Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lost Guest House 3 stars

4 Melville Terrace, Stirling, FK8 2ND, United Kingdom

#18 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Stirling

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1498 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom. The shower tray leaked and the toilet seat was broken. Plus there was no hand soap. For the money we paid it was cheap and cheerful.

    The property was so central it was certainly a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff smoking at the entrance and the shower temp was very hard to control. I was unable to open my sash window downwards and as I was on the ground floor I did not want to leave it open at the bottom.

    The property is in a great location, but the picture used to advertise it is obviously old. The outside is tired looking and paint is peeling and windows look rotten. My room had obviously recently been refurbished and was clean and comfortable. However the linen is changed weekly and the shower though new was very poor. Only one member of staff was friendly and there seemed to be different staff on every time I came back. they also all smoked near the entrance which was very disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small with a window to the car park. The shower did not have any hot water.

    The staff were friendly and the cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house was being redecorated and the freshly painted areas were bright anmd cheerful but the fittings were a bit sparse.

    The staff gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful during our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The room was huge for my family of 4 and on the 1st floor. The breakfast was very good and the location was close to restaurants and shopping. Plus free parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for breakfast no windows and quite noisy. And the fact that it had to paid at the booking is not something I like to do. Be careful with the hot water, needs recalibrating.

    Very large rooms and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor hadn’t been vacuumed. Window faced back yard (ground floor) and it had a big crack in the glass. No cups or glasses in the room

    Close to town centre Free parking Breakfast ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior beginning to show its age and wear

    Friendly and helpful staff and a 20-minute uphill walk to Stirling Castle. A 5 pound cab ride from Aberdeen rail station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was not working. It was really cold. Staff did provide us with a couple of heaters. Shower did not have continuous hot water. Wasn't a big issue since we were there just one night.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Central location. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, right in the heart of things to do, places to see, and so very clean and warm

    brilliant friendly hostess’s Ann was the welcome party, Ali the manageress, both great at breakfast especially as the purpose was for the Stirling Marathon, then allowed us early risers to get into the kitchens, fantastic and the last day breakfast amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a non smoker the smoking area was on the front stops and it wasn't very nice having to walk past them.

    Nothing is too much trouble always prepared to help. Polite and friendly staff. We had show dogs in the van and our window looked out so we could keep an eye on them which was peace of mind! Lovely leafy suburb but not too far from middle of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast times did not fit my work schedule. Not very healthy breakfast. Small room with pretty bad shower.

    Great that the windows open. Staff responsive to requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little noisey being right next to reception and front door.

    Easy walk into Stirling town centre. Was an easy to find hotel with good parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few more options for breakfast for vegetarians would have been a bonus but otherwise I could not have expected more for the money I paid.

    Superb value for money & excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we arrived the towel warmer was on very hot and I turned it down; the next afternoon/evening I wanted to turn it on, and it did not warm up at all--neither did the heat. It was chilly so we would have liked it on for a short spell. The dedicated breakfast room was nice and big, but windowless. Breakfast was cooked hot, but average.

    location was good; parking easily available; our room had large windows which I really liked; breakfast was cooked hot; hotel staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Some areas very tatty. Poor shower Grotty decor Fag ends outside the entrance Rooms quite dark Carpets threadbare downstairs

    Room 11 was damp with wall paper peeling off the wall. Shower was a dribble with damp on the ceiling . The place is also used as a homeless persons hostel so people hanging about smoking on the entrance. Paint peeling off the front of the building, planters falling apart. Some of the rooms looked ok but the room we stayed in needs a major redecorate. Beds were lumpy. The place was quiet, the staff tried hard . The place was in a very good location and with some money spent on it could be much better and get some stars. Good basic breakfast but you would struggle if vegetarian. Dining room reasonable but needs air conditioning to get rid of cooking smells which hung around all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the basement floor, dust in the room and especislly in shower room

    Big room. Parking in front of the hotel. Good location near to the city center and some restaurants and pubs. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of cigarette smoke from guests & non-guests smoking at the front door. A little hard to find when coming by car!

    Off-road parking was very useful. Very handy for the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little too hard for comfort and the water pressure in the shower could have been better - not helped by a leak in the connection between the shower head and the hose.

    Breakfast was classic and beautifully cooked. Room was fresh, spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely and clean, well furnished and modern. We undestand it had recently been refurbished. The breakfast room was similarly clean and well furnished. Breakfast was standard fare but was well prepared, promptly served and we enjoyed it. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful with local knowledge. We would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed to have quite a mix of residents and was awoken during night to sound of dogs fighting within the hotel. Arranged for early access to breakfast area on booking form and discussed with staff on check-in who took the time to show me where everything was. On morning breakfast area locked and no staff available to allow access. Left with no breakfast despite paying £60 for B&B.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    friendly staff, good breakfast, close to family. other members of our family stayed here and recommended it. We'll be booking again as our sister is very poorly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bad view to the back of the building and it was noisy. The windows were dirty on the outside.

    It room itself was clean, had parking and was in a good location. Warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price of the room with breakfast an free parking there was nothing I would have been expecting above what was there.

    Not high class facilities but didn't pay high class prices. Adequate for my one overnight stay and I would be quite happy to book in again at a later date. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dodgy shower, groups of people hanging around outside smoking at the door and people seemed to hang around in the car park for hours all through the day which may intimidate older people or families.

    Clean and tidy room, and very good breakfast, good location for town, easy parking, cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff were amazing from the minute we arrived, breakfast was a very tasty bonus, with lots of extras included, nothing was to much trouble. Location couldn't be better ...a 2min walk max into town centre, 6min walk to Stirling Castle (fantastic), plenty of attractions, eateries & watering holes with a difference. Wallace Monument is a short drive away & well worth the visit....we didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted too & so we'll be booking with Lost Guest House again in the very near future!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. Noisy throughout our whole stay.

    The room in which we were allocated was awful. The pump and boiler for the whole property was directly above our room so anytime a tap or toilet etc was used then a loud buzzing sounded throughout the room. When we did tell staff they first of all mistook us for other guest who had complained, after it was made clear that we were not the same guests then very little to no effort was made to apologise or rectify the complaint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lobby and entanceway smelled like weed. It was almost impossible to find the lady at the front desk. Sometimes, she wouldn't respond to the buzzer or phone. :( Actually, she never responded to the buzzer. The blinds in the bathroom kept falling. The lady had to staple it up.

    Very roomy. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was right next to the window so there was no escaping from the cold draft from the single glazed windows. I was really looking forward to a shower after a long day although was disappointed when the water was cold then hot and also had very low pressure.

    The room was good for the price. The location was great as it was right next to the city centre although the sign for the building was hard to read. The breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor which is fine but when we went to bed I had a look out the window to see what was there and discovered that the window was unlocked. A little disconcerting as we had left everything in the room when we went out to dinner

    Loved how close it was to town. 2 minutes walk to pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing was no handsoap in bathroom, but everything else was spot on !

    It is close to Stirling city centre, walking distance! staff were very helpful and great craic! Very comfortable room and nice decor. Breakfast was freshly made to order and very tasty. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE SHOWER DOES NOT WORK! After a long day of travel I was only dreaming about a good warming shower but happened that the water was FREEZING and for 3 seconds every 30 seconds HOT AS HELL and there was no way to adjust this. Moreover there was no water pressure as the meximun you could get was a very weak leak.

    The room was warm even tho the heatings were off

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting snowed in at Stirling uni and missing my last two nights and brekkies at Guest house

    Staff very friendly and helpful Room clean and comfortable Lovely breakfast Even packed my case and kept it until I could pick it up after getting snowed in at Stirling uni

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only issue was homeless person upstairs caused problems requiring police attendance at 3am not the hotel's issue but customers may be put off from booking if this is advertised as a hotel that takes in homeless people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soaking wet carpet (leak from room above), just adequate breakfast but not at all special, shower completely ineffective dripper.

    Good location, close to town centre, very large room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the room I stayed wasn’t working but extra portable heater was provided.

    I like the fact that it’s very close to the town centre, just a working distance. And the breakfast was on point.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so relaxed the room was really nice, basic but great value for money! The staff were lovely and so friendly and catered really well for breakfast as I needed vegan options which were supplied . It's five minutes walk from the city centre and close to bus stops and the train station! There are some nice places to eat that are really affordable: pizza express, lovely coffee places and tea houses one place I wouldn't recommend is Namaste buffet house not great food at all at all! Would definitely recommend staying in this B&B and have recommended to my family and hope to be back soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff lacked a little in terms of ‘decorum’. A lot of swearing could be heard from the kitchen area at breakfast. Not what you would expect really.

    Location was great...easy to walk into the city centre and castle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless. Very friendly and helpful manageress. Accommodated our need for a ridiculously early breakfast and departure. Bed was comfortable. The room immaculate and I didn’t hear a thing all night. Excellent value for money. Will use again when next in Stirling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My dog was not allowed in the breakfast area, so happily he was allowed sausages instead.... Henry was very happy indeed!

    Room was spacious, warm and much cleaner than my last four star hotel experience!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other occupants at night

    Clean and reasonably comfortable. Staff friendly and accommodating at breakfast although healthy options limited with no fresh fruit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was very dim and made reading quite hard. a stronger watt light bulb might help.

    Really excellent breakfast - well-cooked and piping hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some minor maintenance work needing done, (sealant round the shower tray needed replaced), and the room was too hot.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly. Also a great location, 2 minutes walk into the city centre. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sparse. Breakfast was ‘grudging’—choice of cereals limited, staff slow and not as welcoming / helpful as they could have been.

    Location excellent for shopping. Evening receptionist was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been cleaner, bathroom still had hair everywhere, paint work and wallpaper dirty marks and toilet door dirty. Bed too close to bed in other room, guy next door snored all night....

    The staff couldn’t have been nicer. Bed clean and comfortable, breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything really. There was no phone in the room but who uses the hotel phone hese days anyway? So not a criticism just an observation.

    The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly basic but clean, great shower, The bathroom looks as if it's been refitted in the recent past, very nice. The beds were comfy and the hotel was very quiet, no noise from cars or anything at all which meant a good night's sleep. Breakfast was amazing! Location is excellent with a short stroll into town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath not as clean as I would have hoped (tide mark from previous guest evident) and mirrors in bedroom and bathroom and TV very smeary.

    An excellent breakfast followed a good night's sleep on bed (firmish, but I like that) with nice clean linen. Towels were also good fluffy ones that were nice and clean. Welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not changed daily. They could have left spare towels in the room. Bathroom door not been dusted in a while! Not much too look at from outside but recently modernised inside. A small selection of fruit and yoghurt would a good addition to breakfast. Cooked breakfast very good

    Very central. Recently updated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the duvet was too small and there was no extra blanket in the room. the breakfast area is rather crowded with pretty uncomfortable chairs. breakfast time could be a wee bit longer.

    accommodation is in a lovely building and it is pet friendly. rooms are simply but nicely decorated. there is a good sized bathroom to the room. accommodation is quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was not clean. There were spider webs hanging down from the sealing. Also, the rubbish in the room were not changed on a daily basis. The flow of the water in the shower was far too slow

    the breakfast was excellent and the lady very very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was unconfortable because the water presure wasn’t stable and you have to be very carefull to don’t get burned.

    The room was cozy. They have a good breakfast and a lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only gripe I have about the place is we were in room 1 and there is some sort of pump next door which makes a noise all the time MY advice is ask not to be in room 1

    It looks as though it has been decorated recently, parking is excellent the location is spot on and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Easy access to town centre and railway station breakfast very good value for money spent to stay at property staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (Room 1) suffered from noise from shower pumps or something similar coming from other rooms.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. An excellent breakfast. Good central location. Superb value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After we had booked this room, we phoned them to request a certain room, which was showed in the pictures all over the internet, it was confirmed to us that we would have a room with a big bed. On arrival, we found that we didn't have the room we were told we would be getting, and after talking to the staff about it, was told that they don't even have those rooms with the big beds!!??? The springs were coming up through the mattress, we had to, turn the mattress and then put the quilt on top of the mattress, and then an extra sheet, to stop this. The supposed wardrobe in the room was actually a bookcase, with no doors & some added ironwork fastened to the top & 4 coat hangers!! There were no draws at all in the room! There were hug cobwebs in the windows, which had got 2 panes broken! The shower - well apart from the fact that if you went in it you diced with death, is an understatement!!! VERY VERY Slippery, no grip on the floor, which became an ice-ring as soon as it got wet.... The water temperature fluctuated between "FREEZING COLD" to "BURNING HOT" even after letting it run for 10 mins.... We spoke with the manager, who told us that he would sort us out a refund and get the false pictures removed from the internet..... but so far to-date, we haven't heard anything, or had any refund! I would advise anyone thinking of booking this place, to think twice! I am sure there are much better B&B's in the area!

    The female staff were great, and very helpful...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible either boiling hot or freezing cold with no pressure. On mentioning this to the staff they said they would get it checked asap which was good.

    The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Large comfortable room with modern clean bathroom. Plenty of parking and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little niggles - nowhere to put your toiletries in the bathroom and no plug near a mirror for drying hair.

    Positives - Lovely and friendly guest house, very helpful at front desk. Newly decorated room, very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast in the morning with a great selection of teas which was a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit more lighting in the room.

    The whole trip was fantastic, the staff at the property are fantastic, very informative of the area and very friendly while we were in the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was either scalding hot or freezing. Hard to get a happy medium.

    Excellent position close to centre of town. Parking right outside. Lovely friendly staff with an amazing selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the dark side and I could also hear several alarms from adjoining rooms going off in the morning.

    The breakfast really is delicious and the staff are very friendly. It is well located for Stirling town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit shambolic! But we all got fed, in the end and it was a good breakfast. Fruit, yoghurts and croissants would be nice for a non-full English option.

    Nice quiet rooms, comfy bed, good proximity to Stirling centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the staff being very friendly and welcoming, the room being spotless and bed being comfy. Finally enjoyed a good hearty Scottish breakfast too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This probably only affected my room, but the noise from either the boiler or extraction system was awful, (avoid room 1). One other minor gripe is although the bathroom was excellent, it could do with a shelf somewhere to put toiletries.

    Hotel staff were friendly, breakfast was good, room was clean and bathroom looked to have been newly refurbished.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a couple of glasses in the room.

    Very helpful and informative staff on arrival - very comfortable room and an absolutely fab breakfast. Excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday breakfast is not available until 8.30am so for early departure is a compromise

    Excellent location and very easy to find. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. We liked this so much we booked on our return journey as we new the quality was excellent value. The staff recommended local pub and it was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can say is that the bed was on the small side and a bit lumpy and there was no hair dryer in the room. The lady did give me one on request so it wasn't like there wasn't one at all but better to have it in your room rather than walking round with wet hair to find one. Only small things. Hotel was fab!

    Fantastic value for money! Amazing location in lovely building. Brilliant breakfast! Lovely modern clean room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could say is that there isn't hairdryers in the room. They do have them upon request which is obviously fine :-) I'd just say it's pretty standard to have a hairdryer in rooms in 2017. That would be my only thing.

    Fantastic location in a lovely building! Rooms were clean and modern. Shower cubicle and bathroom nice and clean. Tv, tea and coffee facilities, view out onto the church at the back. Breakfast was delicious every single day! Brilliant value for money for such a good breakfast and a room! Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast room was clean and well stocked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No idea what the noises were that started at about 5.30am which sounded like heavy dumbbell weights being lifted and dropped down in the basement below my room, kept me awake until 7 and then decided to get up!

    comfortable quick stay, friendly staff and efficient. Guest house was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike as the staff were helpful to our requests.

    We had a comfortable room, nice en-suite and would like to return to the same room again. A good breakfast and helpful staff who looked after our needs. Handy parking at the front door of the establishment was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a University Visit and the breakfast didn't start until 8.30am which meant we couldn't have any breakfast and get to the University for 9am. Also, there was no hairdryer in our room.

    Spacious rooms, clean, central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and, especially the rooms we were allocated, were tired and, in respect of the single room, dirty. The rooms were not serviced in the 3 days we were there. Reception was rarely staffed, carpet was threadbare, bedbases were in tatters , dirty marks all over the walls. The breakfast room, whilst clean and bright was very hot and uncomfortable. Thrre were no windows and no ventilation such that the heat of the adjacent kitchen made it unbearable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, albeit very few in number and seemingly very demotivated. It felt like they were trying their best in very difficult circumstances. Not a pleasant place. We will never stay there again.

    The breakfast were freshly prepared in a modern, if very stuffy, room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need chairs not everyone likes to always sit on bed no shelve or unit for toiletries in bathroom and no mirror near socket for drying hair . I hope this is helpful just small things that makes people's stay better

    The room and bathroom would come back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was weak due to low water pressure. Most nights I was woken by a noisy person in the next room coming in at 3AM. Addition background noise from a water cistern or something similar, next to room. Walls were obviously rather thin!

    Friendly staff; comfortable bed; good breakfast. Easy walking distance from town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comment!

    Quiet, friendly, very clean and comfortable and a lovely breakfast, served with a smile. I would happily recommend this guest house. Easy distance from historic castle and surrounding architecturally interesting ancient buildings, statues and cobbled streets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the immediate feeling of being made welcome when I arrived. I arrived earlier than the scheduled check-in time and was permitted entry to my room as soon as I had checked in. The property is excellently situated with only a 5 minute walk to the centre and although it is next to a busy road, it is set far enough away that I could not hear any traffic throughout the whole of my stay. All the staff were very warm and friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lost Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: