Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Huntly Arms Hotel 3 stars

Charlestown Road, Aboyne, AB34 5HS, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 hotels in Aboyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on Saturday evening only to be told the dining room was closed after long journey we wanted to eat in that evening,instead we had to walk to the nearest pub for food,the website and the paperwork in the room says the dining room was open not so, to top it all there was a function that evening which developed into a fight at 4.00 am and the alarm was set of waking everybody up ,we left Monday morning the function room was exactly as it was left Saturday evening,the smoking area outside had not been cleaned bin overflowing plastic glasses on the floor, We would not stay here again.The breakfast was ok but our bathroom floor was not cleaned in the two days we were there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired looking and facilities lacking, with a bit of time and money spent on it - it could be fantastic.

    Excellent location, very handy for the wedding we attended at Coo Cathedral. Nice little bar also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water at all when we arrived (cold showers are not enjoyable) and it was tepid at best the following morning. There was no dinner provided and the bedside light was too feeble to read by. Would not recommend this other than if there was no alternative.

    Reasonably comfortable room and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door not locking properly

    Very dark hall getting to our room carpets can be done with replacing Our door was very difficult to lock needs repairs done on it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - place is perfect.

    Amazing hotel in a beautiful location. Friendly staff, nice bar and great breakfast. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks tired. The maze of rooms is confusing and poorly signed. Unexpectedly there was no food available and only one other local restaurant (The Boat Inn).

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel had cracked flagstones, The door was closed and difficult to open, we thought it was locked and the wrong way in. A bin by the door was overflowing with litter, cigarette ends were strewn on the ground. We were on a second floor and struggled to find our room (which was very small). A workman found our room for us. The fire alarm went off. We rushed downstairs to be told it was a mistake. There were no instructions in the room re fire safety. The bathroom floor had cracked floor tiles. The whole place felt neglected, uncared for. We did not sample breakfast.

    Very little I'm afraid. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet leaking, Mould on ceiling ,dirty stained carpet. Lino lifting in bathroom. It’s was like they’d opened a derelict building up for rent. The worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in..

    Leaving the next morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy, grime in drawers, mouldd in bathroom , carpets worn, ceiling marked with damp patches, filth around cables in bathroom, old copper pipes running round the room. In short the worst room I have stayed in in over 35 years. A complete disgrace.

    Location was good as was breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.... plus no evening meal available.

    Bed was comfortable. Walls are thin. You can next doors toilet habits. The previous days used laundry was still left along the corridor.... into the following morning. Good thing I had a discount... would have hated to have full price .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is tired and in serious need of refurbishment. Was like a bit of a trip back to yesteryear. Toilet was a bit ropey at flushing, one plug point didn't work, sash windows were lethal - either open 6 inches or shut. Single bed seemed a bit short. Surprised to learn on arrival that there is no evening dining option - not many eateries in Aboyne, though managed to get a table at The Boat Inn. Limited parking, although there is a municipal car park right across the road.

    Good breakfast Helpful staff - we were able to store our bikes indoors ahead of an event. gave us pointers on what food options WERE available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms , it took ages to book in , no receptionist was on the front desk , had to be booked in by the bar maid , who couldn’t find my booking.

    I only paid £45 for a single room , small tv , basic room , dated room . Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift so if you have trouble with stairs request a room on the ground or first floor

    Attentitive and friendliness of the staff. Very responsive to requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor. Small room. Being above the entrance, so my room stank of smoke. Noisy kids in the park opposite (not the hotel's fault, but would put me off the location). Throbbing disco music till late into the night (not for me, I live somewhere silent). Police sirens and ambulances coming to deal with something that happened to one or more or the kids in the park (again, not the hotel's fault, but puts me off the location).

    Staff were helpful. Bed was comfortable. En-suite shower room was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper & plaster falling off. Repairs are poor. Toilet seat was loose and almost fell off. Ask it be repaired but it was not. Shower wall attachment fell off. Carpets dirty. Electrical sockets lose with exposed wiring. Hall swing door banged shut every time it was used. Basically it was a dump. A dangerous dump. I understand it is now under new management and they intend renovate.

    Breakfast. Close to venue of wedding attending. Beds were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Understaffed with agency staff who worked long hours and could not manage the Hotel. Staff did their best!! No investment in the property has been made for years- very disappointing. Rooms dirty and drawers not cleaned out on arrival at the rooms. ( Contained soiled underwear)!!

    Trevor did his best to be a jack of all trades in a hotel with no staff!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was sad to see a potentially lovely hotel in such a poor state of repair. It’s crying out for a major upgrade; not to make it characterless, but just bring it up to date. I listened to other guests complaining about lack of hot water and noise, but my room, apart from being pretty tired, had hot shower and was very quiet. I’ve been reading other reviews and see other’s have made similar comments, so it’d be nice to see some action from the owners. As a Scot, I’m uncomfortable that visitors to our country get a bad impression of such a beautiful part of the world!!

    The beds were comfortable and clean. The staff were lovely and keen to help. The location is great and the breakfasts were very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small for a double, only one bath and hand towel. We think that it was actually a single room. Socket hanging off in the corridor

    Breakfast was good, location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was falling apart when i brought it up with staff was told abruptly i could get a refund and stay elsewhere one of the chairs had 3 legs. And there was a horrendous sewage smell in hallway in the evening

    How close it was to wedding reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in room...we cancelled Tuesday night on Sunday..by phone..spoke to Stewart....they said he left and they did not get the message......

    Good bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stains on one pillow, Stains on first towel. Not very clean, someones shirt left hanging in the cupboard. Tv didn't work. Scrambled eggs were horrendous.

    Mattress was comfortable and room was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated, cold tap wouldn't turn off very easily, needs refurbishment

    Central in Aboyne, perfect for what we needed it for, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for several hours after we arrived late afternoon. The heating was on full blast all night, the radiator could not be turned down or off and the windows did not open. It was impossible to sleep in that heat. The breakfast was not very nice nor well presented. Electrical sockets in our room were dodgy and tv could only get one station and only then if you held the control in a certain part of the room.

    Beds clean and comfy, nice lounge bar with friendly staff, cheap, convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No hot water in the room or heating, toilet seat broken, shower could do with a good clean No evening meals served, kitchen has been closed since Christmas will not be going back there again

    Log fire in the bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No meals were available in the hotel, if we had known that in advance we would have gone elsewhere. There was a distinct lack of staff around the place, we had to go searching a number of times to find anyone. The room was small and cramped, no hot water in the evening, but through the middle of the night both hot and cold taps delivered boiling hot water! The toilet was noisy when refilling. The room wasn't made up after our first night and we had to prompt with a note on the door to get it made up for the second evening! WORSE STILL, WHEN I CHECKED MY CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT THEY HAD CHARGED ME TWICE TO THE THREE EVENING STAY!!!!!!

    Not much really, the bar was probably the best place with some good banter with the locals. Good shower in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was to big for the room also the heating was off and had to ask staff to get it on and the bathroom was a wee bit small.

    The breakfast was ok but attention to the food and breakfast accessories which were out for guests should be checked so it did not disappoint when guests came in to the dining room.Looks like very few staff due to the time of the year, Overall for the price it was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the gap between the bed and all walls was less than a foot The room was either too hot or too cold with no happy middle The staff were innatentive and not happy to help The breakfast was shockingly poor quality The bathroom was tiny, barely room to breathe The whole hotel is dilapidated and scruffy There was ridiculous loud dance music playing at breakfast The man on reception miss charged for my room and tried to double charge me! The bed was not properly made and the furniture in the room was all broken The tv was mounted on the wall at such an angle it was impossible to watch DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the room didn’t work, had to use bedside lights. The radiator was red hot and no way of turning it down. There were paint splatters on the floor, plastic glasses in bathroom, and toilet seat, (which was loose!). There was no one on the check in desk, (hence the barman was excellent), no bell or sign to point you in the direction of the bar to ask the barman for assistance. Were told there was only a continental breakfast available, so we declined, but as we were checking out there was a sign advertising full cooked buffet breakfast.

    It was clean and the barman was very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food being served. No T.V. No staff to help us. The only staff member on duty left 15.00. On arrival there were signs up no evening meals and just a continental breakfast. North of Scotland in January you need hot food. Given keys and not showed to room. The room was a single. After checking our reservation the guy gave us keys to a double. What a contrast to our last visit. Big stain on the carpet. The TV would not work although next doors was blaring away through the stud wall. Went for help but advised by the bar lady no hotel staff after 3.00. Bathroom falling to bits. Shower awful. When we mentioned on departure about T V for the next guest we were told because of the area they have a poor signal, but the tv on the wall next door was ok. After 1st impressions it all went down hill. Luckily we were using the hotel for a stop over but if you were on holiday I feel embarrassed that this would be the impression given of Scotland and our service hospitality. We had a previous reservation cancelled due to the hotel not meeting Fire standards which says a lot about this hotel. No customer service or safety

    Nice large clean bed. Great location. Pets could stay Have stayed before and we had a lovely stay, manager and staff were so helpful and friendly so we were so disappointed on this visit. It was like a different hotel but in such a short time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very cold.. there is an electric heater as well in the room but there is a huge window and the room is very cold in the night even if heater is on. Also there is an en suit bathroom... it is like a freezer...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was supposed to be an optional extra which we were going to pay for but on arrival we were told they weren’t doing breakfast anymore. I wouldn’t have booked here if I knew that. Staff rude and didn’t seem aware we were coming.

    Good sized bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV reception was poor, the shower was cold, the fan heater did not work, the cold tap did not work the hot tap was cold and worst of all the night staff did absolutely nothing about a major disturbance which started at approx 1.00am in a room close to mine and continued until 4.00 am both inside the hotel and in the hotel car park, the staffs responce to my complaint was met with contempt and disrespect. Would I stay there again, only if hell freezes over.

    It was clean and tidy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel pretty shabby.....definitely needs upgrading. Room was tiny and far too warm.....shower had no pressure and horrible shower curtain over cubicle.Girls serving in bar was chatting to some locals and constantly used foul language and was oblivious to anyone hearing

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't know we were coming despite booking and so there was confusion over our room and we had to wait. The toilet was not clean and we had to clean it ourselves before using it. There was no hot water in the morning so we were given keys to use a shower in a different room... we didn't bother. The breakfast was very poor and no one came to check everything was ok. The attention from staff was poor and we ended up leaving our keys with the cleaner at check-out as no one was available.

    The room was spacious and the location great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No central heating just a fan heater. Old windows that did not close properly. Curtains did’t quiet close. Missing tiles in bathroom which made others move around. Vegetarian cooked breakfast was same as full one without bacon or sausage no substitute given. No fruit juice & no toast.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating/hot water. Not even informed about this at check-in. Had to ring reception from room to find out about this. Electric shower had as much pressure as a dripping tap. Room not very spacious. Bar/Restaurant closed - nothing about this was mentioned when booking Breakfast - half the things missing from menu

    Wi-Fi was decent. Excellent Fish and chip shop around the corrner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of repair and renovation. My room though clean was very dated and lacked adequate heating and hot water.

    The hotel is an old building with quirky charm. Well located for visiting local attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was broken and wasn’t informed. There was a little electric heater provided but this was noisy and I was unable to sleep with it on. The electric shower was not up to the job, I had it turned up to maximum and it was luke warm at best. The room I was in was nothing like the accommodation presented on the website. There was still shower gel in the shower from the previous guest, was the room cleaned properly?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a badly stained carpet, a builder style cheap-looking white mug in the room for making tea and coffee. When the toilet was flushed it dripped for sometime afterwards, and this could be heard in the room - not conducive to a good night's sleep. No bedside table or bedside lamp, wires exposed in the bathroom, loose tiles in the bathroom, mismatched tiles in the bathroom. No-one offered to help carry my numerous bags upstairs, and the hotel had a general tatty appearance. The room door had an insecure look to it; not a nice feeling for a business woman travelling on her own.

    The member of staff who dealt with my booking was friendly, so was the chef who made the homemade burger: which was very good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel called on the morning of our arrival to advise that there had been a breakdown with the boiler , therefore had no central heating or hot water. We had the choice of cancelling or reduced rate on the room, we chose the latter. It wasn't too bad as they had provided halogen heaters in the rooms to help keep them warm. The hotel in general could do with lots of decor upgrades and detailed finishing sorted out to make it a much better overall score, but on the whole was pleasant. Perhaps a choice of scrambled egg along with fried would have been nice at breakfast also.

    Good hearty cooked buffet breakfast was tasty and plenty available if needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the Huntly Arms is an old Coaching Inn, it has some of the problems you would associate with an old property. It is evident that there is a damp problem - the room we stayed in was a little cold and you could smell the damp. The hotel is under new ownership and hopefully this is something they are looking to address. Otherwise, the room itself was clean and comfortable.

    The hotel is in a great location, and the staff were very helpful. This is a traditional Coaching Inn, with the quirks and features that come with an old property, and it has retained its character which I like. They were superb with our dogs - we were able to take our two Labradors to the hotel, and they gave us a larger room to accommodate the dogs and their beds. For anyone looking for a dog friendly place to stay, I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room small, bed was clean but that was about all. Lights did not work, heating did not work and no one could help but the receptionist was pleasant. Id never stay there again.

    Various problems with the room so booked out in the end

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, drafty window, heater and tv didn't work, door required a lot of force to close and would make a loud bang every time. Room didn't appear to have been cleaned prior to my late afternoon arrival, or it had not been cleaned very well. I asked for it to be cleaned and this was done while I went out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a state of disrepair in a lot of areas. Numbers to room is quite confusing as my room number didn't even exist on sign. Also trying to find my way to relatives room it wasn't on the sigh but the room was in tat direction. Main light in my room was not working, the lamp wasn't working ( although staff did manage to get it to work - faulty wiring). Radiator in bedroom was freezing and appeared to be not working with no control button on it, therefore it was very cold.Window extremely difficult to shut. Staff had to close it and even this involved banging it and lifting slightly.

    The reception area was nice. Staff were quick to help with room and with requesting gluten free breakfast. The bed was comfy. Cleanliness of room was ok. Breakfast was given to me on request and did get substantial amount of gluten free bread to toast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible condition of bathroom with loose tiles on the floor, dripping taps, no shower tidy, minimal products provided. TV had terrible reception on Sky channels. Most people didn't eat the meat breakfast while I was there. Very loud music coming from integrated pub that was like entering the Wild West! which brings down the standard of the hotel, including the barman shouting at the locals who were swearing at him. Hallway had firedoors without handles so they couldn't be closed! Hall carpet is a trip hazard.

    Cleanliness was good, nice towels, good tea making facilities, nice TV I had veggie breakfast and nice TV. Bed was very narrow and short for a single.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff - unhelpfull Room - disaster area Resident bar - Nil Breakfast - had to find the Chef

    I'm afraid there was nothing to like about this property and you are doing your site a disservice having this hotel advertised as a place to stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall there were around 15 of us travelling to a dinner close by Aboyne, which ended at around 2300. When we asked at reception what time the bar closed he said 2300, when asked about residents drinking, and that there were a large number of us the receptionist replied 2300. Sure enough, we returned around 2320 to find the place in darkness. Perhaps an opportunity missed ? The front door key was in a key pad box on the front door. there was no light to see the numbers, Thankfully one of our party had a small torch. A working outside light would be useful.

    Bed was very comfy, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Central Heating was stuck on the first three nights so the room was over hot at night. Unless you wanted a Full Scottish Breakfast, the chances of you getting what you asked for for breakfast was about 20%. One morning the dining room was still dark half an hour after breakfast was supposed to have started. The non-European staff were constantly arguing with themselves. The Curtains don't fully cover the window so constant light comes in. Poor wifi signal. It's kind of random that to get an iron or ironing board you have to wander into a small utility cupboard yourself and not have them available in the room. I was overcharged.

    The place was cheap, so for a backpacker or other spritely youngsters it'll be fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a double bed and was given a "boxroom" with a King size bed(two beds put together)and about a foot spare to walk about. Chef got us a bigger room that stank of damp. Again ait had a king size bed with a double size duvet. Wallpaper was hanging off the wallnear the door. The shower was one attached to bath taps.. Water pipes ran along the wall above the bed and theygurgled at night and in morning.

    nothing !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was falling apart. The ceiling light was hanging on by tape. There was no mirror, the bathroom was so claustrophobic like being on a bus. Nothing worked in the room. So disappointed and shocked at the £85 price tag!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedrooms could do with updating in certain rooms

    The food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you. In fact very helpful if had any problems.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room 113 which had an overwhelming smell of damp and mould. Even with the window open it was so strong. We arrived late back from a wedding otherwise we would of swapped out. Shower door was hanging off and dangerous.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was frosty. Breakfast was not at the times that were advertised (in many places throughout the hotel including in a frame on the reception desk!). Was advertised to run until 10am on weekends but the staff insisted it finished at 9am (despite signage everywhere indicating otherwise). They were grumpy with people who arrived at breakfast after 9am and reluctant to refresh the food. Rooms and bathrooms are in serious need of an update as is the whole hotel. Very shabby and unloved with less than helpful staff.

    Location was good for what I needed. Breakfast was ok considering it was buffet-style.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General ambience shabby, dilapidated and uncared for. First 2 rooms offered totally unaccceptable (one hadn't been serviced). Room grubby and cramped. Ensuite shabby. Room smelled of cigarette smoke. Chaotic management situation.

    Breakfast satisfactory. Bed comfortable. Attractive location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed unhappy, poor communication. Took an hour to order and receive my meal - which was a roast so would assume it's already cooked. Room downgraded.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disorganised reception, run down nature of upstairs areas and foul smell from open doors of suite / apartment at top of stairs, that I continually had to pass. Damaged shower cubicle. Shortage of food at breakfast.

    The historic building must have been magnificent in its heyday, evoking marvellous visions. Sadly, those days and grandeur have passed. Great bar staff, service and patrons. Great value accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was understaffed and the staff obviously lacked a basic understanding of what the customer requires - no enquiry or explanation when waiting at the bar for a drink/food and receiving no attention when passing or even carrying out other duties behind the bar. It had a strange energy to the place and the black attire of staff did not add to the experience. Overall poorly managed and presented. The building required upgrading and although it appeared the bedroom doors had been painted so had all the door furniture- it gave the impresssion young children had slapped on the paint.

    The location. The food was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was over booked.we had booked months in advance and got a sarky remark from the receptionist saying our booking wasnt there and wasnt her problem.almost 1 hour and we finally got into the room the carpets where manky there was no heating or hot water the electrical appliances where dangerous.we had asked for a travel cott as we had our 4 week old baby with us for my brothers wedding and there was not one there we used our pram instead as we had lost complete faith in the establishment.the door entering our room was also dangerous as it was hanging off its hinges my partner and i would have changed hotel if it was not for every other hotel being fully booked due to the braemar gathering.i asked the receptionist for a heater for the room and she took up a small oil filled radiator that had scorch marks on it and didnt work also note the test dates for appliances where out by a year.the breakfast was also disgusting i would only recomend this establishment if you like raw uncooked eggs and a dose of ecoli.we got a 100 pound part refund as we stayed 2 nights in that hell hole.

    Not much at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was pretty poor. Staff member was outside smoking and on his phone while guests were coming down for breakfast, leaving them to find things for themselves.

    Size of the room was massive or the 3 of us. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was not serviced while I was staying. There was no soap in the tiny shower room. The kettle did not work. I asked on 3 occasions for it to be replaced. Nothing was done. The bedroom window was stuck. Its position could not be altered. The place was run down and generally decrepit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    looks as if they are trying to do hotel up, however looks as if it is being done on a budget. Bathroom old and tired,paint left on floor from when last painted. Raw plugs on bathroom walls with no fixtures. Carpet in public area worn and tatty as was wallpaper.

    New comfortable bed, however no mattress protector on bed. staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff in the residents lounge. We had to use the public bar if we wanted a drink. There seemed to be only one person serving both reception and restaurant. We waited 10-15 minutes to be checked in. We also had to pay on arrival, something we have never encountered before.

    The bedroom was clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is delapidated and run on a shoestring, decoration is challenging, signs of neglect are everywhere, washhand basin minuscule, no shelf for toiletries, overhead lighting was like in a railway station, but if you can't find anywhere else it'll do.

    Breakfast was excellent, location very good, big bed, plenty towels, nice views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome could have been better...more about taking payment first than welcoming us to the hotel. The carpets from reception to rooms threadbare and the website described tastefully decorated rooms, well the bedroom doors were poor quality, the paper was barely on the walls, wires exposed, outdated electrical testing on appliances, TV not working in 2 of the 3 rooms booked, bathrooms needing upgrading eg shower,flooring etc. We booked the Huntly Arms as we couldn't get anywhere else. We have never written a negative review, We have spent years walking around Scotland and up to now feel all the places have been great ambassadors for our country but the Huntly Arms owners need to take a look at accommodation nearby and take a leaf out of their books to bring the property up to standards.

    The bed was comfy, clean linen & towels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was very dated and a bit grim. Breakfast items were not stocked up fast enough for the demand. The noise of other people walking around at night (no fault of their own) was quite loud - squeaky floorboards and very loud door closing mechanisms. My colleague did not have any towels in her room upon arrival and her television and bathroom mirror light did not work.

    The Wi-Fi connection was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff/ approach Lady in bar in early evening was amazing & helpful - when I asked assistance re a taxi -after lady ( the one at reception initially) told me she could not help with taxi - as she was new! TV did not work In room- despite repeated efforts

    Not very much! Check in was terrible Lady in front of me told me she had been waiting 10 mins to check in Staff member - lady who spoke very little English had told the lady she would have to wait 5 mins - then 10 mins later that staff member reappeared At 3.30pm when I checked in my room was not ready- no apology given - just " you can put your stuff in the room & we have it ready in 10 mins

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY limited space in room. no seating in room due probably to lack of space. Nowhere to sit to watch TV No mirror in room Shower and bathroom area extremely limited Furnishings of poor standard. No welcome into dining room or explanation of breakfast on offer. Left to figure it out for self. Paying £95 per night for this dreadfully poor standard of B&B

    Bed comfortable Fluffy new towels

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby and looks like it was in the middle of decoration so they probably have plans to improve. It was functional.

    I happened to arrive on games day so there was a buffet in the evening. All the food was exceptional, they have a very good chef. Breakfast too was delicious. The staff are really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was on the wall to the side wHitch could not be seen very well from the bed when we wanted to unwind before going to sleep. Room was dated but it is an old building if we wanted modern we could have gone to a premier inn.

    Quite dated but quirky, restaurant staff very friendly even had a good chat with the chef.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been cleaner. Steep staircase from 1st to 2nd floor. Confusing layout. Evening meal food quality ok but had to sit in the bar. Breakfast ok but not up to expected standard. Overall hotel needs updating in breakfast room/dining room and staircase from 1st to 2nd floor.

    Comfortable bed but small room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior decor was weird - lots of mirrors and "blue" lights. Didn't fit with old hotel feel. Dinner was average, my partner got a sore tummy. Breakfast was ok. Have been to better places for the same money.

    Lovely old hotel. Room was large. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay, except the fact that they didn't have much to choose from and re-stock of plates, coffee etc took forever

    Friendly staff, really old house but they seem to have renovated it quite recently.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty room Dreadfull breakfast rude staff light in room didn't work mould in shower room way to hot

    Nothing Rude staff, breakfast dreadfull For such a lovely location this hotel is shocking - won't go again or use booking.com

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor shower pressure

    This property is in need of TLC the place is great thr shower were poor room was clean but over corridors walls look gloomy entrance was very dark b r breakfast was good beds comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor decorative state of room with some peeling wallpaper. Breakfast room was like school canteen with big tables and no table cloths. Noisy with music from bar and other guests.

    Comfy bed, plenty of hot water, self service breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: