Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ten Hill Place Hotel 4 stars

10 Hill Place, Newington, Edinburgh, EH8 9DS, United Kingdom

#36 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the above we had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older waiter at breakfast shocked me with his attitude when I pointed out that the toaster was too high and was burning the toast. He snapped the slice of bread from me a scolded me for cutting the slice too thick! (It was not). I was very embarrassed at being berated like this in front of other guests. I then asked did he have any sliced brown bread and was told in yet another unhelpful voice “no use that white sliced bread”. Considering the rest of the staff in the hotel could not be nicer, he needs to sharpen up his attitude to guests.

    We were made very welcome by the gentleman in reception, also the reception girl on leaving. We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff and the quality of the food were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal position located just off off South Bridge close to the Surgeons Hall museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm struggling to think of something

    Excellent position just off the main road so it was really quiet. Our room was huge (301) which made the cost seem justifiable ! The room rates were in line with all the major hotels and even ones not noted for their comfort / stars. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and fresh milk was available. Also the room had a small fridge perfect for keeping not only the milk and water cold but also wine from the supermarket :) Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was plenty of choice including haggis ! Around a 10 - 15 minute walk from The Royal mile and all the Edinburgh highlights. Bus stops are very close by, the Lothian bus company day ticket is £4 per adult and that took us to see the Royal Yacht Britannia and Holyrood House. Plenty of restaurants cafes and supermarkets within minutes of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    worst experience in booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in the room doesn't work. I had asked the front desk many times, and they always answered me they would try to fix it. But the air con never worked until I left the hotel. The night of Edinburgh is pretty cold, so I get a cold that night. Considering the high price of this hotel, this is the worst living experience I have ever tried in booking. Pretty disappointing!

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    If you don't mind being on edge of centre its a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant dinner really not of a standard for a 4 star hotel and problems with the restaurant bill (but which was resolved).

    Room spacious ,good breakfast, staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and very comfortable throughout my 5 day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included is no good for me as I break my fast about mid-morning. Would prefer to have a modest reduction in the daily rate to reflect this.

    The room was very comfortable and fully equipped for all my needs. Having windows that open to a restricted level was such a joy as air conditioning only can feel pretty stuffy. Reception staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets in the bedroom have a glass door which is only partially opaque with clear vision strips at regular intervals so you can see your partner on the toilet! A fully opaque door, so that you can’t see in would be more private and a better design option. Please change the doors!

    Clean hotel with comfy beds and all the necessities you need in the room. It is in a good location within a 10 minute walk of the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Waverley train station, the castle, National Museum and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent, staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Room 421 was nice & quiet but Room 412 was a tad noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee was a tad dilute. I like mine strong especially early in the mornings!

    Room 421 was nice & quiet but Room 412 was a tad noisy due to the rubbish/delivery trucks round the back. I have stayed here many times due to its close proximity to my daughter's university accommodation on Potterrow & am very happy with its location, cleanliness & staff. Breakfast open till 11am is a bonus for people who like to sleep in a bit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay, all as hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road it is situated in is a little dark/dirty feeling.

    Good location for walking to all major attractions and perfect location for being really close to the start of the Edinburgh half marathon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean Comfy Room with plenty of good restaurants around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Renovation works caused some noise disturbance but we were told about this when we asked for a room with a view. -Wifi was a bit iffy but this is true for most hotels -Could do with a mini fridge and more generous portions of tea/coffee and biscuits -More electrical sockets beside the bedside please

    -Very clean and comfy double bedroom with a clean bathroom. Tub included - thank you! -Requested for a room with a view, was provided one without hassle - thank you! -Located near several good eat outs and about 15mins from EDB station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Staff, very comfy and big bed, great bathroom with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely Staff, very comfy and big bed, great bathroom with a bath. very short walk to centre of Edinburgh and a 12pm check out time. would stay here again.

    Lovely Staff, very comfy and big bed, great bathroom with a bath. very short walk to centre of Edinburgh and a 12pm check out time. would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Doubtful we will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money. Eating at the hotel very expensive. Mattress was terrible - far too hard. Staff not over helpful

    Cleanliness good. Bathroom facilities good . Some staff were friendly, others not, Did not give info re breakfast, where lift situated, where breakfast was served, where to get coffee/drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great

    Everything about the hotel was perfect, from the extremely helpful staff, the the very comfortable rooms and the excellent food and customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel, which I can confidently recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To turn on the refrigerator I had to climb under the table. Air conditioning work strange, the room did not warm up for a long time. However, all this did not spoil the impression, and in general the hotel is very good.

    Conveniently located hotel on a side street, quiet enough. The hotel is quiet and nothing prevents a good night's sleep. 10 minutes walk to the center and to the train station. Modern large and clean room. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, room quite big and comfortable, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, room quite big and comfortable, spacious bathroom with overhead shower, bed very comfortable, breakfast very nice with a good choice to choose from. Unfortunately had to leave early due to my wife not being very well, but would use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selections on the restaurant menu. Location excellent but area a bit tacky with many take-away food shops.

    Modern, clean. Very friendly staff. Close to the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    OK stay but at firm rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been much better, and a mention of the building/extension of the hotel would have been useful in terms of managing expectations. In the end, the noise was limited.

    The location is very good if you need to be close to the university

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    One of the few independent hotels in Edinburgh and it excels with its personal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We got a free upgrade. There was also a list of freebies available on asking....from a packet of chocolate biscuits to a dvd player to an exercise bike !!!!😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent food service and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid nearly double the rate that was being offered on the night by booking early

    Excellent food service and rooms. Breakfast choice excellent. Would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, warm and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate in bar, restaurant may be a bit bland?

    The staff were very accommodating as we got off the Calendonian Overnight train early in the morning and provided use with coffee and room was available late morning . Location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great, with some thoughtful touches - definitely worth a look for future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much all good- no down side to this stay.

    Following communication with the Hotel they were aware that the stay was part of a celebration of my partner's birthday. Not sure if it was due to this but we were upgraded to a lovely room on their top floor. Also the birthday card was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely food and a very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building site or morning deliveries were a bit loud but that can't be helped. Black pudding at breakfast was way overcooked! Otherwise breakfast was lovely.

    The room was comfortable and clean. Dinner was superb and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it’s a good location, it’s not in the best part of towns

    The staff was very helpful and kind. We had a problem with the door, which couldn’t open and they had to remove the locker, and they upgraded us to a better room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    IDEAL LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was beverages were very expensive.

    Arrived early to leave our bags and got an early check-in. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Room and communal areas were spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window in the room. Cleaning service didn’t wash the spoon.

    The room is big, warm. Staff friendly and ready to help! Espresso in lobby bar is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Edinburgh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good and quiet location at walking distance of the Castle and other interesting places. Excellent breakfast with great choice. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is correct and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming, small hotel feel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt like air-conditioning flow over the bed, I could smell dust when I turned it on and as I am slightly aesthmatic, I did not want to risk it, so turned it off, but room too hot, so did not sleep well.

    Room much larger than I expected, and very well decorated. Lovely welcoming staff, and a cosy feel to the whole place, would use it again. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt that great. Cheeses were hard (like it had been left out and not stored properly) Would of expected slightly better for the price paid for the service.

    The bath and shower were amazing. Room was a good size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay, with friendly staff at the hotel it made all the difference.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful during the stay, which ended up being extended by three days due to the weather restrictions from Storm Emma on flights. During the snow reception made soup and sandwiches available for those not wishing to go outdoors (and before dinner service began)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent! Comfortable, convenient, everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren’t able to get an early booking in the restaurant but we probably should have tried sooner.

    Very comfortable bed, convenient location, had everything we needed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on the door was slightly confusing at first

    Staff were really friendly. We left behind a pair of earrings and it was at the desk when we collected our luggage later in the day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Weekend stay in February
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Excellently located slightly off the main road, convenient for the city centre without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Facilities are great, everything you could need, the air con and heating system efficient and easy to use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, comfortable room, very helpful staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, comfortable room, very helpful staff and a quiet location. The hotel also has a good bar that is comfortable for doing a bit of work, if needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, the staff make it extra special
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were lovely and friendly, every request was met with a smile. The room was very comfy and the breakfast was great. We were especially impressed with the allergen labelling at the buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    We were there overnight for a show at Festival theatre. This hotel was perfect for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that wine bar might have been more comfortable we were there overnight for a show at Festival Theayre

    Food was excellent- beautifully cooked and relaxed atmosphere in dining room both for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant and exactly what we needed, plus individual attention. Excellent view from our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    There was a good selection of HEALTHY breakfasts for those who don't eat cooked breakfast: including fruit, with lots of my favourite berries!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Overall a lovely stay & lives up to its 4* rating. Have been in many worse 5* hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, there was some building work going on in the street next door which began @ 8 am! Lorries & workmen. Also, we were put in the room opposite the cleaners cupboard (304) so could also hear them preparing outside our room first thing in the morning.

    Very comfortable bed, with good facilities. Great breakfast although a little expensive. Book the day/night before to save £5pp

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for what it was required for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange to have see through en suite bathroom door! Breakfast cost extra. No parking nearby.

    Excellent location for what it was required for. Very nice room and good breakfast, although not included in price. Kindly provided toothbrush kit with no charge. Friendly professional staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Edinburgh Hogmanay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets. That’s my problem though, as I see them as the most disgusting thing on the planet.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, very comfortable bed, large rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Reasonably priced hotel in a great location, will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was quite a trek and expensive, though this is to be expected in a major city. Not the nicest part of Edinburgh, in the student area, though this did mean night life was bustling and plenty of nearby cheap eats.

    Lovely modern hotel in the Surgeons Quarter of old Edinburgh and a stones throw from the Royal Mile. Staff very friendly, room was spacious and colourfully decorated with all usual amenities. Only used the dining room at breakfast, and it was quite small, though breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked that there was complimentary bottled water in the room. I liked that there was a fridge. I liked that they had conditioner (many places only have shampoo).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Rebooked for another stay in February.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit of a bind however the hotels discount towards the NCP charge helped sooth the treck to the car park.

    Friendly staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all fab

    Excellent customer service .. super friendly check in / check out . Rooms spacious and comfy beds . Excellent location with access to restraunts and bars .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel close to University
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in Edinburgh for my daughter’s graduation. Very nice hotel close to University and also Royal Mile. Updated and nicely appointed room. Very clean helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and all the staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold floor in bathroom on the ground floor room Outside light shining through bathroom window and glass door into bedroom all night Heating either very hot or cold Limited menu choice for evening meal

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.6
    Slightly below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and reception's lacklustre help with parking. Lack of parking not made clear on booking. 10 minute walk to parking and barrier at ncp was faulty, resulting in an hour to pick up my car.Rooms bigger in picture. Not great value

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good - we prefer the south side of the city to the Georgian new town district on the north.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed in numerous hotels in Edinburgh throughout the past 20 years - this was our first at Ten Hill. While very good, we thought it was rather expensive for what it provided.

    Friendly staff; good location near the university; good breakfast and complementary drink due to slight delay in room not available for checking in! The link to the College of Surgeons was pleasing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    We will be staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We live just outside Edinburgh, and decided to stay the night in the city as we were watching a play in the Festival theatre which is just around the corner. On arrival we were told that we were upgraded to a suite! Top floor, seating area, stunning view!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    10 out 10 for 10 Hill Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff - highly professional, helpful and courteous. Lovely large room with everything you would need for a short visit. Buffet breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    An affordable luxurious gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was upgraded to a beautiful suite with a stunning view. The bed was extra comfy and the homemade veggie sausages at breakfast were a real treat. Tempted to come back to Edinburgh just to stay at this charming hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    As expected for the bucks.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    my old airline crew hotel and used over several years and now by me in retirement. Great position. Just needs UK origin staff to keep in the spirit of New Britain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Furnishing and furniture and facilities in my room and en...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes at all.

    Furnishing and furniture and facilities in my room and en suite were excellent - all sparkling clean and very comfortable! My booking request for a ground floor room was granted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be a fridge in the room and they could do be a bit refurbished.

    We arrived to the hotel early in the morning and we did not expect to be able to check-in immediately. But we were pleasantly surprised when the receptionist offered us a possibility to check-in. We really appreciated it as we were very tired. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Excellent for a short weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is OK on free Sundays, but will be a problem during the week

    All well thought out. Meals were excellent. I can recommend the venison with haggis. Room was big with good facilities. Restaurant and bar were similar in size, fitting the hotel's site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly organised front desk service, Don't bother putting any comments or requests because nobody looks at them or pays any attention. Advance payments also a problem as no communication between booking.com and the hotel (Allegedly).

    Restaurant staff were excellent…Justin in particular

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was very good, also the wine bar was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was construction work next door to our room which woke us up (somebody loading a skip with bricks at 8am on a Saturday). Relatively minor issue though, there was no noise at night until 8am.

    The breakfast was very good, also the wine bar was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    It was really comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing to mention, the area is not safe at night.

    It was really comfortable. I had to set an exam next to the hotel and they were really helpful and made my stay very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and tried to help in every request. The cleaners are very nice. In my opinion, if you intending to set any exam with the Royal colege of surgeons this is the best place to stay in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast price more expensive if not booked the night before, would prefer to decide in the morning.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, rooms exceptionally clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved the hotel and staff. We would definitely highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning-leaving the windows open presented a problem with allergens. The bathtub was very tall. It was hard to get in and out of the bathtub. Would have appreciated the hotel having electrical adapters for a personal blow dryer.

    The staff was fantastic. The room exceeded my expectations on comfort, cleanliness and amenities. The breakfast was over-the-top. The location was perfect for sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    My wife had lobster for dinner on the Saturday evening on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife had lobster for dinner on the Saturday evening on the Sunday afternoon she became unwell and had a really upset tummy. So much that it spoiled an entire day, we had an opera booked that we could not attend and we did not attend for our dinner under our dinner bed and breakfast. When we checked out and informed staff of this they'll could not care less and still charged us for a dinner that we did not have! Not impressed. Especially when my bill was £800 for 2 nights!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Loved the place and hopefully will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Middle of Edinburgh parking is always an issue. They use NCP car park 10 minute walk away. They have a deal with them but you just won't be parking on the premises but neither will you be looking for a street parking space either

    Excellent location. 10/15 minutes walk to Royal Mile. Diverse location which was fabulous and more interesting than centre. Will be back if we chose Edinburgh in the future. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Large, tastefully furnished and clean. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay, friendly and helpful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We'd love to have a coffee machine in the room - especially for the price we paid during the festival - which seems like it's becoming a standard in similar style/price hotels. The instant one we were supplied with - not great.

    Very convenient location especially during the Fringe festival. Close to the festival venues, lots of shops and cafes around and easy walkable distance to the Waverley Station. Quiet room with a lovely view of Arthur's Seat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    An excellent stay for our first time in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything except been woken around 7 by the builders next door,but that can't be helped .

    The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The view from the room was at the back of the hotel looking over a skip but it didn't matter because we didn't stay in our room only to sleep. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.0
    A nice option on the south side convenient to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices triple during Edinburgh Festival month. Would be nice to have a continental breakfast option.

    Nice size room with space for everything. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Most helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Bathroom facilities were delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if breakfast started just a little earlier, maybe 6:30 - we did a couple of day tours that meant we had to leave at 7:15, so a 7:00 breakfast is hard going.

    Bathroom facilities were delightful Room had tonnes of space Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    let down by breakfast staff, lack of information, and hurried cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The car parking which we were told was on a first come, first served basis has been closed. Car parking is 2-300 yes away and attracts an extra charge. The breakfast staff were extraordinary. they stood and chatted instead of attending, with the exception of one, who tried to stop us having a table for 4 (despite the room being at most half full, and was determined to clear our plates away before we'd finished, and when told we hadn't stood over us til we had! finally the rooms are great - but please clean under the beds - we found all sorts of bits from previous clients.

    The position is good, the reception staff and bar staff were exceptional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Top Hotel we recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much we did not enjoy the breakfast was a little over priced especially when 200 feet down the road there is a cafe for a fraction of the cost. Although the service at breakfast was second to none.

    The building was very clean, modern and pretty. Staff were always smiling and very polite. We did have an issue with the temp in our shower but the staff worked hard while we were out to resolve it. Best bed I have slept in for a long time and fast service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable within easy walking distance to Royal Mile and Princes Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu selection in restaurant could have had broader appeal.

    Excellent location in a well presented hotel with good facilities and comfortable nicely furnished room. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room quite small Very limited parking in the neighbourhood - best to arrive by public transport

    Comfortable room Good wine bar Helpful staff Close to the main visitor attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location, decent hotel, no parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically booked Ten Hill Pl in order to use their car park, but when we arrived it wasn't open, due to "repairs", and I had to park miles away in an NCP Car Park.

    Great location, perfectly placed for Edinburgh City / student areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Had a really nice time and would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower were really modern. The room was lot larger than expected and in a nice quiet square. The only drawback was that the hotel wasn't easy to find maybe a sign post for the hotel just at the top of the streer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    not tge best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was excessively noisy...made sleeping almost impossible...the ceiling had been repainted but around the central light bits had been missed (room 418)...

    The gins were awesome...breakfast was not worth it...and I was excessively overcharged...I had to point this out when leaving...I do not like feeling ripped off...especially as I had thought when booking tgat breakfast was included...TAG

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    We travelled for our grandaughters graduation from Edinburgh...
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travelled for our grandaughters graduation from Edinburgh University. The hotel was a short walk from the Presentation, at McEwan Hall. The hotel gave us a room upgrade.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of a walk from the city center. Wasn't too much though.

    Spacious room, big bed, plenty of toiletries...you name it. It was basically all I expect from a hotel, given the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed!! This is a personal thing I guess but I like quite a soft but supporting bed and this bed was rather too firm for me. If I visited again I would just take a mattress topper with me.

    We were very late for breakfast - 11.45!! Not a problem and everything was as it should be with friendly staff too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    Staff could not have been more professional & attentive - all hotel staff created genuinely welcoming atmosphere without crossing the line of 'over friendly' nonsense!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: