Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Swiss Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4 stars

31 North Drive, Great Yarmouth, NR30 4EW, United Kingdom

#39 of 74 hotels in Great Yarmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very clean, quiet and comfortable stay. A vast breakfast choice nothing too much trouble. Beautiful views from room (king sea view) well worth the extra money. Extra bedding in room if required, spacious very clean rooms and bathroom. Near enough to main beach attractions but far away enough for relaxation too. Own car park which is ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Canf think of any negatives.

    Clean, warm room with lovely views to the sea. Friendly informative owners.Excellent breakfast .10 mins walk to the attractions of Gt Yarmouth. Good location for eateries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 4-6 sugar in the room. Lol. I have a sweet tooth. But I'm sure if I had said she would of put more in for us. Super helpful.

    Well it was lovely. Meet bye the owner as we got to the property. She was very nice and helpful. Our room was excellent and the view to kill for. The extra touches also makes this one of our most memorable breaks. And the breakfast well I never seen such a lovely full English breakfast. No fat or grease any were. And always willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a bad thing to report.

    Comfortable room and bed. Great full breakfast. The welcome was more than expected and the staff were most hospitable. Top marks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The council are about to spend a lot of money improving part of the seafront near the property. It will be even better once this is finished.

    Warm welcome; very friendly owners; top class breakfast; helpful advice on things to do and see. Open top seafront bus stops right outside. Walking distance to many facilities. Sandy beach with dunes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A very friendly and comfortable B&B. The rooms are charming and very clean and the hostess efficient, warm and welcoming. A very relaxing stay. The breakfast was excellent, good quality food well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some outdoor seating would be nice as you can see the sea across the road.

    Excellent all round , short walk to town centre perfect for couples will definitely stay again here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bit uncomfortable could feel springs in bed but I'm used to memory foam so might of just been me

    Great tasty breakfast Barbara was a lovely host would return definitely 😃

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the fourth time we stayed at Swiss and the rooms have been very clean and tea and coffee in the rooms.You can have fresh fruit or cereal you also get a full English breakfast that sets you up for the day. Bob and Barbara are very helpful and have a great knowledge of the area. The car parking is on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This b&b was really lovely, the room was spotlessly clean and spacious, the breakfast was excellent and the owners were very pleasant and welcoming, position was excellent in a quite area just right for nice walks and not too far from beach. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I really enjoyed my time here.

    Loved the warm welcome from the hosts and tour of the property. The room was perfect and the host went out of her way to ensure my partner and I's stay was wonderful. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and the decor all throughout the property was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    .

    We booked the large room which had 2 comfy chairs and plenty of floor space. There was a guests lounge in the bay window downstairs. There was parking onsite and the owners were warm and friendly .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really good quality sausage and bacon with linen serviettes and tablecloths. The bed was really comfy and the room was spacious with tub chairs, clock radio, tv.,free wi-fi. The parking is at back of Guest House which is really good as of main road. Will be back to Swiss Cottage Beston our next visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was tiny and had a sloping roof, really not practical at all. Would stay again but perhaps in a different room.

    Nice to meet Bob who was very helpful and allowed me to check in early. Good breakfast and plenty of off road parking to the rear of the property.. WiFi was very good too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI could have been better very poor signal and speed. Water takes an age to get warm, no bath only shower. No good restaraunts nearby, I had to drive 4 miles to find somewhere to eat.

    Good location for my trip, I usually stay at the local hotel chain but could not find availability. Freindly welcome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in room 5 which was very clean and comfortable but it could benefit from having a handwash basin in the shower room/wc. Although there was one in the bedroom we found it a bit inconvenient.

    The hotel was clean. Breakfast was excellent. The host was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a nice quiet location, but a little bit inconvenient if you choose to go in low season without your own transport because the local bus stops running at the end of September. Therefore you will have to rely on foot or taxis, which was our experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lay out was not ideal and if I had a major problem with walking it would have difficult to navigate to my room. Old fashioned decor needs updating. My bedroom was not big enough and the shower/toilet space was tiny.

    Breakfast was excellent and the host she was brilliant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely couple running the B&B. Excellent choice for breakfast. Private secure parking at rear of property, Quiet location on sea front with a pleasant walk to the main town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We seemed to have to wait a while for the door to be opened on arrival.

    Room was lovely and spacious, we had the king size bedroom. Breakfast was lovely, but seemed slightly offended when my husband left his tomatoes as full one day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and the basin in the bedroom .

    The bed was OK but I did wake up with a back ache. Would have prefers the basin to be in the en'suite not in the bedroom. The breakfast was lovely, very fresh and lots of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Lovely B&B in a great location. Quiet but only a short walk along the sea front to the pier. Nice comfortable room and excellent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was meant to be a large double. Was smaller than we expected it to be. Shower needed updating, took a while to get to perfect temp and wasn't very powerful.

    Breakfast was delicious, plenty of coffee/tea. Bed very comfy. Friendly owner. Good location and private parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't pick anything out that need changing 😀

    Room was nice, bed was really comfortable,bathroom very clean everywhere was really clean, really nice lady owned it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent value for money Rooms/Shower rooms were comfortable, very clean and tidy Breakfast was delicious, with different variety of food available Period property with charm and character

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quite with little or no atmosphere. A little quite background music might have helped a bit

    Breakfast was acceptable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little bit hard for me

    Lovely people and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit small Felt like had to be out of room a certain time each day unfortunately. So it could be cleaned.

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very pleasant and homely place proprietors very nice couple breakfast lovely very

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything

    Great place to stay, owners really friendly, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast,made really welcomed and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    A lovely clean bright room with a lovely bathroom. Lovely quality food and lovely hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being askef

    Breakfast was good. Hotel quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Romantic at top of the house very compact especially the bathrombosis if you're 6ft 2inches

    Staff friendly excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a weak flow

    Everything was amazing. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as I expected, there was no issues, no problems, we both had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Welcome and service excellent. Very.pleasant staff would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room only room for one chair

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very comfortable 2 night stay, with an excellent full English breakfast with cereals and fruit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor access to the top floor A little pricey for a basic B&B

    Staff friendly. Old house with a bit of character. Rooms were spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Warm & friendly welcome, Comfortable room, Very clean, Great breakfast, Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect

    customer service was to the point

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. There was a lovely breakfast with cereal, fresh fruit and cooked. Room was large, airy and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    full English was cold

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts,Barbara and Bob were very friendly and made us very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar

    Lovley comfortable bed very clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    facilities for disabled excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking good,room view good,excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Firm bed Traffic noise

    Location Friendly, helpful owners Breakfast excellent Sea view Large room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the top floor close to the boiler so we had a buzzing noise coming on and off all night long

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limescale in kettle.

    We liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb hosts, very clean and tidy, good parking and to top it off excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Everything. Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Ticked all the boxes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water took a while to get hot, although was told about this when we arrived.

    Breakfast was very good.In particular, the full English

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    after having paid extra for a sea view. was not expecting to have to lean out of the window to see it

    It was a traditional B and B

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hosts

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Top Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 3 not suitable for 6 ft plus person! No hairdryer or fan in room

    Very quite! Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom Wash hand basin next to bed

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only minor negative is the en-suite shower/toilet was a little small

    On arrival Barbara made us most welcome. The generously sized bedroom had a sea view through a very attractive window. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals to start followed by a full cooked english with tea or coffee and toast. We will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Barbara and Bob are great hosts. They are very kind and welcoming. The rooms are nicely decorated, warm and comfortable . The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. Great position. Will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing bad I could say is the free wifi is not a very good connection .

    This was a lovely hotel . View across the waterways looking out to the sea was amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We feel the breakfast times are a little too early at 8 till 9 when on holiday, it made us feel rushed and one day we missed breakfast altogether due to the early time. Our room was ok but very basic, however it was clean and tidy.

    The location was pleasant and it was nice to have a car park at the property

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What i enjoyed the most was, coming in after i long day and having clean cups tea coffee sugar ect and a packet of biscuits i enjoy biscuits with my drink, Also fresh fruit for the Cerals every day was differant, spot on.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely guest house. Barbara was ever so friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. The location is in a quiet area but only 10 minutes walk from the centre. We have stayed at many guest houses over the years but none beat this one. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately we found a screw driver under the sheets.... The lady of the house needs to adapt her attitude to each individual...

    The food was very nice

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Staff attitude, closeness to 6 beach. Excellent view,cleaniness, spacious well lit room.excellent breakfast service. information and support to visitors. Good value

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room and establishment wass clean and fresh and the atmosphere: warm, friendly and welcoming. The owners are very clued up on surrounding attractions and places of interest and were always spot-on with their suggestions. A pleasant and good experience all round.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Barbara and Bob were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and varied and fruit salad different every morning I was there. Just minutes from the beach on the quieter part of town, but a few minutes down to the pier and amusements if that is what is wanted. A most enjoyable stay with parking to the rear of the property and will certainly be returning!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not get fried bread for breakfast be cause when we asked for it we were told it was unhealthly and was not good for you

    could not fault the room

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spotlessly clean, great atmosphere and hostess with a brilliant sense of humour, the property is in a quiet area but not too far away from town. The room we had was massive, with probably the most comfortable bed we have ever used in any hotel or Bed and Breakfast, would highly recommend this property.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no hot water from sink tap, shower perfect. cool on a night, radiators not on. towels not warm, felt damp. Wish there had been some place to sit on an evening, bar, dining or outside area. Both disabled so couldn't go far

    quiet location, bus stop opposite. cafe and gardens almost opposite. not far from town centre. Bathroom fine for disabled, walk in shower. Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I rested comfortable. My breakfast was delicious. I will stay again. I speak also for my wife in this review. It was excellent. Thank you The Swiss Cottage B&B. You made my week-end a restful time.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I appreciate I was in a single room but it was tiny although the storage was adequate the bathroom was a squash

    Seaviews are a plus as is the private off road parking the breakfast was delicious

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stay was very relaxing for me and my wife and just the place for me to refocus my attentions on getting a job after being made redundant and me having time to reflect on having a major operation to improve my health.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room nice and clean Nice breakfast Shower nice and hot

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: