Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Talbot Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Stourbridge, DY8 1DW, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Stourbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 829 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a helter-skelter, and all the floorboards creaked, the website advertised a bathtub but I got a small shower and the toilet seat was insecure. Also there was a door in my room with two large vents at head hight leading to another door on the floor below, bit weird, could do with boarding that off in my opinion.

    The room was very spacious for a single

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was broke, bed was incredibly squeaky with every single movement, uneven floors, no utensils in fruit bowls for serving at breakfast, window wouldn’t stay open. Feel fried hash brown, sausage on the break but if a disappointment.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to contest my space with one persistent fly and a persistent pigeon or dove which attempted to enter whenever I opened the window. The room was too small to allow space for a table lamp which had to be placed at the foot of the bed.

    The bed was comfortable and the washing facilities etc excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here before and have found the staff on both occasions to be helpful and respectful. They work long hours and do the best they can with is old established hotel. The room I had was fairly quiet and was front facing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was difficult to get to warm up and the cooked breakfast should be hotter.

    A nice old coaching inn/hotel. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of parking. It was very central in Stourbridge so easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left a pair of hair straightners in my room. They have not been found... where they hvw gone I have no idea and the people i have spoken to on the phone have not been helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt quite dark and dingy in some parts of the hotel and the shower area in the bathroom in the deluxe room wasn't great, the seal around the bath and windows was mouldy and dirty.

    The location was spot on, the staff were lovely and polite and helpful, it was value for money, the bed was comfy, breakfast was ok, the rooms were a good size, apart from the shower area the overall room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room cleanliness; TV socket did work;overhead reading light-no bulb; strange smell in room; poor reception staff which took 5 minutes finishing a personal call before serving me; a very tired run down building which is a great pity as i am sure it has a lot of history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great room off the main courtyard. Unfortunately we had a guest who had locked herself out and woke us up at 3am banging on the main door!!!

    The staff were lovely. The room was airy and clean. The bar was busy, the live music was very good and the bar food was generous in proportion and really good value. The breakfast was also generous in size and offered a wide variety of foods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to have a cold shower. There were hairs on the bath so hadn’t been cleaned properly. Was rubbish in the drawers. The furniture was very dated and the bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast was swimming in oil.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was a lovely old building although this was also a negative as EVERYTHING creaked. Health a safety around the breakfast area was a little poor due to the extensions running from extensions to a rickety tables with large urns of boiling water on. This was all situated in front of the fire exit. The room had damp in the corner and I was kept awake with things "?" scurrying around the loft all night.

    Room was comfy and had clearly been redone lately (see negatives). Bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water. The rate was excellent to include breakfast. Lots of free parking (assuming not too many guests).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needed renovating The bathroom tiles were black in between radiator in bathroom looked like it had had coffee thrown all over it. Dust really thick all around scertin boards. No end on qullt covers the quilt inside we're filthy need renewing.

    Breakfast was nice but mouldy bread. Restaurant and bar are nice lovely food in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was negative was the breakfast. Th bacon was very thick, more like gammon than bacon. The coffee pot wasn't working and the fresh orange was fizzy!

    The bed was very comfortable, very clean and excellent value for money. Brilliant loaction.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel needs some tlc and upgrading our toilet seat was hanging off the bin was also broken with no lid bathroom was very dated and not very clean ,The dining room had candle wax all over the carpets and on the window sills ,generally its a shame because if it was brought up to standard it could be an amazing experience but unfortunately it is very dated and could do with a good clean

    an old coaching inn with lots of quirky character and original features

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Hotel was very unlike pictures shown ifact they seemed liked it was a diffetent hotel apart from tbe pictures of the outside of the building. Hotel was very unclean,health & safet at risk really needs to closed down it was that bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night i was woken by loud guests knocking loud on doors of mates to get them up to go out,The Shower/Bath taps were very hard to turn off. Noise from the front of the hotel of people leaving the many bars in the near by pubs and clubs.Very late at night and early hours of the morning.2nd Night My sister joined me , the afternoon of the 2nd day we returned to find the ceiling had collapsed onto the bed she had slept in, Water splashed all over beds, Had it happened in the night she would have been injured,Some of her clothes were wet from the dripping water. We were moved to next door room , we had to wait in the bar why it was got ready, Was disappointing we were not even given a free coffee while we waited, New room had no plug, and at 3.30 a drunk crowd returned to room upstairs and made noise till 5.30am No security to deal with such behaviour, This alone would stop me coming again.

    location was very good as in the heart of the town, And the car park .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a need for some suface and minor repairs, the bathroom needed a part of the wall retiling (looks like pipe work done). There was some mould around the bath. The standard practice of leaving towels hanging up to reuse was not done here and both day i have fresh towels.

    I liked the location right in the centre of town, and its a pub. There was a carvery available on Sunday which was a good price. Breakfast was basic and did the job, yes there are better but the price i paid i couldnt complain. Bedroom over looked the Courtyard and had all that you could want : WIFI, TV, Kettle (plenty of tea and Coffee) and Bathroom with over bath shower. The room was a double and was of a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    Did not eat there,place was not clean bed had no mattress cover and old,two pillow's in one case!!! Didn't sleep well as something moving in loft not sure if it was dove's,pigeon's or something!! So really nothing good I can say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dangerous place to stay. If there had been a fire people would die.

    Dilapidated dangerous over crowed rooms with too many beds and furniture crammed into them. Major fire hazards with none working smoke detector and in the first room it was hanging of the ceiling. Mould and mildew everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the hotel told us we would have an iron and hairdryer but we did not have either of these items..

    The bed was comfy and bathroom provided little items like towels and soap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Furniture broken. Blind in bathroom dirty. In need of a financial boost. Some staff not overly happy in their work. Reception area not manned full time but could phone the bar to request assistance and then wait and wait and wait.....For the price of the room you'd expect a few little extras, shower gel, cap etc

    Room was big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at the Talbot many years ago when it was shabby chic. Now it's just shabby. The continual playing of the same pop classics CD was enough to drive me mad.

    Central location with parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very noisy when you moved in it and mattress was far too soft and uncomfortable. Room 22.

    It was very old and charming. All the room furniture was also old, but everything worked well. The floors were all sloping but this was due to the age of the property. Bathroom shower was very powerful and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Half past four in the morning men came in from night out banging doors, then went out for cigarettes, laughing talking for an hour outside in courtyard, no respect for other residents.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t cleaned on check in and the decor was a bit dated.

    Great location and price. The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially the Spanish lady in the bar and at Breakfast. Excellent service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a disgrace it was filthy, huge cobwebs in curtains and dust all along the carpet edge and skirting a it was thick with dust, the wardrobe was filthy couldn't hang clothes up. The bed was stained the quilt was dirty and pillows very poor quality and worn. No bottles of water for kettle. The room smelt damp which was probably why the wallpaper had come away from the walls. The reception guy showed me to room 30 first it hadn't even been cleaned beds changed or anything. The smell was really bad. I've never stayed in such a horrible damp miserable place I was glad to leave. The breakfast wasn't great Rock hard sausages undercooked egg. Such a waste of money 😩

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no soap, not even hand soap. No towels. Quilt cover didn’t even fit the quilt properly therefore all the quilt was coming out of the bottom. The room and the bed was ridiculously squeaky. You could hear everything throughout the hotel. Staff couldn’t speak very good English. Me and my partner didn’t even stay for the night, checked in at 4pm and had checked out by 9.30pm

    Not much me and my partner liked about the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not find any problems during our two night stay

    lovely large room in this quirky hotel. Surprised by the good breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and little extras like pancakes. Parking was a bounus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, windowsills were mucky, fungus growing out of the ceiling, shower held together with parcel tape, parking was a nightmare. It’s an old building with lots of character I imagine it’s a nightmare to maintain.

    Breakfast was excellent and included. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable but there were stains on the bedding. The rates compare very favourably compared with the national ‘chains’ who advertise low prices that you never seem able to get.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Very old tiered building needs a good refurbishment 2. Room was scruffy carpet threadbare 3. Curtains didn't even hardly cover the window 4. Street noise, as windows are old and didn't keep out noise

    Nothing...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, when we got there reception was closed by 7.30pm, trying to find a member of staff to check us in was ridiculous, that took 20/30 mins to locate someone, we had booked one of the family rooms, upon arriving in our designated room there was a strong aroma of public toilets but that was the scent throughout the whole building apart from the bar which smelt of sweaty, mouldy lunchboxes, our room was filthy, I could write my name in the dust on the headboard of the bed, the carpet looked like it hadn’t been hoovered in over a month, the window was coming away from the frame so much there was a gap, there was dirty marks all over the walls and cobwebs, the room itself wasn’t pretty in the slightest, there was 3 smelly portable heaters, the bathroom was vile, the amount of dirt and debris on the floor was disgusting, also looked like someone had got halfway through decorating it and decided to leave it, the toilet didn’t work properly, there was also a pigeons nest right outside the bedroom window which I know is outta the businesses control but added to the unpleasantness of the place, we also decided to have dinner there as we got there quite late, yet again trying to locate someone to take our orders was ludicrous, once we placed our order we then waited half an hour before being told that what we ordered wasn’t available, then another half hour passes till we get our food and the orders were wrong, then having to hunt down someone so as we could pay for our meal was disgusting, staff weren’t friendly and could only speak a few words of English, also a party was taking place and no warning was given, was very loud and disturbing to us with a small autistic child, beds were also very uncomfortable and creaky, the slightest movement would sound like there was a heard of elephants jumping on them, the only plus side to our trip was getting a full refund the next morning from the manager who didn’t even try to...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants werent extra flakey - pretty solid, definitely cheap or few days old. Bed was ok but 2 old mattresses on top of each other so really bouncy and i need firmer bed. Also bed squeeked - had look and just needed bit of oil on hinge or tightening up but doesnt seem they have the time for these little things. Love the pkace though, you wont stay anywhere like it again.

    Really weird old place and staff were friendly, everything shabby and loose but worked ok and price was reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was run down,dirty,furniture was falling to pieces ,all the floors were uneven. The bar was poorly stocked and there was never a staff member around when you wanted anything.

    The only good thing about this hotel was it was in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need decorating slightly. At 4 am I was woken up to dripping water. I thought it was either the shower or the sink in the bathroom, no they were fine. Came out of the bathroom door and water was dripping on my head. It was coming from the beams and splashing on the carpet and leather chair. It looks like this keeps happening by the state of the staining on the leather chair and the stains on the carpet. There was no duvet on one of the beds so my friend had to use the itchy blanket all night.

    Loved the ideal location central to everything. Bar and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had problems the Lilo floor tiles loose & some damaged ,would have liked option of Bath but no Plot

    Bed comfy ,plenty of coffee & milk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, cobwebs, mould on ceiling and around the bath. Not even a plug for the sink and no remote for the tv

    Breakfast was best part of stay and that was pretty basic and small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The saying pictures can be deceiving applies to this hotel. The pictures are taken 10+ years ago probably. I have never stayed in the place where one or another thing didn't work. It's like haunted hotel with slanted floors that makes you dizzy, bathroom taps are anchient and don't work. Shower is so limescaled that I couldn't turn it off so slept with running water which made me very conscious taking in account the environment. But I just couldn't turn it off! My wrist was hurting next day attempting to close it. The floor was so slanted that I kept slipping down in the bed. Slept awful! Overhead light wasn't working, just wall lights so it felt like a cave. I guess you can't expect much paying £50 per night but just basics like working bath taps, lights isn't too much to ask.

    Breakfast. Better than expected in this sort of hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to find room given not serviced, towels provided covered in blood, bed broken and badly repaired wardrobe would not close unless wedged with something .broken sink badly repaired and leaking, lamps supplied with European plugs so could not use.

    Centre of stourbridge so location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 20. The cold water tap in the bath/shower didn't work. The bed frame squeaked with the slightest of movement. The staff were not vey attentive and I was not able to find them when checking in order to complain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room was really hot and the heater in the Bathroom will not shutdown, opened the window , it was really very Noisy , the bed was very bad , could not sleep all night and had body aches the next day ,

    The Staff were really good, had no issues with staff, but the mattress must be changed in room 22, it was a very horrible night and also the heater in the bathroom should have an on off button.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to small n very squeaky also room very cold ....breakfast wasn't explained clearly was served between 7&9 but had to turn on toaster and hot water machine our self looked like a continental so had toast only to find a waitress come out at 8.30 to ask if we would like full English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in bathroom, flooring in bathroom coming up, headboard on bed not secure, being woken up by people chatting loud and moving outside furniture early hours in the morning.

    Period features, comfy bed, cooked breakfast was nice but could have been a slightly bigger portion. Wide variety of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    This was an old property, it had lovely character,however, it was poorly maintened, the floors were uneven, the wiring was unsafe, the shower leaked through the floor into the reception area and our daughter's room had fungus growing through the ceiling. The rooms were dirty. However, the linen was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold dirty and need of repairs booked for 2 nights only stayed for due to work being completed and still got charged for the 2 nights disgusting customer service

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has we have stayed before and I would stay again, as you would expect from an old building there is a lot of creaky floors and doors do not quite fit leaving gaps, which you hear noise through. The bed we had was sooo creaky that when you moved it made a loud noise which made sleeping difficult.

    Staff friendly, The hotel is very oldie worldly and full of character. its clean and a good location. Breakfast was lovely and we also had our evening meal, food is good. Great to see them having a social function the night before and a record fair which will get people in so hopefully we do not lose these lovely places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small The bed had no headboard and it was a very small double bed It was very uncomfortable The radiator was hot and twice I burnt myself. Not an ideal room for a child It was not value for money I m afraid

    The breakfast was nice with a choice of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff as the main manager said "he had a bad weekend" ! when CHECKED in as NOT welcoming & he gave me room WASN'T even made and dirty and a mess. Then the foreign staff Didn't speak much English and rude Never asked me at breakfast time if i was happy and you're left with no manager on check out and the FOREIGN workers Refused let me have some toast and coffee as agreed day before with the manager im front of the male foreign worker to have Early check out breakfast and he said He " Didn't Remember " !! very uncomfortable i felt and mo one leave room key as he walked away and spoke in Portuguese and I was Polite always to try have pleasant stay but the whole experience is Disgusting the eay i was treated and even another older male customer complained so Wasn't just me.!

    Not much as only booked for buiness computer metting stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little customer service skills from anyone, I looked behind the bed to look for a plug and there must have been close to a years worth of dust on the skirting board and the carpet as the carpet was no longer green but grey of dusk for a solid inch behind the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but I feel a better menu is needed.

    Beautiful Quirky Hotel. Uneven floors and stairs due to its age. No lift so Disabled please note Staff excellent. Have stayed in more expensive hotels that come nowhere near.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything our room was on a slope and every thing rolled of the surfaces. The bathroom was full of mould and rust. The bed squeaky and uncomfortable. No plug socket by the dressing table so had to straighter my hair with no mirror. Lighting is poor in the room. Carpet felt dirty and smelt musky. Dust everywhere. Very very dated and looked nothing like the superior room I was lead to he live I was booking. Wasn't even asked if I had enjoyed my stay on departing. The breakfast was inedable and the sausage and bacon were defiantly out of date as it tasted sweet and not a nice sweet. Overall very disappointed.

    Nothing to like dirty and poor food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress very uncomfortable, asked the staff if they knew where a location was that we were going to a party that night, just simply said no. We were hoping they might have helped us arrange to get there. No shower gel or even hand wash in the room, no hair dryer. House keeping tried to come in at 9.30 am when check out was at 11.

    The room was very large,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in bar were rude, carried on talking to each other & kissing each other whilst we waited to be served in end we walked out

    Clean, great location, lovely breakfast. Large comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved my stay and found it value for money, Good location, Clean, Spacious, Staff are great, the Portuguese guy at the reception and the Spanish girl at the bar were friendly and welcoming. I would stay again next time. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely filthy, dated and not nice to be in. The shower console was hanging off, there were cobwebs everywhere, stains on the chair and rubbish on floor as well as dead flies. I tried to complain the following morning, but couldn’t find a member of staff anywhere, even when I tried to check out. Couldn’t get a receipt for my stay either.

    The wi-fi was easy to access and reasonably fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a slightly run down feeling. Needs a revamp.

    Old fashioned hotel in the centre of town. Well worn but comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was good and prices reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in desk was not manned and no one answered the internal phone when we called it. The room was OK but in need of maintenance eg wall paper coming off the wall, extractor fan not working, mould and dirt around the shower screen, central heating not working but there were electric heaters in the room, no hair dryer in the room.

    The staff we encountered were professional, courteous and helpful. The hot cooked to order breakfast was hot and tasty. The cold buffet had a good variety and gluten free bread was available upon request. For the price it was good value for money and for a one night stay was OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very creaky and house keeping was obviously an issue as room was very dusty. windows dirty. And don't get me started on the bathroom cobwebs everywhere. Shame as the hotel has character. But would not stay there again.

    Staff were friendly, rooms were really warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    everything was nice, it is not the first time i came here, actually i use to stay in the hotels of this company, always reasonably prices for the food, good location and good value for the accommodation. I'll keep using them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a power cut, no back up plan for lights in the room, no hot water through the tap due to the power cut. This was our 2nd room, first room had filled with smoke and smelt of smouldering plastic. Shower tiles were dirty

    The bed was comfy as long as you didn’t move. The bed creaked really loud when you moved a finger...never mind anything else!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    single room was perfectly proportioned but the mattress was awful and I was woken at 06.30 with water streaming through the ceiling. luckily no damage to my property.

    breakfast was exceptional but there were no staff in the dining room to show you the ropes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom horrible. cold had to put kettle on the floor as no plug sockets were the kettle was . No plug socket by the mirror .hairdryer over top of a television the room was awful number 24 .

    Charm and character

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was so slow it was almost unusable. Had to wait too long for breakfast so eventually had to leave without having any. Understand that staff were dealing with someone else. A lot of noise from a building next door.

    Good value for money (reflected in marks given above).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold bathroom with no functioning heating. Worn and dirty bath around the edges. Generally worn and grubby. It was a pity because the building had so much potential to be a great place to stay.

    The hotel had faded charm. It was not in good decorative order, not completely clean and problems with heating. Pub food was good and basic breakfast was adequate. For the low price it was probably good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom had no heating, this was on the day when it snowed heavily. It wasn’t easy to find the hotel. I had the full English breakfast which was very good. Plenty of other choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had not been clean and had the previous customers wee in it. Mould in the bathroom. Furniture that almost fell apart. Low beam in the room that we weren't warned about as 6ft tall men. Stains on the bedding... Emailed directly. Not heard back after 48hrs.

    I liked the location. That's it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be clean....mould removed and cobwebs- I have picture....not worth £60 but I'm aware they have other rooms which are off a better standard but this room was not

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t hoovered. The bed was really uncomfortable. The bathroom was disgustingly dirty. The shower curtain needed changing. There was two screws sticking up out of the floor. The toilet door would not shut.

    The breakfast was okay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start! The ceiling in the bedroom (room 12) had a huge crack ... water leakage? The wallpaper was peeling off the walls behind the beds. The fire alarm was hanging off the ceiling by its wires ... safety/fire hazard? Bed linen was soiled. Curtains wouldn't pull across (too small for the windows) and there is a street light right outside the window, which couldn't therefore be obliterated. Had difficulty turning off the shower. Carpet needed hoovering and room generally didn't feel clean. Would have checked out upon arrival had I not felt so poorly!

    Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff, rude, disinterested. Terrible breakfast, cold coffee, ancient dried out food. Waitress who screamed at me from the other side of the room. Room was not very clean, bed too small..

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been bitten to death ! And blood all over bed when woke up !! My blood off bugs!!!!

    Nothink!!! Should be closed down!!! It’s 2018 and bed full of bed bugs?!!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, helpful and welcoming, best thing about this lovely old hotel. Warm, comfortable room and bed, interior is beautiful if in need of refurbishing. Plenty of parking in an excellent location, shops right outside the door. Food is not exciting but all well cooked, hot and tasty. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could be truly excellent with really minor maintenance schedules in place. Our room was spacious and well furnished. Beds comfortable and almost well decorated. However, the wardrobe us falling apart: A twenty minute job to fit. Water had seeped under bathroom tiles so they move slightly. The painter clearly couldn't be bothered to mask the curtain rail, and sink taps are the wrong way round. The toilet needs a new syphon. Someone has evidently had to break into the door jam to get into the room and a full repair has yet to be made. Disabled persons would find the upper floors really difficult. Note that some rooms overlook the High Street and that was really noisy in the early hours as Stourbridges youth let off steam. One final point was that in the early hours, someone knocked loudly on tbe door opposite, evidently trying ti get in. Neither of the last two pints,are directly related to hotel management but beware.

    Staff friendly and courteous. Breakfast was amazing and as it was included in the room rate even more so. Restaurant food well cooked and wholesome. Dining room good especially for a pub. Could do with some TLC on dining room chairs though. This place is so much improved.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleanliness isn't that through and there could be more attention to detail. The floors in the hotel are what you expect from a very old classical building, they are uneven and also in the rooms too. If you have trouble with this it is something to be mindful about.

    The hotel is humble. It has a nice classic look and feel to it and staff are extremely professional and friendly. Service is fantastic. Breakfast was fantastic. Large choice of items and delicious full English could be ordered hot! Excellent value for money for a reasonable double room and breakfast. Free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Random T-shirt and socks in the bedside drawer, bathroom door not close-able. Our view from our room was a poor homeless man asleep in a door way

    Very quirky building, ideally located. Saturday evening steak was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating not working so only oil radiator in room. Not really adequate for large room and shower room cold.

    Large, old fashioned room overlooking High Street. Excellent breakfast. Good central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Talbot Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: