Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Surtees Hotel 3 stars

12-18, Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 1PG, United Kingdom

#61 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2027 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's lighting was poor, I wanted to work so I needed a proper central lighting, which didn't exist in the specific room (single room). The WiFi connection was also a bit unstable.

    Great facilities and equipment in the room, especially for business trips (iron, dryer, quality hangers in the closet etc).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the bedroom couldn’t be turned down so it was ridiculously hot all night. Opened windows but as expected with a city hotel the drunken revellers were a bit noisy in the street. We were on the top floor and as the lift was out of order I couldn’t be bothered to walk down in the middle of the night to tell the staff about the rad so I haven’t slated their rating because of this!!!

    Central location and reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The staff were helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, The location was great, and the check in and check out times convenient. An enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    their was a poo floating in the toilet when i arrived, i suspected it had emerged from back round the u-bend, no biggie. The foyer had litter on the floor too.

    cheap - good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I’m disabled and use a walking stick I found the hill a struggle to climb! No other complaints....

    The hotel is lovely and central. The staff were warm and welcoming, especially the lady with the blonde hair at reception. Very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As a listed building there were certain restrictions regarding the facilities, but these were flagged in advance.

    The breakfast room was a lovely bright space. Friendly staff served a cooked breakfast and a buffet continental breakfast. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the whole place was clean, it's quite scruffy and weary-looking with rough edges to some carpets and other signs of need for updating. The bathroom had been renovated fairly recently, with a bath containing an effective shower, but the glass shower screen allowed water to leak out and there was already extensive damage to the adjacent woodwork. The bed was OK with good sheets and quilt, but its mattress was somewhat worn and uneven.

    Quirky old building in an excellent location close to the quayside, Tyne Bridge and rail station. Huge selection of pubs, bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes' walk. Cheerful efficient staff. Reasonable price compared with other hotels in Newcastle. Straightforward tea and coffee facilities in the room. 100% OK for a one-night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom more tlc We pay 8.95 for full english and could tell it wasn't cumberland sausage but catering sausage. I wish had free parking just for the hotel

    Friendly welcoming staff Nice dated building Nice location Nice bedroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely boiling, it was nice to have a fan provided but even with this on all night it was too hot.

    Nice sized room and shower with good facilities and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bins being emptied at 05:30 woke us up. Mattresses with no mattress protector and beds with huge dips in the middle. Dirty walls and cracked ceiling in the bathroom. Housekeeping supplies left all over corridors.

    The staff were really friendly and location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately at the time the lift wasn't accessible so I had take stairs to the third floor of the hotel so sometimes it can be draining after spending the whole day out exploring. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families if they don't like nightlife atmosphere as it was close to most clubs.

    Easy accessibility to shops and other facilities. The decor needs some tlc but other than that, the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot but a fan was given to us straight away.

    Lovely big rooms, very clean and comfortable. No air con in the room but we were given a fan as soon as we asked for one. Shower lovely and hot and the hotel bar is SO cheap! Staff there 24 hours a day to help and super easy to park at the multi storey car park behind the hotel. We would DEFINITELY stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really, fairly basic hotel but ideal for a couple of nights. It is right on a busy street but can honestly say the noise didn’t bother us, we slept so well. Great that there is a car park directly behind the hotel.

    The location is excellent, with plenty of places to eat and drink right outside. 10 minutes walk to the shopping centre and 15 minutes walk to the stadium.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an overpriced, badly maintained hotel. The bathroom was mouldy and the shower had two temperatures - scalding hot and freezing cold, with no happy medium. It seemed that an attempt had been made to decorate the rooms, but by someone who was not very good at decorating as there were paint specs all over the floor and very uneven finishes. The hotel charges alot, probably because of its location, but I have stayed in much better maintained places for far less money. The management really need to take notice of their customers. It must be demoralising for the reception staff to hear constant complaints and have nothing done. Some basic improvements should not be too difficult.

    The location on Dean Street is excellent. Very close to the train station and city centre shops. The best thing about the Sutees Hotel are the staff. They were increadibly freindly and made you feel very welcome - they do an admirable job in a hotel with a lot of problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the lights in the room did not work on arrival. We had enough light to get by with but would have been better had they all worked.

    I like the location as it was very close to the train station and restaurants, pubs etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the breakfast room was cold. The ceiling had flaky paint in our bathroom and the door to our room was extremely heavy. Luckily we were on the first floor so we didn't have to climb all the stairs because the lift is permanently broken. Extremely noisy.

    The lady on reception was very pleasant and helpful on Sunday when we checked out. Our room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was 2 sinlges shoved together,lighting was poor the bed was very lumpy overall could do with money being spent on it for the prices charged

    It was somewhere to sleep for the night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and the windows wouldn’t open, there was a little fan provided but this wasn’t enough during the day.

    Brilliant location - ideal for a night out. Car park is right outside the property and not massively expensive considering the location. Friendly staff and very clean and tidy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance is a little hidden up the lane on the side of the building

    Well located with many restaurants within easy walking distance. In house breakfast was great and prepared as ordered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. Cosey, homely room. Very clean. Nice ensuite bathroom. Fab traditional pub, Sunday folk session a real bowness. Great ales. Location excellent. Will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was SO noisy! We had two rooms facing different aspects and in both of them it was so noisy from outside that we couldn’t sleep. The rooms were basic - they had TV and WiFi, but furnishings and bathroom really basic. One of the rooms was really smelly (drains/sewage) apparently because of the weather- staff did come to ‘plunge’ and improved the smell, but wasn’t a good first impression! There wasn’t always someone on the front desk, which wasn’t a problem for us but did raise a concern that anybody could have just walked in or out of the hotel.

    The hotel was central, really close to the Quayside and Station, and the rooms were clean and breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift doesn’t work therefore stairs in addition to ones getting you to property.

    Closeness to city centre room was good size and out of window through railway arch was a view of Tyne Bridge (the one that looks like Sydney Harbour Bridge)!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some noise from the loading bay side early in the morning

    location bang in the middle of newcastle city centre next to bars and takeaways 15 min walk to metro arena, car park in the multi stores was free from 5pm until 8am we departed at 750am so suited our needs having attended the bryan adams gig, would certainly reccomend its location and ease

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Kept awake all night, bottles from club and bar near by being emptied all night till 5am. - beds appallingly uncomfortable 😣 - filthy throughout, dated and not as per photos. - unable to open windows, far too hot in room despite single glazed windows!! Had to leave at 8am and drive 4 hours home cause I was so annoyed with the whole experience!! I’d never stay again!!

    Location was perfect for the venue we were visiting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is permanently out of order. The rooms were very warm with a small fan to push the heat around the room.

    Great Location for a weekend in The City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, rooms are boiling hot, shower pressure was awful, shower in general to small, only had 1 key between 3 people and couldn’t get any more.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Were warned about street noise, but not too bad! Washroom a little cramped.

    Good position for station & evening concert. Excellent breakfast. Mark switched us to lower room as lift out of action. Good view of street from large windows. Hot water shower and basin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is permanently broken and I was unaware of this, my room was on the 3rd floor and I have Angina, Asthma and arthritis so found this painful and tiring. I have booked for next year and have a ground floor room.

    The staff were friendly, the breakfast was tasty and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is bang smack in the heart of Newcastle and would recommend it for a weekend break. Staff were very helpful and afforded you there time even though it was really busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy.Room at the top of the building so very hot even with windows open.Awake half the night with noise from nightclub opposite. No lift so carrying suitcases up was a struggle. Key card constantly deactivated requiring a trip to reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy but we had to have the window open as it was soooooo warm when we stayed there

    Was a little noisy at times but was so convenient and the staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finishing too early for me to have any :(

    Love the location! I arrived at 2am but the staff member on reception was very friendly and carried my suitcase upstairs for me, which was a huge help. My room overlooked the car park so it was very quiet - and no noise from the corridor or from other guests leaving, which is a first! Although the bed was two double beds pushed together, there wasn't any gap or ridge between them, which was much appreciated. And although it's a shame the lift is permanently out of use, that does give it a Big Bang Theory touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of order and being on the top floor with cases was a struggle to get up to The room was very hot and the window did not open very far for fresh air

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food available, limited bar

    Location was excellent, Basic enough accommodation however was exactly what was needed, very clean and comfortable. (Lift was out of service and room was on the 3rd floor so a lot of steps, probably not a bad thing though)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy as right on the Main Street. Rooms very tired and could do with updating. Lift not working so struggled with suitcases up to 2nd floor.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At that price it was difficult to dislike anything!

    It was value for money. No frills, different to a typical hotel. But clean. Considering I paid less than £40.00 for a nights stay - it was a steal!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift permanently out of order (room on 3rd floor). Hottest bank holiday on record and radiator was on full - twice, a member of staff came to turn it off but it made no difference. Unbearably hot through the night. Electricity went out - no phone in room, tried phoning from my mobile (went to voicemail) and had to get dressed to walk down 3 flights of stairs to notify reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Heat of the room was too hot. Shower was either too hot or too cold no happy medium. Toilet wasn’t flushing on arrival and sink blocked. Maintenance did sort toilet and sink problems but glad we were only staying one night.

    Location for what we wanted to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired needs decorating chair upholstery was in desperate need of repair mattress was grubby and shower didn’t work

    Great city decent location to bars etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .sent us to the wrong room (people already in there) .sent to another room (key didn't work) .room was too small .room was too hot (very small fan provided and windows didn't open much) .took 15/20 minutes to get the shower temperature to a reasonable temperature .no lift, had to go up three floors then back down on the other side to got to our room

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I booked the room it was advertised that there were parking facilities with a car park listed under 'Hotel Facilities'. Nowhere did it state that this car park would incur additional costs and was not part of the hotel facilities at all. Unfortunately they mean that there is a public NCP car park nearby which you have to pay £1.50 per hour. When I was staying 3 nights this added quite a bit of cost to my room. To add to this, when I rung to explain that the facilities available were misleading and incorrect on their advertisement and wanted to cancel my room as a result of this, I was told by the lady on the phone that I was a liar and that they wouldn't do anything about it. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was told she was away for a week. To add to this, when I arrived I was told that the key cards had a tendency to deactivate daily so I should ask for the card to be reactivated each time I re-entered the building. Although this is potentially an unavoidable problem as the staff aren't in control of the technology, what shocked me the most is that I only had to give them my room number for them to re-activate the card. This made me feel incredibly unsafe as I could have given any room number and there were no further security barriers to stop me going into any room in the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is also down a dark alleyway under the viaduct which isn't lit at night and felt very unsafe. The building itself is a bit run down and dirty and the whole second floor smelled of smoke.

    The shower was powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single paned windows let in a ridiculous amount of noise on what seemed like the busiest road in Newcastle. The first cleanliness wasn't amazing, it needs a deep clean.

    The location was great, near lots of restaurants, cafes and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance to Hotel was a disappointment a back entrance and reception didn<t seem right , but as was the only entrance and exit round the back there was not a lot to be altered, But things could be kept better because if I was staying on own I would not have liked to come back late. plus very noisy at the side where the Bar side entrance in alley was after turning out time .Plus the Bar staff putting bottles in bottle bank after shutting up

    although hotel could do with upgrading room was very clean and comfortable linen was very good clean and fresh daily Bathroom was really clean and plenty of toileties if needed Reception Staff were lovely and Cleaner does a very good job Plus not far to all main areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is scruffy looking inside and needs a total revamp the lift didn’t Work and had a sign on which said this lift is permanently out of use, meaning we had to carry a 25kg case up 3 flights of stairs. The room was dated smelly and awful. Neither me or my wife slept at all as the mattress was about 50years old with as many springs sticking out of it! Flat old pillows and a thin duvet.

    Handy for parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in room wasn't the best, found ourselves rushing back so we could do our makeup before it got dark

    The staff at reception where AMAZING so happy, helpful and made our trip even more enjoyable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room radiator did not work but fan heater

    A very well priced hotel Useful setting Clean and well laid out room Helpful staff Central Location next to car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a shame they cannot repair or replace the lift- but we were warned about this by email in advance. I would have liked a central light in my room instead of just reading lights over the bed. But overall it was very good for the price.

    Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the shops and quayside amenities. The shower was super, breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced, and the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t complain too much given the excellent price I paid for my stay however I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a quiet nights sleep. I asked for a quiet room and I was allocated a room round the back of the hotel to address this request. I was woken at 2amdue to noise outside (it was a Sunday night), 4 am due to guests in an adjacent room having a party and again at 5.30 due to the bins directly under my bedroom window being emptied. Not the restful nights sleep I wanted given my full days work the next day.

    Fantastic location. Good sized bedroom with excellent toiletry selection in the bathroom. My bath was missing a plug and the hotel staff kindly hunted one down for me so I could use the bath!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift didn't work, there are steps going up to the hotel (it's above Brewdog- a pub). It's right by a trainline so don't expect the best night's sleep. My room was...interesting. The bathroom light couldn't be switched off, and the lighting in the rest of the room was bizarre. Half of the room couldn't be lit...and 4 switches operated one light by the door!

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, there were toiletries and coffee provided. They also hold luggage- however it wasn't stored it a holding area, it was at reception. If this bothers you, a good alternative would be to use the stasher website (you'd have to pay £6 though). I did like how central it was, there's a nice pizza/pasta place round the corner, but honestly, it's so central...food won't be a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very disconcerting when 2 strange Men used a key card and came into my room. Apparently a mistake by receptionist who didn't really offer me an understanding apology... I was a lone woman in that room

    The decor etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building appears tired and unloved. The room looked onto a multi storey car park. Bottle bins were emptied beneath our room at 8 am.

    Proximity to car park. Proximity to riverside, bars , restaurants ,theatre. Easy check in. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic we was on the front so we didn't sleep with all the noise

    It was very close to the theatre were we were going plus shops and restaurants/ bars the girls on the reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tv didn’t work, could hear everything in the hallway and next door rooms all night, and most importantly the lifts didn’t work so constantly went up the stairs to our floor and was annoying with luggage!

    Lovely staff, decent sized and designed rooms. Location very good as most places in walkable distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small. Great for me on my own, but would have been tight if the wife was there too. But tatty, but served a purpose.

    Great location, for our purpose.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed a year ago and lift was broke so when we booked 8months in advance requested lower ground rooms as found stairs a struggle when we arrived lift was still broke and rooms where on the 3rd floor

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit run down but for a hen weekend that didn't matter!

    Spacious rooms and brilliant location! Very much a stag / hen hotel; cheap, central and above a bar!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and windows were so thin. I was woken up my first night by a couple arguing next door and even when they were just talking I could hear the whole conversation clearly, I ended up having to sleep with a pillow over my ear. Then every morning I was woken about 7am by huge bins outside having glass emptied which seemed to happen several times every morning! I wouldn’t return due to the lack of sleep

    Cheap drinks in the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated cauld do with a re-vamp but clean

    The location was great, everything on your door step, no parking but carpark next door free parking on sundays. 24hr bar 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stair carpet seem much better days and was dirty, desperately needed a good vacuum. The lighting in the room was very poor.

    Location is great. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small and shower was totally inadequate, Train running past the room at all hrs. Hotel booked taxi for me to airport. taxi was supposed to be 10 mins but after 30 mins I had to go out and flag a random taxi and almost missed my flight

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was clean the furniture and bathroom weren’t in the best condition. The windows and walls were dirty looking but the stay was very nice and I enjoyed it!!

    The location, kettle, goodies and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the room does not have double glazed windows and was overlooking a carpark on a Friday night, which meant it was both cold and noisy. The television remote did not work and the building's elevator is permanently out of order, meaning you must navigate the warren-like structure with your heavy bags. If you're in anyway unable to carry your bags up multiple flights of stairs and around small corners - don't visit this hotel.

    Check in was fast and easy and the associated paperwork included all the little details you needed to know. The room had free tea, coffee (both instant and ground), as well as plenty of biscuits. The bed was comfortable. It's a great location if you're just staying one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noicy, specially during weekend becuase visiters tend to stay late in morning, not adviceable with family (included kids) during weekend. Lift not working,which is well known problem.

    Top location, staff at recepation was so helpfull and welcom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find when driving. Two sat navs were completely confused as to where this place was located in terms of how to actually navigate to it and unless you know Newcastle and the streets you will struggle. Also, even the locals, when asked had never heard of it and no idea where it was, even though it’s actually smack bang in the middle of the City. No fault of the hotel I guess but be warned. That aside, I’ve stayed in many hotels in my life and I can honestly say this was the worst. The rooms are small dark and dirty. The bed is worse than I’d imagine you’d get in a prison cell. A small double at best, and ridges and springs sticking up. I can honestly say the bed I slept on in an Amsterdam hostel over 30 years ago was better. The blinds on the windows wouldn’t open and the shower was the worst I have ever encountered, something that looked like a makeshift plastic hose from the taps to an overhead shower head and controlled manually by carefully manipulating the taps to be either red hot and scalding or freezing cold. The room itself was dirty as was the bathroom. The elevator was permanently out of order, the reason being it’s a listed building and genuine 1920s parts are no longer available! The stay was topped off by encountering a trail of kebab, chips and meat up the stairs although I must say I was pleasantly surprised to see it had been cleaned up in the morning as I truly hadn’t expected it to be.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet could have been less cramped; poorly positioned behind door and in front of sink meant that those with longer legs or wider body wouldn’t have been able to comfortable use the facilitiesz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was out of order, which was the same as last year`s visit. Stair carpets were shabby and so was the entrance to the Hotel. Cooked Breakfasts were cancelled due to Staff shortages !

    The reception Staff were friendly and helpful. Room and location was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we couldn’t have four in a room, when travelodge and premier inn have allowed this before. The room could fit four but other than this there was no real issues

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only problem is that it’s noisy. Walls are thin so you can hear everything that goes on next to you and everything outside.

    It is a great location. Even though it’s an old hotel, they keep it as clean as it can be. Staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise of trains & WiFi disconnection after every 10 sec Lift wasn’t in order, single glazed windows no minibar in the room

    Only breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Panelling was coming off the bath a bit and around 3am there was loads of noise coming from some men outside our room, luckily we were up so it didn’t disturb us too much but had we been asleep we would have been even more annoyed and they were extremely loud

    Staff were really friendly and the location was great it was like a 5 minute walk to town!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts on 3 rd floor steps up narrow staircase not mentioned in wright uo that property by car park so car noise constant we are a couple of 50 + did not realise that hen and stag pArty's shouting banging doors throughout building all night so not a comfortable relaxing experience

    Modern rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room and bathroom is so spacious and clean!This hotel is among my favorite hotel during my trip and worth every penny. staff also helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, we only had 1 night in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Thought it was great. It didn't affect me but the lift is permanently out of order. It's a listed building and as such so is the lift. The hotel aren't allowed to fit new parts and original parts are no longer obtainable. Not the hotels fault. Pure bureaucratic idiocy.

    Excellent location. Great value for money. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a budget hotel so not hi-end but I was very comfortable and had everything I needed.

    Staff were great. The lady at reception lent me her gloves. They went over and above.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting was poor in the bedrooms (I would probably suggest a light above the mirror at the dressing table) Lighting in the bathroom was much better. Certain parts of the decor looked shabby and need to be tidied up but overall it served it's purpose and I would stay again

    Cheap and cheerful hotel. Excellent location. Could do with a little attention to detail but overall staff were friendly and helpful and it was worth £40. You get what you pay for. If I was going to pay more, I would probably stay elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Surtees Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: