Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roker Hotel BW Premier Collection 4 stars

Roker Terrace, Sunderland, SR6 9ND, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Sunderland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1115 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfy & quiet with a nautical theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tray filled up with water quickly which leaked so we had to mop up water with a towel. We did explain that the plug hole maybe blocked to the receptionist when leaving hotel.

    Soft bed but so comfy, large room with sofa. Spacious bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.5
    Not worth the money. Much better hotels in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor parking. Very noisy fans for rooms at the rear. Radiators and towel rails didnt work. Staff opening windows so articles in rooms not safe.

    Nice bar. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The Room was nice and clean The bed was lovely and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was nice and clean The bed was lovely and comfy. Had a good night sleep. Very quite no disturbance. Shower was the best I have been in while having a night away 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Still a favourite when in Sunderland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On previous occasions I've always had sea view rooms however on this occasion I was in a room at below car park level. Whilst this was reflected in the discounted price I would avoid rooms above number 130 (If memory serves) if you want a sea view. It's also a long confusing walk to get to these rooms in the basement.

    A beautiful hotel by the seaside in a quiet location. The attached restaurants are very good and reasonably priced. The view from the breakfast room is spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts were our only disappointment, being all self-service. 'Hot' food did not stay warm and was not regularly replenished. A let-down after everything else being so positive.

    Location overlooking beautiful beach, pier and sea views. Fantastically decorated room (145) with everything provided. Good bar area, popular with locals and visitors. Scrumptious food in Italian Kitchen restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    We had finished cycling the C2C and after an unplanned but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had finished cycling the C2C and after an unplanned but very worthwhile visit to the National Glass Centre made a spur of the moment decision not to travel back to Whitehaven but return the following day. (Note to cyclists, this was partly due to the fact they you can't take bikes on the Metro). We were pleased we did and especially pleased to find this quirky hotel. The exterior belies the interior, the staff were friendly and helpful, storing our bikes and providing useful information on gin! Our room was spacious and comfortable and though there was no view from the window, was more than adequate for the night. We ate in the bar, my son in law is still raving about the hanging kebabs. It was on that basis we decided to linger the following morning and take breakfast, another good decision - plenty of choice and well, just plenty! We rather liked the hotel newspaper too. An unexpected find and thanks in large part to the friendly and helpful staff, a bit of a treat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    The whole look and feel of the hotel was best - such a good...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How not so sound proof the rooms were! I heard a lot more than I should have and was kept up during the night and early in the morning with the sound of taps running.. I thought the ceiling was going to fall through!

    The whole look and feel of the hotel was best - such a good vibe and great detail everywhere in a stunning location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was in a good position, but my room was looking over a brewery at the back of the hotel with the noise of AHU if the window was open. Had to go through several sets of stairs to reach the room at the back of the hotel.

    Nice bedding. Hotel in good position with nice restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable and found the tea/coffee maker difficult to use____bring back the kettle!

    Very clean and well maintained Great food ,friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Cosy cosy cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how the light came into the room from the blinds on the night and it was so nosy early hours in the morning behind the back lane

    The staff were friendly and the room was cosy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Good food , just noisey room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (148) was outside some extractor fans from the Kitchens , so had the constant buzz of these , so i had very little sleep

    Great choice of 2 resturants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely return, great standards and staff in hotel,lovely location ,very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room,the one we were allocated was tiny with an arm chair squeezed in facing the side of the bed,the window was obscured by a medal stair and faced a wall,had no trouble upgrading which we paid for and were delighted with

    Nice relaxed atmosphere ,choice of eateries in hotel,all staff we came in contact with were very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Room ok apart from broken tea maker. Breakfast very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea maker in room didn’t work . Breakfast not cooked to order as advertised. Cooked items had obviously stood a while looking unappetising. Continental section limited and looked unappetising.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    this is a well presented hotel in a great location it has a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on this occasion the food wasn't that great unlike previously.Both the bar meal i had and the cooked breakfast were not that great.

    this is a well presented hotel in a great location it has a very good outside area with a fantastic view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    The distillery attached !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When there are weddings at the hotel, the guests for same should be accommodated separately from non wedding guests. We got woken up two nights running by drunk bridesmaids ... not happy ...

    The distillery attached !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice and convenient .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a room over the kitchens the room was very hot and uncomfortable apart from that the stay was very nice we have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the last couple of years.

    Situated near family home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Not very comfortable don't think we would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to asked to be moved as first bedroom was on lower ground floor and very dingy and also very long dark passages and up and down several stairs to get to most rooms not very practical

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    This is a gorgeous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of was the WiFi was terrible. Don’t know if it was just our room but that’s a tiny detail everything else was spot on .

    This is a gorgeous hotel! Our room was lovely with a stunning view. It’s a bit out the city but the buses are very easy to use and the stops are right outside the hotel. Breakfast was very nice we had a great stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    easy and good transport, good food and a choice of eateries
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were in room 108 which was above the delivery door and where woken early every morning with deliveries, the room was in the annex and the walk to the room was horrendous the lift then a walk along the corridor then down 3 flights of stairs through another corridor then up a flight of stairs . These rooms should be kept for the young and fit.

    The Italian Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. The room and bed comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a trek to our twin room. Number 111. The tea making facilities were inside the wardrobe. We stayed for 2 nights so this wasn't a problem. This could be a if you wanted space to hang clothing.

    We liked all aspects. Couldn't fault it. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great food lovely surroundings .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on a friday and saturday night so was very noisy in the room .

    Great location in a lovely area , easy walk to the beach and 30 mins walk to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed are overnight stay , wouldn't stay again due to music from bar , glad I took earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we had asked for a quiet room , you could still hear the music from the gin bar thudding.

    The staff are all very friendly and helpful , food was good . Small double room but that wasn't a problem it was nice and clean lovely fluffy towels .Good value for what we payed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very polite and helpful in all areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was called a compact room and it was very compact. The bathroom needed some tlc. Badly fixed tiles around bath, very noisy cistern and extractor fan. Bathroom needed a good clean. There was a noisy fan constantly running all night and very bright light outside the window.

    Staff were very polite and helpful in all areas. Food was good and the bars were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff were excellent , friendly and very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slight annoyance from poor sound insulation from adjacent en-suite's and pipework. The continental breakfast (£8) was poor. There was no porridge, the highlight of the menu. Had the hotel run out of oats or was there no-one to cook or even microwave it? The croissants were appalling; they were I suspect , from several days earlier and completely dried out. Some of the other items (sliced cheese) were not fresh either. Shame because generally it is a nice hotel.

    Staff were excellent , friendly and very helpful with storing our bikes. The attached Pizza restaurant was very good for our evening meal. The room was well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful sea view and romantic atmosphere in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very chic hotel with a nice comfortable double bed in our room 104.I really love the atmosphere in the cafeteria downstairs and the terrace in front of the hotel.The sea view of the terrace is simply superb! I like the place and I would get back in a nicer hotter weather in the area.I know that the hotel management and the staff there did their best to make our stay pleasant so thumbs up team! See you next year! :-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Lovely location, friendly staff and beautiful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was really patchy, I know it sounds petty but as I was doing some work on my laptop all afternoon and in the evening, it became frustrating. The view from my room was terrible, although it was just for one night, so it wasn't a big deal. When I book again I will request a better positioned room for a nicer view.

    The location is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated. The atmosphere is lovely, there are loads of eating options and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, pleasant surroundings
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner left my door open. I came back from a walk mid afternoon to find the door wedged open, with no sign of a cleaner! Breakfast was over cooked and over priced!

    Nice location, pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in bathroom not working toilet flush made a loud noise for 30 minutes after flushing smoke alarm was covered over with bag and there was a door alarm going off every 10 minutes or so when staff were coming in and out

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    I had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny bit tired from the outside.....and internal doors are slightly noisy at night.

    Bed was really comfy and room cleaned well with extra details to presentation. I only had a single so nothing fancy. I may be tempted to pay more for a larger one. Bar area and let there be crumbs are lovely to be in. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was beautiful ,the Hotel & Staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was beautiful ,the Hotel & Staff were lovely the room was very small the bed was only a king single very uncomfortable but we did like everything else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed comfortable and I liked the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Danish pastry at breakfast old and stale!!! Room a tad small didn't find kettle until we left, nothing to hang up!!!

    Bed comfortable and I liked the decor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Rainy Weekend Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of stairs so not really one to recommend for people who have mobility issues

    Location Views Smart TV Cleanliness Friendliness and helpfulness of staff Excellent buffet breakfast 3 different eating places inside the hotel Plenty of free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    We would visit this location and hotel in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight complaint I would have is there was a slight smell coming from the plug in the bathroom and the fragranced plug in that was switched on in the room, not so good for my allergies and asthma but this was soon cleared when switched off and windows opened.

    We stayed in room 147 (Rose Room), this room was absolutely stunning with a beautiful view of the beach and sea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay in the end and still laughing about the disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constructive criticism although the breakfast was good quality for some reason the sausage and bacon were Luke warm every day maybe the chef should sample his food to see how he's going wrong

    We had a disaster due to a plumbing problem the jjacuzzi waste water flooded into the dining room and a smell of sewerage filled our room . Unfortunately as the hotel was full we had to move to a room I can only describe as a broom cupboard that night however the manager couldn't have done more our evening meal was paid for we were invited to a vip event the next day and we were relocated a s a p well done many thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Limited menu for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu for breakfast. Cuttlry not all that clean. No dirty plates moved as you finished with them. No proper organisation in the ķitchen/restaurant. No wi fi over our 3 night stay. Also we had executive room with sea views and also 8 porta loos directly below our window. All in all not a 4* in my opinion

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Airshow 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airshow 2018 Extremely disappointed with the whole weekend. After paying almost double for the airshow weekend I would have expected better. We arrived on Friday and booked in 3pm asked for the food menu to be told no food would be served all weeked in the restaurant or the tea room because of the Airshow. I asked if we could order a sandwich and was told no food at all and to speak to reception. They advised me that the italian Farmhouse downstairs was doing food from 5pm to 9.30pm. and that was out only option or burgers etc. outside. The decor in the farmhouse was dark and you could haradly see the menu never mind the food. The chairs were uncomfortable and all odd in size colour and shape. I must say that the staff were inpecable and very polite and could not do enough for you. We managed to get one pint of guiness on arrival but when we went back was told no more guiness would be served until after the airshow. So to the room it took ages to fill the kettle as the cold water only trickled out. The shower you either were scalded or had to stand under the shower for 15 minutes to get a trickle of water running the water pressure was terrible. So to the breakfast again only the farmhouse was open the staff were fantastic and obviously under pressure using an unfamiliar kitchen. My breakfast was missing both bacon and hash browns, however was promptly given additional portions. We were not allowed on the terrace we were not allowed in Crumbs as people had paid for lunch etc. We paid double for the hotel an absolute disgrace. Second morning of breakfast and the crockery was disgusting and had not been washed correctly. The selection of cereal was also very poor. Both evenings we were unable to sleep because of the live bands/music blasting to the point the the floor was vibrating. All in all it was not a good experience at all other than a big thank you to the staff at breakfast and on both evenings in the Italalian Farmhouse.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money, nothing was worth the costs charged but fundamentally it was too loud to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very disappointing one night stay. We had booked four rooms for two nights as a group of friends in the area for a friends wedding, but after one night of loud music until 1am from the bar below we asked for a refund and went elsewhere for the second night. We had asked the staff if the music could be turned down but it took three calls before any action was taken. As for the food, the Italian which is part of the complex had a slow service and mediocre food. The bar was also slow service and a place that is also a distillery did not know how to serve a gin and tonic properly nor did they make classic cocktails well either. The breakfast included anaemic and over-cooked scrambled eggs and cheap soft croissants. The restaurant area next to the bar had the slowest service of all and took 50 minutes to tell us a key component was not available for one of the orders, then everyone's food was served very over-cooked. When I booked the rating of the hotel was much higher on booking.com, it has since unsurprisingly dropped. I really liked the look of this hotel, but overall it was a huge disappointment. The rooms appeared smaller than expected, service was terrible, as was food and drink. The bed was reasonably comfortable but nothing special but overall useless as it was too loud to sleep anyway due to the bar playing music until 1am.

    Decor was ok, but this is genuinely all that was suitable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Very friendly staff. Lovely quirky hotel - loved the newspaper on the bed, it showed that some thought had been put in to making staying there a unique experience. Comfortable bed and good facilities and a great breakfast. The view over the sea front was amazing. We will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is fine just the dining service leaves much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How does it take so long to prepare 4 meals which were hardly complicated? Was there only 1 chef for all the eating areas?

    I booked a meal for 4 in the evening and it took almost 45 mins. to appear. The service is quite slow!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    It was an enjoyable stay, decor in room was very good,...
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firm mattress would have suited me more.

    It was an enjoyable stay, decor in room was very good, comfortable seat and chair to enjoy the sea view, breakfast was good in a nice setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel if you don’t want to sleep before 01.00 am on a Friday or Saturday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed Saturday night. Was allocated an exec room with Sea View at a cost of £120. At no time was it explained to me that the room was directly above the loudest disco in Sunderland which plays till 01.00 in the morning. If I had been warned I would have moved rooms. (If alternative available). But at 12.00 midnight it was too late to do this as I was already in bed. On the plus side I was given a £50 reduction but would have preferred a noise free room.

    Very good service, staff very friendly and good food. Price of drinks quite reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Forgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poky room, barely any space to move around the bed without bumping into the wall mounted TV, wardrobe, side table, etc. Breakfast plentiful but basic and dry.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Will happily stay there again with the above provisos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was directly above the bar area. Fine if you like LOUD thumping (disco?) beats till 1 a.m. Friday and Saturday, but only to 10 pm Sunday. Avoid rooms 114 etc or ask for quiet room on booking. The corridors to the rooms have multiple stairs, so ask for location near lift if you have mobility problems.

    All staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly. The three restaurants excellent value, quality and service. Parking available front and rear. View straight out to sea. Adjacent to the really nice Roker Park, and walkways straight down to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Nice area good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disapointed when trying to book for two weeks time to find rate was double what we had just paid So not returning as soon as expected 😞😞

    Great hotel excellent staff and facilities.super position on the lovely seafront . Room nice good standard of decor etc Was very hot...no Air -Con .....but don't usually suffer from being too warm in North a East . Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    An unexpected gem . Will be revisiting soon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in our room was a bit high...hard to climb into to access the shower.

    Excellent hotel fantastic location opposite a great beach. Excellent afternoon tea great value for money. Pizza restaurant in the cellar and vibrant bar which also sold food. And a Gin distillery on site .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Three nights in a good location at a decent price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much use of plastic wrapping in bathroom products and replacement of opened bathroom products - soap for example, despite us staying more than one night in the room. Didn't need to discard and replace when only just opened.

    Nice restaurant choices and well prepared food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    What a find. Great hotel / Great Staff / Great Food !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. Absolutely loved it

    What a little gem of a hotel. Great restaurant great staff great location. Would be impossible to get in during the summer months, that is if everyone knows about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Stay in the N.East most weeks, I would say not great value to compared to other places.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £117 per night and no breakfast. Bar food poor, I did complain and was told that they would tell the chef. That was it !!!!!!

    Grerat views , comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    very pleasant and relaxing lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast finished a little early but tearoom opened early we would certainly stay again but would book room only

    Alina on reception went out of her way to help me print of boarding pass she also very kindly moved us to a better room after our first night as it was a little noisy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three day camel trek to the bedroom, up and down stairs. No offer to assist with bags. Make sure you stay in the main hotel and not the annex a few doors up (previous bad experience).

    This is a great hotel in a wonderful location. Sea Views Choice of restaurants Clean, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    There was nothing to fault with my stay here, it’s the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault with my stay here, it’s the best B&B I’ve stayed in. From check-in to departure, not a single fault to be had. The choice of breakfast is outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Really good stay, enjoyed the break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room wouldn’t stay open.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were excellent. The women working in the bar on the Monday night always excellent, she went the extra mile to help us out. Went we came back from been out the room had been cleaned and the staff put a plushy I brought on the bed which was really cute.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    we were informed that there was a 40 min for food when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were informed that there was a 40 min for food when we were shown to our table, but after waiting 25mins the order had still not been taken so we left. I also found the breakfast was not what I would have expected from a B W Premier Hotel, and the service was not good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    All in all a good place to stay and I'll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was a little hit and miss in the bedroom.

    Stayed there several times whilst on business. Good location on the front. Short taxi ride to Sunderland centre. Polite and pleasant staff. Good rates.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasantly surprised and I will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finishes at 9am which is about 30 minutes earlier than most hotels I stay at.

    I chose a superior sea facing room for only a little extra. Massive room very well decorated with enormous flat screen tv and super long sleigh bed style king size bed. Extremely comfortable. The restuarants and bars attached are all great, the bar Poetic Licence has a large selection of craft beers and draughts available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Gluten free breakfast available on request
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location overlooking Roker beach.The hotel provided gluten free bread at breakfast and ordered in gluten free cereal flakes for me. Their Poetic License restaurant offered tasty gluten free options too. Free car parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flight of stairs to get to the room was horrendous...with a view of the back yard. Room was small. Drink facility eg kettle, tea...was in the wardrobe...really??? Shower over the bath...water were still dripping out with the shower screen. I wouldn't stay again.

    Breakfast was alright.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely stay and will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely hot. Take your own fan like us. Sunday lunch in restaurant was awful. Cold. V.slow service,

    Location - fantastic views from most areas. Very nice staff, so helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast. Hotel great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nicely located hotel with good access to the city centre and local seafront. There is a good range of options for eating, each of which has a decent menu, good quality food and great service. The room was clean and well looked after (although it was a bit of a maze to get there!!). The staff in the restaurants and on reception were friendly and attentive and although the front car park was full, the overflow car park is very well signposted and had plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Beautifully decorated throughout and very warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautifully decorated throughout and very warm and welcoming. The location on the sea front is perfect - and the staff couldn’t do enough to help. A brilliant stay - we will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    We'll be back.....................
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Italian was shut

    This was our 3rd stay here and everything was very good otherwise we'd have gone somewhere else.The room was a bit on the small side, but that was O.K. for one night.The biggest prob.was that the Italian wasn't open as it was Sunday (?).I'm about to book another visit , again on a Sunday.Better take some sarnies.........................

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    It was pleasant once we were moved after a terrible first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated room 112 the music noise from the bar below was intolerable. Rang reception at midnight and was told it would go on until 1 am on a Fri and Sat eve and until 10.30 pm on a Sun. They had taken full payment on arrival and we insisted we be moved or get a refund and leave. The manager was very nice and were upgraded to a sea view room away from the noise. Beware of room 112 and surrounds at weekends!

    Very nice staff, and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall great hotel despite some minor issues
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower mixer valve faulty and burned top of my head. This was reported to reception. Room 115 was very hot and empty glass bottles being emptied in to large bins late at night causing noise. Room 113 was great but drained backed up in both rooms when stayed

    Food was fantastic and reasonably priced. There is also history and caricature with the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with a beatiful sea view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beakfast area was lovely looking but the dead flowers on the table where not welcoming. The staff where not rushed yet the continental breakfast was lacking love, the Cheese board was 4 skinny slices of brie stuck to a plate,1 dried slice of swiss cheese and 2 round cheeses stuck together. Our table was tiny and never got cleared as we went. I feel we didnt get much for our money especialy when you can get a spa hotel with a breakfast included for the price we paid

    The room was lovely , clean and comfortable with an amazing view Restaurant was really nice, drinks are a good price too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Staff went the extra mile for us and nothing was too much to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and room was very hot. Staff happily supplied a fan though :-)

    Staff went the extra mile for us and nothing was too much to ask. The breakfast was lovely and the portions were generous. Italian farmhouse restaurant well worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great location and so much within the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t get WiFi as there was an issue with the router.

    Great location and so much within the hotel. Bar/Pub, fantastic food. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Room was well made with lots of cushions and black out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed to have had to have paid an extra £20 to check in at 12.30pm. We booked the hotel for a friends’ wedding and had travelled over 350 miles. So needed to freshen up and put on our outfits. Contacted the hotel to explain this, but they charged us an extra £20 for the privilege.

    Room was well made with lots of cushions and black out blinds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Good except no tourist information provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tourist information was provided. I had done research at home and on phone regarding attractions nearby/bus route, metro connections, etc. I was really surprised and disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Go here once at least!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperately needs more staff to collect the glasses from the bar. Also the fan in the bathroom didn't work well, a petty thing though.

    Really nice ambience, surroundings, rooms, bar choice, food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Really enjoyed it hotel is in a lovely setting and the decor etc is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water when we went to get ready for the nightime, we were there to attend a charity ball so it wasn't ideal when we couldn't have a hot shower/bath. The manager confirmed that we were one of the last rooms that got the water the way the pipes were laid out but he refunded half of the money we had paid for our room

    The bar was really nice, plenty of space and with it being a nice day most people sat in the conservatory or outside. Parking was easy as they have a car park around the back of the hotel as well. I was impressed with the security as we had attended an event on the night if you were a resident you could use the bar until 2am and the security quickly established who were residents and who weren't so we felt safe enough. The room we were in was small, nice and very compact as it had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice - but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two weddings on at the venue, which we were not told till checking in. The noise to the rooms was extremely loud. Also bed had springs loose.

    Great location, rooms had cute decor and great sized bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.5
    The hotel is a gem, rooms are comfortable, food is good and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike, it is a model for how small hotels should be run.

    The hotel is a gem, rooms are comfortable, food is good and they make their own gin in various flavours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Friends Wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some damp in several rooms which is dissappontIng and smelly

    Bed a little soft but large and comfortable Decor, fittings and furniture were excellent. Telescope to look out to sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Marvelous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mmm...the breakfast orange juice ran out on our second morning, but the cranberry juice was fine as an alternative.

    Firstly the location, having been born five minutes walk from the hotel, and it was ideally situated for meeting old friends. As we were only staying two nights the view wasn't important, but the room was cosy, comfortable and clean, with interesting 'retro' light fittings. I saw some of the other rooms, all designed on different themes. The breakfast in 'Crumbs' cafe was good, with plenty of choices. The Italian restaurant is excellent and very good value. We met our friends in the 'Poetic License' (sic) bar, and had a wonderful time. My wife is insisting we pay a return visit soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    We arrived late and lady on counter was very nice about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and lady on counter was very nice about it. Also my partner doesn't sleep so was up and down going for cigarette during night and the man on nightshift was very kind to keep unlocking the door for him

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: