Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Taynuilt Guest House 3 stars

Taynuilt, Taynuilt, PA35 1JN, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    The friendliness of staff and lovely breakfast made up for other inadequacies.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if we could have had an evening meal as it was a fair distance to go to eat, although extremely good.

    Breakfast was very good and staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    NIce stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky floor made us feel self-conscious about moving around, considering the noise and the bother for other guests.

    Very welcoming, pleasant and helpful staff. Good parking facilities. Nice breakfast room with a good breakfast and a good collection of choices. Very good coffee. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Large room in a very nice area. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had 2 single beds together making a double (different mattress, one softer than the other though..), and noisy macerator toilet. It is an old building, probably the only option the had. Still comfy enough.

    Huge room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. There was some dust and a few cobwebs in rhe fireplace and high ceiling. The springs had gone in both the antique chairs.

    The deluxe double room was spacious and airy with it's own patio outside. The room was furnished with antique furniture. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    B&b quite pricey for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals and only continental breakfast. Photos on website showed lovely food. The restaurant has moved to Oban several miles away so if you want wine with your meal you'd have to get a taxi. I don't think food should be advertised if it is not available on the premises

    Room was clean, bed comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    A great stay at an old Coach Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good location. Easy to find. Very clean Inn throughout. Comfortable beds. Good sized ensuites. Lovely breakfasts. Helpful friendly staff. Host Christine is very helpful and has great knowledge of the area. Thank you to her and Karina for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely b&b in great village with close proximity to Oban
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was £10 charge for dog!

    Very comfortable single room with ensuite. Extremely clean and tidy room, comfortable bed. Great value for money for the room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stop and stay on way through to Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a dislike more a slight negative - the shower pressure was not so great. It was not so bad that I would not stay again. The guest house is located on the main road through to Oban. It was not noisy or anything, however if you had small children, you would want to keep a close eye on them.

    Awesome, friendly Guest House. The staff could not do enough for us. Our room was large with lots of little knick-knacks which added to the uniqueness of this place. It had DVDs to watch if you wanted to. There was a whole little patio area right off our room, which was quiet and private. The bed was so comfortable, and the ensuite bathroom was adequate for our needs. We had a really nice breakfast the next morning. There was a grocers just a short walk from the guest house. We stayed here on our way to Oban and it was a great alternative and we would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice, quiet and comfy, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy doors from Neighbors and hallways - all just need some lubrication

    Great quiet location, clean and comfy, Christie is super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good guesthouse with comfortable bed in a nice traditional building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't realise the hotel turned into a guesthouse, so dinner wasn't possible anymore. It would be nice if there was a chair in our room.

    Nice room in a traditional building with comfortable bed. Very kind personnel. Perfect breakfast, couldn't be better, in a beautiful decorated breakfast-room. Large parking space behind guesthouse. 15/20 minutes drive from Oban. Wifi was OK. Although guesthouse is situated on main road room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    A waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was dire. I have no idea what category the breakfast falls into. It most certainly wasn't a full English (granted it wasn't advertised as such) and it wasn't a continental breakfast. I wondered why we were provided with a fork as the were no cold meats and no cheeses for example. All done on the cheap. There was no remote for the TV and it was already known that it had disappeared following a previous guest's departure. The TV was of a vintage that made it impossible to control it using the buttons. What was particularly galling was that I had to persuade a member of the staff to obtain a replacement remote. Why wasn't this done prior to our arrival as it was know to be an issue for this room?

    Gillian greeted us and was cheery and pleasant. The bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal provision so had to make travel arrangements to Brander Lodge 3 miles to the east as I had no car. The staff there gave me a lift back to Taynuilt.

    Breakfast was of a continental variety which was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing in traditional style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Each room is different, yet in two of the three rooms we booked, we had some trouble with the shower (second floor). It was either very hot or very cold. Was difficult to keep it constant on a pleasant temperature.

    I stayed here with my family (two parents, three brothers) so we booked three rooms. It is a classic traditional house, set in that style. We enjoyed the comfort and size of the beds. Also our host was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful with enough options to please everyone! We also enjoyed sitting in the lounge to play some card games. Everything was very clean. We used Taynuilt as a base to explore Oban and surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    cosy and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. The room was small but the rate as well.

    The host asked in avance about dietary needs. I mentioned vegan, but would not be disappointed if I would not get it. She provided me with lots of vegan products and even with soya milk for the coffee maker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Good but crap breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would expect a cooked breakfast for what I paid for the room, not a continental, that was a let down to say the least. Tiles need changed in bathroom floor extremely slippy

    lovely comfy bed and lovely room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering this was rated as a “superior” room and charged accordingly, we should have received better accommodation and service.

    Not much... staff complained about their workload and didn’t provide a receipt for our payment even though promising to do so. The room overlooked the road and was very noisy with the windows rattling. Other guests opening and closing their doors also made our door rattle. Tv was small and cheap and bed was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasing new makeover of the old hotel. Comfortable and recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked, it was still a hotel - it's now a 'guest house', and very nice too, just be aware that you have to drive a few miles up the road now for your evening meal. There is a cafe within walking distance, but it closes at around 5pm. This is in no way a criticism of the new lovely owner, of course - the place has clearly received a very good makeover, and I would certainly recommend it. I was able to give a lift for dinner to some hikers who were without transport, who had also booked it some months prior, as a hotel.

    We were pretty happy with all the aspects of our stay there. The room was lovely - spotlessly clean and all very nice.The owner was very friendly, helpful and polite. She helped us to book dinner at the restaurant a few miles down the road. The cooked breakfast (extra cost) was delicious, and she wrapped our breakfast leftovers up so we could have them for lunch, as we were hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor( I expected a Full English breakfast as it was included in the room rate, but no way) The bathroom door couldn't be closed properly The shower hose was really bad quality delivering a poor showering experience

    Good location- beautiful surroundings Free Wi-Fi internet access Free public parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The low ceilings going up stairs kept bumping my head😁.

    Christine was very welcoming. After a long day she made us some sandwiches which was much appreciated. It located perfectly for us and did the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable old coach house and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed last year and Didn’t realise when booking that wouldn’t be hot breakfast, wasn’t a real issue as continental was lovely. Also the bar area is no longer there however would stay again now that I know

    Comfortable bed and friendly manageress

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't enough choice on the dinner menu which was expensive and the lamb wasn't lean which you expect to have with fine dining

    The cosy bedroom and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and perfect location. Will definitely return.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit limited, but not a big deal.

    The room was delightful - spacious and full of character. It cost the same as a faceless room in a city centre hotel which is why I rated it as value for money. The food was also delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    A hotel which doesn't really want you to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had driven 350 miles to get there and were tired and hungry; we asked if it was possible to have a light supper or just one course instead of the 2 or 3 course set meal in the formal dining room at an extortionate cost - absolutely not, no leeway, no allowance for the fact that we were tired and didn't feel up to a multi-course meal. The nearest other place to eat was ten miles down the road. The bar had no atmosphere (and no customers) and only sold bottled beer at more than £5 per bottle. The room was dark and the bed not very comfortable.

    Not much apart from friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    good stop over on our travels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was up 2 flights of stairs and we did not know until we arrived...... and with some mobility difficulties, I struggled.

    Comfy bed, large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic restaurant onsite. Comfortable room and close to ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, at times, seemed a little nervous but perhaps just keen to please/ being kept very busy! Always very friendly and extremely knowledgable.

    The room was very comfortable with usual toiletries and tea tray. Building is quite old so rooms are not very spacious but ample. Hotel is very close to ferry port and on a main road but no problems with noise. The real draw of this place though, is the restaurant, 'The Etive'. It is excellent and the team are very keen to share their enthusiasm about the provenance of ingredients etc. The chef was picking edible flowers from their small garden as we arrived and you can see the veggie poly-tunnels from the car park. We booked an 8pm dinner and needed to delay by 15 mins which was accommodated with no issue. The meal we enjoyed outshone a Michelin-starred restaurant we'd visited earlier in the week- absolutely delicious. Great wines by the glass and just a shame it wasn't busier. More people need to know about this gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Charming old fashioned hotel with nice decorated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming old fashioned hotel with nice decorated and spacious rooms. Welcoming reception and service The food in the restaurant is really special and delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Welcoming staff and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Loved the friendliness of the staff. Breakfast was great and the room and bed was comfortable. Handy to Oban and other sites Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful atmosphere at a reasonable price, but beware - the restaurant is spendy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the Restaurant was good and the presentation great, but it was quite overpriced especially the breakfast. It was nearly double in price to comparable meals.

    It is a beautiful historic hotel in a beautiful setting and the cost was quite reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Super-well-run little inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodations are a bit run down.

    The staff were the best of our entire 3-week trip. Only 4 people run this inn, including reception, chef, bar and restaurant, and they do an amazing job (besides the cleaning and housekeeping staff). They are very dedicated, friendly, take pride in their work, gave us a lot of information about the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet hotel, well situated for Ivan but away from the tourist crowds. Plenty of passing available We didn't indulge but the hotel had a gourmet restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Divine gourmet experience staying at The Taynuilt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all!

    The hotel's restaurant is simply superb ( similarly with breakfast) and provided without a doubt the best meals we had during our whole time travelling in Scotland. Wonderful food, ambience and great personal involvement from the friendly and dedicated staff who care deeply about their menu and the quality of ingredients. The chef wasn't put off at all by members of our party being vegetarian and rustled up exquisite creations not on the menu

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Lovely but short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door stuck, banged my toe "ouch" needed a bit shaving off the bottom, the door not my toe :).

    Lovely large room with four poster. Friendly lady on reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to eat and also to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to eat and also to stay. Lovely little beach a short walk away. Great whisky/wine selection. A fantastic place for an overnight stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Clean, warm and well run with fabulous food.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little tired but money is clearly being invested back in to improvements and everything is very clean and warm. Under current regime I would expect it to keep improving.

    Beautifully clean, warm and welcoming. The staff are professional and really care about doing a good job. Breakfast to die for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.0
    Beautiful hotel in a remote position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed, early, I assume, due to lack of guests. I went to get an orange juice at 21.50 and it was all locked up and no one about!

    We were a little surprised at the location and distance from anywhere.. it was 11 miles to Oban, which was the nearest place to go to, for food or drinks. The hotel bar was comfortable but like the restaurant very expensive. The rooms were lovely very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This hotel is a little gem. Tastefully and individually decorated. Good location for a stopover. But I also imagine it would be equally good for a longer stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    The food was top notch- we had the bar menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly let down by the clean basic and tired bedroom/bathroom The outside of the hotel also looked tired and in need of a bit of a facelift The mirror was some way from practical use with the hairdryer. The door catch was faulty. The kettle was hard to plug in to the socket due to short flex.

    The food was top notch- we had the bar menu. Polite and warm welcome at the reception desk on arrival unobtrusive and efficient attention and service from staff were exemplary. Could not fault them, they worked incredibly hard to make the dining experience a relaxed and pleasurable one.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    great wee escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no place is perfect but there was nothing that would have been poor enough to have given us cause for complaint

    food excellent, location excellent, staff excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Quality of food and service was A1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 9 was clean, adequate but fairly basic

    Quality of food and service was A1 The presentation of malt whiskies was excellent. Unfortunately I was driving next morning and unable to sample more than one

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A lovely wee hotel with great staff and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fresh fruit and plain yogurt at breakfast would have been nice.

    The staff were really friendly without being overbearing. Our room was very comfortable with lots of character and the little wooden mice on the ceiling beams were a lovely quirky touch. The food was really good and the bar, really well stocked.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Tremendous dining experience included in overnight dinner B&B offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom needs updating and refurbishment but fine for an overnight stop

    Outstandingly good food and hospitality, very generous dinner bed and breakfast offer with 3 course dinner much more than we assumed would be included

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    A fabulous, comfortable, friendly place to stay in the beautiful Scottish highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offered us a fine dining a-la-carte menu, but we only really wanted plainer (and less expensive) bar meals, so we had our evening meal elsewhere.

    All of the staff we met were great hosts and made us feel really welcome. They were well informed about whiskies and the local beers so could advise us what to try! We had a very spacious double room, with a comfortable bed, great showers and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    A fabulous find - great food in the midst of wonderful scenery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - the bathroom doorway was a bit low if you are very tall!

    The food was fantastic - wonderful cooking and an interesting wine list to go with it. The room was very comfortable and had all the comforts you could want. We were on a cycle tour and the hotel were happy to securely store our bikes overnight a facility not universally available. All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and exceptionally knowledgeable about the food and drinks on offer. It was a very memorable night after a long day cycling along the side of Loch Awe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    5 minutes from Taynuilt train station so easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    5 minutes from Taynuilt train station so easy to reach. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. Lovely selection available for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Nice, but wouldn't stay again
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very disappointing. Very small for £138. My sister in laws room double the size for £120. Bedrooms supposed to refurbish, hate to see what they were like before. Very noisy shower. Main meals well over priced. £25 for a steak not bad but add extras like potatoes, veg etc £4 each. That's right each

    The bar area was lovely, staff very pleasant. Happy to help. Breakfast was lovely. Light snack menu sandwiches, worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely setting and nice surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn't start until 8am - disappointing as needed to be in Oban for business - went without

    Lovely setting - lots of extras within the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a slight problem with the original room but were moved quickly with no fuss, the food eaten in the restaurant was fantastic, would visit again just to be able to eat there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.8
    Taynuilt Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little cramped. With everything else so nice we were disappointed with the bathroom.

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. Food is exceptional Bar is well stocked. David the manager was very friendly and chatted with us and gave us tips.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    VERY pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our first trip to Argyll and we THOROUGHLY enjoyed the Hotel. The rooms are desperately clean and charming and the food - nothing short of fantastic!!! In addition, the staff was remarkable in their efficiency AND genuinely pleasant care for guests. Needless to say - we'll make a point of returning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay but the room was definitely over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very expensive for what it was. Described as a suite, it had no wardrobe and its private terrace had a neglected air. Bed was far too soft.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was of excellent quality. Good wine list. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    The location and decor was very dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and decor was very dated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming. Nice location for visiting Isle of Mull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Authentic old Inn with a great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Authentic old Inn with a great host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Convenient location. Great value for money and we could take our dog !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy beds. Charming staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Worth visiting this place. We ll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely place. Beautiful rooms. Big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Had a great stay, good breakfast comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was no good, it was either hot or cold, no in between

    It was a comfortable bed and room. Owner friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Good comfy room in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good comfy room in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend it for people on a budget looking for a clean room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Thanks to Christine for the great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks to Christine for the great hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I found the stay very enjoyable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    everything was very comfortable. the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Loved the history of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the history of the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the breakfast. I normally like a full English / Scottish when on holiday but this was as good if not better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with all you need, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it and the staff made the difference between an OK stay and a really good one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could think of.

    Staff made every effort to make my stay perfect. Very helpful with advice on how best to make my trip a success.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Pleasant atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Larger shower would have been useful

    Pleasant atmosphere.Handy location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Stayed for 2 nights - very comfortable, and a wonderful welcome from the manager Christine and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Manager Christine was so helpful and friendly. The light breakfast is good - nice coffee too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful place! Would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was quaint and quiet and the rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    Only if necessary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom when we arrived were terribly cold. The heating system did not work well for the all night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. A great selection of gluten and dairy free breakfast options to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly people very good foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly people very good foot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    A cosy stay a short distance from Oban which gives you a true feel of Scottish hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was incredibly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Made very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fabulous Bar was lovely with great selection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside terrace and room

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: