Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4 stars

Queens Parade, Sunderland, SR68DB, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Sunderland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 841 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service after 2300hrs was very poor and expensive. A hotel that provides room service should at least serve basic hot food throughout the night. Witnessed many guests ordering food to come in from local area.

    Good value, modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff you could wish for. Room was spacious and bed super comfortable. They kindly organised food on our return from the Theatre despite the kitchen having closed 10 minutes earlier...Nothing at this hotel was a problem, the staff could not have been better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility in room to store soft drinks and milk etc. breakfast was ok but could be better. Felt hotel was starting to be a little dated

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a lovely spacious room which was comfortable and spotless. The staff were outstanding nothing was too much trouble. The duty manager clearly led by example.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be awkward getting to some rooms from the lobby - maze like corridors and a slow lift.

    Rooms are comfortable and of adequate size. I enjoyed to fixed menu evening meal in the hotel as well - decent choice and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the deco for a marriot was a late down it was very dated. the bar was very busy only one bar maid.

    room 131 was big beds comfy two large tvs was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room, excellent helpful and friendly staff. Perfect location for us to visit Newcastle and North Shields. Pool and gym facilities are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbours were noisey for some of the time. Directions to lifts and reception would make life easier.

    Reception staff were very helpful. Particularly Marion. The view from our room (160) was great! Parking was easy too. The beds were soooh comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friends and family came to meet us for morning coffee in the bar. There was no choice of individual cakes or pastries other than an afternoon tea or packets of buiscits. We still enjoyed the coffee and saved on calories.

    Large room with comfortable bed. Bathroom newly refurbished. Staff very very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food evening meal was disappointing in it's quality and felt that I was rushed through the meal. Kept waiting to order another drink but didn't get the chance as I didn't see a member of staff. Breakfast was poor quality. Very overcooked and dry bacon, very cheap poor quality sausages, only scrambled egg on offer etc etc etc. Really not what I was expecting.

    Room was quiet, comfy and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the hotel was extremely accommodating and superb nice! They were so helpful, so friendly amazing customer service! Room had a beautiful view and was very clean and spacious. Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the pillows was dirty, the cold water never went cold at all and the pillows are made from duck feathers which was a little bit uncomfortable and flat whilst trying to sleep. No air conditioning or fans to help cool down. Also i personally didnt like the fact you couldnt watch tv in bed.

    The room was nice, bed was comfortable, the view was amazing. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the outside could do with updating. No minibar in our room - I only wanted to make use of the fridge. Cleanliness ok but did find a a lot of dust on the mirror in the bathroom and under dressing table.

    Great location, comfy bed, friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they had either told us were the kettle was or just not hid it as we went a night without a brew No fridge in rooms

    The view was amazing Beds were super comfortable Room was very spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks as in most hotels expensive.

    Fantastic mini suite, lovely comfy extra large bed. Brilliant sea views. Fabulous meal in the restaurant. Very friendly staff especially Karen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but drinks were expensive at the hotel bar. £8.40 for a glass of house wine.

    Added extra choices available to order as well as what was in view eg omelette, eggs cooked in different ways. Staff very attentive asking about our stay and if breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin was a late one at 3pm which was good enough to checkin get ready for our wedding function and get there. However the room wasn’t ready at 3 so waited till 3.30 as the receptionist said it would be ready but it still wasn’t ready. We got told to get ready for our wedding function in the swimming pool facilities which were soaked and grubby - we should have been offered a room to get ready in until our room was ready. Then got told our room wouldn’t be ready until after 4pm which is the time our function started so we had to leave all of our belongings behind reception. Definitely not 4* hotel material as it made us set off for an amazing evening in a very bad mood. We paid over £100 for the room and didn’t get to use it the way we had intended to. When we got in from the function our room was one of the furthest rooms away and was a very confusing lay out.

    Right next to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed short staffed at times.. No beer available on draft on Saturday evening... which was very disappointing...food dishes left on corridors .

    Position..very good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Lovely hotel and perfect location as across from the sea and a lovely start to the day to view. Staff very helpful and friendly. Parkin available for evenin g arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.I didn’t like the fact that I forgot to bring my swimming gear so couldn’t use the pool.

    I liked the fact that nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dreary from the outside . But not a problem .

    The accommodation , staff and facilities were top notch . One of the nicest Hotels I have stayed in . Look forward to returning .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked twin singles. First given a family room with 2nd bed a pull down sofa. Then had to wait an hour for another room. However this room was very nice and as we ordered.

    Pleasant room, large & airy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More reasonable prices at bar and in restaurant

    Perfect location, right on seafront. Fab pub and restaurants on parade next door. Lovely pool and gym. Good breakfast, but a bit pricey, if you do intend to eat in hotel, make sure you pre-book, extra £3 if decide to eat in and not already booked! making breakfast £16.50 on Sunday morning!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the room. Radiator wouldn't cool down or switch off. Window was jammed

    The hotel was excellent. The only criticisms we would make were that there was no bottled water in the room. We had a superior suite and I think that, for the money we paid, this should be included. Also, the room we were in, the main radiator wouldn't switch off, even when all other radiators went off during the night. As a result, it blasted out heat all night and the window was jammed so we couldn't even open the window to get fresh air in! Even allowing for these two points, we still enjoyed our stay and loved the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in room, the bar prices for a sandwich were extortionately priced.

    Very clean, nice bedroom with great bathroom. Good breakfast and dining room. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a niggle....the squeaky floor in room 203

    This was our first visit to this hotel. The location was excellent with great views over the beach. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant on this occasion as we were dining out with friends. However, the menu looked appetising and we will probably dine in next time. We also took a look in the pool and spa area and were very impressed with the facilities. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we did not have time to go there. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble . Will definitely return in the summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a breakfast cooked to order. Plenty of alternatives.

    Location location location. Great double double room, good leisure facilities. Great choice of eateries nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel with all the associated issues of decor and idiosyncrasies of trying to keep standards with different ages of the structures. A little tired in some areas but not too bad overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The ladies changing room and corridor to the pool was cold and could use some maintenance .

    Fabulous spacious rooms , excellent breakfast with eggs your way . Best of all the wonderful staff who go the extra mile to make your stay special. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean . Great beach across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows too flat, had to ask for extra, but they brought extra fluffy pillows for us and they came quickly too. appreciated!

    Great service, great food, housekeeping and cleaning staff very good. Room service was good. Samantha at reception, friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast very tasty, many options. Wifi connection and tv size is good. Room has iron & board, kettle, teacups & glasses. Linen very clean. Didn't use the pool and sauna etc but I checked them out and they're lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above - bathrobes non existent in room , service charge should not be added, breakfast rather limited and cooked breakfast kept warm in casserole pots all very cold plates were cold too.

    breakfast was very limited the sausages were not good quality at all. Staff were fantastic , but restaurant should not automatically add service charge to bill i had to have mine removed.Including buying a drink from the bar and actually taking the drink to my table I was charged 15 pence service charge its a small amount but considering there was no service its totally wrong. also booking .com stated bathrobes were supplied in the superior double sea front room i booked yet i questioned why i did not recieve them , they said they were only available in the suites but would get some for me, none came did not want to make a fuss but someone should have responded back to me with feedback mentioned this also on check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried the ATM machine on two different days and it wasn't working.

    Room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially in the bar area.e

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould/mildew in bathroom and swimming pool showers. Leisure staff were rude and spend most of the time gossiping. Room was very outdated and small. Not like photos. I selected double room with sofa bed *for my son* and got a tiny "double" room which was a struggle to share the bed. Receptionist was lovely. Breakfast is extortionate (16.99) and not alot of choice compared to travel lodge' s great selection for less than half the price! (7.99).

    Receptionist was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the coffee and found the orange juice to be very watery.

    Had a lovely stay staff were very helpful and friendly room was really nice and was very clean lovely comfortable bed lovely bathroom with great shower wifi great. Breakfast was ok with plenty of things to choose from Excellent value for what we payed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite cold. The meal in the restaurant was poor. Over priced and not well cooked. We were not offered the set menu. We were given the pudding menu but we didn’t realise that was a mistake. The waiter didn’t really seem to know much, as if he was training. He asked us what kind of gin we wanted then told us he didn’t know what type of gin you served. Disappointing. We had a much better, much cheaper meal in a nearby restaurant on the second night. Would not recommend the hotel restaurant.

    The receptionist couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful. Generally the staff were pleasant and friendly. The hotel was very clean. Good to have parking. Mostly good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing really? The rather small pot of coffee ( one between two), I found it odd that it only filled our breakfast cup half way up? Would of liked a pot each , had to ask. if they brought us one each would have been perfect.

    The reception staff were so friendly and helpful on check in and departure, the restaurant waiting staff extremely pleasant. Our room was lovely, the lovely lady at reception had met my room requests perfectly. We would defiantly stay here again, location is great good onsite parking too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 105. the room most of the night was noisy,which seemed to be coming from the outside the window, which we normally sleep with the window slightly open, but no it was to noisy.we had trouble with the toilet . We had to wait for the cystem to refill always. Before flushing. (Sorry I have wrote this in the wrong box.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator had air pockets and needed bleeding and made noises constantly when on! Very disturbing! Had to turn heating off in the end which was only issue

    Sofa area in room was nice to relax In

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy rooms (some) - had to move twice - first time there was a very noisy generator outside window - then moved to top floor south facing - and the howling wind sounded like a hurricane IN the room!! The windows were rattling non-stop - no way I would have slept. got moved around 10.30PM to better room on lower floor. Staff were very good about it. Wifi is a rip-off. Very disappointed that the £3 per hour 'High-Speed' option was not very fast at all. Also - very expensive food if you are including room service. £20 for a caesar salad in room!

    Nice rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General furnishings and fittings in need of an upgrade. Smell of chemicals from swimming pool overbearing in reception area. Evening meal was very disappointing - no crab in the pasta - so ate elsewhere on other evenings.

    Size of room excellent - modern bathroom. Really friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building looked a bit jaded. Apart from that couldn’t fault it.

    Staff were brilliant. Couldn’t have been more helpful. Pool lovely. Room perfect and very clean. Bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold but couldn't expect anything else when we went during the best for the east time but they provided us with an extra heater so the resolved the problem

    Was clean, great facilities and they left us a gift for our wedding anniversary, staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool and hot tub lovely temperatures. The only thing negative is that changing rooms look a bit 'tired' and could do with refurb. The staff were really fa abulous - I took my 8 yr.old grandaughter as a special treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym is okay though i couldn't do some of my usual stuff.

    Fantastic hotel in a great location. Pool is lovely especially for children. Location is beautiful. The friendliest place in the North.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful so welcoming and polite. The facilities was excellent and the food was superb. The over all stay was fabulous I will most definitely be returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky and sea views were stunning. A great location. Beautiful spacious room, delicious chilli for evening meal (brought to room)and good choice on breakfast menu. All staff I met were extremely helpful (how to find room,travel tips,advice on food etc)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very nice too soft both myself and husband had stiff neck in morning Breakfast was moderate only scrambled egg on table if you wanted fried poached etc had to wait ages while breakfast was going cold no bacon left and was swimming in grease.

    Rooms were spacious with loads of storage, view excellent, Staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible view on to the back of the premises Room 209. £12.85 for a glass of wine, and £39.95 for a bottle Plus £4.00 to deliver it to my room. Regards Stephen hall Room 209 17-02-18

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms tired looking not up to the usual Marriott standards, there was hairs in the shower when I arrived and bits on the bath mat.

    friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room would have been better, car park spaces a bit tight to get in to, floors a bit creaky.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, pool area good, quick checkin, free parking, nice food in restaurant, drinks not too expensive in the bar, they turned the tv over in the bar so we could watch sports matches

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room didn’t warm up but an electric heater was sent immedtately when we asked. We also waited 20 minutes for scrambled eggs at breakfast as a veggie my choice is reduced. In the end I gave up as they didn’t appear and the rest of the group had finished.

    Staff excellent. Warm welcome Also a surprise cake in the room when we mentioned my husbands birthday. Good breakfast buffet. Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to get moved rooms due to a sewage smell. The room we were given was half the size of the original room. Also at breakfast there was hardly anything ready it was coming out in bits and bobs. It took us over an hour to eat a fry up. We were eating it just when things were ready. Not acceptable.

    The pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and food a little pricey but worth it as meal and breakfast were delicious.

    Very clean and modern hotel with great leisure facilities. All staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food at all available on the one night of our stay with no explanation. Had to brave the elements to eat locally. Breakfast no problem - very strange. Showers in leisure changing rooms poor, dirty and rusty water outlet. No hair rinse shower over bath in room although separate shower cubicle so had to use that for hair rinsing

    Good seafront location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was on the more expensive side £15+ for what you actually got I personally don't think it was worth that kind of money and it would've been rather expensive if there was a family of us. Also the bathroom has a rather strange smell to it maybe coming from the drains.

    There was so much to do at this hotel from the leisure facilities (swimming pool and the steam room) and the lovely quiet bar area it was perfect for all ages both young and old or even for families with small children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for the Christmas package and as a special occasion the package was extremely poor. Sadly our Christmas was ruined.

    Great location on the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3pm until 4pm. We made use of the leisure facilities while we waited

    The staff were really lovely and the location on the sea font was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Changing room for spa/pool/gym limited & dated. Breakfast could have been 'fresher' - hashbrowns were hard.

    Spacious room. Beautiful sunrise over the sea while eating breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at the hotel after a journey that should of taken 2.15 mins but took 8 hours due the M1 being closed, I arrived obviously looking tired Melanie on reception was lovely she listened and was genuially concerned, she checked me in straight away, and said she would sort a pint at the bar and some food for me, after going to the room and dropping my bag off, she finished worked but came to check I was fine before leaving. Exceptional service which means the next time I stay in Sunderland the choice of hotel is made already, the Marriott group should be very proud of this member of staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels a little tired in terms of decor so needs updating/tidying in places. The jacuzzi wasnt working on the first day, the ice machine didn’t work, small things that didn’t really affect us too much overall.

    It was warm and cosy, friendly staff, an easy stay. Good health club and pool. Nice big towels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, the pillows, the small Asian lady in the restaurant who made our only meal in there very unpleasant with her hovering at our table beside her workstation

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Staff are friendly and breakfast is self service so you can take only what you want, with an option for eggs as you like them. It was a holiday so some time changes over the stay but they accommodated us when we missed the notice without question.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t a fan of the pillows or bedding. Not because they were poor but different to what I am use to. 2 nd floor lift was very slow! Carpets are a bit worn in places. These are minor things and did not stop me enjoying my stay.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly, great view of sunrise, nice big room bathroom was luxurious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't provide robes as standard in the room therefore you have to wear clothes down to the spa area and change down there. Some things hadn't been checked in the room such as the temperature (rather cold) and a broken light switch. These were rectified to a reasonable standard as soon as I alerted staff.

    Sauna, jacuzzi and steam room onsite (albeit it felt a bit tired). Good standard toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff friendly approach great hotel lay out ideal location right on coast room perfect with sea veiw spa sauna swimming pool clean and so relaxing And as it was my wifes birthday the hotel arranged a special birthday cake suprise in our room lovley touch so thoughtful would stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not ready on arrival. Draft from room 318 by window. Radiators made clunking noises all the time. Ice machine on second floor empty. Where have the cups and spoons gone for your cup of tea plastic cups and stirrers awful. Not as nice as our last stay.

    I have stayed here many times over the years and was really looking forward to our Christmas break as we both had not been well. Liked the leisure centre very much and staff are very friendly throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. Nothing to controll the heating in the room. No bath robes or slippers.

    Dinning room is stunning. Leisure facilities are perfect. Bed was so comftable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft. Seems petty but sorry, they were. I didn't order breakfast, but it didn't look as good as some others.

    The hotel room was as well equipped and as spacious as any I've stayed in. Well done !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money beautiful surroundings and one of the nicest and cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in and also extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the breakfast could be kept hot.

    Bed was comfortable and nice warm room.The service was excellent we were made to feel welcomed from tge moment we entered the hotel. Staff were friendly and smiled politely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Excellent service from a friendly and attentive team. Large room with good facilities. Hotel was spotless and up to date. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I use to live in Sunderland, and thought if I ever had family come visit me, I would want them to stay at the Sunderland Marriott on the beach. The location is breathtaking, and the room was massive. Definitely the biggest family room we stayed in on our road trip through England! Amazing location and amazing value. We will definitely be staying at this hotel if we are ever back in Sunderland. I have included a picture, which was the view from our room. The kids and I loved looking out our windows and seeing the North Sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was spacious but cold and looked dated and dull . unlike other rooms iv stayed in at marriott, bathroom was the only thing that was nice in this paticular room (217)

    staff always very helpful and friendly ..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable. Separate sitting area, desk, two large screen Tv’s, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, free safe. Bathroom, separate shower and bath, complimentary toiletries spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in the bathroom, very cold, otherwise roomy and well equipped

    Staff very pleasant and helpful. Nice location with sea view, accessible by public transport Good food and spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: