration.

    I can say I loved the hotel location, hotel staff, receptionists were very helpful and polite. We felt cold and they provide for us heater, thanks a lot. The breakfast in restaurant was lovely, lots food, options and friendly staff. We really enjoyed indoor swimming pool and sauna are perfect. Everything is amazing. We really happy we chose this hotel and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    8.8
    Well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested an iron and ironing board that never arrived The WiFi May be free but we could not get a connection in our room at all. Cigarette butts on the veranda

    Well situated. Very clean. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    9.2
    Good value for the money, good location, would stay again if same tariff and room became available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture in the room was a little tired, although clean and more than acceptable for the money we paid. My wife ordered steak and chips in the evening, very unusual for her she complained the steak was tough and the accompanying fried mushroom was dripping with excess oil or fat. The waiter apologized and her meal was refunded.

    Breakfast was very good, location excellent, room had greats views across to Bournemouth pier Entertainment open mic session both guitarists were in my opinion very good, especially at the end when they played together.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    5.0
    Good location but not too happy with customer service and facilites
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room too small, exceptionally hot, requested to change rooms was met with attitude and sarcastic staff however once moved the second room was bigger and more airy yet remained hot, did get a fan on request, generally clean but hairs found on linens, shower took 10 minutes to heat up. Changing rooms for pool inadequate, no curtain on the shower, no privacy and extremely cold. Pool was nice.

    Comfortable bed, good distance from town and seaside. Restaurant and pub were nice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    6.3
    Okay apart from car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new beds and bedrooms need updating. Paying to park in hotel car park is totally unacceptable and should be clearly stated before booking

    Staff were friendly and bars reception etc were all nicely done

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2019

    5.8
    Very budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was of poor decor, very tired, the website said nicely decorated room but our room had stains all over the carpet, patched up wallpaper etc, noise outside so difficult to leave window open.

    location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom small and in need of redecoration.

    The rest of the hotel was excellent. Only needed to stay one night but would definitely stay longer in a larger room.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    7.1
    Very disappointing because of Yaniks attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above - I didn’t like the appalling way I was treated by the so called manager YANIK

    I had apparently booked twice which I was informed of on arrival. I was told by Andrew when nobody appeared the next day I would get a refund. Later he told me I would not. I spoke to a manager called YANIK who was HORRIBLE! He informed me he had the authority to refund me but wouldn’t because he didn’t want to!!! He started shouting at me! I told him he lacked the skills for customer service. He shouted further then hung up! I’m going to take this matter as far as I can - not just because of the money but because of the appalling way I was treated. People like YANIK should not be in positions of responsibility. I was there with my 4 years old granddaughter and I told her we’d go back but I won’t now because of YANIK

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and got told the room would be ready for 2:30 which was fine went for dinner come back for 3:00 and the room wasn’t ready. They offered a coffee and cake which was a nice gesture which we took, nearly half past 3 they told us that the room that we were going to have which was the biggest which I paid for is still not ready and will have to have a different room (tried to tell us it was exactly the same ) So had the same room and it was next door to the one we were supposed to have and peeked over the balcony and it was a lot bigger than what we had. The room we had was ok was a bit of a smell but bearable,disappointed to see fag buts just sitting on the outside table

    View

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    7.5
    It was ok, food was a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was of poor quality. We booked dinner for that night and breakfast the following morning. Poor choice and very poor quality of food,considering dinner was about £16. There was no mention of an al a cart menu. Breakfast was ok. Very little fresh fruit. Paying an £8 parking fee was extortionate. On the website it said parking is available, deep in the small print does it say about the fee. We only stayed one night. A week's stay would wrack up to £56. Rip off.

    Comfortable room, quiet and clean. The entertainment after dinner was really good. Check in and out was friendly and quick.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    5.8
    Pleasurable & fun , just unfortunate had to complain about out first room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for two nights at the weekend , first night we recieved a room that utterly awful, had a blocked sink in the bathroom, the bath wooden panel on the side was coming off, very dated all through the room & en suite, wallpaper ripped off, tv onmy worked if you stood by it & oressed channels, furniture was old, chipped , marked & falling apart, carpet had coffee stains on it, then 2nd day i complained, they gave us another room that was bigger & alot more to a higher standard, but did find hotel rooms doors old , worn, chipped marked (falling apart)& carpet through out the hotel , old ripped & stained . Happier recieved a better room on the 2nd night , but shouldnt of really been the case, we should have recieved the standard of the 2nd night room on arrival for our weekend away

    Staff all very accommodating, professional and friendly , indoor heated swimming pool downstairs, absolutely lovely & very well maintained

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    3.3
    You need to explain to people that you’ll take money from...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the room but very unhappy the manager spoke with me and hung up the phone on me.

    You need to explain to people that you’ll take money from their card. The hotel has been paid for and there’s no need to take anymore money wether you’re going to refund it or not. I called and the manager was so rude on the phone, blamed me for putting my PIN number without asking questions, meanwhile the young lady who served me said that no money will be taken from my account.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. Room was very small. No bath In room even though I requested it

    Breakfast was very good . Eggs and beans very hot. Good choice of cereal. Nice swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    6.7
    Nice, but room could have been much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and dingy, radiator in bathroom was on permantly and held together by tape, meaing the bathroom was like a sauna. Shower was hard to adjust. Room was very noisey, felt like people would walk in at any point. Paid for a late check out, but still had 2 people knock on the door and a call from reception to vacate, which defeats the point of a late check out in order to lie in

    Nice hotel, bar area, location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    2.9
    The bath was with stains black that was shocking for us it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was with stains black that was shocking for us it looks like they only wash it with water and that’s it, we rent a baby cot and it was really dirty the worse thing is that we had to wait for more than 2 hours to get it! When come to drop it it was 12:00 and broken it had many stains it looks like since they bought it it hasn’t been clean, the room was too small and it didn’t even had an iron or a hair dryer! In the middle of the night there was people smoking in the emergency door and making noise! We won’t ever go back there! It isn’t a good place to be and less with kids! I had more pictures but I can’t find them other wise I would had put them all. It was a terrible experience!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is very small. We had to park on the road over night. It's free from 8 pm till 9 am so it worked out well.

    Very friendly staff and lovely hotel. Excellent breakfast. We got a sea view upgrade. :-) So pleased they accept dogs. We will go back. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    5.4
    Nothing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in dire need of refurbishment. Lift didn't work from level 3. Dirty carpets. Strong, sweet smell in room like cheap air freshener. ? why are they selling rooms in dire need of refurb.

    Nothing. Ate in Cumberland Hotel next door which was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    7.5
    Good and bad points. Parking a problem on some days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs for mobile phones, computer etc three for kettle hairdrier and tv. No fridge in for. One lift for work men and guests. Larger people unable to manage stairs waited ridiculously long time. Unfortunate loss of shorts due to no towels for swimming pool and am still waiting to know if these have been found and might be posted.

    The room, the swimming pool and superb showers, the location was good, the highly international young staff tried their best.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    7.1
    Location good, staff pleasant and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, was a bit small for me.

    Location good, staff pleasant and very helpful. My mattress was not very good. However once I explained to the staff they changed it straight away. Housekeeping staff were great too. Thank you to the lovely house keeping lady who helped me bring my dog basket, and bags down. Even going as far as taking them to my car.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the communal areas needed refreshing. Parking a nightmare, limited spaces yet still got charged £8 day ! day could not get in it.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    10
    Only on an overnight stop, but would certainly recommend the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the cost and value wise - it is well worth the money and I was very happy with everything

    Visited the Hotel several times and the location and food are excellent

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift seemed slow and sometimes buttons wouldn't light so you wondered whether it was working.

    Really friendly staff on reception. Room extremely clean. Showers excellent, easy to control temperature which is usually not the case. Basins have plugs with chains, not those fancy ones which never work. Brilliant sea view.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    5.4
    The view from our room, which was the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like it could have been cleaner, no fridge in a superior room which we paid quite a lot of money for and feel like the breakfast should have been included in the price!

    The view from our room, which was the beach

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    7.5
    Clean,location,food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no fridge in room, No air circulation in the room, Difficult to sleep, to warm in room even with windows wide open.

    Clean,location,food,

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    3.8
    Not worth every single pound! Don't recommend at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole building and decor is from 80's, rotting windows, dirt all around, old fashioned and middle ages look. Whole place is disgusting and filthy compared to any European randomly chosen hotel. One of the receptionist was arogant saying that the sour and tasteless apples available tag the reception are 'complementary' and don't need to be tasty:) This is 'glorious Britain'.

    Closeness to the beach

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    4.6
    Sea view window was above the main entrance so had to keep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view window was above the main entrance so had to keep curtains closed as all visitors to the hotel could look up an see in our room so basically wasn't a sea view room Also unable to connect to wi fi throughout the whole stay Very noisey at night with stag do's and hen parties Not for anyone who wants a quiet peaceful location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    4.6
    Was told on the website that there was a steam room and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told on the website that there was a steam room and they said a sauna is the same thing dont think so. The room we stayed in was very outdated and window didnt close properly and paint peeling off in bathroom and very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    7.1
    Overall a good stay but I would never have a budget room again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My budget room was appalling. It was so small that I had to leave the chair in the bathroom with my motor bike kit. The website seemed to be lacking photos showing the full extent of just how minute room Room 228 was and is!!! The sink was so small I couldn't realistically wash in it and the wardrobe (if you can call it that) was a pole put up between the wall and an inserted vertical sheet of wood. It wasn't even wide enough to hang my clothes properly. The hotel was 'full of character' but that wasn't necessarily a bad thing because I like that but, £65 per night for a box most definitely was!!! That said, I would stay again but NOT in the budget box!!! It's fortunate that my photos are on my phone and not this PC

    The food was AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. The pool, splash shower, sauna and changing rooms were SUPERB. The Staff were AMAZING. Free Parking for the motorbike _ Thank You.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2019

    7.1
    Comfy but loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the walls are so thin in the room you could hear a person sneezing. Also the hotel next door likes to empty their bottle bins at 11pm which is not so lovely when you have children. Also take your Own hairdryer and decor is very very dated with squeaky floorboards and doors!

    Pool and breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2019

    7.5
    Lovely stay overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the room next door as there was refurb happening without warning, luckily we weren't disturbed between 9pm-9am. Our online 3 course meal voucher for the Overcliff Pub (purchased on the hotel website) became a big faff as the staff hadn't seen it before. All rooms with bars had zero personality if you wanted to have a nice drink and relax - far too quiet. The hotel guest demographic is 50/60+. We are 25 & 27 and felt we were VERY out of place (lots of staring from the other guests) - not the hotels fault at all just a note for younger travellers.

    Our room was the nicest surprise! It was very modern with a sea view, incredibly clean, very comfortable and had the best nights sleep both nights. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was fab and just what we needed. The hotel is clearly being revamped throughout so there are some rooms that are still very dated but it was made up for by the modern rooms. When it's all finished it's going to be gorgeous. We booked the budget double room so not sure if we lucked out this time but if not, its definitely worth it!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    7.9
    Overall, very enjoyable and excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request another room due to noise from adjacent boiler room. Second room had a whited out window?? Room 136.

    The tea at breakfast was in a pot. The use of the outdoor pool at the Cumberland. The entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    5.4
    I didn't expect this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is building work being undertaken as this was not made clear on any website. My room was sandwiched between to rooms being renovated with truly horrendous noise and builders clearly smoking. Truly unpleasant and reception staff unwilling to move me.

    Entertainment, good and staff were OK.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    7.5
    good location which had great views although being in a side...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was good if a little basic. And it was not included in the price which was NOT made clear at time of booking. PARKING was also extra cost which was NOT made clear at time of booking.

    good location which had great views although being in a side room on the third floor meant we couldnt take full advantage. nice walk into town centre and steep one down to the lovely beaches

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2019

    5.4
    Lagely unpleasant stay in grotty,shabby and outdated hotel.Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old fashioned and would benefit from a massive refurbishment programme.Room although admittedly clean was outdated and shabby.Reception area exremely odd and quirky. Corridors leading to the rooms were shabby and in dire need of updating.We had to wait in line at reception for fiffeen minutes before being checked in.This is not satisfactory. My husband and stay in a lot of hotels and in our experience the checking in process is usually fast.We put down the wait to be checked in down to the reception being understaffed.Only one young lady having to deal with a variety of queries. Under the circumstances she coped well with professionalism and patience.She was briefly assisted by a very unpresentable and harassed looking young male colleague who briefly started our checking in process before promptly disappearing and leaving it to his poor overworked female colleague to continue.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    3.3
    Needs total renewal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs total renewal. We were asking for a different room 3 times as rooms were given was in bad condition. Stains on walls, carpets and duvets, broken windows, out of order lights also noise from maintenance. It’s a 3 star hotel, but at this very stage is far away from it. However the new refurbished rooms are more close to reality, staff were very helpful and friendly, very good chef.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    8.8
    Great location, nice staff and comfy rooms. Good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of a refit, so very noisy as they were working in next room till 6.45pm, dusty footprints everywhere.. This isn't the norm here as i have stayed here previously, but not nice when trying to unwind after a long day.

    Great location, friendly staff and lovely food

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    6.7
    Will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Ocean View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Penthouse suite wasn't that good.walls were paper thin.could here people's conversations and other things.had to move to a standard room at 1 in the morning on first night because of the noise and music in next room.wouldnt call it a penthouse suite,just a room on top floor.food at breakfast wasn't good ,had breakfast much better in the same vicinity.expensive drink prices.£2.50 Just for a can of sprite.iknow they are usually more expensive these hotels but come on it's just lemonade and it's in a can.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2019

    5.0
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really old fashioned and really small. Bed wasn’t that comfortable and my room was on the ground floor with a door outside that kept being slammed shut after midnight and early in the morning.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2019

    8.8
    We were given a quiet room with a bath which made it easier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff insisting every single day that our room had a number when it had a name!

    We were given a quiet room with a bath which made it easier for my autistic little boy.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    9.6
    Room was very clean and modern recently refurbished, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault with our stay was a out side air conditioning unit could be heard very loud at night seemed to be on a timer kept going on and off all night this disturbed our sleep this was room 108.

    Room was very clean and modern recently refurbished, lovely shower too. Good sea views.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    7.5
    nice swimming pool and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they don't tell u they e doing up the hotel. the 1st room was terrible we got. so had a moan was upgraded for nothing on 1st night. then second night we had to pay 25 pounds . do have to pay for parking at 8 pounds a day in the hotel carpark

    nice swimming pool and sauna. staff very nice. entertainment nice. breakfast ok. but don't think it's worth 12.95

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    10
    From the minute we walked in reception we knew we had made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only thing we did not like was the evening meal, it was for the coach trip party's that use the hotel and really let the hotel down. They should do a different menu for non coach party guests, a mini pork pie a a bit of salad is not a starter .

    From the minute we walked in reception we knew we had made the right choice , we were meet by a very cheerful man on reception who booked us in and gave us all the information on the hotel, the room was a sea facing room with a balcony on the first floor and it did not disappoint, very clean and newly decorated with a wonderful bathroom , the balcony was huge with a table and four chairs and was carpeted in artificial grass.we had room service breakfast out there in the morning for just a extra £5 , A wonderful breakfast in the sunshine with fantastic views ,who could ask for anything more ?. The bar was a delight as well , very smart and welcoming bar staff in a pub atmosphere, with a good selection of food and drink. There is also a wonderful fitness centre with a heated swimming pool squash courts and exercise equipment along with a dance and yoga studio and sauna. Other people had said the parking was bad but we found a space strait away and just left the car there and jumped on the open hoped bus (wich stops right outside the hotel ) to go into Bournemouth. All in all this is a fantastic hotel only let down by the evening meal, we were told on leaving that we could have used there other two hotels ( one each side ) as they have a much more vearide choice for evening meals , we will keep this in mind as we will defiantly be back hopefully for my birthday in June.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2019

    4.2
    The location was great but we only used the room to sleep in. A disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very very worn, the furniture was battered and the wallpaper marked. When we told them we were disappointed we were offered another room that was worse. Very old and out dated. The gym facilities were old. When my partner complained he was told he got what he paid for. The photos on Booking.com are nowhere near the reality.

    The location was good and parking was on offer at a reasonable price. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: