Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swansea Marriott Hotel 4 stars

Maritime Quarter, Swansea, SA1 3SS, United Kingdom

#6 of 14 hotels in Swansea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1586 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

  • Paid WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    avid this tired badly run hotel that thinks smelling drains in ones room is acceptable, discussting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the building is under major repairs the room is shabby and the drains stick I was sick in morning from the discussing smells in the room from sink like dead fish or pee the hotel isn't one I recommend and to egree I will be posting notices - it was discussting

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    A bit dated but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated. Marina view should be changed to Marina side. Parking procedure not clear- ended up paying for parking. Breakfast certainly not value for money.

    Lovely staff. Great location for a lovely walk to the Mumbles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Beds and pillows very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like to be informed that the hotel is covered in scaffolding at the moment so our harbour view was restricted which was such a shame.

    Beds and pillows very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    The fact that the hotel was shrouded in scaffolding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the hotel was shrouded in scaffolding effectively obscuring any views, was certainly not made clear on their web site. In general the hotel was tired and not up to the normal standard expected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Sadly, disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were with a group of friends on the first night and the table was booked at 7.30 - 8pm. Our main courses didn't arrive until nearly 10 o'clock, though credit where due, the meals all arrived together - still hot, and were lovely. The ice creams and coffee after the meal arrived at nearly 11pm! There was only our table left and they had laid all the others for breakfast before we were served. The service was beyond slow. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that. The price for the wine was extremely expensive, as was the room rate for what we got. We were there for a wedding and the groom had ordered three bottles of Cava to be served the first night but they only had one bottle when we got there! The room was a huge disappointment. It was a good size but the bed was lumpy and hard and really needed a decent topper on it. Also, the complete building was covered in scaffolding (which has apparently been up for a very long time, with little work going on) so you couldn't open any of the windows. It did have air conditioning but it was the noisiest I have ever heard! Certainly no relaxing at night listening to the sea!! Such a shame. And at £120 a night (no breakfast - and that would have been and extra £30 a night). They even only left one pack of three biscuits in the room for two of us - you get more than that at a cheap hotel! I doubt we will be back, but who knows - we did like Swansea and had great fun with friends!

    The position was perfect, the food was good and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but a bit pricey for the state of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the hotel it has extensive building work being carried out, so is clad in scaffolding, so the view out of the window was of scaffolding and not the sea. The breakfast was extortionate at £16.50, so we didn't have it, and walked around the marina to a cafe, and had a lovely breakfast sat in the open for half the price.

    The location and the hotel inside was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Everything was perfect except the AC and water.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge and as a result of this there was no water in the room. The AC wasnt working and apparently there was a AC in the which we were not told of and not told how you use it.

    The hotel was in the centre of everything we were so close to places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding around the hotel and room service trays left outside of the door on our floor most of the day

    Lovely location and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff and Value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were best . Very friendly and helpful . Felt at home :) . Marriott should appreciate this team in Swansea and set example to other teams across the country .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Good choice at breakfast with freshly cooked eggs.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole building covered in scaffolding, no views. Not mentioned in description and a long term problem. Fridge missing, flexible bedside light broken off. Bathroom countertop chipped, very dark discolouration around the taps. Basin surface completely chipped off in part-unhygienic. Back ache from bed.

    Good choice at breakfast with freshly cooked eggs. Staff charming and hard working.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location but all a little tired and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scaffolding covered the front of the building obscuring the view. The rooms, while adequate, need a refurb, ours was tired and it looked as though a fridge had been removed and not replaced. Everything was perfectly adequate but at the price you expect more than adequate.

    There is plenty of parking, the location is perfect for the beach and Marina. The location is also convenient for the centre of town. The staff are very professional, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect and would definitely bstay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything met my expectations

    The staff was nice helpful and professional. Gave us everything we needed also told us great places to go visit. He also ordered a cab for us for the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms, when dining were ignored for over 15 mins not offered drink or menu we left and went elsewhere. Whole experience very disappointing as we use this hotel every year. Never again there has to be better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great time, great hotel, restaurant should be improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    8. Supper Staff Service - very poor

    1. Room - clean and tidy (good size) 2. Front Desk Service - perfect 3. Parking - perfect 4. Location - perfect 5. Breakfast Staff Service - perfect 6. Breakfast Food - good 7. Supper Food - good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Perfect beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfectly situated hotel, right on the beach. The staff were really lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good, staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding while probably necessary restricted what was sold as a room with a view. Red rice on the carpet showed that the room had not been properly cleaned. We expected better from a Marriott hotel

    Breakfast was good, staff were friendly and helpful. The location suited our requirements very well. Easy access to town, the marina and beaches

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.5
    The staff were WONDERFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were WONDERFUL. My mother is 97 and quite disabled and they were so helpful and kind. I wasn't able to use the facilities or the beach but they looked good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate and not the Marriott standards I was expecting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was scaffolded for repairs with no mention of this on the websites. My room was next to the taxi rank and smoking area on ground floor so noisy and I had to keep the curtains closed - avoid this room! I arrived late and left early so didn't have the energy to complain about this or the broken tap and absence of a bath plug. The hotel has since said they will fix this and I should have let them know.

    The location next to the sea front was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.5
    Total rip off cost would never use this chain again if I can possibly avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not cleaned properly.The TV didn't work ( and had been turned off at the wall socket so they knew about it ).The hotel was enshrouded in scaffolding and there was only decaf coffee in the room.With no breakfast the worst value (£320) I've ever had plus we had to pay upfront months ago!

    Staff were friendly and at least the parking was included in the rip-off price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for an older hotel in need of updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel was under renovation, and the room in my opinion vastly overpriced for its condition. Also it seems the price was inflated for the weekend we stayed for a concert at the local stadium. Same room at least £75 cheaper on weekends before and after. While it was clean, it was in need of some updating.

    Location was close to city centre and local amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Had a brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms looked a bit dated

    The staff on reception & in the restaurant we all very helpful, Reception helped us book a Taxi for the concert we went to see and the staff at breakfast helped me to sort out my breakfast, I am not allowed to have anything with wheat or Gluten in, loads of choice for me, Thankyou

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Efficient staff with overpriced tiny rooms of budget standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely horrific to look at scaffolding makes it look like like bomb shelter . Extortionately expensive £329.00 for one night pre paid 6 months in advance with 329 cancellation fee doesn't even include basic breakfast I've stayed in a 5 star hotel abroad for less

    Staff were excellent and efficient hotel is conveniently located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Fab location - a tad pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar area a bit dowdy Rooms a bit dowdy too but as upgraded it was huge No fridge Outrageous cost of internet per day !!! Really in this day and age Scaffolding on the hotel and not told there would be

    lovely staff Lovely receptionist and also lovely people at breakfast Great breakfast Fantastic location Comfy beds We got upgraded but my sisters room had no slippers / dressing gown as standard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Good hotel but not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was in the same room as the swimming pool and it was too hot. The room given was a little unclean and the whole building was having a renovation done which wasn’t mentioned before booking

    Good location - by the sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good views, good weather, friendly staff and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were suppose to stay in wasn't value for money and the scaffolding did block the views, but when we were moved because of my allergy we had a lovely stay over.

    The food was good and staff were very helpful I had a room with feathered pillows and quilt which I'm allergic to they upgraded and changed my room asap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is a bit dated and needs urgent modernization.

    Staff are really friendly and very helpful. The kids absolutely loved the experience and we definitely will be returning to Marriott Hotel Swansea again shortly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, highly recommend people to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was going through renovation, so didn’t have a good view of the sea

    The special request they added treats to our room, room was lovely and modern, the pancakes at breakfast were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scaffolding let it down.

    The staff were very friendly & polite. We enjoyed the swimming pool. The beds were comfortable, all in all a good place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed with dining room as we thought it rather small and felt a bit cramped when having breakfast.

    Bedroom very comfortable and roomy. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok stay but was expecting better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really up to 4* rating and although they couldn't help it or room with a view was scaffolding posts! Not enough tea and milk on arrival. Not an adequate bathroom for my disabled mother which we booked for.

    The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic break very much enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a non feather pillow due to allergies and also the rooms were slightly stuffy as the window would not open.

    Only complaint was the pillows are duck feather which I am allergic to! But the cookies and milk before bed for the children were a lovely touch, staff incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean room and lovely breakfast. Can't fault the location right on the beach we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were events happening in the evening on both nights of our stay. They both finished by midnight but it would have been nice to have been warned about them when we booked as the wedding in particular was (undestandably) incredibly loud while we were trying to sleep.

    It was in an amazing location - walking distance from everything we needed and with sea views! The staff were amazing and it was a welcoming and comfortable environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather probably. Unfortunately we were unable to walk along the beach. We cant blame the hotel for that.

    The property is old and having some sort of outside refurbishment, so it is currently covered with scaffolding, but we are currently travelling throughout the UK so it did not deter us. Good service delicious food and a comfortable bed is what we want and we received that, no complaints from us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed with appearance of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was covered in scaffolding and the view was obscured and that was the main reason for stopping in this hotel. Should have been pre warned about this very disappointing

    Staff very friendly. Bed very comfy. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    too expensive, now - but staff excellent, location fabulous. could be great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    paid for view did not get one, back of building has no views only another building, scaffolding on entire hotel not told this on booking. room had mouldy windows, tiles and taps in bathroom. stafff very helpful, but did not offer another room, it was too busy i think, just reduction in cost, which had to do. have stayed in cheaper better hotels.

    room was quiet, staff very helpful, location fab, breakfast excellent, view from frint of building nice. right beside beach and promenade, lovely local walks and restaurants on marina and in city centre. had a great sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, was close to Brangwyn Hall where we seen a concert👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, even the weather was beautiful

    On arrival we had a bottle of wine and cake for my wife’s birthday, lovely surprise for us especially for her, the receptionist was very helpful and recommended us going to the grape and olive to see the amazing views from their top floor restaurant of Swansea, will definitely be back, thanks again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Ok - as expected, nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly cracked washbasin in our en-suite bathroom.

    Excellent location with plenty of on site parking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel furnishings and fittings ok but quite dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    All your staff, from chambermaids through front desk staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The scaffolding all around the building is an obvious detraction - but is no doubt a temporary necessity.

    All your staff, from chambermaids through front desk staff to dining-room staff were friendly and helpful. The situation is a delight and the weather superbe!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms in a great location with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At present the hotel is covered in scaffolding so doesn't look so pretty but will be better when work is finished.

    Comfortable spacious rooms with the best breakfast of any of the chain hotels I've stayed in in the UK. Staff were friendly and helpful. Just be sure to enter you reg number at the desk if you have a car as it is run by Parking Eye. Access to the beach is right there and only a short walk to town and to all the facilities in the Bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired rooms, unable to open bedroom window. No public areas to speak of. Scaffolding all over the hotel - why weren't we told? Very poor value for money. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location near the beach and within walking...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scaffolding was obstructing the views during the stay. Some of the service (although not all) was perfunctory. Restaurant not very good.

    Excellent location near the beach and within walking distance to the marina, bars and restaurants. Building and decor needs a bit of refurbishment, but this seems to be in process, judging by the scaffolding on the outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Met our expectations of a Marriott hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding surrounding hotel for repairs although no work being done at times to disturb patrons

    Friendly attentive staff. Comfortable bed and very clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was convenient to the beaches, the marina and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not that comfortable.

    The location was convenient to the beaches, the marina and the city center. The room was cozy and comfortable. The staff was very kind and professional and allowed us to check in a bit early as we had traveled for almost 24 hours to get there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, excellent location right on the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Work being done on the outside of hotel was only thing I could fault, otherwise excellent.

    Friendly staff, excellent location right on the beach and walking distance to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for breakfast but the staff were very helpful and understanding.

    Excellent hotel in a lovely location next to the beach and marina. Not far from the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, very good. This was our second visit and we're sure there will be a third.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very tired and in need of updating. Sink had been painted at some point, and paint was peeling off. Walls had damp in some areas as well. Our friends room had a large crack in the sink. The whole hotel was covered in scaffolding - which we were not made aware of when we booked. This restricted what would have otherwise been great sea views. The hotel did make amends for this though when we settled our bill.

    Fantastic location -right next to both the great beach and the marina. The marina has some really good bars and restaurants around it. There is free parking at the hotel. Good facilities as well including indoor swimming pool and small gym, sauna area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Nice bar with skysports. Location brilliant for beach. Kid friendly. Breakfast busy but staff didnt panic and looked after everyone.Will come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed by the state of repair compared to the price being paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been no mention that the hotel was covered in scaffold and essentially a building site. The room was not particularly clean with rubbish under the bed and dust appearing as you moved the duvet. The rooms were very outdated in decor, the air con unit took up most of one wall. There was no fridge. There were wires sticking out of the wall in two places and the window handle was half off the window. There was a rugby team staying and that meant at 4 30 checking in our rooms weren’t ready but this was presented in a way that whilst very nice about it clearly showed we were of less importance to the hotel than the large booking - don t take one if you can’t handle it!

    The staff were unfailing cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding all the way around the building it looked like a builders yard when we arrived it’s a bit off putting but when you walk in to the hotel you forget about it.

    When we arrived to book in there was complimentary iced water and welsh cakes they were lovely. The breakfast was outstanding. The pool was fab too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Extremely friendly staff, they couldn’t do more for me while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff, they couldn’t do more for me while I stayed. Also the room was very comfortable, modern and clean. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent great location next to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plug sockets due to children and yourself with gadgets that need charging

    The ladies at reception where very friendly nice service and also room service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were all excellent, friendly, helfpful and a credit to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor tired and first room had mould by window and on curtain but then I was moved and upgraded when the window did not work.

    Staff were all excellent, friendly, helfpful and a credit to the hotel. Lovely spot by beach, nice views, big car park and near town. Breakfast good. Food very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    The beds were so comfortable and the sheets were soft.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rate per night could be slightly cheaper.

    The beds were so comfortable and the sheets were soft. The staff are amazing! The Breakfast buffet is delicious! Also the pool is nice for the kids to swim in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A memorable stay thanks to the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like the whole place needed a bit of an upgrade - you’d expect walk in showers, good standard in-room coffee and a more luxurious spa/gym area for the name and rate. The gym seemed like an after thought and was a few machines shoved in a tight space next to the pool (no treadmill).

    Cookies and milk before my toddler’s bedtime was a fantastic touch. Delicious cupcakes and mocktails in the lobby to celebrate the queens birthday was absolutely lovely. All members of staff couldn’t have been more attentive and helpful, they were the difference between a brilliant and an average stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel in Swansea for location and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought bar priced, especially wine, was overly expensive.

    The pillows were lovely. Staff really friendly from the receptionists, bar staff and cleaners. Nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all perfect stay thanks.

    Stunning hotel and surroundings perfect location superb stay from start to finish will definately be staying again any many thanks bryan owens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful comfortable stay in Swansea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We always stay at the Mariott when we visit Swansea. Fantastic quiet location. We have had various rooms in the hotel and each one has been as good as the last. Very comfortable beds and plenty of space in the rooms for luggage etc. I love having a bath as well as a shower in the rooms and everywhere is clean and welcoming. This last visit we had a swim in the pool on site. Small but all you need. It is the staff which I cannot praise enough. From our arrival to when we leave. They recommended local restaurants, answered any questions and were all smiling and welcoming. We will see them all again soon. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Easy to find (well sign posted as you neared the hotel).
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't free in the rooms.

    Easy to find (well sign posted as you neared the hotel). Great location next to the beach and Marina. Free parking for hotel guests. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Very good breakfast which was included in the price. Adequate size swimming pool and Gym (also had a Shana). Staff were friendly and helpful (gave suggestions where the good beaches were and where to visit).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, friendly staff, Great choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the ground floor so could hear noise from directly outside the hotel as we were positioned close to entrance.

    The staff are super friendly and efficient. Good choice at breakfast and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Not chosing the same hotel twice. Too expensive for what it can offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All hotel was surrounded by scaffolding. I booked a Marina view but saw all scaffolding outside every day. The furniture in the room needs more tlc as it is kind of outdated. I chose a more expensive room in order to have something different but it was just a normal room, nothing different. Too expensive for what it offered.

    Food was ok, nothing stunning but just ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Although the stay was adequate for what we all needed at tha.It was more like a pop in pop out place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scaffolding.We were not told about that.Also The Beds were nothing in comparison to the comfortable ones in The Marriot in Mallorca where we live.There was no big comfortable lounge that I could see.Food more suitable from Mc Donalds!!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated compared to marriot’s other hotels and there was no executive rooms with lounge access like in Cardiff.

    The hotel was next to the beach and had a nice walk way running around. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    not matching the explanation of marriott
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stinky beds and the manager serban which is unprofessional at all and very poor gym and the hotel been under construction which is not safe for families is should be close until they finish

    the breakfast staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    we had a good time and we have greatly enjoyed the breakfast in the morning
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the air conditioner was really noisy

    Louise (the chef) was really attentive and engaging with us throughout the time we had our breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Generally meeting our requirements, but disappointing dinner when we were entertaining guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing dinner. Trout served very dry. Had to ask for music to be turned down to enable conversation in the restaurant which is always noisy.

    Breakfasts excellent except for frozen laverbread!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely spacious room, super king bed and a sofa bed for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room, super king bed and a sofa bed for our son. Robe and towelling slippers also. Lovely pool, which we all enjoyed. The electric sockets tripped in our bedroom on the 2nd night, resulting in a cold room due to not being able to use heater. Staff sent pots of tea to our room, gave us a bottle of wine, and refunded 33% of our money back. Lovely hotel overall, and right near a lovely beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with Marriot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was of a car park. The whole hotel was covered in scaffolding, ok jobs have to be done but there was no warning and they put us overlooking the car park despite asking for a move. They make it look like you’ll be overlooking the harbour....you won’t. We went here as a treat but we should have gone to Premier Inn, at least they’re honest about what you’ll get and the same facilities cost half as much.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Location and good staff are the two most important elements for a good stay. The Marriott satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was good with the sea on one side and the town centre on the other. We liked the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed directions. The car parking was excellent and immediately outside the front entrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharged! Breakfast was added on as an extra even though rate incl breakfast. Hopefully refund will go straight back to my card but I had to call to get it sorted out. Also thin quilt on bed and it was a cold couple of days.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant at night could be more competitive on price better value in the city I didn't use the wifi in my room as you have to pay extra for it and it used to be free it even makes me think is this worth staying here. I know that it is free in the bar but really do I need beer and laptops to mix. Think I will look to increase my data allowance on my phone and then create a hotspot so I can duck this stupid change.

    Closeness to Swansea City Centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Was good over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the Wi-Fi that you have to pay. The rest was fantastic. Staffs very welcoming.

    There was no Wi-Fi. You have to pay extra money for it and I find it unacceptable. Ordinary hotels I have stay in all have free Wi-Fi. They should look into it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Location to National Pool, city, beach and Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to National Pool, city, beach and Marina. Able to have early check in and late booking out to make the most use of the room between swimming races. Very helpful and friendly staff. Parking included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations at every turn - mainly down to exceptional and consistent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all excellent

    The staff friendliness and overall customer service was exceptional. We’ve stayed in 6star hotels that have been no better. They couldn’t do more to help from Sophie on reception to the staff delivering room service, waiting staff in the restaurant (food was delicious too). Stand out service across the board - and we made a few awkward asks for a fridge to be delivered (they brought one right up) and indecipherable breakfast orders (they just gave us extra food). Also there were Easter egg hunts, chocolate eggs on arrival, face painting, fresh fruit juices and hot crossed buns - above and beyond in every way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, excellent staff, fantastic food. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was surrounded in scaffolding upon arrival. Would of been nice to have been informed before hand. Also the photos show a Jacuzzi in the swimming pool area. This has now been filled in and done away with. Very disappointed with this.

    Excellent hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and tidy. Fantastic food served in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the lack of sleep on the hard bed, the rest was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was scaffolding all over the hotel so the view was not as we expected, the bed in the superior room was really hard and uncomfortable which was a shame for the type of room.

    The staff were lovely, very helpful, especially the man on the front desk and the the man who ran the restaurant. Good position for the town centre of Swansea. Easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: