Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sychnant Pass Country House 5 stars

Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy, LL32 8BJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Conwy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Regret making this booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired old country house with steep stairs. Food very disappointing - agreed by fellow guests. Dinner - left most as poorly cooked. Breakfast - undercooked. Very expensive.

    Very little

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The location is so surprising and unusual, you feel like you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is so surprising and unusual, you feel like you are 100 miles from the hustle of the world. we felt so relaxed on arrival, all the stress of a long drive on the narrow Welsh roads evaporated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A first rate 3 night stay that exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of significance The property would benefit by having the gate at the entrance to the driveway painted as that's the first impression you get as you arrive which is in conflict with every other aspect of your stay

    Excellent and friendly staff in perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful house in a beautiful area of Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was somewhat inclement but with the best will in the world, the proprietor couldn't sort that!

    The pool was lovely and very peaceful as it was just myself at the time I went for a swim. Id advise people to look at the pictures on the wall leading to the door of the indoor pool as these describe the installation of the pool. Very interesting I thought. Hugh, the owner, is quite rightly proud of all the lovely achievements and maintenance of this beautiful house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Really relaxing! Loved the pool and other leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have had a table, or something to write at in my room - but it did not spoil my stay.

    Excellent Breakfast. Wonderful peaceful area. Very relaxing. Leisure and Spa facilities excellent. Friendly staff. Was there by myself - have promised to take my wife next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.0
    Room was really nice, beautiful location and the host was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to have a quit word with their cleaner and give it a lick of paint and some TLC in places. Dust on skirting boards behind beds and bedside tables. Mould on walls, ceiling and in the actual photo frames in mens and women's shower rooms in the leisure facilities including a rusty bin. And the PVC doors on exit to swimming pool need a good clean.

    Room was really nice, beautiful location and the host was a nice fella and really helpful, breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    l would stay there again (in another bed maybe ) if only for the evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the four poster bed we had was very hard & uncomfortable

    the staff were very good & the evening meals were superb the location was very impressive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    I really enjoyed it and so did my dog.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cattle grid at gate, making opening and closing the gate long-winded, no blind on roof light.

    Space downstairs, books on bookshelves, breakfast, novelty two storey bedroom, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Great little find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite hard for me (two mattresses pushed together) and so had an uncomfortable sleep, but others may like that so down to personal preference.

    Beautiful property in stunning location. Would love to visit again. Hugh was a wonderful relaxed host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Quiet Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a medium to soft mattress on the bed would have made for an even better nights sleep but that is personal preference.

    Quiet retreat set in a lovely location with beautiful views. The staff were friendly and the evening meal and breakfast were cooked fresh all with local ingredients. The room and bathroom were very spacious. Great lace for couples, families and your able to bring a dog!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Portion sizes for dinner were too large and a bit of a faff having to lift the cover off the outside Jacuzzi

    The size of the room, the Jacuzzi bath and the location in the hills

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    It was a relaxing, comfortable night away, would definitely revisit in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault at all really only maybe morning fruit juices, there wasn’t one suitable for me with my stomach condition, but I am limited with what I can drink

    The bed was comfortable, slept really well. The lounge was spacious and sofas were comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, lovely country house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dusty. We had the £42 evening menu, lovely food but was quite expensive for what we actually had.

    Room had patio doors onto a little terrace, view was amazing. Hugh and Sharon were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Pool was a bit cold but the hot tub was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    The property was ideally situated for exploration of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was ideally situated for exploration of the local area. Hugh was attentive and helpful. All facilities were available even though we were the only guests staying that evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    Not what we expected as it is portraid as a lovely country house.it really needs some decorating and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the room was not good.the windows were drafty and being charged more than expected and the price of the evening meal is too expensive.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    throughly enjoyed would def go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no criticism

    a real comfortable chill zone Hugh the owner couldn't do enough for us Breakfast was excellant with fresh cafetaires of coffee .Only down side for me was I am scared of narrow lanes hairpin bends and heights. Approaching the way we did you had to negotiate all 3, but approach from Conwy its OK.cant blame the hotel for the mountain!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Will be going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hugh was very friendly and helpful. We felt valued unlike many places where you are just a booking. The house had a lot of character and lovely lounge and grounds. Nice touches such as a large library which you could read in the lounge if you were staying a while. Hot tub in the country was heavenly. Free robes and slippers which many places charge for. Great location if staying a few days for Snowdonia, Conwy, Anglesey etc etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    amazing, cant wait to go back. Great working weekend and stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    better wifi coverage for the rooms. currently only available in the lobby area, which was great for me, no complaints here.

    home away from home. super host, super comfort and high quality, spacious rooms, great food. hot tub was amazing :))

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Our host Hugh was very helpful even prior to staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having enough time to stay there and relax due to the demands of the weekend.

    Our host Hugh was very helpful even prior to staying. The staff were very attentive and accommodating, offering the chance to arrive, leave and breathe at our convenience. Excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Good customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant expensive for dinner though the food was very good, just very expensive. Property a little tired in places though overall very charming.

    Good customer service. Reasonable price. Good facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous luxury night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bedroom a little chilly in the morning (but am an early riser, and suspect I was awake before the heating!!)

    Lovely en suite room with roll top bath. Excellent facilities, we tried the hot tub and the pool (but not the gym.) Food was delicious and beautifully cooked. Hugh was a marvellous host, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay, Hugh was a brilliant host and made us feel very welcome from the get go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had everything you needed, but it was very small and the floorboards above us were very loud when people moved upstairs. If we stayed again we would pay for a better room as we only booked a standard double.

    The pool, sauna and outdoor hot tub were outstanding, felt like a real luxury having full use of facilities, almost felt it was our own home rather than a hotel. Food was also fantastic, evening meal and breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing overall. We were there to celebrate a special birthday but ........
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambience lacking, the welcome for a so called 5 star hotel very underwhelming, disappointed with small bedroom and even smaller very basic en-suite. The promised cosy log fire in the sitting room didn’t materialise. The coffee and mints in the lounge consisted of half a cafetière between 6 guests, not replenished. The tinned grapefruit and prunes not 5 star and the cheap sliced bread served as toast not impressive. Also hot tub had awful smell as though very stale water, it didn’t work properly. Jets shooting into the face, and no lighting in the sauna.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    We would have expected a suite to at least have a shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have expected a suite to at least have a shower cubicle or shower over bath with glass partition. We had a hand held connector. Also pets in rooms not acceptable in our view, although we may have missed this in the particulars. Nevertheless I am sure that this is a good location for those wishing to walk or bike in Snowdonia. Hugh and the staff try hard to please.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Amazing place, magical and beautiful. Totally relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a wonderful gem of a hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon and received a warm greeting from the lovely owner Hugh, the house itself is beautiful with amazing scenery from every window. We were shown to our amazing suite and Hugh then arranged for us to have a bottle of Prosecco outside in the lovely hot tub. The pool area is great, food out of this world and staff warm and friendly. Highly recommended .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    A very relaxing fun stay in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some elements could have been cleaner. Some great new elements alongside some parts a little tired and in need of updating.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly and service was great . The breakfast was delicious. The sauna was a great bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Location and the setting were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was black mould in the bottom of the wardrobe which had been half heartedly cleaned and both myself and my good lady were ill after using the hot tub which was filthy.

    Location and the setting were fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable place like a rest home. Dirty pool & sauna Limited tea coffee in rooms Very dated & far too expensive Went for a anniversary & birthday break bad choice glad to get home

    The breakfast. The rooms dated very limited tea coffee in rooms pool & sauna dirty. Miserable place reminded us of a rest home, very happy to leave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay. Huge was very welcoming and could not do enough for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was very spacious and clean. Food was amazing we had 3 course meal in evening and breakfast in the morning. Pool area and hot tub very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing, friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a shower attachment to use in the bath, but not a big issue

    Great location with easy access to track walks and the dogs were well catered for at the accommodation. The evening meal was delicious and arrived at a timely pace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Such a great place to stay - we had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor points: the water pressure in the shower was rather low but that's hard to change and it was manageable. We could have done without the music in the restaurant, but others might like it.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic - both breakfast and dinner. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious and we loved the place. The setting was fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The house is in the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by moors and woods. A perfect retreat. Mountains one way, beaches the other. Staff were happy to help whatever the need. Food excellent,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast - we did a lot of trek around snowdonia and only needed some light picnic lunch as the breakfast was awesome. The location was just perfect - close to Conwy town at the same time away enough to appreciate the Welsh country side. The outdoor jacuzzi was great after a long day of trek. The hosts were very friendly and nice too. Will definitely stay here again if we are visiting snowdonia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Really, really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable place, slept well. Lovely swimming pool and other facilities. Nice French doors onto small terrace to sit outside, lovely quiet place. Cooked breakfast was very tasty. Would definitely recommend a visit!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous owner run hotel, great rooms, great food and great service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like

    Lovely large rooms, clean bathroom, robe and slippers, excellent food with couple of vegetarian choices, fantastic welcome from owner on arrival

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Absolute perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful accommodation. Very friendly and helpful host. Beautiful location and the food was glorious. Certainly the best hotel we've stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Not a bad experience, but a disappointment for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned properly on arrival, obvious rust and mould in bathroom, small TV for such a large room, poor and limited internet access outside sitting room.

    Location was great, friendly staff, bridal room was spacious and comfortable, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Hugh was a brilliant host and the staff were so friendly
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous Breakfasts. Super swimming pool. 2 very nice rooms. We were celebrating my husbands 76th Birthday. We went on the train up Snowdon and our 12 and 10 year old grandchildren and their parents walked up Snowdon and the "Bounce Below" and the Electric Mountain. Conway and Beaumaris are near and very interesting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a two level suite - small lounge and bathroom downstairs, bedroom upstairs. Watch your head on the ceiling in the bedroom - I'm 5'6" tall and, on the first night, banged my head 4 times!! Other than that, comfy bed and everything I needed was in my room. Hotel location is great - lovely gardens. Nice choice of breakfast in the morning. Had a meal on the first night, loved it. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay. Bit more than I would normally pay but Hugh and Tracy were very friendly. Went for a swim in the pool and tried out the hot tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Short break in Conwy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendly staff, the excellent meal in the restaurant ,my family and their young children who met me at the Hotel enjoyed the treat as much as I did . The tranquility of the setting makes it a great place to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant warm welcome,facilities are everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd out of reach area not emaculatly clean .

    Very pleasant warm welcome,facilities are everything described on the web site and more than you would expect from the description.Overall happy big comfy bed would definitely stay again and recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    super friendly and relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    only hand shower in room , but use of the power shower in pool area got over this problem. bed slightly hard but also they gave us another soft duvet to sleep on and this got over that problem

    friendly staff, has a comfy feel to the place nothing was too much trouble food excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    A palace in its day but still a nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little tired and dated for the price and the fixed price menu was a little light on choice and variety of acomplememnts.

    The pool was a nice addition, room was a nice size with a nice little snug and sofa, Hugh was a nice guy took an interest in your day and what you was doing. Sitting room was a nice cosy relaxing atmospheric style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with outstanding food, hospitality and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly. The room was stunning with views over the valley. Food was exceptional and service outstanding. I will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fantastic absoloutly faultless! Facilities excellent , hosts excellent food excellent. Would definatly recommend this to everyone and we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Delightful country respite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room did not have shower (tub only with hand-held nozzle), hard bed

    Hugh (owner) was delightful! Quiet country location, great dinners available, great breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff, surroundedings
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the breakfast. When it said food was locally sourced I expected the meat to be as well as eggs, the sausages were certainly not from Conwy famous buthcher and was not pleasant

    Staff, surroundedings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    I loved my stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my stay here! The views were amazing the staff were very accommodating and very approachable with anything. The swimming pool was amazing and so was the hot tub outside of the property which has lovely amazing views. Will defiantly be visiting again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    A Hidden Gem and a Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely quiet hotel, unique in design with superb facilities. The pool, sauna and hot tub were are fantastic bonus. Great Breakfast. Rooms were clean, large and comfy. All in all a fantastic hotel a hidden gem.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic. Loved every moment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistently exceeded expectations regarding my partners allergies and also queries about the room. Hugh was so charming and accommodating would recommend in a heartbeat. Food was fantastic too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommemded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. Great hotel !

    The lication was stunning. Our room was newly refurbished comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The pool was spotless clean warm and perfect. The outdoor hot tub was great....with magnificent views. Food was glorious. Will definately return . Loved it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, wonderful house, pool and gym a real bonus and the dog can come too!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was really hard. Evening meal was expensive with no childrens' choices.

    location was fantastic, room lovely, pool and gym were a bonus, fact that our dog could come too was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendly relaxed atmosphere, Hugh the owner was lovely , the hot tub , surroundings and food were amazing. Being able to bring the dog was good and room was spacious and really comfortable. Can t recommend this place enough

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful welsh hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's really not much not to like! My only criticism would be the jets in the jacuzzi were not working 100% correctly but it was still hot and relaxing to watch the stars outside, first world problem really!

    Very friendly welcome. Excellent room and facilities. Excellent restaurant with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Very warm and welcoming (not just Hugh but everyone we met)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a handheld shower (though the pool ones were close and excellent)

    Very warm and welcoming (not just Hugh but everyone we met) lovely light spacious lounge with comfortable sofas, beautiful situation with great walks from the front door, would be fabulous in summer - March is possibly not the best time but the pool was a great bonus. Didn't try the gym, hot tub or sauna, but perfect if you're feeling like a good work-out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Tranquility and superb food at the entrance to Snowdonia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The proprietor offers friendly hospitality while respecting guest privacy. The leisure facilities include an outdoor hot tub as well as indoor sauna and pool. The pool is in a room with windows that permit plenty of light and this reflects off the water for a very calming effect. These facilities are very clean which is a real bonus (it should not be a bonus, it should be mandatory, but unfortunately that is not always the case in the world of hospitality). Breakfast is cooked to order and is very fine. Dinner was outstanding and one simply needs to try the food to see how good it is. The chef is a wonder.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    Hugh and his staff were impeccable, nothing was to much...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugh and his staff were impeccable, nothing was to much trouble. Food was delicious. Our dog enjoyed the open fire in the lounge. Lovely walks over snowdonia anda grateful afternoon of relaxation with pool and saina, topped of with evening of relaxation by the open fire

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Lovely country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top notch hospitality and attention to comfort and detail. Great facilities for a smaller hotel. Perfect location in the hills, quiet but close to Conway, and easy to get to other attractions in North Wales

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.4
    Save your money and stay elsewhere if you'll looking for genuine comfort and quality
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seen as booking.com are uninterested in the polite email I sent them raising my concerns about this hotel here goes. Bed very uncomfortable with exposed springs and made a lot of noise when one of us flinched or rolled over, so had extremely disrupted nights sleep. When I spoke to the owner about it he seemed surprised as apparently no-one else has commented on it, but I doubt that reading the other reviews here. The decor is dated throughout and is need of a refurb, feels like an old peoples home. No stand up shower in our (5*?!) bathroom just a very small bath (and I'm not a large person so be warned if you are). Love seat instead of sofa in our suite so two people couldn't watch the tiny telly provided. Wifi doesn't work in bedrooms. Simply not good enough for a 5* hence my honest review here. Welcoming host doesn't make up for poor quality facilities. I would rate this as 3* tops so go elsewhere for comfort and quality, genuinely concerned this has a 5* plucked from the sky rating on a reputable hotel website as none of the facilities are of this quality. £155 for a double for what you get is simply outrageous.

    Great chef although you'd expect so at £27 for a main (in Wales!?) and welcoming owner/host

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful furnishings and breakfast, friendly attentive...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a softer bed but maybe I am at fault for not asking for a mattress topper, and unfortunately the evening menu was rather out of our price range

    Beautiful furnishings and breakfast, friendly attentive staff, private enclosed terrace which was great for the dog, wonderful hot tub with views of countryside, sheep and horses grazing nearby, Conwy a very short drive away

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    I feel we should have half our money back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This can't be 5* room first bed uncomfortable. bed side light you need to sit on edge of bed to put on and off. had window open room filled with smoke from room below standing out side.Telly tiny Hugh computer screen was bigger and his his Telly well he should swop it with room 8. travel kettle. To take the p we did not have a shower only sat on taps so we had to go to the pool to shower that looked good but needed a pump it was painful I hear some rooms have a shower. I had to wear the hotel slippers max foot size 6. Avoid room 8. The breakfast where do I start the cooked breakfast was so mean it was a wonder they didn't cut the egg in half no croissant's some fruit gone off. No choice.sugar just white in a pot 5* no way.

    We liked the views of the country side. Hugh was very pleasant. If Hugh replies to my observation we stayed in 4* in carlisle week before. Melton mobray 3* week before that. Both places could have been 5* we have stayed in lots of places each year this being the worst value for money sorry for being honest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.4
    Not for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the website, I was under the impression evening meals would be served. This was confirmed by phone before arrival. Sadly, the chef had called sick that evening and couldn't provide food. A backup should be provided. I had to leave the grounds to go out in the evening. The room is very dated. When walking through the nice communal areas, I expected the rooms to be at the same standard. Sadly not. My bathroom had no shower. Something that should be standard. Another massive issue was no wifi in the room. As a business traveller, this is essential to my stay. When confronting the owners, I got a shoulder shug response and not good feedback. Coming back in the evening the front door was locked and couldn't be accessed with keys given (what's the point of front door keys?) Bed was advertised as double, but was 2 singles pushed together. A very big pet hate of mine, especially as there's no room for 2 singles in this room. Hugh was very pleasant, but his partner gave very non interested impression. I will not be returning as I've stayed in better cheaper accommodation in Conwy with warmer welcomes.

    Welcome was OK, shown around the property, and room was OK size. The grounds are gorgeous with beautiful views. The fitness area is very nice, machines and pool are dated but still at a good standard. Breakfast in the morning was great! Freshly cooked and very delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Personal service and excellent food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom had only a hand-held shower over the bath. Shower available in swimming pool changing room, but that's not the same as having your own en suite.

    Nice suite. Personal service from Hugh, the owner. Breakfasts and dinners.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice secluded location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not a 4/5 star. Pool closed 3 days uncooked eggs and sausages one day not cooked. Shower head broken in the room bath took 20 minutes to fill. Only one socket in lounge area working. Awful wifi signal. No DVD player. Cracked sink in bathroom.

    Nice secluded location Hairdryer and iron Nice dressing gowns

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location, great staff BUT what I paid was way over the odds (in my opinion though)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mistakenly booked for one and the room was £85 and for an extra person he charged me an extra £75!!!! That's a total of £155.00 for a couple and way way WAY too expensive. I could of booked a luxury spa break for that. I felt very let down on the costings👎🏻

    The staff were lovely and the food was excellent 👍🏻

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Don't pass The Sychnant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    You may pay a little more than a b&b within the city walls but you're getting much more for your money at The Sychnant Pass. The location is marvellous. Silence apart from birdsong and the wind in the trees. The house is snuggled in lovely grounds at the gateway to Snowdonia. What more could you ask? We had a spacious room with a terrace, more like a 1 bedroom flat actually! The staff are friendly and helpful. The food (we had breakfast each day and a dinner) is delicious, locally sourced and there's a fantastic range of drinks to match dinner courses. We had 6 non-resident guests join us for dinner, which was easily arranged. It was pleasant to sit in the cosy lounge after dinner with coffee and drinks. An all round pleasant stay. Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.8
    Poor value but could be great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not five star, far from it. You can't shower in the room. See pictures, nice bath tub but can't shower. The pool and hot tub are advertised in the price and apparently there's a chlorine problem. You decide from the pictures how long they haven't been used. Nothing was said when we checked in. The place is nice enough and if it was advertised as three star for £70 it would be fine but £135 with no working facilities and no notification is a rip off. Even the room kettle is a plastic travel one ... Not five star!!

    Location and potential

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Great Little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner menu could be varied a little more day to day.

    Hugh made us very welcome upon arrival. The food was delicious, well presented and made from regional ingredients as far as possible. There was plenty of information on Snowdonia in the hotel and room. Good location for access to Coast, Menai Strait and Anglesey, as well as the Conwy Valley.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Everything about this guest house is amazing, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this guest house is amazing, especially the owner Hugh. Meals within the hotel very high standard so worth paying for. Lovely atmosphere and very relaxed. Beautiful rooms and grounds. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Idyllic Sychnant Pass Country Manor Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The hosts were warm and welcoming, and the location next to a hiking trail through the mountains with views from the trail overlooking the sea made this comfortable, elegant and inviting country manor house a superb getaway for my husband and me. The food was delicious. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing break with delicious food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking. Com not great we booked 2 venues and despite receiving confirmation of booking, the second hotel cancelled and booking.com didn't even have the decency to respond to me. thankfully local hoteliers like Hugh sorted us out so we weren't left stranded.

    Fantastic views and outstanding facilities. Hugh and his team (Tracey) made our stay wonderful. The hotel facilities are 5*quality but without the stuffiness of big chain 5*hotels - warm and friendly. Good gym and pool to work out before a delicious meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Relaxed luxury in small and friendly country house.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhere to dry or hang towels to dry and shaving mirror or improvement of lighting .

    Facilities and lovely staff, aimed to please in every way. Lovely to have a swimming pool, gym and hot-tubs. Given an upgrade when we arrived. Hugh is delightful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    The most amazing hotel with wonderful owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!

    I thought the welcome from Hugh at the door as soon as we pulled up to the hotel was excellent...he made us welcome as soon as we stepped foot into the hotel. We enjoyed a game of scrabble and dominoes with the family before using the swimming pool and hot tub and relaxing in the beautiful garden with the most amazing scenery! The duplex room for 3 was characteristic to the building and was extremely comfortable with everything you could want. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and if I had more time I could go on about the whole wonderful experience but I'm sure you have the jist by now. We visited Conwy and Llandudno during our visit which were both lovely Victorian seaside towns and worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi water was not clean

    Nice room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Rural relaxation in the North Welsh countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely quiet setting and location, atmospheric property and facility, personable and welcoming owners and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: